Manhattan Socialite Dress

$40 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
488 reviews
Fit
Large62
True to Size319
Small50
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
February 10, 2016
Won't use again
I am usually a 10 and it fit fine. I ordered a 12 and it was big. While the dress fit fine, both dresses had blonde hair embedded in the sequins. I am a brunette. After getting over the gross out factor I removed 20+ long blonde hairs from each dress. When opening the bags there was a very strong fresh scent. I'm sure this was from whatever dry cleaning solution they use. However, I am highly sensitive/allergic to these scents. I break out in a rash/hives/itchy skin. I use an all clear detergent and when I have clothes dry cleaned they are in a non-scented solution. I tried letting the dresses air out for 2 days prior to the date I needed to wear it and it was still highly scented. Both dresses went back unworn. RTR really should warn people about the scent used during cleaning. Luckily I had a dress in my closet that was ok for the fundraiser I was attending. I won't be using RTR again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Weight: 145lbs
February 10, 2016
The black made it understated, but the sparkle made me shine!
This dress was very comfortable for my long evening - there was some stretch in the tummy area, but I didn't mind since my night included a 4-course dinner! The dress was a bit heavy, but since the straps were thick it was okay (and it helped from the dress riding up on my thighs). My biggest complaint was how exposed by bosom was -- I am pretty well endowed (D-cup) and I had to pin it in a few places so I wasn't over-exposed!
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 225lbs
January 31, 2016
Loved this dress. All night compliments and super comfy! Perfect dress for dancing the night away!
This dress was perfect for a party! Surprisingly didn't irritate my arms like most sequence dresses. This dress is on the top of my list for a possible rerental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 20, 2016
Fun party dress!
This was great for a boozy party where I wanted to be comfy but cute. The armpits were scratchy but I would still wear this again! There is some stretch so I could've sized down but went for the larger option.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 18, 2016
Super sparkly and tween daughter approved!
I rented the 12 and 14 based on previous reviews and it fit fine. I wasn't super in love with the gathered material in the waist, which is why I gave it 4 stars. I probably should have pinned the v together to keep some cleavage covered since I was at an event with my daughter, and I ended up not wearing a bra at all because my bra gave me more lift and therefore more cleavage. This was my first rental and I loved the whole process! I can't wait to rent again next month.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 15, 2016
This was my first RTR experience! Excellent website service and delivery!
The dress was perfect, and very flattering! It was comfortable and fit well, this event was a casino Christmas party and it was appropriate for the theme of the party! I had several compliments . This designer is one I will chose again! Also I really liked the accessories I ordered. I do think the dress runs a bit long, so for a petite it was just the right length for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Age: 40
January 14, 2016
Pretty and comfortable!
This dress is very pretty! I wore it to a New Years Eve dinner in Vegas. The 4 was a bit tight in the rib cage so I wore the 6 and it was big in the top. I had to use fabric tape in the v and pinned it in the back. However I loved the dress and how comfortable it was.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 13, 2016
Loved the sparkle. Perfect black tie optional dress
Found the dress last minute in Georgetown/DC for a wedding. Little snug in the arms since I usually wear a 6. But very comfortable, easy to dance in and got compliments all night. Would absolutely rent again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
January 12, 2016
Great dress, fits nicely. Give in all the right places.
The dress is very pretty and fit well but the dress was very used and the zipper didn't work great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2016
Comfortable & beautiful! Would definitely rent again.
This dress was fantastic. I received so many compliments on it throughout the night. I wore a size up due to the zipper. When zipped up, it was quite snug up top. But, as I am very small chested, was very beneficial for me. I loved this dress & would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
January 6, 2016
Perfect for New Years Eve!
The dress fit well and was perfect for NYE. The dress was a little longer than I had wanted (it came to my knees) and the zipper was problematic. Overall, the dress was great and I'd rent again!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2016
Pregnant on NYE
Second time using RTR and loving my dress. I was 4 1/2 months pregnant when I rented this with a small bump, you couldn't even tell I was pregnant. This dress makes your boobs look great, they're definitely on display but because the dress is about knee length it's not trashy looking. Only con is the zipper. I tried on the 4&6 and both zippers were extremely difficult to zip up. My poor husband tried for 10 minutes before it finally got zipped all the way up.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
January 4, 2016
Loved the sparkles
A little tight around the middle but still was able to wear my normal size
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 172lbs
January 4, 2016
I rented this dress for NYE this year.
I really liked it, it fit a bit snug under the best but the rest fir great. ultimately I returned this dress without wearing it. It turned out not to be right for me for this event. Also the zipper kept getting stuck at the waist seem. even with the size twelve we had trouble zipping it up and that size was large on me. overall the look of the dress and the sticky zipper made this not the right dress for this occasion.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2016
Lot of compliments. The fun sequins were just right for a NYE house party that I hosted.
Fit well. It would be a bit better if I had bigger boobs: it was cut to wow if you had cleavage!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2016
Dress was perfect for New Year's Eve Party.
The dress fit great but the zipper was EXTREMELY difficult to get up and down. I was afraid I was going to break it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I felt more comfortable in the 6 vs the 8 - definitely order a size down. I'm 5'6 and the dress hit right at knees ( not short like the picture shows ) straps are very loose, even in the smaller size. My underarms were a bit red from rubbing against the fabric. Other then that it was fun Andy easy to wear. I felt very comfortable and everyone loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 48
January 2, 2016
I felt very confident in this dress. It's very flattering. Got lots of compliments.
Fits true to size. Zipper is tough to manage on your own. Very low cut, but I liked that. Sequins snag nylons easily, go bare legged.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
January 1, 2016
Great fit.. made a sparkly splash!
The dress fit very well. It was low cut on me, but perfect length. It did not ride up at all. The only downside was that the fabric scratched my underarms all night when dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 18, 2015
Gorgeous
Beautiful sequined dress! Perfect ft, especially with larger bust, very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2015
This dress was fun!
Lots of sparkle, the top was a little big so I had to use some fashion tape to keep it in place. But the dress got me many compliments. The zipper is a little hard to get up but once up, it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2015
Fun dress
The fit was great, and the dress was very comfortable and fun. The zipper was odd though. It felt like it was stuck around the waistband, but it wasn't caught on any cloth or sequins. It definitely required some assistance.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
December 17, 2015
Great dress for holiday parties
This is a really fun dress I wore to an upscale office holiday party. It sparkled in the lighting and I received a lot of compliments. I ordered a 10 and a 12 and wore the 10, it was true to size and very comfortable. My only complaint would be that the sequins kept snagging on my pantyhose and I had a run before I even left the house, but other than that it was a great dress, great value, and I would order it again...I would probably go for a spray tan next time though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 16, 2015
FANTASTIC DRESS!!!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I would rent this again in a heartbeat! It was so comfortable. It does run small, so definitely order one size larger than your typical size (I normally wear a 12, and this dress was a 14). The way the dress falls across the abdomen is flattering (you can go without SPANX if you want). I did safety pin the deep V in the front as it showed my bra a little, but this by far has been my favorite dress that I've ever rented from RTR (and it was a backup dress!!!). I was worried the sequins would rub and irritate the skin on my arms, but that was not an issue at all. If I could find this dress online to buy it, I would snatch it up in a heartbeat! I received compliments all night long at my company Christmas party!!! I highly recommend this dress for cocktail attire!!! I wish I could rent it again for NYE at a casino but unfortunately it's all sold out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
December 9, 2015
Perfect sparkly dress for a winter formal!
I have a full chest, and this dress was so perfect! I had to pin the front so it wasn't showing too much skin, but otherwise it was perfect, and I could wear a normal bra with it! I really loved the dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
December 9, 2015
Great dress! Perfect for holiday party!
Size 4 fit well-little tight in rib cage area. Very flattering. Size 6 was too big in chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 7, 2015
Dress was beautiful and comfortable
The dress runs large. I ordered a 10, my usual size, but ended up wearing my backup size 8. The dress allows you to wear a regular bra, which is extremely important for me. I received a lot of compliments throughout the evening. Beautiful, classy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 6, 2015
First RTR Experience!
I rented this dress at the last minute and I wish they had the next size available for me. It is VERY low cut, and for a office Christmas party, I decided to go with a more conservative look. However, I will definitely keep this dress in mind for an upcoming bachelorette party! If you are curvy, especially on top, I would order the next two sizes up. I look forward to wearing the dress in the future! #sequins4days
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress for a 1920's party!
The fit was a little odd, Very low cut and added some extra fabric to the mid-section area. This could be flattering to some figures but made me look thick from the sides. However, the dress was super comfortable and I was able to dance the night away.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
December 4, 2015
It was very comfortable, and I received a ton of compliments. Would def rent again!
Loved it! Would have worn the 8, but my hips wouldn't allow, so it was a bit loose in the shoulders with the 10. I'm 5'1 and it hit my knees.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
December 3, 2015
Perfect cocktail dress!
Gorgeous, flattering, and comfortable - can't ask for much more from a dress. The zipper can be difficult to work with, especially over the banded waist, so don't even think of trying to get into this without a helper. But the material has some give and was a perfect garment for a night of dancing at a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
December 2, 2015
Fantastic dress! Covers a multitude of sins!
A bra was a must with a little fashion tape. Comfortable! Has enough give to dance or sit, and still breath. Would rent this again in a heartbeat!!!
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
December 2, 2015
Sad I didn't have a new dress for my event
Pretty big in the bust for me, couldn't wear it for my event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
November 27, 2015
The dress was fun, sexy and comfortable. I have DD and I could wear a bra which is a plus. Loved it
You do not need to wear much jewlery with this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
November 23, 2015
Perfect Celebration Dress
My sister wanted to be Diana Ross for her 40th birthday, so I knew that sparkly dresses were in order. I ordered two of this dress in black and one in the same cut, but rose gold for us. They were perfect. The cut of the dress is flattering--even on our differently sized bodies. It's definitely low cut, but a little double-sided tape worked wonders. The bottom of the dress was loose enough to allow us to dance comfortably. And the sparkles were awesome. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 50
November 22, 2015
Runs small, very low front/back. Heavy.
I rented two dresses and didn't choose this one. I rented the 14 and sized up to the 16, which was also very tight. I liked the dress, but with the front SO low (a pin would definitely be necessary) and the flare of the pleats right over the belly, it wasn't a good choice for me. If it were looser, the pleats may have fallen correctly. I wore a 14 in another dress for that evening. As other comments stated, the zipper was ridiculously hard to zip/unzip.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 18, 2015
Great dress! Big in the chest.
This was true to size, although there is a lot of room in the chest. I got around this by putting on bra tape, but I was constantly worried :P So better for ladies with bigger chests ;) Other than that it fit really well, and was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 36
November 17, 2015
loved this dress....wore it to a club in Vegas and it was the perfect fit!!
the length was perfect for me, not too short like most dresses i find. it was very flattering and I got many complements.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 14, 2015
I'm so disappointed. I didn't get to wear this awesome dress. My event was cancelled.
The fit was great. True to size. It worked well for my petite hourglass frame. I will have to rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
November 11, 2015
Too small for my larger bust
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party however it was too small in the bust for me to wear:( it was beautiful and would've been great for the occasion and I loved the concept of how it looked on! But rent the runway took fantastic care of me when it was too late for a replacement. The customer service is top notch, sincerely.
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×