Belle of the Ball Gown

$70 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
778 reviews
Fit
Large75
True to Size489
Small119
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 1, 2016
This wasn't the right dress for me
I loved the back of this dress - my butt looked amazing but the front of the dress didn't work for me. I need a v-front or sweetheart neckline. I sent it back.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2016
Event for a worthy cause!
Perfect fit! Was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2016
An elegant look; a comfortable fit!
This dress was the elegant, simplistic look I craved from a long black gown. It was comfortable and fit true to size. I wore it for a black tie winter wedding and the compliments flowed like the champagne all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 27, 2016
This dress is beautiful. Wish I could have owned it as it would be my go to black dress!!!
The dress fits like a glove and the material is lightweight and comfortable. I am curvy and had just spent 12 weeks on crutches with multiple casts on my feet. I am very short and had been in a walking boot. I wanted to wear something to the wedding that hid the boot well but still made me feel pretty. This dress was perfect. The petite was long enough to cover what I had going on my feet. My body wasn't as tight as it normally was due to my injuries but the dress was very forgiving and pulled my curves in the right places so no one noticed that I hadn't walked or worked out in 12 weeks! It was a self esteem savior. The low cut shoulder part of the dress was so sexy and allowed for the beautiful accessories.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 196lbs
January 27, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress...
Beautiful dress, I received so many compliments. If you are looking for something , sexy and elegant this is the dress for you..I was a little reluctant to rent a dress at first..I must tell you that the process was very smooth..it arrived in perfect time for my event, and everything arrived very neat. Phenomenal experience.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 25, 2016
I loved this dress. It has a classic look and was easy to accessorize with.
I had a backup of 14L which to my surprise felt tighter than the 12L I ended up wearing. I think this dress looks great. It just needs to be adjusted every so often because, you know, gravity. The dress has wiring in areas, but it wasn't too uncomfortable. With heels the 12L didn't touch the ground. Overall, very nice dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 24, 2016
Very comfortable, HUGE compliments. I felt it ran a bit small. Lovely.
Snug, form fitting but very comfortable and flattering. I wished I could have gotten the navy blue but they were out.
Size worn:
20WP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
January 22, 2016
beautiful dress
I would have sized down one size. Also, I ordered petite because I am short, I would have gone with the regular because the tops of my feet peaked out from under the dress. The dress gives amazing curves and is very comfortable to wear.
Size worn:
22WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 16
January 21, 2016
Thank you ! It fit well!
Fit tight and perfectly! Felt so sexy!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 21, 2016
Received many compliments on this dress.
The dress was great, I resent having to write a review. Every time I log in it' hangs out there. There is no way to remove it, so here I am writing a review.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
January 21, 2016
I attended the Dallas Margarita Ball, formal charity event, so a great opportunity to over glam!
I would say the dress is true to size, I selected an 18W because I have extra-large arms, (I had to have friends grip and shimmy up, because the sleeves have no give, hence going up one size due to arms). It was roomy, so a 16 would've worked for my body but not the sleeves. The dress is soooo complimentary to the body. I have curves but plenty of fluff. I wore my regular girdle, so didn't have to go buy an extra tight one to accentuate curves because the dress does all the work!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Age: 27
January 18, 2016
Worn to my fiance's formal work party. Looked and felt amazing!
Rented both the 12 and 14 because other reviews mentioned the sleeves running small. The zipper on the 12 got stuck a lot and the lining on the top was a little worn. It fit and looked great though!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
January 18, 2016
Great dress for an apple shaped girl.
LOVED THIS DRESS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
January 17, 2016
I was complimented all night! This is a very elegant dress. LOVED it!
I'm usually a 8/10 and I wore the 12. I didn't even try the 10. The fit was a bit tight around the ribs. The small train was a bit long for a the event I went to. The venue was very crowded and it was stepped on a few times. Other than that the dress was GREAT! I felt very classy and confident. If I had perky boobs I could have gone without a bra!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
January 12, 2016
It was exquisitie!
The dress felt great on. The fabric was heavy. The only thing was I was glad I ordered a backup size. I normally wear a 6 or 8. I ordered both and the 8 was super tight in the breast line. Other than that I felt very sexy in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2016
The dress was elegant and classic. I wore this to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect!
I broke my leg and had a cast, I was trying to hide it as well as all the weight I had gained from not working out. The roushing made it so flattering and comfortable! I could hide my cast and my trouble spots. I felt elegant and glamorous. I have a large chest and it still fit. The arms were weird only when zipping it up, after that it was great! Note that petite sizes you need to get the size up for normal size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
January 6, 2016
It was awesome to rent a dress and it get here on time with no worries fast and easy service.
The dress for amazing, had a little trouble with the zipper it once on I felt amazing and got tons of complements and questions of where o got my dress from! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
January 6, 2016
Great customer service.
It's very comfortable to wear. I just had a baby and wasn't sure about size. Ordered the 8L and 10L. I didn't need the long. I wore it because it was what I ordered but could've used the regular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2016
Not flattering for my petite frame
I rented this because I was 21 weeks pregnant for a formal affair, and several people had noted that it was bump-friendly. The stretchy material certainly allowed comfortable room for my bump, but it just wasn't flattering on my petite frame. I didn't think the arms were restricting as others had noted. It fit well in 6R ( I'm typically a 4 or 6 in RTR gowns pre-preggo, and the 6R fit well at 21 weeks and 6 pounds above pre-preggo weight). There was just too much fabric to be flattering on me. Luckily, another RTR gown made me feel beautiful! Consider the Nicole Miller "such a nockout" gown if you're expecting but don't have a huge bump yet
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2016
Loved it and very flattering!!!
Great fit and great fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
January 2, 2016
This dress was beautiful! It so did run small! And if you're busty definitely get a bigger size.
It was a beautiful gown! It definitely runs small!!!! 2 sizes up should be perfect. And ladies don't stress about the " number of size" this dress is gorgeous ! It runs small! And forget it if you're busty.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 2, 2016
This was a Black Tie New Year's Eve Party in New England.
Very beautiful dress. I wanted the 0 with a 2 for a backup, but the 0 was taken. I ordered the 2 and a 4. The 2 fit perfect, I would have liked to try the 0, but it worked. The 4 clearly too big. This dress is very fitted without feeling tight. I am 5 6 1/2, 110lbs. Length was absolutely perfect. Everything stayed in place. I loved the sleeves because it is cold here in New England and most dresses are made for a summer party! Elegant, classic, I wore it with a pearl choker. Sexy without being trashy. I had to zip the dress up with the top being around my waist, then pulled it into place. Don't be afraid that it is too small if you can't zip it up when pulled up. Trust me. Do it this way, then shimmy into it. You don't want this too big because the fabric will pull it down. You will not be disappointed.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
December 22, 2015
Wore this for a black tie charity event. Great dress.
The fabric has some stretch so it's very comfortable to move around in it. Also the rouching all over is flattering. The sleeves were my favorite part as they covered the top of my arms which are a little out of shape, but still elegant with the low neckline. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
December 18, 2015
Very flattering and comfortable. Slips a bit due to weight.
Fits very nicely and flattering. It did seem to slip and show more cleavage than I wanted at times. Had to keep pulling up. Good camo for those without the flat tummy! Got lots of complements. Runs fairly long. I wore 3 inch heels and it still felt long.
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
December 17, 2015
I had soooo many compliments. My FB post had more likes and comments than any post I have ever had.
The party was wonderful. The dress stayed in place and was comfortable. I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 15, 2015
Elegant and more beautiful in person than in pictures !
A heavy dress but worth carrying around :) I received so many compliments. It is the perfect combination of sexy and elegant
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 15, 2015
Many compliments despite how I felt in the dress
Not my favorite. Perhaps it was just getting tired. The boning was strange -- unshaped, basically just flat, creating a less than flattering fit on top. Fabric was OK, but not as nice as I'd expected. Had to wear Spanx because of the combo of where the ruching stopped in back and the thinness of the fabric. It was comfortable to wear once on. My husband really liked it, and I received many compliments, but would not rent this again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 14, 2015
Elegant
This dress runs a little small in upper body but fits like a glove and shows off all the right curves. I have broad shoulders so the fact that it zips up and stops in your mid-back made me think twice about going up a size. I received so many compliments. I am 5'4 and it was definitely long, even with 3' heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 53
December 14, 2015
I rented it as a test to see how it fit. I'll rent it again.
Fit was snug, but still comfy. Felt very sexy.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 13, 2015
Elegant dress with WOW factor!
I wore this dress to my husband's black-tie Christmas party & it was a show-stopper! Conservative enough for a work event, but the neckline makes it super sexy. Fits true to size: I wore the 6L, and I'm sooo glad I got the long - I'm 5"8, and could just see my 3 inch heels. The regular would have been way too short. Best of all, this dress is really comfy! I wore a strapless bra (I'm a 32D), and I felt 'held in' in all the right places all night. Def recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
December 13, 2015
This was not wearable
This dress was way to short, I couldn't wear it as it only came to my ankles and I am only 5'6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Wedding
December 12, 2015
Felt very elegant and stylish.
The fit is small. I ordered the 18 and I'm typically between a 16 and 18 and it was too tight! Thankfully I had a back up size. The wire around the bust occasionally bothered me but it wasn't too bad. The zipper is very difficult to work. Not just when you're wearing it but just trying to slide the zipper up-and-down on the hanger is tough. Be ready
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
December 12, 2015
classy dress and very comfortable
Pro- I did not have to wear a bra ( and I'm busty)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
December 9, 2015
Customer service wasn't great
I read to get this dress 2 sizes up and I was swimming in it. If getting a bigger size, try just one perhaps. Also, I'm 5'11 and the long was definitely too short to wear with any heel. I had to return. Otherwise it's not a bad dress, it is pretty. The neckline kind of makes your shoulders look broad though.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2015
I loved wearing this dress! It was so comfortable and made me feel beautiful. Lots of compliments!
Pros: fits perfect, easy to wear without a bra, had good give. Cons: I read too many reviews and decided I needed a long... Way too long even with 4" heels. Would've been perfect as a regular. A little tough to walk in bc of the train in the back combined with the extra length. But, the sexy, classy look I had was worth it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 209lbs
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress, unfortunately didn't fit
The dress was beautiful, however it did not fit in the chest (too small).
Size worn:
16WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
December 1, 2015
This dress was gorgeous!!!
I loved this dress, it fit perfectly, and made me look flawless! It was easy to accessorize!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 1, 2015
Supporting a wonderful cause and loved getting compliments on the dress!
Fit through the top was snug but otherwise it fit beautifully!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
December 1, 2015
Perfect for formal event!
I ordered the 0L and the 2L and ended up going with the 2 because it was a little tight around my back. I was worried about not having a lot of mobility in the dress, but that was never a problem. The sleeves are not as restricting as they may seem. Definitely glad that I ordered the long though. I wore flats and am 5' 8" and it was the perfect length. The dress was a great choice overall!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
December 1, 2015
Love this dress!!
Totally loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I received so many complements as well. My husband and I love to dance and I was a little worried I'd have problems twirling around the dance floor do to the length but we didn't. I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×