Badgley Mischka

Belle of the Ball Gown

$50 – $70 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the center of attention at any formal affair in this stunning Badgley Mishka gown. With an off the shoulder neckline and ruched bodice, this style is sure to flatter. Try it with Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff.

Also available in black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular THEN Long: Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller - (Regular measures 57.5" from the bodice to hem - Long measures 60" from the bodice to hem)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Product Details

Black jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
932 reviews
Fit
Large
(79)
True to Size
(555)
Small
(134)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
March 25, 2017
The dress was perfection. It truly looked beautiful on.
It was a heavy dress, amazing material.
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
.
.
Size worn:
18WP
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
March 23, 2017
Wore it to my niece's dress...absolutely perfect for a 6:00 wedding. I got many compliments!
I ordered the 16WP and the 18WP only because the straight 16 and 18 was not available. I also wanted to be able to wear flat shoes due to a recent surgery. I am always a straight 16 but I guess the dress being petite made it smaller so it took the 18P to fit. I got the most compliments on this dress. It would be well worth owning and it fits curvy women really well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 22, 2017
Felt like I owned it
I'm not a small person so was hesitant to have something so tight. The gathering his imperfections. Sleeves a little tight but was fine with that. Built in bra a major plus. Many compliments at high end black tie wedding Does run small
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
March 19, 2017
Flattering and Timeless Dress
Perfect fit and very comfortable
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 14, 2017
Perfect dress!
I rented this dress for my mother in law. She was having some confidence issues before ordering. Once she got the dress on she realized that this was the perfect dress with the perfect fit. She was satisfied with the dress I chose for her!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 13, 2017
Beautiful, elegant and would flatter any figure
I did not end up wearing this for the event because it was a little too plain and safe for Mardi Gras. However, the fit is fantastic... I felt long, lean and beautiful in this dress. It has an Angelina Jolie quality to it. I have this in my favorite and look forward to wearing it during the winter ball season.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 9, 2017
I loved how elegant the dress was, it really was stunningly beautiful.
it was such a beautiful dress and I kept getting compliments on it all night. The pro of the dress were that you could wear it without a bra, which was fantastic. The material was so nice, but once you started dancing it definitely held the heat so maybe keep this dress for the fall or winter events. The cons to the dress were that it was so long I had to keep messing with it all night so other people or I wouldn't keep stepping on it. I wore about 4 inch heels (granted I am short) but the length was part of the elegance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
March 7, 2017
Fit like a glove. I felt so glamorous all night!
Great fit, very flattering, and extremely comfortable. I'm busty (40DD), but had no problem with the dress holding me in and staying put. It was perfect!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect combo of classy and sassy!
Wore this to the Red Tie Gala perfect combo of classy and sassy. Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2017
Not as flattering on as i was expecting it to be.
I didn't end up wearing this dress and glad i rented a second one because this dress just did not look good on me. I was expecting it to be a safe choice due to the rouching, but unfortunately it just wasn't attractive on me...and i found it to be very short in length too.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
March 5, 2017
Wonderful, classy dress!
This dress was just how I hoped it would be. I was worried it would be too short based on some other reviews, but I'm 5'9'' (160lbs) and wore 4 inch heels and the dress was definitely long enough (maybe a tad too long). I loved how the dress was flattering to the mid section and the "off the shoulder" style was great. The arms stayed in place all throughout the evening (including dancing) and no bra was needed due to the inner wires. Overall, wonderful dress for a black tie optional evening. The earrings in the second picture were also rented from RTR and they were perfect for a sparkly addition.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2017
Attention Grabber
Perfect length. Flattering fit and quality fabric, but don't expect to raise your arms over your head. I wore this to a formal event for The Commodity Classic. (National Corn Growers Association event in San Antonio) I got non stop compliments all night, and would suggest this dress to anyone. Who knew a black dress could get so much attention?!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 224lbs
March 4, 2017
Beautiful dress
Received compliments all night long. Dress fit well, very comfortable, well made piece. The ruching made this very flattering even on this post-baby body.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
March 1, 2017
The dress is so well made! I've got curves, this dress showed off the right things!
Strangers stopped me to ask about my dress! Friends thought I had lost weight! Loved this dress!
Size worn:
4P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 27, 2017
Great first time experience!
This was my first time renting a dress from RTR and I was nervous. I'm 5'1 and fluctuate between size 2 and size 4 . Plus, I'm curvy. When I tried on the dress, it fitted perfectly. I received so many compliments. I am glad I purchased a 4 though because a 2 would have been very tight! Very classy dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 27, 2017
Tight around the arms. Lots of stretch in the body of the dress.
Comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 23, 2017
This dress is draped really beautifully
Pictures do not to it justice because of the color but this is a stunning dress that is beautiful - but not in an overdone way or attention grabbing. I found it perfect for my event. I'm short and even the petite was pretty long on me with 3" heels but not terrible. The neck stayed really secure thanks to all the boning in the bodice. Never once had to pull it up. And I loved the arm coverage. There was NO cleavage which made it perfect for a business event. Got tons of compliments and would wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2017
Did not wear , but fit perfect and complimented my figure . Stunning
Comfortable
Size worn:
18WR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 233lbs
February 20, 2017
Beautiful dress that compliments any body type
Got this dress for a NYE wedding. It was stunning and I felt beautiful. I normally wear a 16 but that size was not available. The 18 worked but the ruching was definitely looser since it was a wee bit big. My only complaint was the lining was starting to wear on the inside of the dress so all the boning was sticking out and poking me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
February 19, 2017
Sexy and sophisticated dress
Lots of compliments on this dress - wore to a gala. The boning in the bust area keeps the off shoulder style in place. I rented the regular height and wore flats - if u are 5'5 or taller and want to wear heels definitely go to the tall. With a body shaped I felt confident and pretty in this dress. Would rent again.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
February 10, 2017
Very classy dress, with comfort!
This dress does run small, however, I could have used an 8 (not available). The 10R was slightly loose and a bit too long for the shoes I wanted to work. It did work out with high shoes, as I didn't have any other options. It was perfect for the event and received quite a few compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2017
Lovely dress for a formal party!
This dress fit very well! The material was stretchy and ruched so there was plenty of forgiveness for any problem areas. I was worried it would be a little plain being just a black dress, but the neckline made it more interesting and glam. Doesn't photograph all that well, but looks fab in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14WR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2017
Very forgiving and flattering
I am busty and a curvy size 12 - 14. I am 5'4" I needed to wear very high heels so that I would not trip on it because the P, I was told would be too short. I think I should have gone with 14P. I received many compliments. Beware the train in the back gets stepped on by people, but I feel like amillion in it.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 53
January 26, 2017
I wore this to a formal wedding. Loved the look!
It runs somewhat small on top. Restrictive with arm movement, but very forgiving and flattering. I received many compliments. I am 5'6 and I was nervous it was going to be short, but it was just right. If you are any taller you will need a long length. This was my first time renting from Rent the Runway and I would definitely rent from them again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 45
January 26, 2017
I attended the 58th Presidential Inaugural Liberty Ball and the dress was PERFECT.
I loved this dress. This dress was elegant and refined, but really made a statement -- even amongst a sea of beautiful ballgowns. I felt very comfortable and was able to move with ease. I'd recommend this dress to anyone, regardless of size or height.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
January 22, 2017
Fun evening with girlfriends in a great dress!!!
This fit true to size, and I loved the ruching on the dress. I was initially disappointed with the length - for a tall, it barely touched the floor when I was barefoot (I'm 5'7"). After styling it with a pair of lower cute strappy heels though, I didn't mind the fact that my shoes peeked out from the dress, and it actually made it easier to walk around that evening. The dress does have a small train, so that made the shorter front more manageable, and not so noticeable. I would certainly rent this again, as it was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 22, 2017
Classy & elegant, but not the most comfortable
I'm 5'7" and wore the 2L with a pretty short heel. It was much longer than I needed, and it made it harder to dance and move around. I would recommend using the regular length of you are around 5'6-5'9 unless you have very tall heels. The dress looks beautiful but can be a bit uncomfortable, as it runs very small and was quite tight. I would recommend this dress if you are going to an event without a lot of dancing or walking around, as it does inhibit your motion
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18WR
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 21, 2017
beautiful dress...just a little short!
Loved the look...especially the train! The only thing was it was a tiny bit short for my 5'6 frame. The seams also kept turning but that had more to do with the liner. It's stunning & was perfect for inauguration events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 19, 2017
The flow of the dress and it was a great for a day time event.
The dress fit lovely and hide the problem areas. I got tones of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2017
Great dress, runs just a tad bit small.
I ended up not wearing this dress. Normally I am in between a 12-14. I couldn't zip all the way up. I got this dress in 12P for the length (which was great); however, I think a 14P would have worked better.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
January 18, 2017
I wore this to a Mardi Gras ball and it was perfect.
The dress is so simple and elegant, I loved it. The material had less stretch than I had expected, but that was good because it had a bit of a "sucking in" effect. Regular was the perfect length with my 3.5 inch heels. My only complaint is that the sleeves are small - I think my arms are larger than most women though - and with some maneuvering I was able to get them up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 116lbs
January 16, 2017
Feeling fancy!
Unfortunately, our formal event was cancelled due to weather so the only photo I have is at home (hair and makeup half done). BUT I know if the event would have gone on, I would have felt fancy and confident all night long! The dress is actually heavier than I expected, but the top has a perfect "stick" to keep the sleeves and collar sitting just right. One potential downside: I have a small chest, and my husband struggled a bit to zip up the size 0 (but I drowned in a size 2P). The length for 0P was perfect (5'3", wearing about 1.5" heels in photo, dress just skimmed the floor). For my next formal event, I'll definitely consider re-ordering this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 16, 2017
It made me look like a Model. Amazing experience
Fit perfectly, good quality dress. It hugs your body. A lot of compliments .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 16, 2017
Perfect dress for Arizona winter
Very comfortable and glamorous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
January 15, 2017
Charity ball
It was a great dress and perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
January 15, 2017
Beautiful dress for a beautiful night
Perfect fit and flattering! Loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20WP
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
January 14, 2017
All eyes were on me! Beautiful dress!
I loved wearing this dress! Ordered in petite which was a great choice so that I could show off my shoes. The dress was classy and sexy and comfortable! The fit was flattering. I would rent again. The only con was that the wires inside were a bit sticky but I was able to adjust around them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18WL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
January 13, 2017
Absolutely fit the occasion!!!
The dress fit beautifully. It had a lot of stretch and was long enough for a taller woman like me! 5'9". The boning help to create the hourglass figure plus spanx (-: I received many compliments and felt lovely. No problem with the arms not too tight. Would definitely rent again maybe with the style with the black sequins next time!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Weight: 120lbs
January 10, 2017
I wore this amazing dress for my sister's wedding on NYE - day wedding, evening party.
I'm 5"6, 120lbs and 34B. This is a tight-fitting dress with a little give in the bodice and runs a little small. Based on sizes I usually wear, I ordered 2R and 4R. I wore 4R and the dress was exactly right. I could not wear a bra under this dress size or I wouldn't have been able to zip it up. I worried I should have ordered 6R, but honestly I was comfortable all day/night long and the dress was solid enough on top so I did not worry at all about support or comfort. In order to wear undergarments of your choice, consider ordering a size up. Throughout the bodice there is a little give and it was not too tight for socializing, eating, moving around. Length: I am 5'6" and my legs are average length and I was on the borderline between R and L. The dress was long enough, but barely. I still wore a 2" heel that I had planned to wear even though I would have liked to have the dress a little longer. For me, I believe the L size would have been too long. Once I had this dress on, I felt amazing and was comfortable all day and night long. The off the shoulder top was really stunning and the sleeves covered my elbows, which I did not realize when I selected this dress but loved about it once I received it.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 24

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×