Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$60 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
1005 reviews
Fit
Large
(81)
True to Size
(585)
Small
(146)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142lbs
April 19, 2016
Black Tie Elegance!
I wore this beautiful dress to a black-tie gala in Providence Rhode Island. I am very tall 5'11" and the dress was long enough in the 10 long size. The fabric has stretch and is gathered, so it is very flattering and comfortable. Thank you rent the runway for making it a beautiful night! XOXO
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 23, 2016
Got so many compliments & fitted my figure very well.
First time using rent the runway. Would so do it again. Dress came on time and in the right size. I had to have them overnight me a dress because it runs a little small but overall great fit. I thought the dress was going to be longer than it actually was so plan accordingly for shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
January 2, 2016
This dress was beautiful! It so did run small! And if you're busty definitely get a bigger size.
It was a beautiful gown! It definitely runs small!!!! 2 sizes up should be perfect. And ladies don't stress about the " number of size" this dress is gorgeous ! It runs small! And forget it if you're busty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 214lbs
November 22, 2015
Loved this dress, but it was a little tight in the bust area. Great dress though!!
#blacktie #charityball
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 11, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this for my Halloween costume as Miss America. The dress just looked so elegant and classy. It was comfortable but a little tight in my boob/stomach area. I did receive several compliments on the dress. Thanks RTR for another beautiful dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2016
Perfection
This dress is a perfect 10. The cut is generous and flattering with a structure that supports you in all the right places. I felt like a movie star. Incredibly comfortable and easy to wear. Loved it, and will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2016
The dress fit like a glove. It was perfection. And customer service at RTR, once again, rocked it!
I ordered a 6R and 8R based on other reviews and they both were ridiculously long. I called customer service and they overnighted another dress in petite. It fit perfectly. I'm 5'4 and 130. I wore very high heels. The petite fit exactly the same as the regular...just shorter in length. It was perfect. I wore a padded strapless bra underneath (34C) but could easily have gone without a bra. I also wore Spanx and I'm very glad I did. It's a tight dress but very flattering. Love this dress and I would love to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 19, 2016
I loved the fit and the length. Fits like a glove. I may just order this again!
Love love loved this dress! It fits like a glove and I felt so sexy and beautiful! The length was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2016
The classic, off-the-shoulder, column silhouette is universally flattering.
Pros: Great for a petite, slightly hourglass figure like mine. I like showing off décolletage and back over legs and arms because the risk of taking a bad photo is close to zilch! Black is a great color for everyone, obviously. This is also a timeless design. Cons: The wires inside the bust poked me all night and made me uncomfortable. I had to fold some fabric in to protect my skin from getting scratched. The weather for the May black tie wedding I attended in Detroit was 75 and sunny -- not expected given a recent cold spell! I was a little overheated during the outdoor ceremony and until the sun started to drop but then it was great when it cooled down at night. The reception was indoor-outdoor. All in all, glad I rented this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 230lbs
May 28, 2016
The dress was elegant and classy...It made people look at me twice :)
I wanted a long gown that would cover my tummy and this dress was perfect! My arms are always another issue and are usually too big to fit into a dress my size. I usually wear 14 but the dress couldn't zip up and my arms couldn't fit but 16 dress fit me perfect all around.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
June 2, 2016
Very flattering design
I rented this dress for a formal wedding. It is very flattering and I received many, many compliments. The fabric is black jersey with some stretch and the length was perfect for me (5'6" with 4" heels). However, there were two issues: 1) if you are alone , there is absolutely no way to zip this - and even with help, the zipper is very tough to move, and 2) the boning was sticking out everywhere (kind of like little black wire fish bones), so I was being stabbed all evening. I ended up with bruises and tiny punctures all over my torso as a result. I cannot even imagine what it would have been like if I hadn't worn spanx to cover certain areas. With that said, I think it may have just been a dress that is on its last leg and I notified RTR about the issue, so hopefully it will be remedied. Other than that, it is a great dress and very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2016
Amazing dress but a few flaws
This dress was rented as my backup style for a black tie wedding. I wore the other style dress for 2 reasons - first, there was some very well-placed boning in the breast area of the dress that really accentuated the dress's shape... except... it was only in my backup size (10R) that was too big for me; someone may have cut it out of the one I would have liked to wear (8R). Secondly, it had a pretty bad odor, however I think if I had hung it up in an open doorway for 24 hours or so, it would have aired out. I actually liked this dress well enough to try ordering it again (and hope for a clean one with the boning still in place). It's an elegant design that felt really glamorous on, and it's SO RARE to find a great dress with sleeves that isn't too matronly. I LOVE dresses with sleeves! It also had a textured band around the top inside that kept it perfectly in place on my shoulders, no matter how much I moved around. I also wanted to note that the size 10R was the perfect length with a 4" heel (I'm 5'5.5") however I would have had to find a shorter heel for the 8R. It was right at 2 inches shorter than the 10.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
June 14, 2016
Very classy gown with perfect fit!
I wore this sexy yet classy gown for a Charity Ball event for the Children's Home of Northern Kentucky! The length and measurements of this gown were true to sizing measurements. The boning in the torso that gives this dress the flatter shape does make it fit tightly, so if you're not sure on sizing definitely go a size up. Loved this gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2016
Loved this dress!! Want to keep it forever.
Hugged my body in all the right places. I want to wear it every day:)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 40DD
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2016
Different from everything else in the room.
The dress ran large in my opinion contrary to other folks opinion. I should of went a size down for it to fit me the way it fit the model. Also, the boning was coming out of the sides which stuck me on and off all night. It was beautiful overall though. I loved showing my shoulders while being more covered on my arms. The process with RTR was incredible. I knew where my package was at all times and sending it back was a breeze. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
20WL
Rented for:
Wedding
August 14, 2016
Glamorous!
I felt beautiful in this dress! Very glamorous! There was some wire that poked through. A little uncomfortable .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 1, 2016
I got so many compliments all night! I felt beautiful in the dress!
It fit perfect, it was flattering in the areas of my body I'm a little self conscious about. It was a little warm towards the end of the night, but dancing will do that :) I got compliments all night and felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Dress
This is the 2nd time I've rented this dress, and I've loved it both times. It fits well, it's flattering, it's super comfortable, and the Long was perfect for me with a 3-inch heel. I was disappointed in some of the other aspects of my order (dresses came balled up in a box this time, but last time they came nicely packed in a garment bag), but this dress itself is stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 225lbs
October 4, 2016
Lots of compliments
This was my backup dress for a wedding I was attending, but ended up being the main dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
October 8, 2016
Customer service and their knowledge!
First ordered the 8P and 10P. Thinking I'm Short. Well both too small. My bust was too big 36DD. Customer service then sent me the 12P and then the 10R. 12P too small. 10R still little tight in bust. To my knowledge I didn't know there was a built boning or bra. Took off my bra and it fit like a glove! I danced and was comfortable in it all night! So many compliments!
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2016
I was comfortable and felt beautiful
Very conservative for a wedding I did not outshine the bride
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2016
Fit like a glove
Dress was very comfortable. The boning in the dress stuck out a bit in the top but it was a very flattering dress. It was a bit long but I am short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2016
So flattering
My husband picked out this dress! It's my favorite RTR dress to date. I normally wear between a 10-12 and found the fit to be a little small. The reviews were helpful so I went with size 14 as my backup and it was a great fit. Of note, the wires from the boning on the back of the dress came out of the lining and poked me, but that was fixed with band aids. Overall a great dress for a formal occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WP
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
October 27, 2016
Loveddddd
Dress for like a T. I wish the long was available! Compliments all night!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2016
Great dress!
This dress is gorgeous! I said it looked like something a Kardashian would wear when I got it. I wear either a 4 or 6, and I would have definitely liked a 4 better. The 6 was a little big. The dress stretches a bit, so it would be forgiving of going down a size. I loved this dress on me. It looked so elegant.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 44
October 30, 2016
Does not fit chest!!
This dress was shipped to me as a backup to the backup after RTR screwed up my original order. I was hopeful it would work. The fabric is heavy, and well made. It fit my waist and hips so well, I could have easily worn the 10. But the chest!! I don't know what kind of pattern they used for cutting this, but the chest came nowhere near zipping. Suddenly my chest was completely flattened and a good 2" of open zipper in the back. The top was HORRIBLE!! So sad, because it looked great on the rest of my body. I dont even know if a 14 would have fit my 36C bust, and I normally wear an 8/10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 30, 2016
Classy head turner
Loved this dress. Fit was perfect. Many say it's. It long enough but I was fine since I wear low heals.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
October 31, 2016
Not so typical "long black dress"
This dress was perfect for a formal evening wedding! Very comfortable and flattering. Some reviews mention uncomfortable boning but if you go up a size this should not be an issue at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 2, 2016
Elegant dress
Wore this for an awards dinner. It's comfortable and has a built in corset type bra which is great so you don't have to think about a strapless bra, it fit nicely and has a nice short tail in the back. The rouching is a nice touch and it's just overall a comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 235lbs
November 6, 2016
I looked amazing, but never made it to my event
Unfortunately, I got sick on my way out the door and wound up staying home. Still, the dress was gorgeous- simple, refined, and flattering - and it was really comfortable. But no pictures since I never made it to the gala.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
November 8, 2016
Great dress-even at 7 months pregnant!
I wore this dress to a formal event, and it was perfect. I usually wear a size 14/16, and I was concerned about finding flattering formal attire at 7 months pregnant. After reading the reviews, I ordered the 18WL and 20WL, and I wore the 18WL. The dress was comfortable for my growing belly. I am tall, 5'11" so the long dress was a necessity-plus, I did not want to wear heels, and I did not have to with this dress. You will need help zipping this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 8, 2016
Very Classy!
I wore this dress for a formal affair. The bodice fit well, but the arms were a little tight. Overall it was a great pick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
22WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 215lbs
November 20, 2016
Bombshell
Went with the bigger size only because I'm not usually one to wear formed fitting dress. My go to is fit-and-flare. I embraced my curves and went for it. I had SO many compliments! I was comfortable with the fabric that has a stretch to it. I would definitely rent again in the future if it is available. My husband was sad to learn that I do not own this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2016
This dress was perfect!
I loved this dress! I ordered a 4L and 6L as back up (I'm 5'8 and wanted to wear heels) but they sent me a 6R by mistake... glad they did though as it fit perfectly! I got so many compliments and felt like a million bucks! I would 100% recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering style & cut
True to size but I would order the regular instead of the L if it were available when I rented this - I'm 5'6 and wore stiletto heels and this was still too long. Comfortable and flattering and I received many compliments. The style is great as it provides enough coverage to be conservative but not stiff while still fun & sexy.
Size worn:
22WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
December 7, 2016
The way my husband kept looking at me throughout the night.
The dress runs a little small, I usually fit into a 20 but had to use my backup size for this dress. However, I do love the dress immensely. I had a baby a few months ago and I still have the baby tummy to prove it. But with the dress, you could hardly tell. I felt gorgeous in this one! If you want something classy & classic, go with this one! You can match just about any color with it and it screams "fabulous" without being over-the-top. I didn't wear a bra with it, and it didn't show at all. My face looks a little weird because sun was in my eyes, lol.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 7, 2016
Perfect Dress!!
I ordered an 8R & 10R because I didn't know how the fabric was. I ended up wearing the 8R. The fabric has some stretch to it. I wasn't wearing my 3 1/2 inch heels in the pic. With them on you could somewhat see the front of my shoes. It was still long. It has boning around the bust. I still wore a strapless bra for my own piece of mind. I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 9, 2016
Classic and comfy
Classic look, perfect for work event. Not too revealing. The thick jersey is very comfortable, but the incredible stretch meant I wore the smaller size and could possibly have gone down another size to have a more curve-hugging fit. Great for hourglass/pear shapes! This dress does have a slight train, which surprised me. I'm quite tall and my shoes were visible in front, but dress still dragged the floor in back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 11, 2016
Great dress! Comfortable yet stylish. Wore it to a black tie affair and it was perfect.
Fit a little big but overall show off your curves. The dress was comfortable and did not feel heavy. I ordered the petite and the length was perfect with 3.5 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WP
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 15, 2016
So flattering and comfortable
This is the ultimate "go to" black dress. I want to run out and buy this one so I would always have the perfect black dress to wear. The material is so comfortable didn't require any specific undergarments. You could easily dress it up or down by changing up the jewelry and shoes. This one was definitely hard to send back.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×