Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
824 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size561
Small83
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
January 2, 2016
My dress was amazing! The dress runs true to size. The dress was very comfortable. Thanks RTR!
Comfortable and very forgiving. I will definitely rent again! The rental process was amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190lbs
January 2, 2016
It was too small in the hips but too baggy in the bust; I didn't end up wearing it.
The fabric was a little heavier, which would have been great for the Wisconsin winter, but I didn't end up wearing it. The dress was too small, enough that I wasn't even able to put it on. My roommate tried it on, and it fit her (much smaller) hips, but was really baggy in the bust for her. Bummer! Glad I got a back-up dress.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 29, 2015
I loved this dress and received many compliments. It was a perfect winter wedding dress!
For a shorter girl, long dresses can be tricky. This dress fell at a perfect length leaving me feel confident that I was wearing the dress, not the other way around. The material was light and created a flattering silhouette. I felt comfortable enough to dance the night away and forgot that I was rocking a rental.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 29, 2015
Comfortable, classy and beautiful
Comfortable: This dress has long sleeves that are not too tight (sometimes a problem in dresses like this). The fabric is the perfect combination of softness and stretchiness, so I didn't have to worry about sucking in all night. I wore regular bra, no problem. I'm 5'5" and wore flats, but could have gotten away with a 1-2 inch heel. Classy: The slit is just right - high enough to be "wow" but not something I had to worry about. The neckline is modest but just slightly wide to be different. Beautiful: The draping and lining seems weird when you first put it on, but it is actually gorgeous. There's a seam that runs across the chest, and when I first tried it on I thought it was placed oddly. There is draping on both hips that can get kind of twisted. Once everything is straightened out, however, all of these details make for a stunning look. I got tons of compliments, but more importantly, I felt great in this gown. I'd rent it again and highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 28, 2015
This dress was so comfortable, sleek and classy. Loved it!
True to size #gala
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 27, 2015
My boyfriend told me I looked like a Bond girl!
I love this dress! My boyfriend told me I looked like a Bond girl! I really could have used a 12L, but it was unavailable for the dates I needed. The 12R fit my body but was too short. I am 5'9 and it hit above my ankles. The 14L was long enough even to wear short heels, but it was a bit too big, which wasn't a big problem, as I found the looser fit to be a kind of flattering, only noticeable in the arms where it was a little too loose. The draping detailing was very flattering and my picture doesn't do it justice! It is glamorous enough for a black tie event, but also wouldn't make you stand out like you're too dressed up for a less fancy event. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2015
Beautiful dress that hides imperfections!
I wore this dress at three months postpartum to a December black tie wedding. It is a gorgeous dress and I felt like I actually looked like a normal (pretty) person! My husband thought I looked great, which is all that matters to me. Pre-pregnancy I always wore a size 2, but with about 12 lbs left to lose and since I'm breastfeeding, I ordered the 4 and the 6. I have to say that the zippers on both dresses were a little wonky so you definitely could not zip up by yourself. The 4 actually fit but was really tight and I felt like it showed too much, so I went with the 6, which was really comfortable. For other breastfeeding moms, there was plenty of room in the bust on this dress in a good way! The fabric is nice and non-sweaty and I felt like the little fabric thing on the front covered me in all the right places (e.g. big belly). WARNING ABOUT LENGTH!!!! I am only 5'3 but I ordered the regular to wear with my 4" platform heels and this dress was too short for me to wear them. I didn't want my ankles to be poking out with shoes! I ended up wearing lower more statement heels with it so that it looked like I wanted my shoes to be visible. I would never think that as a short person I would need to order the tall length but next time I rent this dress (and I would TOTALLY rent it again), I would order the tall so my shoes aren't showing. If you are over 5'3 and plan to wear high heels, consider renting the tall version! In any case, I would definitely rent again and I would think about renting the red version. This is a beautiful, comfortable dress and it hid my postpartum belly perfectly and gave me the room I needed in the bust!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
December 24, 2015
very sleek and sexy style
loved everything about it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 23, 2015
Classic dress
Wore it for an event and it was very tasteful
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 23, 2015
The dress, of course!
This was a BEAUTIFUL dress, the extra draped fabric on both sides are VERY flattering if you have a bit of a bigger middle or love handles, like myself and the fabric is very thick and high quality. The neckline is great and it fits with a bigger bust, like myself as well. The regular length was great with flats but if you're wearing high heels it will be a little short - But the good thing is it won't drag on the floor if you do wear heels. The slit is just high enough where it's not too revealing but adds just the right sexiness to the dress. The only con I have for this, which probably doesn't happen often but is VERY scary when you get a dress like this two days before a big event is the way the dress was packaged in the dress bag. When I pulled it out the fabric was draped on only one side not both like the picture on the website.. I PANICKED thinking they sent me the wrong dress or something. It fit very tightly and the seems were just not fitting correctly. After 30 minutes of staring at the dresses and the dress in the picture, we figured out that someone who put the dresses together draped the fabric wrong and we spent another 30 minutes twisting and pulling and trying to figure out how to get the draping on both sides like the picture suggests (before and after pictures are attached). We figured it out and the draping and the seems were lined up fine and the dress was so great but it was a HUGE scare at first. Please be cautious of the packing!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 22, 2015
Dress was comfortable and very appropriate for a work function. Received lots of compliments.
Runs a tad large; close to being true to size. If you are between sizes, go down. I tried both a 14L and 12L. The 12L was more flattering and fit better in the sleeves. I recommend ordering a L if you are at least 5'6" and plan on wearing a 4" heel. Wore this with a statement necklace and it made all the difference. Dress is too plain without it!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
December 22, 2015
Beautiful dress for an amazing event.
Perfect fit
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 22, 2015
Bump friendly!
I was 24 weeks pregnant for this wedding. Enough to need a little more room but not enough to need a "maternity dress." The draping worked perfect. There are a lot of layers underneath though so I had to have a friend help me pull them all down every time I went to the bathroom. Great dress for the pregnancy stage I was in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 21, 2015
It was totally what I was looking for. Elegant, classy, chic & comfortable!
Might have been okay in a 12. I prefer the longer length so it was great. The fit was unreal though. I've never ever felt this comfortable in a ful length gown that looked this fabulous. It was truly effortless all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2015
So many compliments!
This dress was so amazing, and it fit so well. I was a little concerned it would be too long, but the length was perfect with 3 inch heels!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 19, 2015
The dress was everything I thought it would be. The fit was perfect!
I usually get a size 10 in most dresses and the 10 fit flawlessly! It's the perfect dress for formal events in New England December weather.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
December 18, 2015
It was OK, but I didn't love it.
I got a 6 and a 4 and the 4 was way too short but fit perfect and the 6 was long but a little too big so I opted for the 6. (I'm 5'7). I liked the coverage (you could wear any bra!) and that it was still sexy thanks to the slit. I was very comfortable in it. I didn't love the giant layers on the hip. I expected them to not be so dramatic but no one else who saw me in it seemed to mind. And the shoulders were a little weird. Other than that it was perfectly fine. Nothing amazing, I wouldn't rent it again.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2015
This dress was absolutely stunning on. My only regret is I wish I would've got the 14L instead.
the fit hugged every single curve of my body, showed the right amount of leg and was a huge hit. I loved it !!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
December 16, 2015
Sexy, yet understated
I actually wore this twice, once to a black tie gala and once to a wedding. Love, love, love the dress; however, for a 5'10" woman, the L length is still too short. (It barely hit at my ankles.) Really wish RTR offered the XL length. Despite that, I got tons of compliments. It's also very comfortable. Oddly, the second dress I rented had more of a scalloped-looking hem, which I don't think is supposed to be the case. (The first one was the usual flat hem.) Overall, I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2015
Great fit, classy, so many compliments!
There were lots of thin layers that rode up and needed to be managed via a visit to the bathroom to adjust them. I was warm, covered, and I felt sexy and appropriate for the event.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 15, 2015
This dress is stunning and perfect for any body type!
This dress is very elegant and I received compliments all night long. I would say that I'm typically a 4 in dresses but the 2L fit perfectly as it hugs and curves the body in the right places! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
December 13, 2015
Fit perfectly and hid flaws
Has some stretch...super comfortable and received lots of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
December 13, 2015
Super-convenient ordering and shipping
Aahhhhh, this dress has it's pro's and cons. The cons: 1-when I first tried it on, it was a bit difficult to get into as the inside has different pieces of fabric and it was confusing. 2- the top felt a bit baggy and the sleeves were a bit baggy too which didnt give the "fitted" look. The pros: 1-the dress is very forgiving and covers up "tummy pooch". 2-it was comfortable to be in throughout the night and to dance in. All in all, it wasnt my favorite dress but just like the other reviews i've read, i actually loved the dress after wearing it and got so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
December 13, 2015
Formal ball
I am 5'4", 125lbs - athletic build. This dress was very baggy on me and would have been much better on a very curvy person. But the dress was comfortable and easy to wear.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 32B
December 13, 2015
Dress came right on time!
I am 5'6 and wore heels. I would have liked the dress to touch the floor, but unfortunately it was a little short. I would recommend getting the long if planning to wear with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 13, 2015
My boyfriend was floored. This dress was so perfect on it hits all the right spots.
Cons: The arms were a little to long for me. I'm a petite 5'2"
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
December 12, 2015
Great dress!
This dress was exactly what I was looking for. It was extremely comfortable and very easy to move and dance in. The slit in the front made me feel sexy yet classy. I'm 5'4", and wore 4" heels... The regular length worked just fine. I am heavier around the middle and felt completely comfortable with this style... The fabric draped perfectly. The only con was the zipper kept sticking and the dress def looked like it was starting to wear along the hemline... The zipper also created a little bit of a bulge in my center back... It did not lay flat. Other than that I loved the dress and would def rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 76
December 11, 2015
I did not wear this dress. There was a problem with the zipper and also it was very heavy.
It's a elegant dress. Seems to run true to size. The side slit is very deep so you can' wear an undergarment that comes down the thigh.
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
December 11, 2015
Gorgeous gown. Easy to move in and breathe.
I wore a 14L and it fit amazing! I received a lot of compliments and I was happy with this rental. I would suggest a big statement necklace to give the dress a more refine look. Overall, I loved this piece!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
December 10, 2015
Elegant and Slimming
Elegant and Slimming. Very comfortable, the 8L had enough room to be comfortable and long enough to wear with flats. Very high slit but enough fabric to drape across leg to provide modesty while sitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 10, 2015
I've never felt more beautiful! I got so many compliments. It hugged in all the right places!!
The fit was perfect. However, there was a ripple to the zipper in the back which annoyed me at first (and you will need help zipping!)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 10, 2015
We raised a tremendous amount of money for a local children's hospital!
This dress was perfect for me because I am always cold and it is lined and made of a heavy material. The sleeves were a little long, which I like, but others may not. This dress is comfortable and easy to move in. It's modest, but shows off just the right amount of leg. Speaking of which I wore 4in heels and they were perfect with the length. All and all a very classy dress, I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2015
Basic black dress - great as Morticia Addams!
I wore this dress for my son's first birthday / halloween party. We went as the Addam's family, so it was perfect as Morticia Addams. It was a very comfortable dress and the length allowed me to wear sensible heels in order to run after the kids! It's a pretty basic black dress so I probably wouldn't rent it for any other event as it doesn't really give the oomph factor. All in all, great rental for the costume!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2015
Classy, Timeless, Sexy
I would and probably will rent this dress again. I wish I owned it because it's so classic and so comfortable. You can dance the whole night away. I got so many compliments. I know the pictures don't do it justice because there is so much draping that falls in all the right places. It's thick fabric so you can wear anything underneath. Just a really really gorgeous dress. Perfect for my Holiday Party. I added a vintage broach to make it more holiday-esq.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
December 9, 2015
This dress made me feel stunning
The dress fit perfectly. I'm only 5'7'' and this dress just touched the floor. It hugged and draped in all the right spots and people kept complimenting on how beautiful I looked. I can't wait for the next event. I love this service.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 9, 2015
I received so many compliments in this dress. I would absolutely recommend it.
This dress was absolutely amazing. I wore it to a military ball. It was elegant and sleek. The slit in the leg was perfect, it was just the right height and didn't show too much of my leg. I am stick thin and extremely short yet this dress fit snug in all the right places and grazed the floor at just the right length. I did wear about 5 inch heels in the regular length, but the petite was not available for my occasion. I had such an amazing night in this dress; it was comfortable and easy to move in. It was just an amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
December 8, 2015
This dress is so flattering, it's unbelievable.
It has ruching around the belly and down the back to cover some trouble areas and it also somehow pulls you in at the waist giving you incredible shape, I was getting compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 8, 2015
Effortless elegance!
This dress is amazingly comfortable! I would definitely rent this one again! I rented an 8 and a 10 (both Long length), and the 8 was so short, and the 10 required heels. Luckily that was my plan. The draping on this dress is truly exquisite, and really makes it interesting. I received compliments all night. Would love to wear this again! The 8 was a snug fit, but the length made me go for the 10. I think the 8 would have gotten uncomfortable in the bust after a couple hours.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2015
I felt confident in this dress, which always makes for a great night!
The dress was beautiful. The slit is not as high as indicated in photo, nor is it in the front, but more to the side. The dress has some draping detail across front that had to be sorted out as it was not done prior to coming to me. The lining shifted a lot during the evening. It was a stretchy, heavy fabric that was perfect for a winter event. The long was still a tad short when paired with normal heels.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
December 7, 2015
Felt great in this dress!
Slimming and easy to wear! I went for the 4L, as it was all thats available, but it worked fine with a good pair of heels.
See more reviews:
2 / 21

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×