Badgley Mischka

Emerald Gem Ruched Dress

$49 to buy
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the party wearing this fabulous Badgley Mischka emerald one shoulder dress. A great style for any holiday, charity, or cocktail event. Pair with classic accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Judith Leiber's Pop the Cork Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so consider sizing up for full bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruching detail
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Emerald stretch taffeta(60% Polyester; 33% Nylon;7% Spandex). One shoulder neckline with oragami shoulder detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Measures 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

197 reviews

Fit
Small 103
True to Size 93
Large 1
Photos 95
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Once I got over the shoulder flap and how small it ran, I really liked wearing this dress! The color is beautiful and it is flattering!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Didn't get to wear it :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress :( I ordered the 4 and 6, both were too small, and the 6 which I could have made fit had a very big stain on the front. Based on my location and the time frame RTR was unable to get me a replacement dress for Christmas Eve. I so wanted this to work out as I thought it was a beautiful dress, but just wasn't in the cards.
Clare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Beautiful emerald color and very striking asymmetrical shoulder.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flattering.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Gorgeous dress, color is rich and beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The word "stunning" was used to describe me in this dress more than once... wore it to my brother's wedding and got a million compliments and felt like a million bucks.
Ann Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a larger size than I normally wear because I have big hips and I kept reading that it was tight in the hips and I am really glad I did. I ordered this dress in a size 8 and a size 10, I didn't actually get the size 8 (they sent me a different dress instead of this one) but luckily the 10 fit. It fit my helps perfectly but it was a little large in the bust but not too incredibly large. It really is a gorgeous dress! I would recommend getting this dress just remember it does run small and it small through the hips.
J
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Great for a Holiday Work Event

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress to a formal holiday dinner for work. I was a bit nervous based on other reviews that the color wouldn't be how it appears in the photo--I think what the photo doesn't capture is that there is a good deal of shine to the fabric, which does provide a more pale/teal tone in certain light. That being said, I wouldn't recommend this dress for a daytime event, but it was perfect for a holiday party in the evening! One last note--I would say the dress runs a full size small. I normally wear a 4 in dresses, but the 6 fit great (and the 4...did not!).
Carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Will order again in the correct size.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress. Ran very small across bust. I am a 36D. Fabric is gorgeous and color is wonderful. Just be sure you order up a size. I wore my back up dress instead.
Leighann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 3, 2012

The dress fit really awkward and had to return both sizes

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I purchased this dress for a wedding and read reviews and decided to order 2 sizes up like recommended. I am usually a 4 and ordered both a 6 and 8. The 6 would not fit and all and the 8 was awkward. The 8 was too tight in my bust and too baggy in my hip area.
Kelly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

The color of this dress was great.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color was great. This wasn't my first choice, but I was so glad I rented a second choice. I felt great in it all night. A little snug under the armpit, but not to bad. The zipper had a little ripple in it, so it was hard to zip on our own.But still a great choice.
Liz P.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2012

Best Dress Ever.... Fun and classic!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Hugged the right places and hid the omg wish I could lose weight places, all while looking classy.
bobbi
Age: 35
Nov 21, 2012

tight, hot number! Loved it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's tight, and it holds you all in.
Shannon
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2012

Gorgeous and comfortable dress for a formal affair!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Although I've been a member of RTR for years, this was my first rental. I was a little apprehensive at first because I'm short but curvy through the hips so fit can be an issue for me. However, I was pleasantly surprised! The dress, clutch, and earrings all arrived on time and were in excellent condition. The dress fit well and was very comfortable. I recieved a ton of compliments on the dress from both my own relatives and relatives of the bride. I definitely don't regret my rental and I look forward to renting a similar style again!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Good, but not great

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful color. Fit TTS, but material is a bit stiff and the shoulder detail was a bit cumbersome. I have a very straight athletic body, so it wasn't the most flattering dress for my body type - probably better for curvier ladies.
BZ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2012

Pretty dress but didn't fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the material, but I ordered an 8 and it was too big in the waist but tight around the ribs.
A.H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

pretty color, snug fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is more jewel-like in color than the picture shows. It was a bit snug in the hip area if you're curvy. I also folded the shoulder flap under since I felt that it was a bit too big.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Great dress, color is awesome

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit runs small, definitely not for the large busted. I usually wear 6, and the 6 in this dress was a good, but very figure-hugging, fit. I'm glad I had the 8 to compare it to, and I almost wore the 8 until I "spanx'd" the size 6. Color is great, length was perfect (just above the knee and I'm 5'10"). This would be a great dress for Holiday parties. Neckline does not lend itself to a necklace, just some fun earrings and a bracelet.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was very impressed with this dress and got tons of compliments when I wore it. The color was perfect - a deep green that almost bordered on blue-green. The cut was great and very unique, however, the size runs small; I normally wear a 2, but had to size up to a 4. It was also comfortable and fun to wear!
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

The color is a show stopper!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautifully made, but does run a little small. I typically wear a 4 , but I wore the 6 and it was snug, but I think I pulled it off! I got a ton of compliments at the gala and felt like a million bucks!
heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Great dress, but lightly soiled

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful. Thankfully, I listened to the reviews and ordered a size up - I definitely needed it. I tried the dress on right when I got it, looked at it for size, loved it and hung it up for the next night. However, when I put it on for the wedding - in the bright lights of my bathroom - I noticed a very large water stain down the center of the dress. Luckily, the ruching in the fabric and the dark color/dimly lit reception helped it to blend into the fabric relatively unnoticed. The night was wonderful, and I felt very good in the dress. Just a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the rental. RTR did offer me 25% off my next rental as an apology...
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

I felt elegant and stood out in a sea of black at an art museum wedding. Got many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My boyfriend was stunned when he first saw me in this dress, so I guess it was a good sign. :) It felt amazing on... just stretchy enough to be comfortable, though definitely fitted in the bust. Being a chesty girl, I'm very glad I sized up. The 2 would have been far too tight. The color is gorgeous - a cross between teal and emerald with many varying shades when the light hits it. And it's worth noting that the dress is not satin as it appears in the photo, but rather similar to a silk shantung, both in iridescence and feel (which to me is a good thing!) My only complaint is that it would sometimes ride up as I walked around (it is a bit in the pic), so I had to keep fussing with it, but overall it was lovely and I would definitely rent it again.
Kris
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 13, 2012

i LOVED it!!!!!!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear and 2 or 4 but since I have implants, I have trouble with side zippers. I ordered a 4 & 6 based on the "runs small" reviews. I needed the 6 cause 4 wouldn't zip past my chest! I received so many compliments!!!! Can't wait to order again
B
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 6, 2012

Awesome RTR experience!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous, I had a million compliments on it!! The dress had a nice stretch to it to so it hugs your body nicely. I suggest sizing up a couple sizes though!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

Worked great! Fit very well

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very comfortable, did not feel too tight, great color. Ran true to size. I just had a baby when I wore it so wore a bigger size than usual. Usually wear a 4 but wore a 6. Worked great.
Jordyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Oct 4, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE! Absolutely gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm going to have to go ahead and say it ran a little small and here's why. I'm usually a 0-2 but I couldn't zip the 0 and just barely squeezed into the 2. The 4 could've been way too big but I don't know. Even though it was tighter than I usually like it had the rouching on the sides and you couldn't tell. I think it was just perfect in the 2 on my body. All my pictures looked fantastic in this dress. I would actually rent the same one again I loved it that much!
Allison
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This was a great dress! It was very form fitting and hugged you in all the right places!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, true hunter green, great fit and not revealing but sexy at the same time!
marie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Everyone kept asking me about my style. I was a hit at the party. It made me feel extra special

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Great fit. Love the dress.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2012

I would love to have this in my closet permanently.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It is great for formal affairs and dates. Looked so chic!
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Liked it a lot

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Received a lot of compliments on this dress. Some things I did not anticipate were the color was a lot brighter then I had thought(more of a dark turquoise green rather then hunter green) and the angle across the chest was higher then I thought. The cut of the dress was beautiful, and very flattering!!
Laura
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and wore it for a St. Patty's Day wedding! The ruching was lovely, and the dress was very figure-flattering overall. Oh, and the color was more teal than emerald, I would say. My only complaint was that it had a large stain (a spilled drink) on the front of the skirt. I didn't notice it until I was in the cab on the way to the wedding...it wasn't all that noticeable otherwise I would have seen it when it arrived, but still would have preferred a dress in better condition.
Caro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Nice but a little too flashy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit me extremely well, but that leaf-like shoulder adornment is much bigger and poofier than the photos would have you believe and the dress is VERY form-fitting and shiny. I prefer something a little more subtle in general.
rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

didn't end up wearing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My husband didn't love this dress, so I wore something else. I think the dress was a bit on the runs smaller size.
Lee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Classy and unique

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect choice for a large formal wedding. The color is standout (it's a bit more teal than it looks on my monitor) but the material and cut is classy and gorgeous. The sleeve and bodice has nice structure, not too floppy. I loved it.
Leigh Anne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Black Tie NYC Dinner

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress for my black tie dinner!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Fit like a really nice glove.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was as if the 0 was custom made for my body. I didn't even try on the 2. The skirt hit me a couple of inches lower than the model and the dress was quite fitted almost everywhere. There is some stretch to the fabric so I was able to breathe/boogie all night. The fabric is as shiny as pictured. It's a gorgeous dress.
Meghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

Runs Very Small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 in dresses... and the 10 was pretty much too small. I ideally would have worn the 12... Order up at least a size or probably two to be safe!
T
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 22, 2012

Order a size up!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a tried and true size 2 but in this dress I wore my backup size 4 and it was perfect. The 4 fit like my 2s usually do, so make sure you order up - at least as backup. The dress was like a tailor fit and was awesome for a wedding. Definitely makes you look great and stand out with the great color.
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2012

Fits like a glove.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm normally a size 0, and read the reviews and ordered one size larger - glad I did! It's a dress that hugs all curves, fits like a glove. The ruching helps hide lines, enhances curves. Comfortable to wear. Order one size up!
Carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 25, 2012

i love it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's a gorgeous dress and I wore it to my sorority formal. It's a little long for me, 5'3" but I still like it a lot. The color is more impressive than it is on the picture.
Jxward
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

Gorgeous color

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The shoulder piece on this was larger than anticipated, the color is more turquoise than dark green, and I found it to run small for someone with an hourglass figure such as mine. That said, I thought it was absolutely gorgeous and loved this dress!
Kiki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 20, 2012

Great color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is absolutely stunning. The event I wore it to had an assortment of creative lighting, and it was very cool to see how the dress changed hues ever so slightly depending on the type of light I stood in. I wore it with a pair of Kenneth Jay Lane emerald drop earrings (which I own, but I believe are available for rent on RTR) and felt very glam. RTR is great! I received the dress quickly, and returning the dress was just as simple. Won’t be my last rental!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×