Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
548 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size335
Small54
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
July 21, 2016
Great dress
Fits great but was to big in the bust, both sizes. Other than that very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
July 19, 2016
Great dress for a bachelorette party!
Beautiful, comfortable dress worn for a bachelorette party. Ordered the 8 and the 10 and ended up going with the 10 since the band around the chest was a bit tight, although the 8 would have been totally doable as well. As other reviews mentioned, the zipper is a bit tricky since it's surrounded by sequined fabric and the armpits get a bit itchy after a while, but I wore this for 6+ hours without any issue. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
July 18, 2016
Perfect dress for a wedding! Really happy with my choice!
This was my first order with RTR and I was little nervous about sizing, but this dress fit perfectly! Pros: it's a perfect wedding guest dress! The sparkles really stand out and it's nice and comfortable for a night of dancing. Cons: the middle piece is a little thicker with fabric and it was somewhat hard to zip up just that part. Also, I have really long hair and from the minute I put the dress on, my hair constantly stuck to the sequins on the dress. All night I was pulling my hair out of the sequins and it was kind of a pain. Overall great first experience with RTR and really loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 17, 2016
Cute dress for wedding
Fit was a little bit big overall. I had to safety pin the boob area a bit so nothing fell out! Cute though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
July 17, 2016
Love this fit
Great for busty girls. The sequins didn't scratch me. I have worn this dress in two other colors for two other formal events. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Lots of people comment on the sparkle factor, very flattering and very fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
July 17, 2016
Feeling confident and finding a dress was easy
Fit perfect and was so comfortable. I was able to wear a regular bra which was so nice. It was perfect for mj even!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 15, 2016
Bachelorette Party Dress
Amazing! Runs true to size. Forgiving in the hip and tummy area. Definitely shows off your chest so you may need some tape. This is the 3rd time I have rented this style. It's perfect!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2016
Very well made and comfortable dress! I was impressed on how comfortable a sequins dress could be!
Pros: quality, style Cons: zipper was a little difficult to zip
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 10, 2016
Perfect for Vegas
I rented this dress at the vegas store. I loved it. It was comfortable and perfect for vegas night out! The neckline was a little too reveling for me. The store said they had a pin I could borrow so the bust didn't show as much but they forgot to give it to me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 7, 2016
Felt like 1,000,000 bucks
Loved this dress! Went to Vegas for my birthday and wore this out to the clubs. Felt beautiful, secure, and looked great! Highly recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
July 4, 2016
Sparkles everywhere
A bit itchy along the seams, very little give.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Rented for:
Wedding
July 2, 2016
Compliments galore
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I'm very self conscious about my stomach but I love my butt, waist and boobs. This hid my problem areas and emphasized what I liked. I had dozens of people come up to me and tell me how much they liked my dress and no one believed it was rented and I had just gotten it two days prior. I did have to pin it in the chest area (picture was after the pinning) (with an E cup size I didn't expect less) or else it would have been even more exposing. I thought it was gonna be itchy and uncomfortable but I was very very comfortable in it. Overall I'd give it a ten out of ten. My only (minor) complaint was that my hair kept getting stuck in the sequins all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2016
Perfect dress for my birthday night out.
The dress fit great, I really could've worn either size. Being 5'9 I appreciated that it wasn't super short, I could still sit down comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
June 27, 2016
Birthday Dress!
I ordered both a 12 and a 14 because I wasn't sure which size I would wear due to recent weight loss. I felt pretty comfortable in the 14, the band under the bust was pretty tight, though. The night of my birthday party I opted last minute for the 12. The straps on the 14 were falling all over the place and the deep V in the back was exposing my bra. The 12 fit WONDERFULLY!! The band under the bust was still super tight though, and I was afraid that my bust was pulling the string holding the front of my dress together (I'm a 38DDD) and that I was going to have a 'wardrobe malfunction'. The only real complaint I have about this dress is how uncomfortable the sequins were, rubbing against the underside of my arms all night. Overall, I felt fantastic and received a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
June 26, 2016
Hot stuff!
Super flattering, very sexy but not trashy. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
June 11, 2016
Can Never Go Wrong with Badgley Mischka!
Great dress! You can never go wrong with a Badgley Mischka dress...EVER! Only thing to note is that the top opened quite frequently and I was constantly checking to make sure my bra wasn't showing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
June 9, 2016
Wore this to a friend's wedding and loved it!
If you're busty, this will be a bit snug, but your girls will look amazing! This dress was a fantastic choice - sparkly, eye-catching, comfortable AND stylish. Mine had a bit of wear, especially near the under arms, where the sequins had already come off. Also, the clasp to rein in your cleavage was either nonexistent or too small for me to find. Neither of these would deter me from renting this dress again - I felt gorgeous and got many compliments.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2016
Great Vegas dress!
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas for my 40th birthday. Perfect Vegas dress. I got so many compliments. It does get scratchy under the arms of you have sensitive skin though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
June 6, 2016
Compliments Galore!
I am 5'4", have a 36DD bust, and weigh 170lbs. This dress fit spectacularly! I wore it for a bachelorette party in AC and received the most compliments of any outfit I have ever worn! The only reason it does not receive 5 stars is because the sequins rubbed under my arms, poked my fingers, and scratched my legs where there was no lining. I did wear it for 7 hours and it was bearable. I would recommend this for someone who has an hourglass shape, fuller bust, and doesn't mind suffering a tad for beauty. Runs true to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2016
Have now rented in every color! This is my go-to style.
I have now rented this dress in every color available long and short! This is definitely my go-to style and it's because it is guaranteed to look and fit great! It is forgiving in the tummy and I love that! It is super comfortable and was perfect for my 30th birthday. I'm sure I will rent again! When I rent this dress I actually wear a size smaller than I typically wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
June 5, 2016
Great for a Date Night!
I wore this for a date night at Mohegan Sun. I loved that it hide the baby weight I still have. The neckline was just low enough but not too much. The one thing that was slightly annoying was that the straps felt like they were going to slide off. I don't think they did but I was thinking about it! I am having trouble updating my profile so the info is slightly off, I have a DD bust. I would rent this dress again I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 2, 2016
Sequins!
Perfect dress for my 7 1/2 months belly. Dress was comfortable and perfect for the wedding I attended.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
June 2, 2016
Party success!
I have a large bust and this was sexy, but classy! I am shorter, so the length was longer than I'd hoped for - covered my knees. Overall a gorgeous dress! Lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 30, 2016
Amazing!
I felt amazing in this dress. It was gorgeous and well fitting. Really phenomenal fit. Only downside was it was a little scratchy fabric but not a big issue.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
May 26, 2016
Perfect for my "mom body"!!
This dress made me feel gorgeous. I used to be a size 4 and am a size 10 after two kids both delivered c-sections so I'm very self conscious about how things fit me and careful not to "show off" my midsection. This dress fit perfectly on top, showed just the right amount of cleavage to still be classy, and was loose fitting yet flattering through the midsection. I wish I didn't have to return it. The only thing I didn't like was the sequins after a long period of time. They didn't bother me at first, but once I sat for a while (we went to the Opera) and afterwards at dinner, it started to get really itchy/uncomfortable on the back of my legs where I had to sit on it - but only while I was sitting. I would rent again for another occasions that I was standing more or dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
May 25, 2016
Roaring twenties party perfect
The zipper is tricky on this dress. I wore the 4 bc the tricky zipper, but the two would of fit better. Overall, great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2016
The perfect dress for a fun formal event.
The fit is great, gives good movement through the hip area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
May 23, 2016
I was at a gala party for a local theater company. Dress code was "cocktail festive."
The dress was perfect for the event. It was sparkly and fun, but not overly formal. I normally wear an 8 and was glad I had the two sizes, because I was more comfortable in the 10. It is low in the front but not overly so, and the length was perfect - showed skin but with class. The only thing I didn't love was that the waist area is a little bit flouncy in such a way that adds a bit to your midsection - I felt like it made me look a little bigger in a place that I don't want bigger! But overall I did really like the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 22, 2016
Loved the dress!
The dress was a little heavy, but was still totally comfortable to dance in all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2016
Fit great!
Fit like a glove.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Weight: 152lbs
May 17, 2016
The wonderful children I met and the money raised to fund their college educations.
The dress was true to size. It actually fit quite well, as I am a bit heavy in the chest area, it's often hard for me to find a dress that fits well on both the top and bottom. I did have to pin the top because I was exposing much more than deemed appropriate for the occasion, otherwise I thought it looked great. I received many compliments. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 15, 2016
Loved it
It fit true to size. I ordered a 12 and 14- didn't even need to try the 14. I thought the sequins would bother me but it really didn't. Received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235lbs
May 11, 2016
Comfortable and fit fantastic - can't wait to rent in another color!
I rented this for a bachelorette weekend - the bride wanted us all in black or pink sequins/sparkles. I did the eight day so I'd have time to get a replacement, should it not fit but that wasn't necessary. I was nervous that the 16 would be too tight under the bust but it was absolutely perfect! I'm 36DDD, normally a 16 or 18 in everyday clothes but sometimes bigger in dresses. (My bridesmaid dress from David's bridal is a 20 because I need the room up top) The zipper was a little stubborn but I was able to zip it in front, spin it and still get my arms in. And I was able to wear a normal bra with it, I did choose a plunge style but it wasn't visible at all. My girls fill out the top and even being so low cut, it looks exactly how I wanted it to without making me self conscious. It fell three inches or so above my knees and didn't ride up while sitting. The sequins didn't bother me at all either and it was very comfortable to wear. I paired it with Franco Sarto Gulf wedge sandals (black) and large, single Swarovski crystal earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2016
Great dress, very forgiving in the hips/butt/waist!
This dress ran a tad big, so I was able to fit in the 0. I had issues with the size 2, and the zipper wouldn't even budge, although I had plenty of room to zip it, so I ended up wearing the 0 due to the zipper. This dress is great for someone who is smaller on top, but needs more room in the hips/butt/waist! My shoulder/bust are typically a 0, but my bottom is usually a 2/4, so this gave me more room on the bottom to wear the 0! This was a very comfortable, classy dress for my event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Weight: 180lbs
May 9, 2016
Beautiful and almost perfect.
The dress was beautiful and almost perfect for me. The V-neck was a little lower than I would have liked, especially because I'm particularly busty and was at a work event, but you couldn't see my bra and there was no slipping risk, so it worked okay. As others have mentioned, the zipper is really hard to get up. It took two of us about five minutes to get it up - there's no way I could get it on and off alone! The end of the zipper flared out a little bit and hit right in the middle of my butt so it wasn't as clean of a line as I would have liked. All that being said, none of it mattered once I was moving around and not staring at myself in the mirror. It was comfortable, the exact right length, and I got compliments all night long! I also loved the back - it was a deep V, but still hid my bra, which is essential for any dress. I'd highly recommend it to most, but maybe not to those who are wearing it to a work event (as I was), as it is a little revealing.
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2016
True to Size
I wore this dress for a friends wedding, I personally felt like it was a little low cut for me so I safety pinned the check area closed. It was very comfortable and was plenty long (just above my knees). I am 5'7 with long legs so it was a good fit for me. The zipper was a little hard to zip up around the waist but just because there was so much extra fabric right there. I did feel that if your self-conscious about your tummy (especially with a band right under your boobs) then this dress may not be for you. I felt as though my stomach stuck out a bit more because the empire waist was a bit tight and made my stomach stick out more than usual. But other than that, the dress was very comfortable I didn't feel itchy under my arms with the sequins and the length was good as well.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 4, 2016
Lots of looks and compliments.
This was a fabulous dress except for the "girls". Thank goodness for some well placed tape or there would have been a Janet Jackson wardrobe malfunction moment. I probably should have tried for something else but it seemed perfect at the time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
May 2, 2016
Waist is too low, runs small
Runs small, waist falls lower than I'd expect making the top look baggy and there is too much fabric (making me look larger). Returned, did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
April 28, 2016
Comfortable, cool dress
I got the long version of this for a wedding last fall and picked this for a concert I was playing. Great length to sit in, not super short, so comfortable, love the sparkliness and draping. You can wear a normal bra with it, which is fantastic. Absolutely loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
April 25, 2016
Worn as bridesmaid dress, so classy & pretty! Easy to wear all night and dance in'
Fit was perfect and I run between 2 & 4 usually
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×