Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
197 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size93
Small103
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
Worked great! Fit very well
Very comfortable, did not feel too tight, great color. Ran true to size. I just had a baby when I wore it so wore a bigger size than usual. Usually wear a 4 but wore a 6. Worked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Absolutely gorgeous dress!
I'm going to have to go ahead and say it ran a little small and here's why. I'm usually a 0-2 but I couldn't zip the 0 and just barely squeezed into the 2. The 4 could've been way too big but I don't know. Even though it was tighter than I usually like it had the rouching on the sides and you couldn't tell. I think it was just perfect in the 2 on my body. All my pictures looked fantastic in this dress. I would actually rent the same one again I loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect for Christmas Gala
this dress was beautiful and fit perfectly. it was very comfortable to dance in all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 1, 2012
This was a great dress! It was very form fitting and hugged you in all the right places!
Great dress, true hunter green, great fit and not revealing but sexy at the same time!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 28, 2012
The color, fit and flare of this dress definitely combined to get the "WOW!" factor I was going for!
I normally wear a 6, but decided to get the 8 just in case the hips/chest were weird, and I ended up wearing an 8, which fit very nicely. I don't think I would've been able to eat dinner in the 6! The material is very flattering and comfortable; I wore this dress for several hours, both to a sit-down, formal dinner and later to a chic afterparty and it definitely made the transition seamlessly. Got tons of compliments, especially on the color/fit/shoulder detail.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 20, 2012
Everyone kept asking me about my style. I was a hit at the party. It made me feel extra special
Great fit. Love the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Love this dress!
Loved this dress! Great fabric and color. It seemed to have a turquoise tint, but most thought it looked emerald green. It definitely runs small. I'm normally a 4 which was skin tight, and even the 6 was tight but fit well for the most part. One thing to be aware of, I was running around in it all night working an event, and it does ride up. Also, the top part by the collarbone seemed to bubble up a bit, but I was probably the only one that noticed. The ruching fabric made it very flattering, and the material on the shoulder makes it look fancier, not 80's as I originally thought it did in the model picture. I highly recommend it as long as you buy 1-2 sizes bigger!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
I would love to have this in my closet permanently.
It is great for formal affairs and dates. Looked so chic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
Liked it a lot
Received a lot of compliments on this dress. Some things I did not anticipate were the color was a lot brighter then I had thought(more of a dark turquoise green rather then hunter green) and the angle across the chest was higher then I thought. The cut of the dress was beautiful, and very flattering!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 11, 2012
Great dress!
Loved this dress and wore it for a St. Patty's Day wedding! The ruching was lovely, and the dress was very figure-flattering overall. Oh, and the color was more teal than emerald, I would say. My only complaint was that it had a large stain (a spilled drink) on the front of the skirt. I didn't notice it until I was in the cab on the way to the wedding...it wasn't all that noticeable otherwise I would have seen it when it arrived, but still would have preferred a dress in better condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 31, 2012
Nice but a little too flashy
This fit me extremely well, but that leaf-like shoulder adornment is much bigger and poofier than the photos would have you believe and the dress is VERY form-fitting and shiny. I prefer something a little more subtle in general.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
didn't end up wearing
My husband didn't love this dress, so I wore something else. I think the dress was a bit on the runs smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
August 25, 2012
felt like a princess!
I absolutely loved everything about this dress. The fabric feels so smooth and the dress is slim fitting, but not constricting. The length was perfect -- not too long, not too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2012
Classy and unique
This dress was the perfect choice for a large formal wedding. The color is standout (it's a bit more teal than it looks on my monitor) but the material and cut is classy and gorgeous. The sleeve and bodice has nice structure, not too floppy. I loved it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Black Tie NYC Dinner
Perfect dress for my black tie dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
August 12, 2012
Fit like a really nice glove.
It was as if the 0 was custom made for my body. I didn't even try on the 2. The skirt hit me a couple of inches lower than the model and the dress was quite fitted almost everywhere. There is some stretch to the fabric so I was able to breathe/boogie all night. The fabric is as shiny as pictured. It's a gorgeous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
August 9, 2012
Was sick when this pic was taken. This is me, trying on the dress. I posted this pic and a pic of me in my back up dress to ask FB which dress I should wear.
I loved this dress so so so much! The only thing I did was the shoulder flap was to fashion daring for me so I tucked it under. Even then the dress still looked fabulous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 19, 2012
Runs Very Small
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses... and the 10 was pretty much too small. I ideally would have worn the 12... Order up at least a size or probably two to be safe!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2012
I felt wonderful wearing a beautiful dress that made me feel like a movie star!
I rented this dress for a black tie optional night wedding and it was perfect! The dress does run small so I suggest renting up a size. I normal wear a 4 or 6 but after reading customer reviews I decided to rent a 6 and an 8. The 6 could have been worn but the 8 was much more comfortable. It fit slightly above the knee on me. This dress was beautiful and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 4, 2012
I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks in the dress. It is so nice to be able to rent a dress like this to attend some of these fancy work events I have to go to without breaking the bank!
This dress is gorgeous! The color is stunning and the fabric is thick and well made, so I felt like it was holding my in and keeping my shape. It fits true to size and I would definitely order it again. Would be perfect for a Christmas Party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 22, 2012
Order a size up!
I'm a tried and true size 2 but in this dress I wore my backup size 4 and it was perfect. The 4 fit like my 2s usually do, so make sure you order up - at least as backup. The dress was like a tailor fit and was awesome for a wedding. Definitely makes you look great and stand out with the great color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2012
Fits like a glove.
I'm normally a size 0, and read the reviews and ordered one size larger - glad I did! It's a dress that hugs all curves, fits like a glove. The ruching helps hide lines, enhances curves. Comfortable to wear. Order one size up!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
Perfect dress, perfect timing. Worry and stress free every time I need a dress!!
I rented this for my sorority formal and I typically wear a size 2, but after I read the reviews I decided to order a 4 and 6, so glad I did! The 4 was literally perfect and a 2 would have been way to snug. This dress is gorgeous and I got a million compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2012
panic that the size 8 was too small.... Emergency call to RTR... so gracious and helpful!! Relief when the RTR box showed up at noon the next day with the larger size, just hours before prom.
Got this dress for my daughter's senior prom. She usually wears an 8, so we ordered an 8 and a size 6 as backup. The 8 was too snug! The prom was a day away. Rent the Runway rescued her by sending sizes 10 and 12 via Fed Ex overnight. She looked stunning and felt fabulous. Thanks RTR for saving the day!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 25, 2012
i love it!
It's a gorgeous dress and I wore it to my sorority formal. It's a little long for me, 5'3" but I still like it a lot. The color is more impressive than it is on the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 23, 2012
Gorgeous color
The shoulder piece on this was larger than anticipated, the color is more turquoise than dark green, and I found it to run small for someone with an hourglass figure such as mine. That said, I thought it was absolutely gorgeous and loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2012
Great color!
The color of this dress is absolutely stunning. The event I wore it to had an assortment of creative lighting, and it was very cool to see how the dress changed hues ever so slightly depending on the type of light I stood in. I wore it with a pair of Kenneth Jay Lane emerald drop earrings (which I own, but I believe are available for rent on RTR) and felt very glam. RTR is great! I received the dress quickly, and returning the dress was just as simple. Won’t be my last rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 14, 2012
Beautiful, stunning color
I wore this for a black tie affair--stunning, absolutely stood out among a sea of black and red. The length was just above the knee and the shoulder detail is beautiful. The color is very vibrant. I rented a 6 and a 4, the 6 was a good fit but really figuring flattering--it might not be appropriate at a more conservative event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2012
Beautiful fabric!!
Great color and absolutely stunning dress! Received many compliments on this dress! It was a little snug, but it's meant to be that way. Very satisfied with this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100lbs
March 11, 2012
Fabulous!
A friend saw me wearing this dress and rushed to RTR to rent it herself for an upcoming wedding. In my opinion, that says it all. I wore it to a graduate school formal and it absolutely made me feel red carpet-worthy and was very appropriate to the occasion -- the dark green fabric has a subtle shimmer and feels very luxe. I do think that it runs small because the 0 fit me like a glove and as a very petite person, I often have trouble even with 0s (I actually got this as a backup dress to a Tracy Reese whose 0 was too loose). As for length, I am 5'2" and the dress hit me at just above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2012
I was so happy the bride loved my dress!
I had a great time in this dress. When it first arrived I was concerned about the size at it looks to be very small. Once on it is a very true fit so if you don't want it to be tight definitely order a size up to be safe. Received many compliments on the unique style and pretty color. I certainly recommend this dress the length is perfect for an elegant affair!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2012
Beautiful quality, great service.
I received a ton of compliments on this dress! It is beautiful. I usually wear a size 2 but I took the advice of the other reviewers and orders a few sizes up since I have wide hips. The size 4 fit but I wore the size 6 because it was more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2012
Hair and makeup matched with a great dress make for a glam night!
This dress is gorgeous and was so fun!!
RTR CustomerSeptember 18, 2012
You looked fabulous! Works great with your coloring.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2012
LOVE LOVE
I love this dress! I wore it to a friends formal wedding and it looked beautiful. The only thing is that throughout the night i feel like it stretched a tiny bit. i still felt comfortable, but i would recommend sizing down if you prefer a tighter look. all in all it was glamorous and classy!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 23, 2012
Felt like a million bucks
I ordered the 4 and the 6 in the dress and ended up wearing the 6 because the 4 was a little too snug for my liking, but the 6 fit perfectly! The color is so pretty in pretty and I got a ton of compliments the whole night. I have a curvy figure (smaller waist and a larger hip/thigh area) and the dress was very flattering. The dress fit perfectly in the chest area as well. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 23, 2012
The was my first time ordering from RTR and it was a great experience. I bought a $400 dress from Saks just as a backup in case something happened with this one. I ended up returning it and saved a ton of money with this one. This dress looked better, fit better, and didn't kill my checking account. My boyfriend was raving the whole night about how wonderful the idea behind RTR is. I will definitely order for my next event!
I wore this to a black tie Mardi Gars themed benefit. I received tons of compliments through out the entire night. I paired the Kate Spade Putting on the Ritz necklace with it and some small earrings and it looked great. The dress definitely runs tight. I'm typically a size 4 but I have a somewhat large butt so I had ordered the 6 and the 8. I wore the 8 and even though it was a little tight at first, it stretched out some. I wore Spanx underneath and it ended up looking great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 20, 2012
Beautiful Dress
This dress was perfect for the December wedding I rented it for. The color and fabric are beautiful. The only thing is that I didn't love the sleeve and they way it laid on my shoulder. But I was able to easily tuck it under and it looked great. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2012
your dress fits like a glove
LOVED this dress. It was so so pretty on. The color of the dress is even better in person. I do have a bubble butt, so it was a little snug....keep that in mind. Still squeezed into though and got a bunch of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 27, 2012
*
When I saw the dress on the hanger I was worried it was a little too reminiscent of an 80's prom dress. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the overall look. I wore the dress to a winter wedding in San Diego. For the daytime, this dress definitely stood out. I will say the color in person is much brighter than the picture. I picked two sizes and ended up wearing the size up, so I suggest following the reviews and going up one size. Overall- a great choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 26, 2012
The ease of RTR made attending a formal event almost stress-free.
Great color! I went to a formal event with a bunch of conservative lawyers. Most of them wore black, but this green was a statement, a subdued one. I usually wear a 0, but the 0 and the 2 fit almost identical (its very tight across the backside). I opted for the 2, since I felt like there was a slight skin bulge under my left arm in the 0. It was very comfortable and easy to pull off.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×