Ruched Sweetheart Gown

$90 rental
$900 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This beautiful body-hugging gown will make scene-stealing statement. Bring this Badgley Mischka along to any black tie and you'll be the belle of the ball. Shown here with Dannijo's Cecile Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier fits all cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist - ruched matte jersey fabric flattering on any body type
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Sweetheart neckline with beading detail. Built in bustier for support. Ruched bodice. Flared skirt. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
476 reviews
Fit
Large101
True to Size315
Small39
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
To die for! Great boning in midsection. Fab support for "the girls", I was able to go braless
Fit has a significant amount of give, and the side ruching is very forgivable, you can eat a full dinner and not feel like you're popping out of the dress. The support in the chest plus the sticky tape on the back of the dress enabled me to go braless. Comfortable , so fun, hugs the curves, easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2015
Fits wonderfully! Very flattering. I did have minor issues with sliding!
Love this dress. It fit great, looked great, got all kinds of compliments. Formal enough for a formal wedding. Did have slight issue with some sliding down but that is expected with a strapless dress!
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 91lbs
June 21, 2015
This dress is amazing!
I wore this dress to a formal wedding. I got so many compliments the entire night. If you are on the short side, you will definitely need to wear high heels. I am 5'0" and wore 4" heels and I still had to hold it up to walk and dance. But that didn't bother me at all. The boning in the bust area is very sturdy so I didn't have to wear a bra. But it did dig a little under my arms. It wasn't a deal breaker, though. My stylist, Evan B was also very helpful! This is my second dress from RTR and I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful dress, but loose, size down needed
I didn't end up wearing this though I thought it was beautiful on. I thought due to my larger chest and wider hips a 10 would fit just right. The material is stretchy and most definitely hides the imperfections of my stomach area, which was great, however was still loose in the back, hips and chest area, even with a strapless bra. I visited the Chicago store to exchange and found an even more perfect dress for the occasion. I am very happy with the choice I made, but would still love to rent this one in the future again, just a smaller size.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 25, 2015
Perfect Dress for Prom
Rented this dress for my daughter for a prom. Fit perfectly. She has an hourglass shape , 5'4, and about 150 lbs. The cinched waist made her look like a supermodel . A tiny bit short with heels. Got the regular for her. Nothing to be worried about but if you are any taller consider the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
May 19, 2015
Great dress. Fit me perfectly.
I am only 5'3, so I was very nervous the regular would be too long for me. It was a perfect length. So, if you are taller than 5'3 or 5'4 I would factor that in. My backup was a petite, and it would have been too short, even with a small shoe. The fit was perfect on me. You def. need to have a bit of a bust to fill this out, which I do (at a 34B). The wiring structure in the dress (chest area) helped, but was a tad uncomfortable by the end of the night. I received a ton of feedback that the dress looked great on me. I'd def. wear it again.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 11, 2015
Fit perfectly!
Extremely comfy and stretchy. I wore this for my prom and it was absolutely perfect. It fit a little crookedly, but that was not very noticeable at all. It was a little heavy, but over all I loved the dress and the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 10, 2015
Perfect fit but the bustier digs into your skin a bit
The fit was awesome with some stretch. I went up a size because the 8 was a little too tight and the 10 fit just right with a little more room. The bustier dug into my sides a little bit but nothing too painful. Overall it was an amazing dress and I felt so comfortable in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 30, 2015
Beautiful, comfortable, true to size.
A beautiful gown that I would definitely wear again. I have a stronger frame than most but I loved how the dress hugged my body flowed. It was the perfect height but if I had worn higher heels it may not have looked as great. I definitely recommend renting this dress as it is easy to pair it will accentuating colors!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Weight: 124lbs
April 26, 2015
Pretty dress
This one hugs the body nicely but it definitely runs a little large and the size I had was one size too large, and it looked too big on me because of the rouching (you can see all the extra fabric). It would have been perfect in a slightly smaller size, but it wasn't available. Thankfully my back-up was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2015
Black tie perfection
I loved this dress. True to size and def need the L for heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2015
Just ok,
The dress never looked all that nice. The heavy routing added a lot of bulk to my middle so I decided not to wear it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 2, 2015
I was called the "dark mermaid" all night! In a good way!
Very comfortable and flattering, the only con I have is that it was a bit uncomfortable around the bust. The interior metal pieces are quite rigid since it is strapless, and were almost poking through the fabric into my armpits.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 31, 2015
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
I usually wear a dress size 4 or 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The material is stretchy and super flattering. I got so many compliments on this dress and I felt great in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
March 13, 2015
I loved that I was able to wear a floor length dress without having to purchase it
The dress arrived on time and fit perfectly! I am short so the petite was perfect. A little long in the back but not so much that it bothered me. I wore a 3 inch heel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 23, 2015
Runs large!
I'm 35-25-37.5' and 2R was definetly too big plus it's stretchy so it made no sense to wear it as it was too loose and bulky. I am 5ft 8.5' and R was too short.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2015
I loved this process. It was so convenient, and EASY!
I have a super small rib cage, so I run into issues with strapless dresses regardless. For some reason I am always going back for more :). I think this one was a little stretched as well. The length was perfect for a petite frame with a high heel. I also loved that this dress was versatile, you can put a lot of pieces with it to dress it up, or keep it elegant and simple if you'd like. The shipping process was a BREEZE. Oh, and customer service? EXCELLENT. They can't help you enough or be more kind. I will definitely be renting another dress. This process is genius. Just be sure to pay close attention to details about different body types and measurements to see what will work best for you, but hey they send you two sizes anyway...because they rock.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2015
Gorgeous dress and so comfortable! Great first experience with rent the runway!
Loved the dress but would go with a long next time
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 31, 2015
Comfortable gown
This gown fit perfectly. It runs a bit on the large size as I am normally between a size 6 and an 8. The material has stretch. For a topless gown, it was very comfortable. I am a 36C, and the gown stayed put all night. I did wear a strapless bra for added support. I felt really elegant in this dress, and received compliments. The stylist who helped me via a phone call was right when she suggested this gown. Thanks for the great experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2015
The dress fit but hung in all the wrong places.
The dress was made with spandex like material that ended up not sucking anything in. The details around the bust were coming undone and wires ended up poking into my skin. My bust was overflowing (full bust figure) and it accentuated all the wrong curves. I did not end up wearing this gown to my event. I was hoping the simple black dress would work but unfortunately it did not.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 19, 2015
Stunning dress! Was better than I even expected!
The dress was amazing. The only problem with the 6 was that the rubber lining around the top of the dress was 95% gone from the dress and the 4 fit and was perfect but a little too tight so I went with the 6. But for a strapless dress that material at the top of the dress is necessary for a good fit. The two pieces of double sided tape that came with the dress were helpful but I was still pulling up the dress all night but I received so many complements I felt like a million bucks!! Will definitely use RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2015
Wonderful night
It was beautiful but too large. I had to keep pulling up the top. I think the 0 would of fit perfectly. The length was nice and just touched the floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2015
Pretty dress
Overall was a nice dress. The beading had some tears, but when speaking to RTR, they were super helpful and accommodating. The rouching was very forgiving and I got a lot of compliments!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 10, 2015
Classic beauty and sexy- everything you want in a little black dress
The dress fit true to size. The gathered material and style made me feel every bit sexy and beautiful. I didn't have to worry about pulling it up all night like I usually do with strapless dresses. The only downfall are the darts that keep the shape in the bust area- when sitting they would dig into my ribs, and yet I wouldn't say it takes away from dress- just know so you can add padding before your night. I got so many compliments and felt amazing in this dress. I also rented the bracelets shown in promo photo and LoVeD them. Perfect for a formal event or wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2014
Comfortable and flattering
I read all the reviews before ordering, and decided, at 5'5" and a 4-inch heel wearer, that I should get the 8L with the 6L as a back-up. As it turns out, I think I probably could have done with the R length. Even with the heels, the dress pooled a little at the ground (you can see this is the second picture). I also ended up going with my backup, smaller size, and even that was a bit loose around the waist. It was really flattering, but I think it would have been even more flattering had it been tighter. That being said, it was extremely comfortable and it received tons of compliments; I would definitely recommend it. I paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Gold Denari Necklace, which I thought might be too much with the beading detail on the top, but was completely perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 18, 2014
Super flattering and comfortable!
The fit was very true to size, but the length seemed more regular than short. I could only wear a kitten heel, which was kind of disappointing. I did get several compliments on the dress all night. I wished I would have gotten the 10L to try, because I did have to constantly pull the dress up all night due to the material being stretchy. Also, most of the boning in the dress I received was poking out and dug into my skin. I fixed this by cutting up a maxi pad and sticking it around the wire for some padding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 18, 2014
A wonderful wedding weekend and people loved how elegant my gown was.
The 0P was unfortunately damaged by a previous customer so I had to make due with the 2P. It was a little big for me as a result but still beautiful. And if you are under 5'4" you need 4" heels or higher. This gown does run long and I was constantly gathering the skirt to make sure I didn't step on the hem. Fabric is lovely and hugs and accentuates curves. Beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2014
very disappointing. the boning was screwed up. was really worn and old looking.It was also too short
The fit was terrible. It was too worn out so the boning was spoiled. The someone who previously wore the dress altered it so it was too short (without my heels) also even though it was a Size4R and I am petite at 5'3"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Simple yet very elegant, perfect for a black tie wedding event
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding event. I decided to wear size 6R as I noticed that around my bust area the size 8R was loose so I went with the smaller size since I like a tight fit on top. The dress is a bit short on the front, not sure if this is intentional by the designer however, I didn't mind it as the dress looked great. This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and won't be my last. I was very relieved to see that the dress holds true to it's size and definitely felt at ease knowing that I could rent an additional size for free.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2014
I ordered the dress for a black tie affair. I went for the 6R and it was WAY too short.
I had an 8R as a back-up and it was also too short, so it definitely was length not size. I'm only 5'7 so I was surprised. If you are ordering this dress, I would suggest getting a long. I ended up returning it and not wearing it. RTR was helpful, but it was a huge stress to get a stress last minute.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
December 15, 2014
Received so many compliments!
This dress is beautiful, but I wish I'd also been able to order another size. I spent most the night hiking this up around my boobs. My cleavage looked good, but I know it would have looked phenomenal in a 10. The length is stunningly perfect for a formal affair. I'm 5'10", wore 4.5 inch heels and still had a substantial train. This dress is a bit worn and the boning was killing me by the end of the night. I have the scars to prove it. Someone else there had on the same RTR and looked different bc we made so many different choices. All that aside though, I received so many compliments and it's fun how differently everyone can dress this up. I do wish there were a feature on RTR that made us register the event to avoid seeing the same dress. Overall, it's a very sexy dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2014
Got a lot of compliments:)
This dress is very well made and the material was thick (not too thick) enough for a winter wedding. The only drawback is that it was hard to dance in, because I was afraid it would fall down. Maybe I should have ordered a smaller size? The wires run vertically as well and ended up poking my stomach later in the evening... didn't like that at all.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 9, 2014
Very flattering on an hour glass figure.
Fit perfectly, I ordered Long like previous reviews suggested but I would of been okay with the Regular. I received so many compliments in this gown. Perfect for curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 5, 2014
Stunning!
So I actually never got a chance to get a picture in this beautiful dress that I rented. As it turns out, both my sister and I rented dresses from RTR for a friend’s wedding, and have used this service for while. We both love RTR and have never had any issues with size until now. At the very last minute, we had to switch dresses because hers did not fit her properly. Luckily, we both are around the same size, so it ended up working out great in the end for us, but it could have been a complete disaster had we not switched in the end. Be warned, while the Green Badgley Mischka that I ended up wearing is absolutely stunning ( I received so many complements throughout the night) and fit me like a glove, it has absolutely no stretch what so ever. I am normally a size 0-2 and I had to wear the 4R. (she rented a 2R and 4R) My sister on the other hand is 2-4, and could not fit in the Green dress at all, but fit perfectly into the 0R Black Badgley Mischka that I had rented. All and all it was an absolute success and we were each thrilled with our "new" dresses, but for those of you renting just make sure you read all the reviews and double check your sizes before renting. Both dresses are amazing and I would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 3, 2014
Beautiful and comfortable dress!
I absolutely loved this dress!! It fit well and was very comfortable! My only issue was that it was pretty heavy and kept slipping down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 1, 2014
I got numerous comments on the dress, it was a big hit!
It ran a little big, I am normally a size 2/4 and should have rented the size 0. But, overall, it was a beautiful dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 17, 2014
Perfect dress for a 30s murder mystery dinner!
The dress for like a glove but was forgiving enough for any slight imperfections. The zipper was a bear, but once I got it on instant glam! Wonderful compliments & was told I look like Jessica Rabbit from a teenager. Not bad for a 46 year old ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2014
I picked a very different dress for this wedding and it did not look good so RTR was sent me this!
Fit perfectly, The Regular length was the only one available so it was a little short for my taste but was good with 1 inch heels. Get the L if you are taller and want higher heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 10, 2014
Great Dress - formal but casual, subtle elegance!
This dress was great - I wore it to an awards show. It was formal enough for the event, but super comfortable because of the fabric and rushing style. I normally wear an 8 or 10 in dress size, but even the 8L was a little big, i was pulling it up a lot of the night. So i would say it runs big and size down! It is a great dress for curves - it hugs them and looks great. There is a slight train on the dress which is hard to tell from the pictures. 8L was plenty long for me - i'm 5'8" - i was wearing probably 3" heels. This was my first rent the runway experience, and I will defs use again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
November 9, 2014
Beautiful dress, but too big
I rented this dress for a black tie affair, but it was just too big. I have broad shoulders and a large chest and it wasn't tight enough around the middle. Maybe it was my fault -- perhaps I should have ordered down a size. Coincidentally, I saw someone wearing this dress to another black tie event I attended and she looked amazing. So it's a beautiful dress, but I didn't get to wear it.
See more reviews:
2 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×