Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$97 to buy
$900 retail
Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
480 reviews
Fit
Large
(103)
True to Size
(317)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 14, 2013
horrible fit
I ordered this dress as a back up and thank god i had another option. The boning in the top was very awkward and made by boobs look oddly pointy and did not provide much support. it also was not flattering around the hips; instead of giving a nice hourglass shape, it made me look boxy.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Weight: 195lbs
January 16, 2013
The dress looked great, I received compliments all evening
The dress fit great, it had some give so it did not feel too big. I could have gone a size down so that it fit my bust better. I did have to continue to pull my dress up, mostly for comfort. Overall, I loved it!!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 18, 2013
Beautiful and simple. Perfect with curves.
Perfect dress! I'm 5' 9" and I got the long and it was perfect with tall heals! Wish I owned this dress because I am in love with it!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 27, 2010
LOVE this dress! Recently wore it to a black tie wedding and it was really gorgeous. The dress definitely runs small though... I'm typically a 0 or 2 and I had originally tried on the dress at a dept. store and realized that the 6 fit me. So when I rented, I chose a 4 (in case it had stretched with renting) and the 4 was very snug on me. The 0 or 2 would have been way too small and I never go above a 2 so I would recommend ordering a size or 2 up. Also, I'm 5'8" and wore 2 inch heels and the "Regular" length was perfect on me. I had ordered the 4L as my back-up and it would've been too long, even with higher heels. Highly recommend the dress and wonderful experience with Rent The Runway!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2010
This dress fit great and was very flattering. I have a large bust 32E and a very narrow waits and the fit was great. It was a little tricky to walk in as the train interferes when dancing a bit. I wore 3" heels and I am 5'7" and the dress was to the floor. The neckline is very flattering. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2010
Loved this dress. It came a little bit small and the neckline was uncomfortable. However, it was overall really beautiful.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
October 18, 2010
Looooved it! Great dress
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2010
This dress fit beautifully - definitely hugs the curves in the most flattering way! I got tons of compliments throughout the night. The only thing I wasn't expecting was the small train on the back turned out to be a bit of a nuisance. I was constantly having to pick up when I walked to avoid people stepping on it. Just something to keep in mind, but I'd still highly recommend the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2010
Fabulous dress. Absolutely loved it. I am usually a size 8, but was squeezing into the 10 for this dress. There is no way I could have fit into an 8. The dress stayed up nicely; didn't slip down at all. The train was a bit difficult as people kept stepping on it all night, but just something to keep in mind before you rent.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
December 6, 2010
I got complements on this ALL NIGHT!!!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
January 8, 2011
Gorgeous gown for NYE. Pros: Quality of dress was beautiful, true to size, flattering fit for my post babies belly, pretty train and beading details, Regular was perfect maybe even a bit long for dancing. Cons: Wiring in the right bustier was poking through and caused a bruise - zipper was iffy and did not want to test it with more than two zips!! RTR did an awesome job making this dress appear ON TIME despite my error in address and major snow storm up and down the east coast. A + customer service.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 19, 2011
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and just loved it. It's so comfortable and easy to wear. I normally wear a size 0 but heard it ran about 2 sizes small, so I ordered a 4 just in case. They both fit (although the 0 was definitely snug), so it doesn't seem like there's a huge difference in sizes -- it stretches to fit your body like a glove. The 0 wasn't long enough to wear with heels and some of the boning was poking through on one side, stabbing me in the rib, (ouch!) so I ended up wearing the 4 (which also had a tiny bit of the boning issue so I'm thinking it's a defect in all the dresses).As others have noted, there's a bit of a train in the back, and I kept having to hold it up so no one would step on it. Those minor issues aside, I would highly recommend the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2011
I rented this dress for a formal ball. I am a size 4 in dresses and pants, but I rented both a 4 and a 6 just in case. I was shocked when I received the dress that the size 6 was very snug on me. I am tall, with an hour glass figure and a 34B chest and there was NO way of wearing any sort of bra underneath this dress, it was that snug! If you do rent this, make sure to get a size or even two up from what you normally wear, depending on if you have a large chest.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 27, 2011
This was the first dress that I rented from Rent the Runway for a black tie affair. the dress arrived on time and was more stunning than in the picture and it fit perfectly. I ordered a 2 and a 4 for my backup size just in case but the size 2 fit just right. Everyone complemented me on the dress. I will be renting from Rent the Runway again. If you are planning on attending a black tie event give this dress a try it is gorgeous!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
April 7, 2011
This dress looks great on girls with a full bust. It is simple but completely chic. I rented the 10 and 12, and could have worn either size, depending on how tight I wanted the ruching. This dress has been on RTR for some time, so the dress looked previously worn and the boning was poking out of the bodice. However, it still looked amazing, and I was voted the best RTR dress at the ball (several other women had rented from the site). Felt beautiful!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 25, 2011
The Perfect Prom Dress!
I rented this dress for prom and it was amazing! Very elegant and extremely flattering. An added plus was that the material was stretchy and light so the dress was very comfortable.The long was perfect for my height with 3 inch heels. My only problem is how to top it next year!
WillaMay 14, 2012
Wow. You look great for 45!
PriscillaSeptember 20, 2012
Wow! Almost thought you were Blake Lively :)
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
May 10, 2011
I'm a size 10/12- wear 36D bra. I got this dress in a 12 and I thought it was too big, especially in the bust- I didn't wear it because I thought I'd be pulling it up the whole night.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2011
AMAZING!!!! I absolutely loved this dress! So many compliments!! Definitely very true to size. It's stretchy material soo don't doubt it! Not too long. I'm 5'3 and my feet showed as I walked. Overall, LOVE!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
June 3, 2011
Tons of compliments
I wore this to an event in April. It was by far one of the most beautiful dresses there. I am normally a size 4, small chest (A cup) small bottom. Size 4 fit, just a tad big. Wore 3 inch heals and the dress was just about right. Had to stuff top with padding, but worked great and got several compliments. Great dress.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
June 5, 2011
This was my "safety" dress, and i LOVED it. The back and side cascade beautifully and the ruching hides anything you wouldn't want the skin tight to show. I thought the top was too big and i had to keep pulling at the top all night. Ultimately still looked good on the top because of the hard wiring in it. I really reccomend renting this dress, i think it would be universally flattering!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
June 21, 2011
GORGEOUS - this dress is an absolute stunner! Of course after being passed around for a while it had some maintenance issues (boning was coming out, ruching was coming apart, tiny snags in fabric) but it was nothing that was too terrible and then girls at RTR were very helpful when it came to remedy any issues. This dress is one size larger than I normally wear - I'm a 0 and the 2 fit like a glove. The only issue I had was with the length. I'm 5'6" and I wore high heels and I felt like too much of my feet showed so if you are a taller girl i would recommending renting the long version. I can't wait to get this dress again, I loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 29, 2011
This dress is amazing! Super flattering and forgiving in midsection! I didn't have to pull it up all night, either! I highly recommend this rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
July 5, 2011
I think this dress has a lot of potential, but it runs very small and the particular one I received was in poor condition - from the fabric to zipper (that didn't work). Lucky for me, I had an alternative dress because this one (Size 4) would never have worked (I'm 120, 5ft. 3).
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 11, 2011
Sexy, sophisticated, simple. Perfect!
Sexy gorgeous dress! I rented this for my senior ball and looked like a movie star! I would suggest going a size down if your on the edge because this is a super strechy material dress. I got this dress in a regular and long because i am very tall my my weight but found that the size 2 regular hit perfectly with my height plus 4 inch heels! All-in-all, a wonderful experience with RTR.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 30, 2011
Amazing dress! Sexy, SUPER comfortable and a big hit!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2011
Beautiful dress, but the train in the back was beyond annoying. Difficult to walk/dance/etc without holding it. I enjoyed wearing, but would not rent again bc the train was such a nuisance. Rented 2L and 4L...2L fit perfectly and hit the floor, even with 4 inch heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2011
Hugs in all the right places!
Beautiful on. Especially if you have an hourglass figure. It hugged in all the right places. I ended up not wearing it because it was a little too dressy for the event I was going to but still, I was sad to have to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 28, 2011
Great dress!
I have previously rented a Bagley Mischka with the same material and this one fit a little bigger. Surprisingly this dress was very heavy. Other than that this dress was great. I felt great in it but one size smaller would have been perfect!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
September 30, 2011
This dress was gorgeous. Im usually a 8, but got a 8 because I read it ran small and it did fit like a glove. It was loose on top and so I found myself pulling it up often but fit perfect on my big hips. I probably could of worked the 6, but the 8 was really comfortable. Since I am tall, I couldn't wear heels and the dress was still not touching the floor like I would of liked it to. But I felt gorgeous. Also, the dresses bunches in the middle and hides any mid section issues! Always a plus!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Body type: Full Bust
October 2, 2011
I loved, loved, loved this dress!!! It fit perfectly and was a huge hit. I ordered a larger backup size but didn't even need to try it on. I would highly recommend this gown for any formal occasion. Thank you Rent the Runway for making my life easier is shopping for a gown!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2011
Overall the dress itself is beautiful, very simple but elegant. It would have made more of a statement if it actually fit. Both dresses I ordered were too large. I even had the fit specialist help me with sizing, giving her my exact measurements and weight. I usually wear a 0 but was told the 2L or 4L would be perfect. I ended up wearing the 2L because I had no other choice. It was too long even in 2 1/2 inch heels, the ruching around the waist hung loosely, and even with a padded half-bra I could feel the top slowly slip. I felt uncomfortable and self conscious the whole night.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2011
This dress was very pretty and very comfortable. My only complaint was that it was way too long. I ordered a R and wore three inch heels and it was still about an inch or two too long. That, plus the train made it very difficult to walk or dance without holding the skirt.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2011
I would not recommend renting the size 6 of this dress. It's time to retire that puppy. Thank goodness the dress was my backup and I had ordered another as my first choice (the navy blue Tibi floor length, which I loved). The size 6 was pretty tight, and I am a perfect size 6 from other designers. Plus, the boning in the dress was all sticking out and poking into my skin. It would have been very uncomfortable to wear all evening. The zipper is all banged up and pretty much impossible to zip. And to boot, some of the beading along the neckline must have come loose, because RTR tried to fix it with superglue and the superglue got all over the top of the dress so now there are white spots that will not come out. And as I said, the 6 ran super small/tight but the 8 was HUGE on me so there is a giant difference in the sizes. Don't rent it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 11, 2011
Felt beautiful & elegant!
I had a lot of reservations about ordering a dress online w/o trying it on, but I decided to do it and I'm so glad I did! Not only was the dress gorgeous but it fit beautifully. I'm 5'4, 150lbs and curvy and I was nervous about the fit. But it looked gorgeous. I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. The ruching in the middle is a a nice touch to hide "imperfections." No bra needed, felt like it held me really well. Such an effortless process, I'd definetly rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
October 19, 2011
The dress was beautiful! The bust was a little bit to big (I am a B cup) but wearing a padded bra fixed the problem. Also, It was a little short. I had on 4-5 inch heels. Still looked great though! I would recommend this dress to anyone! Beautiful!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2011
I am 5'10 and ordered the tall size 8. It is very flattering thru the body but the length was too short for heels. The tallest you could be in this dress is maybe 5'8 at most if you want to wear heels. Also was showing quite a bit of wear. If it had been the right length I would have likely rated higher. Unfortunately both this and my back up dress were too short and couldn't wear either.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
October 26, 2011
This was my back up dress which I didn't end up wearing. It is beautiful on, but I decided to go with short vs full length dress. The boning in the dress was uncomfortable which aided in my decision to go with the other dress. It would otherwise be comfortable, but I knew that boning would bother my torso all night.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2011
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding and I fit right in. It was beautiful and the fabric drapes beautifully on the bottom half and has a small fishtail at the back which is very pretty. The dress arrived in great shape and while I was concerned about having to take it to a dry cleaners to get wrinkles out of the skirt, my size 4 dress was perfectly fine and was not wrinkled. The size 2, however, was pretty wrinkled in the skirt, but that one was too small for me. My only complaints were that the boning in the bodice was not flattering on my bust. I'm a B-cup, and felt like it was designed for a bigger bust to fill it out better. Also, the dress kept bunching up on the back, creating a bump along the zipper line. To get rid of it, I had to keep pulling down on the hips all night, since the dress kept riding up. Otherwise, great dress and a safe bet for ordering something online without trying it, because the ruching on the torso gives you a lot of flexibility in terms of both fit and length (stretchy and you can bunch up more if it's too long).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2011
I ordered the 6R and 4R as back up. The 4R fit beautifully but was WAY too short -- at 5-5 this was a bit of a surprise. I ended up having to wear the 6, as it was a few inches longer, but as a result the dress was pretty loose and I spent much of the evening hiking it up. Most disappointingly, I called RTR as soon as I received the dresses and realized the sizing problem, and asked whether it would be possible to swap them out for the long version -- even if it required me to pay more/pick it up somewhere in Manhattan, and RTR did not accomodate. Overall, not a great experience.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
November 4, 2011
I know the girl in the picture is a 5'7" model, but I have to say that the dress didn't look like this on me at all. It fit very well in the bust but there was so much fabric around my midsection it really wasn't flattering and the ruched effect was sort of lost. I think this dress must look best on some who is long and lanky. I have to give RTR a lot of credit for their exceptional customer service (which is why I am giving the dress three starts).
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×