Pastel Petunia Gown

$201 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Get ready for your red carpet close-up in this gorgeous pastel gown by Badgley Mischka. Go with Ben-Amun’s Antiqued Crystal Bracelet to really let the dress shine.

Also available in navy

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust. We recommend fashion tape to secure bust area.
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - lining runs narrow at the hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust. We recommend fashion tape to secure bust area.
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - lining runs narrow at the hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Lavender crinkle chiffon (100% polyester). Sleeveless. V neck with twisted overlay detail. Open back with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
327 reviews
Fit
Large
(37)
True to Size
(224)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
March 22, 2013
So perfect for the Great Gatsby party I hosted!
I rented the 4R, which fit like a glove. The length is on the longer side - I did wear the dress with 3 inch heels, but it still skims the floor so I had to lift the dress to walk, which I'm used to. If you're 5'5" wearing 3" heels, it will be the perfect length for you. The color is beautiful. I've never worn this color before and it looks beautiful on. The bust area is really interesting though I'm definitely needed some fashion tape to hold it down around my chest and slouching of any kind is also not an option. I also went braless, but wore petals. Everyone loved the dress - and I loved telling everyone it was rented! Thanks RTR!
nancyMarch 25, 2013
Oh, I wish you would have posted a picture! I ordered it as one of my 3 free try ons too. Planning to drop some weight, so I scheduled mine for late April. Super excited!
OliviaMarch 27, 2013
you should post a picture! I just rented this dress and would love to see what it looks like on someone besides the model.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 27, 2013
Stylist Review
I wore this dress for a Rent the Runway video shoot and this dress could not have been more stunning. The color is so delicate and perfect for the Spring season. The nude slip underneath is a little fitted so I would say if you are curvier in the hip to size up in your free backup size. I also wore a NuBra with the dress since it has the low back. Overall, this dress is a must rent!!
RTR CustomerMarch 30, 2013
Are you wearing heels in the photo? If so how high are they? I'm stuck on whether to rent the dress in a long or a regular.
RTR CustomerMarch 30, 2013
I'm also 5'7" haha!
LauraApril 9, 2013
How does the top fit? Im pretty small chested (34A). Does it slouch when you bend over or sit down? Also, does the material look "expensive" and nice? Or cheapy?
AmeliaApril 19, 2013
Hi I'm considering this for prom and from the picture you posted we both have similar body types, I have a long torso and I'm worried this dress may be unflattering. This is an odd question but I was wondering if you also have a long torso.
LaineyBApril 24, 2013
Laura - It looks high end and very good quality - not cheapy at all. It's delicate and gorgeous. You will need fashion tape for the cleavage area to avoid slouching when sitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2013
It was such a beautiful gown and I received many many compliments on it!
The gown is very beautiful. I weight 130 lbs and am 5'7" and chose to wear 4" heels. The dress size I wore was a 6L, which was ok but I think I shoud have gone with a 6R because even with the 4" heels, the dress was still long and I had to lift it a bit when dancing to avoid stepping on it. But the dress itself is BEAUTIFUL with an intricate front and an open-back that closes with a little purple diamond as a button at the top. I had to wear one of those silicone bras that stuck to my breasts and was backless for this gown. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2013
AH-MAZE-ING
Be prepared for compliments all night - I completely lost track of how many I received. The fabric/fit is so light and airy - perfect for elegant comfort. The fit is true to size and double sized/hollywood tape is needed since the cleavage is low and open. Runs long. I'm 5'8 and the regular was still long on me with 5" heels, seriously. The color is PERFECTION and it's such a unique gown, you will love it!
SophiaApril 11, 2013
Im 6'1, would the regular length be long enough if i was wearing flats?
LaineyBApril 24, 2013
Sophia - sorry just saw this. If you're 6'1 and wearing flats I would think it would be ok...but go for the long if you're wearing heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2013
Didn't actually wear this dress simply because the second option looked better & fit the event more.
I was a hesitant to rent this particular dress since there went pervious reviews but I went ahead and ordered it anyways. BIG MISTAKE. I thought the color would look on skin since I am pale but it didn't look right at all. I'm a very warm beige skin tone. This dress looked beautiful on the model but it wasn't the same. The material was very light and the length was perfect but it didn't look nice on me. My friend of the similar body type also tried it on and it looked much better on her skin tone. She is pale, tall and blonde. It looked much nicer on her skin tone. Especially since the mesh part of the dress (on the sides) blended in more. the pictures are of my friend and not of me. They look nicer on her. She is 5"9 and weighs 135. She is wearing the size 8 long she still had enough length to wear 5 inch heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2013
This dress looked amazing, everyone kept commenting on how it looked like a red carpet dress.
It fitted well except around the breast area. The cleavage is very open and low cut so it shows a lot off. Also I couldn't wear a bra with it and I have a 34DD and they were fine. It was also quite comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2013
Elegant, classy, fun, and fabulous!
This only thing i disliked about the dress is the nude fabric inserts, they were a bit to pale for my own skin tone however with the right pose, it's barely noticeable in the pictures. I n the website's picture f the gown the model was quite pale and made it seem as if they were cut outs. On a seperate note the chest area of the dress was a smidge too big, better fitting for a woman with a larger bust. The length of the dress is quite long too. Even in full 5 inch heels the dress still had about an inch of fabric on the floor. All of these are minor things and in total i truly had an incredible night in this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
April 19, 2013
Beautiful dress. Nothing but compliments throughout the evening.
Accidentally got the long version even though I'm only 5'2". I'm sure the length would have been just right if I had gotten the right size, but I wore it regardless. The fit was really nice and overall, the look was just what I needed. The dress was so comfortable, I could wear it just lounging around. The color also looked really nice with my pale skin. I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2013
Beautiful color and great design!
In a sea of black dresses this lilac really stood out! The color was very flattering and the fit was true to size. I'm 5'7" and ordered the 2L and 4L as a backup. The 2L became unavailable right before my event, so I went with the 4L...it fit like a true 4 but was very very long. I had to wear 6" heels in an attempt to keep the dress from dragging on the ground and/or being stepped on. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat but would probably go with the "Regular" length instead of "Long."
KristenApril 25, 2013
I'm also a 32D, how did the dress fit you in the chest? Did you have to use tape or feel like you we showing 'too much'? Thank you :)
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Kristen, This dress is not super revealing! Highly recommend.
Caryl AnnMay 3, 2013
Hi Kristen, the RTR response is correct. I did not need any tape and never felt like the dress was showing too much...I thought the top fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 22, 2013
LOVED this!
I adored this dress. It was absolutely STUNNING and I received endless compliments. I wore it to my prom, and it was great to dance in! I've lost weight, and am now a size 2, but the four fit well. The only issues with the dress were its length (it's very long), you can't wear any sort of bra, and if you aren't careful if you have a smaller bust, the fabric will get loose around the chest and you may show a little too much boobage. With any dress, you must be a little careful, but I loved this dress. I wish I could keep it and wear it again.
KirstenApril 23, 2013
Would you say it is true to the color on the website?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Kirsten, Yes! This dress is a beautiful pastel purple but doesn't wash women out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
April 26, 2013
Beautiful dress..but not right for me. :( Santana wore this on Glee!!
The dress is gorgeous, but it's just not right for my body type. Even with 6 inch heels it was too long and the front was a little loose. I got it for my trial and oh how i wish it would fit the way i want! Regardless, with the right body type, this will look amazing on you.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2013
Great dress! Definitely a 10 out of 10
I absolutely LOVED this dress! I wore it to my boyfriend's military ball and it was perfect for the occasion. A lot of girls complimented me on the color which is a lot more lavender than shown in the original model photo. As other women reviewed though, this dress needs fashion tape if you are smallish in the boob area. The material was loose there for me and I'm a size B. So I taped it down underneath. The tape held without a problem so it really wasn't a stress. But I would recommend choosing a different dress if you're a size A. Otherwise, great dress overall.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Received so many compliments!
This was my first rental, but it couldn't have worked out better! I received so many compliments on my dress!!! It really was a hit. Fits true to size, I was very comfortable all night. Ran a bit long, I ordered the 6L, and I had to hold my dress when walking or going up/down stairs. I'm 5'8" and wore 2" heels. Seriously though, I've never received so many compliments before!! I really recommend this dress, the color and design are beautiful. Thanks RTR :)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 29, 2013
This dress was SO gorgeous and unique for prom! I loved wearing it and got lots of compliments!
I am 5'3'' and wore about 3.5 inch heels and the dress was still a bit long. And you need LOTS of fashion tape in the bust area. I also put some in the back because it was gaping a bit. The slip is pretty tight fitting in the hips, but overall true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
May 1, 2013
Fits really weird
I usually wear a 2 or 4, but there wasn't a size 2 available when I ordered so I decided to go with a 4 anyway based on other reviews. The dress was at least six inches too long (even though I ordered the regular instead of the long option). The top was very baggy and the slit in the front comes lower than where it goes on the model. However, the waist fit perfectly. This dress would best fit women with broad shoulders/chest and at least 5'6" or taller. It is a beautiful dress but only works for certain body types.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
May 3, 2013
I got a lot of compliments at the event and after and was very happy with the dress!!!
The chest part was very low and I had to pin it, because when I sat down it came open too wide. The slip under the dress is more fitted and the top skirt flows. I was worried about the slip being too tight but it was not, it fit well. The back is open so you will need a backless bra, which is kind of annoying.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was absolutely beautiful! The color was stunning and the fabric was light and floaty. The fit was true to size and with 4 inch heels the length was just right. The only problem I had was the neckline, which gaped and shifted around without fashion tape, but that was easily fixed. Overall, this dress is a knockout!
AshleyMay 9, 2013
beautiful!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 5, 2013
I loved having such a unique dress and timeless dress!
This dress was beautiful and both sizes fit well, but the snugger fit helped with the draping and open front and back. It is a good choice for those with a wider back or shoulders, because the zipper only goes till the mid/lower back. I was a bit surprised by the color, it is still very pretty but not quite as bright as in the picture, and the front of the dress was extremely long even in tall heels! I would suggest getting a short because it was a nuisance at times, but overall I was extremely satisfied with this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 117
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2013
Perfect for Spring
Had a blast wearing this dress. It's not the best dress to dance in, I had limited mobility. It is also very long and I had to lift the dress whenever I walked- and was wearing 3' shoes. Like everyone else says, fashion tape is a must. I used it in the front and back. Gorgeous color, stands out in a good way.
AshleyMay 9, 2013
looks amazing on you! you look like a barbie!!
skyeMay 17, 2013
Wow! Wow! You wore it best!
BrendaJune 21, 2013
Love it! The dress fits you perfectly!
CarolJune 28, 2013
Love the bold color combo! Your clutch is to die for.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 9, 2013
Stunning dress. This is a MUST-wear!
I rented this dress and the Robert Rodriguez Avril dress for a formal event. I ended up choosing the Avril, but if I were a LITTLE thinner, and if I were going to the after-dinner at this event, I absolutely would have worn this gown. I also wanted to wear my hair down which made more sense with the Avril. (Read: Hair should be worn up with this gown!) The fabric is light and flowy and flexible. The back is open and the front is sexy but also modest at the same time. I am very tall (5'10") and the long length was PERFECT with a 3-4 inch heel. I could have even worn taller heels if I wanted, but probably nothing below 3in. If you are tall, this dress is a must-wear! I am determined to rent this again and actually wear it. As mentioned previously, I highly recommend wearing your hair up w/this dress. The detail on the back and front of this gown is BEAUTIFUL and should not be hidden. In particular, the button in the back that fastens at the neck is so tiny, but it's very shiny and does stand out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 9, 2013
The dress was amazing. It was comfortable and easy to dance in, and just truly stunning.
I was nervous from the reviews that the dress wouldn't fit because of my height (everyone said the long sizes weren't long enough), but it was perfect, and actually a little long so I was able to wear the 3 inch heels that I had wanted to wear. The color is true to the pictures and the material is extremely light and flowy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2013
I didn't want to send it back!
This dress was amazing! I wore it to my freshman prom and it worked perfectly. I was nervous about the size because I am only 5'3 and have never worn a floor length dress before but it fit like a glove. I didn't want to send it back!
ShayMarch 31, 2014
What was your heel height? Was the dress very long on you?
OliviaApril 11, 2014
I wore 3 insh heels with this dress and it was still a bit long but not too bad!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous dress!
This was, by far, the most beautiful dress I have ever worn. I received compliments all night. That being said, there were a few cons. First of all, the dress arrived late; in fact, I received it the morning of the event, as the person who last rented it had returned it late. Though it all worked out, it was a bit nerve-wracking. I rented a size 2 and 4. The 4 was missing the button in the back, so thankfully, the 2 fit better. My only qualm with the dress itself was that the lining/slip on the inside of the dress were a bit tight in the hips (and I am not a very "hippy" person). Not a big deal, but it resulted in a few tugs throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 12, 2013
This dress was absolutely breathtaking--I received compliments all night!
The top would open up quite a bit when I bent over, so I safety pinned it together. The lining was a bit smaller than I would have expected, but not tight enough to need a size up. This dress is LONG. Even with platform 4 inch heels, I still had to lift it so it wasn't dragging...but thankfully I never tripped over it dancing! Beautiful dress....will definitely get lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
I felt so lovely, and most importantly, like myself!
I loved the color and the feeling of this dress, it felt so beautiful! I wore it for my prom which meant it had to be comfortable for the long night. It was, for the most part, besides the long length on me and the chest area being a little baggy. Fashion tape and high heels fixed that though! As the night went on I loved it even more, which is a rare statement. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2013
Amazing cut and color!
This dress was truly gorgeous! I wore it to my prom and I received too many compliments to count. The lining is close-cut to your body, which made it an issue for dancing, but that wasn't a big deal at all. I usually wear a size 12, but this time I wore the backup size 10, though that may have been me losing weight without noticing, since I haven't been fitted for a dress in a pretty long time. If you're 5'7" or 5'6" and can't decide between the longer length and regular length, definitely opt for the regular length! I calculated for five inch heels and changed my plans to shorter ones last minute, figuring it should be okay. Definitely not the case. I used fashion tape to shorten the hem at the front of the dress, but I was still tripping over extra fabric and being totally paranoid about other people stepping on and tearing the back the whole night. Worth the headache, though. I felt and looked beautiful. The overlying fabric is more of a dark purple than in the photo of the model and it's a bit low-cut, which makes wearing a bra impossible unless you tape the panels closed a bit, which is definitely a possibility as well. The back is very open and gorgeous, and was my favorite part of the dress. Overall, I fell in love with this gown and returning it completely broke my heart!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2013
I wore it for my senior prom and it looked great!
The nude slip is tight around the hips and the chiffon over it is see through so I had to stand up super straight in all my pictures so that it wouldn't bunch and look weird. Also I wore six inch heels and am 5 foot nine and the long was still really long. But overall it looked really good in all the pictures, it was a great choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
May 15, 2013
I wore it for a Navy Ball and received compliments all night!
I ordered the 2L and it fit like a glove. The cut out in the back was to die for! The top was looser than expected but that was easily fixed with some fashion tape. The slip underneath is very form fitting, but I didn't need to size up. The dress was very long! I chose to wore flats but even at 5'11" I could have gotten away with 3 inch heels with no problem. I would recommend ordering this dress! It's elegant and beautiful and you will definitely stand out in a crowd!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 18, 2013
This dress was perfect for my event! I got many complements, and it was very light and comfortable!
I wore a 0R and i still wore 4" heels with this dress. It is definitely a great option for taller girls! I would recommend a sticky bra as well as fashion tape to keep the top in place.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
May 20, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The cut outs and color were beautiful. Such a unique gown! Very long though.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2013
Gorgeous dress, but a challenge for a petite gal!
I had my reservations about this dress, knowing that it would be inevitably long on a short girl like me! But the top and color were way too pretty to pass up, so I figured I'd make it work. I was able to shorten it a bit by tucking the skirt into the waist, although this was a temporary fix and I had to keep readjusting throughout the night. However, I got tons of compliments and felt glamorous all evening!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
Effortlessly Beautiful Dress
The dress was absolutely gorgeous! Because the size guildelines on RTR weren't too specific, when I fell in love with this dress with only a size 6 left in stock, I found the size guidelines on BCBG's website, and I could fit a 6! The only problems with this dress was extra space left in the chest (6 was likely built for a C, I'm an A or a B), and the length. The dress is meant to hit the floor/puddle/trail a bit, but because I'm between 5'2" and 5'3" it puddled a lot more than it's meant to. Once I got the dress (only one size, the 4 would likely have been better) I realized there was nothing to be done, so se la vie. The fit around the waist was beautiful, though the dress could have been more snug without a problem (as said, the 4 would likely have been better, if it had been in stock!). For dancing at the prom, I just lifted the skirt (and for walking too--I practiced beforehand a bit and it worked perfectly). Also something you can't tell from the picture--the under skirt is form-fitting and a beautiful golden color. Overall, you'll need fashion tape (note: do not adjust this stuff once you put it on, just leave it and trust it), some tall heels, and I paired it with dangly silvery/purple earrings. And like that, it's done and you have become a princess. Enjoy this gorgeous dress!!
HannahApril 29, 2014
I'm also 5'2". What height heels did you wear?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2013
I wore this dress for my senior formal prom.
I received compliments all night on this dress. The fit is right to size. I would suggest being aware of the slip under which is more slender than the dress when considering size. Otherwise this service is great, dress came on time and without flaws. Fashion tape for this dress is a MUST! It's a beautiful dress when standing straight, but if you lean forward the dress sags and no one wants a wardrobe malfunction at a formal event. Otherwise, the dress is a longer length so 3-4 inch heels work best so the dress won't drag while walking.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 28, 2013
I felt like a goddess!
A truly gorgeous dress. I wore this to my senior prom and LOVED it! I'm a pretty small girl with an unusually large bust, so the zero was a bit loose on my back, but fit my chest wonderfully. I absolutely loved the way it draped and the color. Also, the dress is long! I'm about 5'2" and I wore 4 inch heels but I could have probably used a 6 inch heel! I lifted it for a majority of the night, but it was so worth it. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
Lovely color
I loved this dress and how flattering it was but i didnt wear it due to the length and the limited range of movement from the narrow lining.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 4, 2013
I felt like a Princess. This dress is absolutely STUNNING!
The dress is so elegant and classy. I wore it to my prom, looking around to see all of the other girls in their cheesy, embellished prom dresses made me this gown look like a cut above the rest. You will love the way you look. The only issue was how long it was, I had to lift it up the whole night to keep it from dragging/steeping on it. I also would recommend fashion tape for the gaping and a nubra because you can't wear a bra with this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2013
Beautiful dress, but didn't fit me correctly
The dress was beautiful, but when I put the dress on, the part that was supposed to be gathered at the waist did not sit at my waist but a bit higher. This made the dress unflattering on my frame. I was so looking forward to having a moment with this dress but was unable to wear it. I selected the dress fits true to size, because it did fit very well in every other area (even the hips where people have said it was snug) but the bodice just wasn't long enough for me.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2013
So many compliments and such a great color!
Only issue is the length, such an annoyance! A bra really isn't necessary; I only placed some fashion tape so it stuck to me because it is loose if you bend over or move. Also, be cautious of the lining underneath. Did "scrunch" up a bit after sitting, just be aware and remember to straighten it out! Overall it is a wonderful dress
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
I tried this on apart of a promotion but I rented it for a future event
I tried this on apart of a promotion but I rented it for a future event
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 150lbs
June 11, 2013
Thanks for making my prom a wonderful experience!
This dress looked amazing thank you so much!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×