Badgley Mischka

Manhattan Socialite Dress

$30 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Get your hands on the ultimate party dress for the event by wearing this fab Badgley Mischka sequin sensation. Accessorize with Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Also available in navy and champagne.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16.

BUST: Great for any cup size - can be flattering on all cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; waist band and pleated skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt not fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black sequins (100% nylon). Sleeveless. V- neckline. Ruching waist. Full skirt. Hidden back zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
635 reviews
Fit
Large
(67)
True to Size
(372)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
Stunning!!!!
Fit great...loved the front of the dress how it gathered around the tummy area. Amazing dress!!! RTR is awesome....the whole process was so easy. I will be a return customer!! Thanks RTR for such a great night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 4, 2013
it was beautiful, flattering, and classy.
the sequins snagged on the zipper a bit, but other than that, it was so unbelievably perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
February 8, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!! It was perfect for a Mardi Gras dinner party.
I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone looking to stand out in a crowd! The dress was absolutely gorgeous! I received so many compliments and was excited to share that I rented the dress from an amazing site! The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. I opted to wear tights because it happened to be 16 degrees the night of the Mardi Gras dinner party!! The only thing was the zipper was a little hard to get up because of the fabric and the sequins. Just be careful whenever moving the zipper up and down. I cannot wait for my next Rent the Runway experience!!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2013
Great quality
Beautiful dress, very high quality, fully lined. Runs on the small side though I would say. Couldn't wear the size 6-could not get it zipped-way too tight. Luckily my other choice worked out! My friend (who is a size 0 or 2) tried it on and it fit her great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 12, 2013
Wore it for the 2013 Grammy Awards
LOVE this dress. It's a bit stretchy so very comfortable, and you can wear a normal bra with it which I love. Would definitely receommend it. Probably rent a size down as your extra size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 13, 2013
Very cute and comfortable.
The neckline was a little low for me at first but I got used to it. Stayed in place; regular bra was never an issue (I.e. it didn't show).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 13, 2013
Glitzy but surprisingly comfortable!
I wore this for an office holiday party and I was happy with it overall. I'm a definite hour glass shape, so I usually wear a size 6 but often will wear a size 8 too. I got both a 6 and 8, and the 8 was way too big but the 6 fit pretty well (I kind of wonder if I should have tried a 4 though). I was happy that it was low cut but not too revealing... but the way the fabric gather does make you look extra chest-y (which I wasn't crazy about). It was super comfortable and very sparkly... so I was pretty pleased overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
February 19, 2013
This dress is not comfortable!
The sequins were scratching my underarms all night. Unless your arms are stick thin, they will rub against the dress and it hurts! my underarms were red and scratched up for days.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2013
Very pretty dress but not super flattering on my body type.
Gorgeous dress, stretchy material and very comfortable. Not especially flattering however. Could have worn the smaller size but I have a very wide rib cage. Again, beautiful and probably looks great on lots of other people, just not me :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 214lbs
February 20, 2013
very comfortable!
loved Loved Loved IT!!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2013
Great dress and great fit!
I wore this for a wedding in December, loved it! I have a large bust and trouble finding dresses, but this really fit great. I usually wear a 14 in dresses but this was sized a bit larger. It was very flattering and lined, great quality. I am 5'4" and it hit just above the knee.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2013
This dress fit like a glove and was perfect for showing off my curves.
I wore this dress to a formal fundraising gala. I got plenty of compliments for this dress. It showed off my figure and accentuated my waist. It has plenty of stretch to accommodate my curvy hips and chest. This dress is fully lined and VERY comfortable. The sequins and front ruching disguised my tummy well. The downside was that the zipper was a bit bulky and was ever prevented the dress from laying smooth along the back. I would most definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2013
Beautiful dress that's flattering and comfortable.
The dress does run large, and I appreciate the other reviews that suggested ordering the second dress a size smaller, as that's the one I wore. The dress is surprisingly comfortable, with the bonus of a normal bra working with it . Assistance is required with the zipper - it's sticky getting it past the seam, and you need somebody who's not afraid to give a good tug. Definitely recommend this dress for a cocktail attire type event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
March 11, 2013
Sparkly and AMAZING!!
I LOVED this dress and got so many compliments! I wore this to a bachelorette party and even though we spent 80% of our time at a country bar, I got so many compliments on it. It was a little short for my usual taste, but nothing major. Definately if I ever rent this one again, I would wear spanx--the cut of the skirt in back was different and I felt like my butt was huge. Overall, it was really comfortable and the neckline was just perfect. Highly recommend this dress if you love the SPARKLE!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2013
Be a "knock out" in Badgley Mischka!
I had the fabulous opportunity to meet the designers Badgley Mischka themselves at a cocktail party promoting their new eyewear line! Dressing to impress, I wore one of their highly rated dresses, the Manhattan Socialite. It's comfortable, sexy and very flattering to the figure. I also wore their earrings which dazzled. I went to the ballet later on that evening and was perfectly suited for both events in that gorgeous dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 18, 2013
I wore this at an awards ceremony I attended with my family.
Overall the dress was on the large side, but the bust was especially large and definitely needed the fashion tape RTR sent.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2013
Great dress, very comfortable and I got a lot of complements!
The dress is true to size, but I would go down a size for your back up. Very comfortable and nice to be able to wear a regular bra. Great, flattering fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Perfect for a sorority formal!
This dress hit me in all the right places. I received many compliments. Although it is made of sequins which you might think could be uncomfortable, the lining of it is very comfortable. I would recommend this dress to girls who may be a little body-conscious but still want to make a statement! I would suggest wearing minimal jewelry because the dress is an accessory in of itself.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 4, 2013
A beautiful fun dress for a great cause
Dress was gorgeous remaining classy but also an element of fun. It was perfect for the semi formal gala I attended Fit was true to size. The 4 fit but I felt better in the 6 for length to accommodate my pear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
April 4, 2013
I should probably just buy it...
I rented this dress in blue last October for a wedding and decided to get it as a back-up dress for my bachelorette party in March! I got it in black, and ultimately ended up wearing it instead of the other dress I rented. This dress just fits so well! And I was comfortable in it all night long. I should probably just buy this dress - I love it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Talk of Chi-Town!
This dress fit beautifully! I am really glad RTR gives you two sizes, because the 4 fit a lot better than the 6. I wore this to my sister's Bachelorette party in Chicago (they are pictured also in RTR dresses) and we were complimented all night. It is cut low in the front and back; my black bra was exposed a little in the back. I 100% recommend this dress and felt very glamorous! Thank you once again RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2013
Great dress!
I would rent this dress again.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 11, 2013
A little black dress with flare.
I loved this dress! I ended up not wearing this one because I wanted to wear another one I rented, but I rented a 12 and 14 and tried on the 12 first. That was slightly big in the top, but fit nicely around my hips so I didn't try on the 14. A little double sided tape would have solved the the top problem. I'm always worried about dresses being too tight on my hips, but I didn't feel self conscious in this dress at all. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2013
I wore to rehearsal dinner with a little jacket and got a ton of compliments.
FIts true to size and hides mid section well. I'm 5'8 and it was a great lenght, not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
April 16, 2013
Didn't work for me.
I normally wear between a 12/14. I ordered the gold version of this dress in the 12 and this in the 14. I think the 12 fit better even though it was tight around the waist. There's so much extra fabric around the hips, it looked terrible on me. Almost like it should have pockets but doesn't. There was something happening with the liner it felt tighter than the 12. Almost like something was attatched that shouldn't have been. It's a pretty dress and looks great on people in the pictures. It just didn't fit my body type at all. I ended up returning them both without wearing them.
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 28, 2013
Felt beautiful!
I usually wear a size 12 but I put on a little weight so I had to size up. But the 14 wasn't available for the date of the wedding so I had to size up again. So I ordered two sizes; my regular 12 and the 16. The 12 was a struggle to zip up so I wore the 16. It felt a little loose in the strap and was longer than I think it was supposed to be but overall I think it fit beautifully. I felt skinny despite the weight gain! Extremely flattering and forgiving on my belly. It was the right amount of sexy, dressy, and classy.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 30, 2013
You look like a celebrity!!
I rented the gold version of this dress recently, so I knew what to expect with the black one. As I said in an earlier review, the dress fit a little bit large, but it was overall nice. Very sparkly, and the neckline was quite flattering. The bodice of the dress, while flattering, fit slightly larger and the rouching made it a bit puffy and less form-fitting than I would have liked. The length was a bit long as well, but I'm on the shorter side (5'4"). Overall, liked the dress and it was good for my event with colleagues.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2013
Last minute change in plans left me without a dress, RTR saved the day.
The fit was perfect. The zipper was a little tricky going over the seem in the back; you need an extra hand. I got complements from people I didn't even know. Everyone loves this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2013
Classy and comfortable
What I loved about the dress: I could wear a normal bra, it wasn't too short, comfortable to move around in. What I didn't love: I felt like the dress was a little bulky and wasn't particularly flattering to my figure. The sequins also made it very difficult to zip up. Overall, the dress was suitable for my event, but didn't "wow" me. I'll definitely rent from RTR again though- the entire process was very easy.
JenniferMay 19, 2013
I am similar to your body type and i appreciate your comment and candor with your review... maybe you could of gone a size down?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 10, 2013
I wanted it to work, but unflattering on my body type.
I rented this for an awards ceremony. Sadly, I ended up not wearing it because the gathering at the waist and hips made me look bulkier than I already am. I usually wear a 14, and the size 14 I rented did fit me, it was just unflattering. And at a 14, there are reduced dress options, so unfortunately there weren't any dresses that could replace it available at RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 14, 2013
The process was simple and the returning of the dress was simple. The dress was beautiful.
This dress was perfect for the occasion. I love that I do not have to make room in my closet to store the dress. I have many formal events to attend and I find that having to store long formal gowns and semi formal dresses a bit challenging after awhile.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
May 15, 2013
It was a nice dress I wish I could have worn
The dress would have fit, but I am large chested and the zipper kept getting stuck at the bra band area. This happened on the dress when it was off, so there was no way it was zipping when it was on. I also would have had my boobs fully on display! I'm 5'3" and it hit just above the knees. Probably would have been comfortable if I could have zipped it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
May 16, 2013
First time rental for my Mom!
I rented this for my Mom (65/16/full bust) as she wasn't comfortable renting for herself. Now this dress, you have to have the body to wear it. The skirt part pokes out when you have wide hips and makes you look bigger. Not very figure flattering & very matronly. My mother ended up wearing this to her event because she felt more comfortable in it. I didn't like it at all on her.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 16, 2013
beautiful but tighter than it looks
Awesome for the bustier among us. Not so awesome for the curvier. This dress fit perfectly everywhere except the back. Maybe I'm more bootylicious than I thought I was, but I'm a pretty solid size 8. This has some room in the front but the back doesn't have any darts and isn't super flattering. The fabric isn't very stretchy. The dress looked great while standing but I couldn't sit without fear of splitting the back of the dress open. This was my backup dress so I only got one side. I think the 10 would have fit. Customer service was super helpful but I wouldn't have been able to get it in time for my event.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2013
Could not wear
It would have been a beautiful dress if I could wear it. I had trouble getting the zipper down without anyone in it. While I was in it, I could not get it up (with help). The dress fit and came together in the back but would not zip up. If I got a bigger size, maybe it could have gotten up the way I got it down on the hanger, but if the zipper was better quality there should not have been a reason to go to a larger size. I wanted to wear this for my birthday and ended up in a $13 H&M dress. Still looked great though :-)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2013
Fit wonderfully, and flattered my chest and hid my tummy.
For ladies with a larger chest, it's going to be out there, so make it work. The shape is really good for big hips, though. (Esp with a little help from shape-wear).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 3, 2013
Great dress for a sparkly bachelorette party!
This dress was super comfortable and versatile. I wore it for my best friend's bachelorette party, which had a "sparkle" theme. I ordered the 8 and the 10; I could have worn the 10, but the 8 fit better in the chest area. The zipper was a pain to get up, but I was happy the dress could be worn with a regular bra. Fun to dress up with bright jewelry (I also rented some kate spade earrings) and shoes! The only con was that--while it definitely can be flattering on many figures--I thought it accentuated my hips a little bit more than I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
June 13, 2013
I couldn't wear this dress. The top was way too big! I'm a 36C and it made me look so flat.
I couldn't wear this dress. The top was way too big! I'm a 36C and it made me look so flat.The top runs really large, but the bottom was true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2013
Amazing!!!
Beautiful dress but I ordered the pink as a backup and ended up wearing it instead. This dress is a knockout and would be better than the other color for a more formal affair but my event was more black tie optional.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 19, 2013
So Sparkly!!
I ordered this dress for a friends bachelorette party, I didm;t end up wearing it because it was a bit more fancy than everyone else's dresses, so I wore my backup instead. However, it was VERY cute on and I intend to rent it for another occasion! I wear a 36FF, and it fit me great int he top, so imagine it would need to be pinned if you have normal sized boobs!
See more reviews:
2 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×