Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$40 – $70 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(286)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
December 30, 2013
Too short!
I am pretty short and got the short version of this dress - I was shocked at how short it actually was! Did not end up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
February 23, 2014
I chose this as my backup dress and did not wear it.
The dress is beautiful and very well made, but is very fitted through the hips. Although I like clothes to fit well, I thought that it was not age-appropriate for me. I wore the Badgley-Mischka "Take the Stage" dress instead.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 7, 2014
Loved it but my event was postponed
I loved this dress but my event was postponed for 2 weeks due to the snowstorm. I thought it ran small for a size 2. Normally I wear Size 2 no matter what the brand. The length on a 2 regular was way too short for heels. So I was planning to wear 5 inch heels with the 2 Long. RTR was very responsive and let me have a credit to re-rent this dress. However, by the time the credit was posted to my account, someone else had rented this dress for my new event date. This was very distressing as I was limited to black and red dresses for the event.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 28, 2014
Runs SHORT
I'm only 5'2", I ordered the regular length since I'm short. The dress was so short in the front that it came to my ankles, without shoes on. I didn't end up wearing the dress. I've never worn anything labeled "long" in my life, however I think perhaps if you are interested in the dress and you are short, you must order the Long. And forget it if you are tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
too short. way too short.
This dress is VERY short. I am 5'7 and it comes to my ankles and I got the LONG. I am just going to put on my 4 inch shoes and own it anyway. Maybe start a new trend?? :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Comfortable Fabric But Too Short
I am approximately 5' 4.5'' and the 0R was too short even without heels on. Once I put heels on it was really too short. The jeweled shoulder piece also felt quite tight under my arm, which was rather uncomfortable. Other than that the fabric felt nice and it was just a long black dress. I would not rent again.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2015
Chicago auto show first look for charity. I am wearing the dress on the far left.
I am 5'4, 125 pounds and this dress fit me perfectly. It does run a little short but it ended up being okay, better than tripping on it all night. Plus it's a little longer in the back than front. I wish it would have been an inch longer but it was fine. It hugs your curves and fit perfectly everywhere else on me. Simple and classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2015
Lovely dress.
Did not wear this dress,had to use the back up dress instead. Sadly ,even though I ordered the 12L, it was too short for me. Wish I could have worn it.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
March 26, 2014
Beautiful dress
Runs small. I am 5"8 and it was short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
April 16, 2015
This dress runs short
I am 5ft 6 in 125 lbs and this dress came to right above my ankle. If you are 5ft 5 or taller I would rent the long.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 17, 2012
Great dress
Ran small and shorter than most. Normally wear a 0 and wore a 2.
AngieAugust 13, 2014
Thanks for your post! What kind of bra did you wear?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2013
Wow! Great for running around!
As an event planner I'm always running around at events. I picked this dress because I knew I wouldn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. It was sexy, but work appropriate. Definitely hugs the body. Only complaint it was short. I'm only 5'2" and I had to wear flats. The detailing on the shoulder was just the right amount of bling. The back draping and the way it made my bum look was my favorite!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
October 13, 2015
Perfect for work formal Gala event
The fit of the dress throughout the body was absolutely perfect and the material was somewhat forgiving. Very comfortable. BUT, it does run very small. As you can see in the picture my feet were totally exposed. This was a 10R and I am only 5'3. Tons of compliments and overall great experience with RTR!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
September 24, 2011
I had both the 8L and 10L sent. I measured for the 8R but was nervous, being that I haven't fit into an 8 in a while. Both lengths still fell above my shoes, which were 4 inch heals. I ended up wearing the 8 and had to pin the chest in about an inch. It was great that free samples of adhesive tape were sent, they helped out with the strapless side. The dress is real quality. Nice beading, very thick material. People couldn't believe that I rented the dress. The package came as planned and was easy to pack and return. I used regular spanx to smooth out the waistline. I would advise shorter heals to get the look in the photo. All-in-all a very pleasant experience. Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2011
SO SHORT!
Before renting this dress, I read the reviews and saw that it ran short, so I ordered the long. I didn't think it would be above my ankles!! I am tall, but even going up a size would not have helped. Beautiful dress, just very short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2012
RUNS SMALL
This dress runs very small. I am usually a size 4 or 6, and the six was too tight to go over my hips and too short (about 8 inches). I am only 5'5". Size up 1-2 sizes if renting.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2013
Too short
The dress is very pretty but not long enough for me and was not able to wear it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 19, 2013
Great dress! I'm 5'9" and it was a bit short
looked awesome on!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2013
Comfortable and elegant dress.
The dress was great for the event. I usually wear a size 4, but ended up wearing the 6. As described by other customers, the dress a slightly shorter that I would have like. A word of caution to women with athletic builds (like me), the beaded shoulder portion of the dress was a little tight. I probably would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 21, 2014
Wayyyy too short
This was my first pick but I ended up not wearing it. I ordered the 8L and it was wayyy too short, even with flats. I am 5"7"-5'8", and my friend that was 5'6" couldn't even wear it because of the length. I would not recommend this dress to anyone taller than 5'4", even the extra length dress. It was a cute dress, but it was clingy and made out of a fabric that isn't the most expensive looking. Overall, it was pretty tight when most 8's are usually loose on me if anything. I like the design, I just wish it was longer!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
Gorgeous, with Zipper Issues
The dress is gorgeous. It does run short like everyone says. I am 5'2" and with platform heels the dress did not hit the floor. Be aware that the side with the zipper puckers noticeably, perhaps from too much dry cleaning. I rented this 2x but did not wear it because of the zipper issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2015
Dissappointed
Pros: I really wanted to wear this dress and was excited to try it on when it arrived. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the beading on the shoulder has tones of blue in it. It was very lovely. The draping on the front and back of the dress was classy and comfortable. Cons: WAY TOO SHORT. I'm just about 5'5" and was assured by a stylist that the regular length would work perfectly for my height. Unfortunately when I put the dress on, it fell right above my ankles. It was laughably short, really. The zipper puckered at the side too, so there was no smooth silhouette. No matter how much I tried keeping the dress down, it refused to lay flat. I tried on the size 0 too, which lay better on the hips, but it was obviously even shorter and the arm hole was super tight. Bottom line: I didn't wear this dress. I suppose it would have worked in a long size.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 32
June 20, 2016
Too short
The dress was great everywhere else. It was just too short. I'm only 5'6" and my feet were completely showing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2016
subtle, stylish
great dress. didn't end up wearing it, but it was a great weight, fit, and style. i'm tempted to rent it again for an upcoming event, but will probably steer clear of black because everyone wears it. the subtle detail on the arm and the slight drape is super classy - if you have a black tie function, or a 'black and white ball' - do consider this one.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2014
You put this on and you won't want to try on another dress.
This dress is very flattering. It was very long, the material was a bit heavy so you will get warm if your a warm climate. Photo's don't really do this dress justice, it looks like a lovely gown in the photo but once you get it on its absolutely stunning. The only con's I have is that if you have larger breast I suggest going up a size because where the dress drapes on the shoulder is tight and a bit uncomfortable under the armpit. Other then that gorgeous smile gown for a black tie event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2014
way too short
I'm only 5'3" but I was unable to wear this dress because it was so short on me. I have a short torso and small body in general but it only went to my ankles. There were also sequins missing from the dress when I got it.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
June 6, 2014
Having a nice dress available quickly really made my experience less stressful
I wore it to a black tie event in DC and it isn't really out there like most dresses but very classy. Happy with my selection for something basic. The top of the dress is a little big around the bust area. I could of wore a 4 but it would of been uncomfortable tight, the 6 fit me appropriately for my event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 11, 2014
Perfect for my short height and form fitting from hips down! Stunning!
The dress is actually a bit heavy material so it will flow and drape properly. Def need some heels (2-3inches) with this dress and you really don't need a lot of accessories to dress it up. As for walking in it - I had no issues moving whatsoever since the material was stretchy so no tripping!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
July 22, 2014
I wore this dress for a family wedding. Everyone said I looked very glamorous!
I wore 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. Dress is form fitting, but not tight and not constricting. I recommend you try on this dress with the exact undergarments you are planning to wear. I didn't and you can see from the photo where my underwear hit my waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
Zhnc
Call jukfukxsgoiff
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
August 11, 2014
Form Fitting, but too short.
Nothing all that special. Fabric and fit were meh. Not to mention I'm only 5'4" and the long was far too short. It didn't even hit the ground while I was barefoot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
September 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and the process was simple. I love this dress!
This dress is a heavy jersey material. It's not thin or flimsy. It fit perfectly. Hugged all the curves in the right places without pulling or bulging. I received tons of compliments all night. This dress is a stunner! Get it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2014
Elegant and understated gown
I don't often go for long gowns at RTR because of my height. I noticed in the reviews a number of petite women rented the dress with no complaints about the length so I decided to take a risk. I thought the length was actually bordering on being a bit short in my heels (single soled, no crazy platform) but overall this was a very lovely dress. The embellished shoulder and cape gave the otherwise understated gown a bit of glamour. The dress was quite comfortable but it felt a bit loose at the bust on the side of the dress with no shoulder. I had to use double sided tape to attempt to keep it in place. I found the torso on the other hand to be quite clingy so I wore my spanx with this one to smooth it all out. Overall I felt pretty in this dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2014
Great dress!
Perfect for a black tie wedding. Runs a little short, barefoot it is floor length but with kitten heels it's a little short. Very comfortable dress and elegant! The shoulder detail adds the right amount of sparkle.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2014
The dress was exactly what I had hoped it would be! Great first experience!!
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered both a 0 and 2. Each dress did not fit tremendously different, but the size 2 was much more comfortable. Definitely a fitted dress and hugged the body perfectly. It was a bit longer than I had hoped, but I am only 5'0"! I ended up wearing the highest heel I could possibly find and the dress still touched the ground a bit. I probably should have ordered the petite, but I didn't because the other reviews mentioned that the dress ran a bit shorter (not short enough for me!). Overall, loved it! Looking forward to ordering again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2014
I didn't wear it...it was too short
I'm only 5'3" and I got a regular and should have ordered the long. Even in flat feet it was too short and my heels are 6". I'm sad b/c I love this dress and it had great reviews.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 69
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Fabulous!
Based on reviews, I rented both the 4R and 6R. I wore the 4R because it fit better. As other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs a little shorter in front, but not enough to make a difference. I just wore a shorter, sexier heel with it. It is form fitting and any bumps will show. Although I'm in very good shape (spend 6 days a week in the gym), I still wore a body shaper to eliminate a not-flat-enough stomach. I received many compliments all night long and was very pleased with the dress. If you are body conscious, this dress isn't for you. But, if you have no problem flaunting it, you will love this dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2014
Beautiful dress, beautiful fabric, perfect for a formal event.
I loved everything about this dress, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it to my event. I am 5'4 and for the first time in my life a dress was too short on me. All other aspects of the dress run true to size except the length. I am normally an 8R and ordered a 10R as a ordered a backup size after reading the reviews of the dress length. Unfortunately, both dresses fell to just above my ankles. Overall, my customer experience with RTR was incredible and will definitely rent again even though this dress didn't work out for me.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 13, 2014
I wore this to a black tie dinner and received many compliments!
Super comfortable! The size 0L was a perfect fit, but the length was quite short. I would've had to wear flats. The 2L was perfect in length for my 3 inch heels, but not as fitted.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2014
When my boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me! It was the sweetest moment of the night.
The dress fit great and there were no malfunctions with it. The only cons were the length and the tightness around the calves. It was a little shorter than I wanted it and it sometimes was hard to walk/dance. But all in all, I felt amazing and my boyfriend was swooning all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×