Badgley Mischka

Forbidden Territory Gown

$70 rental
$935 retail
Stylist Notes

Gorg-a-rama! Feel like the ultimate Bond girl in this stunning gown by Badgley Mischka - it's the perfect pick for your next black tie affair. Shown here with the Elizabeth Cole's Jet Ombre Bacall Earrings.
Also available in red.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-16 & plus 16W-20W

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with fuller skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Four lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4')'Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11''), XL measures 63" from shoulder to hem ) recommended for heights 5'11''-6'1'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Bump Friendly, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black matte jersey (100% Viscose). Long sleeves. Boat neckline. Straight skirt with side ruching and front slit. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
1212 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(771)
Small
(104)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 10, 2017
Perfect "007" Dress

I received this as a free upgrade when my original choice became unavailable. Although I was a little nervous about it, I'm so glad it worked out this way. This dress is magic! It is glamorous with the perfect amount of classy sexiness. The dress has draping in all the right places to help around the hips. I'm pear shaped and was worried it would be too clingy. However, the amazing construction and the extra support material around the middle section makes it fit like a dream. I wore a diamond choker and leopard heels to add a little interest. Love this dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155lbs
January 15, 2017
Didn't know I could feel this beautiful and this comfortable at the same time!

Was invited to a black tie event and I was nervous about using RTR. It was a very seamless process, the dress was 100% what I was looking for. The picture doesn't do it justice! I'm 5'9" and am glad I got the Long. Wore 3" heels and this dress skimmed the floor perfectly. Will be using this site for the next wedding or event I'm invited to! I've already recommended this service to all of my girlfriends :-)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
January 16, 2017
I was very comfortable all night.

The dress fit nicely, I felt elegant. The process was so easy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Good for a bump!

This dress worked well for a bump. I was 17 weeks pregnant and the fabric had nice stretch to fit around my growing belly. Altogether was very happy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2017
Great dress

Awesome dress, forgiving & well fitting. The ruching helps make it look like I don't have a gut at all

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
January 30, 2017
Great dress

I'm 5'4" and 105 lbs. and the 0 regular fit perfectly with 3" heels. The dress was very comfortable! Stretchy material, not too tight or too loose. It was perfect!

Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 4, 2017
Beautiful dress

I loved this dress, but the 0R was too long and the 2P was too big at the top so I wasn't able to wear it. If there was a 0P it would have been perfect! If your a little taller than 5'0 then this is a must! The customer service was also great as they offered me a credit towards my next rental since there wasn't enough time to send another out.

Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 224lbs
February 7, 2017
Great dress for a wonderful occasion!

I attended a wedding and needed a dress since I am almost 5 months pregnant and all of my formal gowns were too tight. So I remembered about RTR because that's where I told all my bridesmaids to get their gowns from. This turned out the be the perfect dress for the perfect occasion. It was elegant, sexy and nobody could tell I was pregnant. I received compliments all night about the dress! I will be renting again if I need to attend another formal occasion before I deliver in July.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2017
Love this dress!

This dress fit perfectly! Received tons of compliments all night. Would absolutely rent again.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
March 4, 2017
Such a nice flattering stretchy dress for my postpartum body!

Elegant, comfortable. Both the 8R and the 10R would have worked, however the 8R that they sent was missing the front ruching & the 10R had it, so I went with the 10R. The 8R would have been more form fitting and would have been beautiful on me if the dress wouldn't have had the defect in the front that made it thin. I did get compliments on dress all night and felt as comfortable as I could have being my current size. No special undergarments needed, super stretchy. Beautiful gown!!!! Will definitely use Rent the Runway again. Such an easy process with a great dress sent timely.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
March 5, 2017
Great gala dress!!!

Lots of compliments and very comfortable!! The draping gave it a little extra flair and it was very comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2017
So many compliments on this dress

This is a great dress for a winter event. It's warm without so much material. It's sexy and comfortable.

Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38H
Body type: Hourglass
March 9, 2017
Compliments all night long!

What a great dress! It was easy, so comfortable and very flattering. There was one minor issue with one of the sleeves (thus 4 stars instead of 5) - I guess the finishing on the cuff had come apart at some point and the repair was poorly done. Big clumps of thread on the interior of the cuff (I had to trim about 10 loose ends poking out!) and you could see the shoddy stitch work on the outside of the sleeve. Since it was black, it wasn't *as* obvious as it would have been in other colors, but it wouldn't have been difficult to properly mend it. I wore this to a gala and got so many compliments. The slit is great and the dress "walks" very well! If you have a lot of sitting (i.e. A dinner), beware of the slit! I was glad I had a napkin for extra coverage. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121lbs
March 12, 2017
Love!

I wore this to a formal affair. I was 8 weeks pregnant and needed something that had structure, yet had some give in the abdomen. The draping was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2017
So comfortable and bump friendly

This dress was so comfortable! I am 24 weeks pregnant and though it was definitely a body contouring dress it was easy to move around and dance in all night without having to pull or adjust it often. I loved the detail of the draped material on the back and the ruching in the front. I would recommend this dress for sure whether preggo or not. I normally would have worn the 6 but wore the 8 for a little extra belly room and because the 6 was much shorter in the length and arms. I'm 5' 8" and wore this with flats and it was ok. Heels would have needed the long.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect for a Winter Wedding

The dress was a perfect balance of classy and sexy. The side slit was just high enough to not be scandalous. I'm 5'4 and recommend getting the Regular size over the Petite size. The dress was just above the floor so it was easy to get around and dance in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2017
Class

If you are going for sexy but also classy great dress. I wore this for a formal event. The only thing I didn't like is the gathering on the front makes you look kinda pregnant. I probably should have went a size smaller. The slit come pretty high. Mid thigh. If you have some stellar quads to show off I would recommend this dress. For me this was my favorite part of this dress

Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 38
March 22, 2017
Classic elegance

This dress is stunning. I received so many compliments throughout the evening on the style and fit, not to mention it is one of the most comfortable formal gowns I've worn. I'm only 5'2 and I was a little hesitant to order the long but I read all the reviews stating the regular in this particular dress was short so I took a chance and I'm so glad I did! At the last minute, RTR had to send a regular because my alternate long had been damaged and was no longer available. The regular size stopped at mid-calf on me. Thankfully, the 2L fit like a dream and was the correct length with heels. Just something to keep in mind when choosing this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 26, 2017
I loved the slit in the dress

The fit was a little big on the back and arms. I loved the dress though. I wish the draping on the front covered the stomach more but I wore spanks. So it turned out fine. Was perfect for the military ball.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 27, 2017
Winter black tie dress

I just had a baby, so loved that this dress covered everything. It was perfect for a black tie winter wedding. I ordered the long because of my height and heel size per recommendations and while the length of the dress wasn't too long, the overlay part was way too low and didn't cover where it should. The regular length would have worked. I could have worn the size smaller but they only sent one size.

Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 2, 2017
Flawless Black Gown

Beautiful gown!! It fit as if it were made just for me!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
February 7, 2015
Everyone said I was the best dressed of the evening! I went with old Hollywood glam!

Beautiful dress for any event!

Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 11, 2016
Loved the idea of the dress and ended up being very nice overall but I could of used a size up

Loved the idea of the dress and ended up being very nice overall but I could of used a size up (my fault I didn't ask for 2 sizes) it was very short. I'm 5'4 and wear a size 18 and I should have asked for the 22W.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 6, 2015
Everyone kept telling me I look like hollywood

It was a little long for me but I wore flats to dance in. Other than that, I got compliments all night long!

Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
May 18, 2015
My order came on the day it said it would which was two days before and the complementary lotion.

First, I ordered a 20 and get my second size as a 22 because reviews said it ran small. When I got my order, they sent me a size 2 instead of a 20, but I was super lucky that the 22 fit perfectly, but that's what kept it from being a 5 star review. Now the dress was more than I expected! I was very happy with how it looked on me. It did seem a bit tight in the stomach area but the color and design made it less noticeable and made me feel comfortable. The fabric isn't as heavy as the reviews I read made it seem and the fabric itself is actually pretty nice and feels nice when you're wearing it. I wore this dress to my Sorority's formal so I sat, took photos, walked around and danced in this dress with no problem really. It is a long dress so I expected there to be a small little mishaps like usual but it wasn't something significant. Overall, I had a good experience renting a dress and wearing thing dress. The service was good and the dress looked classy and beautiful while receiving some positive comments from people!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2014
Easy to return

There is a decent amount of stretch in the fabric

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 20, 2014
I was looking for a long sleeve dress and long at length, this was prefect

Everything was prefect

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
November 24, 2014
This was a very comfortable and flattering dress.

It fit really well, I am only 5'4'' and ordered a long after reading other reviews and I was glad I had. The sleeves were still a little short but it still looked nice. I received numerous compliments. It did take a little fussing to get it to lay right, but it was smooth sailing after that.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 29, 2014
N/a

Runs pretty small. I'm a size 10 and wore a 12 long, which was still extremely tight on me. I should have worn a 14 instead. This dress is beautiful but runs super small so even with spanx it will show all the curves, even those you don't want seen.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
December 3, 2014
This dress was perfect and I got tons of compliments!

It's hard to tell but this dress has an interesting (but gorgeous) cut to it. It's heavy, but perfect for a colder night. I wore it to a marine corps ball in North Carolina and it was perfect for a chilly November night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Bust size: 32D
December 14, 2014
Didn't get To wear it ... A little too long

So this was a back up size to the 0P ... Unfortunately the 0P was damaged and not sent as a result. This dress was perfect just too long and I didn't want to damage it. Fits true to size and perfect for winter ! Thanks RTR for everything!!!

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 17, 2014
I got so many compliments with this dress! It fit great! It was very comfortable!

My only complaint about this dress was it was a little short in the front. I am 5'7" and with heels on I was even taller so I think if I rent this dress again I will get the 6L instead of the 6R.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Great dress. Classy yet sexy. The length was perfect with heels. Got a lot of compliments!

Loved that it had stretch so even if it's a little small/big it still fits great. The slit is higher than it looks so sitting in public can get a little tricky..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Loved this dress

I really could have worn the 4L as the 2 was a bit tight in places, but the 4L had obviously been hemmed at some point. I'm 5'7" and it came up almost to my ankles with heels on. The 2L still didn't reach the floor, which I prefer, but it was a much better length. This dress is extremely forgiving and flattering and great for a winter formal affair.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 143lbs
January 2, 2015
This dress made my night! I got the 6L which was perfect for my 5'2 height.

Perfect gown for a formal affair! I would definitely rent this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 3, 2015
I had so many compliments all night long on NYE. In a sea of black dresses I still stood out.

I'm 5'8, so I ordered the 4L and back up 6R. They ended up being the same length on the legs, which I though was strange, so I had to go with the 6 for the arm length which was significantly longer. The 6 was a bit loser in the body as well which made it more comfortable to fit in. If you have curves I recommend going a size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 3, 2015
Always perfect timing and wonderful customer service!

This dress was beautiful and perfect for a formal New Years party. It ran a little small and has extra material on the left side I didn't see in the model photo. Over all is was wonderful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 6, 2015
Amazing customer service!! Responsive and very friendly.

I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding. After reading the reviews, I decided to go with a 10L and a 12L. When the dress arrived, the smaller size was a little too big in the waist. I emailed customer service and they offered to send me another style of dress since they did not have an 8 available. They were extremely responsive and very nice about everything. I ended up wearing the 10 and I just bought a gold belt from Express to pair with it. It looked amazing in photos and I wS very happy with it! The dress runs shorter so I would definitely go with the Long. It always runs big, so when in doubt I would go smaller. It's a very modest dress, so I felt it needed to be more fitted to look flawless. All in all I was very happy! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 14, 2015
Gorgeous dress. I don't have a picture that does it justice. Modest and sexy with a high slit!

This dress runs true to size. I wore 3" heels and the dress was the perfect length.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2015
Dress feels like a red carpet gown.

I wore the 2l. I wore four inch heels and the bottom just brushed the floor. This is a really flattering gown and really highlights your ASSets. Definitely go ahead and order a great necklace if you don't have one, the neckline deserves some baubles.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×