Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
931 reviews
Fit
Large56
True to Size621
Small92
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
March 1, 2016
Very comfortable dress to wear, many compliments on how nice I looked.
The dress fits well, has a bit of give, I'm a size larger on top, with smaller hips so this fit me well. The zipper is a bit of a pain to get up so needed help with that. I felt elegant and comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 1, 2016
Cute but SHORT!!
Get a long!! I always wear a 4R (I'm 5'5'') and could NOT have worn the regular. It was above my ankles. So thankful for the free second size as I got the long on a whim and it worked perfectly. Its an adorable dress if you get the right length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2016
Good
This was a good dress and material. I'm usually a size 8 in RTR Dresses, but it was unavailable, Last minute. The 6L was a little shorter on me, didn't drag the floor like I would've preferred. Unfortunately the lining was off on this free and it showed at the split. It holds you in and didn't even have to wear my spanx. Good for a sexy conservative dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 29, 2016
Gorgeous comfortable dress !!
The dress fit perfectly and the draping is very flattering. The dress is extremely comfortable and the perfect length to cover my boots in the snow !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 29, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
The materials hugged my body perfectly, and the draping hid my belly and hips. Seriously made me feel like a million dollars. The leg slit adds enough skin that I didn't feel like a prude with a full sleeve-high neck dress. The material was heavy, but there were only a couple times I was really hot, and that was after dancing. Would rent again if my whole family hadn't seen me in this already!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 36
February 29, 2016
This dress is what made my event unforgettable!
This dress was everything! Very elegant! Lots of compliments! Will definitely rent another dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2016
Wasn't able to wear...
I felt that there was too much material around the neckline. I needed t a sir in between but it was unavailable. Wasn't able to wear and was dressier than I wanted... Will rent another time.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 25, 2016
The dress arrived without issues
The fit for this dress was perfect! I love how it highlighted my curves without being super tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2016
Classy and subtly glamorous!
This is one of my favorite pieces I've had the pleasure of wearing thanks to RTR. It's a very well made gown --- the structure of it, the draping, the way the fabric swings when you move --- and I felt like a million bucks after slipping into it. It would be a good choice for ladies who are worried about jiggly bits, because you can wear ALL of the Spanx with it --- I did! I'm usually straddling the line between a 4 and a 6, and the 4 zipped up without a hitch with room to spare, though I did have to wiggle a bit to pull it up over my hips and booty. But, trust me, if it fit ME in that area, other pear-shaped ladies need not fret. Overall, it was pretty true to size, and the long length was sufficient to mostly cover my 5 1/2 inch heels. The slit was just right on me --- high enough to be sultry, but nowhere near risqué. I turned a lot of heads and got a lot of compliments that night, and I felt so lovely. It was one of those that I didn't want to send back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
February 24, 2016
Maid of honor at my sister's wedding
The dress was amazing! True to size and the slit wasn't an issue walking down the aisle. I was comfortable all night. It's body hugging, but the design helps hide unwanted body bumps and undergarment lines. First time ordering from here, and it won't be the last!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
February 24, 2016
Felt like I was ready to walk the ready carpet. Classy and Comfortable.
I didn't get any full length photos which is a shame, it fit wonderful. Very classy dress, great fit. I was exceptionally worried over it when I got it - I ordered a 4L and a 2L. I didn't even try on the 4L because the 2L fit and was still a little big on me. The 2L when I got it had a small hole in the upper back/shoulder area, had a few stains which I reported to the RTR staff immediately! It was too late to send out a replacement & the 4L would've been way too big. So I wore the 2L regardless. Classy and comfortable, I was able to eat and dance the night away with no worries.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
Classy & Sexy ... GORGEOUS DRESS
I wore this to a black-tie event. Absolutely loved this dress. I am 5'8 and ordered a 6Long- I wore 3 inch heals and the length and fit was perfect. Unfortunately, I had some issues with the zipper. I made RTR aware of it and they handled it very satisfactorily. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Classy dress!
Fit true to size and was very comfortable.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 22, 2016
This dress is perfect for a black tie event!
The dress fit perfectly, although if I had it to do again, I would have gone a size smaller as it is stretchy and does not run small. The dress still looked great. The only issue I had was the zipper broke before I even left for the event. I ended up using safety pins to keep the dress closed in the back for the remainder of the night.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
February 22, 2016
This dress was so perfect for a winter wedding! It was very comfortable.
I'm 5'4 and I've never worn anything 'long' in my life but this dress I needed the long because of wearing heels, it touched the floor and was perfect. The regular would have worked if I was wearing flat shoes but way too short for heels. Loved it! I would recommend this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
February 21, 2016
Classic Glam
Fit is amazing. The photo does not do it justice at all, the ruffling off to the side moves so well, and gives the dress an amazing glamour feel. Couldn't wear anything higher than a 3 inch heel even with the long size (I'm 5'10"). Originally ordered the 10L and 8L as a backup, but RTR emailed me at 9pm the evening before saying the 10L was not ready for me and they would send me something similar. They sent me the BGBGMaxAzria Kauri Gown which looks nothing like this dress - so that was disappointing. Luckily my backup sized fit - but renters beware - apparently things like that happen. Also, dress came with a lot of dust or deodorant stains - not sure if they were from the dress sitting in a warehouse, or from not being properly cleaned after the last renter. The material worked really well with rubbing the stains out with warm water, but it was very inconvenient on top of an already inconvenient order.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
This dress was awesome! Classy yet sexy.
I love this dress!! I wore it for a black tie event and received compliments all night. Its very comfortable and was great to dance in. I suggest getting the long if you are 5'7" or taller and want to wear high heel shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2016
Some of the longs are short in length. Overall fit was amazing. Beautiful and very classic look.
The 6L fit perfectly but the length was way to short, didn't even over part of my heels. Had to go up to the 8 just so the length would look right. The 8 was large on me but I was able to wear it still. It did get looser as the night went on. Arms became baggy and shoulders also became wider. Would wear this dress again and plan on renting it for my next winter event. If you are looking for a classic look this is the dress for sure.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2016
Comfortable and conservative chic
Comfortable, flattering, and conservative. I wore it to my husband's black tie Christmas party in freezing Nebraska and received a lot of compliments while also staying somewhat warm. The bottom hem seemed a little worn to me but I don't think anyone else could notice.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 18, 2016
I wore this to my daughter's debutante ball in February & felt comfortable & elegant
This dress is a pretty heavy material so I would only recommend it for a winter event. I received a size 2 & size 0- there was not much difference & I ended up wearing the 0. It was comfortable & I felt good in it. The only thing I didn't like was the material kind of bunched up around the zipper in the back. Overall, I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
The dress contributed to the look i was aiming for!!
Fit was true to size. Dress was beautiful. The only issue was that i am 5'6 but the regular was to short. Next time I would rent the long version.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 15, 2016
This dress was perfect for the black and white ball that I attended!
It fit amazing! The split up the side along with the gathering of the fabric perfectly compliments curves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2016
This dress is amazing for curves. Stunning leg slit.
The fit was pretty spot on. I carry my weight in my thighs and bottom, so that part was a little tight on me, which I expected. I'm 5'6.5 and definitely needed the long, so highly recommend that if you're 5'5 or above. This dress is amazing, definitely a show stopper.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2016
Unfortunate fit
This dress hit me wrong in the bust (lines kind of cut through the area strangely). It also doesn't rouche through the middle like it does on the model--it lays flat, which ends up looking less flattering with the swooping hips. The swoop in the hips also hit me too low, sort of a dropped waist, eliminating what should have been a very flattering fit. I ended up swapping this dress at a brick and mortar.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
February 15, 2016
This dress received so many compliments! I loved it and felt like a movie star!
I rented a 4R and 6P and wore the 4R. Most reviews said the dress ran short but I felt like even with 4 inch heels it was still long. Not sure how the 4P would have felt and looked, so I can't comment on which one I would have worn. This dress was awesome for my friends wedding. The bride actually said she was going to rent it for my wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 14, 2016
I loved how this dress fit my body.
Dress fit true to size. I loved the design just wished the ruffles and pleats were higher. The extra fabric hung by my hips and butt. I got several compliments and I was very comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 14, 2016
Very easy to wear - pretty, yet professional for a work function!
I wore this dress to a black tie work function. I was the only female of the group so it was important to me to keep my look conservative, but still have fun with it. This dress was perfect. This dress was so easy to wear and very comfortable. I am generally a 4R, which is what I wore. It fit perfectly. I have very long legs for my 5'5" frame and I'm fairly curvy - that said, I did not think the slit was too high at all. It landed just a few inches above my left knee.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2016
How comfortable I was.
Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2016
Elegant & sexy..
I'm 5'9" & only regular length was available, did not work out, very short. Also sleeves were big but short, wide sleeves throughout. Excellent material. Gorgeous gown I wish it fit better for me, I'm still thinking about it & want to give it another try in a different size. I would size down again & get long size.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
February 13, 2016
Many complements by a very fashion-conscious crowd!
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. I am 5'10" and usually wear a size 14. The 12L fit perfectly. It was very comfortable, and everyone loved it. I wore it to my NYC actor/dancer cousin's wedding. His groom came up to me before the ceremony (this is a 30 year old model/dancer) to tell me how f***ing HOT I looked. Keep in mind I am a 42 year old out of shape mother of 2. My husband LOVED it. And it felt modest because I have a 38DD bust and it was covered. Arms were covered. The slit was high so I had to be careful my Spanx didn't show when I sat. I am so glad I got this dress. It was my first RTR experience and it couldn't have been better.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
February 11, 2016
Perfect for black tie wedding!
Overall, I can't say enough good things about this dress. I ordered the 2L and 4L and while the 2L fit really well, it was shorter than I would have liked. I'm 5'7 and the 4L fit me like a glove. I wore 3.5" heels (I ended up going with the strappy sandals) and felt comfortable walking around/dancing. This dress requires minimal accessories- I paired it with the Kendra Scott turquoise Deily earrings and received so many compliments throughout the night! I was 100% satisfied and even had a few friends rent the same dress for upcoming events after seeing me in it. Will definitely RTR again for my next big event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
February 9, 2016
I wore this gown for a gala I was working at.
The dress was beautiful. I order a 10L and a 12L and ended up wearing the 10L and could have probably gone a size down. That being said, it fit GREAT! The fabric hugged my body well without being clingy. I loved the draping across the back and side and it was really easy to move in. I wish I could have kept the dress and would ABSOLUTELY rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 8, 2016
I rented this dress for a black tie work function of my husbands.
I initially ordered this dress in red in a size 8 and 6. I received an email last minute saying they didn't have the size 6 in the red. When the size 8 in red arrived, it was too big causing it to drape funny and make my hips look larger then they are. RTR sent me the size 6 in black as a back-up and the dress fit really well. I have a true hourglass figure with a size 32G chest. The only problem was the lining was a bit screwy, but no one but me could tell. I would rent this dress again. I felt sexy, without showing to much skin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 7, 2016
My father had a veterans event.
I wore the 12P I usually wore a 14. It was good but snugged. Got a lot of compliments. The dress runner big on me but the stretching of the material helped a lot with my curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
February 7, 2016
Perfect slinky black dress!
It fit like a glove, but true to sizing! The material was a bit think but perfect for a winter formal. RTR saved the night with this pick!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
The dress was the perfect touch to an amazing night!
The dress was absolutely amazing! It fit perfectly, not too tight or loose, and I even dressed it up with a cute belt. The slit was the perfect length since I have long legs. I got many complements and the dress made me feel confident and beautiful! I'm so happy I rented it. I recommend that you get your exact size and if you are tall (5'7 or up) get it in long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 3, 2016
Dress was beautiful. Fit great.
The fit was perfect. Length was long enough too.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
February 1, 2016
I had a mishap with the dresses but overall I'm very satisfied and will absolutely use RTR again!
This dress is perfect! I couldn't figure out which dress to wear to the black tie wedding I had to attend. When this dress came in the mail I ordered a 10 R and back up 8 R ( I'm a 10) the 8 fit like a glove but I was a little too short I'm 5'4 and with 4 inch heels so it was short. So they overnighted me a 8L and it was perfect!! I felt super sexy and classy. It wasn't a stiff dress , it was flowy and super comfortable!! I never felt so good in a dress! If you are on the fence about a dress. This is the one!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 1, 2016
I wore this for a formal wedding and it was perfect.
This fit beautifully. Very well made and very slimming. I just had a baby three months prior to the wedding and it hid everything that needed hid very well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
January 31, 2016
Felt comfortable in a stunning dress!
I was torn between whether to get it in regular or long, but think a long would've looked a little better with my heels. I was surprised the 14 fit because I've always had to size up in badgley mischka dresses, but I almost wish I had gotten a size smaller as my backup just to see if it would've looked a little better being tighter in certain places. Also, I thought the slit would come up a little higher, so I was a little disappointed I had to stage it more for pictures. Overall, loved the dress and received several compliments throughout the night!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×