Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
958 reviews
Fit
Large
(58)
True to Size
(640)
Small
(93)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2016
This dress was absolutely perfect for prom! Couldn't have chosen a better dress!
This dress was the first dress I have rented from rent the runway. I can positively say that my experience was a 10/10 from receiving it to sending it back. The dress arrived on time and in perfect condition. It was a little difficult to choose between the two sizes I rented, but the smaller one really was fantastic. I felt like a million bucks wearing it, and the compliments were endless that night. It was easy to dance in, and the slit was so nice. I looked very classy, and I felt so comfortable. The dress was a bit hot, but it rained that day, so it wasn't an issue personally. Overall, the rent was a success and I was so happy with the result. I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 13, 2016
Beautifully styled dress for formal affair. Easy to wear and dance in.
I ended up wearing my back up size 6R since the 4L came with a broken zipper. 6R was slightly too big for my 128 lb. slender upper body but nicely concealed my pear shape lower body.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
April 13, 2016
Black tie event with lots of people in military uniform. This dress was perfect for the event.
The fit was perfect. I thought I needed a 10L, but waited too long to order and only 8L and 12 L were available. The 8L was perfect. Length was great, I was worried. I am about 5'10" and wore 3" heels the length was great, did not drag and not too long. I like the long sleeves they cover flabby arms, no special bra required. The dress is very well made, very comfortable and I received lots of compliments. I rented the bangles as well, they were my favorite part of the outfit. I will definitely use Rent the Runway again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 11, 2016
Felt amazing in this dress!
Stretchy, fitted fabric. Which made it super flattering! I'm typically a size 12/14, the 10 was perfect! I am 5'4" and got the regular length, wore 4 inch heels and the length was about 2 inches off the floor. Definitely recommend this dress for any body type, it is so flattering!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
April 11, 2016
Super flattering cut. The rushing at the waist covers any unflattering areas.
I wore this dress to a NYE wedding and it was just perfect. I was warm enough with the long sleeves and added the fur cuffs from my own collection. It was the best dress for the occasion. I felt sexy, classy, and stylish. LOVE LOVE LOVE!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 11, 2016
Great dress for a colder night
After reading the reviews I decided to go with the 4L. The pros: the material is great for warmth and is very forgiving. The draping was great at giving the illusion of accentuating the good curves while hiding my not so flattering ones. It's a very elegant dress that is easily versatile with any jewelry. I received a lot of compliments on it! The cons: It fit pretty good but the sleeves were a little too loose and too short on me (a common problem I have). The length was just a smidge too long for my liking (with 3 inch heels) as it dragged on the floor but it ended up working fine. I would have rather it be too long than too short. I probably could have fit a 2L but that size was unavailable (and I might of had more of a problem with the sleeve length). Tip- because of the jersey like material, you'll want to hang this dress as soon as you get it. It was a little wrinkly when I received it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2016
Elegant dress!
I rented this for my college-aged daughter for her sorority formal. She is 5'11" and wore the 8 regular, as the long wasn't available for her chosen date. The dress fit perfectly and she looked very chic!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 6, 2016
The dress was very well made. Very heavy and forgiving in the midsection.
Great dress!
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
April 6, 2016
Easy process and a beautiful gown that was very flattering
Fit very true to size and since I'm tall I liked the longer length. The ruching can't be seen too well and came at first as a surprise to me but covered well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 179lbs
April 6, 2016
I felt like Cinderalla, a beautiful gown for a night. My first rental and certainly not my last!
I loved it! 12R was unavailable and I assume it would've have been perfect. The 10R was snug but not so tight that I couldn't sit or reach for things.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 3, 2016
Loved it.
Felt like a maxi dress. Conservative but the slit in front makes it feel sexy. You need serious jewelry with this dress and a great shoe!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
April 1, 2016
Classic, Comfortable and Chic
I rented this for our engagement pictures. We're getting married on NYE so I wanted something a bit more formal. I ordered the 10L and 8L. I'm 5'5" and wear a 10, but the reviews said go smaller and longer. When I got the dress, the zipper was out. You would think I wouldn't have given this dress 5 stars, but because RTR is so amazing, they saved the day. They overnighted me an 8R (all they had left in the dress) and it fit like a GLOVE! It was a little short, but we were able to hide that in the poses. I felt so great for our pictures, so glamorous.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
March 30, 2016
Perfect for the wedding! Felt comfortable and danced all night.
True to size, fits well. Feels like it is short but I wore heels anyways and the slit made it look normal length. Would rent this again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
March 22, 2016
Showstopping dress! I felt like a movie star on the red carpet!
I agree it runs a bit small and the sleeves are a little short for my liking. I wore the 6L over the 4L for length purposes only. That's what wide cuff bracelets are for! Neither took away from the comfortable luxury of wearing this dress. I was asked all night where I purchased it and how stunning it looked. At a fundraiser for my station I definitely felt special and unique. I'm 5'10" ish and had to wear a small kitten heel but it did not take away from the look I was going for at all. Ordering and timing and ease of return blew me away. I will never pay full price for a one nighter dress again. I would rent this one again for sure! I love RTR:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2016
Much nicer and elegant in person!
Unfortunately I never took a full-length picture. I have an hourglass figure, and found this dress to compliment all the right assets. The material is so silky, which you can't tell from the website. It drapes beautifully without being bulky. Hides a tummy. It was a perfect simple black dress great for dressing up with jewelry and accessories. I highly recommend getting a "Long" if you are going to wear a heel. I am 5'5" and wore 2.5/3" heels and it was a touch too long. Would much rather that than a short dress! Great pick.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 20, 2016
The staff is awesome! Very accommodating!
This dress is gorgeous, however, I am 5'2, 103 lbs and a 0R was still a little bit big. The design helped me pull it off. The sleeves weren't as fitted either, so I pushed them up which actually didn't look bad (see photo). Because of my height the dress dragged, but I actually liked that look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
March 20, 2016
Incredibly comfortable and forgiving
Went to a corporate awards ceremony in NYC and the dress was very appropriate. Order long if you're taller than 5'6". Wore my hair in a elegant pony tail and felt great. Wasn't too tight. The material is very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 18, 2016
I received a lot of compliments!
This dress is beautiful! It fit true to size and I was able to wear a regular bra with it. It is a heavy dress, so be prepared for that. I wore it to an event on a cold night in Boston, so that worked out well! I will say the only possible negative is that it has a little bit of fussiness to it. There is a significant amount of ruching on the side which got a bit tangled up during travel and it was confusing to figure out the positioning. But once I got that sorted it out I didn't need to bother with it again. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 16, 2016
Overall the dress fit perfectly! Black tie worthy!
The fit was great, and fabric hit the perfect spots and the way the front and back fabric hang hides all the right places. Great length for three inch heels. The slit adds just the right layer of flare.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2016
I have rented this dress twice and have loved it.
Fits perfect on hourglass figure. I wear a size 12 and have a small waist. The dress fit perfectly and wasn't too thin of material. I have rented it twice because of the comfort and how it fits me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 10, 2016
Everyone was complimenting the dress! It was perfect for the formal event!
It's form fitting but has a gathering right where I needed to cover a little. The length was perfect at my height for 5'10". I wore heels that were 2 inches. The dress was not dragging on the floor. Great dress for a formal event in the winter! Zipper is a little tricky once it gets down to a certain point.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 7, 2016
Comfortable, elegant.
This was my back up size as the 6L was unavailable. I found it to be true to size and feel like I could have gone either way with the sizes. I'm 5'8" and even with 3in heels I didn't think this dress was long enough for my liking. It was comfortable, the material was heavy but in a good way. I had my eye on this gown for a long time and so glad I finally had a reason to wear it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 6, 2016
The dress fit perfectly the only thing was the sleeves were a little short but I'm super tall so.
Great rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
March 3, 2016
I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It is so classy without having to have too much on.
I got both a size 8 and a size 10. When it comes to dresses, my upper top size usually makes me go up in size (36 DD) but this dress fit perfect in 8. I got the R because I read the P usually runs short and since I was wearing 3 inch heels didn’t want them to necessarily be seen too much. The R was perfect and showed just enough of my shoes to get asked to see them again. ( Which was awesome because I wore statement heels with bling on the back of them.) My usual “problem” area is my tummy but with this dress I couldn’t even tell there was an issue and the rest of the dress hugged the rest of my curves. Overall I would wear this dress to any black tie event and feel absolutely gorgeous. Only issue I had was that it came on a hanger that really wouldn't hold it up. This caused it to fall and scrunch up at the bottom of the plastic bag. It got wrinkled and had to have the hotel we were staying at emergency steam it for us.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 3, 2016
Perfect for a corporate event! Sleek
I chose the 4L as my first choice, and 2L as my second. Reviews I had read earlier said to choose the Long if you were wearing heels. Although the length was great, it was almost too long, but then again, I am only 5'3. When walking around, it needed to be picked up a little so it wasn't dragging, which I wasn't bothered by. The overall fit was nice, but almost a little too big. They were out of stock in my second choice (2L), which I would have chosen had it been available. Since I was dead set on wearing this particular dress, I settled for it being a little loose and not as form fitting as I would have liked. Overall, I loved it and received many compliments all night! Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 3, 2016
I did not end up wearing this dress.
The dress itself fit very well; however, it was a little short. I am 5'7 and it didn't even touch the floor barefoot. I ended up going with another dress. If you are taller than 5'5 and plan on wearing heels, I would recommend getting the Long
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
March 2, 2016
Super warm and comfortable
I wore this for my company's holiday party, which was a prom theme. I received many compliments on it, but I felt like it was a little too big in the shoulders and the arms. The length was perfect with heels, and I loved the slit. The design on the front of the dress is a little weird, I ended up tucking it in, because leaving it out made it look like I was wearing a fanny pack.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
March 1, 2016
Very comfortable dress to wear, many compliments on how nice I looked.
The dress fits well, has a bit of give, I'm a size larger on top, with smaller hips so this fit me well. The zipper is a bit of a pain to get up so needed help with that. I felt elegant and comfortable all night.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 1, 2016
Cute but SHORT!!
Get a long!! I always wear a 4R (I'm 5'5'') and could NOT have worn the regular. It was above my ankles. So thankful for the free second size as I got the long on a whim and it worked perfectly. Its an adorable dress if you get the right length!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2016
Good
This was a good dress and material. I'm usually a size 8 in RTR Dresses, but it was unavailable, Last minute. The 6L was a little shorter on me, didn't drag the floor like I would've preferred. Unfortunately the lining was off on this free and it showed at the split. It holds you in and didn't even have to wear my spanx. Good for a sexy conservative dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 29, 2016
Gorgeous comfortable dress !!
The dress fit perfectly and the draping is very flattering. The dress is extremely comfortable and the perfect length to cover my boots in the snow !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 29, 2016
LOVED this dress!!
The materials hugged my body perfectly, and the draping hid my belly and hips. Seriously made me feel like a million dollars. The leg slit adds enough skin that I didn't feel like a prude with a full sleeve-high neck dress. The material was heavy, but there were only a couple times I was really hot, and that was after dancing. Would rent again if my whole family hadn't seen me in this already!
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 36
February 29, 2016
This dress is what made my event unforgettable!
This dress was everything! Very elegant! Lots of compliments! Will definitely rent another dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2016
Wasn't able to wear...
I felt that there was too much material around the neckline. I needed t a sir in between but it was unavailable. Wasn't able to wear and was dressier than I wanted... Will rent another time.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 25, 2016
The dress arrived without issues
The fit for this dress was perfect! I love how it highlighted my curves without being super tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2016
Classy and subtly glamorous!
This is one of my favorite pieces I've had the pleasure of wearing thanks to RTR. It's a very well made gown --- the structure of it, the draping, the way the fabric swings when you move --- and I felt like a million bucks after slipping into it. It would be a good choice for ladies who are worried about jiggly bits, because you can wear ALL of the Spanx with it --- I did! I'm usually straddling the line between a 4 and a 6, and the 4 zipped up without a hitch with room to spare, though I did have to wiggle a bit to pull it up over my hips and booty. But, trust me, if it fit ME in that area, other pear-shaped ladies need not fret. Overall, it was pretty true to size, and the long length was sufficient to mostly cover my 5 1/2 inch heels. The slit was just right on me --- high enough to be sultry, but nowhere near risqué. I turned a lot of heads and got a lot of compliments that night, and I felt so lovely. It was one of those that I didn't want to send back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
February 24, 2016
Maid of honor at my sister's wedding
The dress was amazing! True to size and the slit wasn't an issue walking down the aisle. I was comfortable all night. It's body hugging, but the design helps hide unwanted body bumps and undergarment lines. First time ordering from here, and it won't be the last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
February 24, 2016
Felt like I was ready to walk the ready carpet. Classy and Comfortable.
I didn't get any full length photos which is a shame, it fit wonderful. Very classy dress, great fit. I was exceptionally worried over it when I got it - I ordered a 4L and a 2L. I didn't even try on the 4L because the 2L fit and was still a little big on me. The 2L when I got it had a small hole in the upper back/shoulder area, had a few stains which I reported to the RTR staff immediately! It was too late to send out a replacement & the 4L would've been way too big. So I wore the 2L regardless. Classy and comfortable, I was able to eat and dance the night away with no worries.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
Classy & Sexy ... GORGEOUS DRESS
I wore this to a black-tie event. Absolutely loved this dress. I am 5'8 and ordered a 6Long- I wore 3 inch heals and the length and fit was perfect. Unfortunately, I had some issues with the zipper. I made RTR aware of it and they handled it very satisfactorily. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2016
Classy dress!
Fit true to size and was very comfortable.
See more reviews:
2 / 24
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×