Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Up To No Good Gown

$80 rental
$850 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Watch out Angelina! Strut your stuff in this sequin sensation by Badgley Mischka. A showstopping style that looks great with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Black Ice Bangle Set.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size in the waist and hips but slightly large in the bust. We recommend that women with A to C cup sizes size down for a better fit. Dress also runs short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for larger bust sizes - women with A to C cup sizes should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist - gathered skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - gathered skirt conceals hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 4 lengths: Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’7” woman in 3” heels; X-Long measures 64" and will be floor length on a 5’10” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Strapless with boning on bodice. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

181 reviews

Fit
Small 42
True to Size 112
Large 15
Photos 118
Cristiana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 25, 2013

Beautiful gown and the sequins were surprisingly comfortable to wear!

Size worn: 6XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, it was very easy to wear. My only complaint was that it was a big snug in the bust, I probably should have worn an 8 but it was unavailable for that night. I wore it to a formal dinner and got a lot of compliments. Even though it is all sequins, they are comfortable, they don't scratch and they didn't get caught on anything. I also liked the fact that they weren't over the top. The dress was long enough so that I could wear three inch heels with it, which I loved! I would definitely recommend to other tall ladies!
EMMD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Pretty dress, didn't wear it (it was back-up)

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a typical 4 fits, but was very long. I am 5'4" and had on 2" heels and there was still a 2-3" puddle of fabric on the ground. Would definitely recommend this dress for girls a little taller or for those brave enough to wear mega high heels all night! Still a very pretty dress!
Violet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Was NOT what I imagined, at all.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is stunning, in person. Unfortunately, it was much longer than described, even with 3.5 inch heels. The worst part of the dress is the waist line, it hit just in the right spot to exaggerate my pear shape: it added bulk to my hips, and made it look like I had a bulging lower tummy (I don't.).
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Stunning to look at, but a pain to get on

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is just as gorgeous in person as it is in photos. Once you have the dress on it is comfortable and easy to move in. You will need some assistance to get into this dress. My husband had a tough time zipping the dress up. I have short legs so I chose to wear the petite length. The dress was still too long with 4 inch platform heels. I think if you're under 5'4, you should pass on this dress.
Rosalind
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

The sequins!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress and I got lots of compliments but BEWARE- it runs very small in the bust. If you are over a C cup you may want to consider another dress. I had to cleans for 2 days to get it zipped and even then it required quite a bit of maneuvering... once it was zipped I barely fit in the top but made it work.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Didn't end up receiving this one

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't end up receiving this one
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Pretty dress, too long

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly in the body but even though I followed the fit guide on the website, the dress was still WAY too long! I had 4 inch heels so I thought I needed the long but I definitely should have gotten the regular. Other than that, the dress was stunning and had just the right amount of sparkle.
Melissa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

The dress was beautiful. lots of compliments.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
ALthough the bust was a little tight the dress runs true to size. Actually the tightness helped the dress stay put and not move when dancing I didn't have to worry about raising my hands. I'm 5'6" and I wore the 10R and it was long. If I would have been smarter I would have used hem tape or ordered the petite size so that it would have been easier to walk with and not step on the dress.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

none. I could not wear it, it was to big.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
none. I could not wear it, it was to big.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Was too small, unable to wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress (4L, 6L) as a backup for my school's gala. Unfortunately, I was unable to fit into the 6L. I am pretty busty, however, relatively proportioned everywhere else. I would recommend sizing up for girls with a little more on top. beautifully crafted, wish I could've worn it!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
May 8, 2013

Got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit true to size. Nice support through bodice!
CR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2013

SO SO

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This wasn't my favorite dress I have rented. Something about it wasn't quite right
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 13, 2013

Gorgeous dress for formal office party!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was nervous about a strapless dress because I'm not very busty. I thought, even if the boning kept the dress up, there might be a gap between my chest and the dress. I was nervous for no reason, it fit nice and snug. The dress was still a tad long even though I ordered a 0P, but nothing platform heels couldn't fix.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Fit like a glove

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall size of the dress was perfect and it looked absolutely gorgeous on!
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Beautiful "simple" black dress with a twist. Got SO many compliments.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Arrived in plenty of time and in fantastic condition with sequins intact (which I was a little worried about seeing as how it was a rental). I just needed to let it hang for a few days to let the wrinkles settle. I was between the 2 and the 4 but went with the 4 due only to the chest area. It might not be the best fit for really "well endowed" women. The midsection is pretty flowy and very comfortable. Definitely not fitted in the tummy/hip area. Only complaint was that it was quite long, had to wear really tall heels and was still tripped over the thing a few times during the evening.
Kaylin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

A definite winner for a formal affair!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sequins make this dress a knockout. It's subtle from afar, but up-close, BAM! I got a 0R and a 2R. I ended up with the 2R since the 0R was just a bit too tight on my bust (34B). I have a small waist (26.5") and it fit just right. Be aware there isn't any give to the dress, so size up if you're worried about the bodice. The regular was about an 1" too long in front (I'm 5'5" and wore 4 1/2" Heels).
Agustina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2013

Millions of Compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress...i dance a lot so i was happy to see that the corset did not allow for my boobs to go anywhere. the dress stayed in place the entire night...which btw the wedding lasted from 9 pm to 6 am- so def. a winner in that dept. Be careful though, it is a very long dress! So stick to R.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 10, 2013

Movie Star Worthy!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for last year's Marine Corps Ball, and got so many compliments. This dress is edgy in black sequins and almost has a liquid look to it. I liked that it didn't sag once I got it on, so I was not readjusting my chest all night. My complaints though were that the dress was heavy, so if you're going to be doing a lot of moving, this might not be the best choice. It was also very long, and I had to be extra careful not to step on it throughout the night. But if you are tall and looking to stand out in a crowd, this is the dress!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

I loved the sequins!! It was long, fabulous and fun.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I am between an 8-10 normally. I ended up getting this dress in a size 12 and 14 because I was nervous it would be too small. It ended up that I could have gone one size smaller and worn a 10. I went braless. It had some fit issues up top (if it was mine, I would have altered it and taken it in up top) but overall I loved it -- it was a fun, exciting dress and looked gorgeous. I received many compliments!
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 17, 2013

The dress made me feel amazing; movie star status!! I was heartbroken to seal that UPS container!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I originally ordered the 6L and 8L in gold based on all the reviews and help from the stylists. When they arrived too long I didn't panic because Chelsea (who was an amazing help) reassured me they would help in the event that happened. I called right away and the 8R in gold and black were sent. When I opened the black, I knew that was it. Very classy, chic, and glam!! It fit perfect, with just a little room in the top (just like the reviews stated). I am 5'7" and wore a 3 inch heel, the 8R was the perfect length. I would recommend RTW to everyone; and I did that night! From the customer service, to the quick action and the little goody bag it was an amazing experience. I will 100% be renting for all of my events going forward! My only regret? I didn't get one great photo with my husband, they are all blurry or fuzzy.
Frances
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2013

Had a great time wearing this to the inaugural ball!

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit a little tight in the bust once I had my strapless bra on, but I looked and felt great all night!
Christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 3, 2013

Absolutely stunning dress. Crap zipper.

Size worn: 10XL
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is small. I have a short waist and this dress straight up had the waist area on my lower ribs. Thankfully I had bought the size up so it fit a little more comfortably. The dress IS stunning and will look great in photos and everything else. However...you cannot wear a bra with it...no room and if you have a short waist...order up! The length is FANTASTIC. I am 5'10 and the extra long allowed me to wear heels with a full length dress...a feat not easily accomplished. All in all a good dress.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

It made my prom night extra special! I felt like a princess in the dress!

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit wonderfully! It ran true to size.The sequins were a little itchy but not too bad.
cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Once again super customer service from RTR

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this gown in a size 10xl and 12 xl I normally wear and 8/10 but after reading reviews thought Id better go a little bigger. First of all I am 5'9 and wear 3-4 inch heels with all my gowns, the XL was wayyyy to long. Secondly I am a 36DD . The 10 was too tight in the chest and the 12 was ok in the chest but too big everywhere else and it just pulled down on my breast. I do not suggest this dress if you have implants.. this dress needs breast that can be shaped and poistioned to follow the stays and the preset shape of the bodice. So I shipped it back Friday morning and called to get a replacement, it arrived Saturday AM by 11. That dress was great and all was wel,l once again with my RTR experience!
darlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Gorgeous second dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as my second option, it is very pretty & actually made the choice of "which one to wear" very difficult. :)
Laney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

This dress was beautiful and arrived in great condition. I will definitely rent again!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was absolutely beautiful. This was my first time renting from RTR and I will definitely be a repeat customer. I had a short notice formal with no time to shop for a dress. I was concerned if I bought a dress online that it wouldn't arrive in time and if it did, it wouldn't fit. Renting allowed me to get a gorgeous dress without worrying about having it not fit at the last minute. I rented both the 4 and the 2, but wore the 2. I'm 5'5, 115 pounds, and usually a size 2 in department stores. I wore a bra with the dress, but it's lined very well and there's boning in the bodice so you could probably get away without wearing one if that's more comfortable. The only challenge I had with the dress was the length. I wore 4" heels and still found the dress to be a bit too long. I had a great experience renting and loved wearing this dress!
kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Dec 23, 2013

Very comfortable and tons of compliments

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this for a black tie Holiday Party. I am usually a size 4 and it was suggested to size Up, but the 4 was too big. I could've used a 2, but the 4 still worked, as all the other dress styles I ordered were too big as well. I had to pull it up throughout the night but I don't think it was obvious to anyone and it was still very comfortable. Not at all heavy and I got a ton of compliments. Had it been one size smaller it would have been Perfect but it still did the trick for the night!
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Thanks for making my NYE amazing! Easy experience, dress was perfect and in great condition!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a 6L and an 8L in this dress and I ended up wearing the 6L. Surprisingly, this dress was a touch long on me, which isn't a problem I normally have since I'm 5'10" and was wearing heels. I think it was just the specific dress I had - I tried on the 8L and it seemed shorter. So the Long is plenty long if you're 5'10" and wearing 3" heels. :)
hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Good for Black Tie

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely fits a bit tight, I found the P to be long even with 4in heels
Andria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

DIDN'T WEAR, SECOND CHOICE

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my first choice, but it runs about a size and a half small, so I couldn't get it on.
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful, but Damaged

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, but unfortunatly a wire that was in the bodice was sticking out and I was unable to wear it for my best friends wedding. I'm usually a 6, but the size 8 (the damaged one) just barely fit over my chest.
Marcelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

I did not wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress as a backup. I did not wear it because my first-choice dress was a fantastic dress. I thought this dress was very heavy.
Sheila
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

not for large busts

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first pick for a black tie wedding that I recently attended. I have previously worn a similar style by this designer (the green Flora Chiffon Gown), so I felt confident ordering the same size that had worked before. However, this style fit much smaller than I had expected -- despite the fact that I'm a little smaller now than when I last wore Badgley Mischka! I have a very large bust (34 F) and this dress barely fit over my chest. Thankfully, the customer service rep was wonderful and we found a replacement option that would work at the last minute.
Juliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Not For Me

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress to wear to a Black Tie Wedding on New Years Eve and it wasn't m favorite. It was a bit too heavy for me and the length wasn't right. It made me feel bulky.. i think it was the fit not the dress, as it is very beautiful.
Savanna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

This sparkly long dress was definitely different from anyone else's dress at my event.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was true to size & the length was perfect with my heels.
Dari
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

an elder lady asked " how does it feel to be the most beautiful woman in the room?" Worth the Dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Have someone there to help you zip the dress. other than that it was an AWESOME fit!
Kelly Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

Too tight on top!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Top is not made for larger busts.
Lynn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

The event was okay.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great. A little heavy and a lot of material though.
Janelle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 4, 2014

My hubby and I were the best dressed couple at the event! It was a great night!

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was an absolutely beautiful dress!! My hubby and I received compliments all night long! My only problem is that the dress was about half an inch too long. I'm 5'1" and wore 4" heels. The dress was a 6 petite. I also had the gold 6p and the length was perfect. So I guess the dresses may vary a bit. I opted to wear the black because it was a better match for what my hubby was wearing.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

Beautiful, but too big

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 2 and 4 in this dress for a masquerade ball. It's absolutely stunning. I wasn't able to wear it as it showed up late, but when it did arrive I tried it on for fun and the 2 was too big. It's also a bit heavy. I do recommend this dress for someone looking for a beautiful yet simple dress. Just don't forget to size down!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×