Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
198 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size94
Small103
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 20, 2016
perfect, form fitting dress
I wore this to a formal Christmas business party. It runs true to designer sizes. I normally wear a 10 at Express, and a 12 in high end designers. the 12 fit perfectly. It was a little tight in the bust, but with a 34DDDD sized bust, everything is tight.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2015
Such a fun, comfortable dress!!! Would highly recommend, but size up.
Comfortable but runs small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 7, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress that I lost count!
The color of this dress is gorgeous! The fabric accent on the shoulder was annoying at first, but I soon forgot all about it. The ruching on the dress makes for a very flattering cut.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 29, 2014
Amazing
It fits like a glove. I received a thousand compliments for this dress. The color is as seen and I love green so I was so excited.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 7, 2014
Nice shape -- but cheap fabric
The dress looked great in the picture, but the fabric was cheap and plastic looking.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
November 27, 2014
Runs small!!!
Couldn't zip it up, even though I'd ordered a size larger than I usually wear (since other reviewers had warned about the sizing). Good thing I had ordered a second dress, as well! This one was useless to me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 18, 2014
Gorgeous Color!
I wanted to have a dress that was not my standard black formal dress. The emerald is perfect and really stands out. I'm glad that RTR recommended getting a size up because it does run small. The rushing is flattering and helped since the fabric doesn't stretch. This was the first time I also rented accessories and was very happy with my earrings and bracelets.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 20, 2014
great dress!!! beautiful color!!!!
I loved the fit on this dress, easy and comfortable to wear all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 11, 2014
Process was so easy
Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
June 10, 2014
Gorgeous dress in a striking color.
This dress looks fantastic on. It is definitely sized small, and I wish I had ordered one size up bc I was slightly worried about the tight fit, but I squeezed into it, and I loved it so much, I had to wear it! It's a really rich emerald green color in person which makes the dress feel even fancier. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2014
Perfection.
This dress fit like a glove. Not only was the color stunning, but it fit perfectly, hugging in all the right places and at the same time, sucking you in. I got SO MANY compliments on both the color and the fit and to top if off, it was super comfortable. I wore this for a winter wedding and it was beautiful! Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2014
First RTR experience, and loved it
I ordered both the 6 and 8, and then switched out the 6 for a 10 at the last minute because the dress is so fitted. The RTR customer service representative was incredibly helpful and overnighted the size 10. I'm pear shaped, so it was more fitted around my hips, but the ruching hid any odd wrinkles when I walked. I love the color and style of the dress, and I wish I could have kept it for myself!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2014
Beautiful dress, but not necessarily work appropriate.
Pro: I LOVED this color--it was absolutely gorgeous for my fall event. Con: The fit was a little snug and a little short. Although it was beautiful and may have been perfect for a different occasion, I felt a little uncomfortable wearing it at a work event. I'm fairly small in the upper body and it was very tight across my chest.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
Saved the Day!
I received this dress as an emergency back up to replace a dress that arrived in terrible condition. Turns out this dress was better for the event I was attending anyways - so it worked out. It was a letter "P" themed charity event, so this was a piece of a Peacock inspired ensemble. The cut is flattering, but has very little give in the fabric. I recommend sizing up if you can. The zipper was difficult, but most are. Ha! A great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 21, 2014
Show Stopper
Great dress, that didn't look like "everyone" else's dress. Definitely stood out in a crowd and got attention from all different types of people with very different style. My husband kept forgetting calling it a Boom-shacka-lacka dress instead of Badgley Mischka because he said that was easier to say and definitely highlighted certain areas :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 13, 2014
Prefect for an early pregnancy baby belly!
I wore this dress to a black tie party when I was about 12 weeks pregnant and in that awkward stage of still no real belly but not quite my normal size. This dress was perfect for the situation! The gathering on the body of the dress disguised my little baby belly well and help me feel confident in how I looked that evening. I actually tucked the large shoulder bow under to create a more narrow strap, and I loved how that looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 19, 2014
Gorgeous color! Got many compliments!
I usually wear a 2 and even though the 2 fit well, I felt more comfortable in the 4. The color is even more beautiful than the picture.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 12, 2014
Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove.
Gorgeous dress, fit like a glove, size 2 fit like a 0 though. But luckily, I knew that from other reviews so it wasn't a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 6, 2014
Sometimes, less is more.
The color was beautiful. I rented it as a backup, but sometimes less is more. I rented a 10, based on others suggestions, and it certainly did not look "big" . Its about the fit, not the number.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132lbs
February 27, 2014
very flattering!
this dress fits in all the right places, I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2014
Best dress ever!
Beautiful, beautiful dress that got me compliments the whole night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
February 15, 2014
Gorgeous dress, very flattering, match very well with gold accessories
Very nice dress
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 14, 2014
Wonderful dress!
The shoulder detail makes it stand out in a crowd. Tight in the hips, size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
January 22, 2014
Great dress for NYE!
Loved this dress! The fabric was very nice and shimmery. The color was a nice emerald green (as pictured). The flap over the left shoulder was a little large and in the way but you can tuck it under to make it less obtrusive. The dress runs very small. I'm usually a 10 but even the size 12 was a little snug. I'm tall (5'11") and the length was fine for me...a bit above the knee.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2014
everything about RTR was perfect, i can't wait for my next rental!
I got SO many complements :) the dress was slimming, sexy & I loved the color but the bow made it difficult to wear a coat/jacket.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2014
Elegant design, stunning color, comfortable dress!
Overall, great dress for my black tie wedding event! It was so easy to wear and was a lot of fun to dance in. I got so many compliments throughout the night! This dress ran VERY small. I'm normally a size 6 but ultimately went with the 10! YIKES. I could have worn the 8 but it fit a little too perfectly and I wasn't sure if I'd be comfortable after dinner and dancing. In the very least, order 1 size up. The dress itself is gorgeous. The color is deep and has just enough shine to make you stand out. The cut is very flattering and forgiving. There's just a enough rouching across the front to hide any little flaws, and the fabric is thick enough to lay smoothly across curves. I wasn't sure how the shoulder would look on me, but it turned out fine. Had I tried this dress on before scheduling my blowout, I would have opted for an updo because keeping your hair down definitely conflicts with the style of this dress. Lastly, the bust did have plenty of room, but I'm only a B cup and did opt for a much larger size than I would normally ever wear, so that could have been a factor. On the plus side, this dress can probably fit bustier ladies if you size up (and can more than handle a padded bra on ladies with A/B cups).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
January 11, 2014
I got lucky with this one
This dress was actually my third choice for my godsister's wedding. The one I originally wanted was only available in a 6 and ran small. I could barely walk, let alone sit in it. Luckily this amazing site offered the option to rent this dress as well, and I am so greatful I did. The dress was GORGEOUS! Fit like a glove, the stretchy material allows you to move freely, and the shine of the color really pops in person. The service and experience was fantastic and I have people telling all my friends about it ever since.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, just not right for me!
I rented this to wear at my formal birthday dinner. I rented an 8 and a 10, thinking that I would probably fit into the 8 since I've recently lost weight. The 8 was too tight around my hip/butt area. When I tried on the 10, I realized that the two sizes FIT EXACTLY THE SAME. I feel like this dress was not meant for those of the curvier nature, but if you decide to try it, I suggest running one or two sizes larger.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
The ease of using RTR made this dress worth it!
I ordered a size up for both my actual dress and the extra one just in case and the 6 fit like a glove. I like the space in the mid section, and how formfitting it was on the bottom. The cap sleeve was tricky to pair with a shawl or a jacket (wore it for NYE, brrrr), but other than that I loved everything about the fit of this dress. I would say order a size up, as the bottom is tight and not everyone likes that look,but the dress fits true to size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
December 22, 2013
Beautiful dress, runs REALLY small
I rented this in two sizes, my usual dress size and a size up. It was not at all kind to my pear-shaped body. It fit around the bust and waist, hugged way too tightly around my bottom-half and would only zip to just below my bust. Needless to say, I didn't end up wearing this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2013
So comfortable!
Beautiful color, fit perfectly and was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 14, 2013
Worn for a semi-formal holiday party. Flattering and glamorous.
Runs small, particularly through the hips (I also ordered a 2 and had to go for the 4, even though it was a little gappy in the bust). Hit just above the knee on my 5'2" frame.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169lbs
December 8, 2013
This was my first experience with RTR, and it was fabulous. I'm a customer for life now!
I had a black tie optional Christmas party to attend, and really loved the color of this dress. I selected the size 10 with a size 12 as the backup. As several reviewers mentioned, this dress does run small, and it was clear that the 10 wouldn't make it up over my hips, but the 12 was a little larger, with the help of shape wear. You definitely want to wear shape wear (Spanx, etc.) with this dress, as it does show all the bumps and lumps. Thanks to being a little out of shape at the moment, I wore the dress with a strapless Flexees by Maidenform strapless body briefer, plus a Flexees easy-up firm control waist nipper, then sheer black control top hose. (Ladies, if you opt for a body briefer, go with a thong style or a slip style, as I felt like I had to really suck in my rear end to keep the briefer's panty lines from really standing out.) The color of this dress is a deep green and is GORGEOUS! I did find that the dress did ride up just a bit, but I think that was due to the shape wear to some degree. I found myself adjusting my dress from time to time, but it wasn't a big deal. I also rented the gold Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings and Cara Accessories Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet, and they were perfect with this dress. I got tons and tons of compliments and felt really great in this dress. This was my first RTR experience, and I'll be a customer for life. I opted for a Shoshanna backup dress (the Black Leopard dress), and they only had the 10 available (the 12 wasn't available for my rental date). I think that the Shoshanna dress would have been a winner, too, had the 12 been available for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
December 8, 2013
Great color, flattering fit!
I wore this for a Christmas party at home. I got so many compliments on the dress. Based on reviews I got a 6, and I'm glad I did. It was a tight squeeze, but it looked and felt good once it was on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 1, 2013
Gorgeous color sexy and sophisticated!
I wore this dress to a charitable auction amid a variety of dresses including basic cocktail to floor length formal. I normally wear size 8-10 in dresses so in my opinion this dress ran very small. I received so many compliments on this dress! It was a little more form fitting than I would normally wear; however, my husband and brutally honest 11 year old daughter both encouraged me to wear it so I said what the heck! Due to the strategic placement of the ruching, this dress offers just the right camouflaging for curvy women. The one shoulder design gave it that extra "something". I paired this dress with the earrings mentioned and strappy Electra Gold Royal shoes by Nina. I would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2013
Georgeous emerald green dress
I wore this dress to an evening wedding. I'm typically a six, but the reviews suggested to go up a size and I'm glad I did. The eight fit just right! I definitely recommend.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2013
Beautiful Color
It runs pretty small. I wear a 2 on a larger day, and had to go buy a body spanx to make sure there weren't any lumps and that I could actually fit into it. It was really pretty, but it's runs SMALL fyi!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
November 23, 2013
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress - I returned it for a credit, but it's still very pretty
This dress is beautiful and is a deep emerald color. It would have been perfect for the Wizard of OZ themed gala I was attending. Unfortunately for us wider hipped ladies I think you might want to consider ordering 2 sizes up, and definitely one size up. I also have a wide torso, so I could get the zipper past my waist on the 8, but not past the bustline. The 6 was just altogether too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2013
beautiful fabric and cut, great for a formal affair.
This dress runs very small, I usually wear a size 4; the 8 was a snug fit, but I went with the 10 because I love to dance! I was able to take advantage of the 'try-it-on' promotion and I am so glad I did because I tried on the 6 and knew I would have to size up before the wedding. I received so many compliments on this shiny beautiful dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 9, 2013
I had a "staircase moment" in this dress.
I loved the way this dress fit. It hugs in all the right places and the color is spectacular. I got so many compliments wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×