Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$90 rental
$900 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
474 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size313
Small39
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2014
Very comfortable!
I would recommend this for curvy girls. Very flattering. Although, it runs large. It fit my lower-half wonderfully. It was sale little large on top and I am a true size two. If you're smaller than a size two, I wouldn't recommend this one. I would say I needed a size zero regular. I did find it very comfortable though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 27, 2014
Customer service
Stretchy, durable fit. Hits you in all the right places. Corset helps keep you lifted with no drooping
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 26, 2014
Amazing gown!!!
I ordered the 2 &4 regular. The 2 r is what I wore and it fit like a glove! The length was at the top of my foot which was ok since the back has a mini train. I considered the long length and am glad I didn't or I would have been tripping all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 139lbs
October 22, 2014
Beautiful, well-made gown
This dress was pretty and wll-made. I liked how it draped, but I ended up not wearing it. I got it as a safe back-up dress to another dress I rented from RTR and ended up not wearing this dress because it was a little large. Next time I'd size down in this dress. The length was great if you are tall and still want to wear heels, and the fabric is nice and thick and drapes well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 22, 2014
very simple beautiful dress
very simple beautiful dress, just a little big on me my waist is 24 inches.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 20, 2014
Dancing is no issue in this dress!
I chose this dress mostly because it was simple...and my other dresses I wanted, weren't available. I usually NEVER wear strapless, but this was somewhat okay with a big necklace. This dress ran true to size, but I have dress wounds but the wire poking out from the bustier-like top into my sides. I wasn't going to wear this dress because of it, but the size 8 was too big, and also had the wire sticking out too. Such a bummer, as it made me feel a bit uncomfortable all night. The dress was in great shape, otherwise...but they need to patch up the inside where the wires are. Simple, nice dress good in a pinch. Won't rent this same one again, but will def try more from the website.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2014
Love this dress!
It fit really well and runs pretty true to size. It was perfect for a black tie wedding I attended. The only issue is that I felt like I was having to pull up the top while dancing. Length was perfect with 4 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2014
Tons of compliments
The essential go-to black dress - if you can't find anything else, this is always a sexy classic! Stretchy material for form fitting, but didn't look cheap at all. It does have a little bit of a train in the back so caution when walking. This was floor length with 4" heels. Super sexy but classy - loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2014
LOVE
Perfect fit! Didn't have to keep pulling it up, and it made my bum look pretty fantastic ;) Perfect if you have an hour glass shape like me! Perfect length with 4 inch heels
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 4, 2014
This was my first experience with RTR and I absolutely loved it!
If you're a little taller definitely go with the long! It runs a little short. I typically wear a size 8 in dresses, but the 6 fit a little better with this dress! Overall amazing dress & I'm so glad I rented it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2014
Lovely gown
The dress is very nice. It's very stretchy. I found the dress to run large. I had to go up in order to fit my large chest (36DD). So, it was a little big on my bottom half but it was comfortable. Lovely dress. RTR was wonderful and sent me this when the dress I ordered wouldn't zip up (chest area). I received compliments all night. Thank you, RTR!!!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 27, 2014
Worked, even with my lack of hips. Received lots of compliments.
I would definitely suggest buying long for anyone over 5'7, especially if wanting to wear heels. I didn't wear heels and I felt like it still could have been longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 23, 2014
Unfortunately, not the dress
The dress was short and small. I am not very tall (5'5") and the dress barely reached the ground. I felt very self conscious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 22, 2014
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
Dress was beautiful and fit great. An issue I saw was that it seemed to collect dust easily when I was outside. I wore 4 inch heels and the gown touched the floor which I wanted. Just had to watch out for the slight train so that no one stepped on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 22, 2014
DIdn't like the style
The dress I'd ordered was damaged and I chose this as a last minute replacement for a black tie wedding. The fit of the dress was really nice but the sequins and material looked a little too young for me. I think it would be great for prom or homecoming though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
This dress was very elegant and great for a formal wedding.
I originally ordered a 4L and 6L but I think there was a glitch in the system because I only received the 6L. It was a little big for me but I wore 2 bras and tucked in the sides closer to the bras so it became tighter. The dress looked beautiful and elegant and I got tons of compliments. I do wish it was a 4 though because I had to lift up the dress many times throughout the night. Still beautiful though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
This was my backup dress. Thank God I had it!
I usually wear a size 4, but that size wasnt available and i rented this as backup and didnt think I would need it. Well I did need it because my original dress was too short. the 2L fit me perfect. This dress is very stretchy and forgiving. It is the perfect dress for a formal wedding or event. Very classy and simple.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 21, 2014
I felt stunning in this dress.
I wore the 0L and probably would've been ok with a regular. The dress did have lots of material that made it heavy. Overall, I loved it and it made me feel like a princess.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2014
Several compliments on this dress. Stunningly understated elegance.
Fit ran slightly large. Normally I wear a 4 in this brand, but found it too large. The 2 fit perfectly. Best for bigger busts. The boning helps support the weight of the beaded neckline, and was comfortable. The small train was lovely. Perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
September 19, 2014
Elegant Sexy Black Dress
I wore this to a wedding reception and got a ton of compliments! It was a fabulous dress and is really nicely made and heavy. The zipper was a little tricky and would get stuck sometimes. This dress runs pretty true to size even though some people said it ran big, Also if you are a normal height, get the long. I rented a 0L and 2R and the length of the 0L was perfect but I couldn't fit so had to go with the 2R, wish I could have done 2L. No need for a bra, I have a big bust and the built-in bra was so thick that I didn't even need extra support and I never had a problem with having to pull it up. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2014
Would definitely recommend!
This dress fit perfectly. I am usually a size 6 and I am 5'10" so I went with the 6L. It was actually even a little long on me which I was happy about because usually dresses are short on me. There were 2 places where some wire was poking out of the dress but I easily covered them up with band aids so they weren't poking into me. I would definitely recommend this dress and RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 10, 2014
Loved it!
I ended up going w the size 6 for two reasons... it fit a bit more snug than the 8, but also the 6 was longer than the 8 for some reason. (I dont think I was sent an 8L that's why). The dress was beyond chic and the jewels on top really added an extra flare to what would be a simple black dress. It was so comfortable and I love that the back had a bit of a train to it. I just love the look and fit of Badgley Mishka on my body type. Would def rent again! I wish I owned this one!
LizNovember 25, 2014
Did you wear spanx with this dress, or was the boning enough??
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
September 2, 2014
Classic black dress
It was nice. Glad I sized down. I went with petite because everything is usually extremely long on me but should have gotten regular length however, petite wasn't bad. The top runs a big large, could be from various people wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 1, 2014
I received compliments throughout the entire night.
This dress was perfect for my late summer,black tie wedding. It was comfortable, easy to move in, and the top stayed in place perfectly ( despite hours of dancing). The beading detail was just the right amount of sparkle to really make the dress pop.
Katie RyanNovember 7, 2014
I am also small busted. How well did this stay up?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 1, 2014
This dress was so comfortable!! It flattered my body and made me feel beautiful!
The material is stretchy so I felt safe renting it without trying it on because even if the size was slightly off, I knew it would fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2014
very classic and elegant dress
worn to a black tie wedding. I kept having to pull the top up, which was annoying but overall the dress was perfect for a formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 4, 2014
Comfortable, flattering dress! Would rent again in a heartbeat.
Fit very well. Shorter than expected, but fit was true otherwise. The stretch made this incredibly comfortable, and the strapless stayed up fine. The boning looked a little funky in the bust, but was hard to notice in the black color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
August 4, 2014
The dress fit wonderfully and was a head turner. I felt like a million bucks wearing designer.
The dress fit true to size and was great with a pair of 3 inch heels. It was pretty cold out so I wore a wrap over it outside. I got many compliments on the dress. I saw no imperfections or anything wrong with this dress and it was so amazing to be wearing a designer name for a fraction of the cost. I absolutely recommend this dress! I was about 162 at the time and I am 34DD chest and very hippy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
August 4, 2014
not my favorite RTR
Pros: understated, elegant, easy to dress up or dress down so in my opinion a very "safe" dress if you don't know what to wear, flattering for hourglass figures Cons: quite uncomfortable - there was a corset on the top to give it some shape, but it constantly digs into your ribs; there was also a part of the corset that was sticking out of the top and poking me, which was really distracting. Despite wearing a size 2 and it being tight, I was also pulling it up throughout the night. I wouldn't rent it again.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2014
Fit like a Glove! Stunning!!!
I wore this dress to a black tie dinner. It fit perfectly (I wore he 6L) I received so many compliments!! It was simple elegance and I loved how the dress flowed when I walked! Highly recommended!!!!
LizNovember 25, 2014
You are gorgeous and elegant! Thank you for your review!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
July 3, 2014
Summer wedding at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.
I'm glad I got the long, I think the regular may have been a bit too short. I wore flats and I had about three inches that dragged in front, but I preferred this dress to hide my feet. The cut is very flattering with ruching on the stomach. I felt like I could eat and not look like I had an obvious food baby all night. I'm a little on the bustier side and I feel like the chest area was too small and I had to pull it up throughout the night. But otherwise I loved this dress, it was so comfortable. The wedding was semi-formal but this dress is so simple and pretty, it was easy to get away with a more formal length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 24, 2014
awkward sizing and wire boning that sticks out; unable to wear
I was unable to wear the dress. The first size 4 had wire boning that stuck out and cut me. RTR was great and sent me a replacement 4 overnight but I sent the dress back early and did not wear it because of the awkward fitting problems mostly due to this wire boning. I also found the regular length too short for heels I wanted to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
June 14, 2014
Beautiful gown. Figure flattering but runs large
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It is very elegant and comfortable although it runs large. I am petite with a large bust. This dress in 4p had enough extra room that a size smaller would have definitely fit better. However, I still really enjoyed wearing it. I felt beautiful & got lots of compliments. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
June 14, 2014
V. flattering dress! Got tons of compliments
The fit is great and stretches to fit you. Rouching is very concealing. BIG PROBLEM: the worn lining rubbed the skin off my chest in 2 spots. I think if the dress had been newer maybe it wouldn't have been an issue but now i have two big scabby areas on my chest which will prevent me from wearing other outfits for a couple of weeks. If the dress had been in better shape i think it would've been perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding at the Waldorf Astoria in New York.
I ordered the size 6 and the size 8 (I can switch between both dress sizes normally) and I ended up wearing the 6. The dress was a little big on top, but I believe that could be from multiple people renting this size. The waist and hips fit true to size however. I wore at least 4" high heels due to the length of the dress and my height. I got many compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2014
Not a great dress for the very tall ladies or high heel lovers
I am six feet tall and made sure to chat with a stylist prior to ordering to make sure this was an appropriate choice. I wish I had read more reviews! The 8L was about 5 inches too short barefoot and the 10L was about 2 inches short barefoot. Very glad I paid extra for a backup dress!!! The bust is a bit oddly shaped as you can see in others photos. I could barely zip the 8 but the 10 was so loose that the ruching all hung down giving it a strange and unflattering effect. Just not the right dress for me!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Ruching adds too much volume around the hip area...
This dress was quite beautiful but unfortunately I wasn't able to wear it as the size I had was way too big. I think a 0 or 2 would have made all the difference but I was swimming in the 4. Also, as someone with a pear shape, I felt that the ruching on the dress added a little too much volume around my hips which wasn't flattering for my body type. I really think this dress runs large so I would suggest going a size down if you want to give it a try.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
June 8, 2014
Super comfortable and elegant
Loved this dress. Material was really nice and thick and boning held gowns shape. Was very comfortable wearing for 8+ hours. Wore 3.5 inch heels and gown was the perfect length. Beading was a little bit worn but you really couldn't tell unless right light and up close. Very classic dress and great first rental experience!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2014
it was very small, and too short. Recommend a size up and not for tall girls.
It is very pretty, but recommend a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
June 1, 2014
Not what I expected
This was my first time using RTR, and it was a week before my event so my options were somewhat limited. I ordered this dress, thinking it's a beautiful simple black strapless gown, can't go wrong. I normally am a size 2 or 4, and at 5'7" I prefer my gowns long, so I ordered the 4L and 2L as back up. When the gowns came, I was soo disappointed. The bottoms of both gowns looked like I personally tried to hem them myself and I am certainly no seamstress! It cheapened the dress tremendously! So panic mode immediately set in, since it was now the day before my event. I called RTR and they were so helpful and found another dress that was available in My size and they over nighted it to me, promising it would arrive before noon. The next dress came before 10 even and it fit beautifully! It's unfortunate the bottoms of these dresses were so shaggy, because it's a beautiful dress!
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×