Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
780 reviews
Fit
Large75
True to Size491
Small119
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
December 1, 2015
Perfect for formal event!
I ordered the 0L and the 2L and ended up going with the 2 because it was a little tight around my back. I was worried about not having a lot of mobility in the dress, but that was never a problem. The sleeves are not as restricting as they may seem. Definitely glad that I ordered the long though. I wore flats and am 5' 8" and it was the perfect length. The dress was a great choice overall!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
December 1, 2015
Love this dress!!
Totally loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I received so many complements as well. My husband and I love to dance and I was a little worried I'd have problems twirling around the dance floor do to the length but we didn't. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
November 30, 2015
Worked Wonderfully for my masquerade party...
This dress was beautiful. I received many compliments the whole night. The only negative is the zipper is very delicate and you have to be very careful. I chose two sizes and both fit. I would have loved to wear the 10R but the dress has been worn a lot and the boning inside the dress isn't holding up as great. This was my first rental and won't be my last. Love this site.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 25, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress!
This dress is very flattering and quite forgiving. RTR did not have my size in stock (4L) so I sized down and the dress did fit but it was (1) just a touch shorter than I like and (2) I had to pull it up several times. This was my fault for ordering late but maybe this helps you understand the fit. The material is very nice and does have a little stretch to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2015
Great fit!
Was very flattering and fit true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2015
This dress will turn heads!
I loved this dress from the moment I saw it. I normally wear a 2, so I ordered a 2 and a 4. I ended up wearing the 4 because of the extra room at the bust. I'm glad I ordered a long. I'm 5'7 and it was the perfect length with 3-4" heels. There is a little bit of a train that you don't see in the pictures. I got so many compliments on this dress all night long. I felt like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 214lbs
November 22, 2015
Loved this dress, but it was a little tight in the bust area. Great dress though!!
#blacktie #charityball
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 22, 2015
Classy Classic Long black dress.
The zero, regular length was just a tad too long, even with heels. The 2 petite was smaller everywhere, so if you're normally a size zero, I recommend sizing up for the petite. It was just a smudge shorter than I really wanted (it stopped just on top of my foot, and I would have preferred to have it touch the floor). I would have worn the regular length if I hadn't planned on dancing, but since I didn't want to end up stepping all over my dress on the dance floor, the petite was perfect. The dress fit like a glove. The arms were a tad restrictive (again, only noticeable when dancing). It is elegant with a touch of sexy. Perfect for a formal affair, but probably not the best dancing dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 22, 2015
The dress was extremely flattering, and I received a ton of compliments.
I had to size up 2 sizes for the dress to fit in the bust ( I am a 38 DD). It was a little loose in the body, but the fabric hid the loose fit- and probably made it more comfortable. The dress was extremely elegant and classic- aside from the size (which is just a number) I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 145lbs
November 20, 2015
It fit but the zipper stuck out in the back and it didn't feel "special" enough.
Pretty and simple but just didn't have a wow factor. If you like understated then go for it. It was comfortable and did have some stretch. I sent it back without wearing it. But customer service was awesome and overnighted a wonderful dress.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
November 19, 2015
very happy with this choice, simple and elegant, got many compliments!
I thought I had ordered this dress in a 6R and an 8R. The 6 fit luckily because the 8 was more of tea-length style. I was shocked. Same dress, but the the 8 was just below my knees. I def needed it to be floor length bc this was a formal event. My dresses came with no return label which was a bit of a pain. I handled shipping on my own and RTR credited me the shipping value. This was my first rental so I panicked but it was all handled well. Phew!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
November 19, 2015
Many compliments on this dress throughout the night. It was not my original pick, so glad I got it!
Fit like a glove, sized up from what I would usually wear. The fit is EXTREMELY flattering. Gives off a Hollywood glam vibe, especially with the right bling!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 185lbs
November 18, 2015
I was stopped several times throughout the night, being told how beautiful I looked in this dress
The body of the dress was extremely forgiving and made your "rolls" disappear. The arms fit very tight and the length wasn't quite as long as I'd hoped, but I wore beautiful shoes. The front of the dress is just a tad shorter than the back. I felt so beautiful wearing it and would love to wear it again. Next time I would probably wear a 12L just to feel looser in the arms.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 17, 2015
The wedding was black tie and I felt so glamorous!
The fabric is thick and a bit stretchy, so it keeps a lot of "bits" in. I did not know that it had ruching throughout the midsection, but that ended up being a bonus as well. I'm 5'5" and the 4Regular was a perfect height with my 3 inch heels. If your heels were 4" you would probably be fine too, since it can be pulled down a bit. You definitely need someone to help you zip it up, since your arms are slightly restricted when you're wearing the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
November 17, 2015
LOVE the dress. Fit like a glove.
This is my first experience with RTR. Loved it!! Renting was seamless. I am so glad I decided to give it a try. The second dress size option was not available so I ended up renting two just in case I didn't like one. I wish I would've taken a picture. This dress is very flattering however hides nothing if you are self conscious about your shape. Usually in a fitted dress I wear a 6 (I don't like the the super tight look) but this particular dress was absolutely perfect in a 4. Its elegant and just the right length. I wore 3 inch heels and it dragged a bit. 4inches would've been perfect (for the dress not for my feet. :)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 45
November 16, 2015
This dress fit like a glove and it was so comfortable, so many compliments.
Fit like a glove true to size
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 16, 2015
Simple but still elegant
This dress is great. Its very comfortable minus the spanx you have to wear if you want to smooth out any lumps or bumps. I'm 5'8 and I wore 4in heels and this dress hit the ground perfectly, even someone a little taller could probably wear heels with the long and it will still be long enough for them. I have pretty wide shoulders and larger arms, so I was a little worried that the dress wouldn't fit me up top, but with the stretchy fabric it turned out just fine.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect for the Marine Corp Ball!
I ordered a 4r and a 6r. The 4r was too small, but the 6r fit just right. I was worried about getting a dress the day before my big event, but it worked out great! I would definitely use RTR again :) Also, the return process was easy and convenient!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
Gorgeous and easy to wear
I ordered the 8P and it was perfect. My toes just peeked out from under the skirt. My only complaint was that my heels kept getting caught in the train of the dress. Other than that, it was very forgiving in fit since the material had a good amount of stretch and the ruching hid all sorts of things. Very elegant and comfortable.
Size worn:
16WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
November 16, 2015
Danced and had a blast.
Very comfortable and alluring with the shoulders bare. Covers the flabby upper arm problem.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
November 14, 2015
I received many compliments. Awesome dress.
Awesome dress. Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2015
So many compliments all night. I felt so glamorous
The small train was perfect. The fit was amazing. It hugged me in and hid my flaws. Loved this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 9, 2015
The dress was classy and noticeable without being too over the top.
Dress length (regular) was perfect for me with 3 inch heels, which is a plus for those of you on the shorter side like me. Wore just a standard strapless bra and I was fine all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 6, 2015
Nice dress, but not super memorable
This dress was beautifully made, and was true to size. It did stretch a bit and relaxed as I was wearing it, so I felt I had to adjust a lot more as the night went on. Maybe some fashion tape would have made it more secure. I'm 5'3" and wore 3 or 4" heals and the regular length was perfect--just brushing the ground, but not tripping me up all night.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
November 6, 2015
I loved this dress! Wore it to a military ball and was perfect for the event.
Accentuates curves and is very flattering.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 56
Weight: 110lbs
November 3, 2015
Loved this dress
I ordered the 0R and the 2R. This was my first time with Rent The Runway, I have always bought my gowns. We go to a lot of formal events and I really wanted something with a sleeve that didn't look matronly or the other extreme which was popular last year, long sleeve a two piece with a midriff showing. Not a good look at 55. I went with the 0, it fit better and the length was good for heels. I wore a 4 1/2" heel and it was perfect. There is a small train. I loved how comfortable it was. It was very flattering, understated and elegant. I love off the shoulder look. I liked that it didn't show too much cleavage. It felt a little snug in the bust but it didn't appear that way. Having the 3/4 length sleeve was awesome in November. If I could purchase this dress, I would.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
October 30, 2015
It was a beautiful outfit.
It looked wonderful. It has some give, I was able to get my postpartum body into it. Tight in the chest.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 28, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress.
The dress fit perfectly, the 4 was a little tight in the chest but the 6 fit like a glove.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
October 28, 2015
It was wonderful - I received so many compliments throughout the evening! Great dress!
It was a little big in bust area - but that's my problem (smile)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
October 19, 2015
Beautiful gown.
Unfortunately, The shoulders were too small and I was unable to wear this lovely gown. It was an unusual fitting problem for me, as the gown fit very comfortably through my hips. Therefore I was unable to wear the gown.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 47
October 15, 2015
We rented the dress for my daughter's senior Prom & she was the most stunning girl there!
The dress fit true to size, it was comfortable & she felt confident in it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
October 13, 2015
Celebrating with my daughters/family/friends and my significant other for the first time.
The dress was perfect! Just like I imagined it to be. The reviews were all on point. I ordered a size bigger because I read that it ran small; so glad i did! No bra necessary, so comfortable and flattering. It gave the classic look I was hoping for. I would highly recommend RTR for your occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 9, 2015
Amazing fit! Very deceiving as it looks somewhat plain but is a show stopper on! Tons of compliments
Fits like a glove! Accentuated all the right areas. I felt so elegant and received a ton of compliments all evening long. Wish I could have kept it!! But tons of ladies will be on RTR now because they loved the simplicity and elegance of the dress and the concept behind RTR as well as the affordability!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
October 9, 2015
THIS DRESS
Wore this to my law school's barrister's ball. I couldn't have picked a better dress! Though a little tight around the bust, I absolutely loved it. This dress hugs your curves but I was comfortable the whole night. I would definitely recommend this dress for any formal event!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 8, 2015
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! Understated, yet eye catching at the same time.
I rented this dress for a fundraising gala for a non -profit organization I started. I got a ton of compliments and was able to dress it up with oversized earrings. This dress fit true to size and was comfortable all night long. I am on the shorter side (5' 1") and this dress was a bit long (even with heels). Overall, I was very pleased with this rental and am already looking forward to my next RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 7, 2015
Classic glamour
Wore the backup size- my bust made it difficult to zip the smaller one because it is very structured. I was able to zip it myself into it but it took some maneuvering. Would have been the perfect length for heels, but I had to wear flats due to the state of my feet after a long week of walking. Had to pick up my train but that wasn't a big deal. I got complements all night long and it was effortless to wear. There wasn't another gown like it at the event and I felt very confident, even without shape wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 73
October 5, 2015
L.A. Philharmonic gala with Gustav Dudamel conducting
Beautiful dress. The 6 fit except for my ample bust so I wore the 8. Everyone kept saying 'wow'
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2015
Always fast and incredible service with RTR!
The fit was a little bit snug in the chest area. I tried it with and without a strapless bra. Boning in the top of the dress makes it possible to not wear a bar. Material is very stretchy and comfortable. Easy to dance and move around in. I am 5'4 and I order a regular length and without shoes the front of the dress hit right at the top of my feet. The back was long enough so that with a 3 inch heel it did not touch the ground. Overall would highly recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
September 30, 2015
Wore this for a sorority formal
Gorgeous fabric, flattering fit
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 57
September 28, 2015
I absolutely LOVED this dress.
It fit beautifully. It had a small train in the back. The material had just enough stretch to it. It hugs in all the right places. I thought it was sexy but not too much, very classy. loved that it was off the shoulder. I have another event in February which is also black tie and I will ABSOLUTELY be ordering from Rent the Runway again. I probably could have worn the 6 because there was enough stretch in it to fit but I didn't want to take a chance so I ordered the 8 & 10.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×