Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
750 reviews
Fit
Large73
True to Size475
Small118
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 182lbs
May 2, 2016
My event was the 70th anniversary Miss NH Pageant, and I attended as a previous titleholder.
This dress was the winner for my big night! It was my second size choice, and I am glad I went up a size since the top is (nicely) snug. The fit on this dress is excellent. There is some boning in the top which adds to the security of wearing it with a strapless bra (or on its own without one) and gives it a little more shape. I was concerned about the strapless style and the off-the-shoulder sleeves, as I have not had any luck with this style due to my bust size. But after reading ALL the reviews and looking closely at ALL the photos, I was willing to go with it, and am I glad I did. Once you zip this dress up, the bodice and sleeves just sort of hug you, and it feels very secure. My only concern was the snugness of the sleeves and if it might restrict the movement of my arms. But I was able to raise my arms to wave, so that concern was moot. The ruching over the midsection is very flattering and forgiving. It is very comfortable to wear, and I didn’t want to take it off at the end of the night. The jersey-type fabric is also soft on the skin and flows nicely. The petite length was perfect for me at 5’4” with 2” heels. I always have to raise the hem on evening wear, but not with this length. I put it on and was out the door to my event. The fabric also does not clash with any type of jewelry as it is plain black, so you can dress it up as much as you want. I tried it on with matte gold and silver jewelry, but decided the formality of the pageant event called for more bling. All my jewelry worked with this dress. I highly recommend it for anyone no matter your body shape and size.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 30, 2016
Classic, elegant, and comfortable!
I rented this dress as a back up for my birthday - I fell madly in love as soon as I put it on. It is so flattering and formal, but I never felt uncomfortable during a long night out with my fam. I am both busty and hippy, and this dress fit like a dream - and the front details detract from any tummy issues you may have. I did wear a pretty stiff corset underneath to ensure smooth lines as well, but I doubt it was actually necessary. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
April 26, 2016
Classic and sexy- what more could a girl want?
Glad I read the reviews on this dress- I ordered the long at 5'7" and it was the perfect length. Because of the short train and forgiving fabric I could've pulled off a short heel but ended up wearing 4" ones. I debated for awhile between this dress and another I rented in lace. I'm so happy I chose this one. No one else had anything like it. I got compliments all night and it was very comfortable to wear. It was also a church wedding- so it was easy to just throw on a wrap at the church to feel covered enough. I ordered both the 6l and 8l and ended up wearing the 6l.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
April 24, 2016
Everything about this dress I love! It made me feel glamorous & I received many compliments.
It is perfect for ladies with curves! I couldn't believe how well it fit me. It has stretchy fabric that hugs your body in all the right places. You can't go wrong with this one.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 23, 2016
Got so many compliments & fitted my figure very well.
First time using rent the runway. Would so do it again. Dress came on time and in the right size. I had to have them overnight me a dress because it runs a little small but overall great fit. I thought the dress was going to be longer than it actually was so plan accordingly for shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2016
Flattering, hugs your curves, but uncomfortable!
For some reason, I wasn't as crazy about this dress when I put it on. However, I received compliments about it all night. It is extremely flattering, but definitely needs to be spiced up with some jewelry. I'm 5'7 and wore 3 inch heels with it, and it hit the floor perfectly. The only complaint I had was there is an uncomfortable/awkward rubber band around the top/arms to make it "stay in place". I found myself adjusting it throughout the night because the arms kept falling down. That part made the dress uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 19, 2016
Black Tie Elegance!
I wore this beautiful dress to a black-tie gala in Providence Rhode Island. I am very tall 5'11" and the dress was long enough in the 10 long size. The fabric has stretch and is gathered, so it is very flattering and comfortable. Thank you rent the runway for making it a beautiful night! XOXO
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
April 18, 2016
This dress is everything!
Oh this dress... LET ME TELL YOU... this dress is perfect. Classic, timeless, elegant, just gorgeous. I picked this dress after two dresses that just didn't fit right for a gala I was working. I'm a size 18 (tall/long) and typically wear a size 20 in formal dresses, but I did go up to a size 22WL in this dress simply because I didn't have many available options in my requirements at the last minute. I needed a dress that came in long and it had to be black. RTR stylist Jasmine came to my rescue with this beauty. I tried it on the day before my event and I didn't want to take it off. It even had the price tag still attached!! It was so comfortable and I didn't even need to wear spanx because the rouching covered my problem areas. I wore these with a slight heel (slightly taller than a kitten heel-- 2 inches max) and the hem just grazed the floor in the front, with just a little bit of my toes visible. The back had a small train that I did attempt to pick up from time to time, but mostly let it drag behind me. I switched into glittery Toms at one point and the dress covered them perfectly. I got so many compliments on this ensemble! I loved being able to cover my arms without wearing a full neck line. The dress did slip a little bit during the night that showed a little more cleavage than I wanted, but I think that was because I had to get the dress in the largest size. I have a size 42DD chest, so usually that's not a problem for me. I did also have a walkie-talkie clipped to the back of this dress, but it didn't pull my dress down, probably because there was a line of plastic/silicone gripper on the inside of the the top seam. I loved this dress so much!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 53
April 18, 2016
I was so excited to receive the dress and it did not disappoint - so very beautiful.
I am 5'3" and was concerned from some of the posts that the petite would be too short, so I ordered the regular. It was tooo long, but the dress was stunning, and was exactly the right dress for the black tie event. I would caution on the boning in this dress, I usually wear a size 6, however, the boning and my bone structure would not allow me to zip up the back. Just a caution and the ONLY caution on this amazing dress.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
April 16, 2016
Beautiful!
This was my time using RTR and it will not be my last ! This dress hugged my curves in a very sexy way, the material compliments every aspect of your body. I'll be honest with you, the pictures do this dress no justice at all ! I was complimented from the minute I walked in to the gala, until the mi it's I left. This dress is a winner ! I usually wear a 10, but I wasn't too sure about the fit, so I ordered a 14p and it was spot on !
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Weight: 142lbs
March 26, 2016
Felt great in this beautiful dress
Absolutely loved this dress and wish I owned it. I got an 8P - and could have gone to a 6, except for tight going on in the chest. Once it was zipped up - no problem, stayed up all night - but needed help zipping. Also, I got the petite because that was all they had left and it was actually fine, the regular would have been fine too - but this worked well. I got tons of compliments all night and felt great. Loved the dress - and I highly recommend it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 196lbs
March 18, 2016
The event was wonderful, and wearing this dress was definitely the icing on the cake!
First I am 5'3" and weigh about 196. The fit was a little loose but I did not mind at all. The ruching around the dress was perfect for hiding imperfections. The dress was a little long even with heels for me. Over all it made the whole night so much more enjoyable feeling beautiful and not worrying about how my arms or stomach looked in a tighter dress!
KimApril 11, 2016
You look AMAZING ! And I love your necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2016
this was for a formal military type dinner
simply gorgeous dress, hugged the body very tightly, but had just the right amount stretch. I loved how thick and rich and fabric was, and how it hung... the dress is quite long though....I am 5'2" and wore 5" heels, and still had to hold the dress up every time I walked
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 11, 2016
Comfortable and classic
This dress was perfect and classy. I felt so great. Wonderful for hiding large arms and armpit blob ;) Size is up is best for a perfect hang.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
March 11, 2016
I wanted this to fit so badly!
Oh, I wanted this dress to work! It was perfect for a formal/semi-formal event in Colorado in the wintertime. I read all the reviews and I saw that other full busted women had worn it, so I went for it. Ordered 8L and 10L--got an email two days before that the 10L would not be available so could I please select another style--no cost restriction. I still wanted this dress--and I was on the border of regular/long anyways, as I'm 5'7"--so I asked for the 10R. The dresses arrived, and NOPE. Couldn't even get the 8 zipped, it was smashing my chest so badly, plus my arms wouldn't fit in the sleeves! Put on the 10, and it was even worse! As it turns out, they'd sent a 6 by mistake so I was stuck with no dresses. BIG shoutout to RTR, though. After talking with Customer Service, I was overnight shipped two more dress styles at no cost , along with new jewelry in case my current selections didn't work with the new gowns. Love this company! Long story short--gave 3 stars b/c I love the look of the gown and it seemed to be in good shape & well constructed. But if you're busty (I'm actually 36 DD ) I'd avoid this dress!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
March 8, 2016
Great fit! It's figure flattering and I received a ton of compliments all night.!
Perfect fit
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
March 7, 2016
Worn for a black tie awards show.
I really loved this dress. The ruching was flattering and it was very comfortable to wear. However, I have a few complaints. Other women who are my height ordered the long and reported that it was so long they had to wear incredibly high heels with it. This was not the case for me. I am 5'8" and I ordered a long and ended up having to wear flats because it barely touched the ground unless I pulled it down so low on my bust that it covered my feet. I question if I was actually sent a long or not... I was also nearly in a panic when trying it on because I couldn't get it to zip up. I thought it was way too small- But my roommate was able to zip it with ease. Since it's over the shoulder, it's difficult to zip yourself, but once it's zipped is very comfortable and easy to move in. My upper arms are a little bigger, so the sleeves wouldn't come on all the way, and if I held my arms at a certain angle you could see the top of the stick-on bra I was wearing. Not a huge deal, but just a word of caution for other women with larger arms. Seems like I had a lot to complain about but it was actually a gorgeous dress with a gorgeous fit and I received many compliments throughout the evening. I'd rent it again if there weren't so many other options!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 43
March 6, 2016
Black tie fundraiser. Tons of compliments. Very comfortable . Great fit.
Float between size 10 and 12. I wore the 10 R. It fit so perfectly and was very comfortable! Length was great too. I received so many compliments. The whole experience was fantastic. It was my first time using RTR, but will not be the last!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 6, 2016
Gorgeous full length that works for petites!
This dress was gorgeous! The fabric was stretchy and comfortable - I ate a huge meal at a black tie affair and it was perfect for that. The ruching is in just the right place if you are concerned about your stomach area. I am fairly short and was concerned that even the petite would be too long, but it was right to the floor and worked with small heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2016
Annual Awards Dinner
I was really worried about finding a dress to fit for my annual work sales dinner. I was feeling fat and like nothing fit. This dress with the rouching and pleats hid all of insecurities and made me comfortable for the entire night. It's a great dress for a formal event when you want to hide a few things ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
March 4, 2016
...
It was elegant and slimming! A little tight on top but we made it work.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 29, 2016
Loved this dress!
I wore this to a black tie gala in January. Very Comfortable and accentuated all of the positives. Was the perfect length - I wore with 2.5 inch heels. You can personalize this dress with accessories of your choice.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 29, 2016
Arrived on time and was very easy to do!
The fit was perfect! Gots lots of compliments with this one. My only advice is when in doubt, go with the long. Both of my sizes fit because the material is forgiving but I went a size up for the extra length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 28, 2016
Sadly disappointed, but the dress is beautiful.
I ordered this dress for a formal event in a 2L, unfortunately my backup size was unable to ship due to damages. When I received the 2L it was way too short. I am 5'8" and planned to wear 3-4 inch heels so I ordered extra length, when the dress came you could see my feet even without any heels on. So unfortunately it was too short for me to wear and I ended up going with a backup dress.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 23, 2016
It was very easy to pair accessories and really had fun with it.
Had to pull it up a few times like most strapless dresses but no snags and got a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
February 23, 2016
Too long for me even with heels, 5'4"
This is my 5th or 6th rental and the first time a dress hasn't worked out. I rented this for a wedding and the challenge was looking for something breastfeeding friendly since I was bringing my 11 mo daughter. I thought for sure this would work, however, once I tried it on, the length was was far too long for my 5'4" self, even if I added 4" heels. Being that I would be carrying my daughter around, I really couldn't afford to trip. Rent the Runway's customer service was AMAZING in trying to remedy this, they offered to send hem tape, but in the end, I decided to look for an alternative dress the morning of the wedding...luckily I was able to find something but if I were to gamble and order a 2nd style through RTR, it was only $12.95 more for Sat arrival by noon. Still a loyal renter here!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
February 23, 2016
Loved the dress.
Slimming
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
February 22, 2016
This dress is simply elegant.
Beautifully structured and the perfect fabric. Not too fussy or frilly; neither too sexy nor too staid. A size 10 would have fit tighter, maybe a little better, but I'm self-conscious and felt completely at ease in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 21, 2016
Loved this dress!
I ordered this dress in an 8R and a 6R. I usually have to size up a lot in formal dresses because I have a very wide rib cage and DD bust so I almost ordered the 8R and 10R, thank god I didn't! The 8R was big on me... it did nothing for my shape and was very loose. The 6R was snug, but damn did it make me look good! It sucked me in in all the right places and the built in bra was fabulous for someone like me with a big chest! I didn't wear a bra and I loved it. Because the 6 was snug my arm movement was limited but didn't bother me at all since I felt so damn good in this dress. I definitely recommend for a simple but formal look! I got a ton of compliments on this dress. Length on the 8 was way too long for me and the length on the 6 was perfect with a pair of heels. The size difference between the 6 and 8 is kinda crazy but I'm ok with it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 21, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a formal benefit gala in St. Louis in September. Loved the fit .
This is an elegant dress. Very form fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 56
February 18, 2016
I want this dress!
I would buy this dress in a minute. It fit well, was comfortable, and flattering.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
February 17, 2016
I felt stunning!
Wore this for my best friend's wedding (we opted out of Bridesmaid dresses) for a black tie optional. I had a baby and still had pregnancy weight and bigger boobs than I was used to. the dress "sucked in" my stomach and was extremely flattering for my curvy body. Black was easy to dress up and I felt comfortable the entire evening in Nov in South Florida! I ordered Regular and it fit perfect on me: 5'6" + additional 3 in heels
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 17, 2016
Perfect for black tie wedding
This was a back up dress that was over- nighted to me and it was a life saver. I wore two sizes larger in this dress than I usually wear and it fit like a glove. The ruching hugged my curves without being tight. The off the shoulder style was flattering, glamorous and classy. The 10 R was the perfect length for me with 3 inch heels, the toes of my shoes just peeked out. I received compliments all night and would rent this dress again. Con: the ribbing can start to chafe under your arms after a full day in the dress, but I'd still consider it completely worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 17, 2016
Great dress if you're prepared to be a little uncomfortable
I am very happy I rented this particular gown for the Grammys this year. I received many compliments and I think the photos looked great. I do suggest ordering a size up, as this dress does run small. Also, I'm 5'5" and could not wear heels in the regular length so if you want to wear heels, I suggest ordering it long. A few other comments: The boning in the midsection is really uncomfortable. In fact, it left bruises under my boobs. You'll need a strapless. And the zipper does stick. These negatives aside, this is a great option for ladies that are relatively modest but want to feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 17, 2016
The dress was perfect for a charity gala.
Easy to move around in. The front is slightly shorter than the back.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2016
This dress was very flattering and fit well.
Pros: flattering, classy, easy to wear, and not too long. Cons: the boning isn't super comfortable, arm range of motion is limited. I wore the 8R but ordered the 10R as a backup size. The 10 was too big, but actually appeared a little shorter than the 8. I wore this with 4 in heels and the dress was the perfect length for me at 5'6".
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
Lots of compliments!
Hugged every curve just the right way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2016
This is a beautiful dress that is easy to wear. It was very flattering.
I felt the sizing was accurate and the fabric travels well. It has a small train that makes the dress more dramatic but it did not get in the way or make it difficult to move around in
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
February 15, 2016
Very elegant. Lots of compliments...
I'm 5'4 110lbs. I wore size 2P with really tall heels i felt it was just a "tad" short but it worked. Very comfortable.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 15, 2016
Fanciest wedding I have ever attended.
Wore this for a Black Tie Wedding - it was absolutely perfect! It fit like a glove! Very slimming. Since it was a cold winter night, the heavy material kept me warm even wearing heels in the snow. I have wider hips but the ruching slimed me down. The dress is so much prettier in person than in pictures.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×