Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
925 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(552)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2012
Simple and elegant
This gown was nice. It was a dress to glam up with jewelry and it is not overly loud by itself. I was a little annoyed by the fact that my arms were a little restricted, but as you can tell from the photos, the fit doesn't allow for a lot of range of movement in your shoulders/upper arms. I felt that the ruching detail would be nice if I were trying to hide unwanted curves, but for me it made me feel like I looked larger than I really am.
priscillaJanuary 14, 2013
looks great
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Looked like a million bucks
Fit like a glove. The ruching hides a multitude of sins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 1, 2012
AMAZING DRESS!!!
I'm not by any means thin but this dress made me feel like a runway model! It flattered all the importan areas and hid all my problem areas :) Of course, the SPANX also helped ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2012
Great dress ... process was so easy!
Dress is beautiful and overall it fit well. However, it did run a little large. With the fabric being heavy and the slight train in back, it made it pull down on me behind because it wasn't tight enough.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 10, 2012
Runs true to size, and is GORGEOUS!
The dress was beautiful, but tended to stretch throughout the evening, so the shoulders dropped down lower than shown on the model. If you can wear the smaller size, I'd do it to prevent it from moving so much as your evening goes on. I wore mine for almost 8 hours, and by the end of the night it felt a little big.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2012
Absolutely *stunning dress*! The fabric is amazing, the dress fit amazing and extremely comfortable!
I recieved compliments on this dress all evening long. It has such an elegant look and feel to it, I couldn't have been happier. Highly recommend this dress for your special evening out.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2012
Beautiful!
I love love loved this dress...it was so beautiful. I wore a 12 and could have actually gotten a size smaller bc as the night went on I found myself pulling it up as it is off the shoulder. I didn't get a back up size or dress so thank goodness this was just what I was looking for. I'm very curvy and busty and the dress was SUPER comfortable. I would definitely rent it again!
OliviaNovember 2, 2012
How high were your heels?
KristenNovember 5, 2012
I actually ruptured a disc in my back and rented this dress so I didn't have to wear heels and no one could see my feet...the dress was a little long with my flats, if I had to do it again I would have gotten regular instead of long bc I did have to keep lifting the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 17, 2012
Prompt delivery and very easy return. What a great concept!
I daydreamed about this dress for 6 months before my daughters wedding in NYC, but since I live in Florida, there was nowhere I could see the dress in person. The dress is very finely made, but what I saw as 'ruching' was actually tons of fabric draping...very heavy dress, probably very flattering on the right person. Size 10 fit well, perhaps I needed an 8 to reduce the draping look, but in the end, it wasn't me. It just made me look old, and a little like Morticia. I ended up wearing a different dress, but will definitely try Rent the runway again for other special occasions. Great concept, I've referred several friends.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
October 18, 2012
Ha ha this pic is so bad, but I found the photos of women wearing the dress useful so had to share.
Being the upper end of a size 12, I was so happy with the generous fit of this dress. The ruching detail is in all the right places to highlight my waist and hips. I chose to wear spanks, but probably could have gotten away without because the fabric was lovely and heavy. However, if you are looking to wear this dress on a warm/hot evening, it may not be the most comfortable choice if you get hot easily.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 19, 2012
Too big
The dress looked great on but was way to big in the arms and chest area. I couldn't wear it. The regular length was the right length for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2012
RTR customer service is impeccable.
What I loved: Great stretch, flattering cut, got lots of complements What you should know: It's hard to dance in this dress if you like raising your arms in the air. I couldn't get full 'wingspan' because of the sleeves. At 5'4, the dress was dragging on the floor. I wore a strapless bra and it peeked out a little at times but overall, was fine. I normally wear a size 4 and it fit very well. I sized up for this dress but I'd actually suggest sizing down for your back up dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2012
Felt great in this beautifully comfortable dress
Loved the dress, the only con I would have to say is that it does restrict your ability to raise your arms. Otherwise, love the dress, very comfortable, lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
A lot of material, but pretty dress.
I wore this for a wedding, and for a short person, this is more dress than I was anticipating. The scrunching was a lot and added a bit of bulk to my torso. For a tall person, this shouldn't present a challenge. It has a bit of a train, which was lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2012
My bf's fav!
Very sexy and elegant. This was my bf's choice and he was not disappointed. I wore 3.5 inch heels and it was still long enough. The material is a little thick so would be a great fall/winter pick.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 30, 2012
Got so many compliments on the dress! It was classy and elegant and accentuates curves and tush!
The dress a tad bit long but with higher heels was ok. The material is very good quality but thick so got a little warm sometimes. Overall the fit was great! The back part really accentuates your tush and exposed shoulders make for a sexy look! The only issue I really had was the boning in the top part. One wire got a bit bent out of shape and looked a little off compared to the other side. Wasn't too noticeable though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 3, 2012
LOVED IT!
I loved the dress. I got a 4R and a 6R, but the 4R didn't have the built in bra with it. I ended up wearing the 6R which was a little bit big around the chest area. I found myself pulling it up often. However, I got a lot of compliments. I felt very Audrey Hepburn-esque in it. Classy. The dress fell just over my shoe, which was perfect because I didn't want it sweeping the floor. It was very easy to move in and the sleeves fit great.
AlishaDecember 4, 2012
Gorgeous!!!
KellyNovember 23, 2013
Thank you! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2012
I felt so glamorous!
I felt very glam the whole night at a black-tie fundraiser. And it was floor-length, but not so much that I was tripping over it all night. Really comfortable. And the ruching did wonders for my figure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
The dress is a blank canvas, ready to help make ANY look possible!!
The dress is amazing! The ruching makes one look slimmer and curvier than they might be. It hides those trouble spots a gal might have, as well. The dress is a classic look, but can be dressed up or down a million different ways. I was figuring the dress would be miles long, but I was pleasantly surprised. The dress isn't so long that it drags, even if I was barefoot. It just hit the ground, in 4 inch heels my shoes peeped out. I dressed the look up and opted for a 40's Hollywood vintage look- and the dress for the bill. It is such a slimming dress, by the way, it hid an 11 week baby bump!
LindseyFebruary 9, 2013
You're beautiful, Victoria!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable!
My only complaint was the long was VERY long. Even with 3" heels it was still dragging the floor. This dress also has a train so I was carrying it around all night. I am a 36B/C and the top was a bit big. I could have worn a 10 but it was not available for the night of my event. Thank you Rent The Runway for my first rental! It will NOT be my last!
PamelaDecember 4, 2012
Tracy, I am so curious as to which other dresses you have rented and loved -- I am exactly your measurements and weight, approximately your age (okay, I'm a little older but I don't look it!) and this was my favorite dress, looks lovely on you! If you want to share your styles with me and vice-versa, you can reach me on Pinterest as circe1cat or e-mail me through this site. I'm pinning this dress right now - thanks for posting the pic and the comments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 11, 2012
Classy but sexy
I'm 5'9'' and the 4L was just perfect with 2" heels. There was a tail in the back but it didn't pose any problems. It is a beautiful dress; it definitely stands out in the crowd. The only thing that bugged me was the wiring down the right side over the breast. It kind of stuck out; it wasn't really noticeable but it annoyed me a tad. Otherwise, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! It was perfect!!!
Ordered size 12L and 12R and both were too big, I contacted RTR and they sent me a size 10R for no additional charge and over nighted it to me. They told me to keep all 3 dresses and send them back together. Their response was so quick and I will definitely use Rent the Runway for future functions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 12, 2012
not my style
This dress looks gorgeous in the picture, but it was so heavy!!! Theres no way I could last all night long, it would have dragged me the whole night!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2012
Absolute classic eye candy! Very flattering for ALL bodies and especially us curvy girls!
Wish I had a photo to show but I'm a hourglass, full bust woman. I am 36 DDD/G, 30, 37 at 5' 10" with NO heels on yet! I wore the 12L for the length that I needed with my heels ( 4 inch ) instead of the 10L. The 10L fit better and hugged more but I needed the length and the extra room in the 3/4 sleeves because of my broad shoulders. I wear 10/12 dresses. I am not petite by far but do have a fit medium build. This dress was such a success, I have wanted to buy this as a staple LBD ( long or little black dress for a couple a years now, I want! I want! I want! ). You cant go wrong ladies for an event when you want to feel, look or want to be noticed AND be complimented by many! Its the long version of the classic "Breakfast at Tiffany's". RTR throw me a bone, when can I buy?!?!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 189lbs
November 16, 2012
My overall RTR experience was amazing, although I did not end up wearing this dress.
This dress looks beautiful in all of the pictures, however, it was not figure flattering in the least. The corset seemed way too large (or possibly warped) and made the top look strange. The sleeves were very tight fitting. This was to be my primary, first choice dress. Thankfully, my back up size wasn't available and RTR sent me a different gown, which worked perfectly. That said, the RTR customer service and support team is AMAZING and the rental process couldn't be easier though and I would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 16, 2012
I love Badgley Mischka!!
This dress is AMAZING!! I wore this gown for the Marine Corps Ball that we attend every year. This year I decided that I did not want anymore gowns in my collection and decided to try RTR...and I can honestly say I'm so glad I did. The dress fit perfect and I received lots of compliments. I rented a size 10L as my first choice and it's the one that I decided to wear. My second choice was an 8L and to be honest it was way too big and too long..not sure how that's possible; with that being said I would recommend picking two sizes and your second size...size down...not up. The material is excellent quality and the weight is a little heavy, but the heaviness is perfect during the cooler months...especially if you don't want to wear a coat or a shawl. All in all this dress so far is #1 on my list of faves from RTR. I can't wait until next years Ball!! Thank you RTR you've just made shopping for gowns so much easier. =)
MoshitaDecember 4, 2012
I have an hour glass figure and on the buttocks I was wondering how does it fit.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 141lbs
November 17, 2012
I didn't wear this dress because it was a little too big. I had rented 2 dresses so it was fine!
The dress is heavy and thick. so ordering one size smaller would fit tighter and not feel like it is being pulled down. Beautiful dress and color!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2012
LOVE RTR! Even tho I did not wear this dress...
The length was a bit short and the sleeves were too tight and felt like I had to tug and pull and adjust while wearing it. It was also extremely heavy fabric. Luckily I ordered another dress that was perfect for me! RTR is awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 18, 2012
Pretty dress but a bit of an odd fit.
The dress is pretty but the arms are restrictive and the rouching adds a lot of bulk to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2012
Loved being able to rent and not go store to store for weeks!
5'2 110 34D It was a little long with 6 inch heels but I lifted when climbing stairs, etc. The sleeves were also a bit stretched out. Over all a beautiful dress. The body of the dress fit very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
Very comfortable
I really loved this dress. Unfortunately, it was too big in the bust. I had ordered the 8 and no backup size and really wish I would have ordered one size down. The rest of the dress fit perfectly and the length was great (very long!). Even with my height, I could have worn heels with the dress. I will definitely be renting this dress for my next formal occasion but will just have to rent a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
N/A
I didn't end up wearing this dress for the event, but it was REALLY flattering and LOVED how it looked. I wore the other dress I rented but this is a SAFE backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
So Chic and Flattering; A Bit Shorter than Expected
I rented this for a black tie event in Miami in late November -- so chic, so flattering, so elegant. The neckline gives you a great opportunity to wear a major necklace. I am a pretty true to size 8 and at 5'7", I thought either the 8R or 10R would be perfect -- but the 8R was way too short; the 10R was borderline too short but better. Next time, I'd rent the 8L and it would probably be perfect. Built in bra helps, but at 34 C I still needed a strapless bra for support.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 23, 2012
I loved this dress! I rented it for the Marine Corps Birthday Ball, and had many compliments.
The dress is bunched up around your thighs and waist hiding the unflattering areas. I will definitely be renting this dress again. I just had a baby so I'm still losing all my baby weight from both children, it was a nice ego boost to be able to wear a dress size smaller than my pant size! woohoo :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 26, 2012
It was my first gala to go to after my divorce with no date, and i felt so beautiful!
Im 5'9 and it was a little long for me in the 12L but other than that it was amazing, im self consious of my arms and it covered them perfectly, plus i have rather large boobs and i didn't feel self consious about them at all in this dress, it was so flattering. Im thinking i will rent it again for another gala in january!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments that I looked great in it!
I would totally recommend this dress for a formal affair! It was tight but made me look hott!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
December 2, 2012
I used this magnified gown to my Husband 40th Men's Wearhouse Christmas Party.
This Gown fit great!
maryOctober 25, 2013
Look Great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
December 2, 2012
Very pretty, nice fit
Very nice dress but not very practical if you plan to dance. Has long trail that I was constantly tripping over.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
excited to give my sister the spotlight and haver her shine in rocking out this BM dress! gorge!
my sister wore this gown....typically a sized 4, and thank goodness we got the long...she is 5''8"...i am wearing an RTR Nicole Miller dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2012
Loved this dress!
Hugs all the curves but is extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Truly had WOW factor!
The fit was great if not for a bit too long. I think a regular may have been better. I can't think of a single con...the dress was beautiful, truly flattering fit and perfect for the occasion. This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I couldn't have been more pleased with the entire process. I won't buy special occasion dresses anymore since they usually are worn once and hang in the closet until I give them away. For less money I can have a designer gown I'd never afford otherwise and be happy to send it back in the prepaid envelope.
See more reviews:
1 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×