Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Miss Mysterious Gown

$85 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
349 reviews
Fit
Large15
True to Size270
Small49
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2013
Comfortable and elegant dress.
The dress was great for the event. I usually wear a size 4, but ended up wearing the 6. As described by other customers, the dress a slightly shorter that I would have like. A word of caution to women with athletic builds (like me), the beaded shoulder portion of the dress was a little tight. I probably would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 11, 2013
I received several compliments on the dress! It makes your figure look amazing, and it's comfy!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding in Chicago, and it was perfect for the event. The dress was beautiful and comfortable, but VERY short. I think RTR sent me the regular and not the long length (I'm 5'6" and the dress didn't even touch the floor when I put it on, without shoes). The material is really stretchy and flattering, but definitely make sure you have short shoes. The beading is more silver in color, but RTR sent me a gold bracelet to wear with it, and it looked great with it. The material was warm, so it was great for the November time period in Chicago. I definitely recommend the dress, just make sure you have a few shoe options!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 10, 2013
Elegant gown for a black-tie affair!
As many reviews stated, does run "short," but I wore the 8L, wore 2 1/2" heels, and I'm about 5'6" and felt the dress was "just about right." Probably could have worn slightly shorter heels but tends to be hard to find nice formal pumps shorter than 2 1/2". Otherwise, dress was very comfortable, nice stretchy material and the rouching and the "shawl" cover all the areas you might want to cover-up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2013
Classy and elegant for a black tie event.
Definitely on the short side! I generally like gowns to just about be touching the floor, and I found the long to be at about my ankles. I also was wearing 3 inch heels which brought the dress up even further. I would opt for the long if you are 5'5" or taller. Overall I loved this dress, it was extremely elegant and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 28, 2013
I ordered this dress in the long, but it was still several inches too short, before shoes.
I selected this dress as my back-up and wish it would have been long enough. The beading detail was gorgeous and I loved the hang of the dress. However, I ordered the 4L and it was several inches too short before I put on my heels - very disappointing!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 27, 2013
Love that RTR has options for searching by bust size/body shape, etc. Extremely helpful
This dress was so comfortable and fit me like a glove. It was short for some reason (shorter than the 10r). It would have been perfect if it were the length in the photo. But my full size bust requires a certain type of dress...36G ladies. It's exhausting finding a dress to fit so I accepted the fact it was short.. And the stretch fabric allowed me to move freely, sit, etc! Everyone at the Ballet Masquerade Ball loved it! Definitely rent this one.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
October 26, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Fits perfectly!
I wore this dress for a formal party. I wanted something simply elegant but still fun. This was the perfect choice. Plus, it is very comfortable and fits so easily.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal church banquet and it was stylish yet modest.
I usually wear a size ten; which fit on the top but was a little too snug in the hips (okay for a date night but not for a church function). I wore the size 12; had more room in the hips but the top was a little big and bunched up under my arm. If I had the opportunity to buy this dress, I would!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
October 21, 2013
Great dress & very comfortable.
Wore to formal affair & received many compliments. I'm 5'2" and the dress was 1/2" above 3" heels. Fit perfectly and very comfortable. I would rent this dress again. BTW--my first order of 2 gowns did not work, however, since I chose the 4 day rental, RTR was able to ship me 2 additional gowns (no charge) and this made my attendance a success. Thanks RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 16, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to my prom when I was still a bit unhappy with my weight and felt like a princess. It fits very well and highlights flattering features excellently. However, I am 5'1ft and wore 5 inch heels and it was still almost dragging on the ground. It helped greatly contributing to the amazing I had!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2013
Great experience! Beautiful Dress
Loved renting from this company. The dress was runway worthy and I felt great in it.!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2013
Beautiful dress-PERFECT when you want a timeless look!
This dress is SHORT! I am 5'4 and NEVER need more length but the 4L would have been to short --my entire foot was showing. The 6L was not much bigger at all but was the perfect length-almost touching floor. I wore 3in heels. I would order 2sizes for sure with this dress! I ALWAYS wear a 4 but am so happy I ordered the 6 too!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2013
I LOVE this dress! It fit perfectly!!!
Fabric was stretchy but thick, so it was slimming. The length was perfect with 3 in heels. I got a lot of compliments and would definitely wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2013
sexy and comfortable
i ordered this dress after reading the reviews about it being too short for most people. perfect for me! i ordered both the 0R and the 2R and wore the 2 because it allowed me to wear higher heels. even at 5'0" the 0 could only be worn with a kitten heel. i loved the fit of this dress! it was so comfortable, and I got many compliments all night long! i wore it with the ben-amun crystal chandelier earrings and the cara accessories the more the merrier bangle set, and a 3 inch heel. it was perfect for our black tie fundraiser!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2013
Flattering fabric, right amount of bling and one shoulder detail - compliments received all night
I travelled to London for a 10year company anniversary celebration. Fabric of dress travelled perfectly. Fabric falls beautifully. Right amount of bling to make it eye catching. Went for L on recommendations from others on this website and glad I did. R would have been too short with heels. Went for large green 'emerald' earrings and recommended bracelet. Glad I did as it added a little something extra. Red lips finished off the evening perfectly.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
September 20, 2013
Great Dress for any shape
I love this dress, but the only thing I would say I had an issue is that a 10 Regular was too short for me and I am 5'4". Other than that I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 14, 2013
Dress fit ok but was way too short
This was my backup dress and the appearance of the dress was nice, not amazing because the fabric had some snags, but was above my ankles
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 16, 2013
Having two sizes to ensure fitting. The fabric is great. Quick service.
Fit great got lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2013
Perfect for a Black Tie Wedding
What a beautiful dress! It fit perfectly and wasn't super long (I was nervous since I'm only 5'2"). I did keep my heels on all night but it would have been fine if I took them off. The beading on the shoulder made a simple dress pop and I got many compliments on it. The only con would be that since it's so form fitting it made my dancing a bit limited. So no crazy dance party with this dress but overall it was a perfect fit!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
July 8, 2013
Flattering with a little flair!
This dress had just enough stretch to fit perfectly. The detail on the shoulder was sparkly enough without going overboard. I wore it to an interactive theatre piece where I had to move around a lot and it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
July 2, 2013
Picture Perfect!
I am a 4-6 in Ann Taylor etc. While the 4 fit fine - the six gave me a bit of breathing room so I went with the six with no spanx. It's short so I am glad I went with the long version so I could wear heels. Even though the dress is heavy I was comfortable all night in a hotel ballroom during a major heat wave.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2013
Great for a black tie event
This was a great, modest dress for a charity event with a wide range of ages in attendance. The dress was fitted, but the excess fabric hanging off the back helped keep the dress from looking too tight. I did feel that the shoulder was tight so I would recommend sizing up. Also, I'm 5'4" and had to wear the long for the heels I wanted to wear (3.5" heels) so just keep that in mind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 23, 2013
Comfortable, beautiful dress but runs short
The dress is extremely comfortable with nice stretch making it easy to move in. I ordered both the 8 and 10R and didn't notice a difference in fit except the length. I'm 5'3" and the 8 barely reached my ankles so I opted for the 10. I wore this to the Tony awards and completely felt like I fit in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2013
Wrong Size
Sadly this dress was way too small on me. I ordered a 2R and a 4R. The 2R was too short and the 4R was too large. I could have possibly read the reviews wrong and should have ordered a 2L. But one thing you do not notice in the picture is that the beading on the dress is not just silver but is also blue. Although my dress did not fit, Rent The Runway had a new dress for me the next day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 13, 2013
Love the classic silhouette of this dress with the added sexiness of the back!
Loved this dress and received tons of compliments! The fabric is very comfortable and flattering. This was my first rental from RTR and couldn't have had a better experience! I was worried the dress would be wrinkled and need steaming. Once it arrived and I hung it up it looked perfect! The regular length was perfect for me with heels on.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2013
This is the 2nd item I've rented from RTR and I love that they always throw in a little surprise!
The dress fit great. The material was luxurious. The only thing which I later saw posted in most reviews was that the dress ran short - even the long one. I love wearing stilettos. I'm about 5'4 1/2 and wanted to wear my 6" Louboutins. I had to opt for the 3" pumps instead and I still felt the dress was too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
May 30, 2013
This was my back up dress, So glad I ordered at the last minute.
Great dress lots of compliments, only problem was the length was too long in the back. If you are 5'3 you need the shorter length unless you are able to wear very high heels which I was not. Love the back of the dress, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 18, 2013
Ordered this as my first choice in two sizes...but went with 2nd choice.
This is a good dress. It fit well (could NOT tell a difference between the 0 and 2, honestly. In fact, I almost felt like the 2 was tighter?). I just happened to try another dress as my backup and liked it significantly better. For my event, I just felt this was a little too...something. Conservative? Older-fashioned? Anyway, flattering fit, just decided on something else instead.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 12, 2013
Very elegant, runs short
This is a very sleek and elegant gown. My favorite part was that with the shoulder detail I really didn't need any jewelry. I wore a cuff and some ear rings. However, the length was pretty short. I am 5'1'' and I really only needed a 2inch heel with this dress. I did not feel comfortable with my feet showing.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2013
Perfect for a simple, elegant look
Wore this to a military ball. Amazing gown, fitted and tapers in at knees to form a really flattering slight mermaid. Super stretchy and comfortable, fabric was heavier than expected but drapes and moves really well! Length is great for shorter girls who don't want to kill their feet in sky-high heels - I'm 5' 2" and wore 3-inch heels, gown just skimmed the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 5, 2013
I received lots of compliments on this dress
The beading was beautiful and I loved how the dress fit. Beware that the dress is short for us tall girls and you will not be able to wear a tall heel. When I wore a fat shoe, the dress came close to the floor. But overall, great dress for a formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2013
Safe dress for a first rental
I rented this dress because everyone said it ran short and I'm barely 5'1". It's nearly impossible for me to shop for anything that doesn't have to be drastically altered. It worked out well. I ordered the 8 and the 10. The 8 was the one that fit, but it had a problem with the side zipper popping outwards two to three inches directly at the hip which ruined the sleek silhouette of the dress. I wasted a couple hours trying to see if I could get the zipper to lie flat but it appeared to be a problem with the way the zipper, lining and dress were sewn together at that spot (that particular dress should be taken out of circulation). I gave up and ended up wearing the 10 which was not as flattering but at least the length was perfect. What made the rental a winner was the jewelry I got to go with it. Even though the dress wasn't perfect, I still felt like the overall impression was quite good. The dress itself is forgiving and the fabric stretchy. A slightly tighter fit looks much better than a loose fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
A bit underwhelming.
Like all the others said- it runs short. I'm 5'8" and wear tiny heels because my boyfriend is the same height as me. I wore tiny, 1/2" kitten heels and the R- regular length was still too short. But by the time I received the dress, there was nothing I could do. I really wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone over 5'5, even if you get the long. Also, to me, it didn't look like a designer dress. The beading was pretty but it looked like an average Macy's or Nordstrom dress, it didn't have the elegant, expensive look I was going for. Overall, I thought it was okay, but nothing special. I wish I had chosen a different dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 30, 2013
RTR made it so easy and painless.
Loved this gown! Fit like a glove, perfect length, and so comfortable. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect for petite ladies!
This dress was rented for prom. It looked beautiful. No spanx needed. It was elegant, extremely flattering and (best of all) comfortable. This was our first rental, so we were very nervous. The dress fit perfectly and my daughter got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 28, 2013
Perfect Fit!
this dress fit perfect! I wore it to a charity event...it was comfortable, beautiful and I got quite a few compliments. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 24, 2013
Beautiful, classic, elegant gown. Super flattering.
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended. I was concerned it may be too fancy for a wedding, but it was not at all. Even though it is very elegant, it is subtle and not too over the top to take any attention away from bride :) I am 5'9 and around 125 lbs and this gown fit like a glove. Perfect for moderate sized heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 24, 2013
I wore this to my job's annual fundraising gala, and I received many compliments.
The dress fit wonderfully! I wore a pair of Spanx to ensure a smooth fit because I knew that I would be running around all day to make sure the event went off without a hitch.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
Nothing at all because the dress didn't fit
The dress read small because I'm usually a 6 to a 4 and i tried a 8 and it didn't fit..
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful dress that fit like a glove.
This dress runs short. I am 5'6" and the long was only about an inch too long with 2" heels. I used the temporary hem tape (included with my order!) to hem it and that worked just fine. The dress was lovely, and with a pair of spanx and a strapless bra underneath, it fit like a glove. I got a lot of compliments on it being very classic looking and beautiful.
See more reviews:
4 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×