Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
925 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(552)
Small
(132)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 9, 2012
Amazing, flattering dress!
"Wow, what a gorgeous dress!".... Heard it all night! Seeing this dress on the hanger, I was a little concerned, but once I zipped it up - I was thrilled. The off the shoulder neckline, 3/4 sleeves and beautiful runching make for the aboslute perfect combination. The length was perfect - the small train in the back makes it very versatile for all heights.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 10, 2012
It was just amazing! True to fit. Can't wait to rent another dress!
Runs a little long, but still was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
December 11, 2012
Quality material, well made.
I ordered the dress for my Mother for my black-tie wedding. Since she is so petite (5'0" and typically wears a childrens size 12-14) I prayed that the zero would fit her. It was perfect. She looked stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
So many people stopped me and told me I looked beautiful and classy!
I am about 6ft tall with a curvy frame. Ordered the dress in a 12L and it fit perfect! The length was just what I needed and I was able to wear it with 3 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor. Definitely will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 26, 2012
Loved it!
Received many compliments. The dress was quite lovely. It fits the body like a glove. Elegant yet comfortable. Equally nice for dancing, and sitting down.
AmyDecember 17, 2013
How high was your heel? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and elegant! I danced the entire evening because I was so comfortable.
I thought I would go up a size to make sure my chest was not squeezed or overexposed, but they did not have the 14L available for those days so I ordered a 16L. The dress did fit big, but still looked beautiful on. If you're looking for a snug fit in the waist I suggest sticking with your true size. It also has a built in bustier that should fit snuggly so you don't have to fidget with it all night. Other than that...I was totally comfortable enough to dance all night, and everyone kept complimenting how amazing I looked in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
December 28, 2012
Though it said it was a size 16 it would not even go on. I had to get another dress last minute.
Did not fit way too small
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 149lbs
December 28, 2012
Great fitting dress!
I didn't have to worry about anything slipping down. The gown had enough support that i didn't need a bra. It had a bit of a train in the back, and in a very crowded room it got stepped a few times. The rental process was seamless! I got my dress two days before the event, glad I had two sizes to try, 8L and 6L, the 8 was too loose and the 6 fit like a glove! My husband couldn't keep his hands off me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 30, 2012
Dramatic and Lovely!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I felt like a princess. The (L) made it long enough for my tall stature. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress still grazed the ground. Also the dress was stretch so you didn't feel constricted. Rent a statement necklace like I did in order to accentuate your neckline. I have a large bust so it was nice to conceal it and draw attention to my shoulders. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2013
This dress was amazing. It was super sexy while still being really tasteful and classy.
I usually wear a 6, but RTR only had the 8L left and I wanted to give the dress a try. Since it's pretty stretchy, the fact that it was a little roomier wasn't a problem, and it's structured enough on top that it stayed up just fine. The only complaint was the small train in the back - didn't like having to gather my skirt when i walked. But it was totally worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 28, 2013
Great comfortable sexy dress, tons of compliments. Crystal chandlier earings/ bangle set.
Stretchy and form fitting, but very comfortable. Long so wear high heels. Perfect for formal wedding. I should have asked for a smaller size. Top was a little big for me but I am not busty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
February 3, 2013
The dress has a beautiful train and nice fit! <3 it
The dress has a beautiful train and nice fit! <3 it
CharleyFebruary 15, 2013
Gorgeous! Which necklace is that?
RTR CustomerFebruary 15, 2013
Hi Charley! Raizel is wearing the Entrancing Emerald Necklace by Badgley Mischka!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
This dress is TIMELESS! It was perfect for my awards ceremony!
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I love timeless, elegant pieces and this surely fit the bill. The only issue I had with the dress was that the Long was TOO LONG and the Regular was TOO SHORT. I wear super duper high heals but even then the long was dragging way too much. I went with the short and didn't feel entirely comfortable. Other than that, I received many compliments and felt beautiful!
elissaMarch 28, 2013
OMG Kristy, you look stunning... I'm considering this for a black tie wedding I have late April, what do you think?
elissaMarch 28, 2013
IT's Elissa Toledo by the way... lol
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 4, 2013
Really cute dress but need right bra
My breasts are really big and I was unable to wear due to the type of bra I have, really cute on just had wrong undergarment.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 11, 2013
Great Dress!Very Long.
Dress fit great however was very long! I tried on the 6R orginally, however, that was far too short. I am 5 7' and it came to my ankles. All in all it was a great dress though and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2013
Picture perfect moment!
Stretchy, almost like spandex, so as long as you're close to your dress size, it should fit, no problems. Wore this for family pictures. It was the perfect dress/fabric for a new mom of 5 months with pounds to still lose.
NormajeanMay 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this review! I am 4 months pregnant and about the same size as you but an inch shorter. How did the length work out for you? Was it too long or did you have to get super high heels?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 24, 2013
Great dress but worn too many times...
It had a tear in the gown in the back and had been worn a few too many times. Great look but was more of pain than it was worth. Rented the 4L, should have gone for the 2L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this dress to a gala at the Waldorf Astoria and it was simple yet classy. I'm very pleased : )
I normally wear a size 8 but the looseness of the dress gave it a frumpy look. The 6 was snug but breathable and held everything in nicely. There didn't seem to be much of a train on the 6R or 8R.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 6, 2013
Fine, but Not Great
First of all, as always the Rent the Runway customer service was great. The dress came on time and was in perfect condition. Unfortunately, though, this was my least favorite rental I've had from RTR. The dress is very mature, and while I can see it being lovely on someone 50+, it wasn't great for someone my age. Also, despite wearing 4 inch heels I still had to pick it up and carry the train whenever I walked, which was annoying. I have a very small bust, so perhaps that's why this dress felt like it ran large. I'm in between a 2 and a 4 for a dress size these days, and the 2 had room to spare. Plus, the dress was heavier on the bottom, so with the neckline I had to keep hoisting it up. Overall, it was fine, but it's a pretty boring dress, not fun or interesting at all.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 6, 2013
Super flattering dress that made me feel awesome
I love, love, love this dress! It was so classy and made me feel great at a black tie ball. It's very forgiving with the ruching and although its very form fitting, it managed to hide my tummy which is always a problem for me. I wear 10-12 in most clothes (although this winter it's been on the upper end of 12, sadly) but always wear a 8 or 10 in dresses because I'm smaller up top and larger sizes just don't work for my top half. I read almost all the reviews and quite a few said it stretched or that they could have worn a smaller size so I ordered both the 8 and 10. The 8 was impossible, and the 10 was pretty tight when I got it the night before the event. I was worried I'd pop out of it, so off I went in search of industrial strength Spanx - in black, just in case of any problems. Those things are magic - once I got into the dress and got everything adjusted I felt great, and not worried about wardrobe malfunctions. Yes, it was tight, but not so much that I couldn't move, sit or breathe normally. In fact, if I would have gotten a larger size I think I would have been hiking it up all night and looked sloppy as the night went on. I wore the 10L and it was NOT too long; I wore 3" heels and could not have gone any higher without the dress looking way short. The train wasn't an issue at all either; it just helped it hang nicely and pool a little on the floor. I have to say I'm more than happy with the whole experience - I got a fabulous dress and bag for far less than I would have paid to own something of far lesser quality that would end up hanging in my closet because I wouldn't want to wear it again. I'll be using Rent the Runway again when I need a statement or special occasion dress. Thanks!
ChrissieFebruary 26, 2014
wow, it looks great on you! I am looking at all of the pix trying to find someone who wore it close to may size, I think you are it!! I am 5'7" and about 165 now, but am losing some weight before the April event. So you think the 10L is the right size? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
March 9, 2013
The dress is gorgeous and sexy without revealing too much.
I rented size 12 with size 10 as my backup. The 10 actually fit better from the waist down, but was stretched out from previous bustier renters! I opted to wear the 12 instead since it was tighter through the chest and wouldn't be slipping down all night. The 12 didn't have the train like the 10, not sure if it had been damaged in the past and had to be repaired. Nevertheless, it was beautiful, fit great, and I got lots of compliments. Was a great rental and I would definitely rent this gown again.
emmApril 14, 2013
I almost think there is an issue with the size 12..or maybe we both got the same weirdly sized, small, short, size 12 with no train. Because I had the same issue. The 10 was bigger and longer than the 12.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 13, 2013
This gown is great! Perfect!
I received numerous compliments throughout the night, including a woman who said that she spoke to many other women and that this dress what the talk of the night!! She said if there was an award for best dress, I would have won it. It was very comfortable. I ordered the 10R instead of the 10L, but could have definitely worn the Long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 200lbs
March 15, 2013
I still get compliments on my photos on facebook, and i never get compliments on how i look anymore!
Ok, I'll just put it out there - I'm a big girl. 200 pounds. 5'7" How I got this way is beyond me, but there you have it. Mandatory family function, and in desperation i got the biggest size of this dress, knowing there was no reason to get the next smaller one! I usually wear an 18, but a 16 if I'm lucky. And boy was I lucky with this dress. I really looked marvelous for my size. the 'about you' below is not true, since i'm a 42d and usually wear 18, but had to fill it in with what they had. but it was LONG LONG LONG and i should have worn 5" heels - held it up all night with 2" heels
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 16, 2013
I loved it, dress fit perfect. It was very flattering and I got a ton of compliments
Perfect fit, but a tad bit long. I am 5'4 and would suggest getting maybe the shorter option instead of the regular. It worked out fine though, I just picked up some higher heels
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 1, 2010
I wore this dress to a wedding and felt incredibly confident! The dress fit and fell perfectly and the ruching hid my "problem" areas! It was extremely comfortable and easy to dance in! I don't usually wear a dress twice but this one I would make an exception for!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2010
excellent customer servuce
This dress is amazing! I received so many compliments!! The rouching detail hides all of your flaws. Awesome dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
November 6, 2010
I really loved this dress as did others -- I got many compliments. As for fit, I typically wear a 2 or 4 in dresses -- I went with the size 2 in this dress although I could have worn the 4 if need be. The major issue I had was the length. I'm 5' 4 1/2" and got the regular length. I put on 4" heels and felt the dress was a bit too short. I wished I had got the long and just scrunched it up, adding to the ruching if it was too long. Other than that, really a fabulous dress and very comfortable. Was sad to return it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2010
This dress was perfect since I didn't get the chance to diet down to my ideal "event" size. It camouflaged my belly. However, I should have ordered it in long, so make sure that if you plan on wearing heels and are around my height, order the long. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2010
True to size and Body of the dress fit perfectly! Gorgeous mermaid cut and very comfortable fabric. Problem is that the sleeves are not meant for people with muscular arms. Sadly enough I didn't have a chance to wear it because it wouldn't up my arms, and there was not back-up size for me to rent at the time. You would have to go a size up to ensure arms would fit and compromise with the body of the dress, but totally worth it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
January 17, 2011
This dress is even prettier in person and is very forgiving to figure flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2011
So flattering!!
Fabulous dress. First time on Runway and this was the dress that I rented. It was for a black tie wedding in DC. Incredibly flattering. The ruching is exactly where it needs to be and it stays up really well. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2011
runs about 2 sizes small. I wear an 8 really need a 12. was not available
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Body type: Petite
March 21, 2011
Really gorgeous dress, and very flattering. I wore 3 and a 1/2 inch heels, but the length did work. Very comfortable dress, too. Wore it for a black tie wedding with a black sequin wrap and some glittery silver jewelery and sandals, and got a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 23, 2011
This dress is PERFECT for those of us with a fuller bust- I am 34D and forever struggling to find dresses that flatter my top half. This dress worked perfectly for the black tie affair, and I got many compliments! It's also slimming in the tummy section. Great Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2011
I wore this dress for a concert (I am a classical singer), and it was very much just the thing. Comfortable, classy, and very forgiving (what with all the ruching and the helpful sleevelets). I took off a star because I think that at least some of the individual dresses are getting worn: the size 4 I received had been re-built on the inside of the bodice and seemed very stretched out along the seams and in the sleeves and bust. It lacked structure and oopmh. The 6 I ordered as a back-up actually fit more snugly and was what I wound up wearing. The "regular" length was fine for me... my shoes showed (3" heels), but that was fine by me. One additional fit note: I'm not a particularly busty gal (34-B), and I needed two bras to fill out the top half of this gown and keep it from being gappy. All in all, a positive first experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2011
I went with this dress because i thought it would hide my tummy, it did NOT it was awful dont go with this it really is for people who look as good as the model.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
April 26, 2011
This dress was very heavy in material and looked very plain on. I had a baby prior to the rental and every bump showed. Renter beware: be prepared to accessorize to death and be in top form or Spanx it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Full Bust
May 2, 2011
I couldn't have been more pleased with this rental! My first time renting, so I was a bit nervous, but it went off without a hitch. I really liked the off-the-shoulder sleeve look, as my upper arms are NOT my best feature! It is so flattering for a fuller figure. I am right at 5'6", so I tried the Regular and Long lengths of the same size. I thought the R was quite short for me, but the L was perfect (especially with very high heels). I really do think this is a rare dress that gives an edge to a curvier woman ... if you are very slim, I think the top and sleeves might sag and not look as nice. For me, it was just right!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2011
This was my back-up dress for a formal wedding and loved it so much that I wore it instead of my first pick. It's very comfortable, very forgiving of any "trouble areas" and quite flattering. I danced a lot and never worried about the fit or staying covered up. I received many compliments and highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2011
I ordered a 6 since I am a 6 on the bottom and a 4 on the top. (34A) I think the dress ran a little big and I could have taken the 4. Unfortunately, when I called to get the smaller size, someone had just ordered it. I used the tape to keep the top from sagging. In addition, you can easily wear lower heels with this dress. I wore 2 1/2 then went down to 1 1/2 shoes. The 1 1/2 might have been to low but I held the skirt a lot when I danced. One glitch. The zipper is really hard to get up and down. Perhaps RTR can fix this.
See more reviews:
2 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×