Up To No Good Gown

$148 to buy
$850 retail
Stylist Notes

Watch out Angelina! Strut your stuff in this sequin sensation by Badgley Mischka.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
202 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 11, 2014
Great dress, didn't end up wearing it
I got this dress as one of many back ups for prom. The dress looked great on and felt nice, but I decided to go with the Genevieve Gown by Erin Fetherston because of the pop of color. My date was wearing navy and so I didn't want to wear black and I wanted to stand out. The dress was a good length with about 5 inch heels. It was a tad big on me which probably wouldn't have been a problem but I wanted the dress to fit perfectly so that it wouldn't slide down as I danced. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to go for a more flashy black gown.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
July 15, 2014
Didn't wear the dress it was too small for my bust I'm a 36 DDD and the dress just couldn't zip
It was too long and too small
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2014
Perfect
I wore this to my husband's Marine Corps ball. It was absolutely perfect for the occasion. I received many compliments. This dress fit true to size. I'm 5'11" and wore 3 inch heels. I had the 6XL and I probably could have got away with the 6L; the XL was a bit too long but it fine. This dress is heavier but not too heavy. It's a good quality dress. The sequins are beautiful and not cheap or overpowering. I would definitely recommend it. I felt beautiful in this dress.
RTR CustomerAugust 15, 2015
I wanted to wear this dress for the Ball this year but didn't know if it was too much. Your review really helped a ton. Thanks a bunch!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220lbs
June 5, 2014
Received a ton of compliments!
Very classy and easy to move around in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
I definitely didn't wear this dress. The sequins were overpowering and I felt way too fancy!
The length was fine but the bust was way too small.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
April 24, 2014
Sparkly and fun without being over the top.
The top definitely runs a little large, so I ended up wearing the 8L. At 5'11", the long was just perfect enough to scrape the ground when wearing flats. I was pulling it up a bit throughout the night, but for a strapless dress, it really wasn't bad at all. I absolutely loved the dress and had a really hard time sending it back! It was sparkly and fun, but I didn't feel like I was trying too hard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
Beautiful Gown for Black Tie Gala
This dress is truly stunning. It was perfect for a black tie gala and I felt beautiful in it. I am 5'7" and wore a 4L with 3.5" heels and the dress touched the ground. Two downsides: the bust was a bit too big and I had to keep pulling it up all night. I'm sure the heaviness of the sequined gown didn't help. Also, my dress arrived with a small hole at the waist on the left side! I didn't notice until I had the gown on and by that point it was too late, so I ended up wearing it anyway. Luckily the room was dark, so no one noticed, but I was self conscious about it all evening. I also ordered a 6L, but it was way too big around the bust/waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 5, 2014
It was a gorgeous gown. Photographs don't do it justice.
Runs long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2014
Good for Black Tie
Definitely fits a bit tight, I found the P to be long even with 4in heels
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
The perfect amount of sparkle!
This was my first experience with RTR and I couldn't have been happier! This dress was absolutely perfect for my sorority's masquerade formal and I got so many compliments! The dress was just the right amount of sparkle without being over the top! Pictures certainly don't do it justice! Like so many other reviewers said, you will need two people to zip up the dress, but it stayed in place all night without being uncomfortable. If you are on the shorter side like me, try your best to get the petite size. I made the regular length work with some rather substantial heels (like 5 inch heels) but I had to hold the dress whenever I walked to avoid stepping on the hem.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 1, 2014
This dress was awesome! Super sparkly, but not over the top. I got compliments on it all night!
The top definitely runs large (I have a huge chest and it just about held everything in). Other reviews also said that it ran long, and I ordered the regular thinking it would be long enough, but it was much shorter than expected and I couldn't wear heels with it. It was incredibly flattering though and would look good on pretty much anyone!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2014
Beautiful dress, would definitely recommend
- If you're larger than a C definitely size up -- the bust was very tight (hard to get on, but then once was on stayed put so what was a plus) - I wore a 2-inch heel since the dress was long and I could get away with it...would also work with a 3inch heel. If yo'ure taller than 5'8" and are planning to do 3+ inches I might go for the longer version of the dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
October 17, 2014
It's was a show stopper. I stuffed myself in there and although tight, it hid my imperfections.
Awesome dress. Great for hiding the pouch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
November 2, 2014
too big and too small in all the wrong places
Ordered 2 sizes. they were basically the same in the chest/zipper area. I am 6' tall and wear a small C. With no bra and my breasts completely smashed down, my husband still couldn't zip it - in either size. The sizes were basically the same. The bottom half ( where I normally need extra room for the hips) was hugely oversized. Too much fabric on the bottom - which made it look frumpy. Not flattering! I think it would look good for a true 2-6 sized woman, But as the sizes go up, the added on the fabric which makes your bottom half look wider. Had to send them both back - wearing something I own because I didn't have time to swap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2014
Attended the National Kidney Masquerade Ball, this dress made me look like I belonged at a gala!
This dress was stunning. I received many compliments and the length was perfect. I wore 4 inch heels and if you're around 5'7 or 5'8, the R size is perfect and won't drag on the ground. I sized up merely because the bust area is rather tight and didn't want my girls popping out. However, this dress is good for bustier women since it's tight around the bust area and with some Hollywood Fashion Tape, it stayed up. You almost could pull it off without a strapless bra but I wanted everything to stay in place! Also, the waist area is a bit bulkier and since it's not form fitting, I wouldn't recommend this gown for someone who is on the shorter side since there's a lot of extra fabric that is below the bust area and could easily make you look like you're drowning in fabric. Overall, was perfect for my event. One note: the sequins by the armpits might be a little itchy, don't be alarmed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
November 19, 2014
Stunning!!
I loved the dress and how it looked in person but it didn't fit true to size like I thought (no I didn't gain any weight! lol). It fit ok from the waist down but it was definitely tight on top with and without the strapless bra. The material wasn't stretchy on top either so I could barely breathe but I had no choice but to work it out for the evening. I'm 5'11" so the long was just right. I initially got the extra long but that was too much. I should have gone up a size. I did receive a lot of compliments on the dress and had a wonderful time. I would definitely rent it again but just go up a size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 27, 2014
Great dress but I went with my first choice instead. Will definitely use and recommend runway!
Fit true to size, heavy and wonderfully made. This was my back up dress but I didn't have to use it. It was a little big because I wear a 10r but I got the 12r to be safe. It was perfect length, just hit the floor with my 3inch heels on. I didn't wear this dress because the other one I choose showed off my shape and both my husband and daughter said no to this one. They probably may have liked it better if I would have had the 10.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
December 4, 2014
Got tons of compliments - from strangers!
I went with the 0 because I was worried I would dance the 2 off or step on the dress and pull it off! The 0 was a bit tight but I didn't budge all night! Loved it. Really long though, even with 3 inch heels (I'm 5'2"), tripped a couple times but it was worth it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2014
This dress was perfect for the military ball!
This dress has a very old school Hollywood glamour appeal to it. It was absolutely perfect for the military ball. The liquid sequence make the dress feel chic without being too over the top for the occasion. The dress does run on the long side, so I wish I would have ordered a Regular instead of the Long version. Overall it was perfect and I will definitely be ordering from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2014
This wasn't my first choice but RTR helped me find another dress quickly and overnights it to me.
Runs VERY small in chest area. I am a 34D and felt too voluptuous but still wore it anyway. Lots of compliments. It's pretty long too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 27, 2014
So many compliments on this dress!
This was my first dress I rented from Rent The Runway and it was incredible! This dress fit slightly big so I chose the petite sizing. I am 5'3" with a small bust and I couldn't be happier with the fit. I did wear about a 2" heel so the dress hit just above the floor. This dress is pretty heavy with it being an sequins but overall experience was great and I have never received so many compliments on a dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 7, 2015
Beautiful dress, but....
This gown is beautiful, but runs really small. I have worn a size 6 in gowns by the same designer without a problem, but this one wouldn't zip up all the way. The bust seems really small. I was super disappointed because it is even more beautiful in person as compared to the picture!
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
January 8, 2015
I am 6'1 and the dress was perfect, I normally wear a 10 but the 12 fit. Pretty dress.
The top of the gown had a bit of fabric that looked droopy. Great looking dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 13, 2015
Very heavy/droopy
Personally for me this was not very flattering. Very heavy and unlike the shutdown versions of this gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 18, 2015
To small
Really wanted this to fit:(
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 22, 2015
Loved the dress and it worked well for my sorority's 50th anniversary gala.
The dress was heavy and since it was strapless, I was nervous of it falling. I pinned it to my strapless bra and used fashion tape and it worked out well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
January 31, 2015
I received a lot of compliments on the dress. It made me feel sexy.
I Wore it for a Mardi Gras Ball I loved it! It was perfect for the occasion. After reading the reviews I went with the long, but it was a little too long. The chest was too small but I wore it anyway. With the black, you could not tell.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
February 9, 2015
It was a dress to remember
It was an absolutely stunning dress in person. No picture can do it justice. My only complaint is that the zipper was a little tricky initially. I needed my mom's help to zip it up, but after zipping up and down on my body a few times by the day of the dance it was no problem at all! I received tons of compliments and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
February 9, 2015
beautiful dress
dress is beautiful, i ended up not wearing it though as was my second choice for a back up. (the other dress was pretty much the same style and cut, but in gold). it was very glamorous and i will keep it in mind for my next formal occasion.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2015
Didn't even make it to the event
The picture for this dress is very misleading; it made it seem more shiny and sleek than sparkly. I was very disappointed when I took this out of the box because I thought it was going to be much shinier intead or sequins. Also, the zipper on this dress is nearly impossible to zip up even when the dress isn't on. You have to really wrestle with the zipper on this dress especially on the bust because the bust runs very very small. I ordered this and another dress for my event and I definitely will be wearing the other one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 11, 2015
NYE 2015
Dress was beautiful. Based on reviews I knew it ran small but the only size available was 4R. It was super tight. Luckily I had help getting into it. It was a solid dress though, felt like a sophisticated princess. The length was just right.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 17, 2015
Dresses didn't fit :-(
Runs small. I wear an 8 and couldn't fit the 10 or 12. The sequin has no pull. Great quality dress, just runs small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2015
Glittering!
This dress is the perfect amount of fancy! It's not too in your face with all the sequins, just the right amount of shimmer to catch people's eye. I'm 5' 4"/130lbs and I'm usually a RTR 4/4L but I'm glad I went with the 4P on this dress. When wearing strapless, I always feel more comfortable with a tighter fit up top so I know it's not going to slip down as the night wears on. It has a built-in corset/bra so no need to worry there. My date was not very tall, so I wore flats. If you're looking to wear heels I suggest going for the long. This dress made me fell fun and elegant all at the same time! Perfect party dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 20, 2015
Sequins galore
I ordered this dress for a Mardi Gras ball. When I placed the order I was under the impression that the dress was black with some sort of silver overlay. When I got it, I realized it was all sequin. I was fine with that but was just a little surprised. Overall, I liked this dress and was surprised about the weight of it. It was lighter than I expected. The zipper however, was a total pain. My boyfriend almost couldn't get it up which caused me to panic. After wrestling with it for ten minutes or so, he was able to get it up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 210lbs
February 20, 2015
This was my back up dress and I wish I had a chance to wear it, very beautiful!
I went to the Rent the Runway showroom in NYC Flatiron during Christmas break to try on dresses for NYE in Chicago. I received great service at the showroom. This dress was my 2nd choice, I tried both colors, black and gold. The size 14R was tight at the bust when zipped, so I chose the size 16R as my back up option for New Year's eve. Overall, it's a beautiful dress, camouflages the stomach area well and I will keep it in mind for a future event.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 22, 2015
Stunning!
Wore an Extra Long and it was great! Still not long enough for heels, but perfect for flats! The zipper is tricky around the waist, but fit perfectly once on.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
March 11, 2015
The dress radiated old Hollywood glamour!
I wore the dress to a Gatsby themed ball so I went for more dramatic accessories than the dress really needed. It would have been better with just a statement earring and no necklace. The 4 was a bit tight in the bust and showed more cleavage than I wanted but the 6 was too big and constantly slipped. The long was perfect with 3" heels, just grazing the floor. The zipper was very stubborn on the 4L, more so than the 6L. The dress was much lighter than I expected. There were 3 girls wearing the same style gown at the ball, 2 in the green chiffon, 1 in the red chiffon. While they looked beautiful, the dresses seemed boring in comparison. The sequins were not too flashy but just enough understated glam to catch the eye while remaining classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2015
Compliments all night!
The dress fit overall very well. The chest is very tight and I almost went a size up because of it. The zipper is also hard to zip, even if the dress is off. The dress is also covered in sequins, but surprisingly doesn't looked tacky! I loved it & had a great experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Luxurious and Fabulous Gown!
I wore this gown to a black tie NYC wedding and it was awesome. I literally got complements all night from people I didn't even know. Overall, I truly loved this gown and felt like a movie star in it but a few notes to be aware of. The dress itself is a bit heavy but not unbareable. If you are bigger in the chest area definitely size up...Im a smaller B and it was very fitted. It was also too long...I'm 5'8 and even with 2 inch heels it was dragging all night. I actually like the look of it gathering on the floor but hard for dancing and stairs! I should have gone with the 6R instead of the 6L. The sparkle on the dress was beautiful but not too much, classy but with some pizzazz!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
Great dress for a black tie wedding!
Wore this to a wedding and felt very glamourous! The dress is a bit heavy, but stayed in place all night. The length was perfect, just hit the floor (I'm 5'7 and wore 2 inch heels). Great for a fall/winter celebration!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×