Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
942 reviews
Fit
Large57
True to Size629
Small92
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
May 17, 2016
It was very forgiving for a PP body, and no need to wear spanx.
Very stretchy material. The slit is higher than I thought, but not a problem. Also had some issues with the zipper, but once I got it zipped up it was fine.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
May 15, 2016
The dress of course!
loved this dress. I am 5'61 1/2 tall and was even 6 months pregnant wearing it. Fabric was stretchy and super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
May 14, 2016
Sexy and Comfortable
If you are taller than 5'7'' get the long. The dress is very comfortable and has some stretch to it. Rent the runway is easy to use and easy to return. The slit adds the sexiness to the dress cut the rest of the dress makes an elegant statement.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
May 13, 2016
I wore this dress for my engagement pictures, I thought it was just the right blend of sexy & classy
The fit is true to size, but like the other reviews, I could've done a size down but in a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 12, 2016
I loved this dress! Sexy and comfortable
I wore this dress for a James Bond themed Halloween party. I felt the part while also being very comfortable. It's a rare and perfect dress that can make you feel James Bond sexy and comfy at the same time.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
May 12, 2016
This dress was gorgeous. Hugged all the best places and was great at hiding tummy :)
ll
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
May 8, 2016
Black Tie Event for Work
I'm just at eight months pregnant. I got a size up from my normal size as I am typically an 8 petite. It was a bit big around the shoulders and arms, but I needed the 10p for the chest and stomach. The dress was comfortable, with the right amount of stretch. From the front, you could barely tell I was pregnant. The side was another story :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 8, 2016
Stunning, elegant, classy and overall sexy!
This dress was stunning! It wasn't nearly as thick as everyone said it would be. I wore it for an April formal and didn't get overly warm in it. The material felt more like a spandex. It was definitely worth renting. I originally ordered the 0P and the 0R. I was only sent the 0P and not the 0R because someone had apparently ruined it before they could send it to me. This made me nervous but they sent two completely different dresses to me which did not help the situation at all. But thank God the 0P fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 8, 2016
Even the bride said I looked stunning in the dress !
I'm usually 4-6 regular athletic body type and with that said the four regular was perfect. The drapery effect made me appear curvier then I actually am and it was so comfortable as a brides maid I would definitely rent this dress again. Pro: could wear a normal bra Shoe wise I always have to wear flats or sandals (ever since my ankle injury I cannot last in heels of any kind with out walking like a thriller video ) my flats were suitable with only a little drag but the flow of the dress was amazing when ever I walked none of the dress was on the floor
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
May 7, 2016
Super comfortable and forgiving. Cannot go wrong.
Fit is very forgiving and comfortable. Can easily dress it up with fun jewelry, but you don't need much. Slit runs a little higher than I am used to, but still felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2016
Husband loved it and so did I
Modest sexy dress. Very comfortable. Was great for a winter banquet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2016
James Beard Awards, Lyric Opera House, Chicago
Note: I'm 5'9" and wore 5 inch heels, and the 12L was the perfect length. The fabric is heavy, stretchy, drapey and forgiving. Hid what shouldn't be seen (middle) and showed off what should (legs are still in good shape). It was perfect. Give yourself time to let the dress relax before you wear it; it's so heavy that when it arrived the hangers were broken and it was in a puddle at the bottom of the bag.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
May 3, 2016
This is the perfect dress. Sexy. Flattering. Comfortable.
This dress was great - it was a comfortable jersey knit and hit in all the right places. It was flattering and sexy with the high slit, but conservative enough to wear. With its subtle sexy, it was a win for a wedding or other blacktie event. I felt like a million dollars. I just had a baby when I wore this so it covered the areas I was most sensitive about.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 2, 2016
Love the slit, super sexy but still sophisticated.
If you are taller than 5’8” and plan on wearing heals, definitely order a size long.
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
May 2, 2016
I felt sexy but all of my skin was covered
Fit every curve flatteringly and hid my tummy area
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2016
Much different than picture
This dress did not work at all for me. The slit was blow the knee and there were fabric swaths hanging between the waist and the hip. I thought there was ruching, but instead there were these fabric panels draping from side to side that were terribly unflattering. I did not wear this and instead went with something else I had in my closet.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2016
It was my little sister's debutant ball, and she looked so beautiful, so proud of her!
I absolutely loved this dress!!! I have a small frame but I'm also full of hips (get that from my mom) and this dress hugged all the right places! Very sexy but elegant and classy! I was told I probably shouldn't wear black because the event was in spring but I stood out, this dress was an absolute show stopper!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 26, 2016
Perfect fit, hides imperfections LOVED it
Very Comfortable and glamorous
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 197lbs
April 24, 2016
Perfect for the event.
The fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
April 20, 2016
I
I wore it for an February wedding in Arizona and it looked just like it did in the photos online. Very thick and heavy so I wouldn't suggest it for warm weather.. at all. I got a ton of compliments and felt elegant in the dress. I would order your normal size and 1 size smaller as back up.
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
April 20, 2016
This dress is was a success !! I received compliments from everyone!
The dress i rented fit true to size. I wasn't skin tight, all the layers helped to blend everything in. The slit was perfect! Not too low and not too high, just right!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
April 19, 2016
Absolutely Stunning!
RTR was highly recommended from a good friend. To start, I'm not your fashionista type in anyway, shape or form. I would prefer yoga pants and t-shirts, any day/night. As soon as I saw this dress, my heart was set on it. I have art work that covers most of my body. I wanted something that fit perfect, felt comfortable and looked classy. The dress covered most of my artwork and was very comfortable. As for the fit, I expected it to be a little tighter. It felt a bit loose, but it still complemented my body very well. I recommend anyone renting this dress, when taking trips to the bathroom, bring a friend to make sure the back side doesn't look scrunched up. The dress has a mini sheer cover underneath and can get caught up when fixing your hosiery, etc. Overall this dress is timeless! You don't need many accessories to rock it. One simple piece of jewelry gave it plenty of oomph! The necklace was by R.J. Graziano. It is gorgeous and even though it looks heavy, it felt comfortable on my neck line. Throw on some red lipstick and you're all set!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2016
Very basic dress, low excitement factor
I loved the dress online because I thought it was simple but sexy dress; however, in person it did not live up to my expectations. The split was basically invisible, it is looks like a very basic gown. It would work for a work or family event, where being conservative the look you're going for; however, I was going to a party with friends and this dress did not make the cut. Perhaps if the bottom fit a bit more closely, it would've been a go. I will also add that there is an awkward seam that ran across one breast and since I am busty it was no bueno.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2016
Length was an issue.
I normally wear an 18, but I should have figured I should order up a size (or 2) since that's usually what I have to do in any formal dress. When I finally got this dress, I put it on, and it fit snug, but comfortably in the arms/bust area, but the slit was like a runway to my underwear, and the length was comparable to a tea length dress. I would love to have worn this dress, but definitely would have needed to go with a 20 or 22 long....
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2016
This dress was absolutely perfect for prom! Couldn't have chosen a better dress!
This dress was the first dress I have rented from rent the runway. I can positively say that my experience was a 10/10 from receiving it to sending it back. The dress arrived on time and in perfect condition. It was a little difficult to choose between the two sizes I rented, but the smaller one really was fantastic. I felt like a million bucks wearing it, and the compliments were endless that night. It was easy to dance in, and the slit was so nice. I looked very classy, and I felt so comfortable. The dress was a bit hot, but it rained that day, so it wasn't an issue personally. Overall, the rent was a success and I was so happy with the result. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2016
Beautifully styled dress for formal affair. Easy to wear and dance in.
I ended up wearing my back up size 6R since the 4L came with a broken zipper. 6R was slightly too big for my 128 lb. slender upper body but nicely concealed my pear shape lower body.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
April 13, 2016
Black tie event with lots of people in military uniform. This dress was perfect for the event.
The fit was perfect. I thought I needed a 10L, but waited too long to order and only 8L and 12 L were available. The 8L was perfect. Length was great, I was worried. I am about 5'10" and wore 3" heels the length was great, did not drag and not too long. I like the long sleeves they cover flabby arms, no special bra required. The dress is very well made, very comfortable and I received lots of compliments. I rented the bangles as well, they were my favorite part of the outfit. I will definitely use Rent the Runway again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 11, 2016
Felt amazing in this dress!
Stretchy, fitted fabric. Which made it super flattering! I'm typically a size 12/14, the 10 was perfect! I am 5'4" and got the regular length, wore 4 inch heels and the length was about 2 inches off the floor. Definitely recommend this dress for any body type, it is so flattering!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
April 11, 2016
Super flattering cut. The rushing at the waist covers any unflattering areas.
I wore this dress to a NYE wedding and it was just perfect. I was warm enough with the long sleeves and added the fur cuffs from my own collection. It was the best dress for the occasion. I felt sexy, classy, and stylish. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2016
Great dress for a colder night
After reading the reviews I decided to go with the 4L. The pros: the material is great for warmth and is very forgiving. The draping was great at giving the illusion of accentuating the good curves while hiding my not so flattering ones. It's a very elegant dress that is easily versatile with any jewelry. I received a lot of compliments on it! The cons: It fit pretty good but the sleeves were a little too loose and too short on me (a common problem I have). The length was just a smidge too long for my liking (with 3 inch heels) as it dragged on the floor but it ended up working fine. I would have rather it be too long than too short. I probably could have fit a 2L but that size was unavailable (and I might of had more of a problem with the sleeve length). Tip- because of the jersey like material, you'll want to hang this dress as soon as you get it. It was a little wrinkly when I received it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2016
Elegant dress!
I rented this for my college-aged daughter for her sorority formal. She is 5'11" and wore the 8 regular, as the long wasn't available for her chosen date. The dress fit perfectly and she looked very chic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 6, 2016
The dress was very well made. Very heavy and forgiving in the midsection.
Great dress!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 6, 2016
Easy process and a beautiful gown that was very flattering
Fit very true to size and since I'm tall I liked the longer length. The ruching can't be seen too well and came at first as a surprise to me but covered well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 179lbs
April 6, 2016
I felt like Cinderalla, a beautiful gown for a night. My first rental and certainly not my last!
I loved it! 12R was unavailable and I assume it would've have been perfect. The 10R was snug but not so tight that I couldn't sit or reach for things.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 3, 2016
Loved it.
Felt like a maxi dress. Conservative but the slit in front makes it feel sexy. You need serious jewelry with this dress and a great shoe!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
April 1, 2016
Classic, Comfortable and Chic
I rented this for our engagement pictures. We're getting married on NYE so I wanted something a bit more formal. I ordered the 10L and 8L. I'm 5'5" and wear a 10, but the reviews said go smaller and longer. When I got the dress, the zipper was out. You would think I wouldn't have given this dress 5 stars, but because RTR is so amazing, they saved the day. They overnighted me an 8R (all they had left in the dress) and it fit like a GLOVE! It was a little short, but we were able to hide that in the poses. I felt so great for our pictures, so glamorous.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
March 30, 2016
Perfect for the wedding! Felt comfortable and danced all night.
True to size, fits well. Feels like it is short but I wore heels anyways and the slit made it look normal length. Would rent this again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
March 22, 2016
Showstopping dress! I felt like a movie star on the red carpet!
I agree it runs a bit small and the sleeves are a little short for my liking. I wore the 6L over the 4L for length purposes only. That's what wide cuff bracelets are for! Neither took away from the comfortable luxury of wearing this dress. I was asked all night where I purchased it and how stunning it looked. At a fundraiser for my station I definitely felt special and unique. I'm 5'10" ish and had to wear a small kitten heel but it did not take away from the look I was going for at all. Ordering and timing and ease of return blew me away. I will never pay full price for a one nighter dress again. I would rent this one again for sure! I love RTR:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2016
Much nicer and elegant in person!
Unfortunately I never took a full-length picture. I have an hourglass figure, and found this dress to compliment all the right assets. The material is so silky, which you can't tell from the website. It drapes beautifully without being bulky. Hides a tummy. It was a perfect simple black dress great for dressing up with jewelry and accessories. I highly recommend getting a "Long" if you are going to wear a heel. I am 5'5" and wore 2.5/3" heels and it was a touch too long. Would much rather that than a short dress! Great pick.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 20, 2016
The staff is awesome! Very accommodating!
This dress is gorgeous, however, I am 5'2, 103 lbs and a 0R was still a little bit big. The design helped me pull it off. The sleeves weren't as fitted either, so I pushed them up which actually didn't look bad (see photo). Because of my height the dress dragged, but I actually liked that look!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×