Badgley Mischka

Red Carpet Beauty Gown

$98 to buy
$795 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed award by wearing this gorgeous Badgley Mischka royal blue silk gown. For an over the top look, go with the Kate Spade's Kaleidoscope Necklace!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - bust are runs large, yet can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at mid-section
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or a NuBra due to deep V
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

.

Product Details

Royal hammered satin. V neckline with twist detail. Draped skirt with tulip hem. Twisted straps. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
133 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(92)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 9, 2012
Great customer service
Great dress, very flattering...I got a ton of compliments! I am 5'9, 145 pounds, 36D. I wear a size 8 and ordered the 10 as well. The 8 fit great. Be sure to use fashion tape to keep the chest in place and make it look more like it does on the model. My only complaint which is very minor is that the material is thin and you might think it looks flimsy, but it wears nicely. And spanx are your friend!
GingerJune 3, 2014
I am 5'9 too..long or reg length
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2012
Dramatic dress
Front line cleavage created a bit of a problem, but nothing a little two-sided tape couldn't fix. Beautiful flowing dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2012
This dress was fantastic
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and I love it, will definitely do it again. So easy. Dress fit like a dream, it was a bit long, I wore 3 inch heels and did ok, no tripping. You def. need the fashion tape. I thought I'd be falling out of it, but it drapes perfectly and wasn't wrinkle. Just a flattering gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 4, 2012
Didn't wear
I ordered this as my first pick but since I had a back procedure that left me in bed and in pain I could not attend the function. I did have my sweet husband help me try it on and it looked great. I think I will rent it for an event real soon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
lovely dress
the color was spectacular
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful
Beautiful color. Beautiful shape. Beautiful dress.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful color, gorgeous dress!
This is a gorgeous dress! The color is spectacular. Like others have said, you will most likely need the Hollywood tape for the top, because it does tend to gape. It runs fitted in the hip area, so for me, it was a little tight. Unfortunately, there wasn't enough time to get a larger size sent out, so I wore a pair of Spanx and away I went! This was actually my back-up dress, but my date preferred the silkiness of this material vs the sequined feel of my first choice dress. Also, I think with the fit of the dress, it caused the back seam to shift - constantly - so the little tag/material gathered section underneath the zipper would end up over my right cheek all night. Luckily, after a few drinks, I didn't even care anymore. All in all, it's a gorgeous gown, very glamorous...it probably would have been pefect if I could have gotten the size 12!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
January 23, 2013
Lovely
When it first arrived, I initially was worried that it would be too small, but was able to zip it on the night of the event. I have a broad rib cage and it was quite snug, but held up beautifully. This photo was before the car ride, and photos from the event show that it did wrinkle quite a bit from sitting in the car. Overall I was really satisfied and felt like I looked great all night. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2013
The dress is HOTTTTT.
fit fairly well, bust runs a little big. I could tell it was used, but I don't think anyone else could tell. Excellent customer service
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2013
Gorgeous color and gorgeous dress!
I will tell you, this dress runs large on the top. I'm a 34 B and needed fashion tape galore! Also, I'm 5'4" and the long was long! I should have gone with the regular length, but it was unavailable. This was my back-up dress, so I didn't end up going with it, but I still loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
February 3, 2013
Absolutely stunning gown!
I wore this to a Bal Masque and this gown was originally my backup dress. It is gorgeous on, and the photos really don't do the color any justice... I tried it on and my husband's jaw DROPPED, lol! My only regret (albeit minor) was that I didn't order the long- I'm 5'5 and wore four inch heels and it barely grazed the floor. That being said, it was much easier to walk and dance in with a little less length:) Definitely invest in some fashion tape as the top is plunging- though I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with it. I paired it with a Stella & Dot pearl necklace, kid opera gloves, and a vintage fur jacket. Sorry for the cruddy pictures :) This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely be back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 10, 2013
Pretty but not long enough
I rented this dress as a back-up dress and did not end up wearing it to my event. Mainly because since I am almost 5'8" the 6R was too short when I put my heels on. However, it was very pretty on. I would have had to have used some serious fashion tape for the top of the dress but the color was amazing. My favorite thing about the dress was the slit as you walked! Stunning!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2013
It was pretty, but too big.
I think it actually runs true to size but, I'd been working out (surprise) and lost a few inches so it was too big. A 2 would have been perfect. The color was amazing and I loved the hide away slit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 20, 2013
The dress was stunning and I LOVED the slit. I received infinite compliments.
Fit perfect. Definitely you need a sticky bra as the dress is cut low. I am also rather busty so it fit me well so be aware if u dont have a big chest. Wear with a high heel and show off those sexy legs!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 5, 2013
The bride requested long dresses and this was perfect!
I'm 5'6'' and the regular (R) length was perfect with mid-high heels. The long (L) was very long on me. Thank god for the double stick tape that comes with the dress from RTR! I definitely used it and I would recommend it probably for any bust size! I felt very glamorous :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 14, 2013
Absolutely stunning
The fit for me was almost perfect! I'm a little busty on top so i filled out the dress fairly well, but I still needed fashion tape because it gaped a little too much for my liking. I wore this dress for my senior prom and I'm happy to say that I turned heads for a great price. The dress wasn't as full as i thought it would be, but I liked the simplicity of it. Wasn't expecting the fabric to be silk, the picture makes it seem more like a taffeta. This is not a dress for windy days! I had lots of Marylinn Monroe moments, but I loved the way it flowed when I walked. Overall, this dress is amazing. Its simple, its sexy, and you can be as revealing or conservative as you want with the top. So glad I chose this dress. Definitely would rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 23, 2013
Sexy AND Classy
The dress was a great color and cut. I also ordered the 2R but I didn't even try it on because the 0R fit perfect. I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect but I did pick up the dress climbing in and out of cars or on stairs. But walking thru the crowd was def the time to catwalk because the dress billows out and shows the slit. I wore the Push Up Nubra which was great and I used fashion tape on the very bottom of the chest so it wouldn't show but if I went braless or just didn't use the connectors to create more cleavage that would've been fine also.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
May 30, 2013
color is great, loved how the back flows in the wind, or as you walk.
This dress was very sexy and the dress looks amazing as you walk because the back flows behind you and shows off your legs. It was a bit awkward to get it to lie correctly on my chest. The straps are rolled but they kept unrolling. And the chest area was a tad bit too big for me. I ordered the 0L and 2L and I went with the 2L. The L length ended up being too long for me. I'm 5'5 and I wore 4 inch heels. It also turned out to not be the best dress for the event (grad school party), where everyone was spilling drinks. I ended up carrying the bottom in my hand and basically made it a short dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 10, 2013
The perfect mother of the bride gown!
Dress tape was a requirement. The gown fit so perfectly it looked like it was made for me. I received many comments on the gown perfectly paired with the Kate Spade necklace. Thank you RTR for making my experience wonderful. I will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
I got a lot of complements on this dress!!
I wore this for my boyfriend's fraternity formal which also happened to be on my birthday. I have a booty so it was a bit snug in the hips. The top fit loosely even though I am not small chested. I would suggest sizing for your hips and use fashion tape for the top. Overall I loved the dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2013
So glamorous!
It's dress is super formal. A little too formal for cocktail attire wedding I attended, but my date was in a tux, and it was so pretty, I didn't mind being over-dressed! I went with the size two, because the top has a lot of room, and my 34DD fillled it out a little better than the 4. I still had to use the provided fashion tape to keep it from gaping! The 2 was a little hard to zip over my rib cage, but I often have that difficulty as my ribs do stick out disproportionately, but the dress stretched within a few minutes, and I was not uncomfortable at all. I did order the long thinking I would wear taller shoes, but it was still too long. I definitely would go with the regular length next time, despite wearing heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2013
So comfortable, flattering and appropriate for my boyfriends West Point graduation dinner!
Sadly, I made a mistake in my shipping address but RTR called me personally and fixed it! The dress arrived just in the nick of time and I felt awesome! All it needed was a quick steaming and it fell perfectly. I loved this dress so much I didn't want to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 24, 2013
2013 Presidential Inauguration
I love that RTR provides you with a 2nd size for free. I ordered this gown to wear at the Inaugural Ball this year and requested the 2L & 4L. While the 2 fit perfectly, the length wasn't to my liking. I am 5'9" and I wore 3 inch heels. I decided to try the 4 to see if the larger size would give me more length and it was perfect. I had a great time that evening and I looked fabulous while doing it.Thanks RTR!!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2014
loved this dress! It was BOMBSHELL
I got alot of compliments on it. Very good for curvy girls. I suggest getting spanks and a strapless U Bra and tape. I was secure all night and it looked gorg. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2014
Walking in and owning the room in this dress!
This dress is so unbelievably beautiful. It really does flow like that when you walk, truly a stunning piece. I received so many compliments (and am still hearing from people about it!) that night. I wore this for a NYE black tie/cocktail affair, and just had a blast. So for the petite girls like me: I had to use lingerie tape to hold it down. I opted not to wear a bra because it showed way too easily. Instead, I just double taped the dress down (seriously, this lingerie tape I used is like industrial strength, it's Braza flash tape), and a friend helped me do this cute little twist thing in the front, also secured with the tape. This helped tighten everything up as I'm very small busted. I found the straps fell a few times during the night but that was okay. In terms of length - even with my 5" Louboutin's I found myself nervous about snagging it and ripping this beauty of a gown. Luckily no accidents, but it's definitely a challenge. If you can, use temporary hem tape to bring up the back. Otherwise, this is a truly gorgeous gown and will make you the center of attention. The color is true to the photo and just looks even more amazing in person. Can you tell I loved this dress?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2014
Beautiful
This dress is truly gorgeous. The only issue I had with it was the slit, which ran a little high. Normally it wouldn't bother me, but as we were going to a military ball, I felt it was a little inappropriate. Other than that it fit very true to size, and I didn't need to wear a bra with it which was a good thing, because I did have a bra that would have worked. I will probably rent this dress again for an event that is not so conservative because I was pretty bummed not to be able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2014
I ended up wearing a beautiful black dress RTR sent and was amazing!
RTR sent me this because the day before my event they called to say they didn't have my size in the dress I had rented for my event:( I am small so this dress was way too much material for my body and I didn't wear it.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2014
so many compliments!
loved this dress.. fashion tape for the boob area was key
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Many compliments....Super Glam...
Runs true to size.. Double-stick tape was necessary and used in the bust area. 5'5" and wore a 3" heel...length fit perfectly Great for the black-tie wedding :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 6, 2014
This is the second time I rented this dress. The color is stunning.
The fit was tight.... only because I'm in denial that I'm 10 pounds heavier than normal:)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 3, 2014
A beautiful black-tie wedding in the Bronx Botanical Garden.
This was effortless, and thanks to the fashion tape included by RTR there were no embarrassing moments in front my new family
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2014
Beautiful!
The color of this dress is much more royal blue than periwinkle (as on the model). It's beautiful and so flattering. The neckline was a little droopy for me, but fashion tape easily fixed that. I wore four-inch heels and the dress still dragged a teensy bit, but it wasn't a problem. Easy to dance in, thanks to the high slit. It flowed beautifully as I walked! Very flattering waistline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 12, 2014
Gorgeous color. Perfect necklace to go with. Very flattering.
Fit well - I was worried about the top being too big but it held it's own. The front slit was sexy w/walking without being uncomfortable. Overall gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2014
Was so great and gorgeous!
Could not have had enough compliments on this gown!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 30, 2014
The color is stunning and the fit was true to size
Fit was perfect, color amazing blue, super faltering. It was a bit to long (the regular wasn't available), and when I sat down the split opened all the way. That was a bit annoying. The dress will fly open when you walk also so be careful. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
January 22, 2015
none
none
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 9, 2014
The dress exceeded my expectations. It was stunning and the surprise jewelry was perfect!
The dress fit perfectly and even when I was a little worried having a smaller chest, it came with tape- what a brilliant surprise! I couldn't have been more impressed with the dress, delivery, packaging and surprise jewelry. I would absolutely rent again and I recommend it to everyone I know. Thank you for an unforgettable event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2012
The way I felt in the dress, the compliments I received from my husband and friends, and what a wonderful memory I had.
I absolutely loved this dress. Wish I could have kept it. I wore it for the Annual Margarita Ball here in Dallas. I received complements all night. I recommend getting the long if you are 5'7 or above. Also I wore the 6 long but the 4 fit better except for the length. I'd say it runs pretty true to size as I regularly wear a 4.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
March 30, 2012
This was the first time I rented from RTR and I was pleasantly surprised. I had a few different dealings with them in trying to make sure my order was correct. The thing that impressed me the most was when I received a call from stylist Emily a week in advance of my dress arriving to check to see if I had any questions. Excellent customer service! I've already placed my order for my next dress!
I rented this dress for a post-dance competition party. I knew that the "competition" would be stiff in terms of fashionable dresses. This dress definitely scored perfect scores! The fit was excellent in every aspect. I did use the fashion tape just to make sure of no mishaps. This dress made me feel special. All eyes were on me and the dress. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 18, 2012
I received so many compliments of how sophisticated yet sexy i looked. My favorite comment was that I looked as if I belonged on the red carpet. The V is very deep as you can see but in a completely classy way.
I wore this dress to my sororities formal and loved it! I got so many compliments on how gorgeous i looked in it. The color photographs AMAZINGLY the top was a bit big and i am a 32 DD the fashion tape was a must for sure. I would have worn the 2L but it fit just a bit too snug on the hips. This is a very mature dress so if I wouldn't recommend it to younger girls. I loved the whole experience of rent the runway, they were so helpful throughout even when i needed to change my sizes after i had ordered them.
GinaAugust 9, 2012
You look great! I was wondering, where did you get your necklace from? Thanks!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×