Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1115 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(716)
Small
(102)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2017
A beautiful dress worn on a beautiful day!
This dress fit like a glove! The only negative thing about this dress is that the sleeves are a little on the short side, other than that this dress was absolutely perfect!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 13, 2017
A classically beautiful dress!
This dress was stunning! Perfect for hourglass figures - doesn't add volume, highlights the waistline, and hides just what it needs to. And I loved that sexy slit! It was also very comfortable. If I had more formal events on my schedule, I would've bought it! 5'6" 170lbs, 36D.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2017
It was my first Marine Corps Ball and I was so nervous, but my date made the night unforgettable.
The pros were how sleek I looked in my dress. I got so many compliments and it looked stunning. The slit was perfect and the length was just right for my stilettos. The first dress I got was a little big and that was the 4p, plus there was a small tear. Thank God for that second free dress. You cannot go wrong in this dress and the material felt good on my skin. The only thing was that the sleeves were kind of tight on my arms.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
August 29, 2017
Too short for me
I ordered this to wear to a black tie wedding and it just didn't work. I'm 5'8 and it hit my ankles without shoes.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
August 29, 2017
Very Classy!
I'm 5'3" and weigh 130 lbs. This fit perfectly and was very classy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
August 23, 2017
To get called beautiful when your 4 months pteggp and nothing else fits. It really is special.
It fit perfectly. Before pregnancy i would wear 12/10 . Im 5'4 and this was perfect with my preggo friendly wedges. It was great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2017
The dress was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! I got a million compliments and it fit like a glove.
I actually ordered 2 sizes too large because I am bigger in the hips than I am in the waist so I was worried about sizing. I had to size down the day before we flew out and I was able to get a new dress overnight-shipped which was awesome. Luckily, I live near a store so I was able to go in to try it on. The company was incredibly easy to work with and the process was so easy. I will say the dress smelled a little like fish which was disappointing but not enough to affect my overall experience. The dress itself fit amazing, looked amazing, and I wish I owned it in real life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
July 27, 2017
Classic / Fun / sexy / quirky
I have never worn something so slinky... it normally doesn't go with my body shape. But this dress was amazing. Covered my problem areas, yet sleek and eclectic. I might actually rent this again! I felt amazing all night. Wore it to a wedding in Mexico and paired the dress with lace up gladiators for a "Roman" vibe. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2017
Perfect black beauty!
Like many have already said, this dress is perfect for when you're feeling less than perfect. It hides any imperfection that could possibly exist and makes you feel like a million bucks. I am 5'9 and the regular worked just fine. I even wore 3-inch heels and no train existed - fine with me! I highly recommend this dress. Add the Elizabeth Cole Bacall earrings for a glistening touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 16, 2017
EXTREMELY FLATTERING!
I rented this dress for a black tie event 1 month after having a baby. It was extremely flattering and I received tons of compliments. This is a great dress for anyone wanting to "hide" your belly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 13, 2017
Perfect for military ball
Very classy for a formal affair. There is a lot of material like the others said but I found it to be flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2017
Great dress. I received several compliments throughout the night. I highly recommend the dress.
Great dress. I highly recommend the dress for formal events. The dress is true to size and the material is perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 6, 2017
Perfect Black Dress!!
I was beyond obsessed with this dress!! It fit like a glove and I recieved so many compliments. The leg slit adds the perfect little pop without showing too much skin. Super comfortable, easy to move and dance in it. I LOVED this dress!! Will defiently rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2017
This dress made me feel so glamourous
The fabric felt expensive and sturdy. It highlighted my curves in all the right places and was very forgiving in areas I needed it to be. It was a comfortable dress and easy to move in. I'm cold natured so it was perfect for a cold February night. Highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2017
This dress was stunning!
Lovely fit. I'm 5'8, wore 3in heels & it hit the floor just right. After the seated dinner I was able to dance the night away. Very comfortable & classy. Loved it!
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2017
It fit so amazing and got a ton of compliments
true to size and fits like a glove.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
June 7, 2017
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT....even with it on the hanger.
I received the dress I rented ON TIME. Even before the EST. time. It was packed nicely and neatly. Rent the Runway makes it look effortless. WAIT! It is effortless. So glad I stumbled upon this site. I love this dress. It's me to a tee. Simple but eloquent. Sassy but not too much. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT. The earrings, I will just say, I am going to slay. I will post a picture after the event. Thanks Rent the Runway. What a fabulous idea.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2017
Perfect dress for my engagement photos.
Runs a little small. If you're 5'7 or taller, order a long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 6, 2017
Beautiful but didn't fit
I rented this dress for a friend's evening wedding and both the 8 and 10 did not fit around my hips/thighs. The material appears to have stretch but it really doesn't. The draping was confusing and made it difficult to put on and for me, was just too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 1, 2017
Brother-in-law's wedding
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable for a winter wedding, I could dance freely, and appreciated the slit. I was concerned the arms might be too long on me, but the arm length was great too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 43
May 24, 2017
Very comfortable, slimming and elegant. Wore to a black tie affair
True to size. I'm 5'6" I could have gone with the regular but for my 6 inch hills I wanted it longer. Great Dress Many Compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2017
Engagement Pictures
I used this dress for my second, more formal outfit for engagement pictures. I'm 5'10" wore the 4L, had heels on and it was still long enough! Very classy & flattering. Would rent again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 14, 2017
Beautiful fit Felt very old Hollywood glamorous
Fit true to size Hugged my curves perfectly Very comfortable fabric I'm hourglass figure and it's a perfect dress for that body type I'm really short (5'2) so I ordered the petite and it still was a little long but with my 4 inch heels I was fine The slit was not too high on my leg, barely over my knee but then again I'm really short Wore this dress to my husband's military ball and I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
May 14, 2017
This dress fit great. True to size.
I wore this to a formal gala with work colleagues. I am larger on top and needed something less revealing. This dress did the trick. Classic black dress that can be dressed up with some accessories. Very comfortable and a great fit.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
May 10, 2017
I was 5 months pregnant and the most comfortable I have ever been in a formal dress! perfect in pics
I wore this to my Work Gala, I was 5 months pregnant and I am 5ft tall, the 6R hugged my belly and the length was perfect with 4.5 inch heels. love the extra fabric on the side to add a hint of style to an all black but classy dress, I Recommend!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 9, 2017
Wore this for a night at the opera
When I ordered this, I couldn't order the long size and that would have really helped. BUT that being said, the regular length ended up working out even with heels (it just was more ankle length). Fit true to size, would definitely rent this one again!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
May 9, 2017
The dress was amazing! So comfortable, classy with the neckline but sexy with the slit!
Zero cons for this dress, would recommend
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
May 7, 2017
Elegant Gown was an eye catcher
I absolutely loved this gown. It was true to size and looked so beautiful on. I received so many compliments. There is a good amount of stretch and covers all the problem areas. I'm 5'1" and got the regular after reading the reviews , it dragged a little, but it looked like it had a little train. Didn't want to take it off, will definitely rent again with RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2017
Retro Hollywood perfection!
This dress was amazing! For a girl trying to lose weight and be body positive, this dress sure did the trick. Fits very nice and falls just right and the slit is not too much. Only thing is that it was hard to get on at first.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2017
fit was perfect! loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
April 27, 2017
This dress was not for me.
I did not like all the drapery on this dress. I feel it hid my figure and was not flattering. I felt frumpy. The length was good if I was to wear it and the size was accurate. I did not wear this dress to my event and was pretty disappointed. Be aware there is a lot of fabric.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
April 26, 2017
Sadly, my event was snowed out so I didn't get to wear it out :-(
Fit rather true to size, maybe a touch big. Super flattering and the leg slit made it just the right amount of sexy. Super bummed I didn't get to show this off, but will totally rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 25, 2017
Comfortable, flattering and an easy material to wear
Incredibly comfortable and flattering. I received many compliments and would rent it again.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
April 24, 2017
Black Tie Gala
Fabric was nice, but was quite short. I ordered the 16R and wish I would have ordered the long. I ended up having to wear flats to accommodate the length (or lack there of).
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2017
All around perfect!
Easily put I was not feeling very confident about my post baby body. So I needed something flattering. I hadn't even tried it on to moments before we left. Let me just say it was super comfortable and fit perfectly. Fell in love RTR--this busy working mom had no time to look for a dress and found one and had it shipped same week.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 22, 2017
The process was simple and easy. I received the dress exactly when I was told I would.
This dress is amazing! It hugs your curves and is super comfortable. It is sexy without being revealing and the draping details are beautiful. I rented it to accompany my boyfriend to an awards gala and I received compliments all night. I would definitely rent this dress again if I had an occasion to do so.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 200lbs
April 20, 2017
Quite small
This didn't seem like a 14. I've had lots of luck with 14's on RTR, but this barely went over my head. Material was heavier and less forgiving than I thought.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 18, 2017
So comfortable and so flattering!
This dress was perfect for my black and white gala. I loved how it fit and flattered all the right places. The length was perfect with heels and the slit made the dress sophisticated sexy. I am actually a 32G and this had enough room in the bust, the fabric stretches nicely. I wore spanx but I don't think I needed to. I paired it with an incredible Oscar de la Renta necklace (also from RTR).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 14, 2017
I was on stage in front of a large group of people 6 months after having my third baby.
This dress hugged all the right places and hid the ones I'm still working on. The slit made the dress sexy. The draping is fantastic on a curvy body. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
April 9, 2017
Great black tie dress. Flattering, not too flimsy, great cut.
I'm 5'10" and a size 8. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×