Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
383 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(280)
Small
(51)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 10, 2017
Absolutely stunning!!!!
I wore this dress to a wedding and I received so many compliments!!! The length is short, but it didn't bother me at all. The top of the dress was a little big, especially on the side with the zipper, but no one noticed besides myself. I'd highly recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
September 10, 2017
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this for my friend's wedding, but the length is kind of short which I didn't expect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
July 18, 2017
Absolutely stunning!!
This dress fit great! It was comfortable and the fabric was heavy and quality. It was elegant and sexy! I was surprised that the length was so short. I usually struggle with things being too long. I was wearing 3 inch heels in this picture and the dress didn't touch the ground at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 100lbs
July 12, 2017
...
This dress was amazing; however, like most reviews stated the length of the dress was short. I rented a 0R ( the long was not available), and a 2L for the back up. I ultimately wore the 2L because the length was just the way I wanted it. If you are small bust like myself, the size 2 may fit a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 23, 2017
great and forgiving dress.
I was concerned with my midsection from having babies, but all was well. I wore a waist trimmer so there was no gut hanging out. A wee bit long, but I had 3 inch heels and I was good!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 15, 2017
Safe black tie option
Beautiful, timeless dress. It's a safe choice but not boring. The fabric is stretchy but thin, plan on getting some spanx or control hose to smooth out the torso. You could literally see the outline of belly button with out it. The dress was the perfect length for me with 4 in heels but I'm very short, so consider a lower heel or flat shoe. The beeding on the shoulder is a mix of silver, black and blue/ green.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2017
Comfortable and Flattering
This dress is very flattering and comfortable to wear. The details are very elegant and you do not need a lot of jewelry to dress up this look. My only complaint is that I ordered a 2L and the hem still seemed to be a little bit short of ideal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32H
Body type: Full Bust
May 8, 2017
the detailing on this dress is gorgeous
the dress was a bit large on me...but it fit fine enough. the detailing is great. highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
April 8, 2017
Short!
Luxurious drape, stretchy thick fabric. Bust seemed large, narrow hips. I am probably a true 14L (5'9", 180), this was only available in 12L--top was a little loose, through hips was tight but manageable with shape wear. The tag said 12, I don't think I received the 12L. It was very short (about 4 inches above the ankle). Dress flares like a mermaid so the length was a deal breaker. The sparkly detail at the shoulder is more teal which was very pretty.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
March 14, 2017
Got many compliments!! Perfect for a black tie wedding
I am 5'2" and 120 lbs and the 4R fit perfect. Definitely runs short! I always wear petite but with 3 inch heels it didn't touch the ground. But still looked fine. I loved the dress!!
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
February 25, 2017
The dress looks better in person than in pictures. It is very comfortable and elegant.
Very flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2017
I got tons of compliments, but I had to tape it in place.
Large... I think. I have lost a significant amount of weight this year, but I wear a 4 in other brands...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2016
Too short
This would have been beautiful but it was too short. I'm 5'8"
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2016
I received lots of compliments.
The dress fit like a glove but was also very comfortable. The length was shorter than I prefer but it still looked nice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
December 8, 2016
A fun dress for a fun event!
This dress was comfortable and forgiving. I had read other reviews that said it ran short, so I ordered the long and it was perfect. (I am 5'4) I was very happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2016
very elegant.
very nice fabric. the 4P was very short. very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 7, 2016
Nice formal dress
This dress worked perfectly for my event. I did wish it was a little longer but it's very cute and stylish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2016
subtle, stylish
great dress. didn't end up wearing it, but it was a great weight, fit, and style. i'm tempted to rent it again for an upcoming event, but will probably steer clear of black because everyone wears it. the subtle detail on the arm and the slight drape is super classy - if you have a black tie function, or a 'black and white ball' - do consider this one.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 24, 2016
Law School Formal
I wore this for my fiance's law school formal in March about a week after we got engaged, so I was already on Cloud 9. The 4 fit perfectly except for in the bust--I had to pin that to my strapless bra because otherwise the girls would've been popping out all night. Other than that, it fit comfortably everywhere else. I ordered the 2 as well, but that was just "a little" too tight in my midsection at the time. I liked this dress because it was elegant, but had a fun twist to it with the beaded one shoulder detail and the little draped cape in the back. As for length, I found the R perfect because I wore 3" heels with a 1" platform and that showed just enough foot and also wasn't difficult to walk around in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 32
June 20, 2016
Too short
The dress was great everywhere else. It was just too short. I'm only 5'6" and my feet were completely showing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2016
Fit perfectly
Fits well and has a little stretch to fit any curves. I am a 32 H and it fit perfectly
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 118lbs
June 15, 2016
Great dress but VERY short!
Great dress, but definitely order the long! I'm 5'2" and it didn't touch the ground without shoes on! I ended up wearing a very short heel but would have preferred a higher heel. It's a nice material and lays well (except the side zipper). I just had a baby and I felt very comfortable in the dress. The jewels are a silver/blue color, so gold accessories don't match well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2016
Caution! VERY Short but beautiful
This was my first RTR experience and I wanted to say that I appreciate the support and responsiveness of the company. I rented this dress after reading the reviews that it runs short. I'm about 5'5"-5'6" and thought I'd be able to get away with the regular even though they reviews suggested long. Well I should of listened. The overall fit was great, runs true to size BUT the regular came up to my ankles. I was in a panic as that the wedding was tomorrow and I had no back up. I called RTR and they were able to I might me a dress for the cost of shipping (12.99). The dress is thick so there was very little difference from the 2 to the 4 regular which I ordered. They did not have a two or a four long so I took a gamble and went with a six long. It was a tad big but was great. I'm normally a size four. However I had kitten heels on as if I would of worn anything taller, the dress would of been too short again. If you are above 5'3" and plan to wear three inch heels. Please please order a long and save yourself hassle. I really don't know how someone 5'5" and wearing 3 inch heels could make due with a long. I got a ton of compliments and felt great. Even with the mishap, I'd definitely order from RTR again !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 16, 2016
Short Short Short
Dress was comfortable and great to wear. I'm 5'5", 145, 36C and dress fit perfectly everywhere-except the length. I had to wear flats and my entire foot still was showing, dress hit right at my ankles. Being kinda short I was figured the 6L would be OK. I would not wear my hair near the shoulder decoration either. My hair kept getting stuck in it all night. Overall liked the dress except the length. Great experience with RTR also-even from Hawaii I received my dress the day before I was suppose to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2016
Made Prom Perfect!
Dress hugs curves like a dream in all the right places. Looks sexy and classy. Only thing I didn't like was that it is had to tell in the pictures, but the beading is a little "grandmothery" also I am 5'0" and the regular size 0 still showed my whole shoe and I wore a shorter heel. Didn't bother me personally too much, but definitely noticeable in pictures. All together I felt elegant and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2016
Classy beautiful dress
Very flattering. I was very bloated that evening but the fabric flowed great. It is not floor length. You can easily see shoes from standing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
May 2, 2016
Lovely dress, very high quality.
This dress was very nice. It did hug a little to closely to my stomach, even with Spanx I felt it drew attention to my mid-section too much for my liking. The length was perfect. I would have worn this but I went with the Slate & Willow tuxedo wrap gown instead.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2016
Cute dress, but WAY too short
I ordered the 2 regular and a 4 petite and they both fit the same--comfortable fit everywhere except the length. I'm only 5'2" and I read the reviews thinking, "oh great! This dress runs short so it won't be crazy long on me"... Well I wasn't expecting it to be THAT short. I would ONLY order this dress if you are really little, like under 5 feet tall. Otherwise, if you're cool with your feet and ankles showing, it's a really pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
April 5, 2016
.
I am not tall, and this dress was ankle length, so you could see my shoes. I didn't like the way that looked, it was tight, and maybe that was why? I think I would have liked it much better in size 8, but it wasn't available.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2016
Pretty dress. Form fitting.
Very elegant classic dress. I read a lot of the reviews before I rented the dress. And I do agree that seems a little short in the front. I wore the four regular. I'm 5'3 ..but I had sparkly heels on and it looked like I was showcasing my shoes. I wish I had a picture to show you that was full length but I don't sorry! Is cut it little longer in the back. If I could've got the long I would have but they didn't have it in stock when I needed it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 5, 2016
Even the long is too short.
Went to a gala event. Read the reviews that said it ran short, but the long length wasn't available in my size (4). Ordered a 4R and a 6L, ended up with the 6L. The 4R was laughably short... it hit ABOVE my ankles in flats. With shapewear. The 6L was better... but in 2.5" heels, most of my shoes showed. It hit just above the floor in flats. Because of the shape of the dress, and the way the bottom flares out, it hangs better when you wear heels. Some of the beadwork was coming loose, but nothing too bad. Fit wise, the top was actually a bit big (which is not normally a problem for me in a 6)... I ended up having to tape down the armpit to keep it from gaping. It definitely needs shapewear to keep you from looking lumpy-bumpy. Overall, I liked the way the dress hung, and accentuated curves... but in retrospect, I wish I'd picked something a lot longer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 15, 2016
LOVE this dress. Very comfortable and slimming.
Great fitting , I was able to use the smaller size(10L). Thanks to the reviews I ordered the long which was a perfect length. ( I am only 5'6").
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 10, 2016
The quality of this dress was amazing. Will make you feel like a queen.
I am 5"5. The dress didn't hit the floor. I do have hips and a butt so maybe if you don't have that, it would hit the floor. I usually wear regular length dresses and wear 2 inch heels and the dresses hit the floor. Not the case here. But was a great dress! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
I didn't wear this dress
This dress was too clingy
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
January 4, 2016
Comfortable and Classic!
The reviews were right, the dress runs short. I rented a long and it fit well (I'm 5"7). I thought it comfortable and a classic. It also was a slimming dress which I always appreciate!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
December 30, 2015
great elegant dress,
Wore this for a holiday black tie affair - had the wow factor from my husband's reaction. Is very fitted, shows your curves.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 28, 2015
Gala for work
Good fit, snug but cozy not binding. Length was perfect for me and it worked well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 28, 2015
The one I received the zipper had been stretched a bit so I couldn't wear it but it was beautiful.
The one I received looked like someone with a larger stomach may have worn it prior and put some stretch and strain into the zipper so it didn't lay flat even though there was room to move. It also does run short, I am 5'7" and with the regular length my full foot would have been showing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2015
The dress fit perfectly and was super comfy!
Glad I got the long-I am 5'8 and the extra length was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 10, 2015
I actually didn't end up wearing this. Too short, and flimsy fabric. Luckily rented 2 dresses.
Hit tea-length not floor length; flimsy fabric, beautiful design
See more reviews:
1 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×