Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

561 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 414
Large 31
Photos 371
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Simple and elegant! But, be warned!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. It fit well and was so beautiful. Even though it is simple, it was a big hit and perfect for a winter wedding. BUT, do know that the length is ASYMMETRICAL. The sides are two different draped panels and (at least on my dress) the left side was about 3"-4" longer than the right side. The draping makes it look intentional, but it didn't feel totally right. Fortunately, everything else was so gorgeous that I am sure it was unnoticeable to anyone else.
Anna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

I had so many compliments all night long on NYE. In a sea of black dresses I still stood out.

Size worn: 6R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'8, so I ordered the 4L and back up 6R. They ended up being the same length on the legs, which I though was strange, so I had to go with the 6 for the arm length which was significantly longer. The 6 was a bit loser in the body as well which made it more comfortable to fit in. If you have curves I recommend going a size up.
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Always perfect timing and wonderful customer service!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Party
This dress was beautiful and perfect for a formal New Years party. It ran a little small and has extra material on the left side I didn't see in the model photo. Over all is was wonderful!
Darlene
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

I loved the gown! It was absolutely beautiful, it fit perfectly and the compliments were endless.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything fit perfectly as if it were custom made for me.
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

This dress was absolutely perfect for the black tie December wedding I attended!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a size 4 and this dress in size 4 fit perfectly! The slit and arm length varied a little between the two different sizes. The arm length on the size 6 seemed really short- almost like a 3/4 sleeve. The arm length on the size 4 was much better. I also preferred the slit placement on the size 6 over the size 4 but the body of the size 4 dress fit me better.
Ana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Maximum comfort and compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is true to size. I wore this dress with 3 inch heels and the length was perfect. I received TONS of compliments. The dress is beautiful. However, my favorite part is the comfort. This is a double jersey material. Felt like I was wearing lounge-wear. I'd wear it again!
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 5, 2015

So happy with this dress!!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a NYE wedding up north. I wanted something that would keep me somewhat warm as well as look glamorous. This was all the above. I received compliments all night long. It's the perfect dress! Although it's tight, it covers up any areas you might be insecure about. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
Jamie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Amazing customer service!! Responsive and very friendly.

Size worn: 10L
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to go with a 10L and a 12L. When the dress arrived, the smaller size was a little too big in the waist. I emailed customer service and they offered to send me another style of dress since they did not have an 8 available. They were extremely responsive and very nice about everything. I ended up wearing the 10 and I just bought a gold belt from Express to pair with it. It looked amazing in photos and I wS very happy with it! The dress runs shorter so I would definitely go with the Long. It always runs big, so when in doubt I would go smaller. It's a very modest dress, so I felt it needed to be more fitted to look flawless. All in all I was very happy! :)
Farah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Loved this dress! Got so many compliments! This was my first using RTR and it won't be the last!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
True to size
Heather
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

Perfect Classy (but sexy) Dress

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a NYE wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect for the affair. I'll admit, when i first tried it on I was disappointed. It wasn't as curve-hugging as I had hoped it would be and the draping kind of hides your figure a bit. Also, the slit only came a few inches above my knee (i was hoping it would be a bit higher to give the dress some edge). However, once I got all done up and put the dress back on, I liked it much more. I still wished the draping wasn't there and that the slit was higher, but overall I loved this dress. I got so many compliments and felt so great in it. Was truly sad to send it back. Great dress-- I would highly recommend! Side Note: I ordered a 0R and 0L and the 0R didn't even touch the ground WITHOUT any shoes on. SO glad i ordered the long version as well.
Carly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Dress was for NYE wedding, it was perfect, got a lot of compliments too!!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits comfortably, material is slightly heavy, but not unbearable. The only thing I didn't like about the dress is there is a draping on the one side of the dress, and it was hard to see in photos I looked at... it's on the left side in the picture that I took. I didn't care for that part much because I felt it just looked lumpy, but overall the dress was great. It's a nice length, and it's comfortable to move and dance in. Rent the Runway was great about getting it to me on time, and the dress was nice and clean when I got it, and they also give you a return package to mail the dress back in and you don't have to pay.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Gorgeous dress. I don't have a picture that does it justice. Modest and sexy with a high slit!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs true to size. I wore 3" heels and the dress was the perfect length.
Meghan
Age: 35
Jan 15, 2015

Worn to the People's Choice Awards.

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfect. Very comfortable!
Abigail
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Dress feels like a red carpet gown.

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the 2l. I wore four inch heels and the bottom just brushed the floor. This is a really flattering gown and really highlights your ASSets. Definitely go ahead and order a great necklace if you don't have one, the neckline deserves some baubles.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 17, 2015

Gorgeous classic dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my company holiday party that was Red Carpet/Oscars themed. I rented a 14 P and a 12 R. I went with the 12 R because the length was perfect for me even with 2 3/4" - 3" heels.. I just recently had a baby, and still felt amazing in this dress. I rolled up the sleeves because I think I look better in 3/4 or half sleeves. I wore color-block shoes, statement jewelry, and a bright colored wristlet to give the dress a little more pop. I received a lot of compliments all night. I would love to own this dress!
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

The RTR experience was great - the dresses came on time, and the process was simple. Thanks!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 8L and 6L, but I think I just got the 8 and 6. The 8 fit perfectly and was just the right length. It had a nice stretch and was very comfortable and flattering. I felt great in it and got lots of compliments. The 6 was way too small. There was another woman with the SAME dress, but she had accessorized it differently (she also looked great in it!). Great idea and will use it again.
olivia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Absolutely stunning!!

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs true to size! I was nervous about the length but the 0R was prefect! This dress fit like a glove! I would rent this dress again!
Nora
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jan 18, 2015

Beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lots of compliments! Fabric is in all the right places and slit is not to revealng. Length was perfect. Very elegant for an evening affair.
RTR Customer
Jan 18, 2015

I loved having a unique dress different from anyone there!

Size worn: 8L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was beautiful. The leg slit was super sexy. The material weight was very nice and breatheable.
Courtney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

This dress is stunning! I got countless compliments and felt amazing. It was comfortable and warm!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous dress! I wore it to a black tie wedding in the dead of Chicago winter...it was thick enough to only need a shawl. I usually wear a 2/4 depending on the designer and the 4 fit perfectly. Length was perfect, too.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Winter Wedding!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and received so many compliments! Just be aware that it runs so short. I'm 5'3" and picked a 10L and a 12R for sizes. I wore the long (I also had 6" pumps on) and it just grazed the floor perfectly. At my height, I could have worn flats with the Regular and the front would have still been too short. Thankfully the dress runs a little big, so I was able to wear the smaller size. All in all, I would recommend this dress, but when in doubt, get the long.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 21, 2015

Very comfortable, but less memorable

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very comfortable and easy to wear and sit in. It was a conservative dress but definitely hugged curves. The draping is interesting but difficult to see in pictures. I feel like this dress looked better on than in photos. I felt like this was a dress that really needed big hair, make-up, and jewelry. I wish that I had rented a big sparkly necklace to go with it. This dress was appropriate for my occasion and I liked it. However, I'm not sure I would rent it again because there are so many more dresses that I feel are more memorable.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Sophisticated, elegant, sexy.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's the perfect blend of conservative and sexy because you're completely covered, but the slit shows a little leg every time you take a step! I ordered the 0L and 2L but ended up wearing the 2L purely for the length. Be warned! If you're on the taller side, the long may still be a little short! I'm 5'7 and the 0L, no joke, hit me in the middle of my calves. However, the 2L was the perfect fit and I wore 2" heels. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress for any age and any body type! I loved wearing it!
Lauren
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 21, 2015

Great night!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm a performer so I needed something formal that I could be comfortable and move around in. I liked the fit of this dress and it was very flattering. Since I have a large bust I needed to size up, but it was great for my event. I received lots of compliments!
Alyse
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress! Was so comfortable and the long sleeves made it great for a formal event in January.
Lacey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

This dress was amazing!! Very flattering on all body types

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. It very flattering on all body types because of the built in folds.
Nicole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Chic and comfortable!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress... I got a size 2L and the fit was perfect. I am 5'6" but ordered the L so I could wear 4" inch heels and it was the right decision. The dress is comfortable, so you have no problem wearing it all night... Yet still incredibly chic and classy. You can't go wrong in a classic black gown with a sexy slit!
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 24, 2015

Simple, yet elegant! Comfortable to wear all night.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress at our city's Chamber Gala. I was so anxious for this dress to arrive. When I first placed the order I had a 4R. After reading some reviews I changed it to a 4L and I'm so glad I did. It was a tad long even after putting heels on, but nothing that I had to hold my dress up for. I would rather have it a little longer than shorter anyway. The dress was GORGEOUS!! It is simple but SO classy and elegant. I got complements all night on it. The only issue I had with the dress was every time I went to the restroom the lining would get all twisted and I would have to take some time readjusting. The dress does have draping fabric in the front and sides, but its nothing that striked me as being odd. After trying it on the night before, I could hardly wait to wear it. It was so comfortable. I wasn't itching to get home and get out of the dress. I felt great in it. I will definitely be renting from RTR for future Chamber Gala's.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size and was a perfect length for me. I'm 5'3" and wore a 3/4" heel. It was the perfect dress to wear to a black tie wedding at a mansion. I felt so glamorous. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Leah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

This dress was perfect, in every way, I have never received so many compliments on a dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
After reading reviews, I decided to order the 0R and 2R, and ended up going with the 0R. I wore 5 inch heels and still had to hold the dress up as I walked and danced. If I were to ever need a formal dress again, I would re-order this one in a heartbeat, except in a petite size specifically for the length.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

The perfect black dress for cold winter nights!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. I wore it for an outside New Years Eve Event downtown. Although I live in Florida it still gets chilly, so this long dress was perfect because I didn't want to bother with a coat check. I know some people complained about the length, but I thought it was perfect length and I'm 5'4 and wore 3 1/2 inch heels black heels with it, no problem. I think this dress would truly be flattering on any body type and I added the belt just to emphasis the waist area more. I received multiple compliments!!!
Jaime
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Gorgeous, comfortable dress, perfect for my husband's black-tie work event.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugged the curves that I wanted to have hugged, but was very forgiving around my post-baby stomach pooch. Would definitely wear this again - I looked great and felt fantastic in it.
RTR Customer
Jan 30, 2015

Classic and simple. Can't go wrong!

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered the 8 and 10, wore the 10. I usually wear a 8, but it was way too tight. I recommend ordering a size up. Also, when seated that slit is HIGH...I was at a table most of the night so it wasn't an issue, but would have been if I was sitting elsewhere :-) All in all happy with the dress!!
Kat
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

It was an amazing night with great people!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a New Years Eve party I threw from my mom's birthday. loved it and got so many compliments on it. I wore the size 4R and actually the size 2R. The 2 was a little snug but still was able to move around in it comfortable. Its a gorgeous dress to wear for a nice occasion.
Heather
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 3, 2015

Classy and elegant, formal enough for a black tie event that I attended.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I never write reviews for anything but for this dress I had to. The dress fit beautifully and more importantly I felt beautiful in it. I was worried it was going to be too short given my height and my choice of 4" heels. It was the perfect length. It is form fitting enough to show off your shape but has elegant ruching and draping that covers your mid-section. The slit up the side was enough to show off some skin but still covered enough to keep it classy. I paired it with a statement necklace and shoes it really tied the whole look together for me. I couldn't be more pleased with this dress- I wish I could have kept it!
Andie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 5, 2015

The dress! The slit! The draping! Oh my!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my first gala and could not have gone with a better selection. I fretted over options for three weeks before a couple of stylists helped me choose this dress via an email session. It arrived well in advance and came in perfect condition. I am 5'7 (the girl on the right is me!) and wore 3" heels and went back and forth between the long and the regular lengths. In the end I chose the long length and it was perfect! Not once did I worry about tripping on my dress. I go back and forth between a 10 and a 12 and I opted for the 12 so it would fit over my chest. Be sure to make sure all of the fabric is in place before zipping it up otherwise you will have a hard time! The slit was perfect and made me feel like Angelina Jolie at the Oscars. My stomach is not my best feature and even though I wore Spanx, the jersey material of the dress was clingy and accentuated my stomach, so be prepared to suck it in all night! The ruching did not cover as much of my stomach as I hoped but I still loved the dress over all. Perfect for dancing and moving! Definitely consider this dress for your next black tie event.
RTR Customer
Feb 7, 2015

The dress is gorgeous on. The flow makes you feel like you are swooshing through the room.

Size worn: 2P
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bust is tight. Had to try a few bras.
VS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Comfortable and beautiful.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was surprised that this dress was so short. I should have ordered the long. It was very comfortable and fit great but I almost didn't wear it because of the length. I liked the fabric and the way the dress looked on my body. I wore my hair down and added dazzling earrings and fantastic heels.
Marisa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

How many compliments I received on the dress.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! It did got a little short. I'm 5'4", and it was too short with my initial heels I had picked out (4").
Rhonda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

I felt so beautiful.

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful. Fit true to size, I may have gone with 0L but wasn't available. Length was perfect wore low heels. Got compliments all night and shared with many about rent the runway who had never heard of them.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×