Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$85 rental
$725 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

324 reviews

Fit
Small 46
True to Size 256
Large 13
Photos 163
shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 25, 2011

great! love rent the runway

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress arrived on time with the tags still on! A brand new dress! Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove. Comfortable and elegant at the same time. I wore this dress to a black tie event. Lots of guest were wearing black dresses, I didn't stand out too much, but this dress was the creme de la creme of the black dresses. I'm 5'7, wore 3 inch heels and the dress fell perfectly. I'm renting the aqua dress, just like this for my next event!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Nov 16, 2011

Seeing my best friend get married in a gorgeous dress!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my boyfriends sister's black tie wedding and it was gorgeous. You almost don't notice the jeweled side but when you do it is truly stunning!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a black tie affair for work & it was perfect - sexy without being slutty, just fun enough without being obnoxious. I thought the jeweled shoulder might look tacky, but it was beautiful & the dress fit PERFECT. It IS a little short, I am 5'4" 1/2, but I wore kitten heels & it hit the ground juuust right. 100% recommend for a formal event - Very satisfied! Thanks RTR!
Lorie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 26, 2011

My amazing friend threw an Oscar theme, 50th birthday party for me...It was truly one of the most memorable nights of my life..I have never felt more glamorous than I did in this fabulous gown!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect fit! Arrived on time, ready to wear....I also rented the recommended jewelry to complete the perfect look....I will NEVER purchase a formal dress again...RTR is easy and affordable...I tell EVERYONE I know!
Anya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

The dress moves so beautifully - I felt very elegant, yet comfortable. Thanks RTR!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to wear completely flat sandals to my formal event, so I was looking for a long dress that would come down to the floor and cover my feet. I am 5'7, and the 2L was the PERFECT length. In my flats, the dress touched the floor in the front, and was a tad bit longer in the back, and you could not see my feet at all. Obviously, if you are taller than 5'7 and want to wear heels - this is not the dress for you. The dress runs very true to size and has a bit of stretch, and I would suggest going a size down for a back-up. I normally wear 0-2/XS-S tops, and I felt like this dress in size 0 would have fit as well, and the 4 would've been too big.
WindyCity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

I was so comfortable in this dress from 6:00 p.m. - 3:30 a.m. What more could you want?

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful and perfect for a black tie event. In addition, it's a dress that works for multiple ages and body types. My only complaint is, like others have repeatedly mentioned, short. I'm 5'7" and ordered the extra length. Even still, I could not wear the shoes I originally intended and needed to drop down to a much lower heel. This dress fit well in the waist/hips, but could have used another inch in the bust. However, that is not an uncommon problem for me.
Karin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
May 24, 2014

Wore it to my husband's company holiday party this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering fit! Material is stretchy and easy to move in, was comfortable all night. I found the length to be a bit short, I wore flats. I got so many complements on this dress!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Form Fitting, but too short.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Nothing all that special. Fabric and fit were meh. Not to mention I'm only 5'4" and the long was far too short. It didn't even hit the ground while I was barefoot.
Jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

Slimming and lengthening dress that will make you look great.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my favorite of five long black dresses I tried on from RTR after a mix up with an order. It was simple, sleek, but elegant with the shoulder beading. It was very form fitting but also comfortable. I wore mine with 5.5 inch heels and thought it was just the right length. A 0L would have fit someone 5'7'' without heels and would be much too short with heels. Also great for someone with a small bust like me.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

So comfy!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit great! Super stretchy and super comfortable. A bit short, but as a short girl I didn't mind. :)
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 19, 2014

Elegant and understated gown

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I don't often go for long gowns at RTR because of my height. I noticed in the reviews a number of petite women rented the dress with no complaints about the length so I decided to take a risk. I thought the length was actually bordering on being a bit short in my heels (single soled, no crazy platform) but overall this was a very lovely dress. The embellished shoulder and cape gave the otherwise understated gown a bit of glamour. The dress was quite comfortable but it felt a bit loose at the bust on the side of the dress with no shoulder. I had to use double sided tape to attempt to keep it in place. I found the torso on the other hand to be quite clingy so I wore my spanx with this one to smooth it all out. Overall I felt pretty in this dress.
Linda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for a black tie wedding. Runs a little short, barefoot it is floor length but with kitten heels it's a little short. Very comfortable dress and elegant! The shoulder detail adds the right amount of sparkle.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Oct 21, 2014

Wayyyy too short

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first pick but I ended up not wearing it. I ordered the 8L and it was wayyy too short, even with flats. I am 5"7"-5'8", and my friend that was 5'6" couldn't even wear it because of the length. I would not recommend this dress to anyone taller than 5'4", even the extra length dress. It was a cute dress, but it was clingy and made out of a fabric that isn't the most expensive looking. Overall, it was pretty tight when most 8's are usually loose on me if anything. I like the design, I just wish it was longer!
Rosie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Fabulous!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on reviews, I rented both the 4R and 6R. I wore the 4R because it fit better. As other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs a little shorter in front, but not enough to make a difference. I just wore a shorter, sexier heel with it. It is form fitting and any bumps will show. Although I'm in very good shape (spend 6 days a week in the gym), I still wore a body shaper to eliminate a not-flat-enough stomach. I received many compliments all night long and was very pleased with the dress. If you are body conscious, this dress isn't for you. But, if you have no problem flaunting it, you will love this dress!
C
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Beautiful dress, beautiful fabric, perfect for a formal event.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved everything about this dress, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it to my event. I am 5'4 and for the first time in my life a dress was too short on me. All other aspects of the dress run true to size except the length. I am normally an 8R and ordered a 10R as a ordered a backup size after reading the reviews of the dress length. Unfortunately, both dresses fell to just above my ankles. Overall, my customer experience with RTR was incredible and will definitely rent again even though this dress didn't work out for me.
Stefanie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 31, 2014

Perfect for a black tie affair, just not for me

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered this dress but didn't care for the way it looked on me. The size was perfect, nice material, but not flattering for my shape. It showed off my curves in all the wrong ways and made my hips look very wide. The long length was perfect for me, i'm 5-7 with 3.5 inch heels. Luckily I ordered two different dresses and wore the DAVID MEISTER Night in Barcelona Gown in 12L instead.
M
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Gorgeous, with Zipper Issues

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is gorgeous. It does run short like everyone says. I am 5'2" and with platform heels the dress did not hit the floor. Be aware that the side with the zipper puckers noticeably, perhaps from too much dry cleaning. I rented this 2x but did not wear it because of the zipper issue.
tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 11, 2014

I think it's perfect.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great!
SARA
Age: 29
Nov 13, 2014

I wore this to a black tie dinner and received many compliments!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable! The size 0L was a perfect fit, but the length was quite short. I would've had to wear flats. The 2L was perfect in length for my 3 inch heels, but not as fitted.
corey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

STUNNING!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this rental. I am normally a size 4, so I rented the 2 and the 4 after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great except for the length - it was WAY TOO SHORT (which is weird because I am only 5'2). After a slight panic session, I decided to try on the size 2. It fit perfectly and the length was just right. Long story short, I think that someone hemmed the size 4 that I received. Great rental, Definitely runs small. Great for people who are 5'1 or 5'2.
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Too short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 6L and 8L for a formal event. I'm only 5'7", but both were way too short! The 6L was above my ankles. Beware of the length if you're not petite. Luckily I ordered a back-up dress!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Comfortable Fabric But Too Short

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am approximately 5' 4.5'' and the 0R was too short even without heels on. Once I put heels on it was really too short. The jeweled shoulder piece also felt quite tight under my arm, which was rather uncomfortable. Other than that the fabric felt nice and it was just a long black dress. I would not rent again.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Perfect dress, perfect fit, perfect wedding.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress as my last option because all my other options were already reserved. But I can tell you I couldn't be happier. The fit was perfect, the dress received a ton of comments. I'm always happy with whatever I order from Rent the Runway. Again Great Choice! (Sometimes zippers on all seem to be difficult to zip, maybe from useage?)
Emliy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Not the floor length gown it appears to be.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Luckily my other dress worked out, because this just wasn't the dress for me. Unlike the picture of the model, the front of the gown didn't even touch the floor when I was flat footed, and I ordered the dress in a long! I actually wondered if they sent an 8S, but that was not the case. The material was heavy and had two layers, which felt and looked bulky in my opinion. It had minimal stretch, and the shape of the dress was an extreme hourglass that hit me in the wrong places - it was baggy under the bust and just barely hugged my hips. The bust was also ill-fitting, and I couldn't get the back to drape correctly. Perhaps a 6L would have worked, but I think the shorter length in front is so unflattering.
bahar
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

This Dress was GREAT, AND BEAUTIFUL!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriends Christmas Party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress! It was beautifully fitted and elegant. I recommend this and I am 5'4 and the regular was PERFECT! I am actually a size 4 so it was true to my size, I got a size up just in case it ran small but the 4 was perfect.
Renee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

The dress was perfect

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit great, looked wonderful and it was super comfortable. I usually wear a 10 in formals. The 12 was a little loose but nice to have a bit of extra room. The fabric is good quality & had some weight to it. Loved this dress so much that I didn't want to send it back.
Taylor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Felt beautiful all night!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was gorgeous! It fit perfectly, really showed off your curves. The only problem that I had with this dress was that I ordered a 4 regular and it was just a bit short with heels on. Other then that I loved the dress! I got so many compliments! Perfect for a military ball!!
ainsley
Age: 25
Jan 31, 2015

Was not able to wear this dress as it was way too short.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Other than the length the dress fit great everywhere else. It was about 3in too short with no shoes on.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 9, 2015

Loved it but short

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was wonderful however I ordered a 0L & it was too short. I looked at the tag & it only said 0 so I may have been sent a regular even though I double checked & my order was for a 0L. Other than that, I loved it!
Denise
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Feb 19, 2015

This dress was perfect for our gala!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly and was the right length for my 3 inch heels.
Mireya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely gorgeous! This was actually my back-up dress and I loved it! Wore it a very fancy wedding and my husband complimented me all night! Just perfect! The material was drapping and very forgiving. Loved the bead work.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Feb 26, 2015

Masquerade with a cape!

Size worn: 12L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a nice dress and I got tons of compliments while wearing it! I loved the material and it was very comfortable to move around! The down side is that Even the long ran short on me (I'm 5'9") and ideally I would have had different shoes or the dress would be longer.
Holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Runs short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup dress and it was a beautiful dress. However it runs very short. I'm 5'7" and the 4L hit my ankles.
suzy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Mar 1, 2015

SHORT!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have ordered the long! The dress is beautiful and fit true to size everywhere else - but it's extremely short. I saw all the other reviewers state this, but I figured it would work for me since I am only 5'3" - and I often have a problem with things being too long. I thought I could always wear kitten heels with it if it. No, even in bare feet, the tops of my ankles were showing. If you are above 5 feet tall, I recommend ordering the long. It's a beautiful dress, and I will try again with the long for another event. (It wasn't available for me to get it in time for this event, but RTR sent me other gorgeous option that fit perfectly. Nothing but wonderful things to say about RTR's impeccable costumer service!)
kathy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 12, 2015

Dress was beautiful with thick liner so wore well.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size
Rebecca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Beautiful Wedding, I was a bridesmaid, this was stunning

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
We were to choose a black dress of our choice as a bridesmaid. This dress was stunning, I received a million compliments all night. It was so nice to not have to shop or dry clean..the process was easy & there is just something about wearing a high-quality piece of material, it just fits so perfectly.
Em
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2015

Lovely dress.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear this dress,had to use the back up dress instead. Sadly ,even though I ordered the 12L, it was too short for me. Wish I could have worn it.
Louisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 21, 2015

Beautiful dress, fit great, yet unfortunately I could not wear it as it was too short

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'8" and the dress came above my ankles without shoes. I ordered an 8L and it was still way too short. Otherwise it fit like a glove. I was sad not to be able to wear it.
Giselle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Mar 31, 2015

Too short for black tie event

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall this dress is nice and safe but way too short. I think it should be longer to cover the shoes. Considering I'm not tall at all (actually petite size at 5'3"), it wasn't the problem of my height but design itself. Beading was great but it could have more. Fabric wasn't the one what I expected either. I wanted to order 2L but it wasn't available. If you like the design, I strongly recommend to go with longer version.
kimberly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Very pretty, but wayyyy to short.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm very short but I ordered a 0 long just incase, and a regular as we'll. both dresses were extremely short, even when I was flat footed.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×