Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
942 reviews
Fit
Large57
True to Size629
Small92
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
March 20, 2016
Incredibly comfortable and forgiving
Went to a corporate awards ceremony in NYC and the dress was very appropriate. Order long if you're taller than 5'6". Wore my hair in a elegant pony tail and felt great. Wasn't too tight. The material is very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 18, 2016
I received a lot of compliments!
This dress is beautiful! It fit true to size and I was able to wear a regular bra with it. It is a heavy dress, so be prepared for that. I wore it to an event on a cold night in Boston, so that worked out well! I will say the only possible negative is that it has a little bit of fussiness to it. There is a significant amount of ruching on the side which got a bit tangled up during travel and it was confusing to figure out the positioning. But once I got that sorted it out I didn't need to bother with it again. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 16, 2016
Overall the dress fit perfectly! Black tie worthy!
The fit was great, and fabric hit the perfect spots and the way the front and back fabric hang hides all the right places. Great length for three inch heels. The slit adds just the right layer of flare.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2016
I have rented this dress twice and have loved it.
Fits perfect on hourglass figure. I wear a size 12 and have a small waist. The dress fit perfectly and wasn't too thin of material. I have rented it twice because of the comfort and how it fits me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 10, 2016
Everyone was complimenting the dress! It was perfect for the formal event!
It's form fitting but has a gathering right where I needed to cover a little. The length was perfect at my height for 5'10". I wore heels that were 2 inches. The dress was not dragging on the floor. Great dress for a formal event in the winter! Zipper is a little tricky once it gets down to a certain point.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2016
Comfortable, elegant.
This was my back up size as the 6L was unavailable. I found it to be true to size and feel like I could have gone either way with the sizes. I'm 5'8" and even with 3in heels I didn't think this dress was long enough for my liking. It was comfortable, the material was heavy but in a good way. I had my eye on this gown for a long time and so glad I finally had a reason to wear it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 6, 2016
The dress fit perfectly the only thing was the sleeves were a little short but I'm super tall so.
Great rental
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
March 3, 2016
I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It is so classy without having to have too much on.
I got both a size 8 and a size 10. When it comes to dresses, my upper top size usually makes me go up in size (36 DD) but this dress fit perfect in 8. I got the R because I read the P usually runs short and since I was wearing 3 inch heels didn’t want them to necessarily be seen too much. The R was perfect and showed just enough of my shoes to get asked to see them again. ( Which was awesome because I wore statement heels with bling on the back of them.) My usual “problem” area is my tummy but with this dress I couldn’t even tell there was an issue and the rest of the dress hugged the rest of my curves. Overall I would wear this dress to any black tie event and feel absolutely gorgeous. Only issue I had was that it came on a hanger that really wouldn't hold it up. This caused it to fall and scrunch up at the bottom of the plastic bag. It got wrinkled and had to have the hotel we were staying at emergency steam it for us.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2016
Perfect for a corporate event! Sleek
I chose the 4L as my first choice, and 2L as my second. Reviews I had read earlier said to choose the Long if you were wearing heels. Although the length was great, it was almost too long, but then again, I am only 5'3. When walking around, it needed to be picked up a little so it wasn't dragging, which I wasn't bothered by. The overall fit was nice, but almost a little too big. They were out of stock in my second choice (2L), which I would have chosen had it been available. Since I was dead set on wearing this particular dress, I settled for it being a little loose and not as form fitting as I would have liked. Overall, I loved it and received many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 3, 2016
I did not end up wearing this dress.
The dress itself fit very well; however, it was a little short. I am 5'7 and it didn't even touch the floor barefoot. I ended up going with another dress. If you are taller than 5'5 and plan on wearing heels, I would recommend getting the Long
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
March 2, 2016
Super warm and comfortable
I wore this for my company's holiday party, which was a prom theme. I received many compliments on it, but I felt like it was a little too big in the shoulders and the arms. The length was perfect with heels, and I loved the slit. The design on the front of the dress is a little weird, I ended up tucking it in, because leaving it out made it look like I was wearing a fanny pack.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
March 1, 2016
Very comfortable dress to wear, many compliments on how nice I looked.
The dress fits well, has a bit of give, I'm a size larger on top, with smaller hips so this fit me well. The zipper is a bit of a pain to get up so needed help with that. I felt elegant and comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 1, 2016
Cute but SHORT!!
Get a long!! I always wear a 4R (I'm 5'5'') and could NOT have worn the regular. It was above my ankles. So thankful for the free second size as I got the long on a whim and it worked perfectly. Its an adorable dress if you get the right length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2016
Good
This was a good dress and material. I'm usually a size 8 in RTR Dresses, but it was unavailable, Last minute. The 6L was a little shorter on me, didn't drag the floor like I would've preferred. Unfortunately the lining was off on this free and it showed at the split. It holds you in and didn't even have to wear my spanx. Good for a sexy conservative dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 29, 2016
Gorgeous comfortable dress !!
The dress fit perfectly and the draping is very flattering. The dress is extremely comfortable and the perfect length to cover my boots in the snow !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 29, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
The materials hugged my body perfectly, and the draping hid my belly and hips. Seriously made me feel like a million dollars. The leg slit adds enough skin that I didn't feel like a prude with a full sleeve-high neck dress. The material was heavy, but there were only a couple times I was really hot, and that was after dancing. Would rent again if my whole family hadn't seen me in this already!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 36
February 29, 2016
This dress is what made my event unforgettable!
This dress was everything! Very elegant! Lots of compliments! Will definitely rent another dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2016
Wasn't able to wear...
I felt that there was too much material around the neckline. I needed t a sir in between but it was unavailable. Wasn't able to wear and was dressier than I wanted... Will rent another time.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 25, 2016
The dress arrived without issues
The fit for this dress was perfect! I love how it highlighted my curves without being super tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2016
Classy and subtly glamorous!
This is one of my favorite pieces I've had the pleasure of wearing thanks to RTR. It's a very well made gown --- the structure of it, the draping, the way the fabric swings when you move --- and I felt like a million bucks after slipping into it. It would be a good choice for ladies who are worried about jiggly bits, because you can wear ALL of the Spanx with it --- I did! I'm usually straddling the line between a 4 and a 6, and the 4 zipped up without a hitch with room to spare, though I did have to wiggle a bit to pull it up over my hips and booty. But, trust me, if it fit ME in that area, other pear-shaped ladies need not fret. Overall, it was pretty true to size, and the long length was sufficient to mostly cover my 5 1/2 inch heels. The slit was just right on me --- high enough to be sultry, but nowhere near risqué. I turned a lot of heads and got a lot of compliments that night, and I felt so lovely. It was one of those that I didn't want to send back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
February 24, 2016
Maid of honor at my sister's wedding
The dress was amazing! True to size and the slit wasn't an issue walking down the aisle. I was comfortable all night. It's body hugging, but the design helps hide unwanted body bumps and undergarment lines. First time ordering from here, and it won't be the last!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
February 24, 2016
Felt like I was ready to walk the ready carpet. Classy and Comfortable.
I didn't get any full length photos which is a shame, it fit wonderful. Very classy dress, great fit. I was exceptionally worried over it when I got it - I ordered a 4L and a 2L. I didn't even try on the 4L because the 2L fit and was still a little big on me. The 2L when I got it had a small hole in the upper back/shoulder area, had a few stains which I reported to the RTR staff immediately! It was too late to send out a replacement & the 4L would've been way too big. So I wore the 2L regardless. Classy and comfortable, I was able to eat and dance the night away with no worries.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
Classy & Sexy ... GORGEOUS DRESS
I wore this to a black-tie event. Absolutely loved this dress. I am 5'8 and ordered a 6Long- I wore 3 inch heals and the length and fit was perfect. Unfortunately, I had some issues with the zipper. I made RTR aware of it and they handled it very satisfactorily. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Classy dress!
Fit true to size and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 22, 2016
This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
The dress fit perfectly, although if I had it to do again, I would have gone a size smaller as it is stretchy and does not run small. The dress still looked great. The only issue I had was the zipper broke before I even left for the event. I ended up using safety pins to keep the dress closed in the back for the remainder of the night.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
February 22, 2016
This dress was so perfect for a winter wedding! It was very comfortable.
I'm 5'4 and I've never worn anything 'long' in my life but this dress I needed the long because of wearing heels, it touched the floor and was perfect. The regular would have worked if I was wearing flat shoes but way too short for heels. Loved it! I would recommend this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
February 21, 2016
Classic Glam
Fit is amazing. The photo does not do it justice at all, the ruffling off to the side moves so well, and gives the dress an amazing glamour feel. Couldn't wear anything higher than a 3 inch heel even with the long size (I'm 5'10"). Originally ordered the 10L and 8L as a backup, but RTR emailed me at 9pm the evening before saying the 10L was not ready for me and they would send me something similar. They sent me the BGBGMaxAzria Kauri Gown which looks nothing like this dress - so that was disappointing. Luckily my backup sized fit - but renters beware - apparently things like that happen. Also, dress came with a lot of dust or deodorant stains - not sure if they were from the dress sitting in a warehouse, or from not being properly cleaned after the last renter. The material worked really well with rubbing the stains out with warm water, but it was very inconvenient on top of an already inconvenient order.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
This dress was awesome! Classy yet sexy.
I love this dress!! I wore it for a black tie event and received compliments all night. Its very comfortable and was great to dance in. I suggest getting the long if you are 5'7" or taller and want to wear high heel shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2016
Some of the longs are short in length. Overall fit was amazing. Beautiful and very classic look.
The 6L fit perfectly but the length was way to short, didn't even over part of my heels. Had to go up to the 8 just so the length would look right. The 8 was large on me but I was able to wear it still. It did get looser as the night went on. Arms became baggy and shoulders also became wider. Would wear this dress again and plan on renting it for my next winter event. If you are looking for a classic look this is the dress for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2016
Comfortable and conservative chic
Comfortable, flattering, and conservative. I wore it to my husband's black tie Christmas party in freezing Nebraska and received a lot of compliments while also staying somewhat warm. The bottom hem seemed a little worn to me but I don't think anyone else could notice.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2016
I wore this to my daughter's debutante ball in February & felt comfortable & elegant
This dress is a pretty heavy material so I would only recommend it for a winter event. I received a size 2 & size 0- there was not much difference & I ended up wearing the 0. It was comfortable & I felt good in it. The only thing I didn't like was the material kind of bunched up around the zipper in the back. Overall, I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
The dress contributed to the look i was aiming for!!
Fit was true to size. Dress was beautiful. The only issue was that i am 5'6 but the regular was to short. Next time I would rent the long version.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 15, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black and white ball that I attended!
It fit amazing! The split up the side along with the gathering of the fabric perfectly compliments curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2016
This dress is amazing for curves. Stunning leg slit.
The fit was pretty spot on. I carry my weight in my thighs and bottom, so that part was a little tight on me, which I expected. I'm 5'6.5 and definitely needed the long, so highly recommend that if you're 5'5 or above. This dress is amazing, definitely a show stopper.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2016
Unfortunate fit
This dress hit me wrong in the bust (lines kind of cut through the area strangely). It also doesn't rouche through the middle like it does on the model--it lays flat, which ends up looking less flattering with the swooping hips. The swoop in the hips also hit me too low, sort of a dropped waist, eliminating what should have been a very flattering fit. I ended up swapping this dress at a brick and mortar.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
February 15, 2016
This dress received so many compliments! I loved it and felt like a movie star!
I rented a 4R and 6P and wore the 4R. Most reviews said the dress ran short but I felt like even with 4 inch heels it was still long. Not sure how the 4P would have felt and looked, so I can't comment on which one I would have worn. This dress was awesome for my friends wedding. The bride actually said she was going to rent it for my wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 14, 2016
I loved how this dress fit my body.
Dress fit true to size. I loved the design just wished the ruffles and pleats were higher. The extra fabric hung by my hips and butt. I got several compliments and I was very comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 14, 2016
Very easy to wear - pretty, yet professional for a work function!
I wore this dress to a black tie work function. I was the only female of the group so it was important to me to keep my look conservative, but still have fun with it. This dress was perfect. This dress was so easy to wear and very comfortable. I am generally a 4R, which is what I wore. It fit perfectly. I have very long legs for my 5'5" frame and I'm fairly curvy - that said, I did not think the slit was too high at all. It landed just a few inches above my left knee.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2016
How comfortable I was.
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2016
Elegant & sexy..
I'm 5'9" & only regular length was available, did not work out, very short. Also sleeves were big but short, wide sleeves throughout. Excellent material. Gorgeous gown I wish it fit better for me, I'm still thinking about it & want to give it another try in a different size. I would size down again & get long size.
See more reviews:
2 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×