Lady of Love Gown

$88 to buy
$500 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Badgley Mischka Lady of Love gown screams sophistication and class. Perfect for any black tie affair, prom, or fancy holiday party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band and silk fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - pleating provides room for curvy hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band and silk fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - pleating provides room for curvy hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Fuchsia satin charmeuse. Sweetheart neckline. Ruched bodice. Boning at bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size56
Small4
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
April 25, 2014
Rent the Runway was a great experience! An easy process and beautiful dress
I ordered this Badgley Mischka floor-length gown for a formal for an organization I was a part of. It was perfect! It looked very elegant and classy, and you could really feel the quality in the construction. Since the top part was boned, similar to a corset, (which also made it look great,) it was a little tight on my waist area - I don't have a super defined waist - but it still fit well overall. I got a lot of compliments, including one from one of my closest guy friends! I would recommend this dress for any classy, formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 23, 2013
This dress is gorgeous, but I was unable to wear it
The zipper on this dress was difficult to zip and once it was zipped it was so crooked it was unwearable. It needs a replacement zipper, so I was unable to wear it and had to send it back. That being said, aside from the zipper being crooked, this dress was HOT. I mean, I could not believe how amazing it looked. Some people mentioned they needed spanx with it but I thought it was fine without. It was quite a showstopper. I'm actually hoping I have a formal event in the coming months so that I can order it again (and hopefully get a dress that doesn't have a busted zipper). Seriously, if you're considering renting this dress, do it. It looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
October 26, 2013
True to size but not for big busted women.
I am a 32DDD size 0/2; I believe I could've fit the 2 in the chest best but fit everywhere else fine in the 0. I am a perfect hourglass and didn't feel as though this flattered my shape; I believe it's best for somewhat boy shaped and/on smaller busted women.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 4, 2013
I loved the fit
True to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 28, 2013
Amazing gorgeous dress!!
I loved this dress. I looked amazing in it!! It was the talk of the whole party. People gave me compliments all night long.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2013
Complimented all night! Fantastic dress!
Fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2013
wrong size...
I ordered a 4 and they sent me a 0, didn't fit, but looked like a cute dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2013
Elegance
it was better than i expected and made me feel absolutely elegant ! I was very happy with the result the only thing that bothered me was the breast area but than can be fixed with good strapless bra of cutlings
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 21, 2013
I wore this beautiful dress to the Opera in Chicago, and the both the dress and show were amazing!
The fit was very accurate. I measured myself with the size chart and found myself to be a zero. I ordered this size and the dress fit great! It was very comfortable and I didn't have to pull it up to often. I would definitely recommend this dress, its very elegant and unique.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Beautiful dress!!
I rented this dress for a winter black tie affair wedding. The color is beautiful in person, a vibrant red! You definitely can not wear a bra with this dress, but the structure kept everything in. My only complaint is the under-wire around the bust kept digging into my skin causing an annoyance. I ended up ordering a long after reading the reviews. I felt being 5'6 in heels a regular length might be too short. However, the dress was extremely long and most of the night when I walked/ danced I had to hold it up to prevent stepping on it. I got a Ton of compliments for this dress "Lady in red" and would highly recommend it! Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 13, 2013
Thank goodness RTR is nice about returns!
This was a great dress, but I definitely do not recommend it for the smaller chested. I wanted to wear this dress so badly, and the color is just as bright and lovely as the picture, but A cups beware! The shape of the top is not flattering for us, and even padding can't make up what nature didn't give you. I'd recommend this dress, just not to anyone with a small bust size like me. Trust me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2013
I am now obsessed with RTR thanks to this dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it to my school's Ring Dance. It is very true to size and fit very well. The only problem I had with it was the length. I'm 5'6 and wore 2 inch heels and the dress was very short. I would recommend flats with this. Also, this dress is more red in person (which I loved). Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 10, 2013
This dress is a show stopper! I got compliments all night long. What an amazing gown!!
I was quite worried about fitting into the dress. I have an athletic hourglass figure. I have wider hips, muscular thighs, and a larger bust. I was worried it would make me look big in the wrong places and that I would be busting out of the top. None of this was true! The dress fell just right and was really, really flattering on my figure. The only problem was my bust - there is no internal cup and I had to kind of mold myself into place and keep adjusting. The corset was a little big around the waist, so I had to hoist it up every now and then. But I don't think I would have squeezed into a 2, so this is the best I could do. But most sleeveless dresses have this problem, and it wasn't particularly bad. I used some two-sided tape and that helped a little. All in all, I loved this dress. If your dimensions are similar to mine, get the 4 and you will love it. :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
March 7, 2013
it brought out the best look in me in an affordable way;)
it was a little loose on the bust line, so if you dont have a big chest, at least wear a push-up bra, but overall -- I LOOKED WONDERFUL WEARING THIS DRESS:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 26, 2013
Definitely a great choice for sorority formals!
Beautiful color that stands out and I loved the sweetheart neckline. I have a fuller bust, but it still fit me perfectly! If you're short, make sure to order the shorter sizes and wear at least a 3 in. heel.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2013
Literally "WOW"-ed my husband.
I rented this for my husband's military ball. The dress was very forgiving in the bust and hips, however, I would recommend proper foundation, like Spanx, to keep the material from clinging and revealing underwear lines. The hem was a wee bit shorter than anticipated. It fell at the top of my toes, but this was not a deal-breaker because it just showed off my cute jeweled sandals and pedicure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 18, 2013
The dress looked very worn when it arrived and did not fit properly.
I ordered this dress for my sorority formal and it did not fit my chest.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 13, 2013
Love this dress
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding. It was absolutely perfect! True to size, comfortable and the return process a snap. Now I'm back shopping for a gala dress.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 23, 2012
Everyone made a point to tell me how perfect my dress looked on me and how pretty it was!!!
This dress was great for my sorority's formal! Although it was a little tight, my friends thought it was perfect and loved how it fit on me. It's flattering on the bust and hips and the length was just right with tall heels. I'm so happy I had such a beautiful dress for my last formal!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2012
I ended up not wearing this dress.. It fit very poorly, but fortunately a second dress was sent.
It fit quite large on top, and the fabric seemed.. cheap. The color is also MUCH more pink that it looks in the picture. However, I still had a great experience with Rent The Runway, because they sent another dress that I ended up liking much more.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
October 12, 2012
Loved it!
fit well- glad you get two sizes! rental process was very easy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 12, 2012
This was my first time renting and I was so excited to wear this beauty!
I got SO many compliments that night and felt beautiful! Makes your boobs look great too ;)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this. Fits great. Danced all night long without worrying about it at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 17, 2012
Compliments kept on coming all night long on the dress. Thanks RTR for making my last high school dance super memorable!
I wore this dress to my senior prom. I absolutely adore this dress! If I were to do it all again, I would have ordered the 0L since it was shorter in length and I like to wear tall heels. Also, the dress wrinkles very easily. I kept on getting compliments all night on the dress. Definitely will order it again if I have a formal event!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2012
Stunning
I wore this for my senior prom and have never felt so pretty! It's a lot darker in person but the color is stunning and I received tons of compliments on it. I have short legs so I had to wear heels at all times, the dress was long on me even at a regular length. Beautiful, and I HIGHLY recommend it! (:
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2012
Lovely
Wore this on New Years. It fit perfect and was very elegant. It looks better in the picture though.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
May 5, 2012
It was so easy to get the gowns and return them the day after Prom. I loved having a designer dress for such a reasonable price!
Loved the fit and the fabric! Very comfortable gown!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2012
My dress actually arrived sooner than expected! Which was great because i was out of town until the night before my event. So I got to try on my dress before I even left town.
I ordered this dress for my senior prom, and it was everything that I could have hoped for! I ordered a 2R and 4R. The 2R fit perfectly. The zipper got stuck, but other than that it was great. Also, it was a lot darker than I expected, but I still loved it. :)
LillyMay 1, 2012
how high were your heels? the description said that it runs short in length and i'm 5'4", so i wanted to know if i'd be able to wear heels at all?
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Lilly, we recommend the long length in this style for you! The long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2012
So easy!
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the color. It was very comfortable and the process was great! Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
March 13, 2012
I got alot of compliments on the dress, and it was great because I only spent $75 to rent it. Other girls spent over $500 and didn't even make Top 10 or win.
I wear a size 3 or 5 in pants and a size medium in shirts. I am 5'6 and 135 pounds. I got a size 4R and 6R and the 6R fit me perfectly. The size 6 fit better than the 4 because i have a bigger chest area lol. I wore the dress in a Charm Revue pageant at my school and made the Top 10 out of 30 girls. Its simple and cute and goes with black or silver accessories. Its a darkish-hot pink, it looks a little red. The material is silky and comfortable and doesn't wrinkle. Be careful though b/c the zipper is hard to work at first.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 174lbs
December 22, 2011
Great Fit for Larger Bust Size
The dress was much more red than pictured. There was no need for bra with the boning support and this fit well. I wear a 36-38 Full D. The pleating compliments any figure. I am 5ft 9. I ordered the 8R and this fit me well and the length was good with 2.5" heels. But I am smaller waisted with thicker legs. So in pants I wear a size 10. I did get compliments as I wore this as "Scarlet" with a red boa for themed Christmas Party.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2011
Pretty In Pink!!
This dress was perfect for my sorority sister's wedding!! It was a major hit!! Loved it and it was the perfect length. I'm 5'5 and a size four so the Regular length was great. I think long wouldve been too much material. With a great strapless and a fuller bust it stays up. Enjoy Ladies
toriFebruary 14, 2012
Did you wear heels with it?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 4, 2011
Not what I expected
I ordered this dress and another for a formal event. This dress runs quite small and the sweetheart neckline was misplaced on me (the top was more on the sides of my chest than over my bust. The color is also more red in person. However, I ordered another dress that worked wonderfully!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2011
That I could wear a gorgeous designer gown for such a low price!
I rented this gown for a New Years Eve wedding and it looked gorgeous on the hanger but even better on! It was extremely comfortable and didn't wrinkle which was important since I was in it for over 7 hours. I'm 5'4'' and I wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. I was worried it might be too long and I couldn't have it altered but it fit great. The sweetheart neckline is very flattering and I received a ton of compliments. Definitely recommend for a special occassion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2011
Lots of complements
I ordered the size 0 & 4. Really wish a 2 was available to rent because that would have fit perfectly. Was nervous it would be sliding down, but stayed up & was comfortable to be in all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2011
Pretty
This dress was gorgeous. My dad was beaming. I ordered it for a Marine Corp ball, however wore a different dress. The zipper kept getting stuck, but the material was beautiful. I traveled with the dress and when I reached my destination the bottom was super wrinkly. I ultimately wore the other dress because it was more sleek and comfortable. This gown had boning and I felt my "love handles" were sticking out. I would not have necessarily worn spanx if I choose this dress though. Definitely a great dress and I would recommend to all sizes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2011
Not as great in real life
The picture is definitely better than it looks in real life. Its a pretty dress but when i got it the first thing I noticed was the color was a bit faded and didnt look like it did in the picture on the website. This was also my back up dress so I'm glad I got more than one option. I ended up wearing my other option which was also Badgley Mischka. Also, I wear a 0 and got a size 0L which is my fault because it was last minute and nothing else was available. It was way too long on me. I am 5'5 this has to be for someone who's 5'8 and over.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
November 3, 2011
This dress was a show stopper at the gala...the compliments were non stop!. I wanted to keep it forever! beautiful, comfortable and easy to wear. Do not need to accessorize it too much, it is just perfect!
KatharineNovember 3, 2015
If you do not mind my asking, how tall are you, Corinne? I booked the OR and wondering what type of heel to wear. I am 5'5
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
September 5, 2011
The dress is absolutely gorgeous. The color is a bit more red than it appears in pictures. The quality was good of the fabric was great, though I did have some trouble with the zipper. Also, the boning was poking through on the inside. did have some trouble with the zipper. The only sizing issue I had was in the bust area. I ordered a size 0 and had to tape the dress to my chest. I was a 32A though. A bigger bust would likely have no problems. Overall, the dress had a few minor issues but was beautiful.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
August 25, 2011
I was a little disappointed when I received the dress because it was wrinkled and I needed to pay the dry cleaner to steam it in order to get the wrinkles out. Also, the paint on the zipper on the back of the dress was chipping off, clearly from the dress having been worn multiple times. In addition, the zipper didn't really zip up smoothly (again, probably from much wear and tear) and I had to battle with it to get it going. The dress itself fit well and even though I'm smaller in the chest, I didn't have to worry about the dress sliding down. No bra needed. Also, there's a lot of material/ruching in the front that helps conceal a tummy so Spanx aren't a total must but I definitely wore them with the dress. I'm 5'9" and wore 3 1/2" heels and the tall size worked just fine. I did receive lots of compliments on the dress and hardly anyone else at the black tie event that I attended was wearing the same color.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×