Badgley Mischka

Orion Sequin Orbit Sheath

$95 to buy
$995 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent the ultimate party dress by rocking this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation! New Years, birthdays, cocktail events, dinner parties, ladies this is your dress! Pair with fab accessories like the Badgley Mischka's Crystal Cluster Earrings.

Also available in cream.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Fitted - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Not fitted - generous fit at waist
HIPS: Very Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Navy silk georgette with silver paillette embroidery. Crew neckline. 3/4 length bell sleeves with elastic hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35" from shoulder to hem. Imported

Share
556 reviews
Fit
Large
(21)
True to Size
(338)
Small
(181)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2012
Classy Party Dress!

I had quite a challenge finding a dress that was appropriate for being a reader in a wedding ceremony, that could also be worn to a fun party reception without being too brash for the church or too conservative for the party. I think this dress just about did it. It is short-ish (I am 5"8) and the length hit just a tad longer than the length on the model in the picture. That said, it did not ride up at all and stayed in place in spite of lots of dancing, and did not look trashy because of the beautifully detailed long sleeves and the high neckline. I paired the dress with sparkly blue peep toe pumps, which again, tamed the dress a bit and made it more appropriate for the ceremony. If I was wearing this just to a party, I think I'd go for silver strappy sandals. The color of the dress is a true navy (in some of the photos of the other renters looking awesome in this dress the fabric looks more royal blue, but I didn't find this to be the case). The sequins are beautiful as they are all different sizes, so add a complexity to the texture of the sparkles, and they didn't really itch or bother me, but they did shed a little bit. Like one other reviewer stated, this dress can get a bit hot - I danced the night away, and it definitely wasn't the coolest of garments, but to be honest I probably would have felt that way in any long sleeved dress. In terms of size, I went up a size - I am more pear shaped, and while the 4 zipped up, I felt it pulled a bit around the hips and thought it was more flattering with a little bit of movement in the 6. I was thankful for this while dancing. In all, I thought this was a unique dress that was very comfortable and fun to wear. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

DarleneSeptember 22, 2012
Hello! I am in the same boat for my cousin's wedding this weekend. This dress looks amazing on you but I fear it may be long on me since I am only 5'2". Another concern of mine is that I'm an hourglass shape. Was the waist tremendously loose while the hips had no room? Im on the fence with this dress. Help!
MariSeptember 22, 2012
I am 5'3" and it hit me just above the knee which was perfect. I wore a size 4, my usual size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Did not fit

I typically wear a size 6 and ordered a 6 and an 8 just to be safe. The 6 fit, but was just a tad snug for the dancing I had planned to do at the wedding. I tried on the 8 and it fit more like a 4 than an 8! It was distinctly smaller than the 6. I knew I wouldn't be comfortable in the 6 so I sent them both back. The dress is very pretty and flattering, just didn't fit the way I wanted it to for this event. Will try again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning, I am so happy I rented it for my friend's wedding!

I wear a 0 and I am not curvy at all, but this dress was tight to get over my butt. Be safe and order two sizes, just in case! You will be complimented all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2012
Bling!

This dress is really adorable -- it's pretty bling-bling; would be the perfect NYE dress. It fits a little tighter than I was imagining (for some reason I thought it would hang, but it hugs). Looks great with camel patent platforms.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2012
Beautiful dress-Compliments all night long!!

Gorgeous dress for an evening wedding/cocktail event. The long sleeves and midnight blue color made it perfect for the Fall/Holiday timeframe. The sequins were beautifully placed and gave the dress that very 'special' feeling without being over the top. The hips/thighs area was a bit snug so I had to size up to wear it comfortably so definitely take advantage of the second dress size and when it doubt, make it larger than your normal size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2012
beautiful dress !

I normally wear a 6. The 8 was tight on the bottom and baggy on top but I just wore a padded bra to take up the extra room ;)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2012
Wish it worked for me!

This one was super tight on me... I did just have a baby (3 months prior to wearing) and was REALLY hoping it would fit... just didn't look good on my hips as it is very body hugging. One more thought... the sequins were falling off in a few places too which was a bummer.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2012
Dress would be great for someone who doesn't have hips...Gorgeous detailing

I ordered this dress in multiple sizes (the RTR staff was amazing in accommodating my requests!! SO helpful!) however to fit my bottom half and not be skin tight I needed to go up a size and in that size the top was way too baggy. This dress would be great for someone with narrower hips and no belly at all as it is a bit tight in that area. Overall the dress had amazing details and would be a great party/wedding dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
October 22, 2012
So pretty, runs small though!

I ordered this dress in a 0 and a 2. I have always worn 0's or 2's in all my RTR dresses, but realized those have all been long, flowy dresses! The bottom of this dress is form fitting, so make sure you get a dress size that will allow you to be comfortable. It was too short and tight on me, so I wasn't able to wear it, but that's just because I should have ordered a 4. Such a beautiful dress, though!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
November 9, 2012
This dress was fantastic! I felt beautiful and glamorous and received a ton of compliments.

After reading everyone else's comments on this dress, I decided to order two sizes. I ordered the 12 and 14. I went with the 14, as the 12 was just a bit too snug on me. The top of the blouse was a bit big and loose, so I wore a padded bra. The result was great--the dress really accentuated my curves and made me look more like an hourglass shape. I recommend ordering two sizes and going a size up as the dress does indeed run a bit small. Overall, I loved the dress and felt amazing wearing it!

RTR CustomerNovember 9, 2012
how much do u weight? Im trying to figure out my size and since you and I are the same height and bra size...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 11, 2012
Stunning!

This dress was perfect for an early winter wedding in Minnesota. It was a cold and blustery day but I felt like I shone (literally)! This dress is gorgeous and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. It does run smaller as there is no stretch to it. I am definitely a pear shape and the bottom was fitted, but still looked great. What made my night was being called a "stunner" by a random guy at the wedding and a "knockout" by the bride!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Gorgeous dress. I received tons of compliments!

I normally wear a 6 by this designer, but needed the 8 for this dress. The dress was a little snug around the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2012
Super comfortable! Loved every second of wearing it!

This dress was a great hit! So many compliments on it! It was really comfortable to wear, the only issue I had was that it was a little tight through the hips. But it was amazing to wear!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
I loved this dress and I loved my experience with RTR!

This was my 1st experience with RTR and I am hooked! The dress was delivered on time to my hotel in NYC. I am 53yrs old, usually wear a 2 or 4. I rented the 6 and it was perfect. I was leery it was not going to be age appropriate due to the length, not to worry, it was perfect. Thank you so much for helping a middle age women feel like a million bucks!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 19, 2012
What a great dress! I got tons of compliments and it was so fun to wear!

The 4 was pretty tight through the hips and short, so I stuck with the 6. Around the waist had some extra fabric, but overall, a great dress! I was so excited to wear it!

Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
November 27, 2012
Pretty dress! Beautiful blue color and sparkles in the light

Runs very small & is a little shorter in length than I thought.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2012
Stunning dress.

Really disappointed that I couldn't squeeze myself into this dress. The fabric has NO stretch... so my curves looked funny and I wasn't able to even get the fabric over my hips on the bottom.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2012
Sparkles and fun!

I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. It does run small, just like the other reviewers say. I ordered a 6 (which is my usual size) and for my backup size, an 8 (which is what I ended up wearing). It was comfortable to walk around in, a little constraining if you have to bend down because it is short. Not super short, just short enough to be sexy without being trashy. I was able to dance in it comfortably as well. The longer sleeves were great since it was chilly in the ball room, I didn't need a jacket. I recommend this dress because it is beautiful and classy and fun. No one else will have anything like this on.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 6, 2012
Excellent Customer Service!

While this dress truly is gorgeous, it has NO GIVE. Before my daughter was born, 6 months ago, I was a solid size 4-6. It's taken me a little longer than I would like for my hips to return to their proper size - but lately I've been getting away with sizes 6 & 8. This was the first time post-baby that I felt uncomortable in an 8 and actually couldn't wear the dress. I had to return it without being worn. RTR's awesome customer service fully understood but I wish I had ordered an 8 & 10 vs. 6 & 8. ALWAYS size up with this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
December 8, 2012
Gorgeous, gorgeous dress

I expected this to be a loose and flowy fit, but it was much tighter than expected. Would be great for NYE, but between the fit and the sequins, it was too flashy for the conservative wedding I was attending. I advise going up a size if you want it to look loose like on the model.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
December 9, 2012
Felt like a star

Wore this to the Hobbit film premiere and gala and felt great in it. Got lots of compliments. The only issue I had with the dress is that some of the sequins were missing, especially along the zipper, and the dress kept riding up. But other than that, it was great! Order a size up. While the tight fit is great while standing, the minute you sit, it can become dangerous! I kept thinking I was going to come out of the dress every time I sat!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
This is a super cute dress...but it runs super small!

I am pretty much always a size 10. So I ordered the size 10 in this Badgley Mischka. Well it is really more like a 6. Just be careful about that. I had orderd a different dress (just to have options) and that size 10 fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2012
Beautiful Dress!

I rented this dress for my company's Christmas party. This dress was absolutely beautiful. Fits a little snug, but was gorgeous. I would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2012
Beautiful dress!

This dress is stunning in person. The clusters of sequins are just beautiful! I wore it to an Indian wedding where I was surrounded with women wearing gorgeously adorned clothing and definitely fit in. It does run small, I ended up wearing a size larger than what I typically wear. I'm average height and the dress was not nearly as short as it shows on the model.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this it was too small and not as cute in real life

There were several threads that were hanging and it looked a bit much in person. It ran very small and was short. Not my favorite.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
December 19, 2012
Stunning dress!

Dress runs a little small, the 4 fit but was a little tight around the hips, causing it to ride up when I was dancing or sitting, I probably could have sized up to a 6. The sequins are gorgeous and not at all uncomfortable the way some sequined dress can be, but a lot of sequins were already missing when I received the dress, particularly from the back. Overall renting was a good experience and I would definitely do it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 26, 2012
The dress is gorgeous and sparkles more than I could have imagined!

LOVED the dress, but it was a little more snug (esp in my hips) than I had expected. I would have loved it to be a little looser all around.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 1, 2013
lovely dress, but not for girls with hips

I'm normally a 10/12, but ordered a 12 and a 14 in this dress thinking it would run small. Even the 14 was just too clingy in the hips to be that comfortable. I might have been able to get away with it, but I wanted to dance so I went with another dress.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
January 4, 2013
I got a thousand compliments.

I wore this for my husband's office holiday party. All the women told me they loved my dress and a few asked me if I've lost weight (I haven't). I have a gala coming up in March and am thinking of renting this or the white version for that event. I usually wear a 2 but I wore the 4. I could have pulled off the two but since it was a fancy office party and my husband is a VP, I went a little more conservative. Plus the 4 fit me just fine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Sparkly Holiday!

I am into sleeves for winter parties - this is I think my 4th rental in December w sleeves (I have a problem...) I had worn the cream sleeveless Badgley Mischka last December 2011 so I opted for the navy this year. I do like this sleeved version better than the sleeveless bc the sleeveless cuts your armpit a bit. Love the sparkle, love the length, doesn't itch bc it is lined. Sleeves are slightly sheer. Wore to a family party w black nylons and black suede heels. I am three months post partum (as you can see in the picture) so I opted for this dress bc it doesn't cling. Good for all body types I think bc it is forgiving but does have shape.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2013
Loved all the compliments!

I thought the fit was a little tight, but I received a lot of compliments and would definitely rent again.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 14, 2013
i returned this item

I did not like the material of this dress, it does not feel like a true sheath style dress. The sequins are a little too much. I returned this dress for credit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress, runs small

I ended up not wearing this dress as it was a bit snug through the midsection and thighs. It is very pretty however, and the color is really great for those of us who love black but want to branch out.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
February 11, 2013
I wore this to the 2013 Grammy Awards. Put it on at 2:30PM and stayed comfy all the way till 11!

Dress arrived in perfect condition, although some of the sequins had gotten tangled up with each other. Had to be careful to get them separated. It was a little short, but not annoying so. I think it runs a little small, and I wore the larger of the two sizes I ordered (one size up from my normal size). Fabric has a little give, so is very comfortable for long events (I wore this one for nearly 9 hours). Got tons of compliments, and definitely stood out in a sea of black lace and other neutrals. Only drawback was someone else in the bar before we left for the venue--wearing the same dress! I would totally wear this again, though.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
pretty color

I did not like the dress. I thought the color was pretty and thought it looked very nice online and after seeing the reviews i was sure I would like it, but I did not. I thought the overall fit was odd. In areas where it should've been fitted it wasn't and vice versa. I was very unhappy with the dress. I thought once I put it on, the overall look was cheap and I ended up wearing another dress that I was much happier with.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2013
Feeling like a celebrity!

A very pretty dress with lots of sparkle! The dress runs a bit small around the hips and tummy area. I recommend going the next size up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 23, 2013
starry night

This dress is the perfect length and weight for a winter cocktail event. I rented it for an inaugural ball at a youth center. I usually wear a 12-14 and the 14 fit but was tight in the belly area. If you need to be sitting or kneeling down, I'd recommend ordering a size up. This is a beautiful dress and it's not too sparkly and the sleeves are a great length and good for cold weather. I wore black patent leather almond toe pumps with it - you could wear nude if you wanted as well. For earrings I rented the Badgley Mischka Crystal Cluster studs.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 24, 2013
The dress did not fit properly.

This dress is not for people that have curves. If you do decided to rent this dress get a size up than you would normally wear because it's not very stretchy. I did not find this dress to be flattering at all and it did not fit properly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 27, 2013
Loved the dress, but both sizes (even when I sized up) wouldn't fit.

This dress is NOT for girls with any curves.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
March 6, 2013
This dress is absolutely Beautiful!

This dress is absolutely Beautiful! It does run small (I usually wear a size 10) I rented a 12, and it fit but I was a bit tight in the leg. I would've like to have tired the 14, but it wasn't available. but over all, an amazing dress!!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×