Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Off-the-shoulder Beaded Sheath

$58 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This eye-catching LBD by Badgley Mischka is the perfect party dress. With sparkly beading and a shoulder bearing cut, you simply can't go wrong with this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress runs extremely narrow throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow - size up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Square neckline. Cold shoulder detail with beaded straps. Ruched body. Hidden back zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

80 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 46
Large 0
Photos 29
Robin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

When I was told..."It looks like the dress was custom made for you".

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stunning, amazing, breath taking, HOT. Just a few of the adjectives use by my hubby and friends when they saw this dress! Rented for a New Years Eve Florida wedding, and was very comfortable in this dress even after dinner! The stretch in the dress helped with that :)
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 25, 2012

knowing I had a top notch dress for a night on the town made me feel so comfortable, like I belonged there. The best compliment was my husband saying he wished he could come with us so he could keep looking at me in that dress...

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my sister in law's bachelorette in NYC. I ordered the 10 and 12, the 10 wouldn't get over my hips, but the 12 went on with ease. I was never uncomfortable, and made me look smooth and curvy. fabulous. The only drawback is that the 12 was a little long at the knee and in the beaded shoulder straps, which slid down all night. but it looked fine! this picture is me with the Bride, in her RTR dress, too!
Janette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

I felt worthy to walk their red carpet -this dress was the best in the room!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great and I felt like a princess! I would recomment this dress to anyone wanting to get really dressed up.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Great dress but heavy and hot

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great. A real head turner! It doesn't show off curves very well so I would recommend it for someone who is well endowed. I do not have a large chest and it almost made it non-existent! However, I do have a large backside and it fit that perfectly! I loved it, but it was pretty heavy, Iwould recommend wearing this to events where you will be cool.
Alyze
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Pretty dress, but...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
...although I think this dress is very pretty, I felt like it was a little mature for me (I'm 27). It fit well, and it's a very heavy material so I would not recommend for summer or any place warm.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 12, 2012

Nice...

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I needed a dress last minute to wear to a black-tie optional event for work, and it worked out well, I felt like I was dressed appropriately even though I did not want to wear a long gown. This dress feels very heavy and adds a bit of "thickness" to the body, however the ruching somewhat offsets that because the ruching itself is flattering. Overall this dress is OK for the right occassion.
Allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 12, 2012

Maybe the most beautiful dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So flattering! It's a really pretty dress. Like others said, it's quite a heavy material, but was perfect for December in a cold climate.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

The dress fit beautifully and comfortably. Loved the elegance of the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Snug, but flexible fit, the folds hold in your body shape for a nice forgiving fit. Detailing along neckline is pretty enough to skip a necklace. Detailing is more pearls and beads with pink and multicolor- tones then rhinestones, but lots of sparkle. bottom of the dress was a little tight, and you could not take big strides (but who does in a dress?!)
Ami
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

I loved this dress. Loved!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Body con style without needing to be totally conscious of your body. The ruching of the fabric allowed the dress to hug in all the right places leaving me feeling beautiful at my friend's wedding.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2012

Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good dress - it covers all the curves with ruching to hide flaws. plus the side arm straps hide the part of the arms I hate the most. It is also very easy to move in, so if you feel like dancing at the end of the night, the dress is very wearable
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Beautiful! HEAVY!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in a 10 and a 12. The 12 was snug but it fit. This dress is beautifully but it is EXTREMELY HEAVY! The dress appears to be very small before it is put on, it stretches alot but if you dont like to be squeezed don't rent this dress. I felt amazing in the dress but it was not comfortable.
Lorraine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 17, 2012

That I was not able to wear the dress....

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was only able to request the dress in one size as stock was limited at the time. The dress runs small...it is "layered" so sort of thick...and it is like putting on a glove. I thought it was lovely, but had to send back unworn..
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 21, 2012

Awkward look

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this was my back-up dress and i was glad to not have to use it, it looked incredibly awkward on me.
Erin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 6, 2012

Perfect for New Years Eve!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable and flattering.
Hotkakes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

glitzy little black dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress fit great, very comfortable. The false sleeves/shoulder straps were a little hard to get used to. I received compliments all night long.
Michele
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

The dress was beautiful. Got lots of compliments. The beading & rhinestones were very pretty.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is a little heavy but was perfect for the cold weather. Very comfortable and I felt very pretty in it. I would suggest to get 1 size up because it's very fitting but it holds everything in place. Overall, it was a gorgeous dress and I was very pleased with the whole rental process.
Mary Ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

I LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was extremely comfortable. It was true to size. I received a ton of compliments on it. I did need hem tape because the length was long on my 5 foot frame. I wore a total body spanx under it for comfort and it was perfect. I actually could have stayed in it for hours and been happy.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 25, 2013

Great dress! Looked great and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No cons
Barbara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Wonderful dress! Fit my curves perfectly and I didn't need Spanx!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and flattering dress. Received loads of compliments and best of all I could wear a regular bra and didn't need spanx - the dress holds you in beautifully. A bit tight in the bust but then most things are for me so that wasn't a surprise. I would guess this dress looks great on most!
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Great quality! Flattering on anyone!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
First thing I noticed on the dress was the weight: lots of high quality fabric and beautiful sparkly beads! I was concerned about how heavy the dress felt out of the box, but once on, there were no issues - the weight was evenly distributed and felt just fine! The dress hugs and stretches for a flattering fit. I loved the look and feel of the dress, but needed to have a much larger size than normal for me... I couldn't zip up the size four at all and I'd probably need a size six or eight (I generally wear sizes zero to four, depending on how the dress fits across the back as I have an athletic build). Beautiful, but order a size up if you're not straight and narrow.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

i have rented this dress many times, still and will always be my favorite

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
scrunchy middle hides belly
Christina Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

I couldn't wear it- material is heavy.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
fits really nicely, but the material is heavy. I couldn't wear it for that reason. If you are an older client, however, or thin or slightly heavier, this would be a great dress, because the material is heavy and fits your body while not showing much detail of your skin, etc.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Makes you look HOT

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So I like to show off what my mama gave me like any girl, but I do have some trouble spots I get self-conscious about, The magic of this dress is the material: there is very little stretch (so you may want to size up?) but the lack of stretch and the thickness of the material make it so it skims your body in the right places and pulls in the trouble areas. For me that meant it held my tummy in and gave me a slimmer silhouette while showcasing my butt and chest in a way that was hot but classy ;) This is easily my favorite of the 6-7 or so dresses I have rented from RTR and would recommend to any girl of any size or shape--it will flatter!
HeidiQ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 6, 2013

Lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is snug - I usually wear a size 6 or 8, so I'm glad I ordered the 10. The beading is beautiful and the dress was comfortable to wear. Perfect for the Minneapolis Heart Institute Foundation Gala! I will continue to rent!!! Have had nothing but positive experiences!
Karina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Oct 13, 2013

Classy dress. Order 1 or 2 sizes larger.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time renting from RTR and I am hooked! The dress I ordered was beautiful. However, it run VERY SMALL. I usually wear an 8 and I am a D cup. After reading all the reviews, I ended up ordering size 10 and 12 as a back up. The size 10 felt like a 6. Needless to say, I ended up wearing the 12. Overall, I was very satisfied with this dress and with RTR customer service.
Big L
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

I felt so special in the dress I received so many compliments all night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I had read a lot of the reviews commenting on how small this dress ran; it did; however it fit my curves perfectly. I love shopping and being fashionable RTR is my new favorite place to shop. I don't think I will ever buy a dress for that special occasion again! The entire renting process was seamless! I can't wait for the next opportunity to rent that special dress!
Ester
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Good dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore the dress to my 50th birthday really great dress especially for somebody who has some parts of the body to hide
Sohna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Great dress- but too heavy.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought this dress was quite nice, but was just too heavy. It was a bit of a pain too get into and just didn't feel right for a summertime outdoor formal affair..
DesaRae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 23, 2013

The Corset-like mid-section really slims your figure! Gorgeous!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit of this dress - so sexy, yet elegant. It was extremely tight, with a corset-like mid section, which puts all of your bits and pieces exactly where they should be, This is a 2-pairs-of-spanx dress. It hit me exactly at the knee, which made me look especially nice when walking because of the fit. The beading at the top was simply gorgeous. I found shoes to match the beading and declared victory. It is the perfect LBD.
Lisa C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

It's all about the service at RTR

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. I thought it was the perfect blend of sexy with a little bit of bling for NYE. I did see the mentions of the dress running small but I had no idea just how small. I'm 5'9'' 150 pounds so generally things "just fit". This barely got over my head. I tried it on a number of times and got as far as trying to zip it up. I would definitely go up a size on this one. Luckily for me, I ordered a last minute back up dress with the help of Claire at RTR. That fit like a dream!
Rhonda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Body type: Pear
Jan 2, 2014

Perfect Dress for New Years Eve

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is heavy but comfortable. Due to the weight it might not be good in summer or warm climate. It was perfect for New Years in Denver. As others have said, the dress runs small so order one size up. I loved wearing it. Very flattering and it has a natural shaping effect.
Leann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 3, 2014

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for NYE. I went to a formal event. Someone even said that I looked like a princess! This dress Is also very forgiving. It forms to your shape, has some stretch and has ruffles. Its eye catching but not over the top. You have the option of wearing the black straps on your lower arm or not. There were some reviews that said that this dress is heavy. It is a heavy dress but you don't feel the heaviness when its on. Its not a dress you have to mess with when its on. You just put it on and go! I loved it. It does run small. I usually wear a 4 or 6 but the reviews all said to size up so I went with an 8 and I NEVER wear an 8 so I figured that would be helpful to know.
Penny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Jan 19, 2014

I felt gorgeous!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my husbands company Christmas Party in New Orleans. It fit like a glove. WIth a spanx you couldn't tell I had a bit of a holiday weight gain! I got so many compliments I couldn't keep track! For some reason the picture won't upload, but I'll try again!
Cassandra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

I received so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was sung, but perfect with a pair of Spanx. There was no way I was going to fit into the 10. I love how the fabric really conceals any trouble spots, which made me feel even more confident. I really hated to send this dress back because I loved it so much. This was a great first RTR experience for me and I will definitely rent again.
Wendy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Fit Perfect

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a gorgeous fitting dress. The material has a puckering/scrunching effect which adds a classy touch. The beading & crystal detail in the pictures doesn't do it justice. Gorgeous Stunning dress.
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

Beautiful dress but runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful, and does a great job of hiding extra bulges due to the ruching. I typically wear a size 4, so I ordered a 4 and a 6 since reviews/styling tips says it runs small. I tried to put on the 4 but couldn't even get it over my thighs. I was able to get the 6 pulled up all the way, but I had to squeeze everything in just to get it over my hips and then couldn't get it to zip all the way. It was very snug around my legs, which would have made dancing difficult. Other reviewers had mentioned that it is a heavy dress, and I have to agree...I will rent this dress for a winter event some time in the future but not for an event during warmer weather. I will also have to rent it in a size 8 since even the 6 was too tight. Luckily, I had ordered a back-up dress that fit me perfectly. I would rate this dress higher if the fit was more true to size.
Vtgal
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2014

got compliments all night in this dress! And, it was comfortable.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the ruching- made it possible to eat a 5-course meal without feeling self conscious, and the slight stretch in the dress helped it to stay put after many hours on the dance floor. It definitely runs small- I've worn size 8 in Badgely Mischka recently, and the 10 barely zipped up. Thankfully I'd ordered the 12 as my back-up size based on RTW's recommendation, it was a tad big in the bust but still fit well enough that I wasn't worried about it slipping down. I would definitely consider renting this dress again.
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Eye catcher !!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful and super comfortable dress! The bust was to tight to zip on the 4 so I went with the 6. It was a little longer than expected but made me still feel like a princess!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

The people there (and my dress)!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It fit snug and i needed help zipping it up. Once it was on it felt great and I felt beautiful in it!
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Great looking dress~

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like the other reviews, the fabric is heavy. The fit is very snug. Do not recommend if you need to walk up stairs to accept an award.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×