Badgley Mischka

Meshing Around Gown

$158 to buy
$585 retail
Stylist Notes

Knock their socks off when you walk into the black tie gala wearing this insanely sexy Badgley Mischka gown.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - generous fit at hips
LENGTH: Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% viscose). Chiffon cap sleeves. Crew neckline with keyhole. Straight skirt with slit. Ruching at waist. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
158 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(126)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
February 11, 2013
Very beautiful - VERY comfortable
I actually went with a different dress for my event - but that doesn't speak negatively of this dress. I just had a very difficult time picking between two gorgeous gowns. This dress is very flattering and very comfortable! You would have to wear a strapless bra. But makes your waist look tiny!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 11, 2013
This was a solid choice for a formal work event.
The length was great for my height and the dress was very comfortable. The material was a jersey blend that seemed a little down market, but other than that it worked for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2013
Matronly
I thought this dress was a bit too drab. It possibly could have wored if I had some statement jewelry, but I didn't. Dress was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171lbs
February 20, 2013
Very comfortable and great service receiving and returning the dress!
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding I attended in NYC! I wore 3 inch heels and the bottom of the dress skimmed the floor - I got the longer size based on the size chart. I had ordered a 12L as a back up but I definitely wouldn't have needed it. The dress did run a little big but as some of the other reviewers indicated, it just meant that I didn't have to "suck it in" all night. The cut out in the front is a little more low cut than the picture but I didn't have a problem of revealing too much--I didn't experience any loose fitting there and I was able to wear a strapless bra without anything showing. Overall a great experience and I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
February 21, 2013
Stunning Dress
Received many compliments....wished the slit was higher as it appeared on the model. Overall, great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 23, 2013
Sexy and slimming
Classic dress. Photographs well. Easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
Weird zipper bump
The dress fit but the zipper was bumpy below my waist. This was my back up dress so I didn't have to wear it. You could tell it had been worn often
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 1, 2013
Had a great time in this dress!
Great for evening fall/winter since it' s heavier material. Also a subtle look which was nice - jazz it up with accessories!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 6, 2013
This was my first time renting a dress from RTR. A-MAZING!
I rented this dress for a Wedding; Black Tie Event. It was honestly perfect. I am 5'9 and 155lbs and the 6L dress fit like a glove, it was so comfortable too. I was even able to wear 3"heals with it too! The dress came on time and looked brand new! I was very satisfied with RTR! I will definitely be using them again in the future and telling my friends all about my experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 9, 2013
This was a beautiful, yet understated dress for the Barrister's Ball.
This dress fits beautifully. The cumberbund-like waist really nips you in. The dress made me feel really long and lean (and I'm quite curvy). The slit hit just above my knee, on the side. I opted to go braless at the last minute when my strapless bra wasn't cooperating and I was in a rush. You're going to want fashion tape to hold the keyhole down. The mesh at the top is starting to wear a bit. There were one or two small holes that came when it arrived. Still, you don't really notice it. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 18, 2013
Great Dress! Super comfortable & very elegant.
I wear 10/12 and opted for larger but should have stayed at 10 as it was a bit loose. Slit is not high so not too sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
March 21, 2013
got so many compliments!
Easy to wear dress, perfect for a formal winter wedding. Loved the little cap sleeve and mesh detail. Perfect way to stand out without breaking the black dress standard.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2013
Beautiful, elegant dress and excellent customer service!
I received my dresses (8R & 6R) 2 days before my event...just in case. I tried the 6R on and found there were two holes - one in each shoulder area of the mesh. In addition, the top seemed almost stretched out. To confirm that, I tried on the 8R. It was definitely too big, but seemed to lay better across the chest than the 6. I called RTR the next morning to ask about replacement dress. They were so great about it, found the same dress in a 6R and a 4R and said it would be sent the next day. In addition, I asked to add some earrings because I wasn't sure the ones I'd chosen would work and they graciously included those gratis in the replacement order. Wow! I was really bowled over by how easy it was. I got the replacement dresses and earrings the next morning and the 4R fit perfectly! (Note: I would say I'm a 6, not a 4 so that is why I said the overall fit is large.) I felt great in it because it fit well across the chest (unlike the 6R which was gaping open), and everywhere else - just needed a strapless bra, some Spanx nylons and I was good to go! At my event I got a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again and would use RTR again without a second thought. (I also wore the Adrienne Landau Grey Marabou Capelet and it was a fantastic addition, along with the Kendra Scott Black Dalton Earrings - had a very vintage, 1930/40s feel which I wanted.)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 3, 2013
cute and comfortable
loved that i could run around and wear this dress for a formal event but it was comfortable and fit great. very flattering.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 3, 2013
comfortable and appropriate for formal work function
Chose the long because I wanted to wear heals, but would have been fine with the regular and flats. It's pretty simple so I went with colorful shoes and some sparkle with bangles.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
April 25, 2013
21st Birthday.. how could it not be a memorable night?
I am a size 0, however, the 0 Long didn't reach the floor like I had the impression that it would, it was too short and showed my heels in an unflattering way. Good thing I also rented the 2 Long. It was a little bigger in waist, to be expected, but hit the floor, 61" like it was supposed to. I am 5'9", measurements: 32-24-34, I felt I should fit this dress like it fit the "fit model" on the site. I loved this dress when I saw it. However when it arrived I was pretty disappointed. Firstly with the length, as mentioned above, but also with the slit height (which according to photo on site, appears to reach high thing, on a long legged girl) and the sleeve (which according to the photo on site, appears to be a semi cap sleeve, falling just over the shoulder, on a broad shouldered model). I am long legged and broad shoulder, the slit came to just above my knee, not sexy at all, and the sleeve was..nonexistent, sleeveless. This dress was rented for my 21st birthday, and was disappointing. It's a beautiful dressed, I pulled it off with help from accessories and big hair, but I think that the photo and description is completely misleading.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
April 29, 2013
This was my first foray into the world of dress rental and I'm happy with my experience. Recommend!
I needed a dress for a conservative, black tie event. Although I intend to re-wear formals, I simply don't. By the time another event rolls around, the dress is outdated or I don't like it or a little of both. I ran all over town looking for a dress that would work within a $125 budget. I couldn't find anything that worked for me at that price point. So, I browsed the RTR site and searched by event type. Within the recommendations was this dress. I clicked on it and looked at all of the customer uploaded photos. The dress looked great and photographed well on everybody from size 2 to 12. So I took a chance and rented it. The dress came a day earlier than expected, and it was in a supercute RTR box. I know the box shouldn't matter, but it was an indication of a company that really cared about the total package, both literally and figuratively. When I saw the box, I smiled. And that smile was even bigger after I tried the dress on for the first time. I just loved it. It didn't require any special undergarments other than the usual strapless bra and spanx that most of us already have. The dress was comfortable, but looked structured. I was sad to send it back to RTR. If I rented again, I would use RTR and probably rent the same dress again. It was that special!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 13, 2013
wouldn't rent it again, but was pretty
I think I wasn't super excited about this dress because the fit was different then I expected. I expected a dress that would be tighter and hug my waist, unfortunately because it was a little large and I am so tall it weighed it down which made it look a bit boxy.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 13, 2013
wasnt what I expected but a very pretty gown
nice for a hourglass shape
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it, but it was a lovely back up dress.
Pros: Fabric was comfortable, very classy dress, opening above chest made it sexy Cons: Very plain dress. Would've had to done a lot to my hair and jewelry and such.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 26, 2013
A great dress for choral performance
Super-comfortable, feels light.People were wowed. Some musicians also seemed to think it would make a good orchestra dress too, although the slit could be problematic,depending on where seated.Fit true to size. The shoulder/sleeve design was a perfect balance for pear hips, and the fabric is so loose and fluid it did not cling on the hips. At 5'8, I was wearing 1.5 inch wedge, would go better with 2+. Had to pick up dress to avoid tripping.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 3, 2013
Elegant and comfortable
As a first time Rent the Runway user, I was fairly nervous about the whole process. I chose a dress of stretchy fabric in my size (2) and one size smaller (0) as recommended by the fit stylist. The stylist was exactly right --- this dress runs a little big and is quite forgiving. Both 2 and 0, petite and regular fit me pretty well. (I'm 5'4"). The regular would have required 4+ inch shoes; the petite did well with a 2-3 inch heel. The keyhole feature of the 2 was a little loose and might have required fashion tape to make sure it stayed put when I sat down / slouched a bit. The 0 fit just perfectly, unbelievably comfortable all night, flows and drapes beautifully, and it appears tasteful/conservative (I wore it to a work function). I did not need to wear a bra (just those stick on things since it was outdoors...) or shape wear as it has a fairly cinched middle and a forgiving, flowing skirt. The only thing to note I think is that the slit veers toward the back of the dress, not quite like it looks in the picture, and the hem has some asymmetry, which made it a little difficult for me to pick the right heel height. (I ended up having to accept a little drag in the back.) The zipper also catches a bit --- it caught on both sizes I ordered. It was not a problem, but it made me a little nervous about the dress. Finally, as other reviewers note, the mesh is fairly delicate, but I suppose that's why it lays so well & smoothly. Fantastic dress overall, though, and can't wait to try RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
June 5, 2013
Simple, yet classy and elegant. Just the gown I was looking for.
What I love most about this dress is it's length and simple design. I've rented other dresses from RTR before, and it's usually a little longer than I'd like for my height. This dress was in PERFECT length. It barely touched the ground with my 3" heels. Also, it's a little narrow around the lower chest/upper waist. It felt just tight enough on me (think a very soft corset in which you could still breath comfortably and enjoy a light meal). But for the ladies with a fuller chest, you might want to size up. The slit was lower than I'd expected (just up to my knee), but this might be because of the image I got from the model picture. Unless you're 5'10" and go out of your way to stick your left leg out like Angie, the slit will be barely noticeable.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
June 24, 2013
dress fit perfectly
i'm 5'10 and the dress was long even with a 21/2 inch heel, very classy look side slit nit as high on thigh as shown in the pic
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 26, 2013
Comfortable elegance
I loved this dress. Flattering, elegant, and most important comfortable!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2013
LOVED THE DRESS
I ordered this dress for prom as a backup to the other dress that i bought. I loved the way this one fit, and it was very cute, but it was honestly too conservative for prom. If i had a black-tie event to attend i would re-order this dress in a heartbeat
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 2, 2013
Perfect for a black tie fall wedding in DC!
True to size, very flattering fit, hung great on my body. The dress that I received was ripped at the zipper and the 6L was too long, so I secured it with a safety pin and made it through the night. Received several compliments! Very comfortable, forgiving dress but still classy enough for a formal affair.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
July 9, 2013
PERFECTLY CLASSY
Love this dress, it fit me perfectly. Love that it isn't overly revealing but still sexy. So sad that I didn't even get one picture of me in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2013
This was a back up dress for a wedding.
The dress was a bit long for my 5'4" frame, even with heels.The slit also wasn't really noticeable. I would prefer a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
Perfect Prom Dress
I rented this for my daughter for Senior Prom and it was a huge hit! I paired it with the Vintage Chanel earrings and my own Christian Louboutin pumps and she looked beautiful and classy!
MargaritaJune 16, 2014
OMG amazing. the clutch, the shoes, the hair, the makeup. Perfection.
RachelleAugust 16, 2014
I am 5'7 and 3/4...alsmost 5'8"...should i order L or R?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2013
Lovely, easy to wear dress that is elegant, easy to dance in, and a compliment grabber.
Slit isn't very high (hit knee at most). If you have square shoulders (versus slopping) it will be sleeveless, not capped. That said, I got a lot of compliments and it was very easy to wear, dance in, and I felt effortlessly dressed to-the-nines. Many people said it reminded them of a dress from the 30's but at the same time very modern. Depending on your accesories you can take this dress in many different look directions and it will look great. Whole process is a breeze. Will rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress classic dress.
Beautiful Dress I wore it to be Audrey Hepburn for Halloween very tight in the breast area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 18, 2013
It was a very nice dress, not dressy enough for what I needed it for.
No details. I didn't wear it. Wasn't formal enough for the event I rented it for...
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
This dress was super comfortable yet very flattering.
It was a little hard to find a bra that would work with this dress. Otherwise every part of the dress was comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2013
Elegant and slightly sassy!
The dress was simple and gorgeous. It was great for the formal Bar Association Prom that I had to attend for work. The details like the slit, mesh and keyhole at the neckline made the dress feel classy but still a little flirty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2013
Dress was perfect for a black tie party, got many compliments.
Very comfortable dress for a formal affair. My only issue was what kind of bra/pasties to wear. I'm fairly small chested so opted to just wear pasties as the cut of this dress does not allow a strapless. I wasn't too pleased with the look of the pasties under the dress, but that is more likely an issue with the product I bought than the dress. There was a small hole on one of the shoulders in the mesh, I was planning on having an updo, but then chose to wear my hair down to hide the hole. Customer service was very understanding and gave me a discount due to the hole. All in all, a great comfortable(can't say that much about gowns!) formal dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2013
Understated Elegance
I absolutely adore the Meshing Around Gown! I ordered this dress for a very formal wedding and it was a perfect choice - chic, elegant, and oh so comfortable to wear! The front neckline and side slit are balanced by a simple jersey material that flows as you move. I usually wear a size 6 or 8, and this dress actually seemed a little bit large in the hips in the 6. Also, at 5'10", I opted to order the extra length for the dress. I wore 3 inch heels (couldn't wear my higher shoes due to a recent ankle injury) and the dress was about an inch too long. Had I worn other shoes, it would have been perfect! My only complaint about the front neckline is you must be cautious with choosing undergarments. I wore a deep V strapless corset bra and had issues with keeping the bra out of view on one side. Otherwise this dress is just exquisite and is an ultra-flattering classy choice.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 10, 2013
This dress made me feel like a rockstar!
The fit is very figure-flattering. I wore it with a strapless bra, with ease. I recently lost about 65 pounds, and the dress really accentuated my new body. I got so many compliments. Loved, loved, loved it. Only thing, it was a little short for the heels I wore, but other than that, an overall great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress
Good fit, very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2013
Sexy & elegant!
I loved this dress the minute i put it on! The waist is cinching (no stretch here though) and the key hole neckline is subtly sexy (more sexy the bigger your chest is!) But once I put my 3 inch heals on it was just too short to wear. Called RTR that evening before 6 PM and had a new style the next afternoon. I'm 5'5.5" - would try to rent again in Long for a formal event.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×