Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1207 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(769)
Small
(104)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
January 18, 2015
Absolutely stunning!!

This dress runs true to size! I was nervous about the length but the 0R was prefect! This dress fit like a glove! I would rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 18, 2015
I loved having a unique dress different from anyone there!

Fit was beautiful. The leg slit was super sexy. The material weight was very nice and breatheable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 19, 2015
This dress is stunning! I got countless compliments and felt amazing. It was comfortable and warm!

Gorgeous dress! I wore it to a black tie wedding in the dead of Chicago winter...it was thick enough to only need a shawl. I usually wear a 2/4 depending on the designer and the 4 fit perfectly. Length was perfect, too.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 25, 2015
Compliments all night!

The dress fit true to size and was a perfect length for me. I'm 5'3" and wore a 3/4" heel. It was the perfect dress to wear to a black tie wedding at a mansion. I felt so glamorous. I would definitely recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 26, 2015
I didn't like this dress on me and ended up wearing my back-up dress.

I am very curvy and generally wear a size 12 in dresses but a size 14 in slacks. This dress fit very snug, and I felt that it made my hips and rear look very big.

Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
January 30, 2015
Classic and simple. Can't go wrong!

Ordered the 8 and 10, wore the 10. I usually wear a 8, but it was way too tight. I recommend ordering a size up. Also, when seated that slit is HIGH...I was at a table most of the night so it wasn't an issue, but would have been if I was sitting elsewhere :-) All in all happy with the dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
February 3, 2015
Too short. Didn't wear.

The dress was too short. Not bump friendly at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 7, 2015
The dress is gorgeous on. The flow makes you feel like you are swooshing through the room.

The bust is tight. Had to try a few bras.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2015
How many compliments I received on the dress.

Beautiful dress! It did got a little short. I'm 5'4", and it was too short with my initial heels I had picked out (4").

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 8, 2015
I felt so beautiful.

This dress is absolutely beautiful. Fit true to size, I may have gone with 0L but wasn't available. Length was perfect wore low heels. Got compliments all night and shared with many about rent the runway who had never heard of them.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
February 8, 2015
Love this dress!

I'm 5'1 and the 0 petite fit perfectly! The size 0 was a little too big and long. The 0 petite was a perfect length even with heels! The material of the dress is thick enough but not too hot. Perfect for a winter wedding. I wore it to a charity event. I would rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 9, 2015
Everything arrived on time.

The gown fit beautifully . However, I usually wear between a 2 or a 4. In this dress, the 4 was perfect and the 2 was too small. The dress was well made . It was understated glamor. I would recommend for any winter formal affair.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 9, 2015
Wore this for one of my friend's winter wedding in Taos, NM. Dress was perfect for the weather.

Definitely runs true to size, recommend a size up as a second option. Fabric is heavy and form fitting. Loved the draping and length.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2015
Felt so classy & got so many compliments!!

I usually wear a 4-6. I ended up wearing the 6 because it was more comfortable, the only thing that bothered me was the size difference in the sleeves. The size 6 sleeves were almost too loose but for the most part you couldn't tell in photos so I didn't worry about it. The size 4 was a just little snug in the tummy and the sleeves were a little short.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 19, 2015
The customer service!

The dress fit perfectly. You cannot zipper this on your own. I needed help.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 22, 2015
Did not wear

The fit was good, but I did not end of wearing because this dress is really heavy. There is a lot of fabric and I just could not imagine carrying so much fabric around! Ended up going with a Sheath dress that I also rented.

Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
February 25, 2015
Didn't like it at first, but it grew on me

When I first put on the dress, I was very unhappy. It didn't look like the picture at all. I'm pretty curvy, especially through the hips, so I had to size up to fit my hips. In the 12L the rushing on my right hip looked horrible, but it looked much better in the 14R. I wish I could have gotten the 14L because the dress was too short and showed my entire foot. Overall it was VERY comfortable, and I ended up liking it, but I don't think I would rent it again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 1, 2015
I felt great and my husband loves how I looked!

This dress was super comfortable. It fit very well and was flattering. It was perfect in for a chilly evening. I didn't even need a wrap.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
March 1, 2015
Very easy

I loved the dress, it was comfortable all night. I ended up wearing the 14P instead of the 12R because my shoes were not high enough for the regular length. Overall I was very satisfied with my rental. The 14 was a little big for me but not noticeable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 2, 2015
Perfect for formal winter event!

I wish I could keep this gown!! Perfect fit! So comfortable, fabric is stretchy so it's great for dancing and the leg slit gives lots of motion! I received so many compliments! I ordered the long, happy I did because it wasn't as long as I thought it would be! I had to wear different shoes as my original ones made the dress way too short...I saw in other reviews people complaining that the fabric was heavy, I didn't feel that at all! Sexy and glamorous was all I felt in this gown! Definitely renting again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 7, 2015
The dress was perfect

The fit is true to size and very flattering. If it's a warmer day the dress would probably be hot so keep temperature in mind. But I got so many compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 8, 2015
The representative on the phone that suggested this dress was extremely helpful!

When I took the dress out of the bag it looked like a curtain but it was definitely a WOW when I put it on. I have never liked how long dresses fit on me but this one was very flattering. Great fit and sexy for hour glass figure.

Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
March 9, 2015
Due to bad weather my dress was delayed but RTR worked magic and made sure I got my dress in time!

The dress was very comfortable and I would highly recommend it. I wore regular undergarments, but I would suggest nude underwear as the slit comes up high and flashing is a possibility.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 12, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress. Classic and stunning.

Loved the fit of the dress and the drape along the midsection. I was comfortable the whole evening. The length almost hit the ground when I was barefooted, but was a little short with heels. I don't feel this deterred from the overall look of the dress, though.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2015
People asked where I got the dress. I received many compliments and that is always a plus!

It fit well, the slit was a bit too high for my liking however I made it work and felt comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
March 25, 2015
It was a very elegant gown that was simple, yet made a statement.

The fit was true to size, however the sleeves on mine seemed a little baggy as if someone had rolled them up at one time. The dress the perfect length to wear with wedges and wasn't too long when it was necessary to go barefoot on the beach. All in all it was a good dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 25, 2015
Simple and glamorous

Very comfortable for a formal event. Runs slightly on the shorter side so if you are 5'7 or taller I would get a long. Fabric is thicker and forgiving. Only complaint is the the lining twisted oddly and showed through the slit up the front, while the other size I ordered did not have this issue. Overall, I was very happy with the dress. Customer service was also very helpful and quick to respond as this was my first rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2015
Ordered this as a second option and would not recommend

Warning: this dress runs small, or rather, SHORT! I ordered this dress as a back up for a wedding. I typically fit perfectly in Badgley Mischka's. 6L but this dress was weird short, including the sleeves. There's a bunch of gathered fabric that also falls weirdly on the hip. I would not recommend this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
Glamorous

The dress has ruching on sides and back. It is fitted (without ruching) on stomach area but so form fitting. Loved it

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2015
Great look but wasn't appropriate for the event I was attending.

Tight fit with thin material

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 1, 2015
Worked perfectly for my event!

I had originally ordered a 4L, but two days before my event I was notified that the dress was damaged and would not be sent to me. It was disappointing, but RTR ended up sending me this dress in a 2L and another dress that I really didn't care for. The 2L ended up fitting really well, the sleeves were just a little short. The dress was perfect for my event and was extremely comfortable and flattering (I coordinated the event and was running around all night). I received many compliments on this unique and beautiful dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 2, 2015
The dress was elegant and slimming!

The dress fit great! I read on reviews that it was short so I ordered the 0R and 0L and ended up wearing the 0L. I am 5'6" and fit great!! Runs true to size and is very very comfortable. It was elegant and very slimming and was a great dress to wear. I would definitely wear again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Perfect fit!

I ordered 2 dresses from this designer in a 4R. I ended up wearing the other dress only because it was a warmer night and the other had short sleeves. I'm curvy and this dress looked and felt great! Length was perfect for heels!!

Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 13, 2015
This gown gives you so much confidence. A little bit of sexy with a glamorous touch!

I wore this gown to a black tie 21st birthday event. I was beyond pleased with my choice! The gown was extremely comfortable and easy to move in. The slit on the leg shows just enough leg to make you feel sexy but overall still gives that classic glamorous look which is exactly what I wanted. The details of the dress do not photograph well however it is gorgeous in person and the material is great. The fabric is a little thick so you may get a little hot in it but that wouldn't stop me from wearing this again! If you are curvy, it shows off the body very well. I am 5'5, I wore 4 1/2 inch heels so the 8 long was perfect because I wanted it to be floor length. Accessories are key with this gown so don't be afraid to get glamorous with your jewelry! Overall I loved it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 13, 2015
Loved the dress! I received so many compliments!

I'm 5'4" and the 2long was perfect! I wore 3 inch heels then switched to flats half way through the night and had no problems. It was so comfortable and slightly stretchy- plus it kept me warm all night. I would def rent this dress again! The only suggestion I have is order the long....

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2015
Didn't wear this dress.

The dress just isn't for my body type. This would be perfect on a curvy girl!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2015
Got to wear a gown that made me feel like a million $ & I could say the designer name so proudly!

It has stretchy material and love the draping

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2015
Everything.

Wish it was a tad bit longer but worked overall with the large slit. Loved the fit.

Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
January 4, 2016
Didn't spend a fortune for something I would never wear again.

Fit was perfect. Would definitely recommend shape wear though. Long was perfect with 3" heels. Received so many compliments and was asked several times if I had lost weight - when I hadn't.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 270lbs
October 26, 2015
The dress was eloquent!!!

The dress fit amazing. I felt it was true to size. I am 5'7" and the length was perfect. I would definitely rent this dress again for a special occasion. I really like the designer. I did not need to wear spanxs or a special bra. So I was very comfortable.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×