Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
367 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(273)
Small
(51)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
October 31, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair, just not for me
Ordered this dress but didn't care for the way it looked on me. The size was perfect, nice material, but not flattering for my shape. It showed off my curves in all the wrong ways and made my hips look very wide. The long length was perfect for me, i'm 5-7 with 3.5 inch heels. Luckily I ordered two different dresses and wore the DAVID MEISTER Night in Barcelona Gown in 12L instead.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2014
Beautiful dress, beautiful fabric, perfect for a formal event.
I loved everything about this dress, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it to my event. I am 5'4 and for the first time in my life a dress was too short on me. All other aspects of the dress run true to size except the length. I am normally an 8R and ordered a 10R as a ordered a backup size after reading the reviews of the dress length. Unfortunately, both dresses fell to just above my ankles. Overall, my customer experience with RTR was incredible and will definitely rent again even though this dress didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Fabulous!
Based on reviews, I rented both the 4R and 6R. I wore the 4R because it fit better. As other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs a little shorter in front, but not enough to make a difference. I just wore a shorter, sexier heel with it. It is form fitting and any bumps will show. Although I'm in very good shape (spend 6 days a week in the gym), I still wore a body shaper to eliminate a not-flat-enough stomach. I received many compliments all night long and was very pleased with the dress. If you are body conscious, this dress isn't for you. But, if you have no problem flaunting it, you will love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
October 21, 2014
Wayyyy too short
This was my first pick but I ended up not wearing it. I ordered the 8L and it was wayyy too short, even with flats. I am 5"7"-5'8", and my friend that was 5'6" couldn't even wear it because of the length. I would not recommend this dress to anyone taller than 5'4", even the extra length dress. It was a cute dress, but it was clingy and made out of a fabric that isn't the most expensive looking. Overall, it was pretty tight when most 8's are usually loose on me if anything. I like the design, I just wish it was longer!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2014
Beautiful dress for a fabulous night!
This dress fits very true to size. Being 5'4" I was nervous ordering the long size but with 4" heels this dress was perfect! Beware this dress is form fitting for girls with hips, not very forgiving if you are curvier around the waist/stomach. Both dresses arrived with a few minor flaws in the beadwork but nothing too noticeable. Other wise this is a beautiful dress, perfect for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
October 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
Wore this to a gala. It was a tad bit on the short side, especially for being a 4 long. I'm 5' 7'' and the long didn't cover my feet. Fortunately, I had cute shoes too. The bust was a little tight. Overall, a beautifully made gown. I probably should have got a 6 long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2014
The dress was exactly what I had hoped it would be! Great first experience!!
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered both a 0 and 2. Each dress did not fit tremendously different, but the size 2 was much more comfortable. Definitely a fitted dress and hugged the body perfectly. It was a bit longer than I had hoped, but I am only 5'0"! I ended up wearing the highest heel I could possibly find and the dress still touched the ground a bit. I probably should have ordered the petite, but I didn't because the other reviews mentioned that the dress ran a bit shorter (not short enough for me!). Overall, loved it! Looking forward to ordering again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2014
Great dress!
Perfect for a black tie wedding. Runs a little short, barefoot it is floor length but with kitten heels it's a little short. Very comfortable dress and elegant! The shoulder detail adds the right amount of sparkle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2014
Elegant and understated gown
I don't often go for long gowns at RTR because of my height. I noticed in the reviews a number of petite women rented the dress with no complaints about the length so I decided to take a risk. I thought the length was actually bordering on being a bit short in my heels (single soled, no crazy platform) but overall this was a very lovely dress. The embellished shoulder and cape gave the otherwise understated gown a bit of glamour. The dress was quite comfortable but it felt a bit loose at the bust on the side of the dress with no shoulder. I had to use double sided tape to attempt to keep it in place. I found the torso on the other hand to be quite clingy so I wore my spanx with this one to smooth it all out. Overall I felt pretty in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
September 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and the process was simple. I love this dress!
This dress is a heavy jersey material. It's not thin or flimsy. It fit perfectly. Hugged all the curves in the right places without pulling or bulging. I received tons of compliments all night. This dress is a stunner! Get it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2014
So comfy!
This dress fit great! Super stretchy and super comfortable. A bit short, but as a short girl I didn't mind. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 22, 2014
Slimming and lengthening dress that will make you look great.
This dress was my favorite of five long black dresses I tried on from RTR after a mix up with an order. It was simple, sleek, but elegant with the shoulder beading. It was very form fitting but also comfortable. I wore mine with 5.5 inch heels and thought it was just the right length. A 0L would have fit someone 5'7'' without heels and would be much too short with heels. Also great for someone with a small bust like me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2014
Form Fitting, but too short.
Nothing all that special. Fabric and fit were meh. Not to mention I'm only 5'4" and the long was far too short. It didn't even hit the ground while I was barefoot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
July 22, 2014
I wore this dress for a family wedding. Everyone said I looked very glamorous!
I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. Dress is form fitting, but not tight and not constricting. I recommend you try on this dress with the exact undergarments you are planning to wear. I didn't and you can see from the photo where my underwear hit my waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 11, 2014
Perfect for my short height and form fitting from hips down! Stunning!
The dress is actually a bit heavy material so it will flow and drape properly. Def need some heels (2-3inches) with this dress and you really don't need a lot of accessories to dress it up. As for walking in it - I had no issues moving whatsoever since the material was stretchy so no tripping!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
June 6, 2014
Having a nice dress available quickly really made my experience less stressful
I wore it to a black tie event in DC and it isn't really out there like most dresses but very classy. Happy with my selection for something basic. The top of the dress is a little big around the bust area. I could of wore a 4 but it would of been uncomfortable tight, the 6 fit me appropriately for my event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
June 1, 2014
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress for a ball. It is very flattering. The dress can run short. I'm 5'1 so the dress went up to my ankles so I wore 1.5 inch heels. I had no problem with this because I don't like to wear too high of a heel. Great quality dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 24, 2014
Wore it to my husband's company holiday party this dress was perfect!
Very flattering fit! Material is stretchy and easy to move in, was comfortable all night. I found the length to be a bit short, I wore flats. I got so many complements on this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2014
way too short
I'm only 5'3" but I was unable to wear this dress because it was so short on me. I have a short torso and small body in general but it only went to my ankles. There were also sequins missing from the dress when I got it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Pretty Dress but Runs VERY short
Loved the fabric and detail but runs way short. I ordered the regular and long but the long was damaged and therefore not available. The regular was way too short even with flats.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
The gown didn't end up working, but at least Rent the Runway has good customer service.
I had tried on other Badgley Mishka gowns in a size 4 and always had them run long, not so with this one. I'm only 5'5 and even the 4L was far too short to wear heels with. I had ordered the 4R and 4L and ended up returning both, luckily i was able to borrow a gown from a friend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 9, 2014
Perfect for a black tie wedding
Form fitting, elegant, and classy. Very well made with subtle details that make a statement.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2014
You put this on and you won't want to try on another dress.
This dress is very flattering. It was very long, the material was a bit heavy so you will get warm if your a warm climate. Photo's don't really do this dress justice, it looks like a lovely gown in the photo but once you get it on its absolutely stunning. The only con's I have is that if you have larger breast I suggest going up a size because where the dress drapes on the shoulder is tight and a bit uncomfortable under the armpit. Other then that gorgeous smile gown for a black tie event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 3, 2014
The dress was very elegant and perfect for an evening wedding.
The fit was perfect and the dress was stunning. I got so many great compliments on this gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
April 30, 2014
Elegant yet subtle makes for perfect black tie wedding guest attire.
Definitely get the Long size. I'm 5'6" and had to wear 3" heels rather than 4" even with the 2L. I've never in my life had to wear a Long size as I'm pretty average in height, but I'm glad I read the other reviews and got the Longs. Stretchy material makes this an easy fit. The 0L was a bit tight in the bust, and the 2L was a bit roomy in the waist for me. I really could have worn either size, but went with the 2 for comfort/modesty. I went to a very formal black tie wedding in Los Angeles and this dress definitely fits in more than it stands out at such an event. Definitely didn't overshadow the bride or bridesmaids, but was elegant enough to look "right".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 199lbs
April 25, 2014
I didn't chose this dress
It was cute, but created sort of a uniboob with my chest. I don't recommend for larger chested women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
too short. way too short.
This dress is VERY short. I am 5'7 and it comes to my ankles and I got the LONG. I am just going to put on my 4 inch shoes and own it anyway. Maybe start a new trend?? :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 16, 2014
Stunning!
I wore this to a ball and the dress fit snug, but not in a bad way. I wore short heels and it was the perfect length. I received so many compliments especially about the details.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
Zhnc
Call jukfukxsgoiff
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 30, 2014
It was a black tie & tennis shoes gala.
This dress is beautiful and very true to form. I ordered the long and had flats on (due to the nature of my event) and found that it was still slightly short, so may not work well for someone over 5'8" in heels. I loved the dress and was comfortable in it all night and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 28, 2014
Runs SHORT
I'm only 5'2", I ordered the regular length since I'm short. The dress was so short in the front that it came to my ankles, without shoes on. I didn't end up wearing the dress. I've never worn anything labeled "long" in my life, however I think perhaps if you are interested in the dress and you are short, you must order the Long. And forget it if you are tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 27, 2014
Never felt more elegant.
Fabric has just enough give to hug your proportions beautifully. Not too tight. Not too loose. Easy to move in all evening long. The 0L was a great length on me (5'2") with 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
March 26, 2014
Beautiful dress
Runs small. I am 5"8 and it was short
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Wear this to a black tie wedding
This dress was beautiful but it runs very short. I am 5'0 tall and I had to buy new shorter heel to go with it. Other then that great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2014
The fit & details.
The fit of this dress is very flattering. On the website I could not tell that the pearls were a blueish/ purple shade so keep that in mind. Also, when I got this dress it was way shorter than I expected. It hit just above my ankles in both sizes so I was confused because on the website it was listed as a floor length gown. Other than that it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 15, 2014
Perfect for a Black Tie New Years Wedding!
I wore this on new years eve to a wedding. It was SO comfortable and fit like a glove. I was also excited that the length in the 0R was perfect for my 5'2" height. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 7, 2014
Loved it but my event was postponed
I loved this dress but my event was postponed for 2 weeks due to the snowstorm. I thought it ran small for a size 2. Normally I wear Size 2 no matter what the brand. The length on a 2 regular was way too short for heels. So I was planning to wear 5 inch heels with the 2 Long. RTR was very responsive and let me have a credit to re-rent this dress. However, by the time the credit was posted to my account, someone else had rented this dress for my new event date. This was very distressing as I was limited to black and red dresses for the event.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2014
Loved the dress! I could not decide between the regular and long and I'm so glad I got one of each.
I wore it to USMC ball and it was perfect.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2014
My sis wore it and it looked great and she felt comfortable .
It fit great however it needed double sided tape on the side that's off the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
February 23, 2014
I chose this as my backup dress and did not wear it.
The dress is beautiful and very well made, but is very fitted through the hips. Although I like clothes to fit well, I thought that it was not age-appropriate for me. I wore the Badgley-Mischka "Take the Stage" dress instead.
See more reviews:
3 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×