Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$158 to buy
$585 retail
Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(126)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 26, 2013
The dress was hot.
Loved the dress. One problem with it was that it was way too long! A 5'4" even with 4 inch heels on I was still stepping on the dress all night. The other reviewers made it sound too short but I found the opposite. The key-hole portion was also too large. I'm a 32DDD and one picture of the evening shows a good portion of my strapless bra and all my cleavage...not a good look. Other than that I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2013
Unforgettable Indeed!
The dress was beautiful online but on me, definitely not! I have quite a large bust and if you're on busty side, this dress is not for you. It had a slimming fit but the breast area ran to small. Amazing dress online but not on me....
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 17, 2013
The material was amazing and my friends were extremely impressed with the fit of the designer
Since I am short (5'2), the slip was not as appealing on my petite frame. Since I am busty (32D) the cutout at the top of the dress was not as complementary as I hoped.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2014
everyone said I was the best dressed!! Loved it!!
the dress is perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
flattering, elegant, and comfortable.
I loved this dress. I got tons of compliments and it was even more stunning in person than on the website. be prepared to show some cleavage, but it still looks classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Fit so perfect and was VERY comfortable.
I wore this for a black tie optional wedding. I rented the long and it was definitely long, although I only wore a two inch heel. Would absolutely recommend.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
February 23, 2014
Classy, elegant
The dress fitted very well at the waist. The top was loose and low cut. The length was a little long (I only wore 3" heels). The bottom touched the floor at times but it didn't bother me that much. It gave me a very lovely and classy look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2014
Not a fave. :-(
This dress is a bit different from the picture, which was a disappointment for sure. It fits a little strange if you have a bigger, natural bust. The slit in the skirt is not as high as shown in the picture. It's probably half that length and it is not in the front of the dress, it is off to the side. If you are 5'9" or taller, you CANNOT wear heels with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
March 24, 2014
Its very Chic!
I really loved this dress and the fit even though I ended up wearing the other dress I got from this site. The only reason I decided to wear the other dress was bra issues. Finding a bra that would support me and for it not to be seen was tricking especially because I didn't have to find the right bra, that's why I wore the other one... But if you don't need a bra for support, have the right bra, or have time to get one I would defiantly wear this dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2014
Dress arrived in the wrong length
I didn't get to wear it because it was too short I ordered a 10XL and they sent a 10R the staff at RTR was very helpful in fixing the situation 5 stars for customer service
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
Flattering, Great for Bigger Bust, Perfect Long Black Dress
I recently had a black tie wedding at 21 weeks pregnant and needless to say was freaking out about what to wear. I didn't want to spend money on a dress I would likely never wear again so a friend suggested I try RTR. I was a bit hesitant being pregnant but I found a lot of the reviews people had posted very helpful and needless to say landed on this one per the reviews and the material seemed a bit more stretchy so I figured it should work. I ordered an 8L and 10L (I am normally an 8) and while the 8 fit...due to my expanding tummy and larger bust (I am normally a 34DD, not sure what I am now that they have grown) ended up wearing the 10 as it was more comfortable in the chest. This dress was incredibly flattering, even at 21 weeks pregnant and the material was nice and comfortable. I will say the slit isn't as prominent as they show on the model and more on the side...but other than that it is exactly as described. Having a bigger bust I was worried that the keyhole might expose a bit too much but it was fine. A nice sexy touch without being to risque. I am 5'8" and went with the long and it was pretty long. With 3 inch heels it still skimmed the ground...with anything shorter would have been too long. If you are over 5'7" and plan to wear super tall heels I would definitely get the long. I got tons of compliments on the dress and overall was very pleased with my first RTR experience.
SabrinaSeptember 7, 2014
thank you for your post. i am also pregnant and struggling to find an option!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
What a beautiful dress
I wore 2 regular and it fit perfectly. I got so many compliments the entire night. I wore it to my husband's law school prom and It was perfect. I ordered both long and regular but long was really long and I had to hold it up to walk. Overall great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable
I really liked this dress, it was so flattering and comfortable for a night of dancing. I had two problems with it though, one is that it was pretty short. I am 5'5 and I had to wear flats because it fell right to my feet. It also has shorter sleeves than the picture shows, it is more of a tank top. Despite these two issues, the dress worked out great and I will definitely be renting from Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress.
I wore this dress for a formal military event. The dress fit perfectly...it's beautiful, very light & easy to wear. I received several compliments on this dress throughout the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 157lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress was simple, elegant, & comfortable. Got lots of compliments and bragged it was from RTR!
This was my second time renting from RTR and I was thrill once again! This beautiful Badgley Mischka gown was exactly what I was looking for - simple, elegant, and comfortable. I took a chance and only got 1 dress. The only one available was a 10 Long. I was worried about the length but wore higher shoes. It was the perfect length! The only negative thing was the keyhole neckline plunged a little too deep for me so I had to add a brooch. The extra sparkle was nice because I didn't wear a necklace. I also rented some Nicole Miller earrings from RTR and they completed my look perfectly. I'm looking forward to renting again....I'm addicted! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2014
Beautiful second choice dress
I didn't wear this dress for my prom, but it was a backup and looked absolutely beautiful. The one thing I will say is that the hem looked really dirty and ratted, but that also may be an indication that the dress is super popular and beloved by many!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
Great dress.
Dress fit well. Plus I was able to wear a bra. Leg slit was not as high as in the photos, which I wish was not the case.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
May 11, 2014
Nice dress, just not my style
Unfortunately the dress didn't hang right on me when I got it. Luckily, RTR was very understanding and overnighted me another dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 31, 2014
Having the perfect dress.
A strapless bra went along way to making this dress fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2014
Black Tie New Years
Wore this to a black tie New Years party. It was SO comfortable. A bit too long, and I wore high jimmy choose. Very forgiving in the waist after a big dinner. Very low cut be prepared. But overall a really fun and easy dress to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 18, 2014
True to size but short in length
I ordered this in a 10XL as my back-up dress and it was definitely not XL. It fell above my ankles. The fit was great and the dress is beautiful. Wish it could have worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2014
Modest and beautiful
I got tons of compliments! It was far too long, however, since I was wearing flats, so I had to use double-sided styling tape to hem it up about 3". The pleating on the side is a very nice touch.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
simple, sexy and secret stunner
this dress fits perfectly, -superr comfortable; material is a dream, it breathes and you can move around without guilt, discomfort or regret. And with the right accessories, hair and makeup- this dress is a secret weapon steal simple STUNNER at corporate party, red carpet, black tie event/wedding. just enough subtle with the hint of sexy in the cut, cap sleeve, slit and key hole.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2014
Elegant and stunning dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and loved it! I felt that the 6 and 8 fit the same; however, I had ordered the 8 in a long and 6 in regular (so I went with the 8L for the length, I am 5'9). Really beautiful and elegant dress - I got so many compliments on it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
Dress was beyond comfortable!
I had no issues with the dress. It was my second option and I choose it because it was stunning yet the most comfortable dress I've ever worn! Wore it with 4 inch heels and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2013
awesome dress!
Great dress! Def. order petite if you are short, i am 5'1 and i wore 4 inch heels and it hit the floor a tiny bit. The slit is NOT in the front, in fact it's not noticeable at all! and not as high as you see it on the model. it hit me a little above my knee and it was towards the back very hidden by the fabric. Super comfortable, i wore it for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 16, 2014
It's a pretty dress overall, but just couple of things don't make it perfect.
If you are larger busted, the girls will be showing a lot and you may need dress tape. For me, the size 10 ran large. If you are larger busted with a narrower waist the 10 will fit your bust, but there is an awkward gap in the back and a little at top of the neckline. Size 8 fit a bit better, but again there are little gaps at the back. I would recommend this to someone who is smaller in the bust as I don't think the gaps would be an issue. I ended up not wearing either dress as I didn't like how the gaps looked.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for the Navy Ball on a yacht! So many compliments from everyone!
Perfect fit and length.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
Beautiful Dress... Tons of compliments
#fabulous
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2013
Great service!
Very comfotable and elegant dress. I wore a 4 L and it was a little long with 4 inch heels on. The dress was true to size, not too tight or big which was perfect! Definitely using Rent the Runway in the future!
JessicaSeptember 24, 2014
I am a 34A also....how was top top? Did you have to use any tape?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 1, 2014
Black tie awards gala
The dress fit like a glove which is a miracle since I just had a baby. I thought it was very flattering to the tummy and hips, not clingy at all. About an inch of my strapless bra was showing, so I just tacked the top of the dress closed. I wore 4" heels, and the length just skimmed the floor. I was a little nervous about renting a dress, so I definitely wanted to pick something "safe". I can't imagine this dress really looking bad on anyone. I really liked that it is a really basic style dress with just a small touch of trend with the keyhole and mesh neckline. I blended in, but still didn't look like anyone else. I was glad I picked it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
May 31, 2014
I had a very unique dress for senior prom.
The front of the dress is a little hard to control with larger bust sizes. Also, I am 5'4'' and ordered the long to wear with heels but ended up wearing flats because the length was barely skimming the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 21, 2014
Pretty fabric, classic style
The dress looks gorgeous on the hanger; I was desperate to wear it even though it was my backup. A few things kept me from wearing it- the op was very loose, definitely requiring a size down, while the waist was a little more unforgiving than I would have liked. So- gorgeous dress, but the top runs bigger than the waist (at least, from my experience). 5'9" with 4" heels, skimmed the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2014
I was told that my dress was the only "wow" dress worn.
I typically wear a 6, but it was not available. Since many of the reviews said the dress runs large, I figured I would be ok with the 4. It was a tight fit and the zipper was a challenge over the ruched waistband area, but the dress was great! It was the perfect length too. I got many compliments and was told that my dress was the only "wow" dress in the room. I was also told that my husband and I looked downright presidential in our attire. The keyhole is a little low, but I wore a black strapless bra that was indistinguishable from the actual dress. I will definitely RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 30, 2014
I
The fit was great. #prom
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2013
Very elegant when accessorized.
I was worried when someone called this dress matronly. However, I gave it a shot, and I loved it. The key hole neck is a super sexy feature. The slit is much lower than shown in the picture, but with the neck and the mesh detail, a dramatic slit like the one shown might have been a bit much. Dress felt comfortably loose at a size 10; however, I am a true hourglass figure and I have a thick build, so I'm easily a size or two below what would be the standard dress size at my weight. Continuing with the review... I also liked the length of the dress with my three inch heels. I was able to move free from dress drag, but was in a long enough dress to keep with the formal dress code. I would recommend accessorizing this dress to bring out its full impact.
moniqueOctober 29, 2014
you look gorgeous!!!!!!!!!! if this is matronly, I will gladly be matronly!! stunning my dear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2013
RTR was amazing and I received the dress right on time! It was a magical evening.
Dress was fantastic! I am 5'10" and usually wear 5 inch heels when I go out, so I LOVE that there was an XLong option. It is always a problem for me. But this dress was long and flowing and I looked amazing.
moniqueOctober 29, 2014
you are the spitting image of Cameron Diaz, and you look amazing in this gown.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2014
Perfect, simple and elegant
This dress was perfect for a formal ball, the leg slit was just sexy enough without being too much. I usually wear a 6, but the 4 fit better in the length. I was able to wear reasonable height heels, which was nice because it was a long night.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
It was nice wearing a dress that cost way more than I was willing to spend on the event!
The dress was beautiful. It was exactly as described. I was impressed with the condition the dress came in and the way it was shipped. It was truly ready to wear. It showed a little more boob than I would normally wear, but for the most part, I felt comfortable and the I think it really looked good. Unfortunately I had to wear the bigger size which fit great, but they only had a long and it was too long, but a little fashion tape took care of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 17, 2014
Packaged perfectly, very clean, looked like new!
The long size was a perfect length for a 5'10" girl and barely brushed the floor. Received so many compliments throughout the night. The leg slit and mesh made this conservative dress a little more sexy! My boyfriend stated several times throughout the night how nice the dress looked.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×