Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
855 reviews
Fit
Large
(78)
True to Size
(519)
Small
(126)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
January 18, 2017
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball and it was perfect.
The dress is so simple and elegant, I loved it. The material had less stretch than I had expected, but that was good because it had a bit of a "sucking in" effect. Regular was the perfect length with my 3.5 inch heels. My only complaint is that the sleeves are small - I think my arms are larger than most women though - and with some maneuvering I was able to get them up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Feeling fancy!
Unfortunately, our formal event was cancelled due to weather so the only photo I have is at home (hair and makeup half done). BUT I know if the event would have gone on, I would have felt fancy and confident all night long! The dress is actually heavier than I expected, but the top has a perfect "stick" to keep the sleeves and collar sitting just right. One potential downside: I have a small chest, and my husband struggled a bit to zip up the size 0 (but I drowned in a size 2P). The length for 0P was perfect (5'3", wearing about 1.5" heels in photo, dress just skimmed the floor). For my next formal event, I'll definitely consider re-ordering this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2017
It made me look like a Model. Amazing experience
Fit perfectly, good quality dress. It hugs your body. A lot of compliments .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 16, 2017
Perfect dress for Arizona winter
Very comfortable and glamorous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
January 15, 2017
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night
Perfect fit and flattering! Loved the dress!
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
January 7, 2017
Backup dress became dress
So, I ordered a different dress but that one didn't fit. So this became the backup dress. And I usually wear 16, could have used the 18 but they send the 18 LONG... mind you, I'm 4'11'. So I called to get the 18P, but they didn't have it available so I had to order the 20P. Which was fine length wise, but big in certain areas. Still a beautiful dress, very comfortable..got tons of complements..and danced the night away.. worth the rental..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2017
Amazing Dress!
This is a beautiful dress. Fit is amazing and very forgiving. Perfect for a formal event. The only complaint is the boning in the dress pinched me all night. I would rent this dress again!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 5, 2017
Great dress! Very classy!
I wore this as my first of two dresses for New Year's Eve. It's very snug and doesn't move and fits true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 4, 2017
Fab !
After having a baby a few month ago and not feeling super confident with additional "curves" I was hesitant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did ! I wore this dress to a nye wedding, the fit was great although it felt like it loosened after an hour wearing it. I loved the sleeve, they weren't too tight. This dress had bones in it, between the bones and the rouching I felt like it was flattering . Length was perfect with my 4 " pump. Overall great dress !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2017
Classic
Wore to a black tie NYE party! Very flattering, especially in the midsection! Comfortable aside from wires in the chest poking into me throughout the night. I'm 5'5" and there was a bit of a train that was stepped on multiple times. Overall, stunning and would look great on anyone!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 2, 2017
So enjoyed shopping all the beautiful gowns, and selecting one that was really different!
The fit was perfect except for the length. I'm 5'8" and usually wear a 2 but ordered a 2 Long and 4 Long due to other reviews that the dress ran small. I did not think it ran small at all and maybe could have even worn the 0, but I def needed the Regular length. I wore about a 2" heel. In spite of that, I loved the dress, and it was comfy and glamorous feeling! I still danced a lot, just held it up a little!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 53
January 1, 2017
My dress was beautiful!
This dress was beautiful. I ordered the 8L and it was a little big but worked. I really would have been better with the 6L but it was not available.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 1, 2017
Lovely formal evening. New Year's dinner cruise around San Francisco Bay.
This dress was beautiful. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and the 6 was just right. I tend to be a little bigger through the rib cage, (and am a 36D) and the 6 was perfect. It was comfortable all night, did not wrinkle, and got a ton of comments about how stunning the dress was. I love this dress. My favorite order so far.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2016
Classic fitted black dress with unique sleeves
Rented this for a winter gala. Great fit, extremely comfortable and hugs in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 26, 2016
I felt beautiful and go tons of compliments from people not even at the event.
Fit was tight. I opted for the 6 instead of the 4, Stretches, so it's easy to sit in, wore 3 inch heels until I couldn't take it anymore!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 24, 2016
Nice dress
I wore this to my brother's wedding to his wife who has a very conservative family. I wanted to be sexy but still covered up enough to not be judged by them and this dress was great for that. It was very lovely but very plain. It fit nicely though and hid all the places I needed hidden. I wore a sticky bra with it and it worked nicely but could've gone without one if I wanted to. I am so glad I ordered the long size as well because for me a regular would've been too short. It was very comfortable and easy to move and dance it. I loved the process of rent the runway but found myself second guessing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2016
Perfect fit
Lots of compliments on this dress years later.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 16, 2016
Perfect for Old Hollywood
Wore to my company party which was themed old Hollywood and got a lot of compliments :) 2 fit perfect (with limited arm movement). Its a really long dress so you have to wear very high platform heels and/or hold it up. Dress tape does not work on this material.
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2016
Classic & Elegant!
This was my first time using RTR. I rented at the last minute and was only able to rent 8P & 4R. I wore the 8P, I'm 5'3 & 130 lbs, it fit great!! I wore 3.5 in heels, length was perfect. Very comfortable. Many compliments! Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 15, 2016
So flattering and comfortable
This is the ultimate "go to" black dress. I want to run out and buy this one so I would always have the perfect black dress to wear. The material is so comfortable didn't require any specific undergarments. You could easily dress it up or down by changing up the jewelry and shoes. This one was definitely hard to send back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 11, 2016
Great dress! Comfortable yet stylish. Wore it to a black tie affair and it was perfect.
Fit a little big but overall show off your curves. The dress was comfortable and did not feel heavy. I ordered the petite and the length was perfect with 3.5 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 9, 2016
Classic and comfy
Classic look, perfect for work event. Not too revealing. The thick jersey is very comfortable, but the incredible stretch meant I wore the smaller size and could possibly have gone down another size to have a more curve-hugging fit. Great for hourglass/pear shapes! This dress does have a slight train, which surprised me. I'm quite tall and my shoes were visible in front, but dress still dragged the floor in back.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 7, 2016
Perfect Dress!!
I ordered an 8R & 10R because I didn't know how the fabric was. I ended up wearing the 8R. The fabric has some stretch to it. I wasn't wearing my 3 1/2 inch heels in the pic. With them on you could somewhat see the front of my shoes. It was still long. It has boning around the bust. I still wore a strapless bra for my own piece of mind. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 7, 2016
The way my husband kept looking at me throughout the night.
The dress runs a little small, I usually fit into a 20 but had to use my backup size for this dress. However, I do love the dress immensely. I had a baby a few months ago and I still have the baby tummy to prove it. But with the dress, you could hardly tell. I felt gorgeous in this one! If you want something classy & classic, go with this one! You can match just about any color with it and it screams "fabulous" without being over-the-top. I didn't wear a bra with it, and it didn't show at all. My face looks a little weird because sun was in my eyes, lol.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
December 5, 2016
Felt sexy without being over the top!
The dress was a little bigger than expected. I could have went for one size smaller. The runching hid the tummy well and the sleeves hid the arms great! I received many compliments on the dress. I am 5'7" and the petite was just perfect length. I would definitely rent again. I made 'bad' choices in the first 3 dresses I ordered. I figured they would be my size, but were not. I was running close to the party date and RTR consultants were awesome! They calmed me down and ensured my they would send me whatever I wanted in my size. THEY DID! I received my orders (5 dress :-) quickly and they were all in great shape and very pretty. I am a customer for life!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2016
This dress was beautiful and classy!
The dress was beautiful. Showed off all of the curves. Stayed in place very well and made me feel stunning. I wore the 0P, and the length was great with 3 inch heels.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
December 4, 2016
Great dress, beautiful drape.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it felt a little too formal for the event and wore my other choice instead. It's a great dress that looks gorgeous on and had the perfect amount of stretch to accommodate my 16 week pregnant tummy.
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 42
December 3, 2016
Fits beautifully.
Stretchy, yet secure, this dress makes you feel good, which is half the battle for looking great at an event! I ordered the 16, got the 18 for back up. I've had three kids, so my mid section can be challenging, and while body skimming, the dress didn't make me look like Frosty in the middle.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering style & cut
True to size but I would order the regular instead of the L if it were available when I rented this - I'm 5'6 and wore stiletto heels and this was still too long. Comfortable and flattering and I received many compliments. The style is great as it provides enough coverage to be conservative but not stiff while still fun & sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2016
so comfortable, very slimming and eye catching
definitely a head turner. able to wear spanx without seeing lines. Loved it.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
November 22, 2016
Looks good on, not comfortable to wear
The dress is crazy long - I'm 5'9" and wore 3" heels, and I still had to hoist it up everywhere I walked. Would have worn size 8L for length but the top runs small (I'm 34B). Overall, not a bad last-minute option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2016
This dress was perfect!
I loved this dress! I ordered a 4L and 6L as back up (I'm 5'8 and wanted to wear heels) but they sent me a 6R by mistake... glad they did though as it fit perfectly! I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks! I would 100% recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
November 20, 2016
Bombshell
Went with the bigger size only because I'm not usually one to wear formed fitting dress. My go to is fit-and-flare. I embraced my curves and went for it. I had SO many compliments! I was comfortable with the fabric that has a stretch to it. I would definitely rent again in the future if it is available. My husband was sad to learn that I do not own this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2016
Great material that helped to hide my pregnant belly...
This dress was so comfortable and flattering...perfect fit!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
November 14, 2016
I was so comfortable in the dress I was able to focus on having fun and enjoyed the evening.
The dress was snug without making you feel like a mermaid. The fabric gives and moves with you. It's difficult to zip and required help but after its zipped you're good to go. The dress I wore had some exposed wires in the breast supports which dug into my skin. I attached a note with the return so I hope it gets fixed. This was a great dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2016
Got lots of comments on it and it just made me feel beautiful!!!
This was my first rent the runway and it was an amazing experience!! I normally wear either a 0 or 2 size and I could have wore the 0 but it would have been a tad bit too tight but the size 2R fit like a glove and it was gorgeous on stage!!! I didn't wear heels so it was a tad bit too long but not to bad! Got lots of comments on it and it just made me feel beautiful!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! Defiantly would recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 8, 2016
Very Classy!
I wore this dress for a formal affair. The bodice fit well, but the arms were a little tight. Overall it was a great pick.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 8, 2016
Very slimming design
I ordered this dress to wear to an evening wedding located in Charleston, SC at a more 'upscale' venue. I've been very slack on working out and not eating like a pig so I wanted something that wouldn't draw attention to the areas I've neglected. I was incorrect in my sizing and thus shot myself in the foot when the dress was delivered. They were also out of my backup size come time for delivery so they sent me a RTR pick (which I hated). For whatever reason, I thought this dress was more of a 'jersey' material and was slightly surprised that it was more Spandex-y. Ultimately, the 14R was too short due to my extra hippage and length in general and the next size up in a Long was unavailable. I'm 5'5" and the regular was just at the bottom of my ankles and I was wanting the dress to touch the floor WITH 3" heels one. I did love how the dress looked and the boning on the inside really helped to smooth out my extra's and calm down my hips. The sleeves seemed to be a little on the tight side, but I think that would not have mattered much. I'm a 36DD so I didn't even consider not wearing a strapless bra (these need all the lift they can get!) but the grip lining at the bust would definitely help in keeping the dress in place. Should the opportunity present itself to order again, I certainly will (in the right size and length this time!)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2016
Great dress-even at 7 months pregnant!
I wore this dress to a formal event, and it was perfect. I usually wear a size 14/16, and I was concerned about finding flattering formal attire at 7 months pregnant. After reading the reviews, I ordered the 18WL and 20WL, and I wore the 18WL. The dress was comfortable for my growing belly. I am tall, 5'11" so the long dress was a necessity-plus, I did not want to wear heels, and I did not have to with this dress. You will need help zipping this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235lbs
November 6, 2016
I looked amazing, but never made it to my event
Unfortunately, I got sick on my way out the door and wound up staying home. Still, the dress was gorgeous- simple, refined, and flattering - and it was really comfortable. But no pictures since I never made it to the gala.
See more reviews:
1 / 22
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×