Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$70 rental
$585 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown. A waist cincher! Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Rose Gold Scalloped Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

148 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 118
Large 19
Photos 79
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 23, 2013

Sexy and slimming

Size worn: 12XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Classic dress. Photographs well. Easy to wear.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Weird zipper bump

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit but the zipper was bumpy below my waist. This was my back up dress so I didn't have to wear it. You could tell it had been worn often
Victoria
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 1, 2013

Had a great time in this dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great for evening fall/winter since it' s heavier material. Also a subtle look which was nice - jazz it up with accessories!
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Great Dress! Super comfortable & very elegant.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wear 10/12 and opted for larger but should have stayed at 10 as it was a bit loose. Slit is not high so not too sexy.
Sari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 21, 2013

got so many compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Easy to wear dress, perfect for a formal winter wedding. Loved the little cap sleeve and mesh detail. Perfect way to stand out without breaking the black dress standard.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

cute and comfortable

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved that i could run around and wear this dress for a formal event but it was comfortable and fit great. very flattering.
Christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

comfortable and appropriate for formal work function

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Chose the long because I wanted to wear heals, but would have been fine with the regular and flats. It's pretty simple so I went with colorful shoes and some sparkle with bangles.
Dally
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 18, 2013

Way..... too long.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got the regular and it was WAY too long. Never got to wear it since I didn't have time to order a new one.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 13, 2013

wouldn't rent it again, but was pretty

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I think I wasn't super excited about this dress because the fit was different then I expected. I expected a dress that would be tighter and hug my waist, unfortunately because it was a little large and I am so tall it weighed it down which made it look a bit boxy.
Charlene
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
May 13, 2013

wasnt what I expected but a very pretty gown

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
nice for a hourglass shape
Riley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 20, 2013

I didn't end up wearing it, but it was a lovely back up dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: Fabric was comfortable, very classy dress, opening above chest made it sexy Cons: Very plain dress. Would've had to done a lot to my hair and jewelry and such.
Lucy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Jun 5, 2013

Simple, yet classy and elegant. Just the gown I was looking for.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
What I love most about this dress is it's length and simple design. I've rented other dresses from RTR before, and it's usually a little longer than I'd like for my height. This dress was in PERFECT length. It barely touched the ground with my 3" heels. Also, it's a little narrow around the lower chest/upper waist. It felt just tight enough on me (think a very soft corset in which you could still breath comfortably and enjoy a light meal). But for the ladies with a fuller chest, you might want to size up. The slit was lower than I'd expected (just up to my knee), but this might be because of the image I got from the model picture. Unless you're 5'10" and go out of your way to stick your left leg out like Angie, the slit will be barely noticeable.
Caprice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

2nd choice dress, and almost wore it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress felt fantastic on, and I almost wore it instead of my first choice, but the v-neck is super low, and my strapless bra wasn't low cut enough. Will definitely rent this dress again and wear it!
Malissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

dress fit perfectly

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i'm 5'10 and the dress was long even with a 21/2 inch heel, very classy look side slit nit as high on thigh as shown in the pic
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 26, 2013

Comfortable elegance

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Flattering, elegant, and most important comfortable!
julia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 27, 2013

LOVED THE DRESS

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress for prom as a backup to the other dress that i bought. I loved the way this one fit, and it was very cute, but it was honestly too conservative for prom. If i had a black-tie event to attend i would re-order this dress in a heartbeat
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jul 2, 2013

Perfect for a black tie fall wedding in DC!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
True to size, very flattering fit, hung great on my body. The dress that I received was ripped at the zipper and the 6L was too long, so I secured it with a safety pin and made it through the night. Received several compliments! Very comfortable, forgiving dress but still classy enough for a formal affair.
Sara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jul 9, 2013

PERFECTLY CLASSY

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love this dress, it fit me perfectly. Love that it isn't overly revealing but still sexy. So sad that I didn't even get one picture of me in it!
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

This was a back up dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a bit long for my 5'4" frame, even with heels.The slit also wasn't really noticeable. I would prefer a different dress.
Mandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Great black tie dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The slit is non-existent compared to the photo, but really liked the dress, so comfortable. Not a statement dress by any means but a good last minute choice.
Kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Beautiful Dress classic dress.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful Dress I wore it to be Audrey Hepburn for Halloween very tight in the breast area.
Lannin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 18, 2013

It was a very nice dress, not dressy enough for what I needed it for.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No details. I didn't wear it. Wasn't formal enough for the event I rented it for...
Defne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

This dress was super comfortable yet very flattering.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a little hard to find a bra that would work with this dress. Otherwise every part of the dress was comfortable.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 1, 2013

awesome dress!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress! Def. order petite if you are short, i am 5'1 and i wore 4 inch heels and it hit the floor a tiny bit. The slit is NOT in the front, in fact it's not noticeable at all! and not as high as you see it on the model. it hit me a little above my knee and it was towards the back very hidden by the fabric. Super comfortable, i wore it for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 198 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

LOVEd it!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful gown, very comfortable and adds just the right amount of seductiveness.
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Dress was perfect for a black tie party, got many compliments.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable dress for a formal affair. My only issue was what kind of bra/pasties to wear. I'm fairly small chested so opted to just wear pasties as the cut of this dress does not allow a strapless. I wasn't too pleased with the look of the pasties under the dress, but that is more likely an issue with the product I bought than the dress. There was a small hole on one of the shoulders in the mesh, I was planning on having an updo, but then chose to wear my hair down to hide the hole. Customer service was very understanding and gave me a discount due to the hole. All in all, a great comfortable(can't say that much about gowns!) formal dress.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Sexy and comfortable!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fantastic-- comfortable, flattering and easy to wear. I'm 5'7" and it was just a tad long (around 1/2") but it wasn't a big deal at all. I'd rent it again.
Sw
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good fit, very flattering!
nichole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Sexy & elegant!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress the minute i put it on! The waist is cinching (no stretch here though) and the key hole neckline is subtly sexy (more sexy the bigger your chest is!) But once I put my 3 inch heals on it was just too short to wear. Called RTR that evening before 6 PM and had a new style the next afternoon. I'm 5'5.5" - would try to rent again in Long for a formal event.
tua07252
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
Nov 26, 2013

The dress was hot.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress. One problem with it was that it was way too long! A 5'4" even with 4 inch heels on I was still stepping on the dress all night. The other reviewers made it sound too short but I found the opposite. The key-hole portion was also too large. I'm a 32DDD and one picture of the evening shows a good portion of my strapless bra and all my cleavage...not a good look. Other than that I loved it!
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 28, 2013

Stunning! Beautiful. Elegant long black dress! Loved it! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'11 so anytime I can find a floor length dress, that is a good thing! This not only was long enough, but was such a great dress! It made me feel beautiful!
juggs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Unforgettable Indeed!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful online but on me, definitely not! I have quite a large bust and if you're on busty side, this dress is not for you. It had a slimming fit but the breast area ran to small. Amazing dress online but not on me....
Devin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

The material was amazing and my friends were extremely impressed with the fit of the designer

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Since I am short (5'2), the slip was not as appealing on my petite frame. Since I am busty (32D) the cutout at the top of the dress was not as complementary as I hoped.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 30, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this as my back up dress. I really did not care for it in person. The dress isn't something I would normally wear but I wanted to try something different. SInce I am short and a little busty, the key hole was much lower on me and really unflattering. Luckily my first pick fit great :)
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 8, 2014

flattering, elegant, and comfortable.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I got tons of compliments and it was even more stunning in person than on the website. be prepared to show some cleavage, but it still looks classy!
Alysha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

Not a fave. :-(

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a bit different from the picture, which was a disappointment for sure. It fits a little strange if you have a bigger, natural bust. The slit in the skirt is not as high as shown in the picture. It's probably half that length and it is not in the front of the dress, it is off to the side. If you are 5'9" or taller, you CANNOT wear heels with this dress.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 24, 2014

Its very Chic!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress and the fit even though I ended up wearing the other dress I got from this site. The only reason I decided to wear the other dress was bra issues. Finding a bra that would support me and for it not to be seen was tricking especially because I didn't have to find the right bra, that's why I wore the other one... But if you don't need a bra for support, have the right bra, or have time to get one I would defiantly wear this dress.
Gigi
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 14, 2014

Dress arrived in the wrong length

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't get to wear it because it was too short I ordered a 10XL and they sent a 10R the staff at RTR was very helpful in fixing the situation 5 stars for customer service
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2014

I didn't wear it.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: The fit is perfect. It was too thin in the chest area to not wear a bra, and a bra fit underneath nicely. Cons: The slit is not at all like in the model photo. It sits towards the side of my calf and is not visible unless I stick my leg out to the side/back, and you can see a bit below the knee. Not sexy, like the photo would lead you to believe.
fisheaid
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2014

Beautiful second choice dress

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear this dress for my prom, but it was a backup and looked absolutely beautiful. The one thing I will say is that the hem looked really dirty and ratted, but that also may be an indication that the dress is super popular and beloved by many!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×