Aqua Wonder Dress

$108 to buy
$510 retail
Stylist Notes

Let this shimmery drape dress by Badgley Mischka float you away on a whimsical evening of fun.

Also available in blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - draped material conceals midsection
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aqua silk chiffon with gold sequins. One shoulder neckline. Ruffle detail at shoulder. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
152 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 31, 2013
Much shorter than it looks
I'm 5'9", and based on other reviews I'd thought it would work. It was too small and barely covered my butt at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2014
Perfect to dance in, everyone loved it. Made for great first impressions!
The dress ran true to size and was pretty comfortable. I'm about 5'8" and didn't have to worry about it being too short. I don't have much to complain about! The only con I can remember is that it rubbed under the armpit a little bit but it really wasn't that bad. I wore this dress to another school's prom, and this was the first time I'd met most of the people there. Everyone told me that this dress was their favorite; I think first impressions went well! You're definitely getting a lot out of the price for this dress, I would recommend it to anyone.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2014
a standout dress
the color was a bit more brighter than it looks which was good for my taste. it really stands out and was great for a beach wedding i attended. the fabric is very light which was also great for summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176lbs
February 8, 2014
beautiful
I wore a ten fit well sequins at the armpit not fun I was pulling it down all night but not a big deal since everyone loved it -my Rehersal dinner . I went with the more snug one because it made my bod look way better over all would rent this again the colors are amazing very very indian mermaid look .the sash in the front hides belly and arm chubs and the ruffle on the side hides any hip flaws loved it . loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Beautiful on the hanger
It is a beautiful dress, on the hanger, but on the my body type is was not pretty. The dress ran very small and left no room for someone with a chest. The dress is very rough under the arms due to sequins. It was pretty and I was sorry it wasn't right for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
March 3, 2014
EVERYONE asked me where I got this dress - a show stopper for sure !
A little irritating under the right arm, but not enough to discourage me from wearing it ! The draping is very flattering without being too tight !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Cute Dress, But Too tight on the hips
This was my backup dress and I did not end up wearing it. The dress is really pretty, loved the color and fabric; but it fit too tight around my hips and just looked bad in the front. I usually wear a size 12/10 and the 12 was just too snug.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2014
True to size for 4 and 6.
The dress fit well and was true to size in a 4. Couldn't wear the dress since the fabric had many pulls in it and many places where the sequins were missing. Also had the 6 and the quality of the 6 was fine, but the top was too large for it to work for me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 23, 2014
This dress is very pretty, but it didn't work for my body type.
This dress is a beautiful color and looks nice. It looks great on the model as well as many girls who have submitted photos. I should have listened to one review that said it doesn't work for pear shaped girls. I got a 10 and a 12. I'm usually a 10 and it was loose around my chest (38B), loose and not flattering around my midsection and form fitted around my legs. I ended up not wearing this to my school's auction event. It would recommend it if you are "C" cup or larger, don't have a belly pouch and your lean and not curvy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 2, 2014
Sparkly and Sassy!!!
This was true to size, and so easy to wear!! Like other girls that had worn this, I wore a regular bra and just tucked the strap in. No one could tell. I also pinned the slip piece, because it stuck out TOO far under the dress (others could pull it off, but I couldn't). The dress was so much fun to wear, I was sad to return it! Definitely a winner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 6, 2014
Neither the size 6 or 8 was a good fit, so I did not wear this one.
It was a pretty dress, but was snug through the hips. This made it shorter than I'm comfortable with at my age (42). The gathering through the midsection at the side also had some strange puckering in the 8. The side with the open draping would look better if both sides had the sequins. As it is, it shows too much of the green lining, which is more aqua teal than I was expecting. In then, I wore the pink one I ordered, even though it was a bit too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 10, 2014
This dress makes you feel amazing! Truly a million dollar dress!
Felt absolutely fantastic in this dress. Even had some room in there to breath. Fit is very true to size. Only problems are the zipper and I believe that is because of the second problem: sequins. The scratches the next day from the sequins are well worth image this dress pulls off. I had so much fun and it was perfect for my night at the club.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2014
GREAT dress!! Rented this for my son's Military Ball and it was perfect!
This dress is perfect for blondes! I'm hippy and busty so, after reading all the reviews, knew it was going to fit snug. It did but not in an uncomfortable manner. I never wear sequins!! No bling to attract attention! I was way out of my comfort zone. However, I felt at ease all night. I did buy stylist tape to adjust the right side from folding over. The sequins were not a problem rubbing under my arm. The dress length was perfect above the knee. I had compliments all night and beforehand multiple people stopping to ask questions and make comments just about my RTR box! Love it. Process could not have been easier. When is my next event?!?!?!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2014
beautiful dress!
I wore this for an alumni event. The 4 wasn't much smaller than the 6, but the slip/liner on the 6 tended to show below the dress. The dress was comfortable, with just enough stretch to sit down in. I didn't have a problem with the sequins being itchy anywhere. I got a lot of compliments on this dress, and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 7, 2014
Very comfortable and very figure flattering. It had great movement and lots of sparkle!
The only con to this dress was that the sequins underneath the arms kept getting caught on my hair. If you have long hair I would consider wearing your hair up with this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 20, 2014
Sparkly fun
Dress fit true to size. Lining was dropping a bit below hem but easily fixed with fashion tape. Just the amount of sparkle I was looking for!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
May 20, 2014
It was a beautiful dress! Perfect fit. I received compliments all night.
The fit is true to size. It hugs the body in all the right places. It was perfect length - not too conservatve but still classy and sexy. I loved the one shoulder that was split up the sleeve. It was a perfect dress for a perfect night!! I wore to outside wedding taking place in the evening. it sparkled in the night-- gorgeous ! I rented with the Nicole Miller earrings... and it was a stunning ensemble.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
June 10, 2014
Felt like a princess!
Great dress! Fit really well. Got loads of compliments. My only quip is that you can tell its a lil worn..its nothing too bad though
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
This dress was a SHOW STOPPER! I've NEVER had so many compliments as I did when wearing this dress!
The dress was perfection for my company's annual convention banquet. The fit was a teensy bit tight but not enough to keep me from wearing it. Also, the draping helps to hide the tight areas. The sheer layer did hang out of the bottom of the dress (and I forgot double stick tape) but honestly, it matched the sheer area under the arm and did not bother me in the least. The dress was incredibly comfortable- wore it ALL night- and the sequins never scratched. If you want to WOW people, this is the dress for you! I only wish I could have worn it more than once! LOVED IT!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
June 26, 2014
I'm still waiting for my replacement dress. I can't wait!
I rented this for a friends wedding, but never wore it. The 8 fit fine, but I wanted to try the 10 that also came. I couldn't even get the 10 over my hips! It must have been altered as the entire dress was uneven. The dress was a lot more gold in color than I had hoped. I was not impressed. Customer service was very reasonable and sent me a new style, no problem.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 30, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! Wore it as a flower girl in a gay wedding.
Length is good for showing off your legs. I am probably a little too chunky for it to look as loose and flowy as it should. Color is beautiful. On the bare-arm side, the fabric/sequins dug into my underarm area a little. Also on the bare-arm side, the top of the dress sort of rolls down a little bit, if that makes sense. But overall it's really great and looks really great on. Just wanted to point out comfort issues.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
July 8, 2014
Loved!
Fit like a glove. Color is beautiful.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 4, 2014
When I saw the look on my husband's face, I knew I had picked the perfect dress!
The dress was absolutely amazing! It ran a little large in the bust. Fitted through the body which is great to show off the figure, but not so great if you have to climb into a vehicle (like an SUV). Would highly recommend renting this for any formal or black tie event.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 17, 2014
Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments!
The dress is beautiful. They send you 2 sizes - thank god! If you have hips, know that it is tight in the hips. Not easy to get on and off!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
August 18, 2014
Too small in the bust
Unfortunately, this dress was not worn as it was too small in the bust area for me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2014
Rented this dress for a Hindu/Jewish fusion wedding, and it was a total hit!
This dress is true to size and very comfortable! I incorporated Indian jewelry to my look, so it was a nice "East meets West" combination. Loved the style! Great dress overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 4, 2014
Beautiful dress, comfortable. Received compliments all night long!!!!
I originally ordered a different dress but due to being 6 feet tall I was scared it would be too short. I called RTR and switch the dress at the last moment! The lady on the phone was so helpful and kind! It was easy to switch the dress and I'm so glad I did! This dress was stunning, and I danced in it all night without being uncomfortable! My whole family absolutely loved this dress and I received compliments all night :) what a beautiful dress and so fun to wear! The only reason I wore the size 10 is because the size 8 was slightly shorter and also looked like someone might have tried to sew it themselves at one point.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
October 11, 2014
Everyone thought my dress was so unique!!!
The colors were different than the typical all-over sequin dress. Surprisingly, the sequins did not bother me at all. I felt glamorous yet so comfortable in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 22, 2014
Received so many compliments !
Fit great and was comfortable to dance in
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 25, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party and received many compliments. The 2 was too tight but the 4 fit great. It was comfortable and easy to wear. The color is gorgeous and it looks better in person than in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2014
Great dress for work Christmas/end of year party!
This dress was overnighted to me as my original dress didn't work. I was so grateful to have it and it was gorgeous- much more than my original choice. I called it my "Elsa dress" and it truly was. Great fit all over and I received so many complements. My girlfriends even said they planned on renting it! Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 14, 2014
Super sparkly!!
Wore this to a black tie optional wedding since it was summer and I didn't want to wear a gown. Got lots of complements and it was very comfortable. Didn't look quite as expensive as would have thought but it was well made. Would recommend if you don't mind all the sequins :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2015
Great dress for NYE!
Rented this last-minute for a New Year's Year's party. I was worried about the color being a little too summery, but the subtle gold sequins added enough glitz to make it winter appropriate. The way the fabric drapes is forgiving if you have some pooch, and the back is high enough to wear with a standard strapless bra. I'm 5'11, and the dress hit mid/lower thigh, which was great because I usually have to keep checking to make sure cocktail dresses aren't riding up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 8, 2015
I felt like a disco ball...in a good way, not a creepy 1970s way!
I wore this for a party that my husband's fitness studio puts on every 10 weeks for new members. Since it was also during the holidays, it was fancier than normal. I typically buy a new dress for each one of the events, but this time I decided to rent - and will never buy again! I think I even convinced at least 10 other people to rent instead, since I spent less on my look than they did. The dress hit just about mid-thigh, which was perfect. You can sit down or dance without worrying about inadvertent wardrobe malfunctions. I have rented this same style of dress in a little different cut, and that one was MUCH shorter and required far greater attention to moving and bending. Here are the details: Shoes: nude pumps Hair: http://www.thesmallthingsblog.com/2012/02/fancy-side-pony/ (I would have done my pony to to the sleeveless side, but my hair just doesn't part that way! Undergear: Though this dress wasn't super short, it was too short for Spanx. Control top pantyhose worked fine. I bought a convertible bra and wore it with one strap from the back right shoulder, across my back and over my left shoulder to the front. I could not tuck in my strap on a normal bra as some reviewers noted - it just didn't work for me. Cons: this color is fantastic, but if you are pale midwestern girl in the middle of winter, it can make you a little washed out. I would suggest a spray or self tanner at least a week prior to the event. I also don't have much of a waist, and the cut of this dress didn't taper in enough to give me at least some curve. If you have a better defined waist, this dress would look even more amazing. Pros: For a sequence dress, it was surprisingly soft in it's movement. It wasn't stiff and startchy like some dresses (though that may just be a function of it being a designed dress instead of a cheap one!). This one arm style is so flattering, and I got nothing but compliments. You won't regret this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 6, 2015
Beautiful but size up...way up.
Gorgeous dress and I can usually wear a 12 if it's stretchy. This 12 I couldn't even pull it all the way up, let alone START to zip! It sure was pretty though.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2015
This look didn't work for me, so I went with my backup dress.
I didn't end up wearing this one because as a curvier girl it made me look even rounder. It was beautiful and very sparkly though, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
April 30, 2012
Gorgeous dress but ran small
Rented this dress for a spring formal, and it was absolutely stunning. I got compliments all night! The only thing to note is that it does run a little small. I am usually a 0 but fit nicely into a 2.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
July 2, 2012
This dress is a showstopper! It was so stunning that I needed no accessories with it. It was comfortable too!
I wore this dress to a black tie preferred wedding. It really was a show-stopper. I received compliments all through the evening from everyone I met. I felt great dancing all night, it was so (surprisingly) comfortable. If I had to make one complaint, it would be that the green lining was longer than the sequin covering (which you can see in my photo). I had to keep trying to fix it so they were even. I thought maybe it was just the dress I was wearing, so I actually tried on the other size I had, and that one also had the lining a bit longer, so maybe it's part of the design. Another thing that really sold me on this dress is that it looked so beautiful on everyone who posted a picture of it. I think it would look good on just about any body type (it's a bit stretchy), and that's why I was able to rent it with such confidence.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
the dress was beautiful and made me sparkle just like my artwork!!
the dress was beautiful but a little itchy around the armpit area. it felt a little bulky but it sure did sparkle like my artwork!! glad i went with this choice for my art open!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
I sparkled in a sea of little black dresses!
I wore this to dress to law school prom (which is basically like a spring formal). I got so many compliments on this dress while I was there, and also the next day from random Facebook friends who saw all of my pictures. If you have smaller shoulders, I definitely recommend this dress! Cute and sexy, plus the sparkles make you stand out, and you can dance the night away comfortably without worrying about boobs popping out or your dress riding up. FIT: I have very small shoulders and very large hips. I usually wear a 6 in dresses, but I wear 10/12 in jeans. I also have a small torso and pretty long legs. I got a 6 and an 8, and I was so glad that I had the extra size! The 6 probably fit my shoulders better, but it was so tight around my midsection that it would have been very hard to dance in without riding up. The 8 was maybe a little looser around my shoulders, but it comes with fashion tape so I taped it in place and it stayed put the whole night. It hit me at mid-thigh, which was exactly what I wanted. I was able to dance the night away without flashing my crotch at everyone. It didn't ride up at all so I didn't have to be worried about pulling my dress down every five minutes, either. Photos: I will echo what someone said that at a very particular angle, this dress can make you look wide in photos. But it's only a very particular angle, so I would not let it deter you! I had over 50 pictures of me pop up on Facebook the next day, and I looked faboosh in 48/50 of them. This dress make you look super skinny (especially if you have smaller shoulders)! The sparkles on the dress are not silver. They are a weird in-between of gold and silver, but I think they are more gold than silver. I found earrings that matched the color of the sparkles exactly, and then wore a gold cuff (that didn't match as well but looked fine), a pale pink bag with a gold chain, and nude peep-toe pumps. I also wanted to make sure my hair was up so that you could see the one-shoulder.
BrigidOctober 31, 2014
This was very helpful!!! Thanks!!!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×