Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
788 reviews
Fit
Large
(75)
True to Size
(495)
Small
(121)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 10, 2016
What an amazing dress! I'm a 40DDD and this fit like a glove.
Didn't have to wear a bra with this one, and the cut was very slimming. Perfect for a winter Gala, as it was kind of heavy material. Wire in the bust got a little pokey by the end of the night, but overall very comfortable gown.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 10, 2016
Very emotional evening, glad I felt as good as I did in the dress!
I ordered the 12L and the 14L. The 12 fit perfectly but because I had the 14 and it looked good too with more wiggle room I went with that one. I LOVED it. Felt glamorous! I am 5'8 and the length of the Long was perfect. I wore 3" heels and it did hit the floor but as part of the long dress look I like to hold it up upon steps or outside. I did not drag, it was just perfect.
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Age: 50
February 9, 2016
Loved the dress!!! Flattering and stretches so you don't have to worry about it not fitting. :-)
Perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
Great customer service. This was my second dress and so glad I got it as the other dress was so bad!
Dress runs a little legs, but is very comfortable. I was worried about the sleeves but they are very flattering and don't fall down. The dress feels good on-slinky and soft.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
February 7, 2016
This was a New Years Eve Masquerade Ball. I did feel pretty although a little uncomfortable.
I have a D cup so even the size 12 was snug on the top. The rest of the dress was extremely comfortable. I only problem I found was with the boning on the top of the dress. I found the on both the left and right sides the plastic boning was bent and stuck into the side of by breast occasionally. I did feel very pretty in this dress and got a lot of compliments. I rented the necklace with it which just took the outfit to a higher level. I would recommend this dress for a C cup or smaller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 5, 2016
Everyone complimented the gown!
the fit was amazing and sat perfectly in all the right places. Loved the built in bra which made for dancing. Off the shoulder fit was perfect! Loved the gown.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2016
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and it was awesome! Will definitely use it again!
Loved the dress! The material was incredibly comfortable, and I was able to dance the night away with no issues! My chest is on the small side, so no bra was needed (huge plus!), because the dress had built in wire... I was a collegiate gymnast, so I'm 5'3, 120, and usually wear a 0 in everything... I have a small waist, but I also have a butt and muscular thighs, so I'm always leery to order anything online... Because of this, I read all of the reviews for girls around my size, and wanted to go with the 0, but it wasn't available. A lot of the reviews said that if you normally wear a 0, you might want to size up to a 2P. I ended up getting the 0P with the intentions of wearing the 2P, but I'm glad I did, because the 2P would have been WAY too big! The 0P was plentyyy long for my 5'3 frame... So much so that I could wear my 3" heels with it! If you're on the fence about this dress, get it! It's classy, comfy, and fits great! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
February 5, 2016
Loved this dress. I would definitely rent it again for a special occasion.
The fit was perfect. It hugs in all the right places and is very flattering. The dress screams sophistication but also has a hint of sexiness with it.
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2016
Great Dress for a Classic Look
This dress looked amazing on! Definitely ran small in the bust. It was much tighter than I expected up top, but that actually worked to my advantage. I didn't have to wear a bra due to the boning in the top of the dress. That never happens with my bust size of 34DDD. I thought that the dress would be stretchy throughout, but the structure up top worked well. The bottom of the dress hugs in all the right places and the petite size was the perfect length with my 3 inch heels. Definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 2, 2016
LOVED this for my Mardi Gras ball! I got SO many compliments!
My preferred size was unavailable, so they sent my backup and an alternate gown in my preferred size. I didn't get the email until the day it was supposed to ship. And due to the security concerns of my job, I don't have access to my phone to have any input on which alternate dress they shipped. I hated the backup gown. I didn't even try it on. Luckily, the dress I chose fit fairly well. It was a size too big and ran a little long, but with heels and luck, I made it work.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 1, 2016
This wasn't the right dress for me
I loved the back of this dress - my butt looked amazing but the front of the dress didn't work for me. I need a v-front or sweetheart neckline. I sent it back.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2016
Event for a worthy cause!
Perfect fit! Was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2016
An elegant look; a comfortable fit!
This dress was the elegant, simplistic look I craved from a long black gown. It was comfortable and fit true to size. I wore it for a black tie winter wedding and the compliments flowed like the champagne all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 27, 2016
This dress is beautiful. Wish I could have owned it as it would be my go to black dress!!!
The dress fits like a glove and the material is lightweight and comfortable. I am curvy and had just spent 12 weeks on crutches with multiple casts on my feet. I am very short and had been in a walking boot. I wanted to wear something to the wedding that hid the boot well but still made me feel pretty. This dress was perfect. The petite was long enough to cover what I had going on my feet. My body wasn't as tight as it normally was due to my injuries but the dress was very forgiving and pulled my curves in the right places so no one noticed that I hadn't walked or worked out in 12 weeks! It was a self esteem savior. The low cut shoulder part of the dress was so sexy and allowed for the beautiful accessories.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 196lbs
January 27, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress...
Beautiful dress, I received so many compliments. If you are looking for something , sexy and elegant this is the dress for you..I was a little reluctant to rent a dress at first..I must tell you that the process was very smooth..it arrived in perfect time for my event, and everything arrived very neat. Phenomenal experience.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 25, 2016
I loved this dress. It has a classic look and was easy to accessorize with.
I had a backup of 14L which to my surprise felt tighter than the 12L I ended up wearing. I think this dress looks great. It just needs to be adjusted every so often because, you know, gravity. The dress has wiring in areas, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. With heels the 12L didn't touch the ground. Overall, very nice dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 24, 2016
Very comfortable, HUGE compliments. I felt it ran a bit small. Lovely.
Snug, form fitting but very comfortable and flattering. I wished I could have gotten the navy blue but they were out.
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
January 22, 2016
beautiful dress
I would have sized down one size. Also, I ordered petite because I am short, I would have gone with the regular because the tops of my feet peaked out from under the dress. The dress gives amazing curves and is very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 16
January 21, 2016
Thank you ! It fit well!
Fit tight and perfectly! Felt so sexy!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 21, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress.
The dress was great, I resent having to write a review. Every time I log in it' hangs out there. There is no way to remove it, so here I am writing a review.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 21, 2016
I attended the Dallas Margarita Ball, formal charity event, so a great opportunity to over glam!
I would say the dress is true to size, I selected an 18W because I have extra-large arms, (I had to have friends grip and shimmy up, because the sleeves have no give, hence going up one size due to arms). It was roomy, so a 16 would've worked for my body but not the sleeves. The dress is soooo complimentary to the body. I have curves but plenty of fluff. I wore my regular girdle, so didn't have to go buy an extra tight one to accentuate curves because the dress does all the work!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 27
January 18, 2016
Worn to my fiance's formal work party. Looked and felt amazing!
Rented both the 12 and 14 because other reviews mentioned the sleeves running small. The zipper on the 12 got stuck a lot and the lining on the top was a little worn. It fit and looked great though!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
January 18, 2016
Great dress for an apple shaped girl.
LOVED THIS DRESS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
January 17, 2016
I was complimented all night! This is a very elegant dress. LOVED it!
I'm usually a 8/10 and I wore the 12. I didn't even try the 10. The fit was a bit tight around the ribs. The small train was a bit long for a the event I went to. The venue was very crowded and it was stepped on a few times. Other than that the dress was GREAT! I felt very classy and confident. If I had perky boobs I could have gone without a bra!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 12, 2016
It was exquisitie!
The dress felt great on. The fabric was heavy. The only thing was I was glad I ordered a backup size. I normally wear a 6 or 8. I ordered both and the 8 was super tight in the breast line. Other than that I felt very sexy in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2016
The dress was elegant and classic. I wore this to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect!
I broke my leg and had a cast, I was trying to hide it as well as all the weight I had gained from not working out. The roushing made it so flattering and comfortable! I could hide my cast and my trouble spots. I felt elegant and glamorous. I have a large chest and it still fit. The arms were weird only when zipping it up, after that it was great! Note that petite sizes you need to get the size up for normal size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
January 6, 2016
It was awesome to rent a dress and it get here on time with no worries fast and easy service.
The dress for amazing, had a little trouble with the zipper it once on I felt amazing and got tons of complements and questions of where o got my dress from! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
January 6, 2016
Great customer service.
It's very comfortable to wear. I just had a baby and wasn't sure about size. Ordered the 8L and 10L. I didn't need the long. I wore it because it was what I ordered but could've used the regular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2016
Not flattering for my petite frame
I rented this because I was 21 weeks pregnant for a formal affair, and several people had noted that it was bump-friendly. The stretchy material certainly allowed comfortable room for my bump, but it just wasn't flattering on my petite frame. I didn't think the arms were restricting as others had noted. It fit well in 6R ( I'm typically a 4 or 6 in RTR gowns pre-preggo, and the 6R fit well at 21 weeks and 6 pounds above pre-preggo weight). There was just too much fabric to be flattering on me. Luckily, another RTR gown made me feel beautiful! Consider the Nicole Miller "such a nockout" gown if you're expecting but don't have a huge bump yet
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2016
Loved it and very flattering!!!
Great fit and great fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
January 2, 2016
This dress was beautiful! It so did run small! And if you're busty definitely get a bigger size.
It was a beautiful gown! It definitely runs small!!!! 2 sizes up should be perfect. And ladies don't stress about the " number of size" this dress is gorgeous ! It runs small! And forget it if you're busty.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 2, 2016
This was a Black Tie New Year's Eve Party in New England.
Very beautiful dress. I wanted the 0 with a 2 for a backup, but the 0 was taken. I ordered the 2 and a 4. The 2 fit perfect, I would have liked to try the 0, but it worked. The 4 clearly too big. This dress is very fitted without feeling tight. I am 5 6 1/2, 110lbs. Length was absolutely perfect. Everything stayed in place. I loved the sleeves because it is cold here in New England and most dresses are made for a summer party! Elegant, classic, I wore it with a pearl choker. Sexy without being trashy. I had to zip the dress up with the top being around my waist, then pulled it into place. Don't be afraid that it is too small if you can't zip it up when pulled up. Trust me. Do it this way, then shimmy into it. You don't want this too big because the fabric will pull it down. You will not be disappointed.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
December 22, 2015
Wore this for a black tie charity event. Great dress.
The fabric has some stretch so it's very comfortable to move around in it. Also the rouching all over is flattering. The sleeves were my favorite part as they covered the top of my arms which are a little out of shape, but still elegant with the low neckline. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
December 18, 2015
Very flattering and comfortable. Slips a bit due to weight.
Fits very nicely and flattering. It did seem to slip and show more cleavage than I wanted at times. Had to keep pulling up. Good camo for those without the flat tummy! Got lots of complements. Runs fairly long. I wore 3 inch heels and it still felt long.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
December 17, 2015
I had soooo many compliments. My FB post had more likes and comments than any post I have ever had.
The party was wonderful. The dress stayed in place and was comfortable. I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 15, 2015
Elegant and more beautiful in person than in pictures !
A heavy dress but worth carrying around :) I received so many compliments. It is the perfect combination of sexy and elegant
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 15, 2015
Many compliments despite how I felt in the dress
Not my favorite. Perhaps it was just getting tired. The boning was strange -- unshaped, basically just flat, creating a less than flattering fit on top. Fabric was OK, but not as nice as I'd expected. Had to wear Spanx because of the combo of where the ruching stopped in back and the thinness of the fabric. It was comfortable to wear once on. My husband really liked it, and I received many compliments, but would not rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
December 14, 2015
Elegant
This dress runs a little small in upper body but fits like a glove and shows off all the right curves. I have broad shoulders so the fact that it zips up and stops in your mid-back made me think twice about going up a size. I received so many compliments. I am 5'4 and it was definitely long, even with 3' heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 54
December 14, 2015
I rented it as a test to see how it fit. I'll rent it again.
Fit was snug, but still comfy. Felt very sexy.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 13, 2015
Elegant dress with WOW factor!
I wore this dress to my husband's black-tie Christmas party & it was a show-stopper! Conservative enough for a work event, but the neckline makes it super sexy. Fits true to size: I wore the 6L, and I'm sooo glad I got the long - I'm 5"8, and could just see my 3 inch heels. The regular would have been way too short. Best of all, this dress is really comfy! I wore a strapless bra (I'm a 32D), and I felt 'held in' in all the right places all night. Def recommend!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 20
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×