Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

New York Wonder Dress

$60 rental
$450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

An absolutely beautiful shade of red, this Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress is the rental for a charity event, formal dinner party, or Christmas delight. Paired with Badgley Mishchka's Big Bow Bracelet to finish the look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup size or bigger - Note: asymmetric neckline is fairly fitted so very full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - ruching detail is flattering on any body type
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup size or bigger - Note: asymmetric neckline is fairly fitted so very full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - ruching detail is flattering on any body type
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Scarlet silk. One shoulder neckline. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
67 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size56
Small7
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2015
The first time I met my bf, I was wearing a dress very similar to this, and I wanted to surprise him
I usually wear a 6, and the size 4 was unavailable at the time, so I ordered a 6 and a back-up 8. Both were way too loose fitting for me to wear to this occasion. This style of dress only really works when its tight against your body, so it was unfortunate that I didn't get to enjoy it as its supposed to be worn.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 15, 2015
Perfect dress for a wedding!
The fit was very true to size. I am small chested for my size, so I had to tack underneath the arm. The way the dress gathered was very flattering and enhanced all the right features. I would highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2014
Flattering. Great color.
Thick material makes you look slightly bigger, but the draping is forgiving. Great for a holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 1, 2014
Vibrant color!
It was beautiful but considering ordering up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
April 1, 2014
All the wrong places
The red color wasn't as vibrant as I'd hope, it was more pinkish (which I'm NOT a fan of). The ruching hit all the wrong places, highlighting the cons instead of covering them up. The hips were tight & the one shoulder sat funny. I ended up loving & wearing my back-up dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 28, 2014
Loved it.
I wore this for a special occasion, wore a 2 (my usual size). Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2013
Beautiful dress, so many compliments!
I loved this dress and received so many compliments in it. The fabric is somewhat thick, which I liked because it hid flaws and made it look very expensive. The rouching was very flattering. I rented this dress a while ago but it is still the standard by which I judge other dresses that I've rented!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2013
Very chic and festive
I wore this to my company holiday party and it was a knockout! Fits true to size and the ruching is figure-flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 10, 2013
Loved this dress for the 2012 Tony Awards!
This was my very first rental at RTR and was so happy with it! I ordered a size 2 and 4. The 2 zipped up but was a bit snug, but the 4 fit perfectly. I didn't want to return it! The color is a bit more pink in person, but still a great color!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
May 26, 2013
This dress will make you shine like a star without being too over the top!
This dress totally exceeded my expectations. It looks AMAZING in person, even better than the photos can show. It fit true to size and was classy, yet sexy at the same time. I highly recommend this dress. I received compliments on it all night. Truly amazing dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
March 30, 2013
ridges
skin tight
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
March 24, 2013
Too small
This dress is very small...I usually wear a size 10, but the 12 didn't even fit. I ended up returning this, which was a very easy process, and wearing something I had in my closet. Luckily, the return process was very smooth and the credit was sent to my account which I used for another fabulous dress later on. :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 5, 2013
I felt fantastic. Compliments all night long. And my husband loved it.
Tight, but very forgiving. Felt like a dream.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
January 17, 2013
Fit like a glove!
I love this dress. Looked great, felt great. I will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2013
Almost wore it!
I didn't end up wearing this because it was a little too conservative for my event, but I loved the color and the way it fit. Very classy and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 20, 2012
Very pretty dress
Dress was very pretty. However, size runs smaller than i expected. The size I ordered included the back up size were too small. I was not able to wear dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
December 1, 2012
Beautiful color!
Rented this dress for an April wedding. It was a perfect fit and lovely color!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
Gorgeous!
Was a beautiful dress that stole the show. I'm a size 4, but the 2 was a better fit for me. Thank goodness for the alternate size option. Great great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 13, 2012
Great night and many compliments on the dress
It fit perfect, seams were very good
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
September 29, 2012
Don't diet...Rent this dress!
I ordered this dress months in advance and am consistently a "wishful" thinker, meaning that I had good intentions of losing 5 pounds before my event. In any case, the 5 pounds were never lost but it didn't matter...the dress took them off for me! This dress is perfect for camouflage and flattering your curves at the same time. I felt like a million bucks and you will too!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 25, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress! Looked and fit great on me!
I wore this to a military banquet and it was perfect. The dress is sophisticated and fits great. I can't tell you how many compliments I got.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress was perfect! I had so many compliments and felt amazing the entire night.
Wore to a fundraiser at a private artist studio.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2012
My husband's face when he saw me in this dress was priceless!
I loved this dress. It fit so well and I felt amazing in it. I'm a perfect size 10 generally and this dress was spot on. Perfect length, perfect fit. Loads of compliments and a great time had by all! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
total wow factor!
this dress was amazing. it fit like a glove, the ruching was incredibly flattering, and the dress itself was unbelievably comfortable. i felt completely at ease to dance to my heart's content. i ordered the 4, with the 2 as my back-up size. the 4 had a small but noticeable tear, but the 2 actually fit better anyhow, so it all worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
odd
I rented this for a wedding. The color is gorgeous. It was very snug on my waste but was big on my bust- the the point you could see in my bust line. I obviously could not wear it- I was disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
August 16, 2012
The dress was classy and fun without being too conservative or boring
This was my first rental and when I first rented it, I was nervous about how it would fit. The 2 fit like a glove, though I did shorten the hemline a little with the fashion tape. I received compliments all night. It was such a hit that my boyfriend has been encouraging me to rent from RTR again. I'm totally hooked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Great Color and Fit
Great dress, awesome red color and fit was perfect. I am curvy on the bottom and the dress worked very well for my figure!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 25, 2012
Not red
This dress was nice, it was comfortable and easy to wear. Didn't feel that it was very flattering on me, though I got alot of complements on it. I was disappointed that this dress wasn't the vibrant red it appears in the photo - it is definitly more pink/magenta. I think others called it "Raspberry" which is a good description. The zipper is in an awkward spot and kind of diagonal so its difficult to get the dress on alone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 30, 2012
Extremely Flattering
Hesitated on renting this because the dress didn't do much for the model but given all the pictures of the "everyday" woman looking great I went a head and did. Extremely flattering, the dress creates a nice hour glass shape and has a little stretch to fit nicely without having to go through tailoring. I was also concerned that the rouching would add extra weight but it didn't and if you had a little bit of stomach or bumps i think it would cover it nicely. Also the color is not as orange as it appears in pick. I usually wear a 4 and wore it in that size but with the stretch i would say it was on the larger end of a normal 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2012
Great fit and color.
This was my first time renting. The service was easy and I would definately do it again. Dress was a stunning color. I ordered size 6 and 8, both fit but I chose to wear the 8 becuse I was doing ballroom dancing and needed more room for longer strides. So I needed tape on the left side under arm where there was a little gap. The size 6 fit like a glove and if I was just going to a party, it would have been amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 20, 2012
Loved this Dress!!
I really wanted to keep this dress instead of sending it back. I wore it to a fall wedding and the color was fabulous, especially since so many people were wearing black. I am very big on top (34DD) and usually have to wear a big size dress that ends up too loose on the bottom, but this fit perfectly because of the stretch. It didn't need too many accessories, and it looked great with gold heels and dangly earrings
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2012
All of the raves about how I looked as well as the ease of the process
I wore this to a military ball in Key West. I didn't want to wear the usual black, I wanted color. I loved this dress! It was very comfortable especially when dancing. It arrived in great shape and all I had to do was take it to the cleaners for the wrinkles and it was ready to go. I got so many compliments. My husband said it showed all the right curves. My only note would be that it is not as bright red as the picture. In fact I thought it was more of a fuschia/red although several people commented on my red dress. Would definitely wear this again. I wore this with the Ocean Moon Earrings, awesome, and the Black Ice Bangle Set.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 26, 2012
Beautiful, Form-fitting, Sexy
Loved this dress!! I was a little nervous because I am definitely curvy in certain areas. But I must say the dress was completely flattering. I could have squeezed into the 6, but the 8 was more comfortable. Definitely fit true to size. I had a few girls that I had never met before tell me how hot the dress the was. Would definitely recommend :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2012
Feb Red
Beautiful dress but it just did not look right on me. Not good for busty women
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 15, 2012
It made my valentine's day perfect!
This dress made my day! My boy friend told me that this was the best dress he has seen on me. The fit was perfect! Since it was quite cold I wore black tights and It looked okay. I wish I could just wore without it though! I felt very confident whole evening on Valentine's day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2012
Curvy girls, get this one!
I got this dress for a formal work party. It's just beautiful! I have a curvy hourglass figure and usually wear a size 10, and based on the reviews I got a size 8 and 10. The 8 was definitely too small in the hips, but the 10 fit pretty well--it was good in the waist and hips, but was a bit too large in the chest (and I'm a C-D cup!), so if you are well-endowed, this is the perfect dress for you! I used some Hollywood Fashion Tape on the top, which worked out great. The ruching on this dress is very flattering. I got so many compliments on the cut and color of this dress and felt really beautiful! I highly recommend this dress, especially for curvy and/or bust gals--you will look AMAZING in this one!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2012
I absolutely LOVED wearing this dress as I touched up the makeup for the bride before she walked down the isle!!
Although I had to get a little assistance zipping this up at the top, the 4 fit amazing! I've actually never worn a red dress before and I can't wait to add some more color to my wardrobe! I loved my experience with RTR and I'm totally looking forward to renting again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 4, 2012
My boyfriend could not keep his eyes off me. I felt beautiful and elegant the whole night.
This dress is stunning! The color is gorgeous I got compliments on it all night. Perfect for looking high class but still comfortable. I usually wear a 4 and the 4 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 2, 2012
My boy loves the color red, I could not go wrong
Easy to wear, very nice lines. Great design. Perfect dress to begin your rent the runway experience with!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2011
Perfect
I wore the 8 but could have worn the 6 had it not been a wedding it was just a tad tighter than i would like to wear to someones wedding! I loved this dress I felt very comfortable and classy! This dress runs true to size and will work for people with little insecure areas that some of us have! Its not too short which is one of my favorite things about this dress because I'm tall and I have a problem with dress lengths!
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×