Badgley Mischka

Miss Mysterious Gown

$70 rental
$725 retail
Stylist Notes

Glide through the night stunning everyone at the ball wearing this Badgley Mischka one shoulder gown. It is sexy, glamorous, and for sure a show stopper. Pair with a bangle set like the Cara Accessories' The More The Merrier

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted around backside - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black matte jersey(71% Rayon; 29% Polyester). Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See Size and Fit notes for length.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(286)
Small
(52)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2013
Sophisticated & sexy, comfortable, runs short.
This dress worked very well for a black tie opera event. It was elegant but sexy and timeless. The wing detail on the back makes the dress unique. Extremely comfortable. My only issue was it runs short - I am 5'9" and ordered the 8L with 3 inch heels the dress was too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 19, 2013
I was not happy with this dress; I returned it immediately.
The dress was too short on me, and I'm only 5'3". I also thought the fit was off, at least for my body type. Overall, not happy with this dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 172lbs
April 15, 2013
This dress was fantastic! I felt beautiful in it~
I thought it fit well. I normally wear a 14 but the 12 fit great. I did think it was a little short, even with the 12 L I had to wear short heals.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2013
Perfect for a simple, elegant look
Wore this to a military ball. Amazing gown, fitted and tapers in at knees to form a really flattering slight mermaid. Super stretchy and comfortable, fabric was heavier than expected but drapes and moves really well! Length is great for shorter girls who don't want to kill their feet in sky-high heels - I'm 5' 2" and wore 3-inch heels, gown just skimmed the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 27, 2015
It would have been fine, but it was my backup dress. I just liked the other one more.
Light, easy, simple. Did not feel like it was going to fall off. Covers more than you think. Conservative- more than you think anyway. Very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 15, 2016
LOVE this dress. Very comfortable and slimming.
Great fitting , I was able to use the smaller size(10L). Thanks to the reviews I ordered the long which was a perfect length. ( I am only 5'6").
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
March 5, 2016
Even the long is too short.
Went to a gala event. Read the reviews that said it ran short, but the long length wasn't available in my size (4). Ordered a 4R and a 6L, ended up with the 6L. The 4R was laughably short... it hit ABOVE my ankles in flats. With shapewear. The 6L was better... but in 2.5" heels, most of my shoes showed. It hit just above the floor in flats. Because of the shape of the dress, and the way the bottom flares out, it hangs better when you wear heels. Some of the beadwork was coming loose, but nothing too bad. Fit wise, the top was actually a bit big (which is not normally a problem for me in a 6)... I ended up having to tape down the armpit to keep it from gaping. It definitely needs shapewear to keep you from looking lumpy-bumpy. Overall, I liked the way the dress hung, and accentuated curves... but in retrospect, I wish I'd picked something a lot longer.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 2, 2012
Great dress
I wore this dress to a charity ball and it looked great! I normally wear a 4, but the bust area seemed a little loose even though I am a 34C, so I wore a 2R and it was perfect. The dress does seem a little short, but since I am only 5' 2", it was ok with 2 inch heels. The only complaint I have, is that the seam at the right hip was a little "lumpy", but I was probably the only one that noticed. I definitely recommend wearing Spanx, as this dress is clingy! All in all, I am glad I rented it and can't wait to use Rent the Runway again.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 30, 2012
Gorgeous & Comfy!
i am usually a size 6 but the size 6Lwas a little tight under the arms and across the bust and a bit short. the size 8L way really a bit big in the bust but i was able to pin it underneath the drape and it was perfect! i loved the dress...super comfy and appropriate for all ages.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
November 29, 2012
9 hours, 9 entrees, Perfect 10!
This dress was incredible! I wore it with 3" heels and it came just off the floor in front, with a slight sweep in the back. The fabric is substantial and stretchy, which kept me warm, comfortable and smooth as though in full-body SPANX for the outdoor/indoor fall wedding. My concerns about too much tummy and too little height vanished in minutes. I measured to be a size 4, and it looked fine other than being too long. However, when I tried on the backup size 2 - BAM!!! 10 lbs. instantly gone from my petite body to be replaced with eye-popping curves on a statuesque one. As I made closer inspection, I could then see the minute adjustments in the sizes that made such a difference. By a mere millimeter or two on the smaller dress, the waist was a tad higher, and the underarm area a tad more snug. It's always in the details...well executed, Badgley Mischka! Thank you, RTR staff for insisting on sending a backup even without my request (I would've ordered 4 and 6, but 6 was not available, so I only ordered the 4.) You were right, and I'm so grateful.
CamAugust 6, 2014
Hi- I'm the same size with a fuller bust, would a 2 be alright? Same type of measurements, and I'm usually a 4-6, just a bigger chest. Thanks
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Not the floor length gown it appears to be.
Luckily my other dress worked out, because this just wasn't the dress for me. Unlike the picture of the model, the front of the gown didn't even touch the floor when I was flat footed, and I ordered the dress in a long! I actually wondered if they sent an 8S, but that was not the case. The material was heavy and had two layers, which felt and looked bulky in my opinion. It had minimal stretch, and the shape of the dress was an extreme hourglass that hit me in the wrong places - it was baggy under the bust and just barely hugged my hips. The bust was also ill-fitting, and I couldn't get the back to drape correctly. Perhaps a 6L would have worked, but I think the shorter length in front is so unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
May 11, 2015
The dress was classy and comfortable.
This dress runs a bit big, did not even have to unzip it to put it on. It was very comfortable but also looked like it was hugging your body in the right ways and like a well-made dress. I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 24, 2017
I got tons of compliments, but I had to tape it in place.
Large... I think. I have lost a significant amount of weight this year, but I wear a 4 in other brands...
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
The gown didn't end up working, but at least Rent the Runway has good customer service.
I had tried on other Badgley Mishka gowns in a size 4 and always had them run long, not so with this one. I'm only 5'5 and even the 4L was far too short to wear heels with. I had ordered the 4R and 4L and ended up returning both, luckily i was able to borrow a gown from a friend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Pretty Dress but Runs VERY short
Loved the fabric and detail but runs way short. I ordered the regular and long but the long was damaged and therefore not available. The regular was way too short even with flats.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
October 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
Wore this to a gala. It was a tad bit on the short side, especially for being a 4 long. I'm 5' 7'' and the long didn't cover my feet. Fortunately, I had cute shoes too. The bust was a little tight. Overall, a beautifully made gown. I probably should have got a 6 long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
STUNNING!
Loved this rental. I am normally a size 4, so I rented the 2 and the 4 after reading all of the reviews. The 4 fit great except for the length - it was WAY TOO SHORT (which is weird because I am only 5'2). After a slight panic session, I decided to try on the size 2. It fit perfectly and the length was just right. Long story short, I think that someone hemmed the size 4 that I received. Great rental, Definitely runs small. Great for people who are 5'1 or 5'2.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
July 28, 2011
This was a beautiful dress! The beading on it is beautiful - turquoise, purple, black. The dress is heavy and has an inner lining. Unfortunately I wasn't able to wear the sizes I purchased because they were extremely short!!! It didn't flow to the floor like the picture shows or the size and fit said it would. :( I ordered a 4R and 6R (because it said 5'3" to 5'6" is R and I am 5'1 1/2") and both only went as far as a little above my ankles (nothing like a highwater dress), which made the dress not look so elegant on me. I didn't expect my shoes to be seen but of course every part of my shoe and ankle were visible, which took away from the gorgeous dress. I was hesitant to order this dress because I was worried about it being too long since I am so short. Higher heels only made the dress look worse. Not the look the description described. So disappointing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
November 16, 2011
Seeing my best friend get married in a gorgeous dress!!
I wore this dress to my boyfriends sister's black tie wedding and it was gorgeous. You almost don't notice the jeweled side but when you do it is truly stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2011
Gorgeous Dress just very short
I rented this dress for a wedding me being 6'1 and wearing heels i figured i would order the L dress instead of regular but it was still wayyy to short even without heels on but very gorgeous dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
December 28, 2011
Great dress, but short!
I needed a dress for a black tie gala for work and this fit the bill perfectly! Sleek and sophisticated and subtly sexy, I got compliments from co-workers all night. I didn't feel like I stood out too much, but that was perfect since I was working and wasn't trying to be in the spotlight. It is SHORT though. I am a little over 5'6 and normally an 8 and ordered the 8L and 10R as a backup. I wanted to wear flats since I would be on my feet all night, and the 8L was perfect - just barely swept the floor and covered my shoes. The 10R only came to my ankles. It was fitted, but not uncomfortably so - I have very wide hips, which I was nervous about, but this dress really flattered my curves. Only needed a little bit of tape to keep the top in place, but I'm pretty small up top. Overall, great first RTR experience. I can't wait until I have an excuse to rent again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 28, 2012
Back up dress
This dress was my back up and I didn't wear it. It fit really well all over, except it was several inches too short. It didn't hit the ground like in the picture. The train barely touched the ground and in front you could see my entire shoes. Also, some of the paint on the beading has worn off of this size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 7, 2012
Great dress, runs short.
Rented this dress for the Black and White Ball and loved it. The dress hung beautifully, was easy to move in and in chilly San Francisco stayed the night chill with it's heavy fabric. My only complaint was length, I'm 5'4" on a good day and in my 3" heels the front hem was a good inch and a half off the floor. That being said, I'm not sure a long wouldn't have been too long, and all in all I very much enjoyed wearing the dress and would recommend it to others looking for a formal dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 1, 2012
Beautiful dress
This was my second dress. Didn't wear because it was too tight in the hips and too short for me. Beautiful dress though!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 11, 2012
Beautiful gown, runs a little small.
I normally wear a 0, and I found the 0 to be a little snug under the underarms and it was very short. I'm 5'4" and the 0 fell about 2 inches above my ankles. The 2's length was perfect luckily and I was extremely comfortable wearing it even though it was a little looser under the underarms. Not to the point that you could see in the gown or see my bra luckily. The 2 was about an inch off the floor with 3 inch heels. I really loved the dress and I can't wait to rent from here again soon!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2012
Dresses came in on time, were very simple to return, and they were in beautiful condition.
It runs a little short. I usually wear a 2 and you could see my entire heel in the two, so I suggest going a size up! Other than that it's amazingly beautiful and very easy to move in! I danced all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 13, 2012
Beautiful dress at last-minute!
I needed a dress at the last-minute to attend my fiance's military brigade ball, and rent the runway saved the day!This was my first time renting, and I can't wait to use this site again. I felt great in the dress and got lots of compliments. The dress does run short so I had to wear shorter heels to accommodate, would have preferred to order the long version. But overall, worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2013
Sophisticated dress
This was my one of my 2 choices for NYE. I went with the other dress I rented. This dress definitely runs SMALL! I am 5'6" and ordered the Long length, While the dress did fit (6L) it was way too short even barefoot! I tried on the 8L and it was ok but still too short to wear any type of heel with it. This dress does show off the curves, if you are at all self-conscious, spanks will come in handy for any amount of pooch. I received 2 sizes of this dress and was very disappointed in the differences between the two. The beadwork on the shoulder was missing all of the large rose colored pearls on one dress and had loose threads where they should have been. It made for a less than pretty accent to the dress. I was very glad I had my other choice to wear or I would have been very disappointed with my selection.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2013
The consultants online were easy to work with and so nice!
I rented two dresses for a black tie event, this was my first choice but unfortunately it was way too short. I am 5'3, 105 lbs and got a 0R. I am petite, so a long never crossed my mind. I was disappointed that it was too short, but without shoes, the hem of the dress was at my ankles. The quality of the dress was nice and it had beautiful bead work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2013
This dress was my "plan A" but didn't end up working out.
Even though I ordered a long, this dress was too short for me - and I'm only 5'9". I also felt like the decorative shoulder part looked tarnished. I still had a great RTR experience though, my plan B dress was fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 11, 2013
This was my second choice
I ended up wearing something else. I would have chosen to wear this dress but it was a bit too short even though I ordered a Long. I am 5'7 and with 5 inch heels it looked a bit short. It has a beautiful fit and if it was an inch longer it would have been the option I chose to wear.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 5, 2013
Very flattering dress! Elegant and sophisticated!!
Go for the long size, regular is too short if you gonna wear at least 4 inches heels.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2013
backup dress; too short
This beading is pretty but the dress itself is short. I said "runs small" because the regular was short on me and I am barely 5'2.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
Nothing at all because the dress didn't fit
The dress read small because I'm usually a 6 to a 4 and i tried a 8 and it didn't fit..
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2013
A bit underwhelming.
Like all the others said- it runs short. I'm 5'8" and wear tiny heels because my boyfriend is the same height as me. I wore tiny, 1/2" kitten heels and the R- regular length was still too short. But by the time I received the dress, there was nothing I could do. I really wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone over 5'5, even if you get the long. Also, to me, it didn't look like a designer dress. The beading was pretty but it looked like an average Macy's or Nordstrom dress, it didn't have the elegant, expensive look I was going for. Overall, I thought it was okay, but nothing special. I wish I had chosen a different dress.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 12, 2013
Very elegant, runs short
This is a very sleek and elegant gown. My favorite part was that with the shoulder detail I really didn't need any jewelry. I wore a cuff and some ear rings. However, the length was pretty short. I am 5'1'' and I really only needed a 2inch heel with this dress. I did not feel comfortable with my feet showing.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
May 30, 2013
This was my back up dress, So glad I ordered at the last minute.
Great dress lots of compliments, only problem was the length was too long in the back. If you are 5'3 you need the shorter length unless you are able to wear very high heels which I was not. Love the back of the dress, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 14, 2013
Wrong Size
Sadly this dress was way too small on me. I ordered a 2R and a 4R. The 2R was too short and the 4R was too large. I could have possibly read the reviews wrong and should have ordered a 2L. But one thing you do not notice in the picture is that the beading on the dress is not just silver but is also blue. Although my dress did not fit, Rent The Runway had a new dress for me the next day!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 30, 2013
Great for a black tie event
This was a great, modest dress for a charity event with a wide range of ages in attendance. The dress was fitted, but the excess fabric hanging off the back helped keep the dress from looking too tight. I did feel that the shoulder was tight so I would recommend sizing up. Also, I'm 5'4" and had to wear the long for the heels I wanted to wear (3.5" heels) so just keep that in mind.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to a formal church banquet and it was stylish yet modest.
I usually wear a size ten; which fit on the top but was a little too snug in the hips (okay for a date night but not for a church function). I wore the size 12; had more room in the hips but the top was a little big and bunched up under my arm. If I had the opportunity to buy this dress, I would!
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×