American Liberty Gown

$70 rental
$615 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look and feel like a million dollars wearing this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation gown to the gala. A showstopping style! Shown here with the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Ciner's Sapphire Diana Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy sequins (100% Nylon). One shoulder with single flutter sleeve. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
162 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(134)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 21, 2016
Sparkle and shine
Was worried about the fit at 5 1/2 months pregnant, but ordered a size up from my usual and it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
August 29, 2016
how elegant everyone looked!
Fitted, yet stretches. Doesn't cling to you, feels great and looks great! Best for indoor wedding during the hotter months. We took pictures outside and the sequins look beautiful with the sun and water behind us.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2016
Beautiful dress
I read all of the reviews before ordering and most said that the dress ran a bit big and long, so I ordered a smaller size. For my back up I wanted to order a 6R but they only had a 6p available. That was the one I wore. I didn't have a problem fitting my 5 month pregnant belly in it but it was a little shorter than I had wanted. Overall it was a great dress & I would recommend to anyone especially if you're pregnant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
June 19, 2016
Made me feel like a princess, perfect for pregnancy!
Rented this for my husband's annual work awards banquet. I was nervous to find something to fit as I would be 6 1/2 months pregnant. The other reviews made me feel confident that this dress would work. It sure did. Fit like a glove and made me feel so glamorous and beautiful. I got so many compliments all night long. I didn't notice any scratching from the sequins. The regular length was perfect for me as I only wore 2 inch wedges since I was pregnant. Without the baby belly the regular length would have worked with my usual 3-4 inch heels. Love, love, loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2016
Loved this dress!
I'm currently 21 weeks pregnant and have gained 20 lbs so far, so I was looking for a dress with give near the bump area. This dress hit the nail on the head! I'm glad I read reviews beforehand otherwise I would have ordered up two or more sizes; no need to with this dress. Since the zipper is mid back and higher it doesn't hinder the bump area. Dress is super stretchy so I was comfortable all night. I wore low heels, so the regular length was perfect...higher heels would have required the long length in this size. A must for pregnant women that need a nice gala dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 8, 2016
Loved it, very glamorous, great fit, seems to have some leeway to the fit.
Has some leeway for the fit as it is stretchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2016
Gorgeous gown for a formal wedding. Hollywood glamour! Easy to dance in! Compliments all night!
#wedding #hollywoodglamour #gorgeous MADE ME FEEL GORGEOUS ALL NIGHT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2016
Amazing! Comfortable and fabulous.
This was very comfortable, looked great.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
April 12, 2016
This dress is awesome and even better than any picture can show.
The color is a beautiful deep Navy blue and it sparkles so much. It was very comfortable and hugged my curves but without feeling like I had skin tight spandex on. I could move comfortably, sit down, lean over, get in and out of cars - the material just moves with you. It is a very well made dress - it's actually heavy on the hanger and I was impressed with the workmanship. Even though I got a regular, I still had to wear 2 inch heels - which was no big deal. The dress is a little tricky to get in and out of. You have to put it over your head so watch your hair style. The cowl really made the dress but that was the part that make getting in and of the dress a little tricky. I only wish this dress came in more colors and I am definitely going to use Rent the Runway again. Everything was so easy to do. Great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 12, 2016
sparkle!
The dress fit perfectly. The length was perfect with 4" heels
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2016
First time, really great experience from beginning to end.
I'm 5'4, the R was a little shorter than I would have liked. L was available only down a size, so I went with the R and a little shorter heel than I had planned. Overall very comfortable (with the exception of the sequins under arms but no biggie) and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2016
I served as Mistress of Ceremonies for a High School's formal event. Needed to look my best! :-)
The dress looked great. It was comfortable, which is important as I spend a lot of time either walking around the event or standing at the podium. The sequins weren't too itchy as I recall and the cape/sleeve over the one shoulder stayed up all night, I didn't have to fuss with it (even on the dance floor!). I'm full-busted, and had no trouble getting it in, also able to wear with a regular bra (that's a plus!). It also sparkled more than the website pictures reflect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
I received a dress, same maker, different style and they didn't fit. This one overnighted was great
This dress was a little big. I had ordered a size 8 and 10 In a different style, same designer and didn't fit. This one caught my eye but they didn't have size 12 for my rental period. I decided to try the 14 and it fit with no troubles but a big big . I would say this designer runs small in size. Love love loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2016
I wore this dress with 3" heels and the length was perfect. Baby bump friendly.
I wish the 6R was available bc it would have fit perfect. I couldn't zip the dress up the whole way in the 4 R. Luckily, the back was covered up by the attached shawl and no one could tell. The dress was quite comfortable and the sparkles weren't scratchy under the arm. I got compliments all night and felt really elegant with my 6 month bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2016
My first RTR experience, and I loved it!! This was a replacement dress and it was perfect.
This dress fits true to size. Very flattering, and extremely comfortable!! I am 5'5 and the 14L was just a little longer than I needed, but a regular would have been too short for my liking. If you like your feet to be covered in a formal gown then the long is needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 31, 2016
Dress looked great! Lots of compliments!
Fit well. I was 17 weeks pregnant and was definitely able to pull it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2016
Perfect for pregnancy!
I wore my usual size at 5 months pregnant and this dress worked beautifully. I'm petite and it is a lot of fabric for a petite person, but it worked wonderfully for pregnancy and is a gorgeous dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2016
This sequined dress for perfect for A New Year's Eve black tie affair.
Dress fit perfectly. I was able to wear a small heal with the dress. It was comfy and I received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 19, 2015
I was complimented all night. The dress was fantastic, the transaction was perfect. Thanks RTR!
Can be complicated to get into because of the overlay but it's an easy fix.
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 7, 2015
Very elegant dress
Great dress, heavy stretchy fabric that hangs well and is very forgiving and flattering. Arm holes a bit small as others have pointed out and combined with sequins that can be a little annoying but it was fine. Loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
December 6, 2015
Military Holiday Ball
I'm 5.5 months pregnant and this dress was perfect! It was very comfortable, elegant, and I got a ton of compliments on it. It was perfect for the military Holiday Ball my husband and I went to. I'm 5'3 and wore 3 inch heals, it was about 1-2 inches too long but still doable for the night. I loved the sash that drapes over the right side. I wish I had this dress for all of our military events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
November 30, 2015
The dress was fantastic and I felt like my best. I got complements all night long.
The dress looked great and was really comfortable - I could sit at dinner and drive to the event and move around without worrying about lines or bulges or tears. So stylish yet really easy to wear. Cowl neckline was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 30, 2015
I wore this for a Mardi Gras event and it was very comfortable, gorgeous and stood out!
Only drawbacks are that if you are petite, as I am, it's gonna be a smidge long.. just enough to be annoying. But the overall fit and look was worth it. Also, when I first got it on the hanger, it took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to put it on properly. I had to refer back to the website pictures to see what it was supposed to look like. Once figured out though, all was well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2015
This dress was comfortable and effortless! So much bling, you really don't have to do much.
Fit was great, I am 5'5" and 135lbs. I ordered a 6 and an 8. I wore the 6. It was so comfy for a dress and it was so unique that I got alot of compliments. There is so much bling, you can really relax on the jewelry and hair and go a bit simple which takes alot of stress off! :)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
November 11, 2015
This was the most comfortable dress i have worn in ages. It fitted perfectly and looked super chic!!
Perfect fit though needed someone to zip me up but overall it has a stunning appearance. I wore a 2" heel with it and looked great. Many people complimented me on my look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 26, 2015
Beautiful dress! Very high quality.
Beautiful color. But it looked almost black in the pictures at the bottom. It is a pretty navy almost royal blue. Not too heavy, very nice drape. I am 5' 1" and had to tape the hem about 8 inches which took a little longer than I thought. I only wore 2 inch heels but was very comfortable in them. It was fun to wear. I wore my mother's blue sapphire jewelry and it was perfect with it. I received 4 sequinned dresses from Rent the Runway. After trying on all 4, there was one sequin on the floor. It is very well made.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2015
I LOVED THIS DRESS!!
This gown was amazing to say the least! I wore it at the SAG Awards and was an assistant for my husband, a photojournalist working the event. It was true to size, the color was fantastic, it was unbelievably comfortable and allowed me to move up and down stairs all day into the night with ease. It was very form fitting and I was wild about the draped piece across the chest. I received compliments right and left wearing this one and will likely rent it for a future event. If I did not mention before, I LOVED THIS DRESS!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 68
October 14, 2015
Raised 300K for CASA abused and neglected Children; Advocates for Children 480 attendees.thanks
Perfect fit comfortable, right length i'm 5'6" Sparkled in the spotlight if you are on stage,. Will NEVER buy another formal!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2015
Great bump-friendly dress!
I wore this to a friend's wedding and got so many compliments! I was worried about getting a dress to fit since I'm 6 months pregnant. This dress accommodated my bump amazingly. The fabric is stretchy, and with all the ruching I didn't feel like I was squeezing into it at all. I love the drapey thing on the shoulders, I disguised my bump amazingly. I'm normally a solid 8, and wore a 12. The 10 did not fit. I wish I had ordered the 12L so I could wear heels, I am 5'6" and the dress barely hit the floor in flats. The sequins were a little itchy around the armpits but that's a small price to pay for looking and feeling amazing for a night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2015
Perfect for third trimester!
Comfortable fit, has plenty of give. I am 35 weeks pregnant, normally would wear a 6R or 8R - this 10L was great and I could even pull off flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Bust size: 38D+
October 1, 2015
Beautiful dress that hides all flaws and really accentuates all the good parts. Runs a little small
con- Runs small and a little short
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
September 22, 2015
This was a black tie optional work event, and this dress was perfect!!
It was almost 34 weeks pregnant for this event, so really wanted something comfortable that I could move in. This dress was PERFECT. Had plenty of give, but hugged all of my curves and showed off my baby bump. It was easy to move on the dance floor. It was like my baby was my own personal disco ball! I know some wear the drape on the shoulder, but I preferred to wear it off the shoulder. I could have worn a bra, but I chose not to just for my own comfort. The color was gorgeous.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2015
This dress was the ultimate special look for a night to remember! People were blown away!
This dress fit like a glove. I was nervous because I waited too long to decide which dress and they only had this in the 2. So there was no backup size for me. No need to worry though, it's perfectly true to size. Very stretchy and comfy. Saw other reviewers comment on itchiness around the arms but I didn't experience that. I'm 5'9" and wore 3.5 inch heels and the 2L just grazed the ground. Perfection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 7, 2015
Fabulous dress for maternity black tie wedding
Usually wear size 2 or 4. 6 was comfortable and so was 8. I stuck with 6 since the shoulder fabric was kind of messed up on the 8 I received. The length was great for my height (5'7") wearing flats or a low heel. Fit well when 6 months pregnant! #maternity #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 3, 2015
SO glam.
Love this dress! It was sent as a backup when the dress I ordered couldn't be shipped. It was too formal for the summery outdoor ceremony I was going to, so I didn't end up wearing it. But otherwise this dress is awesome. The drapey sleeve is a bit weird to deal with since it goes across the zipper, but it falls beautifully. Also, I'm 5'7" and the long was the perfect length for 3-4" heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
July 28, 2015
I rented this dress for my mom and she looked stunning everyone loved her dress
the fit was good and very comfortable to move around in
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
July 22, 2015
very nice style
I like this dress but it was shinier than expected. It was also VERY stretchy. It felt large on but looked quite nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 27, 2015
Client wore dress for contemporary glamour session.
I am a contemporary glamour portrait photographer and I rented this dress for my client to wear as one of her looks for her session. The dress was true to fit--the size 14 long fit her perfectly--the wide straps allowed her to wear a regular bra, the flutter sleeve added interest to her images, the blue color looked amazing on her skin tone, and the dress fabric felt high-quality with just enough stretch to follow her curves. The cut of the dress was extremely flattering--the cowl neck provided plenty of coverage but wasn't boring. The client is 43 years old, 5' 8", a "C" cup size, and normally wears a size 14. http://shannonhemauerphotography.com/
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2015
The first compliment I got on this dress was shortly after I arrived, and they just kept coming!
The fit was wonderful; very forgiving of my middle-aged tummy, but not constricting. I was able to wear a regular bra, which was nice. I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress before!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 11, 2015
I told one guy I rented it and he said how could rent a dress that looks that good! love it!
Great fit, comfortable, a little scratchy under the arms, and the zipper made me look like I had a tail ( I fixed it, but still) I got so many compliments on this dress I am so glad I went for it!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×