Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

644 reviews

Fit
Small 77
True to Size 459
Large 35
Photos 415
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

I am never BUYING a dress again!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For my best friend's fancy black-tie wedding, the only bridesmaid requirement was to wear a floor-length black dress. I knew that all of my fellow bmaids were going to go the slinky route, and I wanted something different-- long sleeves and no cleavage seemed like a good way to go. When the dress arrived I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was, and the draping around the hips gave it some spice as opposed to just being a plain column dress. I thought this was a "modest" dress, but it's body-con fit, and slit up-to-there made it sexy in a less-is-more kind of way. I was complimented all night long, and really-- after this weekend I have decided that I am never buying a dress again when I can have the luxury of "RTR"ing for every event. Was so happy with my pick, would love to wear it again... but know I'll prob pick a completely different dress next time. :) My only gripe was something that nobody else except me would probably even notice, but I'm tall and thin, and the Extra Long version of this dress was not made in my size. With heels on, I felt like the dress could have used an extra inch or two.
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Dec 3, 2012

Loved this dress. Feel like a million bucks in it.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for our holiday party. I received so many compliments. I'm 5'9" and glad I got the long. I wore 4" heels and the dress it the ground. It was perfect. The fabric had a heavy feel to it which is perfect for this style of a dress. The dress fit right in all the right places. I would highly recommend this dress for any special occasion. This was my first time using RTR and I had a fantastic experience. I will rent from RTR again!
Cassie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

I received so many compliments in this dress and I truly felt like a classy woman.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this gown for a military ball that I attended with my officer husband. I wanted to be classy and sophisticated to represent him, yet also trendy. I think this dress truly accomplished that exact vision. The overall fit was accurate with my size, including the length. The material around the hips was more excessive than noticed in the photo. At first I was unsure about that, but upon wearing the dress for the event, I hardly noticed it at all and it photographs very nicely. The ball was in Vegas and this is hardly a Vegas clubbing dress... but I wore the dress out to the clubs and still received compliments from non-military ball attendees at those clubs. I would highly recommend this dress for the exact vision I mentioned above, and I wish I owned this dress because it can be worn to many different events.
Hailey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

I couldn't have felt more elegant.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had originally ordered a 4R, because my ideal size, the 4L, was not available. Fortunately, I decided to check the availability again after already having ordered the 4R. I saw that a 4L was available and thanks to the incredible customer service, I was able to procure it! The fit was perfect. I wore 5" heels and the dress got in my way when I walked, but after 6 hours wearing it I was a pro by the end of the night! The drapery was beautiful. The simplicity of the dress let me stand out against all the other women in attendance. I would definitely rent this dress again. It was like wearing pajamas! So comfortable- plus, I could wear spanx without detection. I also didn't need to tan!
Cleeso
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

All my friends raved about the elegance of this dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect and this is a dress that will look good on many body types, including petite but voluptuous me. So glad I did RTR for my work gala!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Awesome for black tie!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was weird on this. Half of it was longer than the other. Hard to describe. I'm glad I went with a long. I could have even gotten the xl. Gathering is weird too but looks good from afar. I would rent this again. I received many compliments.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Nov 6, 2012

Never have I ever worn such a beautiful gown!

Size worn: 12XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress for the ball. Very sophisticated and elegant. I loved the fit, color and texture. It was a very heavy gown but it wasn't overwhelming. I ordered the XL because I am 5'9'' and wore 4in heels. It swept perfectly on the floor!! Not too long and definitly not too short. I will be returning for my next event.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 30, 2012

Perfection

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wish I had better pictures to explain how amazing thus dress is. It wasn't what I expected when I first opened the package because it is a mid weight rayon jersey, but on it hugs in all the right places and is super flattering. For those who complained about the fabric not laying in the right place, I feel they may have not had hips to pull this off. Slit doesn't really allow you to wear spanx, but I just rolled the leg of mine up a little. Super glamorous and received compliments all night at the wedding. This is a must rent for any formal affair this winter.
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

So comfortable, and flattering!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was probably my favorite dress I have ever worn! The material was on the heavy side, so it didn't feel clingy. The long sleeves were perfect for my October event. I felt that it was extremely appropriate for my formal event which was the 25th annual Gala for Golisano Children's Hospital. I got so many compliments on the dress!
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2012

Felt amazing all night long

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a great dress. I wore this to a black tie event, and felt so confident in this as I walked the room. I love the bit of leg that peaked out. I am 5'8"/5'9" and got the long with about 3 inch heels. The gown hit the floor exactly, but I probably could have gotten the regular length gown and just worn lower heels. I also loved the statement earrings I wore with this (Dannijo Cecile Earrings). They were perfect for this.
Tanya S.
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Channel your inner Angelina!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR does it again! Loved this dress, received compliments all night long! It fit perfectly, I was a little worried about how the draping around the hips would look, but it did not add too much there. I have a little junk in the trunk (not a whole lot, but enough that I have to be careful the type of dresses I get), but it still fit and laid perfectly. I'm small up top, but was still able to accentuate what I have. Fit nicely through the waste. Didn't need spanks for smoothing, the lining was really good. I have on platform shoes and it just hit the floor with those, I'm 5'6", with shorter heals I would have been tripping all over myself. Overall, definite winner, classic Badgley Mischka.
Rosario
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

I felt like a celebrity !!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
WOWWW! From the moment I received the dress to the moment I wore it I was pleased. The material is really comfortable and it hides everything that needs to be hidden (after two kids, lol). I accessorized this piece with gold/black earrings with diamonds embroiled on it, a gold clutch, gold bangle and black shoes. I must admit that this is a dress that will make a statement. I was approached by soooo manyyyy people saying that I looked sensational. This was one of the best things I have ever done, rent a dress from RTR :) You guys are magnificent.
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

Received a lot of compliments and felt very comfortable and confident.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is simple and classy. I wore It to the symphony and felt very appropriately dressed. If you are above 5'6 however, I would recommend renting a Long size.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 21, 2015

Did not wear.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was a little off. Very heavy fabric... Not for a summer event for sure!
Al
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I felt pretty in the dress.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabulous dress. True to size and I am a busty girl. Overall loved the dress.
Jaime
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 9, 2015

I got the dress and wasn't able to wear it because it made my hips look really large.

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress made me look about 10 lbs heavier than I actually am. I have 5'7" and 155lbs with a pretty apple shaped body. I hold my weight in my stomach, love handles and chest. I was really disappointed that the dress didn't' look good on me because it looked good on other girls in the pictures, but if you carry weight in your love handles/lower stomach/lower back this dress will make you look bigger than you are as the rouching sits right there.
Chrystal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Beautiful gown

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful as I got several compliments through out the night, however my original plan was to return it for the length. I am only 5'2 and the dress did not fall correctly I had to change the shoes I originally planned on wearing. Also it seamed quite worn, I am not sure how many wears they get before the stop renting or reduce the price but the dress had signs that it has been worn several time.
Susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 2, 2015

did not wear, poor proportion for petite

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress has an excess of fabric in the middle area - on a petite, this is in the thigh area... it looks like saddlebags in the worst part of the body possible!! Too bad, the top part fit very well.
Monica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 1, 2015

I wore this for a black tie fundraiser in the fall. This worked beautifully.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would've preferred the extra long length since I was wearing heels, but the long length worked fine. The slit is very high and no amount of crossing your legs while sitting would hide that. That said, it definitely felt glamorous to walk around in, and I would consider wearing it again if the chance arose.
Beck
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133 lbs
May 26, 2015

Great winter formal gown. Very classy.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Worn for a gala. No surprises. Fit perfectly. Looked great with 4" heels, silver bangle bracelets and chandelier earrings. Very comfortable.
Jess
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2015

Great!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a wonderful dress. Very elegant and very comfortable as well as flattering. Fit true to size.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 23, 2015

Too much fabric

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
I really wanted to like this dress but it had way to much fabric and the slit never matched up right with all the fabric underneath and just felt way too heavy.
jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
May 19, 2015

Every experience I have had with RTR has been memorable

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was nice, I would not say it was my favorite out of all the dresses I have rented but it was nice, comfortable and very appropriate for my family wedding. The dress fit true to size however the extra fabric in the front kind of just hanged to the side and I found myself trying to fix it all night but other than that I was very comfortable in it.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
May 17, 2015

Dress looked great! I received many compliments! Classy and sexy.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect length for me. Comfortable fit. The slit was great, gave the dress that extra flair. Definitely recommend!
Katie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 11, 2015

Very classy dress.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a classy simple dress but accessories are definitely needed. It is very plain and the slit only came to my knee. Could have used the 0P.
Amanda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
May 8, 2015

I felt really pretty even though I didn't feel all that well!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit a little big and definitely stretched out through the night but I knew that going into the evening. I was newly pregnant so I wasn't feeling very hot and this dress was comfortable and pretty without being too stuffy or too over the top. I would recommend it to anyone want to be comfy but still feel beautiful!
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
May 7, 2015

Not flattering if you have curves...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think this dress is best made for a taller woman with not that many curves. I couldn't tell in the picture, but there is this draped piece of fabric around the waist and but that gives you more butt... if you already are curvy, all it reminded me of was a Cinderella step-sister. Beautiful fabric though. Hopefully in the future I can order and feel better about it!
Tasha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2015

Beautiful dress. Received compliments all night long. Would wear this dress again if I could. Love!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit perfectly, the slit up the leg was just enough to give you the edge you needed, while the top of the dress covered you up. Everyone wanted to know where I bought the dress. This dress fits your body like a glove, the length was perfect and fabric was nice. Would definitely wear this look again if I had the chance.
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2015

Couldn't wear it, had to send it back :(

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have worn Badgley Mischka in the past with no issue but when I rented the same size I typically do, it was much smaller and I had to send it back without wearing it. It is very tight across the shoulders/armpits and even the Long length looks short with heels. Not my favorite piece!
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 6, 2015

Everyone complimented me on the dress.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an evening wedding in May held on the water. During the day it was a little warm but it was perfect at night when it started to get chilly out. I was looking for a dress to hide the extra weight I have recently put on and this dress did a good job of that. Everyone complimented me on the dress which was awesome!
Lynn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 5, 2015

Perfect fit

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was the perfect length and did not drag on the floor, even when wearing flats. I am 5' 2'' and I was able to wear flats before changing into heels without a length problem. The dress also wraps the body nicely and felt comfortable throughout the night.
Tahnicia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
May 3, 2015

This dress fit perfectly! I wore this to a formal/evening wedding. Compliments cures.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Compliments curves. The slit gave it the perfect amount of sex appeal. I receive compliments the entire night!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 2, 2015

Too short for me

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't wear this dress because it was super short even without shoes on. Definitely get a long if you're over 5'-6"
Evvie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 132 lbs
May 1, 2015

Elegant and formal, but COMFY

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I followed the advice other reviewers posted on length - indeed, as the night goes on, because it is so long, it can drag, but it was sooo comfy. Got tons of compliments, and was ridiculously comfortable at the same time.
Helen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Dress did not fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was too short and ill fitting around the waist. However my experience with RTR was once again amazing. I was able to run down to the showroom and get assistance with finding a new dress the same day!
Chewie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

The reaction of people was priceless. I wore this dress for a Black Tie event.

Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I jazzed it up a bit by adding a broach to the side detail. It flowed nicely. It ran a bit longer than I expected.
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Apr 27, 2015

I never even wore it as it couldn't zip over my wide shoulders

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs very long so not ideal if you are short. I couldn't zip it over my back at its widest point. My breasts are not very large (C cups) but I guess my back might be broad.
mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

I did not get to wear the dress. My husband became very ill and was admitted into the hospital.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
he was in hospital until January 14th.
Ashleigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 147 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

This dress was awesome.

Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The material this dress is made out of is very comfortable! I was nervous because I thought I ordered 2 dresses and when I only had one I panicked however, the dress fit perfect!!
Meghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Everything.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Wedding
Wish it was a tad bit longer but worked overall with the large slit. Loved the fit.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×