Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
630 reviews
Fit
Large
(67)
True to Size
(371)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 28, 2014
Sparkly and cute.
I like this dress a lot. It's a a head turner and you can wear a regular bra with it. It is cut low in front so might require a safety pin depending on your bust. Someone had put a stitch in mine. The only reason I take off one star is that it is really tough to get zipped up even with someone else helping. I have worn this dress in all of the colors and they all do it. But other than that, it's lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Weight: 128lbs
June 29, 2014
Have always been hesitant to try sequins but figured NYE was the time to start!
Ran a little large, but super comfortable for a long night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
July 1, 2014
Beautiful dress! Fit perfectly and was pretty comfortable, even with the sequins.
My bracelet did catch on the dress quite a bit other than that there were no complaints.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
July 1, 2014
Great sparkle!
Fit was somewhat tight in the ribcage, but overall comfortable. It has a pretty look, and not too much sparkle in the black!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
July 10, 2014
I wore this for my school "glitter girl" contest and it was AMAZING!
The dress was true to size. The zipper was a little tricky though. I safety pinned the top together because I'm not that well endowed and I felt like I was flashing everyone. Not he best but after that I had a blast at my school event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
July 10, 2014
needed to buy a different dress for my event.
So I didn't realize it till it was too late that I could call to exchange for a different dress the night before my party. I'm a size 14 and RTR sent a 14 and a 16, which was amazing! Totally love that they do that! I tried on the 14 and it just didn't fit, I tried on the 16 and it fit but the zipper was pulling and it was lumpy in places it places it shouldn't have been. My mom who is a 10, tried on the 14 and it fit her the same way the 16 fit on me. The next day was my graduation party and I needed something to wear and I found a cute dress, size 14 that actually fit a little loose on me. I wish I could have worn this one because I loved the sequin design, but it made me look much more "hippy" than my figure and I think it made me look older than 26. Next time, I know to pay for the extra days to rent and to read all the notes it comes with so I will contact renttherunway.com to send over a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 21, 2014
Glittery for a night on the town
I wore this for my friend's bachlorette party. This for sure runs big. I normally wear a size 12, but the chest was massive. Be prepared for some gaping issues and the need for pinning or fashion tape. I would say this runs a full size big and would suggest ordering down for your back up size.I felt like there was sufficent room in the waist for us hippy girls and would also look great on someone with a larger chest (D or larger) I wanted to wear something black to put the attention on the bride to be, but still wanted to look great. I felt there was a lot of room in the stomach area which could be great for concealing for those that need it, but for me, I think it made me look larger than I reall was. I think this was a little "classier" and "glamorous" for our romp around the town at various bars and nightclubs but it worked for me. This dress would be great for a Christmas party, roaring 20s theme event or any type of nightime fundraiser.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 22, 2014
Waaaay too short
The dress fit but was much shorter than expected. I didn't end up wearing it because I was uncomfortable. Really cute though, I was disappointed.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Beautiful dress! Love the sparkle.
I ordered this dress twice. The first time, I ordered it to arrive 1 1/2 days before the event and it didn't arrive in time! I ordered it a 2nd time and allowed 2 full days before the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2014
Very pretty evening option
Received this as a backup when my original rental was unavailable - the black sequins are great for evening sparkle and I didn't find them to be itchy, irritating, or heavy. I am quite tall so it was a bit shorter than I expected, and found the cut overall to run a bit big all around. The hips are very forgiving, but I ultimately didn't wind up wearing this one for that very reason - I felt like the draping on the hips made look a little bit wider than I actually am.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
July 29, 2014
I got compliments from everyone!
I wore this for my friend's bachelorette party in Chicago, and I got compliments on it from all the girls that were there! It was so nice to feel so pretty given that I am not a petite lady! It was very flattering to the midsection, and accentuated my curves in just the right way. This was definitely the perfect party dress! For a first-time rental experience, it was a complete breeze. I'd rent from RTR again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
August 4, 2014
This dress is GORGEOUS!
I love the fact that you could wear a regular bra with this dress, that is definitely good for a full-busted woman like myself. The dress is stunning and eye catching. I definitely recommend it for whatever event you have coming up. I wore it for a Casino Royals party and an awards ceremony. I was not disappointed. My only complaints are that it is a little heavier than I expected so I was a little warm, the sequins were a little itchy, and the zipper was difficult to zip up or down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
August 7, 2014
Beautiful party dress, just watch the bust
I loved this dress. It was so pretty and sparkly. It was a tad bit shorter than I would have liked, but I got over it. I did have to safety pin the cleavage to keep the girls contained, but otherwise, cute, comfortable frock.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 11, 2014
Sparkled and sizzled!
Rented this for a Vegas party I hosted. Very comfortable and forgiving. Perfect fit, got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 13, 2014
Great dress!
I didn't wear this size, but RTR sent me it because the previous dress I wore was too big. Fantastic company cannot say enough good things about their customer service!
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 189lbs
August 15, 2014
This dress is amazing!
Similar to many other reviewers, I received SO MANY compliments on this dress. It’s stunning, perfect for a wedding, and will make you feel sexy. I am a 14, but the 16 fit comfortably. It is low cut, so I pinned it for safety. Otherwise, glam it up with a push up bra and vavavoom!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
August 18, 2014
I was not able to wear this dress, but will try again for another event.
It was a beautiful dress but I wasn't able to get the zipper all the way up. It fit wonderfully in all areas except at the rib cage, where it was a bit tight. Perfect length. It was heavy due to all the sequins and it rubber a bit at my underarms. I wish I was able to wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful dress. Unfortunately it was just too small on top so I had to send it back and wore own.
Could not zipper dress past my waist. I am a size 14 but this dress was very small on top. Beautiful dress.... Would have loved to have worn it to the pre-wedding party.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2014
Fun, pretty black sequins. Comfortable.
This was a last minute switch at the RTR shop in Las Vegas for a dress I had ordered for our Anniversary dinner. I normally wear a size 6 but had to grab this size 10 because it was my only option in the shop. It was super cute, great for Las Vegas, a night on the town, NYE. Because it was a few sizes too big, I had to take it in the waist but couldn't do anything with the big straps and I had to keep pulling it in and up all night. For reference: I'm 5"3 and my chest size is 34DD and I typically wear a size 6 in BCBG and Express. The black sequins were great and I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Felt great in this dress!
I was very happy with my RTR dress. Like other reviews have said the waist band was snug and the zipper was a challenge to get up. If I went up to a 10 the shoulders would have fallen off. Had to pin them to make them stay up. Overall VERY happy with RTR. The accessory they chose to "mystery" send with this dress was a pair of earrings that were a perfect match for the dress. Super light weight. I wore them all night and barely knew they were there!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2014
LOVE the sequins! I wore this for a wedding in Vegas and it felt very viva Las Vegas!
I felt the dress was true to size but the chest area was big on me and I'm a 36D. I felt a little conscious all night about my girls hanging out. Also, the dress was a little short in the back because I got a booty but all in all, I loved this dress and would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
September 9, 2014
I felt like a bombshell!
I was disappointed because I ordered a different dress that was not going to get to me in time for my event, but I was very pleased with this back up dress. I ordered a 10 and a 12 and wore the 10. It was pretty low cut (which is not something I've ever complained about!) but it was totally fabulous and perfect for a bachelorette party. I felt like a bombshell! Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 11, 2014
Classic dress with a comfortable fit
Fit was true to size. Flattering cut.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 15, 2014
The two sizes where pretty similar
The waist ended directly under my boobs and I kept having to adjust the front throughout the night due to the back of the dress pulling the front upwards ( and flashing more leg as the night progressed) even the long covered enough but the waist length was not meant for a tall girl torso
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
September 15, 2014
Omg.
I wore this for my bachelorette in AC. This dress made me feel so glamorous! I am not a size 14 but somehow pulled it off. The dress it me perfectly :D
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
September 16, 2014
Everyone loved this dress!
Usually wear a 12 and the 14 was tight. I'm petite so I had to pin the shoulder straps and had to find the right miracle bra because my girls were looking itty bitty in this number. Final look was great and I fell in love with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 18, 2014
Sparkle and shine!
Appearance-wise, this dress was just what I wanted. It was pretty and fancy. Functionality-wise it was decent. It was comfortable and I was able to wear a regular bra, but the zipper was tough to maneuver by myself - I had to recruit my friend to help. I ended up wearing the larger size because the zipper felt like it was going to break when trying to zip it up on the smaller size. I don't believe that the dress was too tight either, because my friend could easily gather the fabric at the zipper - it was odd. But not wanting to ruin the dress, I opted for the larger size. It fit okay. I don't think many people could tell it was too large because of the pleating and the cut of the dress, so I think I pulled it off.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38B
May 17, 2014
Beautiful!
Size 16 fit my 5' curvy figure great! Very flattering and just beautiful. It was chilly and the shrug worked great with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
September 22, 2014
Rented this little beauty for my bachelorette party. Perfect for the event and made me feel sexy.
It was very true to size. I am a true 14 and I only ordered the one size (by mistake!) so I was happy it fit perfect. The zipper is a little hard to close, but I had help and we were able to pull it up. It's very low cut, so if you are super 'booby', it may make you feel self conscious. But I thought the dress was very forgiving; it hid all the parts that aren't as flattering, but highlighted the good stuff. This dress also comes in blue, which I may rent when I go to Las Vegas next month. Perfect for a fancy, special night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 25, 2014
Lots of compliments!
This was my first time using RTR and I was very pleased! The dress was beautiful and still looked brand new. It fit true to size. I actually could have worn either size..10 or 12. They both fit! My only down side to this dress was the neckline. When I sat down there was major cleavage and it went so low you could see the top of my stomach. My husband didn't like that too much! I was constantly checking to make sure everything was in all snuggled in when I was sitting. It was easy to move in and fun to wear all the sparkles!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
September 28, 2014
So comfortable!
Loved this dress! Extremely comfortable and elegant. Can be worn with a normal bra and no spanx required! I used fashion tape at the bust line as to reduce cleavage. Overall a great dress! I wish I owned it! Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2014
Gorgeous!
Wore this dress to a charity event that was "creative black tie". I rented the 2 and the 0 but didn't even try the 2 on, the 0 was a great fit. I'm smallest in the bust so there was a little extra room there, but nothing really noticeable.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
September 30, 2014
The stretch was perfect. The sparkle was fabulous. The banding under the chest was very flattering.
I loved the dress. I liked the stretch. It was super flattering. I got a ton of compliments at a charity event. However, it was VERY low cut. I was uncomfortable with the cleavage so I wore a lacy bra underneath that seemed like part of the dress. A nice push up bra would have been the other route. If I owed this dress I would have had the dress lifted and the straps made shorter so the neck wasn't so low and fit better. I however have a short torso, so I have this problem a lot.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 8, 2014
Very Cute
It's a very cute dress although the top opens up a little too far in my opinion and was constantly worrying about whether if people could see my chest or not despite me being a small person. Definitely should have used a safety pin to pin it closed but all in all the dress is very comfortable although the zipper can get stuck at times. Had lots of compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 6, 2014
Great fit and really comfortable!
Runs a little large so the 6 fit perfect! Great for my sororities date party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 172lbs
October 10, 2014
I received so many compliments on the dress and how great it looked
This dress fit great, was so comfortable. I was able to dance all night in it!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2014
Head turning dress!
I felt sexy, confident, and beautiful in this dress and received multiple compliment. I usually wear a 14, and the 14 was perfect. A little snug at the waist, but that is where I carry the majority of my weight. Some reviews complained about the sequins scratching their arms- I didn't notice when I was dancing ALL NIGHT LONG. I do wish the dress had been slightly shorter. I'm 5'8" and had assumed it would be mid-thigh, but it was actually almost to my knees. Still looked and felt amazing though. It is low cut so you need to be OK with showing off a little cleavage. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2014
Overall great dress - really comfortable to wear.
The zipper is really tough... I ended up putting the dress on backwards so I could see as I zipperd past the horizontal "waistband", then spun it around and finished the last bit once the top was up. Much easier this way. The top has a very deep V, and for me, being smaller up top, I ended up using a pin to keep the op together a bit more. The length was great for me - just above me knees. Again, great dress. Got lots of compliments. Will definitely use RTR again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
October 13, 2014
Flattering shiny dress!
Pros: The fit is very flattering for a busty girl with hips. I felt very pretty. Cons: it was extremely hard to zip up, the band underneath the chest has absolutely no give, and the sparkles caught on EVERYTHING (completely ruined my shawl)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2014
I rented this dress for my engagement party. I've gained weight recently and still felt great in it!
I went with the bigger size because it gave me a little more room to move. Both sizes fit nicely though. It hid my problem area (stomach) and also helped me stand out the whole night. It was a little itchy under the arms, but nothing that was too bothersome. The zipper was also a little tricky, but likely due to the sequence.
See more reviews:
1 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×