American Liberty Gown

$70 rental
$615 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look and feel like a million dollars wearing this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation gown to the gala. A showstopping style! Shown here with the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Ciner's Sapphire Diana Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy sequins (100% Nylon). One shoulder with single flutter sleeve. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
149 reviews
Fit
Large3
True to Size128
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2016
I wore this dress with 3" heels and the length was perfect. Baby bump friendly.
I wish the 6R was available bc it would have fit perfect. I couldn't zip the dress up the whole way in the 4 R. Luckily, the back was covered up by the attached shawl and no one could tell. The dress was quite comfortable and the sparkles weren't scratchy under the arm. I got compliments all night and felt really elegant with my 6 month bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2016
My first RTR experience, and I loved it!! This was a replacement dress and it was perfect.
This dress fits true to size. Very flattering, and extremely comfortable!! I am 5'5 and the 14L was just a little longer than I needed, but a regular would have been too short for my liking. If you like your feet to be covered in a formal gown then the long is needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 31, 2016
Dress looked great! Lots of compliments!
Fit well. I was 17 weeks pregnant and was definitely able to pull it off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 13, 2016
Perfect for pregnancy!
I wore my usual size at 5 months pregnant and this dress worked beautifully. I'm petite and it is a lot of fabric for a petite person, but it worked wonderfully for pregnancy and is a gorgeous dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2016
This sequined dress for perfect for A New Year's Eve black tie affair.
Dress fit perfectly. I was able to wear a small heal with the dress. It was comfy and I received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 19, 2015
I was complimented all night. The dress was fantastic, the transaction was perfect. Thanks RTR!
Can be complicated to get into because of the overlay but it's an easy fix.
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 7, 2015
Very elegant dress
Great dress, heavy stretchy fabric that hangs well and is very forgiving and flattering. Arm holes a bit small as others have pointed out and combined with sequins that can be a little annoying but it was fine. Loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 6, 2015
Military Holiday Ball
I'm 5.5 months pregnant and this dress was perfect! It was very comfortable, elegant, and I got a ton of compliments on it. It was perfect for the military Holiday Ball my husband and I went to. I'm 5'3 and wore 3 inch heals, it was about 1-2 inches too long but still doable for the night. I loved the sash that drapes over the right side. I wish I had this dress for all of our military events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
November 30, 2015
The dress was fantastic and I felt like my best. I got complements all night long.
The dress looked great and was really comfortable - I could sit at dinner and drive to the event and move around without worrying about lines or bulges or tears. So stylish yet really easy to wear. Cowl neckline was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 30, 2015
I wore this for a Mardi Gras event and it was very comfortable, gorgeous and stood out!
Only drawbacks are that if you are petite, as I am, it's gonna be a smidge long.. just enough to be annoying. But the overall fit and look was worth it. Also, when I first got it on the hanger, it took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to put it on properly. I had to refer back to the website pictures to see what it was supposed to look like. Once figured out though, all was well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2015
This dress was comfortable and effortless! So much bling, you really don't have to do much.
Fit was great, I am 5'5" and 135lbs. I ordered a 6 and an 8. I wore the 6. It was so comfy for a dress and it was so unique that I got alot of compliments. There is so much bling, you can really relax on the jewelry and hair and go a bit simple which takes alot of stress off! :)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
November 11, 2015
This was the most comfortable dress i have worn in ages. It fitted perfectly and looked super chic!!
Perfect fit though needed someone to zip me up but overall it has a stunning appearance. I wore a 2" heel with it and looked great. Many people complimented me on my look.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 26, 2015
Beautiful dress! Very high quality.
Beautiful color. But it looked almost black in the pictures at the bottom. It is a pretty navy almost royal blue. Not too heavy, very nice drape. I am 5' 1" and had to tape the hem about 8 inches which took a little longer than I thought. I only wore 2 inch heels but was very comfortable in them. It was fun to wear. I wore my mother's blue sapphire jewelry and it was perfect with it. I received 4 sequinned dresses from Rent the Runway. After trying on all 4, there was one sequin on the floor. It is very well made.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2015
I LOVED THIS DRESS!!
This gown was amazing to say the least! I wore it at the SAG Awards and was an assistant for my husband, a photojournalist working the event. It was true to size, the color was fantastic, it was unbelievably comfortable and allowed me to move up and down stairs all day into the night with ease. It was very form fitting and I was wild about the draped piece across the chest. I received compliments right and left wearing this one and will likely rent it for a future event. If I did not mention before, I LOVED THIS DRESS!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 67
October 14, 2015
Raised 300K for CASA abused and neglected Children; Advocates for Children 480 attendees.thanks
Perfect fit comfortable, right length i'm 5'6" Sparkled in the spotlight if you are on stage,. Will NEVER buy another formal!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2015
Great bump-friendly dress!
I wore this to a friend's wedding and got so many compliments! I was worried about getting a dress to fit since I'm 6 months pregnant. This dress accommodated my bump amazingly. The fabric is stretchy, and with all the ruching I didn't feel like I was squeezing into it at all. I love the drapey thing on the shoulders, I disguised my bump amazingly. I'm normally a solid 8, and wore a 12. The 10 did not fit. I wish I had ordered the 12L so I could wear heels, I am 5'6" and the dress barely hit the floor in flats. The sequins were a little itchy around the armpits but that's a small price to pay for looking and feeling amazing for a night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2015
Perfect for third trimester!
Comfortable fit, has plenty of give. I am 35 weeks pregnant, normally would wear a 6R or 8R - this 10L was great and I could even pull off flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Bust size: 38D+
October 1, 2015
Beautiful dress that hides all flaws and really accentuates all the good parts. Runs a little small
con- Runs small and a little short
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 22, 2015
This was a black tie optional work event, and this dress was perfect!!
It was almost 34 weeks pregnant for this event, so really wanted something comfortable that I could move in. This dress was PERFECT. Had plenty of give, but hugged all of my curves and showed off my baby bump. It was easy to move on the dance floor. It was like my baby was my own personal disco ball! I know some wear the drape on the shoulder, but I preferred to wear it off the shoulder. I could have worn a bra, but I chose not to just for my own comfort. The color was gorgeous.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 20, 2015
This dress was the ultimate special look for a night to remember! People were blown away!
This dress fit like a glove. I was nervous because I waited too long to decide which dress and they only had this in the 2. So there was no backup size for me. No need to worry though, it's perfectly true to size. Very stretchy and comfy. Saw other reviewers comment on itchiness around the arms but I didn't experience that. I'm 5'9" and wore 3.5 inch heels and the 2L just grazed the ground. Perfection.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 7, 2015
Fabulous dress for maternity black tie wedding
Usually wear size 2 or 4. 6 was comfortable and so was 8. I stuck with 6 since the shoulder fabric was kind of messed up on the 8 I received. The length was great for my height (5'7") wearing flats or a low heel. Fit well when 6 months pregnant! #maternity #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 3, 2015
SO glam.
Love this dress! It was sent as a backup when the dress I ordered couldn't be shipped. It was too formal for the summery outdoor ceremony I was going to, so I didn't end up wearing it. But otherwise this dress is awesome. The drapey sleeve is a bit weird to deal with since it goes across the zipper, but it falls beautifully. Also, I'm 5'7" and the long was the perfect length for 3-4" heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
July 28, 2015
I rented this dress for my mom and she looked stunning everyone loved her dress
the fit was good and very comfortable to move around in
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
July 22, 2015
very nice style
I like this dress but it was shinier than expected. It was also VERY stretchy. It felt large on but looked quite nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 27, 2015
Client wore dress for contemporary glamour session.
I am a contemporary glamour portrait photographer and I rented this dress for my client to wear as one of her looks for her session. The dress was true to fit--the size 14 long fit her perfectly--the wide straps allowed her to wear a regular bra, the flutter sleeve added interest to her images, the blue color looked amazing on her skin tone, and the dress fabric felt high-quality with just enough stretch to follow her curves. The cut of the dress was extremely flattering--the cowl neck provided plenty of coverage but wasn't boring. The client is 43 years old, 5' 8", a "C" cup size, and normally wears a size 14. http://shannonhemauerphotography.com/
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2015
The first compliment I got on this dress was shortly after I arrived, and they just kept coming!
The fit was wonderful; very forgiving of my middle-aged tummy, but not constricting. I was able to wear a regular bra, which was nice. I have never gotten so many compliments on a dress before!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 11, 2015
I told one guy I rented it and he said how could rent a dress that looks that good! love it!
Great fit, comfortable, a little scratchy under the arms, and the zipper made me look like I had a tail ( I fixed it, but still) I got so many compliments on this dress I am so glad I went for it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2015
I ordered this dress to wear to a black tie event.
I was so excited when the dress arrived but that excitement quickly turned to disappointment when I realized I'd have to scrap the plans of wearing it. Based on the reviews that the fabric was stretchy I (mistakenly) thought this would be a great option for my hourglass shape. Normally a size 8, I ordered both a 10 and a 12 since I'm an hourglass shape and was worried about fit over my bust. Both dresses were a good fit through my hips and waist but wouldn't zip fully to the top because it wasn't roomy enough in the bust. I was unable to use the dress and had to run out last minute to purchase a dress at full cost. It's a gorgeous dress but unfortunately runs small if you have a larger than average chest.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2015
Great fit and expect compliments all night long!
This dress is so comfortable and very forgiving! I received so many compliments on it. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels and it didn't drag on the floor at all. It was the perfect length. The color was perfect too...it's a deep navy color and with black patent heels, the color reflects on the patent and makes the shoes almost look deep navy too! I would highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2015
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments all night.
The dress fits true to size and has a little bit of stretch that works well with a curvy figure. I had baby #3 four months ago and I'm not back to my prepregnancy size or shape so I went a couple sizes bigger than my normal size 4 to hide my not-quite-toned midsection. Size 8 fit well and was a great length with four-inch heels. The dress was comfortable and I love that I could wear a regular bra. I got many compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Comfortable and glamorous!
I wore this dress to a night wedding in Boston and loved it. I received so many compliments and the dress was not only comfortable but stylish. I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was better. The only issue was the 8 was a little too long so make sure you wear a higher heel with this dress. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 22, 2015
Black Tie in Sequins
Overall the rent the runway experience was great as usual. The dress arrived on time but my building doesn't have a doorman so getting the actual dress from UPS was a bit of a hassle but all in all it worked out and it's UPS's fault not RTR. I ordered sizes 0R and 2R, because I typically wear size 0 however with 3 inch heels that don't have a platform the most appropriate length was the 2R. Also I felt the 0R was a little bit too form fitting for my taste and a bit short with the heels. I was also worried about the sequins being itchy but they weren't at all, just be careful because they snatch on to anything and walking around my apartment before I left I picked up some dust/hair balls so check the back/bottom before you get to your event. Very pretty dress and great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
February 19, 2015
I was very pregnant and this still fit me. Stretchy and comfortable. Lot's of Compliments!
Fit great. has give and I have a huge baby bump
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2015
Fit like a glove and felt amazing
I've worn several of these sequin Badgley Mischka gowns and I love them. The sequins are less itchy than most sequin dresses and the material is stretchy and comfortable but also heavy enough to help with shaping (although I also wore spanx because I am an apple). Got a ton of compliments and I felt absolutely gorgeous in this dress. The drape on the arm is elegant and is complimentary on a woman with a larger bust. Would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 11, 2015
Great bump friendly dress.
I wore this at 7 months pregnant and it fit very well. Would look great on any curvy figure. The 10 fit well, but the 12 was so comfy I decided to were that one. It was a touch on the short side for tall women in heels, but not so much so that it was unwearable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
February 2, 2015
Awesome bump-friendly gown!!
This gown was gorgeous. I was 35 weeks pregnant when I wore it. I sized up a couple sizes and the material was stretchy enough it fit great! Even not preggers, this would be an amazing dress. Very forgiving and super flattering. The little shaw thing took some work, but once I figured it out, it added a unique spin on a classic style gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 2, 2015
Felt like a movie star. :)
The ruching and draping was flattering, and it was pretty comfortable for a formal dress! I loved that I could wear a regular bra. I didn't love the cape thing but found that I could kind of push it up on my shoulder to achieve my desired look. This glamorous dress was perfect for the formal gala I attended, and I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2015
The color was beautiful, fit true to size.
The material is very stretchy and somewhat forgiving.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 30, 2015
Beautiful gown!!!
This gown is so beautiful! The fabric is snug but won't make you look bad. I received many many compliments on this gown. I wore it with 4 inch heels.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2015
LOVE this dress...beautiful!
This was my backup dress but I honestly loved it more than my first choice dress! Was able to wear a regular bra which was a huge bonus. Love the color- it's a deep blue which doesn't necessarily come through as well on the website. Would absolutely rent this one again!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×