Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

561 reviews

Fit
Small 72
True to Size 414
Large 31
Photos 371
Harlot_O_Terror
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Feb 2, 2013

Stunning!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Being as tiny as I am I always have a hard time finding a dress. I tried on at least 15 different dresses in various department stores before I decided to rent for the first time. Needless to say I was nervous the dress wouldn't fit. I requested both the 0R & 0P. The Regular fit perfectly. I was a bit dissapointed the slit wasn't as high as seen in the picture but non the less it fit and looked stunning. This was my first time with RTR but won't be my last.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 3, 2013

A little disappointed...

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had very high hopes for this dress. I had to got to a military formal with my husband. I have a lot of tattoes & the event was in February so I wanted something long with long sleeves so i thought this dress would be it for me. One good thing about this dress is that it does show off your curves. Now for why I was disappointed. 1) It's a bit snug. Majority of the time I wear a size 2. I was forced to have PERFECT posture in this dress. 2) It's short! If a dress is catagorized as floor length, it needs to be just that. I'm 5'3 & a half the 2R was floating above my ankles! Good thing I ordered a 2L! Even the 2L was too short for me. I had to wear 2 inch heels, which I hate, & you could still see all of my shoes! Before I ordered it, I chatted with a stylist & asked her opinion if I should get a regular or long. she recommended that I get the regular. Good thing I didnt listen to her! If you want the dress to be an actual floor length & you are taller than 5'4, I strongly recommend getting the XL.3) The stitching was a bit awkward. It was very itchy around the neck. 4) I didn't like the hem at the bottom. It looked almost cheap. I didn't have a choice but to wear it since you don't get it till the day before the event. All in all, it was ok. Not completely satisfied. Not sure if I will order from RTR again.
Seazons
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 3, 2013

Great for Winter and Big Breasted Women

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress appeared modest with a sexy leg action, loved this dress.
Marta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Amazing Dress!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Im 5'6" and always have and issue since im between size 4 and 6. This time i wore 6L and it was a perfect fit. If you are 5'5" or taller definitely rent LONG, uness you are planning to wear flats. The dress is stunning and fits like a glove.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

No one else had this dress at the event.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit really well, but the draping and ruching was a little stretched out. Other than that I am very happy with the dress. It's very classy.
nightnurse
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

The overall fit was great once all the layers were properly draped. It got many compliments for me.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The extra dress ordering is fantastic. I wear an 8 or 10, depending upon styling. The 8 fit but was a bit snug in the chest area. The 10R was perfect and fell right at the top of my shoes just like I like a long dress to appear. It was very comfortable and being able to wear a normal bra was perfect.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 23, 2013

great conservative dress for Naval Ball

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to MY Naval Ball (no not my boyfriend's,) and was very please with how it looked. I felt so glamours and elegant and got tons of compliments from everyone, even my very critical fellow midshipmen thought I looked really glamours. I got the 2L and 4L and ended up with the 4L because of my broad shoulders. IT IS SHORT. I am 6'0" and the long was barely touching the ground, i was wearing flats so it wasn't a big deal, I would have gotten the XL but they only have it in 6XL and up which would've been way to big, so that was slightly disappointing. But the dress itself is beautiful, it looks & feels very expensive. Its very flattering and hugged all my curves. It was really beautiful.
annette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 26, 2013

i felt amazing in this dress!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i got SO many compliments on this dress! i felt so pretty and loved it for a very formal event. it fits true to size... i'm 5'2, so i was able to order the 4P and still wear 3 inch heels. just a note - the dress does hug the body and i'm in between sizes currently so i ordered a 6P as well. when i went to try on the 6P that came with my order, it was NOT a 6P even though it was labeled as such. it was WAY shorter than the 4P and wouldn't even zip up. thankfuly the 4P fit but i would have been out of luck if i needed a size up.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Elegant

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress needs accessories ladies!! I was nervous when I first tried it on because it is VERY black and very simple, but it all came together with the right jewelry, hair and make up. I'm 5'5 and the 4R was just the right length with my 3 inch heels. This dress was very comfortable and elegant and perfect for winter events.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215 lbs
Mar 8, 2013

Stunning dress! Rented for a black and white masquerade ball, it was absolute perfection.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is phenomenal, flattering, the definition of understated glamor. The fabric is substantial and the drape creates interest and smooths, and it falls perfectly to create an hourglass figure. The slit shows enough skin to balance the look, but isn't high enough for a wardrobe mishap. It was comfortable and easy to move in. Do take care to order the right length, you will probably need to order a longer size than you think. I am 5'11" and wore a 14L, but if I had worn stilettos, I would have needed a 14XL. I would absolutely rent this dress again for a winter event. I received compliments all night.
Meg
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 12, 2013

Timeless

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a March event. I wore it to a fundraising ball and paired with a big neckace. The rouching seemed a little stretched out but it may have been how the dress actual is. It draped/hung below my belly button. I am tiny on top/waist with a thicker bottom so maybe that's why. You will def need the long if you are wearing heels. I am 5'6 and the regular length was too short. I did end up wearing sheer black hose. I felt the slit was a little high when I sat down and just felt better with something on my legs. This dress gave me confidence and received compliments all night long.
Eugenie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

I wore this dress to a gala auction for the school that I work at.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'4 and the regular length was way too short for me with my 3 inch heels. I ended up wearing the long length. It was a little too long for me but still looked elegant. I received a lot of compliments. The dress is very comfy!
Alli
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 27, 2013

The dress.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The draping was unexpected and I might have preferred it without, but otherwise, a beautiful gown and perfect for my occasion - a "mountain formal" charity ball. Classic, yet glamorous. Wore it with Kendra Scott earrings, strappy black heels, and had the most wonderful compliments all night. Fits true to size.
Hannah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 2, 2013

The dress was beautiful and elegant!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4L but I wore a 2L in this dress and it fit like a glove! Very good for formal occasions.
Anna Lynn
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

I wore this dress to Bison Ball at Howard University. I got compliments all night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to Bison Ball at Howard University. It fit me very well and was easy to move in. I got compliments all night!
Alison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Beautiful gown and was like a glove. Elegant.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tried the 8R and 8L. 8R was perfect. Will rent again as so classic. Loved it and was comfortable all night.
Gina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2013

Prom Perfect

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! It went perfect with my red carpet themed prom! I was getting compliments on it all night and I am nothing but happy with the choice I made! Okay, so, as far as fit goes: it's not that this dress runs large, it's just made of very stretchy material. It's easy to fit into. I normally wear a size 6 (which looked better on me-I'll get to that in a moment) but I went with the 4. I am very tall for my age so, when I was ordering my dresses, I needed to get the 'long' versions. They didn't have the 6L available so I went with the 4L-which I don't mind-but the 6P looked better, it was just too short. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels and the 4L barely grazed the ground. Other than my preferred size not being available, the dress is beautiful and I am VERY pleased with this site. OH! And the dresses came with a cute little goodie bag!
Bandy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 9, 2013

I was scared this wouldn't fit, but it was perfect! So great. I loved it, and so did everyone else!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought the fit was wonderful. I ordered the long so I could wear heels with it, and the length was just right. At times the sleeves felt a bit short, but they looked great. The fabric has weight to it which I appreciated, because then the bottom didn't flap everywhere in the wind while I was walking. Overall, fantastic choice! And let's be real... it's Badgley Mischka. I knew it would be amazing.
Murph
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2013

Amazing, amazing, amazing!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Best night ever and that is bc I liked this dress more than my wedding dress. Still the same man after 16 years but my style has evolved. I have never felt more glamorous! I am a hard fit for dresses. 5'10" and very broad shoulders and rib cage from sports and Pilates. I have tried so many times to find the perfect dress to find it hanging off my lower body like a potato sack. This dress hung perfectly in all the right places. Hoping to buy one for a long term staple in my closet!
Allie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress. Am a regular 4 in junior size clothing, but the 0R fit perfectly. I cannot wear big heels, so I wore a 1 inch heel, and it was above my ankles. So, if you plan on wearing something bigger than a 1 inch heel GET THE LONG! if not, it will be a tea length dress. Fits well all over, I was worried about the bust being too big, but it was perfect. Sleeves were the perfect length as well. Would definitely rent again.
Elayne
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Love how the dress made me feel! i felt like a million bucks!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love how the dress curved my body! the slit hit exactly where it should, not to high not to low, the dress was comfortable as well. I love all the compliments I got as well, this dress was perfect.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Great Dress, Very flattering and tasteful!

Size worn: 6XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm on the right in the photo, and I thought this dress is was as great as everyone describes, and it fit like a glove. I liked the draping, and thought it was really flattering and made me look smaller than I think I am! The most important part of this review is the length for the tall girls out there. I was concerned if an XL would do, but ended up being perfect. I'm 5'11" and wore 4 inch heels and the dress touched the ground. If you wear 3-4" heels and are 5'9"-6'0" you should be more than fine!
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

This dress made me feel like Angelina Jolie!

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my 25th (!) high school reunion. I could have worn the 14R, but I wanted to be comfortable for several hours, so I chose the 16R. It's VERY comfortable, slinky, elegant, and worked my curves. I received compliments all evening! The hem on the left sleeve was coming out a bit (it was that way when I received it), but not noticeable. Excellent service from RTR!
G
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 31, 2013

The slit made this dress very sexy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The fit was a little large, but I figured it was because of the usage of the dress. Otherwise this dress was perfect for my pre-wedding shoot!
eroby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Aug 6, 2013

I felt stunning, sexy and elegant.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I used this dress for my Barbizon modeling graduation, all my friends, family, teachers and the guests of the event fall in love with this dress, everybody want to take pictures with me, and asked me where i got this amazing dress. i felt unique. the dress fit perfectly, it was true to my size. i will definitely recommend this page. Best dress ever xx
Krystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

The sex appeal this dress offers without revealing too much is breathtaking!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5"7.5. 128 lbs, with 4inch platform heels I wore the 6L . 4L fit better but was too short. The 6L was better w length a smidge loose for me. I also wear a 34C , bust fit was very comfortable. Many compliments, very comfortable and flattering for mid section.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

The perfect sexy gown for a formal "business" affair

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2L and 4L as a backup. I'm usually a 4, sometimes a 2, but most of the reviews of women with my same body frame made it sound like it ran big. I'm happy I got the 4 as my backup because it fit like a glove. Received lots of compliments. My boyfriend liked it especially and was ready to buy me the real thing! Wish I had this in my closet as my go-to!
Denise
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

saved at the last minute!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was a replacement dress for the first one I ordered....which was loo long, and I decided it was not age appropriate for me. The 36DDDs were barely kept in place in the strapless one I selected. This dress was a last minute replacement, and was perfect, had enough stretch, and the draping disguised figure flaws.! I got many complements, and despite the photo, it was slimming.....It is longer in the back,so there is a tiny drag on the floor. It was perfect for the 007 party I attended.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 27, 2013

Subtly sexy.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was going to my cousin's formal wedding so I thought I would try out RTR. This was a backup dress I ordered since the wedding was Oct 26 and the weather is a little unpredictable around the SF Bay Area. I didn't wear this to the wedding since it turned out to be quite warm, but it would definitely be a nice choice for an event in a colder season. The fit was true to size: I'm 5'4", 115lbs, 30-32B, and normally wear a 2. The 2L was perfect in the body and length with 100mm (4") heels. The sleeves did seem just a tad shorter than what I'm used to, but I'm used to long sleeves that hit just past my wrist to cover the base of my palm. This dress also has gathering around the hips that end at the back zipper. The bunching/gathered fabric makes it so you don't have to booty tooch if you're not that curvy. I have curvy hips so I was a little worried about that, but it actually looks flattering on. I also love the slit! It isn't too high, but still gives a peek of leg that turns this otherwise basic dress a sexier feel. The only thing I don't like about the dress is that the seam going diagonally across the bust made my boobs look kinda weird - like one is higher than the other? lol. Maybe that could have been fixed with a different bra.
Tam
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

This was the perfect gown for a black tie Gala. Elegant and sophisticated with a sexy side slit.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit, length and overall shape. The gown was sophisticated and sexy without revealing to much skin which was perfect for the even I attended.
Megan
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

i had a 4 inch shoe…i loved it because i felt so classy and i only needed a snazzy earring to finish

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the fit is true to size…I'm 5'9 so the long was perfect…the fit was comfortable, and i loved the sexiness it had
maryann
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

Very Sophisticated!!! Elegant and very Audrey Hepurn

Size worn: 10XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing fit - hugs all the right places and is great for an evening winter affair wasn't dressy enough for a ball I was going to but wore it the night before for a Friday Night Charity event. Many compliments and one I had to share my secret - and gave Rent the Runway Free PR
sdmd
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 3, 2013

Fabulous dress! Glamourous feel and super comfortable!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! The reviews were very helpful in choosing a dress. I'm short and on the heavier side, so I needed a dress that wasn't too long and had a stretch component to the fabric. I ordered the 16R and 14R and just as I had anticipated, the 16R was too long, but the 14R was perfect. I will definitely use this service again!
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 5, 2013

This dress is incredible. Both of us RTR and were the talk of the night. Absolutely stunning.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered accidentally a 2L and 4L and RTR overnighted me a 2 Regular. They have the best customer service. It fit perfectly. slip isn't too dramatic. dress keeps you warm but I was never hot. sexy, classy, just gorgeous. I didn't want to send it back. I also didn't wear a necklace and was fine.
Kristie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

This dress was beautiful! Quality construction and very comfortable.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size.
Marsha
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Classy and Comfortable!!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is true to size and fits like a glove. The length was perfect, even for a shorter woman, and the fit, style and material made it very comfortable for an evening of dinner and dancing. Highly recommend for your formal event!
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Worn to sorority formal and have never felt more confident!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
To be completely honest, when it came in the mail and I first tried it on, I was a bit disappointed..the ruffle-like draping in the front especially was much more prominent than in the picture on the website which made me upset at first. HOWEVER. The longer I wore it, the more I loved it and realized how perfect it was--fit like a glove, hugged curves in all the right places, and was very comfortable. The draping can look a little funny in pictures (giving the appearance of a bulge) but that wasn't really a problem, I felt like a million bucks and got many compliments! :)
laney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Great dress but made for an hourglass body shape!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I fit into the 12L perfectly, but then the sleeves and bottom were WAY too short. That forced me to wear the 14L which was boarderline too big. The draping is also significantly different than shown in the model picture. I would recommend going through some of the review pictures to get an actual idea of how this might drape on you. I think this dress was made for someone with a small waist and bigger hips, and not really for my apple shaped body. I was worried about the slit being too high, but it actually turned out quite tasteful. The material is thick and kept me warm for the evening formal wedding I went to in New York. The dress fit, but honestly did very little for me.
Robyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Best dress ever!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a November wedding and it was a hit! I got a ton of compliments. Even the sweet bride text me the next morning to say how much she loved my dress. Very classy with a touch of sass in the slit. I wore the 0L with small heels and it was perfect.
imahuthnow
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 18, 2013

A gown fit for a SSgt's wife! Perfect for my 10th Marine Corps Ball.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. The 12L fit great but the zipper bubbled a little at the bottom in the back and I really didn't need any more rolls (real or perceived :) so I went with the 14L which was a little big but not noticeably baggy. I'm 5'6 and I wore 4 1/2 inch heels which left the dress still floor length but allowed the gold toe of my heels to peek through. The dress does have draping on both sides at the hips which is very flattering. I was a little nervous as I am already hip heavy. I did have a little issue when I first tried it on because somehow I managed to get both sides of the draping onto one side and it left the dress looking lopsided and me looking hip heavy (er). Once I got it straightened out though I was thrilled with the result. The Southern Plantation earrings were my mystery bling and obviously RTR knows what they are doing because they matched perfectly!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×