Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Miss Mysterious Gown

$85 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
349 reviews
Fit
Large15
True to Size270
Small49
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
May 17, 2014
way too short
I'm only 5'3" but I was unable to wear this dress because it was so short on me. I have a short torso and small body in general but it only went to my ankles. There were also sequins missing from the dress when I got it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Pretty Dress but Runs VERY short
Loved the fabric and detail but runs way short. I ordered the regular and long but the long was damaged and therefore not available. The regular was way too short even with flats.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
The gown didn't end up working, but at least Rent the Runway has good customer service.
I had tried on other Badgley Mishka gowns in a size 4 and always had them run long, not so with this one. I'm only 5'5 and even the 4L was far too short to wear heels with. I had ordered the 4R and 4L and ended up returning both, luckily i was able to borrow a gown from a friend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 9, 2014
Perfect for a black tie wedding
Form fitting, elegant, and classy. Very well made with subtle details that make a statement.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2014
You put this on and you won't want to try on another dress.
This dress is very flattering. It was very long, the material was a bit heavy so you will get warm if your a warm climate. Photo's don't really do this dress justice, it looks like a lovely gown in the photo but once you get it on its absolutely stunning. The only con's I have is that if you have larger breast I suggest going up a size because where the dress drapes on the shoulder is tight and a bit uncomfortable under the armpit. Other then that gorgeous smile gown for a black tie event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 3, 2014
The dress was very elegant and perfect for an evening wedding.
The fit was perfect and the dress was stunning. I got so many great compliments on this gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
April 30, 2014
Elegant yet subtle makes for perfect black tie wedding guest attire.
Definitely get the Long size. I'm 5'6" and had to wear 3" heels rather than 4" even with the 2L. I've never in my life had to wear a Long size as I'm pretty average in height, but I'm glad I read the other reviews and got the Longs. Stretchy material makes this an easy fit. The 0L was a bit tight in the bust, and the 2L was a bit roomy in the waist for me. I really could have worn either size, but went with the 2 for comfort/modesty. I went to a very formal black tie wedding in Los Angeles and this dress definitely fits in more than it stands out at such an event. Definitely didn't overshadow the bride or bridesmaids, but was elegant enough to look "right".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 199lbs
April 25, 2014
I didn't chose this dress
It was cute, but created sort of a uniboob with my chest. I don't recommend for larger chested women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
too short. way too short.
This dress is VERY short. I am 5'7 and it comes to my ankles and I got the LONG. I am just going to put on my 4 inch shoes and own it anyway. Maybe start a new trend?? :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
April 16, 2014
Stunning!
I wore this to a ball and the dress fit snug, but not in a bad way. I wore short heels and it was the perfect length. I received so many compliments especially about the details.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
Zhnc
Call jukfukxsgoiff
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 30, 2014
It was a black tie & tennis shoes gala.
This dress is beautiful and very true to form. I ordered the long and had flats on (due to the nature of my event) and found that it was still slightly short, so may not work well for someone over 5'8" in heels. I loved the dress and was comfortable in it all night and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 28, 2014
Runs SHORT
I'm only 5'2", I ordered the regular length since I'm short. The dress was so short in the front that it came to my ankles, without shoes on. I didn't end up wearing the dress. I've never worn anything labeled "long" in my life, however I think perhaps if you are interested in the dress and you are short, you must order the Long. And forget it if you are tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 27, 2014
Never felt more elegant.
Fabric has just enough give to hug your proportions beautifully. Not too tight. Not too loose. Easy to move in all evening long. The 0L was a great length on me (5'2") with 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 26, 2014
Beautiful dress
Runs small. I am 5"8 and it was short
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Wear this to a black tie wedding
This dress was beautiful but it runs very short. I am 5'0 tall and I had to buy new shorter heel to go with it. Other then that great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 23, 2014
The fit & details.
The fit of this dress is very flattering. On the website I could not tell that the pearls were a blueish/ purple shade so keep that in mind. Also, when I got this dress it was way shorter than I expected. It hit just above my ankles in both sizes so I was confused because on the website it was listed as a floor length gown. Other than that it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 15, 2014
Perfect for a Black Tie New Years Wedding!
I wore this on new years eve to a wedding. It was SO comfortable and fit like a glove. I was also excited that the length in the 0R was perfect for my 5'2" height. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 7, 2014
Loved it but my event was postponed
I loved this dress but my event was postponed for 2 weeks due to the snowstorm. I thought it ran small for a size 2. Normally I wear Size 2 no matter what the brand. The length on a 2 regular was way too short for heels. So I was planning to wear 5 inch heels with the 2 Long. RTR was very responsive and let me have a credit to re-rent this dress. However, by the time the credit was posted to my account, someone else had rented this dress for my new event date. This was very distressing as I was limited to black and red dresses for the event.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2014
Loved the dress! I could not decide between the regular and long and I'm so glad I got one of each.
I wore it to USMC ball and it was perfect.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2014
My sis wore it and it looked great and she felt comfortable .
It fit great however it needed double sided tape on the side that's off the shoulder.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
February 23, 2014
I chose this as my backup dress and did not wear it.
The dress is beautiful and very well made, but is very fitted through the hips. Although I like clothes to fit well, I thought that it was not age-appropriate for me. I wore the Badgley-Mischka "Take the Stage" dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 21, 2014
Perfect dress for black tie!!
I am very petite and this dress fit me perfectly! The fit was snug so I imagine it may run a bit small since I am tiny. Love this dress, perfect for a black tie event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 20, 2014
I didn't wear it...it was too short
I'm only 5'3" and I got a regular and should have ordered the long. Even in flat feet it was too short and my heels are 6". I'm sad b/c I love this dress and it had great reviews.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156lbs
February 16, 2014
n/a
Beautiful dress, luxurious material - definitely makes you feel like you're on a runway. If you like mermaid dresses, you will LOVE this gown! Short story - I'm the wrong body type for this style, and I received this as a substitution dress. Though it definitely was not perfect for me, if you are considering it and you have any body type other than apple, it is likely perfect for you! Warning: it definitely runs SHORT. I am 5'3" and the 10R allowed the tops of my feet to show. Since this was a substitute, I decided to try it despite my fears of a mermaid-style dress, it wasn't as terrible as I expected - in fact, it appeared to cinch the waist I don't have! I'm sure it's quite flattering on someone with any other body type. Since it certainly wasn't ideal for me, RTR agreed to send me new substitutions (AMAZING customer service!). However, I knew that if those were somehow worse than what I started with, this would do in a pinch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, that fit and looked great!
Fit perfectly, but was definitely short as others noted. I do not usually like to wear very high heels, so I thought this would be perfect... It was slightly shorter than I would have preferred (I like the dress to be pretty close to the ground, I wore 2 inch heels). Otherwise, it was very comfortable, I did not need to wear a bra, and it looked great. This was my first time using RTR, and I will definitely do it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2014
Beautiful, flattering dress for Black Tie Wedding
Beautiful dress. Fit true to size but be warned this dress does run short. I am 5'4 and wore the 6L which would only allow for a 2 inch heel max. Dress is very slimming and fabric has just enough stretch to be forgiving but still hug you in all the right places. Many compliments...and as always RTR customer service is incredible!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2014
Great Dress, great fit, too short. I didn't get the long and should have since I am 5'9"!
Dress fit well, comfortable and got a lot of compliaments! Way too short for me, but I should have known and rented the 6L
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2014
Getting so many complements on my dress!
Dress was wonderful, the only thing is I ordered a 6 Long, it is actually just a 6. I'm 5'6 so it was OK for me. Also the beading on the 6, was very different from the 4 (which was too short on me) Seemed like its been cleaned a few too many times and the beads have changed color and some are missing.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2014
This dress was gorgeous .... Loved how elegant I felt "
The whole , rent the runway experience was phenomenal . The drees come on time , fit great and the entire process was easy .... It was PERFECT !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
This gown was the most comfortable I've ever worn. It fits snugly around the shoulder and the drape of it is very flattering. The fabric does have a bit of give and is heavy enough that it does not hitch at the hips or on the sides. It is somewhat short, so if you plan on wearing heels make sure you order the long versus the regular. I wore this while assisting my husband, a photojournalist, at the Academy Awards. I was required to move a lot, run up and down stairs and walk very quickly between the press room and the editing room. It was an EXTREMELY easy dress to move about in and would be a great formal selection for an event that might include a lot of dancing.
AngieAugust 13, 2014
What kind of bra did you use?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
January 7, 2014
Subtle yet stunning!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I received endless compliments the entire night. The dress was almost too short, and I wore 1.5' heals. It fit my curves perfectly and had nice stretch too. The sleeve beading was very subtle but gave some drama.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2014
Elegant, classic, show-stopping dress
This dress is flattering and very comfortable. It stands out and doesn't require much accessorizing. I wore the 4L but still found it a little short in heels. Highly recommended overall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress, very slimming and elegant.
Tons of compliments received, it was very stylish and had a snug fit without being too revealing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 30, 2013
Too short!
I am pretty short and got the short version of this dress - I was shocked at how short it actually was! Did not end up wearing.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 91lbs
December 1, 2013
I felt like a princess!
I wore this dress to the Southern Curves Vodka launch party and got lots of compliments! I am a very petite and short woman and was actually afraid the smallest size would be too big for me. It fit like a glove and hugged in all the right places. I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2013
Wore it for our company's 100th Anniversary Gala
It fit great. I tried on the 4R and it looked goot, but was a little long, so I ended up wearing the 2R which was a better length, but fit a little more snug. Would rent again. Felt very glamorous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2013
Good back up dress when you account for length.
I ordered this dress as a backup because I had rented the blue one with no issues. It would have been perfect except the dress was too short. I'm 5' even so for anything to be too short is unheard of. If I had to order this, I would order the long just to account for length. Keep that in mind when ordering yours! Everything else fit great. There is some stretch to it, so I can wear the smaller of the two sizes I generally fit in. Spanx is a must.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2013
LOVED IT!
This dress is awesome! Definitely need a good pair of spanx because it is form fitting. I am 5'2" and wore a low heel and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
backup dress
Did not wear this...did not like the way my lower stomach looked in this dress, but it is beautiful
See more reviews:
3 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×