Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$158 to buy
$585 retail
Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(126)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 26, 2013
A great dress for choral performance

Super-comfortable, feels light.People were wowed. Some musicians also seemed to think it would make a good orchestra dress too, although the slit could be problematic,depending on where seated.Fit true to size. The shoulder/sleeve design was a perfect balance for pear hips, and the fabric is so loose and fluid it did not cling on the hips. At 5'8, I was wearing 1.5 inch wedge, would go better with 2+. Had to pick up dress to avoid tripping.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
June 5, 2013
Simple, yet classy and elegant. Just the gown I was looking for.

What I love most about this dress is it's length and simple design. I've rented other dresses from RTR before, and it's usually a little longer than I'd like for my height. This dress was in PERFECT length. It barely touched the ground with my 3" heels. Also, it's a little narrow around the lower chest/upper waist. It felt just tight enough on me (think a very soft corset in which you could still breath comfortably and enjoy a light meal). But for the ladies with a fuller chest, you might want to size up. The slit was lower than I'd expected (just up to my knee), but this might be because of the image I got from the model picture. Unless you're 5'10" and go out of your way to stick your left leg out like Angie, the slit will be barely noticeable.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
June 24, 2013
dress fit perfectly

i'm 5'10 and the dress was long even with a 21/2 inch heel, very classy look side slit nit as high on thigh as shown in the pic

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 26, 2013
Comfortable elegance

I loved this dress. Flattering, elegant, and most important comfortable!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2013
LOVED THE DRESS

I ordered this dress for prom as a backup to the other dress that i bought. I loved the way this one fit, and it was very cute, but it was honestly too conservative for prom. If i had a black-tie event to attend i would re-order this dress in a heartbeat

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2013
Perfect for a black tie fall wedding in DC!

True to size, very flattering fit, hung great on my body. The dress that I received was ripped at the zipper and the 6L was too long, so I secured it with a safety pin and made it through the night. Received several compliments! Very comfortable, forgiving dress but still classy enough for a formal affair.

Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
July 9, 2013
PERFECTLY CLASSY

Love this dress, it fit me perfectly. Love that it isn't overly revealing but still sexy. So sad that I didn't even get one picture of me in it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2013
This was a back up dress for a wedding.

The dress was a bit long for my 5'4" frame, even with heels.The slit also wasn't really noticeable. I would prefer a different dress.

Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2013
Lovely, easy to wear dress that is elegant, easy to dance in, and a compliment grabber.

Slit isn't very high (hit knee at most). If you have square shoulders (versus slopping) it will be sleeveless, not capped. That said, I got a lot of compliments and it was very easy to wear, dance in, and I felt effortlessly dressed to-the-nines. Many people said it reminded them of a dress from the 30's but at the same time very modern. Depending on your accesories you can take this dress in many different look directions and it will look great. Whole process is a breeze. Will rent the runway again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 18, 2013
It was a very nice dress, not dressy enough for what I needed it for.

No details. I didn't wear it. Wasn't formal enough for the event I rented it for...

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
This dress was super comfortable yet very flattering.

It was a little hard to find a bra that would work with this dress. Otherwise every part of the dress was comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
Elegant and slightly sassy!

The dress was simple and gorgeous. It was great for the formal Bar Association Prom that I had to attend for work. The details like the slit, mesh and keyhole at the neckline made the dress feel classy but still a little flirty.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2013
Dress was perfect for a black tie party, got many compliments.

Very comfortable dress for a formal affair. My only issue was what kind of bra/pasties to wear. I'm fairly small chested so opted to just wear pasties as the cut of this dress does not allow a strapless. I wasn't too pleased with the look of the pasties under the dress, but that is more likely an issue with the product I bought than the dress. There was a small hole on one of the shoulders in the mesh, I was planning on having an updo, but then chose to wear my hair down to hide the hole. Customer service was very understanding and gave me a discount due to the hole. All in all, a great comfortable(can't say that much about gowns!) formal dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 10, 2013
This dress made me feel like a rockstar!

The fit is very figure-flattering. I wore it with a strapless bra, with ease. I recently lost about 65 pounds, and the dress really accentuated my new body. I got so many compliments. Loved, loved, loved it. Only thing, it was a little short for the heels I wore, but other than that, an overall great dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress

Good fit, very flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 26, 2013
The dress was hot.

Loved the dress. One problem with it was that it was way too long! A 5'4" even with 4 inch heels on I was still stepping on the dress all night. The other reviewers made it sound too short but I found the opposite. The key-hole portion was also too large. I'm a 32DDD and one picture of the evening shows a good portion of my strapless bra and all my cleavage...not a good look. Other than that I loved it!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 17, 2013
The material was amazing and my friends were extremely impressed with the fit of the designer

Since I am short (5'2), the slip was not as appealing on my petite frame. Since I am busty (32D) the cutout at the top of the dress was not as complementary as I hoped.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2014
everyone said I was the best dressed!! Loved it!!

the dress is perfect

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2014
flattering, elegant, and comfortable.

I loved this dress. I got tons of compliments and it was even more stunning in person than on the website. be prepared to show some cleavage, but it still looks classy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2014
Fit so perfect and was VERY comfortable.

I wore this for a black tie optional wedding. I rented the long and it was definitely long, although I only wore a two inch heel. Would absolutely recommend.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
February 23, 2014
Classy, elegant

The dress fitted very well at the waist. The top was loose and low cut. The length was a little long (I only wore 3" heels). The bottom touched the floor at times but it didn't bother me that much. It gave me a very lovely and classy look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2014
Not a fave. :-(

This dress is a bit different from the picture, which was a disappointment for sure. It fits a little strange if you have a bigger, natural bust. The slit in the skirt is not as high as shown in the picture. It's probably half that length and it is not in the front of the dress, it is off to the side. If you are 5'9" or taller, you CANNOT wear heels with this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
March 24, 2014
Its very Chic!

I really loved this dress and the fit even though I ended up wearing the other dress I got from this site. The only reason I decided to wear the other dress was bra issues. Finding a bra that would support me and for it not to be seen was tricking especially because I didn't have to find the right bra, that's why I wore the other one... But if you don't need a bra for support, have the right bra, or have time to get one I would defiantly wear this dress.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
April 18, 2014
Flattering, Great for Bigger Bust, Perfect Long Black Dress

I recently had a black tie wedding at 21 weeks pregnant and needless to say was freaking out about what to wear. I didn't want to spend money on a dress I would likely never wear again so a friend suggested I try RTR. I was a bit hesitant being pregnant but I found a lot of the reviews people had posted very helpful and needless to say landed on this one per the reviews and the material seemed a bit more stretchy so I figured it should work. I ordered an 8L and 10L (I am normally an 8) and while the 8 fit...due to my expanding tummy and larger bust (I am normally a 34DD, not sure what I am now that they have grown) ended up wearing the 10 as it was more comfortable in the chest. This dress was incredibly flattering, even at 21 weeks pregnant and the material was nice and comfortable. I will say the slit isn't as prominent as they show on the model and more on the side...but other than that it is exactly as described. Having a bigger bust I was worried that the keyhole might expose a bit too much but it was fine. A nice sexy touch without being to risque. I am 5'8" and went with the long and it was pretty long. With 3 inch heels it still skimmed the ground...with anything shorter would have been too long. If you are over 5'7" and plan to wear super tall heels I would definitely get the long. I got tons of compliments on the dress and overall was very pleased with my first RTR experience.

SabrinaApril 18, 2014
thank you for your post. i am also pregnant and struggling to find an option!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
What a beautiful dress

I wore 2 regular and it fit perfectly. I got so many compliments the entire night. I wore it to my husband's law school prom and It was perfect. I ordered both long and regular but long was really long and I had to hold it up to walk. Overall great dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable

I really liked this dress, it was so flattering and comfortable for a night of dancing. I had two problems with it though, one is that it was pretty short. I am 5'5 and I had to wear flats because it fell right to my feet. It also has shorter sleeves than the picture shows, it is more of a tank top. Despite these two issues, the dress worked out great and I will definitely be renting from Rent the Runway again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this dress.

I wore this dress for a formal military event. The dress fit perfectly...it's beautiful, very light & easy to wear. I received several compliments on this dress throughout the evening.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 151lbs
May 6, 2014
This dress was simple, elegant, & comfortable. Got lots of compliments and bragged it was from RTR!

This was my second time renting from RTR and I was thrill once again! This beautiful Badgley Mischka gown was exactly what I was looking for - simple, elegant, and comfortable. I took a chance and only got 1 dress. The only one available was a 10 Long. I was worried about the length but wore higher shoes. It was the perfect length! The only negative thing was the keyhole neckline plunged a little too deep for me so I had to add a brooch. The extra sparkle was nice because I didn't wear a necklace. I also rented some Nicole Miller earrings from RTR and they completed my look perfectly. I'm looking forward to renting again....I'm addicted! :)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2014
Beautiful second choice dress

I didn't wear this dress for my prom, but it was a backup and looked absolutely beautiful. The one thing I will say is that the hem looked really dirty and ratted, but that also may be an indication that the dress is super popular and beloved by many!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2014
Great dress.

Dress fit well. Plus I was able to wear a bra. Leg slit was not as high as in the photos, which I wish was not the case.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
May 11, 2014
Nice dress, just not my style

Unfortunately the dress didn't hang right on me when I got it. Luckily, RTR was very understanding and overnighted me another dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 31, 2014
Having the perfect dress.

A strapless bra went along way to making this dress fit perfectly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2014
Black Tie New Years

Wore this to a black tie New Years party. It was SO comfortable. A bit too long, and I wore high jimmy choose. Very forgiving in the waist after a big dinner. Very low cut be prepared. But overall a really fun and easy dress to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 18, 2014
True to size but short in length

I ordered this in a 10XL as my back-up dress and it was definitely not XL. It fell above my ankles. The fit was great and the dress is beautiful. Wish it could have worked out!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 28, 2014
Modest and beautiful

I got tons of compliments! It was far too long, however, since I was wearing flats, so I had to use double-sided styling tape to hem it up about 3". The pleating on the side is a very nice touch.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
simple, sexy and secret stunner

this dress fits perfectly, -superr comfortable; material is a dream, it breathes and you can move around without guilt, discomfort or regret. And with the right accessories, hair and makeup- this dress is a secret weapon steal simple STUNNER at corporate party, red carpet, black tie event/wedding. just enough subtle with the hint of sexy in the cut, cap sleeve, slit and key hole.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 3, 2014
Elegant and stunning dress!

I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and loved it! I felt that the 6 and 8 fit the same; however, I had ordered the 8 in a long and 6 in regular (so I went with the 8L for the length, I am 5'9). Really beautiful and elegant dress - I got so many compliments on it!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
Dress was beyond comfortable!

I had no issues with the dress. It was my second option and I choose it because it was stunning yet the most comfortable dress I've ever worn! Wore it with 4 inch heels and the length was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2013
awesome dress!

Great dress! Def. order petite if you are short, i am 5'1 and i wore 4 inch heels and it hit the floor a tiny bit. The slit is NOT in the front, in fact it's not noticeable at all! and not as high as you see it on the model. it hit me a little above my knee and it was towards the back very hidden by the fabric. Super comfortable, i wore it for a black tie wedding and it was perfect.

Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Perfect for the Navy Ball on a yacht! So many compliments from everyone!

Perfect fit and length.

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×