Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$40 rental
$995 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

540 reviews

Fit
Small 178
True to Size 330
Large 19
Photos 296
Ryan Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 26, 2012

This dress is so unique and definitely stands out! I was asked over and over where I'd gotten it :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
While I absolutely love this dress, the fit was different than what I expected. I wore this to the cocktail party preceding a formal wedding, and what made it more exciting was seeing a picture of Carrie Underwood wearing the black version in a magazine the day it arrived! While I accepted the short length, I looked forward to a loose-fitting sheath to balance it out. My mother was nice enough to give me ample assets, which can sometimes be hard to dress conservatively, and I definitely felt more Kim Kardashian-esque than would have liked, though it did fit the atmosphere. Consider sizing up if you are well endowed in the chest or backside and prefer a looser fit. If you're wearing this to a girl's night out, though, it was flattering and smooth (not bump-creating!)
alabama'sperfectmiss
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Used dress for pageant

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The picture online does not do this dress justice!! I wore this dress for the interview portion of of my pageant!! The sequins on this dress are absolutely stunning on stage and under the lights!! I love this dress!!!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 31, 2012

Someone told us we looked like the happiest couple in the room...and we were at someone else's wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this for a black tie wedding. Got lots of complements. I have bigger hips compared to the rest of my body and it was a little snug, but not too bad. Overall loved it. Wore it with a pair of black patent leather Pour La Victoria pumps and diamond studs.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

Perfect for Vegas!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Amazing dress! Looked great! Fit perfect! The best dress for Vegas!!! I love this dress!!! Only thing is that my bf didn't like the poofy sleeves, but I liked them!
Andrea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

I was named Best Dressed at this event!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is great! I wore it to an outdoor art center fundraiser. It was comfortable enough that I could eat whatever I wanted that night. I received so many compliments and was named Best Dressed by a local magazine!
Corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Seeing stars

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an evening wedding and received a lot of comments from other guests. Was told numerous times that I looked like the night sky! The dress fit well, but I did have to size up. The material has barely any stretch so if you have larger hips, I suggest grabbing a larger size (just in case). I am 5'6" and feared the dress would be super-short, but it was just a few inches above my knee. Perfect length to look sexy without bordering on inappropriate.
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

got so many compliments with this dress on!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved, loved, loved this dress. Fit well and got many compliments. I got the 8 and 10 but the 8 was too tight on my hips to 10 it was!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

Glam and sparkly...perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The fit was snug, but I have a leftover baby tummy! It kept riding up, and it was quite short. I had trouble keeping my spanx hidden! Otherwise, I got lots of compliments and it was perfect for the Cirque show in Vegas.
Brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Showstopper!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect. This dress was amazing, I got a ton of compliments. Even the bride said she saw it when I arrived and loved it. The fit was perfect for me in a size 0 which is what I normally wear. It was a great sheath fit, hugging all the right places. My fiance about fell over when I tried it on. I wore it with nude pumps and minimal jewelry, trust me this dress has all the bling you need on it. The only bad part was having to send it back! Loved it and will definitely rent again.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 17, 2012

Hi RTR! I wrote a blog post & included photos: http://emilyahay.com/my-rent-the-runway-experience/

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a social media consultant, so I also discussed my RTR experience on-air on a business radio station in Detroit; the Internet Advisors Show, 760AM. Please feel free to use the post as you'd like! I would love to be a brand ambassador for RTR; are there discounts for renting regularly? Keep up the awesome work! Thank you!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I loved this dress! Perfect for a special occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit really well, The lining is snug, but in a good way as it really contours your body. I got tons of compliments on it!
Faye
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Classy Party Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had quite a challenge finding a dress that was appropriate for being a reader in a wedding ceremony, that could also be worn to a fun party reception without being too brash for the church or too conservative for the party. I think this dress just about did it. It is short-ish (I am 5"8) and the length hit just a tad longer than the length on the model in the picture. That said, it did not ride up at all and stayed in place in spite of lots of dancing, and did not look trashy because of the beautifully detailed long sleeves and the high neckline. I paired the dress with sparkly blue peep toe pumps, which again, tamed the dress a bit and made it more appropriate for the ceremony. If I was wearing this just to a party, I think I'd go for silver strappy sandals. The color of the dress is a true navy (in some of the photos of the other renters looking awesome in this dress the fabric looks more royal blue, but I didn't find this to be the case). The sequins are beautiful as they are all different sizes, so add a complexity to the texture of the sparkles, and they didn't really itch or bother me, but they did shed a little bit. Like one other reviewer stated, this dress can get a bit hot - I danced the night away, and it definitely wasn't the coolest of garments, but to be honest I probably would have felt that way in any long sleeved dress. In terms of size, I went up a size - I am more pear shaped, and while the 4 zipped up, I felt it pulled a bit around the hips and thought it was more flattering with a little bit of movement in the 6. I was thankful for this while dancing. In all, I thought this was a unique dress that was very comfortable and fun to wear. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.
casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

I've rarely gotten so many compliments on one dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Keep in mind that designer dresses tend to run small. I have an athletic build with narrow hips and wider shoulders. I normally wear a size 0 in dresses, but for this dress I had to wear a size 2 to fit it over my hips. It's a beautiful dress but it does get a bit warm, so consider the weather/occasion before deciding to order it!
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

This dress was absolutely stunning, I am so happy I rented it for my friend's wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wear a 0 and I am not curvy at all, but this dress was tight to get over my butt. Be safe and order two sizes, just in case! You will be complimented all night!
Photogirl
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 28, 2012

Great dress-- wore it to the Emmy Awards in LA/Governor's Ball -- comfortable and well made!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress. Great color and the sequins were just the right amount of glitz-- not too much. The dress fit well-- it was a touch tighter through the hips than I would have preferred-- not alot of give in the fabric and also slightly shorter than expected but all in all, I felt appropriately dressed and my husband LOVED it.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Sparkle Show stopper

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress! I received lots of compliments all night. Very flattering to someone with curves. The size 4 was a little tight but the size 6 had some extra material just below the bust which made it look like it was too big. At current weight, I'm in between a size 4 and 6 on things, depending on the designer so honestly either size would have worked.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

This outfit was perfect for a swanky Democratic National Convention event!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress fit well and I loved the effortless look of the dress. It was a little warmer than I expected (I was wearing this in the South in late August) and would be perfect for a chillier night. Dress fit well and I got lots of compliments.
Rhonda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

A beautiful dress. Great fit, many compliments! Thanks RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Dress can fit a variety of body styles. It is a beautiful color and visually stands out in the crowd!
Christie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

This dress is a win-win-win: Sexy, sparkly and stunning!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I adore this dress! I ordered it for a wedding in the mountains and felt like a sparkyl Cinderella. I got a ton of compliments and didn't want to sent it back! I'm nearly 5'9 and was worried that it might be too short but it fit perfectly; the model in the photo must be very leggy! The one caution I have is that there is not a lot of give in the hips area. If you're not true to size in your hips, the dress might not work. In that case, err and on the side of caution and order a size up. Otherwise, this is a stunner and you will get compliments all night long!
bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Beautiful dress-Compliments all night long!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress for an evening wedding/cocktail event. The long sleeves and midnight blue color made it perfect for the Fall/Holiday timeframe. The sequins were beautifully placed and gave the dress that very 'special' feeling without being over the top. The hips/thighs area was a bit snug so I had to size up to wear it comfortably so definitely take advantage of the second dress size and when it doubt, make it larger than your normal size.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 6, 2012

This is my senior year of high school and I felt like a million dollars in this dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress last night to the Homecoming dance. I received a lot of complements on this dress. The dress runs small. I am glad that I had 2 different size dress.
lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 6, 2012

beautiful dress !

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a 6. The 8 was tight on the bottom and baggy on top but I just wore a padded bra to take up the extra room ;)
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

Glitzy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was THE best dressed at wedding for sure! Received a million compliments even from the bride :)
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

Exceeded my expectations!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful and classy. Perfect for a formal cocktail affair. I ended up wearing the size 6 after receiving both the 4 & 6. There was a pretty significant difference in size btw. the 4 & the 6 in the hips as well as length in the sleeve. If there was such thing as a size 5 for this dress I would have been that for sure. I settled on the 6 just to ensure comfortability. I received lots of compliment that evening and with such a great experience with RTR, I would certainly do it again.
Linz
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 11, 2012

Fun Fabulous Dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this for sister's bachelorette party in Chicago! I loved this dress! Originally rented another dress & received call that is was no longer available but I could replace w/ any available dress no matter the cost - socre! This dress was perfect! The color and sparkle was amazing! It ran a bit small. Usually wear size 10 but wore this in a 12. It's pretty fitted throughout the mid section / hips and the fabric doesn't have much stretch to it so if you're between sizes go up a size! Dress is beautiful and so fun!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Wore this to my bachelorette party and felt like a star!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was perfect for my bachelorette party- I would never buy/wear something like this in my everyday life, so RTR was the perfect opportunity to get something fun and sparkly for this occasion. I got so many compliments! I loved this dress because it showed off my legs but had long sleeves (I like to keep my arms covered) and a covered up neck. I ordered "Mystery Bling" and it came with the Lauren Merkin Georgie Clutch, which went great with the dress. I wore this with gray peep-toe pumps.
Arlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

Beautiful and Comfortable! Love it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got compliments all night on this lovely Badgely Mischka deep blue dress. And the best part was... no Spanx needed. I could have worn the 8 with Spanx, but opted for the 10. This dress would fit most figures and still be flattering. It does have a waist, but not too tight and it's not too loose like a shift. The sequins are beautifully arranged on the dress to look like starbusts and are of very good quality. My accessories were the Kenneth Jay Lane Deep Blue earrings and the "Dress Me Up" bracelet suggested by the stylist at RTR. Such fun. Thanks Rent the Runway!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

The dress was perfect for an evening fall wedding. It was eye-catching but not overwhelming

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The bust line is a little tight, if you're larger-busted you may have a bit of trouble with the top fitting.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 15, 2012

The dress was perfect for the occasion, very fun and flirty!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was good, it is short but not too short.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 21, 2012

Great night for a Bollywood themed wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! I usually wear a 6, but went up to an 8 for my safety size. I could have made the smaller size work, but it just looked better a little bigger.
Francesca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Great dress; everyone loved it!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fitted on the rear, loose on the midsection, the sleeves are gorgeous. Never wore a dress that got as many likes!!!
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Flattering and classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as my backup when my original dress was not available in my size 1 day before my rental (major freakout moment!). While the original dress the other size fit and I didn't end up wearing this one to the wedding, I will be renting it again to wear on another event in the future!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

A Badgley Mischka star!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. It's my favorite rental from RTR so far. I actually wore it to the RTR launch event in NYC and it was a great choice for a chilly fall night in the city. The fit was snug enough to really show off my figure, yet had enough loose material to breathe. My only complaint was the fabric was really delicate- you definitely have to be careful not to catch any snags. Otherwise, the color is beautiful and the sequin design is so intricate and breathtaking.
Ranee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Gorgeous and comfortable, I felt amazing!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Believe it or not my boyfriend was the one that told me about RTR. After I searched for about 2 weeks for the perfect dress to wear to a wedding I chose this amazing dress. I received a lot of compliments and felt amazing. Dress fits true to size but was a little loose in the waist. I would highly recommend and rent again.
Irene
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 2, 2012

I wore this to a Rent the Runway party.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a sheath dress and doesn't have a lot of give but it still felt comfortable.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 20, 2015

Great Work Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for a work event and it was perfect! Dressy with just the right amount of fun mixed into it! the only complaint was the sleeves fit but at times I was afraid if I lifted my arms too high they would tear, but over all it was a cute dress!
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2015

I rented this for a date night out.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress is gorgeous but I am busty with an hourglass shape and I couldn't pull the dress over my bust or hips. Usually I wear a 10-12.
Maria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

I went to a company new year's eve party. The dress was not as flashy as I though which was perfect!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The only size available was 6. I took my chances since people close to my size said the dress fit was small. I was surprise that the dress fit perfect! I'm sorry I don't have a picture to show for it. The dress is not stretchy at all, so I would be careful if ordering smaller sizes.
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Great dres, but runs small!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I got this dress for my birthday dress, Note the dress is pretty short and runs small. Tight in your hips area... so if you are curvy or larger hips i would do 1 size up so it is more lose and flowly feeling.
B.Kaysee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 5, 2015

Just didn't work :(

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I cannot tell you how disappointed I was that I couldn't wear this dress. It's so beautiful in the pictures! For me, it was just too snug in the hip area. I should have sized up on my backup size.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×