Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
366 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(273)
Small
(51)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 90lbs
April 13, 2015
The dress put it all together got so many compliments.
It fit perfect! I recommend this very much. True to size. Not heavy for me being a small girl.
RebekahJanuary 15, 2016
What size heels did you wear?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
April 2, 2015
Very pretty, but wayyyy to short.
I'm very short but I ordered a 0 long just incase, and a regular as we'll. both dresses were extremely short, even when I was flat footed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
March 31, 2015
Too short for black tie event
Overall this dress is nice and safe but way too short. I think it should be longer to cover the shoes. Considering I'm not tall at all (actually petite size at 5'3"), it wasn't the problem of my height but design itself. Beading was great but it could have more. Fabric wasn't the one what I expected either. I wanted to order 2L but it wasn't available. If you like the design, I strongly recommend to go with longer version.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2015
All my friends told me they LOVED the dress!
This dress was perfect an upscale wedding. Classy, sexy and elegant. Hugged my body like no other. The petite length was perfect for my. 5'4 height, didn't drag on the floor at all! I like how the material has a slimming effect - allows me to eat without being worried about a bulging stomach.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 21, 2015
Beautiful dress, fit great, yet unfortunately I could not wear it as it was too short
I am 5'8" and the dress came above my ankles without shoes. I ordered an 8L and it was still way too short. Otherwise it fit like a glove. I was sad not to be able to wear it.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2015
Lovely dress.
Did not wear this dress,had to use the back up dress instead. Sadly ,even though I ordered the 12L, it was too short for me. Wish I could have worn it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
March 17, 2015
Beautiful Wedding, I was a bridesmaid, this was stunning
We were to choose a black dress of our choice as a bridesmaid. This dress was stunning, I received a million compliments all night. It was so nice to not have to shop or dry clean..the process was easy & there is just something about wearing a high-quality piece of material, it just fits so perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 12, 2015
Dress was beautiful with thick liner so wore well.
True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 6, 2015
Hourglass girls....DON'T!
Ok how can I describe the fit of this dress. As you can see I'm curvy but I can usually pull off a 12 if the fabric is stretchy. Well this fabric was very stretchy (Thank God) and a wonderful weight and feel. But it fit like an 8 at the bottom and like a 14 at the top!!! The regular length showed my whole foot! I wore it anyway and my husband thought I looked stunning but this was not meant for me! Lol. The person who would be ideal is someone who is stick straight and very busty. Even if you have belly issues, no worries this will hide it well. The shoulder detail and extra fabric made it stand out. Also if you're taller than 5'3" go with the long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
March 2, 2015
This was a backup that I did not wear.
Fit perfectly, however a bit short on me. It was a beautiful gown. Just not for the event I was attending.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 1, 2015
SHORT!
I should have ordered the long! The dress is beautiful and fit true to size everywhere else - but it's extremely short. I saw all the other reviewers state this, but I figured it would work for me since I am only 5'3" - and I often have a problem with things being too long. I thought I could always wear kitten heels with it if it. No, even in bare feet, the tops of my ankles were showing. If you are above 5 feet tall, I recommend ordering the long. It's a beautiful dress, and I will try again with the long for another event. (It wasn't available for me to get it in time for this event, but RTR sent me other gorgeous option that fit perfectly. Nothing but wonderful things to say about RTR's impeccable costumer service!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 1, 2015
Runs short
This was my backup dress and it was a beautiful dress. However it runs very short. I'm 5'7" and the 4L hit my ankles.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 26, 2015
Masquerade with a cape!
This is a nice dress and I got tons of compliments while wearing it! I loved the material and it was very comfortable to move around! The down side is that Even the long ran short on me (I'm 5'9") and ideally I would have had different shoes or the dress would be longer.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2015
Gorgeous top, not as gorgeous bottom half.
This was my backup dress (my original dress in my size wasn't available) and it was nice. I didn't wear it to the Formal but I loved the top of this dress - very sleek - down to about the hips. I didn't like how it sucked in so close to my body around my legs. Also, I'm pretty short, but the Regular length was too short on me. I did gain a few inches in the hem when I put on shapewear (I am wearing spanx in the picture - HIGHLY RECOMMEND for this dress!) but it still felt too high when wearing heels (3in). I don't know if I'd rent it again - I think going up a size would have been better in the hips/legs but too big in the bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2015
Stunning! But just a bit short.
Wore this to a black tie wedding. The material was thick enough for a January wedding. Very classy! The fit was perfect all around, but the only downside of this dress was that it was a bit too short! I'm only 5'3" and without heels, the dress still didn't touch the ground. I wore this dress with 4" heels (I don't have anything lower!) and my feet showed. No one really noticed but it still bothered me. Besides that, beautiful dress. I would just recommend going with the longer size, especially if you plan on wearing heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2015
Gorgeous!
Absolutely gorgeous! This was actually my back-up dress and I loved it! Wore it a very fancy wedding and my husband complimented me all night! Just perfect! The material was drapping and very forgiving. Loved the bead work.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2015
Chicago auto show first look for charity. I am wearing the dress on the far left.
I am 5'4, 125 pounds and this dress fit me perfectly. It does run a little short but it ended up being okay, better than tripping on it all night. Plus it's a little longer in the back than front. I wish it would have been an inch longer but it was fine. It hugs your curves and fit perfectly everywhere else on me. Simple and classy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2015
This dress was perfect for our gala!
The dress fit perfectly and was the right length for my 3 inch heels.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 17, 2015
Beautiful dress. Fit was great!
Dress fit great. I was concerned because I have a small waist and hips but large bust. The bit of stretch to the dress was helpful in the bust. I could comfortably wear a strapless bra. However the dress was a little short for my taste even in the long size. The dress almost touched the floor with 3 inch heels on and I am 5'5. There were subtle flaws in the beading but nothing too bad. Lastly, this dress is not forgiving. I have never bought or worn Spanx in my life but I purchased some for this dress. I would rent from RTR again for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 9, 2015
Loved it but short
The dress was wonderful however I ordered a 0L & it was too short. I looked at the tag & it only said 0 so I may have been sent a regular even though I double checked & my order was for a 0L. Other than that, I loved it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
January 31, 2015
Was not able to wear this dress as it was way too short.
Other than the length the dress fit great everywhere else. It was about 3in too short with no shoes on.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2015
Felt beautiful all night!
This dress was gorgeous! It fit perfectly, really showed off your curves. The only problem that I had with this dress was that I ordered a 4 regular and it was just a bit short with heels on. Other then that I loved the dress! I got so many compliments! Perfect for a military ball!!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2015
I wore this gown to a black tie dinner.
Dress fit amazing except it is REALLY REALLY short. I am below average height and the regular fit dress exposed my upper ankles. I am a standard 6 and RTR did not have a 6L so I ordered a 4L and it was the one I ended up wearing. I would recommend this dress to anyone. It is beautiful and made me feel great. Fit like a glove except the length.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
January 25, 2015
The dress was perfect
Fit great, looked wonderful and it was super comfortable. I usually wear a 10 in formals. The 12 was a little loose but nice to have a bit of extra room. The fabric is good quality & had some weight to it. Loved this dress so much that I didn't want to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2015
Fancy enough!
Rented this dress for a Golden Globes party. I am 5'4" and like many posters found the dress to be a little on the short side in 3 inch heels, even though I ordered the Long. Wore mine with a strapless bra and Spanx - didn't find the dress to be particularly tight, just body skimming. The only picture I have alone doesn't show the shoulder detail, but it's fun and photographs well., though more full maybe than the photos indicate. I rented the bracelet I am wearing to match the rhinestones and pearl detail, but it was much much brighter than the dress. I mostly had my hair off to the side most of the night, but if I were to wear the dress again would have put my hair up or in a bun. It's definitely a little understated, but I blended in well at this very formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2015
This Dress was GREAT, AND BEAUTIFUL!
I rented this dress for my boyfriends Christmas Party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress! It was beautifully fitted and elegant. I recommend this and I am 5'4 and the regular was PERFECT! I am actually a size 4 so it was true to my size, I got a size up just in case it ran small but the 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
January 11, 2015
So easy!
The dress fit like a glove. No spanx needed because material is heavy enough that I only needed a full body slip. Very comfortable. Dress did not run short on me (I was scared it would due to previous posters) but I was able to wear a 5 in heel and shoes barely showed through the front of the dress and in the back the material was long enough that it nearly graced the floor. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Not the floor length gown it appears to be.
Luckily my other dress worked out, because this just wasn't the dress for me. Unlike the picture of the model, the front of the gown didn't even touch the floor when I was flat footed, and I ordered the dress in a long! I actually wondered if they sent an 8S, but that was not the case. The material was heavy and had two layers, which felt and looked bulky in my opinion. It had minimal stretch, and the shape of the dress was an extreme hourglass that hit me in the wrong places - it was baggy under the bust and just barely hugged my hips. The bust was also ill-fitting, and I couldn't get the back to drape correctly. Perhaps a 6L would have worked, but I think the shorter length in front is so unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 23, 2014
Perfect dress, perfect fit, perfect wedding.
I chose this dress as my last option because all my other options were already reserved. But I can tell you I couldn't be happier. The fit was perfect, the dress received a ton of comments. I'm always happy with whatever I order from Rent the Runway. Again Great Choice! (Sometimes zippers on all seem to be difficult to zip, maybe from useage?)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 23, 2014
Comfortable Fabric But Too Short
I am approximately 5' 4.5'' and the 0R was too short even without heels on. Once I put heels on it was really too short. The jeweled shoulder piece also felt quite tight under my arm, which was rather uncomfortable. Other than that the fabric felt nice and it was just a long black dress. I would not rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 18, 2014
Too short!
I ordered a 6L and 8L for a formal event. I'm only 5'7", but both were way too short! The 6L was above my ankles. Beware of the length if you're not petite. Luckily I ordered a back-up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
STUNNING!
Loved this rental. I am normally a size 4, so I rented the 2 and the 4 after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great except for the length - it was WAY TOO SHORT (which is weird because I am only 5'2). After a slight panic session, I decided to try on the size 2. It fit perfectly and the length was just right. Long story short, I think that someone hemmed the size 4 that I received. Great rental, Definitely runs small. Great for people who are 5'1 or 5'2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2014
Zipped perfectly for a fun formal event!
Zipper worked, the size 0R fit like a glove, it is tight so no underwear could be worn, but it's black so was not revealing like that. Definite good dress for any black tie event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 21, 2014
I went to the Marine Ball with my sisters and I had the time of my life.
This dress is beautiful. The fit is amazing and it will make you feel like royalty....lol
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2014
When my boyfriend couldn't stop staring at me! It was the sweetest moment of the night.
The dress fit great and there were no malfunctions with it. The only cons were the length and the tightness around the calves. It was a little shorter than I wanted it and it sometimes was hard to walk/dance. But all in all, I felt amazing and my boyfriend was swooning all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 13, 2014
I wore this to a black tie dinner and received many compliments!
Super comfortable! The size 0L was a perfect fit, but the length was quite short. I would've had to wear flats. The 2L was perfect in length for my 3 inch heels, but not as fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2014
I think it's perfect.
Great!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 5, 2014
Gorgeous, with Zipper Issues
The dress is gorgeous. It does run short like everyone says. I am 5'2" and with platform heels the dress did not hit the floor. Be aware that the side with the zipper puckers noticeably, perhaps from too much dry cleaning. I rented this 2x but did not wear it because of the zipper issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
November 1, 2014
This dress was perfect for the gala! I received many compliments!
It fit perfectly and made me look like I had hips! I didn't even have to wear a bra. I was nervous about the length - also perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
October 31, 2014
Perfect for a black tie affair, just not for me
Ordered this dress but didn't care for the way it looked on me. The size was perfect, nice material, but not flattering for my shape. It showed off my curves in all the wrong ways and made my hips look very wide. The long length was perfect for me, i'm 5-7 with 3.5 inch heels. Luckily I ordered two different dresses and wore the DAVID MEISTER Night in Barcelona Gown in 12L instead.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×