Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$60 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
1005 reviews
Fit
Large
(81)
True to Size
(585)
Small
(146)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2016
Classic & Elegant!
This was my first time using RTR. I rented at the last minute and was only able to rent 8P & 4R. I wore the 8P, I'm 5'3 & 130 lbs, it fit great!! I wore 3.5 in heels, length was perfect. Very comfortable. Many compliments! Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2016
Perfect for Old Hollywood
Wore to my company party which was themed old Hollywood and got a lot of compliments :) 2 fit perfect (with limited arm movement). Its a really long dress so you have to wear very high platform heels and/or hold it up. Dress tape does not work on this material.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2016
Perfect fit
Lots of compliments on this dress years later.
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 24, 2016
Nice dress
I wore this to my brother's wedding to his wife who has a very conservative family. I wanted to be sexy but still covered up enough to not be judged by them and this dress was great for that. It was very lovely but very plain. It fit nicely though and hid all the places I needed hidden. I wore a sticky bra with it and it worked nicely but could've gone without one if I wanted to. I am so glad I ordered the long size as well because for me a regular would've been too short. It was very comfortable and easy to move and dance it. I loved the process of rent the runway but found myself second guessing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2016
Classic fitted black dress with unique sleeves
Rented this for a winter gala. Great fit, extremely comfortable and hugs in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 54
January 1, 2017
My dress was beautiful!
This dress was beautiful. I ordered the 8L and it was a little big but worked. I really would have been better with the 6L but it was not available.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 64
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 2, 2017
So enjoyed shopping all the beautiful gowns, and selecting one that was really different!
The fit was perfect except for the length. I'm 5'8" and usually wear a 2 but ordered a 2 Long and 4 Long due to other reviews that the dress ran small. I did not think it ran small at all and maybe could have even worn the 0, but I def needed the Regular length. I wore about a 2" heel. In spite of that, I loved the dress, and it was comfy and glamorous feeling! I still danced a lot, just held it up a little!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2017
Fab !
After having a baby a few month ago and not feeling super confident with additional "curves" I was hesitant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did ! I wore this dress to a nye wedding, the fit was great although it felt like it loosened after an hour wearing it. I loved the sleeve, they weren't too tight. This dress had bones in it, between the bones and the rouching I felt like it was flattering . Length was perfect with my 4 " pump. Overall great dress !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
January 7, 2017
Amazing Dress!
This is a beautiful dress. Fit is amazing and very forgiving. Perfect for a formal event. The only complaint is the boning in the dress pinched me all night. I would rent this dress again!
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
January 7, 2017
Backup dress became dress
So, I ordered a different dress but that one didn't fit. So this became the backup dress. And I usually wear 16, could have used the 18 but they send the 18 LONG... mind you, I'm 4'11'. So I called to get the 18P, but they didn't have it available so I had to order the 20P. Which was fine length wise, but big in certain areas. Still a beautiful dress, very comfortable..got tons of complements..and danced the night away.. worth the rental..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2017
Easy and beautiful!
The top was snug but it was fine ultimately as it was comfortable and didn't look bad. I loved the gown but definitely sized up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 8, 2017
Amazing service
The dress has a great structure. I am 5'4 and I ordered the 6L , and even in heels, it was too long. RTR has a 6 R sent to me in the morning. So responsive to the immediate need. Loved the dress and love the service.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Age: 52
January 14, 2017
All eyes were on me! Beautiful dress!
I loved wearing this dress! Ordered in petite which was a great choice so that I could show off my shoes. The dress was classy and sexy and comfortable! The fit was flattering. I would rent again. The only con was that the wires inside were a bit sticky but I was able to adjust around them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 16, 2017
Perfect dress for Arizona winter
Very comfortable and glamorous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2017
It made me look like a Model. Amazing experience
Fit perfectly, good quality dress. It hugs your body. A lot of compliments .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 21, 2017
beautiful dress...just a little short!
Loved the look...especially the train! The only thing was it was a tiny bit short for my 5'6 frame. The seams also kept turning but that had more to do with the liner. It's stunning & was perfect for inauguration events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 22, 2017
Classy & elegant, but not the most comfortable
I'm 5'7" and wore the 2L with a pretty short heel. It was much longer than I needed, and it made it harder to dance and move around. I would recommend using the regular length of you are around 5'6-5'9 unless you have very tall heels. The dress looks beautiful but can be a bit uncomfortable, as it runs very small and was quite tight. I would recommend this dress if you are going to an event without a lot of dancing or walking around, as it does inhibit your motion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
February 19, 2017
Sexy and sophisticated dress
Lots of compliments on this dress - wore to a gala. The boning in the bust area keeps the off shoulder style in place. I rented the regular height and wore flats - if u are 5'5 or taller and want to wear heels definitely go to the tall. With a body shaped I felt confident and pretty in this dress. Would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2017
Did not wear , but fit perfect and complimented my figure . Stunning
Comfortable
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 27, 2017
Great first time experience!
This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and I was nervous. I'm 5'1 and fluctuate between size 2 and size 4 . Plus, I'm curvy. When I tried on the dress, it fitted perfectly. I received so many compliments. I am glad I purchased a 4 though because a 2 would have been very tight! Very classy dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
March 1, 2017
The dress is so well made! I've got curves, this dress showed off the right things!
Strangers stopped me to ask about my dress! Friends thought I had lost weight! Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 224lbs
March 4, 2017
Beautiful dress
Received compliments all night long. Dress fit well, very comfortable, well made piece. The ruching made this very flattering even on this post-baby body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2017
Attention Grabber
Perfect length. Flattering fit and quality fabric, but don't expect to raise your arms over your head. I wore this to a formal event for The Commodity Classic. (National Corn Growers Association event in San Antonio) I got non stop compliments all night, and would suggest this dress to anyone. Who knew a black dress could get so much attention?!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect combo of classy and sassy!
Wore this to the Red Tie Gala perfect combo of classy and sassy. Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2017
Perfect dress!
I rented this dress for my mother in law. She was having some confidence issues before ordering. Once she got the dress on she realized that this was the perfect dress with the perfect fit. She was satisfied with the dress I chose for her!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 22, 2017
Felt like I owned it
I'm not a small person so was hesitant to have something so tight. The gathering his imperfections. Sleeves a little tight but was fine with that. Built in bra a major plus. Many compliments at high end black tie wedding Does run small
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
April 5, 2017
Should have gotten my normal size
I read the reviews to go up a size and the dress was very loose in the waist on me. I should have stuck with a 16W which is my normal dress size. I am 5'8" and I definitely needed the long. Regular would have been too short. I loved the dress and would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 7, 2017
Military ball
Perfect and classy and comfortable for my husbands military ball. I will use RTR again for any formal event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2017
Classic!
Loved this gown the fit, the material everything! It does have boning and its a lil uncomfortable at times but nothing unbearable! I am 5ft and was really worried that it would be to long! The 6 fit great but the 8p length was perfection & there was not a huge difference in the 6 & 8p besides I liked the length of the 8p. I wore 4 in heels and the small train fell just lovely! The ruching is very complementary to an hourglass figure ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 10, 2017
The dress was perfect!
This had the perfect amount of gathering fabric that made me less worries about how tight it was. Such a flattering style and perfect for a gala. Heavy fabric...I did get a little warm but aside from that it's a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
April 17, 2017
I wanted a non-promy gown and I got it!
This dress was amazing. I am 5'10" and I wore 2 inch heels with the dress and the "long" option fit me perfectly! I have broad shoulders and big boobs and that was the main concern when purchasing this dress but it couldn't have fit better. This dress is sophisticated and stylish and was exactly what I wanted. The only downside was that I couldn't raise my arms up all the way while dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
April 23, 2017
Perfect for a gala!
Wore this for a choral gala fundraiser event. It was a bit on the small side, but I knew to expect that. So glad I got the 2nd size up. Form fitting, but showed off my curves. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 27, 2017
I ordered the dress mere days before my event and it arrived on time
I loved this dress!! It was a bit long for me, I'm 5'3" and wore 4 inch heels, but other than that, it was lovely- I received compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2017
Great dress, sexy but concealing of any problem areas
Loved this dress, wore it to my cousin's wedding...I went with the 8r and it was pretty long so plan accordingly with shoes. I loved the way I felt, very slimming and comfortable. I did wear spanx just for some extra support but with the cut and gathering I probably would have been fine without. I did like the length of the 6r but it was a little tight up top in the boob area so not the right fit for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2017
Loved loved loved this dress!
I loved loved loved this dress! The fit, the style, the magical-ness that it possessed. I felt like a princess the entire night. I will say that unlike other reviews I didn't have an issue with the boning In the dress initially, but I did feel the boning in the top back area around hour 4 of wearing it. I adjusted and went back to enjoying my evening. I ordered the petite which I shouldn't, but most reviews made me feel like the Regular would drag way to much. So if you're close to 5'5 and curvy I would suggest to go with the regular length dress. The silhouette of the dress is so flattering and forgiving. I will surely rent from RTR in the future. Signed #happycamper
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 270lbs
May 11, 2017
Super comfy!
I loved this gown. I'm a hairstylist so I gravitate toward black items so this was perfect for me! It was a little heavy for the warm weather but other than it was super comfortable. I am very bottom heavy (and short!) so the fact that I put this right on and it fit perfectly was so awesome. Also, since it was black, it was like a blank canvas in terms of accessorizing. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the zipper which was really hard to get up and down and also because the particular gown I got had some boning exposed so that poked me a few times. Other than that, great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 14, 2017
Beautiful
I rented this for a formal black-tie event. The dress fit perfectly and was very flattering. I received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 181lbs
May 20, 2017
Felt like I was going to an award show!
I wore this dress to my friend's black tie wedding. It fit great and the length was perfect with a 4 inch heel. The only thing that was slightly annoying was the boning in the chest area. At times it can poke if you're sitting down. The dress is also a little heavier than I realized. Overall, I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
May 23, 2017
Love!
Just like most reviews mentioned, this dress ran slightly small so I got a bigger size as a back up. I ended up wearing the bigger size & it was perfect! I wore it at the Billboard Music Awards - where I was a seatfiller, so I wore it for 7.5 hours (comfortable!) Everything about it was great - the material isn't too heavy - it moves easily; the arms aren't restricting; the rouching is all perfectly placed - especially to conceal the tummy & accentuate the behind. All in all, I think I need to own this dress. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36H
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2017
Lovely dress but not for busty ladies
Rented the 10 and 12. I am very large chested. The 10 was a little tight so I tried the 12... which was so tight I couldn't even zip it. The inconsistent sizing is a problem. That being said, the 10 worked out but be warned that this material has very little stretch. Also I am 5'3" and work 3" heels and it was still a bit too long.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×