Palais du Louvre Gown

$75 rental
$640 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Win best dressed wearing this insane beauty by Badgley Mischka for the black tie event.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''. Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' an above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''. Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' an above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
464 reviews
Fit
Large26
True to Size338
Small46
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2016
ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS!!!!!
I wore this dress for my daughter's Sweet 16, and I loved it soo much, that I didn't want to return it. I normally wear a 12, and although the 12 fit great, the arms did NOT stretch and were too tight, so I went with the 14. Fit beautifully!! I got several compliments the entire evening. The reviews for this dress were very accurate. Will definitely rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 150lbs
April 20, 2016
My husband loved the way I looked in this dress, and I received many compliments from others.
Pros, the fit was just right and the sequins didn't fall off nor were they scratchy. Cons, the zipper was a little challenging.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 17, 2016
Very elegant gown, well made and perfect sparkle!
Flattering fit; I have a hourglass shape ( full boob & bottom & small waist and back), this dress hit all the best curves. Many many complements!!!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 11, 2016
I got so many compliments on this dress! People I didn't know would walk up to me complement me.
The reviews online were incredibly helpful and were right on, the dress ran a little long, and other reviewers were correct, I couldn't zip it up without help. But the sequins weren't itchy, and I felt very secure all night. I will definitely be renting from rent the runway again, and for anyone that does, I strongly recommend reading reviews, particularly from those people who are similar size to you that rented that same dress that you're looking at. Their comments were helpful and accurate! Thank you for great service, Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
April 10, 2016
Loved having such a gorgeous dress to wear to a black tie wedding. I felt very elegant and love it!
Dress fit perfectly! Was true to size and the length was perfect with 2 1/2 inch-3 inch heels. Off the shoulder fit snugly so it did not slip and stayed in place the entire evening.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
April 10, 2016
The dress was just incredible!
Very delicate zipper, I opted to slide the dress over my head to get it on. Not much arm movement due to the sleeves but it looked great on. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 6, 2016
Easy!
I'm 5'7" and I felt the dress was a little long. However, the guidelines said to order a long if you were over 5'6", not sure how a regular would have looked. I loved this dress! It stretched out a bit as the night wore on and started to slide down and show more cleavage. The zipper is tough to zip due to the sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
April 5, 2016
beautiful dress - tight arms
This dress was beautiful. It was sent to me as a third backup after a series of events with unavailable dresses from RTR. I almost wore it to my black tie event, however the arms were tights.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
April 3, 2016
Perfection!
Could not be happier with my first purchase from RTR! I rented this dress for a Vet School formal and it was truly perfect!!! We were only given 12 days notice for the event, and this company was so helpful and the process was phenomenally easy! I ordered both a size 14L and a 16L as my back up and chose the 14L as it does offer some stretch to the material. My dresses arrived on time with no issues and no damage to either. I am usually a size 14, am 5'8", a 36B, and 190lbs. My trouble areas are arms and stomach, and this dress hid those flaws and highlighted my curves. The dress drapes very well to hid your midsection and any flaws, though I did wear a control top undergarment, and there is boning in the bust area so that is stays in place. It was slightly big in the bust, but I wore a very padded bra and there was no issue. I was very comfortable and was in the dress for over 5 hours, and received compliments from everyone! I highly recommend to anyone and loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2016
Perfect dress for my Old Hollywood debutante party
I wore this for my debutante party and it was beautiful! We had an old Hollywood black tie party and it worked out perfectly. Fit was true to size, and regular length was perfect with heels, I'm 5'6
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 17, 2016
Amazing dress. Received so many compliments.
Fit was true to size. A little heavy, especially when dancing, but I loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2016
Great experience and a beautiful dress!
This was my first RTR experience -- I attended a black tie conference dinner with my husband in New Orleans and wanted a dress that was as special as the event. This dress was not my first choice, but it was a great fit and surprisingly comfortable. The only difficulty is that the regular length was longer than expected and I really needed 3" heels for the dress not to drag on the floor (I am 5'4"). I feel that it was flattering overall and definitely elegant. I am looking forward to using RTR again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 6, 2016
Great dress, so comfortable, and so many compliments!!!
First time using RTR, and can't wait for the next time. Dress, experience was perfect! I got the 4R and the 6 R, and ended up wearing the 6R. Both fit, but the 6 was just so comfortable! It was a little bit long even with 3.5 heels, but I'm only 5'2, so I kind of expected that. The dress is even more beautiful in person. So classy and memorable. I got so many compliments all night! Highly recommend this dress for any type of event that you need comfort and class!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
March 3, 2016
Great dress - yes limited mobility in the arms, but nothing that was not doable. Boning was fine.
I got so many compliments on this dress, I wore it to the Elton John Oscar party, I'm a journalist and I had to cover the red carpet, it was PERFECT! Some women complained about the boning, and I am super sensitive to those kinds of things, but I didn't have a problem with it. Overall the dress was comfortable, I DID need help getting it zipped up, that's the only problem I had.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
March 3, 2016
Everyone gave me compliments on my dress. The fit was great and I felt like a movie star.
Fit perfect.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
March 1, 2016
Great dress!
I received many compliments on this dress, which I wore to a fancy charity ball. The petite was perfect length with 3" heels (I am 5'4"). I liked that it covered my upper arms while still allowing for bare shoulders, as I am not exactly thin anymore! Great service from the stylists, I will definitely do this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
February 22, 2016
Beautiful dress but be weary with the sleeves
I really did like the dress and it was flattering (got a lot of compliments all night). It made for the perfect matron of honor dress as all of us were in black but the maid of honor and myself were sparkly. However, if you work out - be weary of this dress. I don't have large arms (I wear XS/0 in basically everything) but the sleeves were seriously cutting in to my biceps. It made it difficult to lift my arms much, especially for hugs and dancing. I am short (4'11") and wore 6+ inch heels with this (Christian Louboutin Highness) and it barely touched the ground, which was good for me since there was no 0P available. Pretty dress but wouldn't rent again because of the tightness in the sleeves for myself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 18, 2016
Perfect gown for the ball! This dress is classy, rich looking and elegant for a formal affair.
Pros: Fits true to size The dress fits great and is very forgiving in the waist and stomach area. I chose to go braless and it worked out perfectly. 
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
February 15, 2016
It was a great dress, I got tons of compliments that night.
The dress fit really well, my arm movement was a little restricted but besides that, I had absolutely no complaints.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 9, 2016
This gown is beyond gorgeous & glamorous!
The fit hugged every curve just right. The length was long, but since we were posing for a photoshoot that wasn't a concern. I loved everything about the gown. It was extremely comfortable and the sequins weren't "scratchy" like other gowns. The photographer raved about the gown and so did everyone who saw this photo (it received almost 500 "likes" on Facebook the first day of posting!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
February 9, 2016
Perfect dress for a NYE wedding!!!
This dress was PERFECT for a NYE Wedding!! I was worried about getting the dress a day before the wedding, but it came a day early!! The dress fit like a glove and was very flattering and I got so many compliments! :-) I will definitely be ordering from RTR again and I've turned so many of my friends and co-workers on to them too!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
February 6, 2016
The dress made me feel like a princess!
The dress ran true to size and fit very well. It was a little tight in the arms and was difficult to get zipped up. I received compliments for days after the gala. I would rent it again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
February 2, 2016
I got endless compliments all night...even from the bride herself!
The only real con is that it is absolutely impossible to zip this dress up yourself. I had a 10R and a 12R. The 12 was way too big, and still impossible to zip by myself. You could maybe say that the pictures don't do it justice, and that's a con. As far as pros, this dress is made up of them! It absolutely stunning and is very versatile. It's comfortable, and you can dance all night in it. You can go full glam with jewelry, or play up the off shoulder look with just some chandelier earrings. It was comfortable for wearing all night, but still had that super glam look! I would love to own this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 159lbs
February 1, 2016
Unending compliments and it wasn't even my wedding!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and was overall very pleased. I have broad shoulders and a large bust line, which made the dress a little small up top. However, the material is forgiving and I was able to get into it. It flowed beautifully and was just the right length. I got compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 220lbs
January 29, 2016
Dress is true to size, runs short in length and is tight in the arms.
This was a backup dress and I could not wear it because it was too tight in the arms that I couldn't move my arms at all. The length is too short and I am 5' 9'' and was barefoot. I normally wear a 16 and this dress fit ok in the middle section but the bust was a bit snug and I am a 38C. Overall, I would maybe rent this dress again if I lost 25 pounds.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
I felt like Jessica Rabbit
My issues with the dress comes more from my own imperfections, not the garment. I don't have much of a waist (my torso is very straight) and the dress, being form fitting, accentuated that. Also, I combed reviews to see if I needed a petite in my 4 inch heels, and from what I read it appeared like I should order a regular. It turned out to be too long, but only slightly so. It skimmed the ground which was fine, except it's slightly longer in the back so I would trip sometimes (I'm not the most coordinated! Haha). It was also a little big in the top (especially around my back-- the hanger loopy things kept poking out), but then again I have a small bone structure and fairly small boobs. That being said!! The dress definitely turned some heads. I was complimented left and right, and I felt fabulous. It was flattering on the curves I do have, and was comfortable to wear, aside from the stumbling. I found it a little difficult to zip, but not impossible to do myself. The sleeves were not too tight for me, but it is easier to put on the sleeves after you zip up the dress. I did not wear a bra or shapewear; the fabric holds everything in place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 50
January 25, 2016
RTR made it so simple and easy to order. Highly recommended!
This was an absolutely stunning dress. I chose this one as I felt it would be very forgiving in the hip area and it was. However I ordered the 10 Long and it was too short for my heels. I unfortunately was not able to wear it to the party but will definitely give it another try in the future. I am 5'10 so unless you want to wear flat shoes I would select a different option or shorter style to begin with. The ease of process to rent is amazing. What a great way to get the dress you need hassle free and so simple. I SIMPLY LOVE RTR and will recommend it to many others as I already have.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 25, 2016
This dress was a dream! I thought it was very comfortable to wear. I got sooooo many compliments!
I am an extreme pear shape - in pants I usually wear a 14 and in tops a 12 or L, and I am small-chested. I ordered both the 12L and the 14L and although the 14 did fit, it was a little large in the top and a little too long. I am 5'4" and wore 4" heels with it and it was on the cusp of being too long but I think the R would have been too short with my heels, so I am glad I chose the L. This dress really accentuated my good assets and camouflaged my trouble spots. The ruching made my waist and booty look good! (16yo daughter to mom-"Momma, your booty be poppin'!"). The stretch in the fabric made it very comfortable. Some have said it felt heavy but I didn't find that to be bothersome at all. My husband loved it so much, he wants me to rent it again or buy it if it goes up for sale! So far my RTR experience has been great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 19, 2016
gorgeous, old hollywood glamour
the good: this dress received many compliments at the black tie event i attended. its so pretty and elegant. its very easy to wear. please consider: i am 5'6" tall and needed to wear kitten heels as the heels i wanted to wear were too tall. even at a 1" heel, i felt my dress was too short. maybe a 4L would have been better. also, sequins are very scratchy; i have scratches on my arms from just brushing against myself. i applied mole-skin to the area under my armpits inside my dress to protect from the rubbing of the boning on the inside... it helped. you will need an assistant to get into the dress, the zipper is tricky. lastly, there is boning on the inside bra area, but i felt that maybe it didn't offer the best support... kinda squished the girls- even with a strapless bra underneath. that all being said-it was gorgeous. i would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 17, 2016
This dress saved me...Always order the backup ladies!
I had not intended to wear this dress, ordered it last minute because my first choice only came up to a 12 in regular sizes (I don't look good in the dresses that switch to the "W "cut at size 14). Thanks goodness I did. This dress was a great fit. I am usually a 12 or sometimes a 14 in dresses that run smaller. They both fit but the 12 looked better on me as it is generous in the bust which is usually my problem. I think if you are trying to decide about sizes then go with the size you wear most often in regular day dresses and go with your gut about sizing up or down for the second. It was very comfortable, only issue was the scratchiness of the sequins on my arms. All in all, the dress was a huge hit and I had an amazing time because of it - thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
January 15, 2016
Elegant and Comfortable! Cheers!
This dress was elegant and comfortable for the whole day and night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 14, 2016
Dress was stunning! Added long gloves and a rock and roll bag to make it more age appropriate.
Dress was stunning! I had 14 and 16 delivered. Was more comfortable in the bust with a 16. (36DD).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
January 6, 2016
I received compliments on the dress throughout the evening! It's stylish and very eye catching!
The arms are a bit snug and it was difficult to get out of the dress. But otherwise, it was comfortable and worth the rent!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 5, 2016
New Year's Eve gala
I'm a little fuller figured so I was worried about a designer dress fitting - but this baby fit like a GLOVE. I loved it. I felt so elegant!! I honestly didn't know what size dress I wore - I just went off of other testimonials. I wear a size 10/12 in jeans, and shirts L - I'm a little broad in the chest so I opted for a 14R and a 16R as the backup - I went with the 16R. The dress has rusching on both sides that help conceal any unflattering lumps & bumps - The top was not droopy & I didn't feel like I was spilling out of it at all. The length was good - I feel a little short at 5'5'' but I wore a pair of 2-3" heels and it hit at the perfect length. I did have a bit of difficulty walking with the small train getting stuck on the heel of my stilettos but it wasn't unmanageable. I would DEFINITELY rent this again - I was very impressed with RTR ;; as were a lot of the other pretty ladies that attended the gala that night, as featured in the picture above :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 4, 2016
Lots of compliments!!
The only issue was the zipper. It's a small zipper and the dress fits perfectly when zipped...but don't plan on getting it up yourself. You will need help! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
January 2, 2016
I felt stunning!
The dress was beautiful but ran a little big. I should have selected a smaller size. The dress does have give, so I would suggest getting a size smaller. I had no problems with the sequins or itchiness that some other customers described. The dress did not feel heavy either. The length was perfect for three inch heels. I would recommend renting this gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2016
I received so many compliments in this dress - I absolutely loved it. It made me feel thin!
It fit true to size, very forgiving. I had to get help with the zipper so that did take a while. I also had sore fingernails the next day because every time I lifted the dress to climb stairs, the sequins went between my fingernails. That wasn't a good feeling at all after lifting it up so many times.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Party
January 1, 2016
So many people told me I looked stunning in this gown.
I felt amazing in this dress & am sad to send it back. I rented it for a New Year's Eve party and absolutely loved it. I am small on top with a full booty. I wore Spanx to flatten my tummy. This dress flattered my shape well with strapless push-up bra and the dress pulled down a bit. I danced in it comfortably all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Weight: 214lbs
December 30, 2015
Wore for a masquerade gala. My date was speechless.
Depending on how you wear it, this dress can look either dowdy or darling.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 26, 2015
Great dress, ran small so I went up a size.
Very comfortable and got lots of compliments all evening.
See more reviews:
1 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×