Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$90 rental
$900 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
469 reviews
Fit
Large100
True to Size310
Small38
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Runs large
rented this for a black tie formal, i ordered a larger size because i was worried that it wouldnt fit, it was to big on me and didnt get a chance to wear it. If your a certain size, no need to rent higher or lower. it will fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2013
Very comfortable dress! I felt fantastic and it let me tare up the dance floor!
The fit was great. It hugged my curves and provided support for the boobage area. I'm a 34DD, so not a usually a fan of strapless gowns. I was very skeptical when I ordered this dress and was pleasantly surprised. What made me take away is that I wish the dress was available in another color!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2013
hmmm
well I rented the dress to try it on and the 8 was great, then when I rented it for the wedding the 8 was incredibly short and felt cheap, and I'm only 5'1"! So the 10 fit better felt better quality and was an appropriate length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
May 28, 2013
A bit large
I rented this dress as a test-run for a friend's wedding and found that for my size the dress was quite large. It might be due to my small bust size, but it did not work on my body. Additionally, the dress was a bit worn; some of the sequins were loose and it didn't have the crisp feeling of a new dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 17, 2013
Very elegant!
love this dress! it's really fitted, and I thought it was very flattering! Great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2013
Loved the sutbtle embellished sweetheart! Great for any formal/black tie event.
Very slimming. The bust was a little big so I went with a size smaller
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 10, 2013
The dress is so stunning, it practically wears itself! I barely needed makeup or extra accessories.
Beautiful dress! The 0 was smaller than I expected- I couldn't zip it over my rib cage. Luckily, the 2 fit beautifully. The beading at the top is pretty but not too flashy. The rouching over the torso and rear was perfect- my stomach looked flat, and no panty lines! I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect Balance of Sexy and Elegant
This dress was INCREDIBLE!!!! It fit me like a glove and I felt so sexy and beautiful in it. I usually opt for a more conservative dress for formals, but I couldn't resist this bodyhugging silhouette. The material is thick enough to hide any flaws. My boyfriend's jaw dropped to the floor when I took my coat off to reveal the gown. He couldn't stop complimenting me all night. It must have done the trick, because he proposed to me 2 days later! This dress will always have a special place in my heart and I cannot say enough great things about it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Felt so classy.
The regular length worked great with 2 inch heels that I didn't have to worry about tripping over the dress. There was a train that I had to lift as I walked up stairs. The boning in the bodice kept the dress up and I didn't have to worry about it falling down. It was slightly tight around the ribcage but it helped give me some cleavage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Great dress, but I loved another one!
I chose this dress as my first pick, adding a smaller size as the back up. Then, I added on a second dress in a different design. I usually wear a 10, but the 8 was big on me! The dress stretches, which is probably good after a few cocktails and dinner. I had a hard time picking between this and another dress in blue, but the blue won out. I think this is a great classic dress for any formal occassion.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
The gown was perfect for this event, I especially loved the small train it had!
The dress was very fitted and the length was perfect even with my heels. The sweetheart cut neckline was very pretty too. Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2013
it was for my first sorority formal!
outlined my body shape...I got the long because it was a good height with my heels which I don't remember being too tall, so I would go for the long
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2013
One girl told me that I was the most elegantly dressed guest she had seen enter the gala!
I apologize for the blurriness of the picture, but that was the only full length picture I could find. The dress did fit well, but the ruching bunched up a bit in the back no matter what I did, which was a bit annoying. Also, the structure of the bust seemed a bit odd to me when I first tried it on, but judging from the pictures I have, once the dress settled, it fit just fine. It was a very comfortable dress, and the length was just right. I didn't anticipate how busty it would make me seem, but it wasn't obscene or anything. Overall, I liked the dress, but a few minor things kept it from being really great for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
This runs short! I'd get the long if you are any taller than 5'4 or 5'5
It runs short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 16, 2013
Classic black formal gown
Heavy fabric with a lot of stretch. I wore an 8 but a 6 would have been a better fit, if I hadn't ordered this as my backup, as the top was rather large for an 8. Ruched fabric gave nice texture and shape and did a good job hiding any imperfections. Creates a flattering hour glass figure and the bottom has enough fabric to give the dress a little swish when you dance. Beading detail at the top was a nice touch but not too much to still wear a necklace.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 14, 2013
Not for pear-shaped bodies!
Got this dress for a gala I had to attend. It didn't work for me. The hips fit fine, but the dress was too short and the bust was entirely too large. I had to exchange it for another one :-(
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2013
you came early in the morning and it was so easy to return... stress free
it hugged in all the right places....it was just what i was expecting.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
Didn't really like the gown. It ran far too large. I received a 4R and 2R and neither fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Wonderful dress for a holiday ball!
I really loved this dress. I was so glad I selected two sizes because the 4R (my regular size) was too short. I don't wear heels, so the 6R fit well. The only issue I had was that the top started to stretch and sag down towards the end of the night. I had to keep pulling it up, which was annoying. Other than that, it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Beautiful and Elegant- Fit well.
I wanted to wear a gown that still showed my figure and curves. I did not want the gown to look like a sheet. This dress was perfect. It was simple. The fabric was really heavy and elegant but it made it full to pull up and dance with. It was my first time renting/wearing a gown and I LOVED it. I rented a few dresses to pick from, but this was my favorite!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2013
A simple and timeless look I loved
To be honest, I wasn't entirely too crazy about this dress, being as I got asked to prom last minute and didn't have as large of a pool of choices for a dress; it was just a little bit too boring for me and the bust wasn't as flattering as I would have liked (but hey, the dress couldn't help it, not many dresses do flatter my tiny bust). But none the less I chose this number because I admired the simplicity and classic timelessness it carries and will carry for many generations to come. I loved the tiny bead detailing along the bust line that brought attention to my bust, but wasn't crazily yelling 'look at me!' The only problems I had this dress was that there was a wire sticking out right under my armpit, which I tried to cover with a piece of tape, but to no luck I was continuously poked and prodded all night. It was also a lot shorter than I had anticipated, especially since I'm only 5'2, but I wasn't too entirely bothered that it showed my feet (although I would have preferred it not to) so if you also don't want your shoes to show I would suggest either getting a long, or wearing no more than a 3 inch heel if you are over 5'4. But over all I did enjoy this dress, and I can't wait to rent from RTR again :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2013
I ordered a 6R and a 6L just because the reviews said the length was tricky.
I thought the dress ran large. I wish I ordered a size 4 as my back up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2013
Pretty dress, but too big for me.
This gown is lovely; however, it was too big all over and too long. I ended up going with a Nicole MIller gown in size 0R that I rented, which fit me like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 26, 2013
A great back up dress
I didn't get to wear this dress because my first option better, This one was a little to big for me on the top and the strapless bra I had didn't really fill it up the way I wanted it to. I decided for go the dress. But it was truly a beautiful gown and if I had more to work with on top I would have definitely worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 26, 2013
Runs very short! flattering ruching, sexy fit!
I've never been a "Long" before, but this dress I'm glad I ordered that for the back-up size! It was still about an inch too short - I'm 5'2'' and wore 4 inch heels. Maybe because I'm curvy? At any rate, gorgeous, simple, flattering black dress - the ruching is great, as is the sweetheart neckline. Everything arrived on time in great condition!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
Very elegant
Looked great but the top fell down several times. Also, the bra area has wires that dug into my skin and was a little uncomfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
March 21, 2013
Great dress.
Great dress. I rented two different styles (second one for $25). Great deal and service.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 20, 2013
It was not too formal, but it was very classy.
I am 5'2 and the dress was the perfect length for me with 3 inch heals. The built in bra hurt a little bit because the wire was sticking out. But other than that, the dress was perfect for my event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 18, 2013
Didn't fit quite right
Just wasn't a great fit on me - the torso was too wide and the boning hit in strange spots. Not very flattering all in all, ended up choosing my other rental instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 15, 2013
in the words of tomandlorenzo.com "girl that is not your dress"
first of all the dress completely swalled my frame, the rouging in the stomach area actually worked against me, due to it being extremely large - making it look as if i had a belly. the worst part was the underwire in the bust area which was poking out and was extremely painful/uncomfortable. but, Talia over at rent the runway was nothing less than AMAZING and helped accomodate me and shipped me out a dress that day which i will be wearing tonight to a benefit.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2013
This dress is amazing! Figure-flattering AND comfortable.. Received so many compliments.
Fit like a glove , loved that it came in a petite length, was extremely comfortable and I would highly recommend this dress to anyone. I wore this to a black-tie wedding at a country club. I had just had a baby and was curvier than normal and this dress was very slimming and I wasn't at all self-conscious so I was able to really enjoy the evening!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 4, 2013
Beautiful but small and short
Ladies, always order the backup! This dress is beautiful, but unfortunately so small on top I couldn't even zip it up (and I am not a very busty gal) Strange, since my backup in the same brand fit perfectly. The 6R was also way too short to wear any kind of heel, so be aware of that if you are above average height. I went with my other choice and had a great time.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Comfy stunner
It wasn't much to look at on the hanger, but this is the kind of dress that is "guy hot" not "girl cute". My boyfriend adored me all night, and other guests called us Bond & Vesper. I ordered this as my back up and to be safe picked a size 12. However, the material was very, very stretchy and I guess all of my diet and exercise has paid off as I think I would have been better off in a 10 or even 8 and had to spend all night pulling the dress up. Edit: I remember now that I got a 12 b/c the stylist fit info says to size up for length if you're curvy. I wore a less-tall pair of heels and the length was perfect, but do consider sizing up for length and make sure to wear a strapless underneath.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
February 28, 2013
I loved the dress, but it was shorter in the front than expected.
I loved the dress, but it was shorter in the front than expected.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
February 25, 2013
the fit was beautiful and complimented me so well
there is a small train in the back of the gown that isn't shown in photos. i usually take a 0 but am thankful i ordered the 2 as well because the 0 was just too small even for me and i am pretty skinny! strongly recommend going up a size, for sure. the dress was perfect and definitely plan on ordering for prom again it worked out too perfect
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Very Flattering but not very comfortable
I loved the way this dress looked as I was so excited to wear it. The length was just long enough with my heels and I am only 5'2" in maybe 3 inch heels so if you are at all tall order a long! The dress was very flattering and the ruching concealed any stomach I got after eating a big dinner. The biggest problem I had with it was the boning. It poked very hard into my upper stomach and ended up causing me to get terribly painful hiccups all night and I felt pretty sick from the pressure of it on me by the end of the night. It may just have been that I needed to order a smaller size so the dress would stay in place better but the boning was very problematic for whatever reason.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
February 20, 2013
I had a great time in this dress! It was very figure flattering! :)
I wore the dress for a black tie wedding and received had compliments on the dress all night. What I did not like about the dress was the built in bust. It was uncomfortable and built for someone with a large chest, so it fell down a lot. This was the only downfall, overall the I thought the dress was a nice choice for the occasion and would recommend it! Also, it runs a little big, I was happy I got the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2013
Good looking dress but not the best
It wasn't as slimming as I thought it might be but the dress was beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2013
My back up dress!
This dress was way too short, I would have to choose between my ankles or chest being showcased, and I'm not into either (and I think public nudity is illegal) so I wore my back up - which happened to also be by Badgley Mischka yet the 4R fit perfectly and if anything was too long. I also felt like a sausage in this dress, the ruching did not help.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 18, 2013
I wasn't able to wear the dress because of fit.
I didn't end up wearing the dress because of fit, I was under the impression from other reviews that it might run small because it is fitted so I ordered a size larger - but instead the dress was baggy and unflattering - and even with my full chest (typically a size 8) the top was baggy.
See more reviews:
6 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×