Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Ray of Light Dress

$73 to buy
$415 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You shine in your sassy Badgley Mischka one shouldered little number. Rock the bow, and your fav pumps and don’t be afraid to steal the show! Go with a blingtastic bangle set like the Chamak's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout dress - pleated and thick fabric helps to conceal midsection
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt is slightly narrow but material has stretch
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow shantung. One shoulder neckline with petal at shoulder. Ruched skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

58 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 42
Large 0
Photos 27
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 13, 2011

Pefect for a Derby Party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'9, 130 and ordered a 2 & 4, the 2 fit better. This dress is almost a burnt yellow, not as light as the picture suggests. It was super flattering and cute, it's a thicker fabric so hides any flaws. I wore it to a derby party and received a ton of compliments. Very cute- perfect for a derby event, and I actually think it would be very cute as a bridesmaid dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 10, 2011

The dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was phenomenal. I wore it to an evening outdoor wedding and it was a hit. The quality of the dress is excellent, and you would never know this since the fabric is very thick, but the fabric is actually stretchy so it is not restrictive when you sit or dance. The way the fabric gathers over the tummy area is very flattering. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I have thighs so I went with the 10 but could have worn the 8 had I realized sooner that the fabric stretches. If you have blonde hair like I do, you will look like sunshine in this dress. Some of the other reviews said the dress is darker than pictured...it is in person but the pictures I took made it look a beautiful vibrant yellow. Highly recommend! Loved my first RTR experience!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Sunny Summer Wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This a beautiful dress in a gorgeous color. I felt that it ran a bit small though, but perhaps I'm just not used to wearing extremely form-fitting dresses. I'm normally a 6, but wore the 8. Got a lot of compliments regardless.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 1, 2011

I wore this dress to a spring wedding, and got compliments all night! I told everyone how much I love RTR!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding, and it was a hit! I ordered my size, and a size up, and my size fit just fine. The material is nice and thick-it holds everything in, so no Spanx needed!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 16, 2012

I love not having to worry about drycleaning!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding in June. I received so many compliments on this fabulous dress!! I usually wear a 0-2, but by reading reviews I ordered a 2 and 4. This dress does run small, so size up for your back-up dress. The 4 fit me to a T!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
May 5, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an outside wedding and it was perfect. Couldn't be happier with the rtr experience. Everyone loved the dress, it was a hit! I usually wear an 8 but the fabric wasn't forgiving enough around the hips so I went up a size for comfort.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 31, 2012

I loved the color, I loved the design and that it came with two size options just in case.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor/barn wedding that was on the fancier side. I loved this dress! Highly recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

I received tons of compliments and loved the perfect fit of the dress <3

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. Very flattering. I thought the shoulder piece might be awkward but it actually looked great. I got tons of compliments on the bright yellow color. Would definitely recommend!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Renting from RTR is always an easy and enjoyable experience! I received many compliments on my dress that night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress. I thought that the fit of the dress reflected other reviews and was generally true to size (although often a "true to size" 0 is too big on me so this could mean the dress runs slightly small.) The color is much more beautiful in person, more of a golden yellow than a lemon yellow. The bow is lovely and not too big. I did have some trouble with the lining twisting and riding up and if I owned the dress I definitely would have had it hemmed an inch or two but neither of those things were even close to being a deal breaker! I felt great in the dress and got a ton of compliments! I would definitely recommend renting this for your next event!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

I got lots of comments from other guests at the wedding and it was really fun to wear a not-commonly-worn color.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a friend’s garden wedding and loved it! It is a very pretty yellow color. It is quite tight-fitting but stretchy so I wore a size up. I was a little worried about the hem being too long as that often happens with me and short dresses, but it hit just above the knee.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Having the bride tell me that this dress was exactly what she imagined her bridesmaids wearing, but could not find.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding last fall and it was such a huge hit! It was comfortable, forgiving, and SO fun. The color is vibrant but more of a golden-yellow color. The fabric was pretty stretchy so towards the end of the night it was a little looser than when I first put it on, but I definitely still feel that it ran close to true to size. Loved the RTR service so much, I've been anxiously waiting another opportunity to rent!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

This was so easy to do and I have never gotten so many compliments as I did in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is pretty true to size and the fabric is really pretty. The rouching on the side is very flattering, and I love the neckline. I felt so amazing in this dress, and I hardly met anyone who did not comment on what a unique dress it was. If you want to stand out in a crowd, this dress will definitely do it for you.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

This dress was awesome. Everyone loved it. I really stood out, since the wedding colors were dark.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
No cons. The size 0 fit perfectly!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

I got sooooo many compliments on this dress! It was beautiful and so comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Went great with my gold shoes!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 115
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

I felt beautiful in this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly, true to size. The construction is top notch, it never gathered in the wrong place, was flattering in the mid-section. The fabric looks like it might need ironing, but it does not- the lines in the fabric are meant to be there. I used some steam to take out the wrinkles (from being packed in a suitcase). I got tons of compliments in this dress and it helped make me feel beautiful. After wearing a great dress and getting tagged in it on Facebook, I'm glad to "retire" the dress. RTR is perfect for special occasions! Thank you RTR!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 7, 2013

It was a beautiful color and fit very well.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my first bridal shower. The 4 fit better but there was a stain on the seam. The 6 just made the length longer, which was fine. It photographed beautifully and paired really nice with turquoise earrings. A very fun dress, i would recommend it for any daytime even!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Tons of complements, fits great, very figure flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
love the dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Great dress for a wedding and "high tea"

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great dress! I wore it twice in one weekend, once to a wedding and once to a tea party. The color is amazing, even prettier than in the picture. Go a size up if you have boobs. It was a little tricky zipping the 2 up around my chest.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 31, 2013

This was definitely a stand-out dress at the wedding, the color was perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While the fabric was forgiving, I had to size up due to my chest. Still looked great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect For A Summer Wedding

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a June wedding and it was perfect! The color is a bright, taxi-cab yellow (not pale). The ruching at the waist is very strategic--it lets you eat and drink without fear! The shoulder bow makes this dress look modern and dramatic. I dressed it up with a bright red lip and red nail polish.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 10, 2013

When the bride says she couldn't take her eyes off the stunning color, you know you have a winner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color is eye catching - not sunlight or neon, but a bright warm yellow/gold hue. The fit is standard, the fabric has a nice structured fit with a little bit of give. I was worried that the shoulder fabric was going to be floppy or sloppy looking, and not the case at all. It was stiff enough to stay put together but not to the point that it was constantly in your vision. A+ on this dress, it was perfect for the San Antonio summer wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Beautiful color that stood out!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a beach wedding- it was great. I ordered a 6 and a 8 and ended up wearing the 8. It definitely is a snug fit but I think it was still pretty flattering. The color is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments on it. I thought the bow thing on the shoulder would look weird- it's actually not too big and stayed in place. It looked great. The dress did ride up a little bit so I kept adjusting but it wasn't horrible. I was worried it was going to show sweat since we were in 90 degree weather on the beach but it didn't. I loved this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Sep 5, 2013

Love the color.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Cute dress - very fitted but true to size. Ended up wearing the back up dress I ordered instead since it was more comfortable. But would definitely rent again - just need to wear Spanx!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Amazing customer service, but I couldn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was unable to wear this rental because it arrived with a small stain on the rear. RTR tried to overnight me a replacement however logistically it wasn't possible. I will say that it is an amazing dress. Hugs all of curves in the right places and you wont even need spanx.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 30, 2014

The color is so much better in person!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was skeptical because I had to wear yellow for an event and as a blonde, yellow doesn't normally look good on me. If I could buy this dress I would have because it's the best yellow dress I have ever seen on a blonde. It's the perfect shade and the photo does not do it justice.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 3, 2014

LOVED it! Fun color in a sea of black cocktail dresses.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Very simple but sexy. I was so worried that it was going to look like a bridesmaid's gown, but not at all. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and honestly I couldn't tell that big of a difference between the two sizes. I decided on the 6 because the event had a ton of good food and I wanted breathing room. Highly recommend this dress if you want to stand out in a vibrant color!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
May 11, 2014

Fits perfectly and hugged my curves!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have big hips and booty, this dress is perfect for pears!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
May 23, 2014

Great dress, better on than on the hanger

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear between a 2 and a 4. In this dress I ordered the 4 and it fit perfectly. The fabric is stretch and thus the dress is flattering.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
May 31, 2014

Someone actually asked me, "who are you wearing?"

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. Hugs curves in the right places. Beautiful color.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Disappointed

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was very disappointed in this dress. The color was more of a mustard yellow, and even my husband said, "Ew" as soon as I took it out of the box. I tried on the 4 which fit, but I figured the 6 would fit better. The 6 did fit better, but the top of the shoulder dug in, and it was just not flattering at all. I ended up returning it for a merchandise credit because no other dresses that I liked were available for a trade out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

I felt like a celebrity in this dress! Loved my first RTR experience.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit small and I would have preferred the 6, but the 4 fit too and was a more vibrant yellow then the 6.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Great color, walking advertisement for RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments from complete strangers at a wedding I wore this dress to. The color is great (I am very pale, blonde hair, and it still worked on me) and the big shoulder bow adds the flair I wanted. The material is stretchy so it forms right to your body. It does run "small" by normal standards - I wore the 6 when I am normally a 2 or 4 at places like Banana Republic (which notoriously run too small). But I think it's true to size for a real size 6.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing fit. Sophisticated but sexy and understated.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tight in chest but plenty of room in hips and waist. Perfect length.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Sep 15, 2014

This dress was the perfect combination of classy and sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly! I'm usually somewhere between a 4 and 6 so I got both. Both dresses fit and could've been worn, but the 4 hugged in all the right places and was ultimately more flattering. The yellow is bright, but the color and the material make it completely tasteful and attention grabbing. I LOVED this dress! Due to the multitude of pictures I took in it I can't wear it again, but I entirely wish I could!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

My Best Friend's Wedding!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loooooved it!! This was my first time with Rent the Runway and I've been recommending this site to everyone since!! I was the maid of honor for the wedding, and this was the perfect dress. The color was truly beautiful, not mustardy, more of a golden yellow; definitely a deeper shade of yellow than pictured. The size 2 ran a little tight, definitely size up as your 2nd option. Material was also high quality, the texture was like raw silk but still had some stretch. It was so easy to wear, very flattering with the rouching in the stomach area. The shoulder detail was so cute! I received several compliments for having such a flattering and unique dress.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Great color. Great Dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does run small as suggested in other comments. I suggest ordering a size up. Otherwise, it was a great fit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

I really wanted to like this dress, but I just couldn't

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress wasn't as yellow, more orange-y, in person. The material was very stiff and not stretchy at all. It definitely runs small. I so wanted this one to work for me, but it didn't. I am short-waisted and that may have been part of it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

Got a ton of compliments, so many people loved it, the dress is flattering and well made,

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the quality of the dress is amazing, you can't help but look and feel amazing.
RTR Customer
Age: 30
May 2, 2015

Flattering fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Even though the dress was form fitting and snug, it was still comfortable.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×