Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings and a ring like the Dannijo's Coco Ring.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

369 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 253
Large 54
Photos 217
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

This dress was awesome! I felt so great in it and got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party and it was perfect! The dress fit true to size. The sequins were a little scratchy under my arms, but didn't bother me too much! I loved all the compliments I got while wearing it!
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Great fit but not the most comfortable.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had recently rented this dress in the navy color. While I still loved the dress and the fit, I liked the navy much better than the black version. However, they are both great dresses and I would rent again. The sequins can be a little scratchy but it is super fun and funky!
Jill
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

I felt like a million bucks in my dress!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I liked this dress but I wouldn't say I loved it. The reasons that made me not love it was the fact it was very low cut, I ended up pinning it together in the front because you could see my bra and felt like I was a little too exposed for my level of comfort. It was super hard to zip and un-zip, you cannot do it yourself and it was really hard for my husband to do. The fit is a little odd, I felt like it made me look pregnant. I wore the dress to my work holiday party which is a fancy event. This dress was just perfect for it. I loved how it sparkled and got compliment after compliment all night long. The fit was true to size, many reviews said it ran big but not in my case. I wear a 6 in most dresses so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 was perfect. This was my first time using RTR and I'm hooked. I will use it again. Even though I didn't love the dress I would recommend it to anyone. I feel like it's a good dress for nearly any body type.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 36D+
Dec 8, 2014

Eye catching, great style, and just perfect! I wish I could've kept it!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
This dress was actually my backup dress because another dress I liked best was only available in one size (didn't want to risk that one size not fitting). I tried it on and it hugged in all the right places and was slightly loose right where it needed to be! It showed a good amount of cleavage (not bad in my opinion!). I felt beautiful and I got so many compliments on it! I wore it to my work Christmas party (dress code is "festive attire"). Would def rent it again!
NatMo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

I really enjoyed wearing this dress to my event, I got lots of complements.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 10 and I went up to a 12 because of the bust area. It was a bit loose around the hips but tighter around the bust.
Debbie
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 8, 2014

Perfect Party Dress!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was a perfect fit and made me feel so sexy. It definitely will show your cleavage so if that's an issue for you, this dress is not for you. The dress was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it. The process of getting and returning the dress was also very easy. The only issue I had with the dress was the zipper wanted to stick out at the bottom because I have some junk in my trunk, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I was able to fix that with just a couple pins. My bust size is 40 D. It wouldn't give me that option to choose.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Holiday party glam

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress worked out for me after the one I really wanted was returned to RtR (by previous renter) damaged and unwearable. RtR was kind enough to let me choose (2) other dresses since my first choice wasn't available. This worked worked out well and I got a lot of compliments at the party and on FB.
Maha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Dec 10, 2014

Masquerade perfect!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress, flattering if you have some curves. Looks good with tights or without. Comfortable, not too itchy. Perfect length for a tall girl. I wore this to a masquerade party during Halloween and it was perfect little dress for the night! I enjoyed wearing it and one of those dresses I wish I owned.
Christina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Dec 15, 2014

Was a great cocktail dress - not too dressy, but sparkly enough to wear to a nighttime event

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress. Definitely runs large, so size down.
Lynzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Such Sassy Sparkles

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall the dress was really flattering. It was definitely a little tight, around the arms and I would've wanted to size up, but (as mentioned in other reviews) the dang zipper was really sticky and would not zip up unless I took the dress off, which defeats the purpose. Low front, but I didn't feel overexposed. Can't beat oodles of sparkles
PAULA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Badgley Mishka dresses always work well for me and this dress is no exception. I rented the longer version of this dress for a wedding earlier this year. The dress is beautiful and elegant. The top was a little large (which is unusual for me I am a a 34D) but other than that it was true to size.
Mel
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Dec 22, 2014

Who doesn't like a festive gala right around the holidays! I was seeking sequins :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely matched what I was looking for - sequins and festive. I felt that the empire waist was not the most flattering on my body type but I wore it anyway! My friend also had a rent the runway dress that looked great on her (the black and gold dress). Definitely an easy experience renting from them & will do it again!
Emily
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 23, 2014

Awesome dress for an awesome work party!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Just loved. Felt so beautiful in this dress! Only thing is that the zipper is extremely difficult, as others have said. Two people had to work on it to get it up and they almost gave up. Luckily we persevered! I am a 36H, so more like a 10/12 around the waist but needed the 14 up top. If you're large breasted, size way up. This is actually much LESS revealing on larger breasted women, in my opinion, because it stays in place. Will rent again!!
Colleen
Age: 34
Dec 24, 2014

Perfect dress, true to size and looks fab!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress got plenty on complements and was sexy yet comfortable.
Lisa
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 30, 2014

Everyone loved this dress! I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I don't know if it was the holiday binging or that the dress just runs small. For the sake of my ego, let's say it runs small..... I found the sequins to be uncomfortable under my arms after a bit of dancing. It helps to wear some sort of sweater or bolero. I also found the deep neck to be too revealing for me (I'm very busty) so I tacked it up another inch for the night. Overall I liked the look and feel of the dress and everyone else really loved it.
Courtney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

The dress was perfect to celebrate #NYE! It fit well. It went down to my knees and was low cut.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The zipper was tough to zip up but it fit well. Very low cut so wear a black strapless bra.
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

Lots of compliments and so comfortable!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress fits true to size today a little big. Is definitely recommend the back up as a size down. I'm kinda in between sizes right now but I did go with the smaller size. This dress despite the sequins was very comfortable and fit great in the right places! I can't wait for my next event to use rent the runway again!!!
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Fun, sparkly NYE dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a New Years Eve party, and I got a lot of compliments on it. The neckline is plunging, lower than I expected, and the dress is thicker than I expected (if that makes sense). The sequined material and the lining together were quite thick, and I thought it made me look a little heavier through the hips than I really am. It was fun, but if I had tried it on in a store, I would not have bought it.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect NYE dress and just enough neckline to make it sexy but not raunchy :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Seriously, this dress fit like a dream. It was super flattering and not form fitting at all but still gave off the illusion that it was. The lining underneath is super soft and you don't feel constricted by this dress at all. I think it would be a bit more sexy if the length was a little shorter as on most women this dress falls right above the knee (unlike shown on the model). I actually saw two other girls in this dress at my NYE party and they both looked fabulous as well!
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 8, 2015

Comfortable and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a NYE party and received many compliments! The dress was comfortable and flattering. I was surprised a little at how long the dress was. From the picture of the model, I thought it would be a little shorter, but I still loved it, Unlike others have said, I didn't have any issues with the sequins under my arms. The straps did seem a little long, but I didn't have any issues with them sliding off. Overall a great dress, would rent again!
Xelina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

My birthday party was a night to remember, and this dress is part of the reason why!!

Size worn: 16
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Although the venue was very dark, everyone saw me in this dress!! Who knew a black dress can sparkle so brightly!! I am a bit small in the bust area, so some adjustments needed to be made, but the dress was a great fit in all other areas and was very comfortable! I will rent again in different colors for upcoming events! It was amazing!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

A bit scratchy, not my favorite

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
There wasn't a size 4 available in this dress for the dates I wanted, so I went with the 2 and crossed my fingers. Had a hard time getting the zipper up even with the dress on the hanger, the seams are thick and difficult to work around. The sequins weren't the most comfortable and I felt the dress didn't flatter my body overall. Not a bad dress, just not as great as I was hoping.
Kristina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Beautiful dress !

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
This was a lot more busty than I thought it would be. I used the tape to keep it as conservative as possible! Definitely got lots of compliments! The sparkles do eventually irritate your arms and the zipper was INCREDIBLY difficult! Overall great dress and would rent again!
Brittney
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 220 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Perfect for my roaring 20s theme party!

Size worn: 16
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my half way through deployment party. It fit perfect. Little tight around my boobs. I also had to pin it at my boobs since they were about to pop out. I'm a 40DD. Other than that it was perfect!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Jan 20, 2015

Super sexy flattering dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is gorgeous, figure flattering, and sexy. Hugs the curves but doesn't accentuate the flaws. If u are looking for a sexy black dress....u found it!
Trisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 22, 2015

Perfect Vegas Dress!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas! It was extremely flattering, but me in all the right ways, and had the perfect amount of cleavage. I'm an hourglass shape and it definitely flaunted that! My only gripe was the feeling of the sequins on my arms, however that naturally comes with renting a dress like this!
Jessica
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Sparkly yet Classy!!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: very flattering and easy to wear Cons: a little long, large chest area & zipper hard to zip
Jill
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great dress! Incredible service as this was the replacement dress arrived at the 11th hour.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is great! I received a few comments from strangers just walking into the event that they loved my dress. I usually wear a size 8 but with my larger bust 34DD I wore the size 10 - the 8 wouldn't close in the back. Service was incredible at RTR as the first dress I ordered didn't fit this was the replacement dress and it exceeded my expectations.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5 ft 4 and it fell just above the knees. You can wear a standard bra and don't need to worry at all about the straps! It was comfortable to wear while still looking fun/flashy. It was a great dress I would wear it again!
Amethyst
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

I felt so glamorous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was perfect! Was a bit scratchy on my arms but nothing too bad. The length was a bit longer than I expected but I am also very short.
Jasmine
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
Feb 28, 2015

Perfect! Was just enough to make a statement and it sparkled so pretty!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have a lot of boob action, you might want to use a pin cause the neckline can get a little risqué !
Charlene
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 1, 2015

Perfect cocktail dress!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the perfect dress for our awards ceremony. My original dress did not fit correctly but stylist Janelle helped me to select this dress which worked even better than I imagined. Runs true to size though it is low cut. I pinned it slightly just to make sure it wasn't too low cut.
Nicole
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 230 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Absolutely stunning!

Size worn: 16
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a dinner party. It fit like a glove. I received a lot of complements. The zipper is nearly impossible to zip up, so make sure you have a friend to help. Overall I loved it.
Amy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 178 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Classy, elegant, and beautiful!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Date
Great fit, classy, and super comfy. I felt so beautiful without it being "too much." I would recommend this dress for something more formal.
Alyse
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

just what I wanted!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a Christmas event, and loved it! I ordered another Badgley Mischka dress (the gold one on here), but it was too big, so I settled on this. It was very comfortable and flattered the stomach area- gave me a defined waist! Very classic and fun.
Chel
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

The dress definitely fit the theme of the night... Shimmer

Size worn: 16
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was a bit tight at the rib cage but was quite comfy all night. The sparkle and the pleated front was very slimming.
kelsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 13, 2015

I wore this to work at a formal masquerade ball.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautiful and photographed really well. I wore the smaller backup size, and it was still slightly large, so go down a size. I have hips and it hugged my curves in all the right places. The dress was comfy and I felt great in in the entire night! I did feel like the chest was large on me and I'm a 32 D, so watch out for that if you do not want to show off a lot of cleavage. Overall a wonderful dress that I would rent again!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

Sooo sparkly and received a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress is so beautiful and made well. I wore the 6 even though I am usually a 4. The top was a little big and more snug at the thighs. I wish the dress was a little shorter .... Fell at a weird length. Received a lot of compliments and the dress was very comfortable ... Wore it for 9 hours!
gia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

It was comfortable and very pretty.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A true size 10 but it runs a bit small below the ribs. I am a 36C and didn't need to wear a bra.
Sara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 156 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Wore For Engagement Photos. Photographs beautifully!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my engagement photos. Love the quality of the dress! Can be a bit trickier for an apple shaped woman. The waist is very tiny so I had to size up a couple sizes which are to other areas of the dress a bit baggy. I have a 33.5" waist and the 12 was doable but snug. However I wear a 36D with a 41" bust and the top felt a bit loose in the 12 (which never happens!) because I had sized up for the waist. Overall it's a classy, beautiful dress and I'm pleased with the choice! I'm having my bridesmaids rent the long hold version for my wedding!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×