Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(337)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2012
Wish it worked for me!
This one was super tight on me... I did just have a baby (3 months prior to wearing) and was REALLY hoping it would fit... just didn't look good on my hips as it is very body hugging. One more thought... the sequins were falling off in a few places too which was a bummer.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
October 10, 2012
A wonderful party dress for any woman of any age
This dress was beautifully made and was true to size. I loved wearing it to a black tie wedding and I received many, many compliments. I don't think I would ever waste my time running around to purchase a "special" dress again. RTR was extremely time and cost efficient. I will definitely rent for my next big occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 13, 2012
Wore this to my bachelorette party and felt like a star!
This was perfect for my bachelorette party- I would never buy/wear something like this in my everyday life, so RTR was the perfect opportunity to get something fun and sparkly for this occasion. I got so many compliments! I loved this dress because it showed off my legs but had long sleeves (I like to keep my arms covered) and a covered up neck. I ordered "Mystery Bling" and it came with the Lauren Merkin Georgie Clutch, which went great with the dress. I wore this with gray peep-toe pumps.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable! Love it!
I got compliments all night on this lovely Badgely Mischka deep blue dress. And the best part was... no Spanx needed. I could have worn the 8 with Spanx, but opted for the 10. This dress would fit most figures and still be flattering. It does have a waist, but not too tight and it's not too loose like a shift. The sequins are beautifully arranged on the dress to look like starbusts and are of very good quality. My accessories were the Kenneth Jay Lane Deep Blue earrings and the "Dress Me Up" bracelet suggested by the stylist at RTR. Such fun. Thanks Rent the Runway!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
The dress was perfect for an evening fall wedding. It was eye-catching but not overwhelming
The bust line is a little tight, if you're larger-busted you may have a bit of trouble with the top fitting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
The dress was perfect for the occasion, very fun and flirty!
The fit was good, it is short but not too short.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Simply gorgeous.
I randomly tried this dress on in the RTR showroom months ago and instantly fell in love with it. I ordered the dress in a size 8 and 10. I could have gotten away with either size but, the size 8 was slightly tight on my bust (36D), so I opted to wear the 10. Very flattering and fun to wear to any evening event!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this dress for graduation. I loved it and received tons of compliments.
Fit perfectly, and I love that they send you a second size to ensure proper fit!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2012
My sister told me about RTR and we both rented dresses for a family wedding and looked fabulous!!
The fit was pretty close to true fit. I am taller (5'9") than the average girl so I was a little worried about length but it was almost perfect. The dress was beautiful and made me feel special. I walked around with my head held a little higher because that dress gave me more confidence. Sometimes it's a great pair of shoes or a fabulous dress that can make any women feel like a princess even if just for a night.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2012
LOVE IT!
I wore this dress for our 5 year anniversary night out in the city. It was fabulous! We had a wonderful time and the dress was still comfortable after 7 hours of wearing. The sleeves on this dress are magnificent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2012
Dress would be great for someone who doesn't have hips...Gorgeous detailing
I ordered this dress in multiple sizes (the RTR staff was amazing in accommodating my requests!! SO helpful!) however to fit my bottom half and not be skin tight I needed to go up a size and in that size the top was way too baggy. This dress would be great for someone with narrower hips and no belly at all as it is a bit tight in that area. Overall the dress had amazing details and would be a great party/wedding dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
Great dress; everyone loved it!!!
Fitted on the rear, loose on the midsection, the sleeves are gorgeous. Never wore a dress that got as many likes!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 22, 2012
So pretty, runs small though!
I ordered this dress in a 0 and a 2. I have always worn 0's or 2's in all my RTR dresses, but realized those have all been long, flowy dresses! The bottom of this dress is form fitting, so make sure you get a dress size that will allow you to be comfortable. It was too short and tight on me, so I wasn't able to wear it, but that's just because I should have ordered a 4. Such a beautiful dress, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2012
Flattering and classy
I rented this dress as my backup when my original dress was not available in my size 1 day before my rental (major freakout moment!). While the original dress the other size fit and I didn't end up wearing this one to the wedding, I will be renting it again to wear on another event in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
October 25, 2012
A Badgley Mischka star!
I absolutely loved this dress. It's my favorite rental from RTR so far. I actually wore it to the RTR launch event in NYC and it was a great choice for a chilly fall night in the city. The fit was snug enough to really show off my figure, yet had enough loose material to breathe. My only complaint was the fabric was really delicate- you definitely have to be careful not to catch any snags. Otherwise, the color is beautiful and the sequin design is so intricate and breathtaking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 25, 2012
This dress was amazing! I had so many compliments. The embellishment is incredible!
I have broad shoulders, so the top was a little snug, but the fit well otherwise. Thank goodness because there was a mixup at the warehouse and my backup dress size (I ordered a 6) did not ship to me in time. The night and the dress were amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 31, 2012
This dress was super comfortable and cute. Lots of compliments!
Fit was perfect.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
November 5, 2012
Great dress. So pretty
little wear on the dress, bu tlooked great otherwise
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2012
Gorgeous, perfect for a fall wedding!
I decided on this dress for a cocktail attire/fancy fall wedding in Houston. I am usually a size 2 but could have probably squeezed into a 0. I figured the 2 would be better for dancing (which it was) and would be more appropriate. It was very beautiful in person and a lot of fun to wear. I received tons of compliments and my boyfriend loved it. I recommend this dress over and over. Thanks RTR!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
November 9, 2012
This dress was fantastic! I felt beautiful and glamorous and received a ton of compliments.
After reading everyone else's comments on this dress, I decided to order two sizes. I ordered the 12 and 14. I went with the 14, as the 12 was just a bit too snug on me. The top of the blouse was a bit big and loose, so I wore a padded bra. The result was great--the dress really accentuated my curves and made me look more like an hourglass shape. I recommend ordering two sizes and going a size up as the dress does indeed run a bit small. Overall, I loved the dress and felt amazing wearing it!
RTR CustomerNovember 28, 2012
how much do u weight? Im trying to figure out my size and since you and I are the same height and bra size...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 10, 2012
I LOVE THIS DRESS
It is absolutely stunning. Very flattering fit and comfortable. I was at a night wedding, and this dress was a huge success.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 10, 2012
GREAT DRESS, GREAT FIT
I rented this dress for a cocktail-attire wedding and it was perfect and I received a lot of compliments. I am a true size 2 but can sometimes wear a 0 depending on the brand. The 2 fit. You'll love the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 11, 2012
Stunning!
This dress was perfect for an early winter wedding in Minnesota. It was a cold and blustery day but I felt like I shone (literally)! This dress is gorgeous and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. It does run smaller as there is no stretch to it. I am definitely a pear shape and the bottom was fitted, but still looked great. What made my night was being called a "stunner" by a random guy at the wedding and a "knockout" by the bride!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Gorgeous dress. I received tons of compliments!
I normally wear a 6 by this designer, but needed the 8 for this dress. The dress was a little snug around the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2012
Super comfortable! Loved every second of wearing it!
This dress was a great hit! So many compliments on it! It was really comfortable to wear, the only issue I had was that it was a little tight through the hips. But it was amazing to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Glitzy dress for night out!
Fun for a night out in Vegas! Comfortable and easy to move in, and dazzled in the lights on Fremont street!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I loved this dress and I loved my experience with RTR!
This was my 1st experience with RTR and I am hooked! The dress was delivered on time to my hotel in NYC. I am 53yrs old, usually wear a 2 or 4. I rented the 6 and it was perfect. I was leery it was not going to be age appropriate due to the length, not to worry, it was perfect. Thank you so much for helping a middle age women feel like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was called "The Dress of the Night" and there was plenty of competition.
This dress fit perfectly. It was a dream.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 15, 2012
Glamour, Elegancy & Party Ready!
F.A.B.U.L.O.U.S. dress for the evening wedding I attended this summer. Fits runs true to size BUT it was a little shorter than I expected. Not a terrible thing but the hem was about 7-8” above my knees (my leg length is average).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 16, 2012
I'm not Mrs. Underwood...
...and this dress reminded me of that. If you have hips -- stay away. I don't have a picture because I didn't wear it. 2 hours before the wedding I scrambled to get another dress to wear. This is the FIRST time EVER something I ordered just didn't work. Oh well. It doesn't discourage me from renting -- I've been with RTR since 2010 and I love them just as much!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2012
Have Disco Ball, Must Dance!
Although the dress fit true to size, it was really heavy (LOTS of Beading) and very glitzy. Wouldn't work for my occasion, but as a New Year's party dress would be completely appropriate.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 19, 2012
What a great dress! I got tons of compliments and it was so fun to wear!
The 4 was pretty tight through the hips and short, so I stuck with the 6. Around the waist had some extra fabric, but overall, a great dress! I was so excited to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2012
Pretty dress, but it jingles!
This was one of my back up dresses for a wedding. It was beautiful and I loved the color but I ended up not wearing it. (I wore the David Meister "Sass Meets Class" dress instead) I ended up not wearing this one because all of the embellishments jingled when I walked and I didn't really care for the 3/4 sleeves. I also wanted something a little more form-fitting. Although I imagine I would have really appreciated the dress after eating dinner... The length was good; and as I said before the color was fabulous, but it just wasn't my style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2012
absolutely PERFECT dress to celebrate my 22nd birthday in Miami!
This was not the dress I had originally ordered but due to hurricane sandy my dress was unavailable so an abdolutely wonderful stylist from RTR ended up picking what she thought I would like and I have to say she did a great job because this dress was PERFECT! it was definitely a great dress to go party in Miami with since I stood out all night long. i am normally a size 4 but i was sent a size 6 and it actually worked out since i am hispanic and have hips and a backside and the 6 fit was not too tight so it was perfect to dance in. The length was a few inches above my knees. No need for jewelry since the dress already has so much detail to it, all i wore was a watch and ring. i definitely recommend this dress!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Looked gorgeous! Tight in bust!
Loved the dress! I got so many compliments on it. I'm a size 6 and ordered a size 6, I wanted an 8 too just in case (because I have a bigger bust) and they were out. So after reading all the reviews I figured I'd be good with just the 6. Well, as I thought may happen, the 6 was soooo tight in the bust. It fit, they were just smushed in there though! Over all I loved it and everywhere else it fit great, just if you have a bigger bust and are smaller everywhere else, you may need the next size up!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 27, 2012
Pretty dress! Beautiful blue color and sparkles in the light
Runs very small & is a little shorter in length than I thought.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 27, 2012
Sparkle and Shine!
I was worried from the other reviews this dress might be small, but the 0 worked great for me. I agree that it is definitely slim through the hips, so if you are curvy there you may want to size up. But, I found the top of the size 0 to be a little baggy on me. Also, the sleeves were longer than I liked so I pushed the elastic up to get the effect of 3/4 sleeves. But the dress itself is gorgeous and well made. Got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
Received this dress (along with another) as a replacement for my original order that was out of stock. I was contacted by RTR on Friday afternoon about choosing a new dress and they arrived at my hotel room the next day! Such great service. The dress was really fun and pretty to wear. I wore it out for a nice dinner and drinks in Vegas. Looked and felt great, very comfortable, though it was a little tight while sitting down.
AmberJanuary 2, 2013
Hi! Wondering if it was super short? I'm thinking about wearing it to a wedding, but not sure. I'm 5'11 also
RTR CustomerJanuary 7, 2013
Hi Amber! The model is actually 5'11 so it will hit you in a very similar spot to where it is hitting her.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2012
Stunning dress.
Really disappointed that I couldn't squeeze myself into this dress. The fabric has NO stretch... so my curves looked funny and I wasn't able to even get the fabric over my hips on the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2012
Sparkles and fun!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. It does run small, just like the other reviewers say. I ordered a 6 (which is my usual size) and for my backup size, an 8 (which is what I ended up wearing). It was comfortable to walk around in, a little constraining if you have to bend down because it is short. Not super short, just short enough to be sexy without being trashy. I was able to dance in it comfortably as well. The longer sleeves were great since it was chilly in the ball room, I didn't need a jacket. I recommend this dress because it is beautiful and classy and fun. No one else will have anything like this on.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×