Badgley Mischka

New York Wonder Dress

$60 rental
$450 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

An absolutely beautiful shade of red, this Badgley Mischka one shoulder dress is the rental for a charity event, formal dinner party, or Christmas delight. Paired with Badgley Mishchka's Big Bow Bracelet to finish the look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B cup size or bigger - Note: asymmetric neckline is fairly fitted so very full busted women should consider sizing up in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - ruching detail is flattering on any body type
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8'')

Product Details

Scarlet silk. One shoulder neckline. All over ruching. Hook-and-eye closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
67 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 5, 2010
The color of this dress is more hot pink than red. Also, I have a flat stomach and there was so much material that it looked like a pouch in the stomach.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
December 14, 2010
This dress was AMAZING! Very flattering, accenting curves in all the right places! My husband loved it. The soft material and ruching made it very comfortable all night long. The top was a little big loose for the perfect fit of the bottom half, so be advised, fellow pears. It didn't fall off my shoulders or anything but I could feel a difference. GORGEOUS dress! Want to buy it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2011
This dress runs true to size--I was hoping that it would run slightly large since it was only available one size too small for me. As others have noted the color is definitely hot pink and not red. The draping of the dress is bust-minimizing but still leaves the impression of a bit of a tummy. Would probably work well belted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2011
I really liked this dress and I got nothing but compliments on it when I wore it on New Year's eve. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the fit/fabric. I understand that the design is meant to show the gathering and ruching but there was so much fabric around the mid section that it looked like I had a thicker waist than I actually do. Perhaps it was slightly big on me and I was the only person who noticed this. I'd recommend the dress without reservation though but unless you're big on top I'd say get your size and a size down.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2011
I just wore this dress for my big birthday bash, and I got a ton of compliments! I had a back-up dress that was similarly detailed and red but was shorter and tighter. Although, my friends (and my husband, especially) loved the shorter dress, they thought this dress had the same "wow" effect but was classier. So, that's the best way to describe it--sexy but classy. I had the same problem as "Laura" at first with the pooching stomach. The problem is the different directions of the sections of material. But once you play with the fabric and get each section in the right grooves, it will lie flat and won't make the stomach area pooch. I have pictures from the night to prove it! And, I agree that the color is not a true red. But it's not hot pink either. It's more of a dusty red. Very pretty! Google "E51937 color" and that's what it looks like.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2011
This dress is a knock-out! I had tons of compliments on it, and it is a very flattering fit. The ruching is very nice and really compliments a curvy figure. You cannot go wrong! I completely disagree that this the color is hot pink--this is definitely more of a fire-engine red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 6, 2011
was told I looked famous!!
Absolutely loved this dress. It was so sophisticated and polished. I was told all night how beautiful it was! The dress just looks expensive because of the fit and the material. The only flaw in the fit is that the top is just a tad big and it felt like it got just a tiny bit looser as the night went on, but nothing very noticeable. Very easily worn with strapless bra. I didn't feel the need for spanx either! Such a great dress!
RobinJanuary 19, 2012
you sure do ;-)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 14, 2011
I really loved this dress and even got a compliment on it when I went out to dinner with my husband for valentines day. The color is a little more blue-red or on the pinky side - not a fire engine red, but still pretty. The only thing I a can complain about was the bunchiness of the fabric. You can see it a little in the magnification of the model - it's like there's a slip that's all bunched up under the outer wrapped fabric. There was a little bit of bunchiness on the tummy, but not enough to ruin the overall look. The length was ok too - something I always worry about since the models are super tall and I'm so short! This would be a great choice for pear shapes or hourglasses. The more curvy the better in this dress! The material isn't super stretchy, but still very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
February 22, 2011
This dress was FANTASTIC! I got SO many compliments. The color is gorgeous and the length was perfect for a wedding. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is the zipper. Seemed a little overused and temperamental. Other than that, just great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 7, 2011
RTR didn't send the size 10 with the 8, so with the help of Spanx I squeezed my bod into the dress. Despite being tight, all the ruching hid my flaws and it wasn't that uncomfortable. I can't tell you how many compliments I got from men AND women. Even a week later a guy friend told me how great I looked. It is a sexy and elegant dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 12, 2011
fit perfectly, accentuated the positive. glamorous and classy
I LOVED wearing this dress. The color is a clear beautiful red. A previous reviewer posted the exact color number. The fit was amazing. I usually wear a 4 but the 6 felt better. I wore it with gold dangly earings and thin gold bangles, nude high heel sandals. Many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
May 3, 2011
I made the mistake of ordering one size below my norm instead of above and couldn't get it around my breasts which was such a disappointment because this dress was fantastic!! I will surely rent this dress again and not make the same mistake.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2011
I rented this for the evening banquet for a competition, and it was a perfect fit. I rented a size 4, and a backup 6 but the backup was completely unnecessary. It was sexy without being over the top, and very classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2011
This dress fit so well, and was comfortable all night. I felt like a million bucks, and definitely stood out in a crowd!
This dress was FABULOUS! I wore it to a military ball and everyone loved it-- even the cadets! I would definitely recommend it. It is classic and fun!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
June 6, 2011
My family loving the dress, and all the compliments.
I didn't immediately fall in love with this dress, but I wore it cause it was the more appropriate option and as the day went on I fell more and more in love with this dress! it is very figure flattering and the pouching everyone is commenting on, is seriously such a minor issue that you don't even need to worry about it. The dress photos as the color shown in this picture... but yes, in person, in some light it can come off pinkish red. Overall, I LOVED it.. my only complaint would be the shoulder is slightly cap sleeved, which can make lifting your right arm hard.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
June 24, 2011
Out of the 3 dresses I rented, I thought this one would look the best. It was the only one that didn't look good The color was more of a washed out reddish/pink. The draping hit in all the wrong places on me. I rented the 8 and it was tight in the hips and a little loose in the bust (granted I'm extremely pear-shaped 36A bust)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2011
Gorgeous dress. Am 5'5 and 140 lbs. Size 8 fit best but was slightly loose in shoulder/best area, so had to be creative with safety pin. Rutching over belly does make belly look pouched out, but still charming (wear with spanx to decrease outpouching). Wore with cream stilletos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 9, 2011
The color of the dress was phenomenal!
I word this dress last weekend to a wedding and LOVED it. I ordered the 6 and the 4 and ended up wearing the 4. Like other reviewers the top was a little big and with the ruching, you really want this dress to fit. It looked amazing though and I received a lot of compliments. It is more of a raspberry color in person, but still vibrant and fun. I styled it very much the way it looks here. Great rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2011
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2011
This was my first RTR experience and I'm sold! Fantastic dress!! It was a touch big in the chest area which is a feat for a 32D chest size but I have small shoulders and am short so it may have been a height thing. And its a little more pink that red but overall the dress was amazing! I loved wearing it every minute of a full Catholic wedding (which is saying something) and for the entire reception. It was comfortable (though not always easy to raise the sleeved arm) and very flattering. I would not hesitate to rent this again and can't wait to the photos from the photographer :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 3, 2011
I really loved this dress. It was not red more like a raspberry color. But it fit perfect!! I got so many compliments. Even the bride and bridesmaids said i looked amazing!!! It excentuated all of my curves. I could dance in it!! Thanks RTR for another great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2011
I had a moment in this dress.
The 'RTR Moment' verbiage is totally appropriate. I totally had a moment in this dress. I rented this bad boy for a November wedding, my first dress-up situation after losing 20 pounds (so it took some major balls to go this body-conscious). The dress arrived on time and in fabulous condition; the only telltale sign that it had been worn ever was that the red paint on the zipper pull was chipped a little bit. I have no boobies left so I had to wear a bit of a padded bra on top, and there was some assistance from Spanx behind the scenes -- but the fit and the color were absolutely stunning. I think being tall helps a bit with the fit of the shoulder & the cap sleeve; it seems like shorters gals are having issues with bagginess up top. Warning: the skirt kind of tapers in toward the knee, so you've gotta watch your dancing. You can dance reasonably well as long as you're not doing the stanky leg or anything. You shouldn't be doing the stanky leg at a formal event anyway, though, so you should be good to go. Anyway: I received a ridiculous number of compliments. I felt stunning. This dress is the bomb.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 3, 2011
Friend said I looked "stunning" and that several people asked him "who's that girl?!"
I wore this dress to a charity gala. Unfortunately I don't have any full-length photos from the night, but the dress fit just perfectly and was extremely comfortable to dance the night away in (and still enjoy all the awesome food, too)! Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 2, 2012
My boy loves the color red, I could not go wrong
Easy to wear, very nice lines. Great design. Perfect dress to begin your rent the runway experience with!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2012
My boyfriend could not keep his eyes off me. I felt beautiful and elegant the whole night.
This dress is stunning! The color is gorgeous I got compliments on it all night. Perfect for looking high class but still comfortable. I usually wear a 4 and the 4 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2012
I absolutely LOVED wearing this dress as I touched up the makeup for the bride before she walked down the isle!!
Although I had to get a little assistance zipping this up at the top, the 4 fit amazing! I've actually never worn a red dress before and I can't wait to add some more color to my wardrobe! I loved my experience with RTR and I'm totally looking forward to renting again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2012
Curvy girls, get this one!
I got this dress for a formal work party. It's just beautiful! I have a curvy hourglass figure and usually wear a size 10, and based on the reviews I got a size 8 and 10. The 8 was definitely too small in the hips, but the 10 fit pretty well--it was good in the waist and hips, but was a bit too large in the chest (and I'm a C-D cup!), so if you are well-endowed, this is the perfect dress for you! I used some Hollywood Fashion Tape on the top, which worked out great. The ruching on this dress is very flattering. I got so many compliments on the cut and color of this dress and felt really beautiful! I highly recommend this dress, especially for curvy and/or bust gals--you will look AMAZING in this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 15, 2012
All of the raves about how I looked as well as the ease of the process
I wore this to a military ball in Key West. I didn't want to wear the usual black, I wanted color. I loved this dress! It was very comfortable especially when dancing. It arrived in great shape and all I had to do was take it to the cleaners for the wrinkles and it was ready to go. I got so many compliments. My husband said it showed all the right curves. My only note would be that it is not as bright red as the picture. In fact I thought it was more of a fuschia/red although several people commented on my red dress. Would definitely wear this again. I wore this with the Ocean Moon Earrings, awesome, and the Black Ice Bangle Set.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2012
Great fit and color.
This was my first time renting. The service was easy and I would definately do it again. Dress was a stunning color. I ordered size 6 and 8, both fit but I chose to wear the 8 becuse I was doing ballroom dancing and needed more room for longer strides. So I needed tape on the left side under arm where there was a little gap. The size 6 fit like a glove and if I was just going to a party, it would have been amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
May 30, 2012
Extremely Flattering
Hesitated on renting this because the dress didn't do much for the model but given all the pictures of the "everyday" woman looking great I went a head and did. Extremely flattering, the dress creates a nice hour glass shape and has a little stretch to fit nicely without having to go through tailoring. I was also concerned that the rouching would add extra weight but it didn't and if you had a little bit of stomach or bumps i think it would cover it nicely. Also the color is not as orange as it appears in pick. I usually wear a 4 and wore it in that size but with the stretch i would say it was on the larger end of a normal 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Great Color and Fit
Great dress, awesome red color and fit was perfect. I am curvy on the bottom and the dress worked very well for my figure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
odd
I rented this for a wedding. The color is gorgeous. It was very snug on my waste but was big on my bust- the the point you could see in my bust line. I obviously could not wear it- I was disappointed.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 20, 2012
total wow factor!
this dress was amazing. it fit like a glove, the ruching was incredibly flattering, and the dress itself was unbelievably comfortable. i felt completely at ease to dance to my heart's content. i ordered the 4, with the 2 as my back-up size. the 4 had a small but noticeable tear, but the 2 actually fit better anyhow, so it all worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 28, 2012
My husband's face when he saw me in this dress was priceless!
I loved this dress. It fit so well and I felt amazing in it. I'm a perfect size 10 generally and this dress was spot on. Perfect length, perfect fit. Loads of compliments and a great time had by all! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2012
Feb Red
Beautiful dress but it just did not look right on me. Not good for busty women
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
Gorgeous!
Was a beautiful dress that stole the show. I'm a size 4, but the 2 was a better fit for me. Thank goodness for the alternate size option. Great great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 20, 2012
Very pretty dress
Dress was very pretty. However, size runs smaller than i expected. The size I ordered included the back up size were too small. I was not able to wear dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2013
Almost wore it!
I didn't end up wearing this because it was a little too conservative for my event, but I loved the color and the way it fit. Very classy and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
January 17, 2013
Fit like a glove!
I love this dress. Looked great, felt great. I will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
March 30, 2013
ridges
skin tight
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×