Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(274)
Small
(51)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
February 23, 2014
I chose this as my backup dress and did not wear it.
The dress is beautiful and very well made, but is very fitted through the hips. Although I like clothes to fit well, I thought that it was not age-appropriate for me. I wore the Badgley-Mischka "Take the Stage" dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2014
Perfect dress for black tie!!
I am very petite and this dress fit me perfectly! The fit was snug so I imagine it may run a bit small since I am tiny. Love this dress, perfect for a black tie event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2014
I didn't wear it...it was too short
I'm only 5'3" and I got a regular and should have ordered the long. Even in flat feet it was too short and my heels are 6". I'm sad b/c I love this dress and it had great reviews.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156lbs
February 16, 2014
n/a
Beautiful dress, luxurious material - definitely makes you feel like you're on a runway. If you like mermaid dresses, you will LOVE this gown! Short story - I'm the wrong body type for this style, and I received this as a substitution dress. Though it definitely was not perfect for me, if you are considering it and you have any body type other than apple, it is likely perfect for you! Warning: it definitely runs SHORT. I am 5'3" and the 10R allowed the tops of my feet to show. Since this was a substitute, I decided to try it despite my fears of a mermaid-style dress, it wasn't as terrible as I expected - in fact, it appeared to cinch the waist I don't have! I'm sure it's quite flattering on someone with any other body type. Since it certainly wasn't ideal for me, RTR agreed to send me new substitutions (AMAZING customer service!). However, I knew that if those were somehow worse than what I started with, this would do in a pinch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, that fit and looked great!
Fit perfectly, but was definitely short as others noted. I do not usually like to wear very high heels, so I thought this would be perfect... It was slightly shorter than I would have preferred (I like the dress to be pretty close to the ground, I wore 2 inch heels). Otherwise, it was very comfortable, I did not need to wear a bra, and it looked great. This was my first time using RTR, and I will definitely do it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2014
Beautiful, flattering dress for Black Tie Wedding
Beautiful dress. Fit true to size but be warned this dress does run short. I am 5'4 and wore the 6L which would only allow for a 2 inch heel max. Dress is very slimming and fabric has just enough stretch to be forgiving but still hug you in all the right places. Many compliments...and as always RTR customer service is incredible!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2014
Great Dress, great fit, too short. I didn't get the long and should have since I am 5'9"!
Dress fit well, comfortable and got a lot of compliaments! Way too short for me, but I should have known and rented the 6L
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2014
Getting so many complements on my dress!
Dress was wonderful, the only thing is I ordered a 6 Long, it is actually just a 6. I'm 5'6 so it was OK for me. Also the beading on the 6, was very different from the 4 (which was too short on me) Seemed like its been cleaned a few too many times and the beads have changed color and some are missing.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
This dress was gorgeous .... Loved how elegant I felt "
The whole , rent the runway experience was phenomenal . The drees come on time , fit great and the entire process was easy .... It was PERFECT !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
This gown was the most comfortable I've ever worn. It fits snugly around the shoulder and the drape of it is very flattering. The fabric does have a bit of give and is heavy enough that it does not hitch at the hips or on the sides. It is somewhat short, so if you plan on wearing heels make sure you order the long versus the regular. I wore this while assisting my husband, a photojournalist, at the Academy Awards. I was required to move a lot, run up and down stairs and walk very quickly between the press room and the editing room. It was an EXTREMELY easy dress to move about in and would be a great formal selection for an event that might include a lot of dancing.
AngieAugust 13, 2014
What kind of bra did you use?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 7, 2014
Subtle yet stunning!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I received endless compliments the entire night. The dress was almost too short, and I wore 1.5' heals. It fit my curves perfectly and had nice stretch too. The sleeve beading was very subtle but gave some drama.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2014
Elegant, classic, show-stopping dress
This dress is flattering and very comfortable. It stands out and doesn't require much accessorizing. I wore the 4L but still found it a little short in heels. Highly recommended overall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress, very slimming and elegant.
Tons of compliments received, it was very stylish and had a snug fit without being too revealing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
December 30, 2013
Too short!
I am pretty short and got the short version of this dress - I was shocked at how short it actually was! Did not end up wearing.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
Weight: 91lbs
December 1, 2013
I felt like a princess!
I wore this dress to the Southern Curves Vodka launch party and got lots of compliments! I am a very petite and short woman and was actually afraid the smallest size would be too big for me. It fit like a glove and hugged in all the right places. I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 112lbs
November 26, 2013
Wore it for our company's 100th Anniversary Gala
It fit great. I tried on the 4R and it looked goot, but was a little long, so I ended up wearing the 2R which was a better length, but fit a little more snug. Would rent again. Felt very glamorous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2013
Good back up dress when you account for length.
I ordered this dress as a backup because I had rented the blue one with no issues. It would have been perfect except the dress was too short. I'm 5' even so for anything to be too short is unheard of. If I had to order this, I would order the long just to account for length. Keep that in mind when ordering yours! Everything else fit great. There is some stretch to it, so I can wear the smaller of the two sizes I generally fit in. Spanx is a must.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2013
LOVED IT!
This dress is awesome! Definitely need a good pair of spanx because it is form fitting. I am 5'2" and wore a low heel and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
backup dress
Did not wear this...did not like the way my lower stomach looked in this dress, but it is beautiful
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2013
Comfortable and elegant dress.
The dress was great for the event. I usually wear a size 4, but ended up wearing the 6. As described by other customers, the dress a slightly shorter that I would have like. A word of caution to women with athletic builds (like me), the beaded shoulder portion of the dress was a little tight. I probably would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 11, 2013
I received several compliments on the dress! It makes your figure look amazing, and it's comfy!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding in Chicago, and it was perfect for the event. The dress was beautiful and comfortable, but VERY short. I think RTR sent me the regular and not the long length (I'm 5'6" and the dress didn't even touch the floor when I put it on, without shoes). The material is really stretchy and flattering, but definitely make sure you have short shoes. The beading is more silver in color, but RTR sent me a gold bracelet to wear with it, and it looked great with it. The material was warm, so it was great for the November time period in Chicago. I definitely recommend the dress, just make sure you have a few shoe options!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2013
Elegant gown for a black-tie affair!
As many reviews stated, does run "short," but I wore the 8L, wore 2 1/2" heels, and I'm about 5'6" and felt the dress was "just about right." Probably could have worn slightly shorter heels but tends to be hard to find nice formal pumps shorter than 2 1/2". Otherwise, dress was very comfortable, nice stretchy material and the rouching and the "shawl" cover all the areas you might want to cover-up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2013
Classy and elegant for a black tie event.
Definitely on the short side! I generally like gowns to just about be touching the floor, and I found the long to be at about my ankles. I also was wearing 3 inch heels which brought the dress up even further. I would opt for the long if you are 5'5" or taller. Overall I loved this dress, it was extremely elegant and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
I ordered this dress in the long, but it was still several inches too short, before shoes.
I selected this dress as my back-up and wish it would have been long enough. The beading detail was gorgeous and I loved the hang of the dress. However, I ordered the 4L and it was several inches too short before I put on my heels - very disappointing!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2013
Love that RTR has options for searching by bust size/body shape, etc. Extremely helpful
This dress was so comfortable and fit me like a glove. It was short for some reason (shorter than the 10r). It would have been perfect if it were the length in the photo. But my full size bust requires a certain type of dress...36G ladies. It's exhausting finding a dress to fit so I accepted the fact it was short.. And the stretch fabric allowed me to move freely, sit, etc! Everyone at the Ballet Masquerade Ball loved it! Definitely rent this one.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
October 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Fits perfectly!
I wore this dress for a formal party. I wanted something simply elegant but still fun. This was the perfect choice. Plus, it is very comfortable and fits so easily.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal church banquet and it was stylish yet modest.
I usually wear a size ten; which fit on the top but was a little too snug in the hips (okay for a date night but not for a church function). I wore the size 12; had more room in the hips but the top was a little big and bunched up under my arm. If I had the opportunity to buy this dress, I would!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
October 21, 2013
Great dress & very comfortable.
Wore to formal affair & received many compliments. I'm 5'2" and the dress was 1/2" above 3" heels. Fit perfectly and very comfortable. I would rent this dress again. BTW--my first order of 2 gowns did not work, however, since I chose the 4 day rental, RTR was able to ship me 2 additional gowns (no charge) and this made my attendance a success. Thanks RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to my prom when I was still a bit unhappy with my weight and felt like a princess. It fits very well and highlights flattering features excellently. However, I am 5'1ft and wore 5 inch heels and it was still almost dragging on the ground. It helped greatly contributing to the amazing I had!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
Great experience! Beautiful Dress
Loved renting from this company. The dress was runway worthy and I felt great in it.!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Beautiful dress-PERFECT when you want a timeless look!
This dress is SHORT! I am 5'4 and NEVER need more length but the 4L would have been to short --my entire foot was showing. The 6L was not much bigger at all but was the perfect length-almost touching floor. I wore 3in heels. I would order 2sizes for sure with this dress! I ALWAYS wear a 4 but am so happy I ordered the 6 too!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2013
I LOVE this dress! It fit perfectly!!!
Fabric was stretchy but thick, so it was slimming. The length was perfect with 3 in heels. I got a lot of compliments and would definitely wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2013
sexy and comfortable
i ordered this dress after reading the reviews about it being too short for most people. perfect for me! i ordered both the 0R and the 2R and wore the 2 because it allowed me to wear higher heels. even at 5'0" the 0 could only be worn with a kitten heel. i loved the fit of this dress! it was so comfortable, and I got many compliments all night long! i wore it with the ben-amun crystal chandelier earrings and the cara accessories the more the merrier bangle set, and a 3 inch heel. it was perfect for our black tie fundraiser!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2013
Flattering fabric, right amount of bling and one shoulder detail - compliments received all night
I travelled to London for a 10year company anniversary celebration. Fabric of dress travelled perfectly. Fabric falls beautifully. Right amount of bling to make it eye catching. Went for L on recommendations from others on this website and glad I did. R would have been too short with heels. Went for large green 'emerald' earrings and recommended bracelet. Glad I did as it added a little something extra. Red lips finished off the evening perfectly.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
September 20, 2013
Great Dress for any shape
I love this dress, but the only thing I would say I had an issue is that a 10 Regular was too short for me and I am 5'4". Other than that I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2013
Dress fit ok but was way too short
This was my backup dress and the appearance of the dress was nice, not amazing because the fabric had some snags, but was above my ankles
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 16, 2013
Having two sizes to ensure fitting. The fabric is great. Quick service.
Fit great got lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Perfect for a Black Tie Wedding
What a beautiful dress! It fit perfectly and wasn't super long (I was nervous since I'm only 5'2"). I did keep my heels on all night but it would have been fine if I took them off. The beading on the shoulder made a simple dress pop and I got many compliments on it. The only con would be that since it's so form fitting it made my dancing a bit limited. So no crazy dance party with this dress but overall it was a perfect fit!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
July 8, 2013
Flattering with a little flair!
This dress had just enough stretch to fit perfectly. The detail on the shoulder was sparkly enough without going overboard. I wore it to an interactive theatre piece where I had to move around a lot and it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
July 2, 2013
Picture Perfect!
I am a 4-6 in Ann Taylor etc. While the 4 fit fine - the six gave me a bit of breathing room so I went with the six with no spanx. It's short so I am glad I went with the long version so I could wear heels. Even though the dress is heavy I was comfortable all night in a hotel ballroom during a major heat wave.
See more reviews:
4 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×