Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Belle of the Ball Gown

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Shown here with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff and WGACA Vintage Vintage Chanel's Quilted Shield Earrings.

Also available in navy and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
637 reviews
Fit
Large68
True to Size427
Small83
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
June 12, 2015
This dress was stunning. Amazing fit, received many compliments.
The size 6R fit great, so comfortable. The back dragged just the right amount. The back up size 4 was fine as well, just a little snug in the arms, so I went with the 6. I wore this to a black tie and it was absolutely perfect. Love RTR, they make it so easy to look great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
June 9, 2015
The service was impeccable
When I first ordered this dress I got what I thought was my size which is usually an 8R but it was way too big so no need to try the 10R. I'm only 5'4, curvy athletic build but a 34 DD. I called and they overnighted the dress expeditiously. It arrived the next morning . The 6R fit perfect on the body but a bit snug around the boobs. All in all a great dress for a formal event. Received many compliments. Danced all night in it while holding the train but I didn't mind.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2015
Beautiful classic dress
I really enjoyed how classic this dress was. I wore it to an affair abroad where I didn't know what other women would be wearing so I felt very comfortable with the style of it when heading out for the night. I wore it with VERY high heels (~6 inches) and it was still a little long for me, I was nervous on stairs. Definitely still necessary to wear spanx with. The scrunching around the bodice and chest was a little strange and I fixed it a few times in the bathroom. But overall, I felt super pretty and confident! Wore it with simple dangly earrings and classic black pumps.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2015
Thi was a black tie event and the dress was fun and perfect fit.
I liked the rushing on the sides and the small train was fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
June 1, 2015
Comfortable and Classy Dress
The dress was beautiful. It might run slightly small. I can usually wear a 2 or 4 and I wore a 6 in this dress (but I just had a baby so that could be why!). It was a gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 183lbs
May 31, 2015
This dress is one of those timeless, classic dresses sure to play up your natural beauty.
I am 5'11" and the long was still not quite long enough. ... The bust was tight. The 12 wouldn't even zip up. I wear a 36D and had to wear a minimizing bra to zip up the 14. ... The boning in the bodice keeps it from looking too casual and their is "sticky" lining around the top to keep the dress from slipping down. .... The arms fit fine and the rest of the dress was very comfortable!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
May 27, 2015
I needed a dress for a wedding last minute because I hated what I had. This dressed was amazing!
This dress fit like a glove! I wore the size 0R. It was everything I thought it would be. The length was a little too long in the back but wasn't a big deal. Everyone said it looked great on me, I will definitely use rent the runway for another event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2015
Very elegant!
Fits very snug and great for us smaller chested women who don't always get to wear strapless. Received tons of compliments. Boning adds structure to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 11, 2015
Beautiful fit.
I'm 5'3 and the length was perfect with heels. The only thing that bothered me were the the sleeves would need to be adjusted frequently. Not a big deal though
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
May 10, 2015
I attended a formal charity event and received so many compliments on this dress! Thank you.
Fit wonderful!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 2, 2015
Was a back-up dress; just loved the other one more.
It fit nicely on top and through the stomach - fitted, but stretchy and comfortable. It also stays in place well. The lower part of the dress was quite flowy - (too much for my taste) - felt like I was wearing a nightgown. Which some people may love - I just need something a bit more formal and fitted. But had I not loved my first choice dress, this would have done fine.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2015
Very fancy wedding and the dress was a perfect fit!
Dress was true to size and height. Perfect fit.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2015
I felt comfortable in the gown all night. Received several compliments:)! Excited to rent again.
Very fitted, especially around the arms.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2015
so many compliments and so comfortable
glad I didn't get the short. I like my heels high and this was perfect.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2015
The dress fit perfectly. So comfortable and very flattering. :)
Fits snuggly to your body, shows your curves and is a very comfortable stretchy fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 26, 2015
This dress is truly stunning. It shows off figure without emphasizing problem areas. Stunning!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 4 showed my curves a little more so I went with that. It feels amazing on and the neckline is am truly stunning. I absolutely loved this dress. I'm 5'10 and wore 5" heels and he dress was just shy of floor length so don't get a Long unless you are tall and planning on wearing heels. Wore a standard strapless bra which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
April 25, 2015
So beautiful! And easy to do!
Wore to a military Ball and jaws were dropping! Beautiful dress the 6L back up size I got fit perfectly! I'm 5'8'' 141lbs and small chest. this dress was amazing! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2015
The process from start to finish was so easy and the dress I rented was so perfect!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I ordered the 2R and 4R as my backup. The 2R for perfect! When I took the dress out of the bag it was heavy to hold but once I had it on it was so light and super easy to walk in. The back bottom of the dress has a very small train but it wasn't in the way at all. I just picked it up to carry when I was outside so it wouldn't get dirty. The only thing that was a little uncomfortable was the top. Because I have a small bust the top of the dress had a vertical wire to help fill the top out. But for me when you were up close (at least I could tell) you could see the wire because it went below were it should normally be because I have a small bust. But the wire was flexible so I was able to bend it so it fit comfortably. Over all this was my favorite dress I have ever worn to a weeding and I got tons of compliments and I was so comfortable!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 23, 2015
This dress fit well and was very comfortable for the evening!
The fit was true to size. It fits well around the bust; not loose or falling. No need to worry about fighting your dress all evening! I am 5'6" and ordered a regular length. It was a bit short for my liking in the front. Other than that, great dress for a formal affair!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2015
Beautiful dress with amazing fit. I am 5'8" and this dress with 4 inch heels was perfect.
Pay attention to the length and adjust accordingly. Great for tummy coverage as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2015
Fit well in general, the sleeves were a bit droopy on the sides though
Im 5'7" and the length was perfect but I was actually in flats because of a foot injury. Any taller and I would have definitely needed the long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 20, 2015
Classy dress. Made me feel very beautiful. Got lots of compliments.
Curve hugging dress, floor length
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 18, 2015
Zero stress! Excellent service, quality of garment!
Zero stress! Beautiful dress and fit. Options provided should 1st size not fit. Effortless. Ease of app and return. Expectations completely and thoroughly managed. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2015
Simple & Classy...
The fit was perfect. I'm 5'4 and wore 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The fabric falls nicely and I love the fact that I didn't have to bother with wearing a bra with this gown. My friends said that I didn't look like I just had my 3rd baby so I will say that the fit is very flattering. If you want to arrive to an event with a classic look - I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2015
The dress was nice and tight, so it was slimming. Definitely warm, though! It's thick.
I'm 5"7 and had less than 2inch heels and I definitely needed the long.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 16, 2015
Awesome dress! You can dress it up or dress it down....
I had to wear the 4 because the 6 was too large at the top, the 4 ended up being longer though so it was better for me. I wore 4" heels and it was perfect. The boning was a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out and looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 14, 2015
Great wedding
The fit was good, and I got lots of compliments. However, the dress had clearly been worn a number of times, and the clasp on top of the zipper had clearly fallen off at some point.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 174lbs
April 13, 2015
Tight, short, but pretty
I normally wear a 12, and so I ordered a 12, and a 14 as my backup size. The sizing description says to order a Regular length if you're under 5'6" so I did. (I'm 5'4") Big mistake. When I tried on the dress, it was mid calf., and both sizes would not zip all the way. Of course I panicked being that my event was in two days, and called customer service. The size up was booked, and most of the formal dresses only go up to a 12. Although it took over two hours of calling back, speaking to a different agents and having to explain my situation, I was able to pick another three dresses to ship overnight. All three fit! Both size 12 dresses zipped, so I guess the Belle of the Ball ran really small. Overall, although it was a little stressful, I will be renting again in hopes that it was just that one dress that the sizing was really off. I gave two stars because the dress would have been really pretty if it fit.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 12, 2015
This dress was beautiful and the material has enough stretch so you can dance.
Overall I loved the dress but I did have some problems. I initially ordered both the 12 and the 14 and when I tried on the 14 I thought I had the wrong dress. It hit my ankles and wasn't close to zipping. I hesitantly decided to try the 12 and it fit perfectly. So I got lucky because there's something wrong with the 14. The dress is beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. I wish I could keep it because it's perfect for a black tie event. The length was great too. I'm 5'4" and could walk barefoot and it just skimmed the ground so I could have worn flats or heels. I definitely recommend this for hourglass figures and if you have a larger bust or wider shoulders definitely order two sizes!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 8, 2015
This dress was perfect for a wedding in mid March.
This dress fit very true to size and was very complimenting. You could wear this to a very formal event or even dress it down a bit. The material was very comfortable as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
April 8, 2015
Absolutely stunning!
I loved the sleeves and the fit - it was perfect for a charity auction I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 5, 2015
Loved!!
This dress felt amazing! Old school glam and just enough stretch to fit my waist and hips. The length was great for my 5" heels. No issues at all with the top slipping either, very comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Ended up not wearing it
Very boring dress
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
April 2, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit. Short
I ordered the 8L, I am 5'8 and was actually borderline too short. Otherwise fit well and was very comfortable
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 30, 2015
Looked great at my fiance's company Christmas party!
Fit perfectly, fabric was heavy which was great for the cool weather, stayed in place all night long
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2015
It's very classy and show just the right amount of skin.
One gripe would be the sleeves. It's been stretched out a bit. Nevertheless, the dress is gorgeous. I'll guarantee you'll like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
Read all the reviews. Very pretty dress, but runs small.
I ordered this dress in 4R and the back-up in 6R and both were too short and ran small. I could have worn the 6R, but was too short. I am 5'6" and 125 lb, which is right between the Regular and Long sizes. The 6L would have been perfect. A very pretty dress, I will rent again in the right size.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a black-tie charity gala, and it was perfect.
This dress was not my typical style but was perfect for me, a few months post-partum when I'm self-conscious about those last few pounds. The off-shoulder sleeves showed off the collarbone but covered my upper arms and the ruching on the bodice was extremely forgiving. It was a curvy silhouette in the best way possible. My only complaint is that the wires in the bodice literally cut into my ribcage, which was uncomfortable and left a nasty mark.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
Wore this dress as a bridesmaid in my friend's black tie wedding.
Very flattering, very comfortable, received numerous compliments. Biggest drawback is that it's a hard to lift your arms above your head. The 4 came with a built in bra, the 6 did not.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 20, 2015
The dress went well with my jewelry.
It fit true to size, was just an inch or so too long with my heels. Would have been perfect if I wore higher heels.
See more reviews:
3 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×