You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Ruched Sweetheart Gown
Rental $90 Retail $900
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.
Chat with a Stylist
Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos158

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Feb 19, 2012
Sexy & Classy black dress!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very classy & sexy! I loved it, and got many compliments. I am 5'7' wears 6 or 4 normally, I rented 6R & 8R as backup. Women with my height better rent L size, R was kind of short with my high hills. This dress size is bit larger than its' size I think. I wear 36DD so, chest area was always the problem to me, but this dress fitted me good.
Andrea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 15, 2012
Amazing!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress! I wore this to a black tie affair and received many compliments. I am very petite, only five feet tall, but with four inch heels, it was the perfect length. The beads at the top add just the right amount of flare to the gown and the fitted shape made me feel amazing! I would highly recommend this gown!
Steph
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4631
Jan 8, 2012
Looks great; boning sticks out
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great- but the boning at both the top and bottom were sticking out. The one on top, I tried to cover with tape so that my skin wouldn't get cut and the bottom boning was sticking out so that anyone I hugged got a nice poke!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4431
Dec 7, 2011
Perfect for Formal Affair
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a military ball and it was the perfect dress for the formal event. My shoes might have been a tad tall but the dress didn't touch the floor. Also, the boning in the top made it a little uncomfortable when I was sitting down but I don't wear dresses often and feel a little comfortable in them anyways.
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 6, 2011
Great for a black tie event!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie event and it was wonderful! I am 5'4 and did not wear heels with this dress as I didn't need to and didn't want to. The dress came right to the floor and the fishtail in the back is very cute. This dress does not run long so if you're looking to wear serious heels, you may want to consider the Long. I am large busted (34DD) and the top fit nicely; although, I did choose to wear a strapless bra. Many could probably wear this without a bra as the top of the dress provides a lot of support.
CatB
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 20, 2011
Didn't wear it
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Based on other reviews I ordered a size 6 with 8 as my backup, even though I usually wear a 4 (hourglass shape 34-28-38). I was concerned that my hips would be way too large for a 4. Turned out that the stretchy fabric definitely would have allowed me to wear my usual size. The 6 was just a little too big all over the place. The dress has a simple elegance about it that was lovely, but I am glad it didn't work out because the bridesmaids at the wedding I had rented it for were wearing strapless black sweetheart dresses that looked very similar. The beading at the top sets it apart from other long black dresses but overall it is still a common silhouette found at a formal affair.
melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3433
Nov 20, 2011
Perfect
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very beautiful dress. True to size. Got so many compliments on it!
Aimee
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5544
Nov 18, 2011
perfect fit
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect!! I am well endowed on top and it provided comfortable support without a bra!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Nov 18, 2011
disappointing
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress bunches in the back by the torso, is very heavy, and is not flattering. I am 5'4 115 lbs and the dress did nothing for me.
Talia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5343
Nov 17, 2011
Great Dress!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my sorority formal. It is true to size- I'm 5'9" and the long size fit perfectly. However, I have a smaller chest, and it was a still a tight fit. This is good because the strapless dress stayed on me, but it might not be great if you have a bigger bust. Overall wonderful dress-- you'll get tons of compliments!
Kimberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Nov 17, 2011
Did not fit
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as a back up dress, the 6L was slightky too tight and the 8L was too large (stretched out) and looked really bulky in the torso. If the 6L were to have been a little bit bigger than maybe it would have looked ok. Luckily my first choice worked out.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 17, 2011
Not flattering at all
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed something for the Marine Corps Ball and talked to stylists over email and RTR chat. I rented this dresses and another, just in case, and was so disappointed with both. Because of the boning and ruching, it actually ADDs thickness, in the torso, right wear you don't want it. I was able to pad the top but still had plenty of room. I looked like a box and never felt comfortable or attractive, a shame for such an expensive dress. I'm 5'5", 123 lbs and the 'long' size was almost too short in heels.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4432
Nov 17, 2011
Not what expected
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looks alot better on the model in the picture. In person the dress is just as beautiful but runs short and the corset wires inside the dress give your body a very box shape. I am petite from the top and have hips, butt and thighs so this dress gave my body no shape.
EKT
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1431
Nov 4, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I know the girl in the picture is a 5'7" model, but I have to say that the dress didn't look like this on me at all. It fit very well in the bust but there was so much fabric around my midsection it really wasn't flattering and the ruched effect was sort of lost. I think this dress must look best on some who is long and lanky. I have to give RTR a lot of credit for their exceptional customer service (which is why I am giving the dress three starts).
Liv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Nov 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered the 6R and 4R as back up. The 4R fit beautifully but was WAY too short -- at 5-5 this was a bit of a surprise. I ended up having to wear the 6, as it was a few inches longer, but as a result the dress was pretty loose and I spent much of the evening hiking it up. Most disappointingly, I called RTR as soon as I received the dresses and realized the sizing problem, and asked whether it would be possible to swap them out for the long version -- even if it required me to pay more/pick it up somewhere in Manhattan, and RTR did not accomodate. Overall, not a great experience.
Erika
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1531
Nov 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding and I fit right in. It was beautiful and the fabric drapes beautifully on the bottom half and has a small fishtail at the back which is very pretty. The dress arrived in great shape and while I was concerned about having to take it to a dry cleaners to get wrinkles out of the skirt, my size 4 dress was perfectly fine and was not wrinkled. The size 2, however, was pretty wrinkled in the skirt, but that one was too small for me. My only complaints were that the boning in the bodice was not flattering on my bust. I'm a B-cup, and felt like it was designed for a bigger bust to fill it out better. Also, the dress kept bunching up on the back, creating a bump along the zipper line. To get rid of it, I had to keep pulling down on the hips all night, since the dress kept riding up. Otherwise, great dress and a safe bet for ordering something online without trying it, because the ruching on the torso gives you a lot of flexibility in terms of both fit and length (stretchy and you can bunch up more if it's too long).
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3623
Oct 26, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was my back up dress which I didn't end up wearing. It is beautiful on, but I decided to go with short vs full length dress. The boning in the dress was uncomfortable which aided in my decision to go with the other dress. It would otherwise be comfortable, but I knew that boning would bother my torso all night.
Micki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6644
Oct 24, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I am 5'10 and ordered the tall size 8. It is very flattering thru the body but the length was too short for heels. The tallest you could be in this dress is maybe 5'8 at most if you want to wear heels. Also was showing quite a bit of wear. If it had been the right length I would have likely rated higher. Unfortunately both this and my back up dress were too short and couldn't wear either.
Jess
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1441
Oct 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing! I rented this and the Olympia gown so I would have choices for a formal event. I was nervous about this gown being so fitted, which is why I rented the second gown, but I immediately fell in love with this one when I put it on! I'll start with what I wasn't so crazy about: first, I'm 5'9", but I'm all leg, so my torso is shorter than what it should be for my height...I get self conscious with fitted dresses, because sometimes I think I look stumpy. My boyfriend assured me that I did not :) Second, since this dress is so HOT, it's been rented several times and the boning in the bodice sticks you throughout the night (something I was prepared for based on previous reviews). But since I would recommend wearing Spanx with this dress, you might not have to worry about it if you get the kind that goes all the way up your body (I did not, so I suffered through it...worth it, though!). As for the length, I ordered the long length, since it was recommended, and it would have been TOO long had it not been for my 3" heels. It does have a bit of a train, so you may have to pick it up sometimes if you're in a crowd. Lastly, I'm fairly small-chested, so I ended up wearing a strapless bra because the top was a bit too big (I wear a size 4), but my chest looked amazing! I looked at pictures the next morning and was shocked at how great it looked. Overall, fantastic dress and I'd definitely rent this one again! I got compliments the entire night, and my boyfriend said that he noticed people looking at me the entire time :) Love RTR!!!
Amy M.
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1541
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was beautiful! The bust was a little bit to big (I am a B cup) but wearing a padded bra fixed the problem. Also, It was a little short. I had on 4-5 inch heels. Still looked great though! I would recommend this dress to anyone! Beautiful!!!
LAT
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 10, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I would not recommend renting the size 6 of this dress. It's time to retire that puppy. Thank goodness the dress was my backup and I had ordered another as my first choice (the navy blue Tibi floor length, which I loved). The size 6 was pretty tight, and I am a perfect size 6 from other designers. Plus, the boning in the dress was all sticking out and poking into my skin. It would have been very uncomfortable to wear all evening. The zipper is all banged up and pretty much impossible to zip. And to boot, some of the beading along the neckline must have come loose, because RTR tried to fix it with superglue and the superglue got all over the top of the dress so now there are white spots that will not come out. And as I said, the 6 ran super small/tight but the 8 was HUGE on me so there is a giant difference in the sizes. Don't rent it.
Hilary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5541
Oct 10, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is awesome! I ordered a 6L and 8L and ended up wearing the 8L so it wouldn't be too tight. Great dress to dance in and got lots of compliments at a wedding. The fabric is very nice/durable- I felt I was the first one ever wearing it! The beading on the top and fishtail bottom was simple yet lovely. I loved my first rent the runway experience- thank you!
in the city
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1531
Oct 9, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was very pretty and very comfortable. My only complaint was that it was way too long. I ordered a R and wore three inch heels and it was still about an inch or two too long. That, plus the train made it very difficult to walk or dance without holding the skirt.
Runnergirl
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1631
Oct 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Overall the dress itself is beautiful, very simple but elegant. It would have made more of a statement if it actually fit. Both dresses I ordered were too large. I even had the fit specialist help me with sizing, giving her my exact measurements and weight. I usually wear a 0 but was told the 2L or 4L would be perfect. I ended up wearing the 2L because I had no other choice. It was too long even in 2 1/2 inch heels, the ruching around the waist hung loosely, and even with a padded half-bra I could feel the top slowly slip. I felt uncomfortable and self conscious the whole night.
Jerzegrl16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1631
Oct 2, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I loved, loved, loved this dress!!! It fit perfectly and was a huge hit. I ordered a larger backup size but didn't even need to try it on. I would highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion. Thank you Rent the Runway for making my life easier is shopping for a gown!
Lindsay
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1441
Sep 30, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was gorgeous. Im usually a 8, but got a 8 because I read it ran small and it did fit like a glove. It was loose on top and so I found myself pulling it up often but fit perfect on my big hips. I probably could of worked the 6, but the 8 was really comfortable. Since I am tall, I couldn't wear heels and the dress was still not touching the floor like I would of liked it to. But I felt gorgeous. Also, the dresses bunches in the middle and hides any mid section issues! Always a plus!
kw
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1441
Sep 21, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is glamorous and flattering! There is a good amount of material and draping (it feels expensive, and not thin or cheap) and it really does hug you in all the right places. Contrary to a lot of the reviews, I did not find this dress to run small. I rented a 6 and an 8 and they both fit the exact same in the hips - if you are smaller chested I would say to go with a smaller size (the 8 was way too big in my chest). This dress is a no-brainer for any black tie event.
Sukie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
Sep 17, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was a show stopper in a room full of showstoppers. I think it was the simplicity of it. It was understated and very elegant. THe fish tail was a blast.
Tweet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 13, 2011
Hugs in all the right places!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful on. Especially if you have an hourglass figure. It hugged in all the right places. I ended up not wearing it because it was a little too dressy for the event I was going to but still, I was sad to have to return it!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress, but the train in the back was beyond annoying. Difficult to walk/dance/etc without holding it. I enjoyed wearing, but would not rent again bc the train was such a nuisance. Rented 2L and 4L...2L fit perfectly and hit the floor, even with 4 inch heels
LT
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1521
Sep 12, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to a black tie wedding and got tons of compliments! Fit beautifully and was very flattering. I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect - skimmed the ground and had a lovely pooling effect as I walked. Highly recommend!
Nik
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3543
Jul 30, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Amazing dress! Sexy, SUPER comfortable and a big hit!!
LinZ
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3341
Jul 11, 2011
Sexy, sophisticated, simple. Perfect!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sexy gorgeous dress! I rented this for my senior ball and looked like a movie star! I would suggest going a size down if your on the edge because this is a super strechy material dress. I got this dress in a regular and long because i am very tall my my weight but found that the size 2 regular hit perfectly with my height plus 4 inch heels! All-in-all, a wonderful experience with RTR.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 4523
Jul 5, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I think this dress has a lot of potential, but it runs very small and the particular one I received was in poor condition - from the fabric to zipper (that didn't work). Lucky for me, I had an alternative dress because this one (Size 4) would never have worked (I'm 120, 5ft. 3).
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Jun 29, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing! Super flattering and forgiving in midsection! I didn't have to pull it up all night, either! I highly recommend this rental!
*citffin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jun 21, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
GORGEOUS - this dress is an absolute stunner! Of course after being passed around for a while it had some maintenance issues (boning was coming out, ruching was coming apart, tiny snags in fabric) but it was nothing that was too terrible and then girls at RTR were very helpful when it came to remedy any issues. This dress is one size larger than I normally wear - I'm a 0 and the 2 fit like a glove. The only issue I had was with the length. I'm 5'6" and I wore high heels and I felt like too much of my feet showed so if you are a taller girl i would recommending renting the long version. I can't wait to get this dress again, I loved it that much!
Ali
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1331
Jun 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was my "safety" dress, and i LOVED it. The back and side cascade beautifully and the ruching hides anything you wouldn't want the skin tight to show. I thought the top was too big and i had to keep pulling at the top all night. Ultimately still looked good on the top because of the hard wiring in it. I really reccomend renting this dress, i think it would be universally flattering!
Jay
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1321
May 31, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
AMAZING!!!! I absolutely loved this dress! So many compliments!! Definitely very true to size. It's stretchy material soo don't doubt it! Not too long. I'm 5'3 and my feet showed as I walked. Overall, LOVE!
catmim
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1541
May 10, 2011
Overall fit: Large
I'm a size 10/12- wear 36D bra. I got this dress in a 12 and I thought it was too big, especially in the bust- I didn't wear it because I thought I'd be pulling it up the whole night.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 7544
Apr 7, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looks great on girls with a full bust. It is simple but completely chic. I rented the 10 and 12, and could have worn either size, depending on how tight I wanted the ruching. This dress has been on RTR for some time, so the dress looked previously worn and the boning was poking out of the bodice. However, it still looked amazing, and I was voted the best RTR dress at the ball (several other women had rented from the site). Felt beautiful!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress