Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1096 reviews
Fit
Large
(64)
True to Size
(704)
Small
(101)
Size worn:
6XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 30, 2013
I didn't wear this dress. I wore the backup dress which was much longer.
This dress would have been perfect if I were 3-4 inches shorter. I ordered the 6XL and I was surprised at the length. It was much shorter than expected. I thought it looked rather silly with my heels. I am 6'1 so I expect problems finder longer lengths. However, the extra long that I received should just be considered a regular long. Also, the arms were too short for me as well. So anyone over 5'9, or anyone with long arms - you have been warned.
shannonNovember 12, 2013
what was the backup dress you wore that was much longer?
SharlaNovember 26, 2013
It was the Badgley Mischka Palais du Louvre Gown. The pictures don't do it justice. The dress was gorgeous. I was able to wear 3 inch heels. I received compliments all night and was photographed for our newspapers society column. Good Luck!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2013
Ran small for me
I got this as my 2nd style, so I did not have a backup size. The 6 was too small for me (incidentally, the 6 I got in my first style was too big). Would have been very nice, though, if it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 1, 2013
This dress was perfect for my evening affair.
I was afraid the 0 would be too small. I usually wear a two, but the 0 was perfect! It hugged in all the right places. I'm 5'5 and I wore 4 inch heels, and the regular length was perfect. I received tons of compliments on this dress. Perfect elegnat, classy look. I wore this dress to my boyfriend's job's black tie affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
February 2, 2013
Stunning!
Being as tiny as I am I always have a hard time finding a dress. I tried on at least 15 different dresses in various department stores before I decided to rent for the first time. Needless to say I was nervous the dress wouldn't fit. I requested both the 0R & 0P. The Regular fit perfectly. I was a bit dissapointed the slit wasn't as high as seen in the picture but non the less it fit and looked stunning. This was my first time with RTR but won't be my last.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2013
A little disappointed...
I had very high hopes for this dress. I had to got to a military formal with my husband. I have a lot of tattoes & the event was in February so I wanted something long with long sleeves so i thought this dress would be it for me. One good thing about this dress is that it does show off your curves. Now for why I was disappointed. 1) It's a bit snug. Majority of the time I wear a size 2. I was forced to have PERFECT posture in this dress. 2) It's short! If a dress is catagorized as floor length, it needs to be just that. I'm 5'3 & a half the 2R was floating above my ankles! Good thing I ordered a 2L! Even the 2L was too short for me. I had to wear 2 inch heels, which I hate, & you could still see all of my shoes! Before I ordered it, I chatted with a stylist & asked her opinion if I should get a regular or long. she recommended that I get the regular. Good thing I didnt listen to her! If you want the dress to be an actual floor length & you are taller than 5'4, I strongly recommend getting the XL.3) The stitching was a bit awkward. It was very itchy around the neck. 4) I didn't like the hem at the bottom. It looked almost cheap. I didn't have a choice but to wear it since you don't get it till the day before the event. All in all, it was ok. Not completely satisfied. Not sure if I will order from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 3, 2013
Great for Winter and Big Breasted Women
This dress appeared modest with a sexy leg action, loved this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 4, 2013
I don't think I got what I ordered
I'm really glad my first choice dress fit, because this one wasn't going to work. I ordered two sizes in this dress (my first choice only had one available,) and I was really excited that they had an XL version. (I'm 5'11" and have long arms.) I got a last minute e-mail saying the 12XL wasn't available, which was okay since I was pretty sure I was a size 10XL. The dress that arrived said "10" on the tag; I'm really hoping it was was a "10" and not a "10XL" because it barely touched the floor and the sleeves were about 2" too short. So, either my order got messed up or this dress is REALLY short. That being said, I LOVED my other dress and would still recommend Rent the Runway to friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2013
Amazing Dress!!
Im 5'6" and always have and issue since im between size 4 and 6. This time i wore 6L and it was a perfect fit. If you are 5'5" or taller definitely rent LONG, uness you are planning to wear flats. The dress is stunning and fits like a glove.
JCSeptember 27, 2013
Are the earrings rented as well?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 7, 2013
No one else had this dress at the event.
It fit really well, but the draping and ruching was a little stretched out. Other than that I am very happy with the dress. It's very classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Apple
February 13, 2013
strange puckering ... too busty for this dress?
fabric great, cut was beautiful, but the way it draped on my body, I had this incredibly weird (so weird that I didn't wear the dress) bunching right on my boob.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
February 19, 2013
Like but didn't love
Wasn't crazy about the jersey material and it's extremely simple. My boyfriend picked it out because it's classic but I ended up wearing a more fun RTR dress! It would be good for a more conservative formal party.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2013
The overall fit was great once all the layers were properly draped. It got many compliments for me.
The extra dress ordering is fantastic. I wear an 8 or 10, depending upon styling. The 8 fit but was a bit snug in the chest area. The 10R was perfect and fell right at the top of my shoes just like I like a long dress to appear. It was very comfortable and being able to wear a normal bra was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 21, 2013
Super pleased
Great dress, but unless you're a midget - order a long. I'm 5'6" and wore 3" heels - WAY too short. Other than that, fit well.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 12, 2015
This dress was perfect for shooting my engagement photos.
I am a curvy girl and this dress helped accentuate all the right places. There is some heavy roughing details on the front of the dress that do come over the hip areas and this might not be everyone's style, but I liked it. The material is somewhat stretchy and the slit comes up pretty high on the leg. I am 5'5 and this dress hit the floor without shoes and was a little short with high heels. Overall, really happy with it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2013
The dress didn't fit
Beautiful dress, but unfortunately runs extremely small, so I was unable to wear it for my event :( I am 5' 6", 150 lbs, and hourglass shaped. After reading all the reviews of this dress (most all rating this dress "true to size"), I ordered an 8R (which is my normal size in Antonio Melani, Tahari, White House/Black Market, and Ann Taylor clothing lines). The dress fit more like a snug size 6, with pretty narrow sleeves. The regular length rested on top of my bare foot. Had I worn heels, the entire shoe would have been exposed. Another note about this dress, is that the bottom of the dress is not the same length all the way around. The left side of the dress is about an inch longer than the right...unusual design, but not a big deal if the dress is long enough. Bottom line, I would rent this dress again, but would rent a 10L and 12L as the back-up. The three star rating is due to the fact that I do not consider this dress "true to size". Service by Rent the Runway was excellent so far (still waiting on my credit). Hope this helps :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2013
i felt amazing in this dress!
i got SO many compliments on this dress! i felt so pretty and loved it for a very formal event. it fits true to size... i'm 5'2, so i was able to order the 4P and still wear 3 inch heels. just a note - the dress does hug the body and i'm in between sizes currently so i ordered a 6P as well. when i went to try on the 6P that came with my order, it was NOT a 6P even though it was labeled as such. it was WAY shorter than the 4P and wouldn't even zip up. thankfuly the 4P fit but i would have been out of luck if i needed a size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2013
Fits well and looked very elegant
Fits well and looked very elegant
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
March 4, 2013
Too Short
I am 6'0 tall so based on the other reviews I rented an Extra Long. It was so short that the bottom of the dress came up to my calf and the slit came all the way up my leg. Don't know why the dresses I received were so much shorter than the other reviewers.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 4, 2013
Elegant
This dress needs accessories ladies!! I was nervous when I first tried it on because it is VERY black and very simple, but it all came together with the right jewelry, hair and make up. I'm 5'5 and the 4R was just the right length with my 3 inch heels. This dress was very comfortable and elegant and perfect for winter events.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
March 8, 2013
Stunning dress! Rented for a black and white masquerade ball, it was absolute perfection.
This dress is phenomenal, flattering, the definition of understated glamor. The fabric is substantial and the drape creates interest and smooths, and it falls perfectly to create an hourglass figure. The slit shows enough skin to balance the look, but isn't high enough for a wardrobe mishap. It was comfortable and easy to move in. Do take care to order the right length, you will probably need to order a longer size than you think. I am 5'11" and wore a 14L, but if I had worn stilettos, I would have needed a 14XL. I would absolutely rent this dress again for a winter event. I received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 10, 2013
Perfect at a black-tie event
I am normally a 6 and this dress fit true to size (I also ordered a backup size 4, which did fit but was tight. The 6 was perfect). At 5'2" I wore 3" heels and the petite length just hit the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 12, 2013
Draping did not fit nor flatter
I loved the look of this dress, but unfortunately the draping around the middle just did not fit and it most certainly did not flatter my figure. It kind of hung there almost like a pouch or pocket. No matter how I arranged it, I could not get it to look like the ruching in the photo and made me look like I was heavier than I was. Reading the other reviews, I suspect that this isn't always the case and perhaps there is something about my body type that caused this. I'm sad, because up until this point I've always been totally thrilled with the dresses I have ordered from Rent the Runway, but I'll definitely order again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 12, 2013
Timeless
This dress was perfect for a March event. I wore it to a fundraising ball and paired with a big neckace. The rouching seemed a little stretched out but it may have been how the dress actual is. It draped/hung below my belly button. I am tiny on top/waist with a thicker bottom so maybe that's why. You will def need the long if you are wearing heels. I am 5'6 and the regular length was too short. I did end up wearing sheer black hose. I felt the slit was a little high when I sat down and just felt better with something on my legs. This dress gave me confidence and received compliments all night long.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 17, 2013
I wore this dress to a gala auction for the school that I work at.
I'm 5'4 and the regular length was way too short for me with my 3 inch heels. I ended up wearing the long length. It was a little too long for me but still looked elegant. I received a lot of compliments. The dress is very comfy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2013
The dress.
The draping was unexpected and I might have preferred it without, but otherwise, a beautiful gown and perfect for my occasion - a "mountain formal" charity ball. Classic, yet glamorous. Wore it with Kendra Scott earrings, strappy black heels, and had the most wonderful compliments all night. Fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 28, 2013
A safe bet. Runs slightly small, but saved the day as a backup dress.
Well made and comfortable. Not really going to turn any heads in this one, but it's a safe solution. Runs slightly small, so I suggest reserving a size up. Beware if you're ordering the longer version thinking the sleeves will be longer. I'm not very tall, but found the sleeves to be too short.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
The dress was beautiful and elegant!
I usually wear a 4L but I wore a 2L in this dress and it fit like a glove! Very good for formal occasions.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 7, 2013
Feeling great in this dress!
Definitely get the L if you are wearing heels - I am 5'5 and needed the L for 3 inch heels. It is a really durable fabric, really comfortable for dancing and the draping is very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2013
The dress runs short. :(
I really wanted to wear this dress because the high slit look is really popular, but unfortunately the dress runs short. I ordered a long (I'm 5'9) and the dress was pretty close to tea-length in the front. Also, some of the reviews said the dress might run big, it doesn't.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Beautiful gown and was like a glove. Elegant.
Tried the 8R and 8L. 8R was perfect. Will rent again as so classic. Loved it and was comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2013
The dress runs small and looks way better on model than it did on me.
I ordered a 2L but I believe that a 2R came isntead. I am 5'9 and the dress didnt even come down to my ankles. I looked horrible but the stylists came to rescue! Looks better on models than it did on me.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2013
Prom Perfect
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! It went perfect with my red carpet themed prom! I was getting compliments on it all night and I am nothing but happy with the choice I made! Okay, so, as far as fit goes: it's not that this dress runs large, it's just made of very stretchy material. It's easy to fit into. I normally wear a size 6 (which looked better on me-I'll get to that in a moment) but I went with the 4. I am very tall for my age so, when I was ordering my dresses, I needed to get the 'long' versions. They didn't have the 6L available so I went with the 4L-which I don't mind-but the 6P looked better, it was just too short. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels and the 4L barely grazed the ground. Other than my preferred size not being available, the dress is beautiful and I am VERY pleased with this site. OH! And the dresses came with a cute little goodie bag!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2013
RTR is, as always, so effortless!
This fit really awkwardly - -the right side of the slit was about 5 inches higher than the left and it just looked bunchy...I didn't end up wearing it to the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2013
I was scared this wouldn't fit, but it was perfect! So great. I loved it, and so did everyone else!
I thought the fit was wonderful. I ordered the long so I could wear heels with it, and the length was just right. At times the sleeves felt a bit short, but they looked great. The fabric has weight to it which I appreciated, because then the bottom didn't flap everywhere in the wind while I was walking. Overall, fantastic choice! And let's be real... it's Badgley Mischka. I knew it would be amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 14, 2013
beautiful dress!
true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
Wonderful dress. Made me feel very confident
This dress was wonderful. Fit very well and was incredibly flattering. My only problem was that it was too short. I could pull it off with low heels but it was still too short.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
May 23, 2013
This was my first rental but not my last. The process was so simple and enjoyable!
This dress was perfect for the more traditional girl who is always cold. It was comfortable yet sexy. The fitted waist and side slit were perfect! The length was perfect with 3 1/2" heels.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
Amazing dress!
Great dress. Am a regular 4 in junior size clothing, but the 0R fit perfectly. I cannot wear big heels, so I wore a 1 inch heel, and it was above my ankles. So, if you plan on wearing something bigger than a 1 inch heel GET THE LONG! if not, it will be a tea length dress. Fits well all over, I was worried about the bust being too big, but it was perfect. Sleeves were the perfect length as well. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 10, 2013
Love how the dress made me feel! i felt like a million bucks!!
I love how the dress curved my body! the slit hit exactly where it should, not to high not to low, the dress was comfortable as well. I love all the compliments I got as well, this dress was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Fit Great, But Short
Was so excited to try this dress on. The dress fit great, however it was to short and I ordered the Long. Didnt wear it to my event
See more reviews:
2 / 28

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×