Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$60 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
1005 reviews
Fit
Large
(81)
True to Size
(585)
Small
(146)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
December 13, 2015
Elegant dress with WOW factor!
I wore this dress to my husband's black-tie Christmas party & it was a show-stopper! Conservative enough for a work event, but the neckline makes it super sexy. Fits true to size: I wore the 6L, and I'm sooo glad I got the long - I'm 5"8, and could just see my 3 inch heels. The regular would have been way too short. Best of all, this dress is really comfy! I wore a strapless bra (I'm a 32D), and I felt 'held in' in all the right places all night. Def recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 35
December 15, 2015
Elegant and more beautiful in person than in pictures !
A heavy dress but worth carrying around :) I received so many compliments. It is the perfect combination of sexy and elegant
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Party
December 17, 2015
I had soooo many compliments. My FB post had more likes and comments than any post I have ever had.
The party was wonderful. The dress stayed in place and was comfortable. I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2016
Loved it and very flattering!!!
Great fit and great fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2016
Not flattering for my petite frame
I rented this because I was 21 weeks pregnant for a formal affair, and several people had noted that it was bump-friendly. The stretchy material certainly allowed comfortable room for my bump, but it just wasn't flattering on my petite frame. I didn't think the arms were restricting as others had noted. It fit well in 6R ( I'm typically a 4 or 6 in RTR gowns pre-preggo, and the 6R fit well at 21 weeks and 6 pounds above pre-preggo weight). There was just too much fabric to be flattering on me. Luckily, another RTR gown made me feel beautiful! Consider the Nicole Miller "such a nockout" gown if you're expecting but don't have a huge bump yet
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
January 6, 2016
Great customer service.
It's very comfortable to wear. I just had a baby and wasn't sure about size. Ordered the 8L and 10L. I didn't need the long. I wore it because it was what I ordered but could've used the regular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2016
The dress was elegant and classic. I wore this to a New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect!
I broke my leg and had a cast, I was trying to hide it as well as all the weight I had gained from not working out. The roushing made it so flattering and comfortable! I could hide my cast and my trouble spots. I felt elegant and glamorous. I have a large chest and it still fit. The arms were weird only when zipping it up, after that it was great! Note that petite sizes you need to get the size up for normal size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 31, 2016
An elegant look; a comfortable fit!
This dress was the elegant, simplistic look I craved from a long black gown. It was comfortable and fit true to size. I wore it for a black tie winter wedding and the compliments flowed like the champagne all night. Would highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2016
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and it was awesome! Will definitely use it again!
Loved the dress! The material was incredibly comfortable, and I was able to dance the night away with no issues! My chest is on the small side, so no bra was needed (huge plus!), because the dress had built in wire... I was a collegiate gymnast, so I'm 5'3, 120, and usually wear a 0 in everything... I have a small waist, but I also have a butt and muscular thighs, so I'm always leery to order anything online... Because of this, I read all of the reviews for girls around my size, and wanted to go with the 0, but it wasn't available. A lot of the reviews said that if you normally wear a 0, you might want to size up to a 2P. I ended up getting the 0P with the intentions of wearing the 2P, but I'm glad I did, because the 2P would have been WAY too big! The 0P was plentyyy long for my 5'3 frame... So much so that I could wear my 3" heels with it! If you're on the fence about this dress, get it! It's classy, comfy, and fits great! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2016
This dress was very flattering and fit well.
Pros: flattering, classy, easy to wear, and not too long. Cons: the boning isn't super comfortable, arm range of motion is limited. I wore the 8R but ordered the 10R as a backup size. The 10 was too big, but actually appeared a little shorter than the 8. I wore this with 4 in heels and the dress was the perfect length for me at 5'6".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
February 17, 2016
Great dress if you're prepared to be a little uncomfortable
I am very happy I rented this particular gown for the Grammys this year. I received many compliments and I think the photos looked great. I do suggest ordering a size up, as this dress does run small. Also, I'm 5'5" and could not wear heels in the regular length so if you want to wear heels, I suggest ordering it long. A few other comments: The boning in the midsection is really uncomfortable. In fact, it left bruises under my boobs. You'll need a strapless. And the zipper does stick. These negatives aside, this is a great option for ladies that are relatively modest but want to feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
Great customer service. This was my second dress and so glad I got it as the other dress was so bad!
Dress runs a little legs, but is very comfortable. I was worried about the sleeves but they are very flattering and don't fall down. The dress feels good on-slinky and soft.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 1, 2016
This wasn't the right dress for me
I loved the back of this dress - my butt looked amazing but the front of the dress didn't work for me. I need a v-front or sweetheart neckline. I sent it back.
Size worn:
16WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 250lbs
January 6, 2016
It was awesome to rent a dress and it get here on time with no worries fast and easy service.
The dress for amazing, had a little trouble with the zipper it once on I felt amazing and got tons of complements and questions of where o got my dress from! Will definitely use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WR
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Apple
December 12, 2015
Felt very elegant and stylish.
The fit is small. I ordered the 18 and I'm typically between a 16 and 18 and it was too tight! Thankfully I had a back up size. The wire around the bust occasionally bothered me but it wasn't too bad. The zipper is very difficult to work. Not just when you're wearing it but just trying to slide the zipper up-and-down on the hanger is tough. Be ready
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
December 9, 2015
Customer service wasn't great
I read to get this dress 2 sizes up and I was swimming in it. If getting a bigger size, try just one perhaps. Also, I'm 5'11 and the long was definitely too short to wear with any heel. I had to return. Otherwise it's not a bad dress, it is pretty. The neckline kind of makes your shoulders look broad though.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 179lbs
December 1, 2015
Love this dress!!
Totally loved this dress. The fit was perfect. I received so many complements as well. My husband and I love to dance and I was a little worried I'd have problems twirling around the dance floor do to the length but we didn't. I would rent this dress again.
RTR CustomerOctober 13, 2016
what size did you get?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 23, 2015
I felt beautiful. My bat wings fit in the sleeves! Had compliments all night!!!!
The reviews are correct do prefer the next size up but this dress was so comfortable. It is long so if you like your heels do order the long instead of the regular. The train adds a bit of Hollywood!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 21, 2016
This was the perfect dress for a formal benefit gala in St. Louis in September. Loved the fit .
This is an elegant dress. Very form fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 29, 2016
Arrived on time and was very easy to do!
The fit was perfect! Gots lots of compliments with this one. My only advice is when in doubt, go with the long. Both of my sizes fit because the material is forgiving but I went a size up for the extra length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2016
I wanted this to fit so badly!
Oh, I wanted this dress to work! It was perfect for a formal/semi-formal event in Colorado in the wintertime. I read all the reviews and I saw that other full busted women had worn it, so I went for it. Ordered 8L and 10L--got an email two days before that the 10L would not be available so could I please select another style--no cost restriction. I still wanted this dress--and I was on the border of regular/long anyways, as I'm 5'7"--so I asked for the 10R. The dresses arrived, and NOPE. Couldn't even get the 8 zipped, it was smashing my chest so badly, plus my arms wouldn't fit in the sleeves! Put on the 10, and it was even worse! As it turns out, they'd sent a 6 by mistake so I was stuck with no dresses. BIG shoutout to RTR, though. After talking with Customer Service, I was overnight shipped two more dress styles at no cost , along with new jewelry in case my current selections didn't work with the new gowns. Love this company! Long story short--gave 3 stars b/c I love the look of the gown and it seemed to be in good shape & well constructed. But if you're busty (I'm actually 36 DD ) I'd avoid this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 11, 2016
Comfortable and classic
This dress was perfect and classy. I felt so great. Wonderful for hiding large arms and armpit blob ;) Size is up is best for a perfect hang.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 47
April 24, 2016
Everything about this dress I love! It made me feel glamorous & I received many compliments.
It is perfect for ladies with curves! I couldn't believe how well it fit me. It has stretchy fabric that hugs your body in all the right places. You can't go wrong with this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
April 26, 2016
Classic and sexy- what more could a girl want?
Glad I read the reviews on this dress- I ordered the long at 5'7" and it was the perfect length. Because of the short train and forgiving fabric I could've pulled off a short heel but ended up wearing 4" ones. I debated for awhile between this dress and another I rented in lace. I'm so happy I chose this one. No one else had anything like it. I got compliments all night and it was very comfortable to wear. It was also a church wedding- so it was easy to just throw on a wrap at the church to feel covered enough. I ordered both the 6l and 8l and ended up wearing the 6l.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 30, 2016
Classic, elegant, and comfortable!
I rented this dress as a back up for my birthday - I fell madly in love as soon as I put it on. It is so flattering and formal, but I never felt uncomfortable during a long night out with my fam. I am both busty and hippy, and this dress fit like a dream - and the front details detract from any tummy issues you may have. I did wear a pretty stiff corset underneath to ensure smooth lines as well, but I doubt it was actually necessary. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 145lbs
December 7, 2014
Everyone loved it! Great quality, classic look.
This was my first rental and it was a great experience! I wore it to a formal evening wedding. The 8 was a little tight across the shoulders and the 10 was loose in the waist. I just went with the 10 for overall comfort. The dress has a built-in bra shell but if you are bigger than a B, wear a strapless bra also. The dress has a little train which looks great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 10, 2015
Felt like a million bucks!
I ordered a 2L and a 4L in this dress. I ended up using the 4L because the length worked better for me and it felt more comfortable. This is a very easy dress to wear and could be worn by all body types. Loved it!! Thanks RTR for making it possible for me to get this dress for a last minute formal event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2015
The dress was amazing! Received lots of compliments on it! Made me feel great!
When I ordered the dress, I thought i got 2 sizes. One as the back up. To my surprise only 1 dress came and it was the day before the event! And size 2 R was not a good fit; very tight. But I called Customer service and they were great! The size 4R arrived the very next day. The dress itself was amazing. Good fit and it hugged me in the right places. Received lots of great compliments on it! Will use RTR again soon!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 194lbs
February 15, 2015
Loved the mystery bling they chose for me
Loved this dress and it was very comfortable to wear. I probably would have preferred the long because my shoes showed a little too much. It fit great, but due to my large breast size 34dd they felt a little squished and I had to wear a strapless bra. But I'm sure I was the only one who noticed that. Dress was beautiful and classy and showed off my curves!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 16, 2015
I loved this dress
This dress truly is glamorous. I wore to my husbands Marine Corp Ball. It was the only one of its kind unlike the other ladies who shopped department stores wearing the same dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
March 14, 2015
So. Many. Compliments.
I got compliments ALL NIGHT LONG! Loved this dress. Loved the way I felt in it! After losing weight, I thought the description "true to size" would mean I would fit the 10p. But, I have a large bust, even after having a breast reduction, so I needed a little more room for the girls. I'm 5'2" and the petite length was perfect! Loved loved loved this gown, and so did everyone else!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
April 26, 2015
This dress is truly stunning. It shows off figure without emphasizing problem areas. Stunning!
I could have worn the 4 or 6 but the 4 showed my curves a little more so I went with that. It feels amazing on and the neckline is am truly stunning. I absolutely loved this dress. I'm 5'10 and wore 5" heels and he dress was just shy of floor length so don't get a Long unless you are tall and planning on wearing heels. Wore a standard strapless bra which was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 26, 2015
The dress fit perfectly. So comfortable and very flattering. :)
Fits snuggly to your body, shows your curves and is a very comfortable stretchy fabric.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
August 11, 2015
The dress was a great fit and everyone loved it!!
Im 5"8 and higher heels on so i would of gotten the long even if i didn't have the higher heels on. But the only thing that i didn't like was the dress wasn't very clean left white residue marks if anything touched it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 20, 2015
Perfect fit and worry free
I rented this for a military ball and I was nervous since it's hard to find anything that fits the way I like. It fit perfectly and I didn't have to worry about the top falling down or the arms riding up, it all stayed in place. I wore the backup size 10R because I was more comfortable. The 8 fit fine but was a little tighter across the chest. Perfect dress for any formal affair and I will definitely be renting from RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 9, 2015
Amazing fit! Very deceiving as it looks somewhat plain but is a show stopper on! Tons of compliments
Fits like a glove! Accentuated all the right areas. I felt so elegant and received a ton of compliments all evening long. Wish I could have kept it!! But tons of ladies will be on RTR now because they loved the simplicity and elegance of the dress and the concept behind RTR as well as the affordability!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2015
Great!
The material was very comfortable and accommodating! It was a little heavier than expected, but hardly noticed it. It was beautiful and PERFECT for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2016
This is a beautiful dress that is easy to wear. It was very flattering.
I felt the sizing was accurate and the fabric travels well. It has a small train that makes the dress more dramatic but it did not get in the way or make it difficult to move around in
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16WR
Rented for:
Wedding
June 16, 2015
So many compliments
My only problem with the dress is that it was too tight for comfort. I should have ordered two sizes up. Could be because I have very wide shoulders, but I was barely able to zip it up. I didn't exchange because I was only going to wear it for a few hours and I figured I'd suck it up (literally!). The ruching was wonderful for hiding imperfections. Length was perfect for my height.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2016
Annual Awards Dinner
I was really worried about finding a dress to fit for my annual work sales dinner. I was feeling fat and like nothing fit. This dress with the rouching and pleats hid all of insecurities and made me comfortable for the entire night. It's a great dress for a formal event when you want to hide a few things ;)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×