Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
397 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(289)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 70
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Fabulous!

Based on reviews, I rented both the 4R and 6R. I wore the 4R because it fit better. As other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs a little shorter in front, but not enough to make a difference. I just wore a shorter, sexier heel with it. It is form fitting and any bumps will show. Although I'm in very good shape (spend 6 days a week in the gym), I still wore a body shaper to eliminate a not-flat-enough stomach. I received many compliments all night long and was very pleased with the dress. If you are body conscious, this dress isn't for you. But, if you have no problem flaunting it, you will love this dress!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2014
Beautiful dress, beautiful fabric, perfect for a formal event.

I loved everything about this dress, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it to my event. I am 5'4 and for the first time in my life a dress was too short on me. All other aspects of the dress run true to size except the length. I am normally an 8R and ordered a 10R as a ordered a backup size after reading the reviews of the dress length. Unfortunately, both dresses fell to just above my ankles. Overall, my customer experience with RTR was incredible and will definitely rent again even though this dress didn't work out for me.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 13, 2014
I wore this to a black tie dinner and received many compliments!

Super comfortable! The size 0L was a perfect fit, but the length was quite short. I would've had to wear flats. The 2L was perfect in length for my 3 inch heels, but not as fitted.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2014
When my boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me! It was the sweetest moment of the night.

The dress fit great and there were no malfunctions with it. The only cons were the length and the tightness around the calves. It was a little shorter than I wanted it and it sometimes was hard to walk/dance. But all in all, I felt amazing and my boyfriend was swooning all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2014
I went to the Marine Ball with my sisters and I had the time of my life.

This dress is beautiful. The fit is amazing and it will make you feel like royalty....lol

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2014
Too short!

I ordered a 6L and 8L for a formal event. I'm only 5'7", but both were way too short! The 6L was above my ankles. Beware of the length if you're not petite. Luckily I ordered a back-up dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 25, 2011
great! love rent the runway

This dress arrived on time with the tags still on! A brand new dress! Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove. Comfortable and elegant at the same time. I wore this dress to a black tie event. Lots of guest were wearing black dresses, I didn't stand out too much, but this dress was the creme de la creme of the black dresses. I'm 5'7, wore 3 inch heels and the dress fell perfectly. I'm renting the aqua dress, just like this for my next event!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 5, 2011
Great for a black-tie wedding!

Great dress! Tons of compliments. 0 and 2 both fit well but went with the 2 because it was longer. I ordered the regular length and the dress, which is a bit longer in back, just barely skimmed the floor in 4 1/2" heels. If you are at the cutoff height (5'6") and skinny and want the dress to be as long as in the photo, I would recommend ordering the long length if you are wearing good heels. You could definitely see the tops of my shoes in front but they were simple, elegant peep toe pumps (actually Badgley Mischka's as well) and it looked fine.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2011

I did not end up wearing this dress to my event, went with my 1st choice. The dress is very beautiful. The subtle details of the beading and the back are gorgeous. However, I didn't feel like I stood out. If you want just an elegant black dress, this is the one for you. It is VERY form fitting though, mermaid style. You may need spanx. :) Also, it's a heavy dress and pretty thick.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2011

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 15, 2011

The dress was perfect for my black tie gala! It is very sleek, classic and elegant. I received so many compliments. I am a size 8 and it fit snug but not too tight. I am 5'7" and needed to wear the 8L. The 8 regular was too short with 4 inch heels. I paired it with a wrist cuff and I wish I got earrings as well. I highly recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2011

This dress is really short! The model must be wearing a long size, because even barefoot the dress didn't touch the ground. I tried both the 2R and 4R, which were nearly identical fits, minus the length. The 4R was just a tad looser, but not by much. It is very form fitting, so be prepared to wear some spanx if you aren't perfectly smooth!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 65
Body type: Petite
October 19, 2011

Love the dress but it was SHORT. I ended up going with the larger size I ordered because it was a tad longer. If you are over 5'2" I would order the long. It was a beautiful and flattering gown however.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2011

THIS DRESS WAS AMAZING!JUST A BIT TOO LONG.BUT I'VE RECIEVED A LOT OF COMPLIMENTS. WOULD BE ORDERING DRESSES IN THE FUTURE FOR BLACK TIE EVENTS.ALL DRESSES WERE IN PERFECT CONDITION.THE ONE I WORE WAS BRAND NEW WITH TAGS ATTACHED.THANKS RTR

KristyOctober 20, 2011
What length did you order &/or what height of heel did you wear? I was interested in your feedback as being near the same age & height but I usually wear a 10 so that may make a difference if not comparable to your body type.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2011

I wore this dress to a work gala in New York. It fit like a dream--if you're short go with the regular instead of the long size. I absolutely love this dress. It's comfortable yet definitely formal. It's also simple but makes an elegant statement. I also got complements on the dress from several people--at least one stranger. Be warned that you need either spanx or flat abs for this dress. It is a wonderful dress and I see why so many people give it high marks.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2011

This was my back-up dress and Oh man - it almost became the dress I wore. Totally gorgeous, form fitting a rich-feeling. I only opted to wear my other dress because it was gold and I wanted to stand out in a sea of black. BUt even if I had worn this one, I know I would have turned heads. The regular length was perfect with my 4 inch heels.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 7, 2011

Rented this dress for a black tie ball thrown by the hospital I work at. It was perfect! Conservative but showed off all my curves! I am 5'6 120 LBS and the 0R fit me perfectly but was too short even with a low heel on. I ended up wearing the 0L with 3 1/2" heels and it was perfect, but definately didn't puddle on the ground like the picture shows. A very form fitting dress but lots of control in it too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 17, 2011
Lots of compliments!

I wore this for a black tie affair for work & it was perfect - sexy without being slutty, just fun enough without being obnoxious. I thought the jeweled shoulder might look tacky, but it was beautiful & the dress fit PERFECT. It IS a little short, I am 5'4" 1/2, but I wore kitten heels & it hit the ground juuust right. 100% recommend for a formal event - Very satisfied! Thanks RTR!

PaigeNovember 17, 2011
Hi, may I ask what Stella & Dot jewelry you're wearing? Mainly interested in the necklaces, they look quite lovely with the dress. Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2011
Fabulous dress!

This dress was my 1st choice for a black tie wedding and I loved it! I got so many compliments on the dress and earrings that I rented. I was nervous the long would be too long but as the website said, I'm 5'6" so went with the long and it was perfect! It was really comfortable and fit really well. I would definitely recommend this for anyone with a formal event.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2011
Great dress!

I absolutely loved this dress! I am typically a size 6 and 5' 6" tall and the 6 long fit perfectly with heels. I got many compliments on it and it was actually very comfortable. I highly recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
December 20, 2011
The dress moves so beautifully - I felt very elegant, yet comfortable. Thanks RTR!

I wanted to wear completely flat sandals to my formal event, so I was looking for a long dress that would come down to the floor and cover my feet. I am 5'7, and the 2L was the PERFECT length. In my flats, the dress touched the floor in the front, and was a tad bit longer in the back, and you could not see my feet at all. Obviously, if you are taller than 5'7 and want to wear heels - this is not the dress for you. The dress runs very true to size and has a bit of stretch, and I would suggest going a size down for a back-up. I normally wear 0-2/XS-S tops, and I felt like this dress in size 0 would have fit as well, and the 4 would've been too big.

EricaDecember 20, 2011
aww
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
December 23, 2011
I was so comfortable in this dress from 6:00 p.m. - 3:30 a.m. What more could you want?

This dress was beautiful and perfect for a black tie event. In addition, it's a dress that works for multiple ages and body types. My only complaint is, like others have repeatedly mentioned, short. I'm 5'7" and ordered the extra length. Even still, I could not wear the shoes I originally intended and needed to drop down to a much lower heel. This dress fit well in the waist/hips, but could have used another inch in the bust. However, that is not an uncommon problem for me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
January 3, 2012
Knowing that I was wearing a stunning designer dress that would otherwise be unaffordable to me. Thank you :-)

I rented this dress for our New Years Eve gala. I absolutely loved the dress! Many compliments....I felt like I was the best dress there! I will definitely rent from you again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2012
Wow! Great dress!

I can see why this dress is so popular! It fits great. The length was perfect. I am 5'7" and wore 3" heels with no problem ( I could have gone with 4"). Very flattering. Fit great in the chest. I would definitely recommend this dress!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 5, 2012
Classy

Really liked how the dress looked on but I am 5 ft 4 and it was a little short in the front. I would recommend getting a 4L if you're my size or taller!

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
January 6, 2012
Perfect!

I loved it! True to size.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 8, 2012
Perfect Black Tie Dress

I rented a 4R and 6R. They both fit however the 4R looked like it was made specifically for my 5'2 frame and 38" hips. The 6R wrinked just slightly along the front. I wore 4" heels that made the dress hit right at my ankles. Perfect dress for dancing.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2012
First Time & will do it again!

This dress was my second choice and hands down was the best of the two. The fit is simply gorgeous. There were two things that I would mention to the meticulous souls (such as myself). The dress runs short so no matter the size always opt for it in long... You won't be sorry. Next thought, the beading detail on the shoulder is showing some serious wear and tear. It isn't enough for distract one from the beauty of the dress but it certainly adds to the used dress stigma. I'm sure this is a rarity and I will definitely order again but just a not to self- These dresses will be clean but will not always appear like new. Rather pleased overall with the service and the organization of the company. Bravo!

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 9, 2012
Mardi Gras Perfection!

Rented this for a Mardi Gras Ball - was tired of seeing my same gowns in all my pictures, year after year, and wanted something stunning. This fit the bill perfectly! My husband nearly hit the floor when he saw how amazing my figure looked in this gown and I received a ton of compliments all night. On top of that, the gown was comfortable for sitting, standing, walking and dancing into the wee hours of the night. The fabric is a nice, heavy weight so undergarment lines don't show. I'm about 5'6" and wore 3.5" heels with it - length was perfect. Ordered "Mystery Bling" and the RTR folks could not have chosen better pieces - everything looked wonderful together! RTR was the perfect solution for jazzing up my Carnival season!

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 20, 2012
I felt beautiful and slim in this dress.

This was my first experience with Rent the Runway, and boy was I impressed! I received a call from a representative two days before the dress was to arrive, checking in with me to see if I wanted to change my size or add anything else to my purchase. I recieved my dress the day before the event (as told), and it fit perfectly. This is a true to size dress. If you are a curvy woman, and want to show off your curves, this is the dress for you! I felt sassy and classy. If you are tall like me, you will want to go with the long. My only grip that I have, was that there were a few bumps where the zipper is located on the hip. Other than that, the dress was great.

DeniceJanuary 20, 2012
KristyJanuary 20, 2012
You look amazing & appreciate feedback from a "curvy" woman. Could someone wear spanx w/ this or would the lines show?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2012
Perfect fit & comfortable too!

Loved this dress for a black tie work event. Very tasteful and classy, but with enough flair to make a statement. Fit really well all over and was very comfortable to wear all night long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2012
Another woman had rented this same dress, noticed mine, and said she loved it on me!

This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I was very pleased with the process and the gown. It fit beautifully, true to size, and I received compliments all evening. I am 5'8" and ordered the 10L and it was perfect with my heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
January 31, 2012
My unforgettable and forever forgiving moment was the minute I clicked submit. My purchase -for once- was the most stressless it has ever been when shopping.

I was told many things for my Glitz Dolls Red Carpet event but never did I believe that class would come with it. True that I have a "god" given physque. Most importantly people anticipated that I would show up in something revealing but I didn't. This dress from the color, style, material and brand was the best I have worn in a long time. I am gald I found Rent The Runway online because surely, I felt like I was on the "red carpet". Joan Rivers what's your rating??? Thanks again!

SharmanJanuary 31, 2012
10, you look fab! Just looking at your picture reminds me of myself 5 years ago. I'm about to hit the gym. Thanks Tierra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2012
Gorgeous!!!

The fit was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2012
Gorgeous Gown

I rented this to wear to a benefit and received many compliments. The size 6 fit perfectly and was surprisingly comfortable. It hit the floor without heels on. With my very high heels, the dress hit right about mid-heel. Still looked fabulous and I actually liked the fact I wasn't worried about tripping over it all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
February 12, 2012
having the opportunity to wear designer dresses and NOT pay a fortune for them!

i rented this dress to wear to a mardi gras ball. it was a last-minute decision to try and rent a gown, and i was unable to get a back-up size, but the size i chose ended up fitting PERFECTLY. it's nice that there is no train on this dress, so it was one less thing for me to worry about ruining during the ball. overall, it was very comfortable to wear and it looked AMAZING. i can't see myself ever buying dresses for special occasions again. my experience with RTR could not have been better!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2012
The look

I rented this dress for a Valentine Dance and loved it. The fit was perfect for me, the quality was great and the compliments kept coming. Would definitely rent again.

RTR CustomerFebruary 15, 2012
THANK YOU for posting these pictures of the dress!!!! I've been trying to see the back and side of the dress on a "real" person and you look fabulous ;)
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 16, 2012
Just FABULOUS!

I paid $25 and rented this as my back up dress...so glad I did because my first choice didn't fit well. This dress is gorgeous though! So perfect! It's very fitted from top to bottom so make sure you are comfortable with that...or get a good pair of Spanx!:) Also, I have a small bust and it has some gathering detail around that area so it kind of caused an illusion of a larger bust. I also liked that I could just wear a regular strapless bra with this.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 17, 2012
Wearing an expensive designer dress and feeling like a million bucks! RTR eliminates the need to run around town trying on "cheap" looking department store dresses. RTR also delivers your order on time and works with you to make sure you get the correct sized dress. I'm SOLD!!! I can't wait to rent my next fab dress with my new fab body! :-)

I can't say enough great things about this dress and RTR! The dress was true to size and extremely comfortable. The beading detail on the shoulder is gorgeous. I rented the 6R and the 4R. I chose to wear the 6R to be on the safe side but could have worn the 4R. I'm 5'1" (height challenged) and was worried about the dress dragging the floor. It was the perfect length. I had a baby recently so I'm not at my optimum weight yet but this dress made me feel skinny!!! My pictures don't do this dress justice. It is far more beautiful in person. My husband loved it. I will never buy a dress again! Thank you so much RTR!!!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
February 20, 2012
Great Dress

I ordered a 4R and 2R, the 2R was a perfect fit. It was almost as if the bust area fabric had been stretched out a little, but it was nothing some double-sided body tape couldn't fix. I was a little worried about the length, but it was perfect. I had 3.5" heels. It was just short enough in the front, to not trip over, but not too short, and the back was a little longer and just barely touched the ground. The fabric is heavy and thicker and hugs the body perfectly. I will never buy another formal!! Love RTR---so easy!

See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×