Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
355 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size270
Small49
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2015
Runs short
This was my backup dress and it was a beautiful dress. However it runs very short. I'm 5'7" and the 4L hit my ankles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 26, 2015
Masquerade with a cape!
This is a nice dress and I got tons of compliments while wearing it! I loved the material and it was very comfortable to move around! The down side is that Even the long ran short on me (I'm 5'9") and ideally I would have had different shoes or the dress would be longer.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2015
Gorgeous top, not as gorgeous bottom half.
This was my backup dress (my original dress in my size wasn't available) and it was nice. I didn't wear it to the Formal but I loved the top of this dress - very sleek - down to about the hips. I didn't like how it sucked in so close to my body around my legs. Also, I'm pretty short, but the Regular length was too short on me. I did gain a few inches in the hem when I put on shapewear (I am wearing spanx in the picture - HIGHLY RECOMMEND for this dress!) but it still felt too high when wearing heels (3in). I don't know if I'd rent it again - I think going up a size would have been better in the hips/legs but too big in the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2015
Stunning! But just a bit short.
Wore this to a black tie wedding. The material was thick enough for a January wedding. Very classy! The fit was perfect all around, but the only downside of this dress was that it was a bit too short! I'm only 5'3" and without heels, the dress still didn't touch the ground. I wore this dress with 4" heels (I don't have anything lower!) and my feet showed. No one really noticed but it still bothered me. Besides that, beautiful dress. I would just recommend going with the longer size, especially if you plan on wearing heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2015
Gorgeous!
Absolutely gorgeous! This was actually my back-up dress and I loved it! Wore it a very fancy wedding and my husband complimented me all night! Just perfect! The material was drapping and very forgiving. Loved the bead work.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2015
Chicago auto show first look for charity. I am wearing the dress on the far left.
I am 5'4, 125 pounds and this dress fit me perfectly. It does run a little short but it ended up being okay, better than tripping on it all night. Plus it's a little longer in the back than front. I wish it would have been an inch longer but it was fine. It hugs your curves and fit perfectly everywhere else on me. Simple and classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2015
This dress was perfect for our gala!
The dress fit perfectly and was the right length for my 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2015
Beautiful dress. Fit was great!
Dress fit great. I was concerned because I have a small waist and hips but large bust. The bit of stretch to the dress was helpful in the bust. I could comfortably wear a strapless bra. However the dress was a little short for my taste even in the long size. The dress almost touched the floor with 3 inch heels on and I am 5'5. There were subtle flaws in the beading but nothing too bad. Lastly, this dress is not forgiving. I have never bought or worn Spanx in my life but I purchased some for this dress. I would rent from RTR again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 9, 2015
Loved it but short
The dress was wonderful however I ordered a 0L & it was too short. I looked at the tag & it only said 0 so I may have been sent a regular even though I double checked & my order was for a 0L. Other than that, I loved it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 31, 2015
Was not able to wear this dress as it was way too short.
Other than the length the dress fit great everywhere else. It was about 3in too short with no shoes on.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2015
Felt beautiful all night!
This dress was gorgeous! It fit perfectly, really showed off your curves. The only problem that I had with this dress was that I ordered a 4 regular and it was just a bit short with heels on. Other then that I loved the dress! I got so many compliments! Perfect for a military ball!!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2015
I wore this gown to a black tie dinner.
Dress fit amazing except it is REALLY REALLY short. I am below average height and the regular fit dress exposed my upper ankles. I am a standard 6 and RTR did not have a 6L so I ordered a 4L and it was the one I ended up wearing. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is beautiful and made me feel great. Fit like a glove except the length.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress was perfect
Fit great, looked wonderful and it was super comfortable. I usually wear a 10 in formals. The 12 was a little loose but nice to have a bit of extra room. The fabric is good quality & had some weight to it. Loved this dress so much that I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 19, 2015
Fancy enough!
Rented this dress for a Golden Globes party. I am 5'4" and like many posters found the dress to be a little on the short side in 3 inch heels, even though I ordered the Long. Wore mine with a strapless bra and Spanx - didn't find the dress to be particularly tight, just body skimming. The only picture I have alone doesn't show the shoulder detail, but it's fun and photographs well., though more full maybe than the photos indicate. I rented the bracelet I am wearing to match the rhinestones and pearl detail, but it was much much brighter than the dress. I mostly had my hair off to the side most of the night, but if I were to wear the dress again would have put my hair up or in a bun. It's definitely a little understated, but I blended in well at this very formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2015
This Dress was GREAT, AND BEAUTIFUL!
I rented this dress for my boyfriends Christmas Party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress! It was beautifully fitted and elegant. I recommend this and I am 5'4 and the regular was PERFECT! I am actually a size 4 so it was true to my size, I got a size up just in case it ran small but the 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
January 11, 2015
So easy!
The dress fit like a glove. No spanx needed because material is heavy enough that I only needed a full body slip. Very comfortable. Dress did not run short on me (I was scared it would due to previous posters) but I was able to wear a 5 in heel and shoes barely showed through the front of the dress and in the back the material was long enough that it nearly graced the floor. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Not the floor length gown it appears to be.
Luckily my other dress worked out, because this just wasn't the dress for me. Unlike the picture of the model, the front of the gown didn't even touch the floor when I was flat footed, and I ordered the dress in a long! I actually wondered if they sent an 8S, but that was not the case. The material was heavy and had two layers, which felt and looked bulky in my opinion. It had minimal stretch, and the shape of the dress was an extreme hourglass that hit me in the wrong places - it was baggy under the bust and just barely hugged my hips. The bust was also ill-fitting, and I couldn't get the back to drape correctly. Perhaps a 6L would have worked, but I think the shorter length in front is so unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 23, 2014
Perfect dress, perfect fit, perfect wedding.
I chose this dress as my last option because all my other options were already reserved. But I can tell you I couldn't be happier. The fit was perfect, the dress received a ton of comments. I'm always happy with whatever I order from Rent the Runway. Again Great Choice! (Sometimes zippers on all seem to be difficult to zip, maybe from useage?)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Comfortable Fabric But Too Short
I am approximately 5' 4.5'' and the 0R was too short even without heels on. Once I put heels on it was really too short. The jeweled shoulder piece also felt quite tight under my arm, which was rather uncomfortable. Other than that the fabric felt nice and it was just a long black dress. I would not rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2014
Too short!
I ordered a 6L and 8L for a formal event. I'm only 5'7", but both were way too short! The 6L was above my ankles. Beware of the length if you're not petite. Luckily I ordered a back-up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
STUNNING!
Loved this rental. I am normally a size 4, so I rented the 2 and the 4 after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great except for the length - it was WAY TOO SHORT (which is weird because I am only 5'2). After a slight panic session, I decided to try on the size 2. It fit perfectly and the length was just right. Long story short, I think that someone hemmed the size 4 that I received. Great rental, Definitely runs small. Great for people who are 5'1 or 5'2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2014
Zipped perfectly for a fun formal event!
Zipper worked, the size 0R fit like a glove, it is tight so no underwear could be worn, but it's black so was not revealing like that. Definite good dress for any black tie event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2014
I went to the Marine Ball with my sisters and I had the time of my life.
This dress is beautiful. The fit is amazing and it will make you feel like royalty....lol
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2014
When my boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me! It was the sweetest moment of the night.
The dress fit great and there were no malfunctions with it. The only cons were the length and the tightness around the calves. It was a little shorter than I wanted it and it sometimes was hard to walk/dance. But all in all, I felt amazing and my boyfriend was swooning all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 13, 2014
I wore this to a black tie dinner and received many compliments!
Super comfortable! The size 0L was a perfect fit, but the length was quite short. I would've had to wear flats. The 2L was perfect in length for my 3 inch heels, but not as fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2014
I think it's perfect.
Great!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
Gorgeous, with Zipper Issues
The dress is gorgeous. It does run short like everyone says. I am 5'2" and with platform heels the dress did not hit the floor. Be aware that the side with the zipper puckers noticeably, perhaps from too much dry cleaning. I rented this 2x but did not wear it because of the zipper issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
November 1, 2014
This dress was perfect for the gala! I received many compliments!
It fit perfectly and made me look like I had hips! I didn't even have to wear a bra. I was nervous about the length - also perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
October 31, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair, just not for me
Ordered this dress but didn't care for the way it looked on me. The size was perfect, nice material, but not flattering for my shape. It showed off my curves in all the wrong ways and made my hips look very wide. The long length was perfect for me, i'm 5-7 with 3.5 inch heels. Luckily I ordered two different dresses and wore the DAVID MEISTER Night in Barcelona Gown in 12L instead.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 29, 2014
Beautiful dress, beautiful fabric, perfect for a formal event.
I loved everything about this dress, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it to my event. I am 5'4 and for the first time in my life a dress was too short on me. All other aspects of the dress run true to size except the length. I am normally an 8R and ordered a 10R as a ordered a backup size after reading the reviews of the dress length. Unfortunately, both dresses fell to just above my ankles. Overall, my customer experience with RTR was incredible and will definitely rent again even though this dress didn't work out for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Fabulous!
Based on reviews, I rented both the 4R and 6R. I wore the 4R because it fit better. As other reviewers mentioned, the dress runs a little shorter in front, but not enough to make a difference. I just wore a shorter, sexier heel with it. It is form fitting and any bumps will show. Although I'm in very good shape (spend 6 days a week in the gym), I still wore a body shaper to eliminate a not-flat-enough stomach. I received many compliments all night long and was very pleased with the dress. If you are body conscious, this dress isn't for you. But, if you have no problem flaunting it, you will love this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
October 21, 2014
Wayyyy too short
This was my first pick but I ended up not wearing it. I ordered the 8L and it was wayyy too short, even with flats. I am 5"7"-5'8", and my friend that was 5'6" couldn't even wear it because of the length. I would not recommend this dress to anyone taller than 5'4", even the extra length dress. It was a cute dress, but it was clingy and made out of a fabric that isn't the most expensive looking. Overall, it was pretty tight when most 8's are usually loose on me if anything. I like the design, I just wish it was longer!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2014
Beautiful dress for a fabulous night!
This dress fits very true to size. Being 5'4" I was nervous ordering the long size but with 4" heels this dress was perfect! Beware this dress is form fitting for girls with hips, not very forgiving if you are curvier around the waist/stomach. Both dresses arrived with a few minor flaws in the beadwork but nothing too noticeable. Other wise this is a beautiful dress, perfect for a black tie wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
October 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
Wore this to a gala. It was a tad bit on the short side, especially for being a 4 long. I'm 5' 7'' and the long didn't cover my feet. Fortunately, I had cute shoes too. The bust was a little tight. Overall, a beautifully made gown. I probably should have got a 6 long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 27, 2014
The dress was exactly what I had hoped it would be! Great first experience!!
The dress fit perfectly. I ordered both a 0 and 2. Each dress did not fit tremendously different, but the size 2 was much more comfortable. Definitely a fitted dress and hugged the body perfectly. It was a bit longer than I had hoped, but I am only 5'0"! I ended up wearing the highest heel I could possibly find and the dress still touched the ground a bit. I probably should have ordered the petite, but I didn't because the other reviews mentioned that the dress ran a bit shorter (not short enough for me!). Overall, loved it! Looking forward to ordering again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2014
Great dress!
Perfect for a black tie wedding. Runs a little short, barefoot it is floor length but with kitten heels it's a little short. Very comfortable dress and elegant! The shoulder detail adds the right amount of sparkle.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2014
Elegant and understated gown
I don't often go for long gowns at RTR because of my height. I noticed in the reviews a number of petite women rented the dress with no complaints about the length so I decided to take a risk. I thought the length was actually bordering on being a bit short in my heels (single soled, no crazy platform) but overall this was a very lovely dress. The embellished shoulder and cape gave the otherwise understated gown a bit of glamour. The dress was quite comfortable but it felt a bit loose at the bust on the side of the dress with no shoulder. I had to use double sided tape to attempt to keep it in place. I found the torso on the other hand to be quite clingy so I wore my spanx with this one to smooth it all out. Overall I felt pretty in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
September 15, 2014
This was my backup dress and the process was simple. I love this dress!
This dress is a heavy jersey material. It's not thin or flimsy. It fit perfectly. Hugged all the curves in the right places without pulling or bulging. I received tons of compliments all night. This dress is a stunner! Get it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2014
So comfy!
This dress fit great! Super stretchy and super comfortable. A bit short, but as a short girl I didn't mind. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 22, 2014
Slimming and lengthening dress that will make you look great.
This dress was my favorite of five long black dresses I tried on from RTR after a mix up with an order. It was simple, sleek, but elegant with the shoulder beading. It was very form fitting but also comfortable. I wore mine with 5.5 inch heels and thought it was just the right length. A 0L would have fit someone 5'7'' without heels and would be much too short with heels. Also great for someone with a small bust like me.
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×