Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
827 reviews
Fit
Large
(77)
True to Size
(509)
Small
(126)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering style & cut
True to size but I would order the regular instead of the L if it were available when I rented this - I'm 5'6 and wore stiletto heels and this was still too long. Comfortable and flattering and I received many compliments. The style is great as it provides enough coverage to be conservative but not stiff while still fun & sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2016
so comfortable, very slimming and eye catching
definitely a head turner. able to wear spanx without seeing lines. Loved it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
November 22, 2016
Looks good on, not comfortable to wear
The dress is crazy long - I'm 5'9" and wore 3" heels, and I still had to hoist it up everywhere I walked. Would have worn size 8L for length but the top runs small (I'm 34B). Overall, not a bad last-minute option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2016
This dress was perfect!
I loved this dress! I ordered a 4L and 6L as back up (I'm 5'8 and wanted to wear heels) but they sent me a 6R by mistake... glad they did though as it fit perfectly! I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks! I would 100% recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
November 20, 2016
Bombshell
Went with the bigger size only because I'm not usually one to wear formed fitting dress. My go to is fit-and-flare. I embraced my curves and went for it. I had SO many compliments! I was comfortable with the fabric that has a stretch to it. I would definitely rent again in the future if it is available. My husband was sad to learn that I do not own this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Great material that helped to hide my pregnant belly...
This dress was so comfortable and flattering...perfect fit!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
November 14, 2016
I was so comfortable in the dress I was able to focus on having fun and enjoyed the evening.
The dress was snug without making you feel like a mermaid. The fabric gives and moves with you. It's difficult to zip and required help but after its zipped you're good to go. The dress I wore had some exposed wires in the breast supports which dug into my skin. I attached a note with the return so I hope it gets fixed. This was a great dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2016
Got lots of comments on it and it just made me feel beautiful!!!
This was my first rent the runway and it was an amazing experience!! I normally wear either a 0 or 2 size and I could have wore the 0 but it would have been a tad bit too tight but the size 2R fit like a glove and it was gorgeous on stage!!! I didn't wear heels so it was a tad bit too long but not to bad! Got lots of comments on it and it just made me feel beautiful!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! Defiantly would recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 8, 2016
Very Classy!
I wore this dress for a formal affair. The bodice fit well, but the arms were a little tight. Overall it was a great pick.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 8, 2016
Very slimming design
I ordered this dress to wear to an evening wedding located in Charleston, SC at a more 'upscale' venue. I've been very slack on working out and not eating like a pig so I wanted something that wouldn't draw attention to the areas I've neglected. I was incorrect in my sizing and thus shot myself in the foot when the dress was delivered. They were also out of my backup size come time for delivery so they sent me a RTR pick (which I hated). For whatever reason, I thought this dress was more of a 'jersey' material and was slightly surprised that it was more Spandex-y. Ultimately, the 14R was too short due to my extra hippage and length in general and the next size up in a Long was unavailable. I'm 5'5" and the regular was just at the bottom of my ankles and I was wanting the dress to touch the floor WITH 3" heels one. I did love how the dress looked and the boning on the inside really helped to smooth out my extra's and calm down my hips. The sleeves seemed to be a little on the tight side, but I think that would not have mattered much. I'm a 36DD so I didn't even consider not wearing a strapless bra (these need all the lift they can get!) but the grip lining at the bust would definitely help in keeping the dress in place. Should the opportunity present itself to order again, I certainly will (in the right size and length this time!)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2016
Great dress-even at 7 months pregnant!
I wore this dress to a formal event, and it was perfect. I usually wear a size 14/16, and I was concerned about finding flattering formal attire at 7 months pregnant. After reading the reviews, I ordered the 18WL and 20WL, and I wore the 18WL. The dress was comfortable for my growing belly. I am tall, 5'11" so the long dress was a necessity-plus, I did not want to wear heels, and I did not have to with this dress. You will need help zipping this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235lbs
November 6, 2016
I looked amazing, but never made it to my event
Unfortunately, I got sick on my way out the door and wound up staying home. Still, the dress was gorgeous- simple, refined, and flattering - and it was really comfortable. But no pictures since I never made it to the gala.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 2, 2016
Elegant dress
Wore this for an awards dinner. It's comfortable and has a built in corset type bra which is great so you don't have to think about a strapless bra, it fit nicely and has a nice short tail in the back. The rouching is a nice touch and it's just overall a comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2016
The wedding theme was "Vintage Hollywood Glam" and I definitely felt like a star in this dress!
The dress was true to size and very comfortable. The dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
October 31, 2016
Not so typical "long black dress"
This dress was perfect for a formal evening wedding! Very comfortable and flattering. Some reviews mention uncomfortable boning but if you go up a size this should not be an issue at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 30, 2016
Classy head turner
Loved this dress. Fit was perfect. Many say it's. It long enough but I was fine since I wear low heals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
October 30, 2016
Does not fit chest!!
This dress was shipped to me as a backup to the backup after RTR screwed up my original order. I was hopeful it would work. The fabric is heavy, and well made. It fit my waist and hips so well, I could have easily worn the 10. But the chest!! I don't know what kind of pattern they used for cutting this, but the chest came nowhere near zipping. Suddenly my chest was completely flattened and a good 2" of open zipper in the back. The top was HORRIBLE!! So sad, because it looked great on the rest of my body. I dont even know if a 14 would have fit my 36C bust, and I normally wear an 8/10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2016
Great dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I said it looked like something a Kardashian would wear when I got it. I wear either a 4 or 6, and I would have definitely liked a 4 better. The 6 was a little big. The dress stretches a bit, so it would be forgiving of going down a size. I loved this dress on me. It looked so elegant.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
October 27, 2016
Loveddddd
Dress for like a T. I wish the long was available! Compliments all night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
October 27, 2016
this dress made me feel amazing - it was perfect and I didn't want to take it off!
the fit is super nice. It hugs your curves in a gentle way, making you look quite glamorous. I had two sizes and I feel like the stretchy material gets too stretched with use. Also the boning was a little issue. But, in the end, the dress was jaw-droppingly fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 26, 2016
Comfy and easy to dance in!
This was a backup dress that RTR sent me for a Gala that I attended because my original dress I ordered was returned damaged. I really loved the neck line of this dress, it is extremely flattering and I did not have to wear a bra. I have a larger chest so it is extremely hard to find dresses that look flattering on me, and fit correctly on the top. This dress has just enough stretch to hold everything in place, and also allow you to dance/sit/stand comfortably. I would definitely rent this dress again and recommend it to any of my friends!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 65
October 21, 2016
Runs really small....I ordered an 8 so I couldn't wear it. Very pretty dress, though.
Fit very, very tight in the chest and I could not zip it.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 21, 2016
Very sexy neckline and perfect length!!!
The pros for this dress is it's stretchy and had boning in it so I didn't have to wear a bra which is probably the reason I wore it . I paired it with a purple suede pump from jcrew prob 3 inches..dress was great until about 9pm the boning started to stick me and felt stabbing so I just kept moving my chest around ...if this didn't happen I would of given 5 stars !! I'm 5-7 170bs with a 38d chest ps wore tummy span x
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 20, 2016
LOVE this dress - it was difficult to send it back! Hoping that RTR puts it up for sale eventually!
Dress fit true to size - and the arms stayed in place all night without any adjusting. The dress itself was very comfortable, and extremely flattering. Absolutely recommend renting this one!!!
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 204lbs
October 17, 2016
This dress was stunning!
First off, sadly the dress was *really* dirty when it arrived. There were 3 strips of blue tape marking stains...and I didn't see them until I was already out of town at the event, so had to make do with wearing a dirty (YUCK) dress. That said, the dress was beautiful. Contrary to what others said, it was a little big on me. Maybe being laundered would have helped my 16 shrink up a bit, but it was a little looser than I'd hoped it would have been. I had ordered a size up as my backup and there was no way I could have ever worn it. I got compliments all night and felt really good in the dress, but wish it had been clean. I would have felt fabulous then.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
October 17, 2016
Loved it. You cannot go wrong with this LBD.
I absolutely loved this dress. It had boning and elastic so it stayed up without any tugging or pulling. The fabric was forgiving and stretched. The rouching smoothed everything out. Definitely choose a size up as the bust was smaller than anticipated. I found wearing Spanx helped the dress to lay well with no issues. Enjoy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2016
So flattering
My husband picked out this dress! It's my favorite RTR dress to date. I normally wear between a 10-12 and found the fit to be a little small. The reviews were helpful so I went with size 14 as my backup and it was a great fit. Of note, the wires from the boning on the back of the dress came out of the lining and poked me, but that was fixed with band aids. Overall a great dress for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2016
Fit like a glove
Dress was very comfortable. The boning in the dress stuck out a bit in the top but it was a very flattering dress. It was a bit long but I am short.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 11, 2016
Sexy, comfortable and sleek dress!
I rented this dress for a Gala and loved it! Expect to be limited in your arm movements (no ponytails), but otherwise, the train is stunning, dress comfortable and super long. I am 5'9" and got a Long, though probably could have gotten away with a Regular.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2016
I was comfortable and felt beautiful
Very conservative for a wedding I did not outshine the bride
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
October 8, 2016
Customer service and their knowledge!
First ordered the 8P and 10P. Thinking I'm Short. Well both too small. My bust was too big 36DD. Customer service then sent me the 12P and then the 10R. 12P too small. 10R still little tight in bust. To my knowledge I didn't know there was a built boning or bra. Took off my bra and it fit like a glove! I danced and was comfortable in it all night! So many compliments!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
October 6, 2016
I wore this to a gala and it was absolutely stunning. Received nothing but compliments.
The fit was perfect as I'm a 36DDD and it fit like a glove. It flowed nicely when walking and was exactly what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
October 4, 2016
Lots of compliments
This was my backup dress for a wedding I was attending, but ended up being the main dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 2, 2016
Beautiful gown
Does run small...boning did cut in to my rib cage, but it was worth it. Elegant gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
September 30, 2016
Gorgeous - for a cool weather event.
This was a substitute sent to me by RTR, since the dress I ordered wasn't available. I absolutely LOVE this dress. I have never felt more beautiful in my life. The sleeves were a little snug (but I do have large upper arms). My husband said I looked like I was going to an awards show. I was a little concerned about how my belly would look (I definitely needed a spanx under it to tighten everything up), but it's flattering. I will definitely rent this again to wear for a wintertime event. Sadly, since it's 100+ degrees in SoCal right now, this beauty isn't going to work for this particular wedding. Next time.... :(
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 28, 2016
This was the perfect forgiving, yet elegant dress for the gala!
I'm so glad RTR offers a second size for free! The size 4P fit well, until trying to zip it over my shoulders. Perhaps it's supposed to be really fitted, but I felt restricted, so I went with the 6P. I'm 5'2" and as long as I didn't tug the dress down from the hips, my 3 inch heels were perfect. There was a "scent" to the dress when I first unpacked it, but let me confess that I am very sensitive to smells on my clothes. I think the scent may be from the plastic packaging inside the garment bag. In any case, I hung it up to air for a day and it was unnoticeable. I got a ton of compliments and was so glad I went with the elegant option! I will definitely be a return customer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 26, 2016
The dress was very flattering and comfortable! The ruching was perfect. Loved this dress!!
I found the dress really comfortable and would love to be able to keep it. It snugged nicely so I wasn't fidgeting with the dress all night. Very flattering look and made me feel great. Only negative was it had a slight odor when I received it but aired it out the night before and it was fine. I would rent this again for a formal event. I'm 5'2" and about 127lbs. The 2 Petite fit great. The 4 Petite fit as well but a little loose at the top so I felt like I would have been pulling it up all night. Nice to have both options
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 22, 2016
It fit great. I rented this for a formal. We end up not going. So I sent it back. I will rent again
Great fit comfortable classic. Love it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 61
September 12, 2016
This definitely is an elegant looking dress on!
Glad I read reviews and suggest people do before renting if unsure. My first time and I was disappointed that the bag while arriving on time was smashed up both dresses had hangers broken and dresses had fallen making them VERY wrinkled. I also found helpful that one gal had mentioned to put it on like its strapless and then pull you arms in. Definitely can not zip this by yourself. But material was nice comfortable and I really felt elegant in it. Received many compliments. I would order up a size. I am 5'11 and wore about 2" heel and it hit the ground which was perfect! I definitely was nervous about waiting for a dress but I will definitely rent again and the accessories added a very nice touch. Also would help to have tape for the top to keep in place better.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This is the 2nd time I've rented this dress, and I've loved it both times. It fits well, it's flattering, it's super comfortable, and the Long was perfect for me with a 3-inch heel. I was disappointed in some of the other aspects of my order (dresses came balled up in a box this time, but last time they came nicely packed in a garment bag), but this dress itself is stunning.
See more reviews:
1 / 21
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×