Badgley Mischka

American Liberty Gown

$40 – $70 rental
$615 retail
Stylist Notes

Look and feel like a million dollars wearing this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation gown to the gala. A showstopping style! Shown here with the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Ciner's Sapphire Diana Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy sequins (100% Nylon). One shoulder with single flutter sleeve. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(142)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 2, 2014
Easy order! Easy shipping! Love RTR! Thank you!
This dress was awesome. I wore it to a wedding and was easily one of the best dressed in the room! People kept staring! It's really gorgeous! Hated to send it back! Runs true to size. Wish it was more symmetrical on both sides with the "swag" top but it is still very pretty. You can wear regular bra with it and regular undies! Very comparable! Regular length was perfect with 3" heels. Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
December 29, 2014
Fabulous alternate choice- will rent this again!
Gorgeous, comfortable and flattering. If the first choice dress wasn't so perfect I would have been delighted to wear this gown. I am busty and found this dress to minimize the appearance as well as the waist whittling ruching gave emphasis to my shape. I was concerned about a full length sequin dress being heavy, uncomfortable or unflattering-Wrong! Absolutely stunning! Even my husband couldn't decide! You can wear your own regular bra and no more than a 3"heel for me with the 10R.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2015
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments all night.
The dress fits true to size and has a little bit of stretch that works well with a curvy figure. I had baby #3 four months ago and I'm not back to my prepregnancy size or shape so I went a couple sizes bigger than my normal size 4 to hide my not-quite-toned midsection. Size 8 fit well and was a great length with four-inch heels. The dress was comfortable and I love that I could wear a regular bra. I got many compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 7, 2015
Fabulous dress for maternity black tie wedding
Usually wear size 2 or 4. 6 was comfortable and so was 8. I stuck with 6 since the shoulder fabric was kind of messed up on the 8 I received. The length was great for my height (5'7") wearing flats or a low heel. Fit well when 6 months pregnant! #maternity #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2015
Perfect for third trimester!
Comfortable fit, has plenty of give. I am 35 weeks pregnant, normally would wear a 6R or 8R - this 10L was great and I could even pull off flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 7, 2015
Very elegant dress
Great dress, heavy stretchy fabric that hangs well and is very forgiving and flattering. Arm holes a bit small as others have pointed out and combined with sequins that can be a little annoying but it was fine. Loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 5, 2016
My first RTR experience, and I loved it!! This was a replacement dress and it was perfect.
This dress fits true to size. Very flattering, and extremely comfortable!! I am 5'5 and the 14L was just a little longer than I needed, but a regular would have been too short for my liking. If you like your feet to be covered in a formal gown then the long is needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2016
I wore this dress with 3" heels and the length was perfect. Baby bump friendly.
I wish the 6R was available bc it would have fit perfect. I couldn't zip the dress up the whole way in the 4 R. Luckily, the back was covered up by the attached shawl and no one could tell. The dress was quite comfortable and the sparkles weren't scratchy under the arm. I got compliments all night and felt really elegant with my 6 month bump!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 20, 2016
Gorgeous gown for a formal wedding. Hollywood glamour! Easy to dance in! Compliments all night!
#wedding #hollywoodglamour #gorgeous MADE ME FEEL GORGEOUS ALL NIGHT!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 20, 2014
This dress has some stretch to it. I felt so comfortable all night. I received a ton of compliments!
I was 38 weeks pregnant and was looking for a dress that would be comfortable all night, yet formal for the event. This dress was perfect. I am 5ft 7, 200 pounds, and 38 D for bust. I went with the long even though I wore flat sandals. It was maybe a half inch too long so occasionally I would step on it, but I am very happy I went for the long vs the regular length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2016
This sequined dress for perfect for A New Year's Eve black tie affair.
Dress fit perfectly. I was able to wear a small heal with the dress. It was comfy and I received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 23, 2016
I received a dress, same maker, different style and they didn't fit. This one overnighted was great
This dress was a little big. I had ordered a size 8 and 10 In a different style, same designer and didn't fit. This one caught my eye but they didn't have size 12 for my rental period. I decided to try the 14 and it fit with no troubles but a big big . I would say this designer runs small in size. Love love loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2016
First time, really great experience from beginning to end.
I'm 5'4, the R was a little shorter than I would have liked. L was available only down a size, so I went with the R and a little shorter heel than I had planned. Overall very comfortable (with the exception of the sequins under arms but no biggie) and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 9, 2016
Loved this dress!
I'm currently 21 weeks pregnant and have gained 20 lbs so far, so I was looking for a dress with give near the bump area. This dress hit the nail on the head! I'm glad I read reviews beforehand otherwise I would have ordered up two or more sizes; no need to with this dress. Since the zipper is mid back and higher it doesn't hinder the bump area. Dress is super stretchy so I was comfortable all night. I wore low heels, so the regular length was perfect...higher heels would have required the long length in this size. A must for pregnant women that need a nice gala dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38I
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
June 19, 2016
Made me feel like a princess, perfect for pregnancy!
Rented this for my husband's annual work awards banquet. I was nervous to find something to fit as I would be 6 1/2 months pregnant. The other reviews made me feel confident that this dress would work. It sure did. Fit like a glove and made me feel so glamorous and beautiful. I got so many compliments all night long. I didn't notice any scratching from the sequins. The regular length was perfect for me as I only wore 2 inch wedges since I was pregnant. Without the baby belly the regular length would have worked with my usual 3-4 inch heels. Love, love, loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2016
Beautiful dress
I read all of the reviews before ordering and most said that the dress ran a bit big and long, so I ordered a smaller size. For my back up I wanted to order a 6R but they only had a 6p available. That was the one I wore. I didn't have a problem fitting my 5 month pregnant belly in it but it was a little shorter than I had wanted. Overall it was a great dress & I would recommend to anyone especially if you're pregnant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
September 21, 2016
Sparkle and shine
Was worried about the fit at 5 1/2 months pregnant, but ordered a size up from my usual and it fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2016
I felt like royalty, this dress was a head turner!
I am 5'3" and 120 lbs. but RTR was out of the 2R so I ordered the 2L instead. It was a bit longer than what I wanted and the hemming tape they sent didn't arrive until after the event but it worked out anyway. The dress was comfortable for 7+ hours.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2017
Backup dress, didn't care for it.
I rented this as a backup dress because it was only available in one size. I'm glad it was a backup. When I tried it on for my husband he gave it a "mehh," with no excitement. The 8R fit true to size though. The material hung in a U shape over my stomach, which was not flattering. I also saw another reviewer wear it one-shouldered, but I didn't try that. The dress seemed like good quality though and would hopefully look great on someone else!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
April 9, 2017
Showstopper
This dress was amazing. I received so many compliments. It was fantastic for my hourglass figure, comfortable and flattering. The petite was actually a bit too short, the regular was great with small heels and would have been perfect with a bit taller of a heel. Thank you RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Age: 32
December 4, 2017
Gorgeous, flattering dress
I loved this dress and got tons of compliments on it. It was very comfortable and unfussy to wear, i could just wear a normal undergarments underneath it. I personally think this dress runs large because I received another Badgley Mishka dress as a back up in a 4 , and a 2 in this dress resembled the fit of the 4 in the other dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 16, 2012
Got so many compliments - looks great on..but if you are bigger than a size10, u need spanx
The color is more blue than grey which was perfect for my red white and blue event. The draping in the back was a nice detail. The dress was the perfect length whereas only the tips of my shoes peeped thru - I rented the L and am 5'8". I am normally a size 14/16 and the 14 was perfect - but keep in mind this is stretchy material so I think if you are looking for something to snug the body, go with a size smaller. I was hoping for more body support to the dress but it didn't have it - still, used spanx to help out in that arena. All in all great experience and rental.
JaniceNovember 6, 2012
Very nice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 19, 2012
The dress hugged in all the right places and covers elegantly. The sparkle is great!
I got a 6 and 4R ordered. A day before my dress was to ship, RTR called to tell me they only had one dress they could send me. I was unsure of the sizing, so I selected another dress, a gold sparkly Badgley Mischka. The dresses arrived the next day as planned, but RTR was cool enough to send me both sparkly gold dresses and this sparkly blue in the one size they did have. Surprisingly to me, the blue fit - I was sure it would be too tight or not long enough. Both were just fine. I typically wear a 6 and I'm almost 5'9" so wearing a 4R was kind of awesome :) I will say though, the dress draping must have gotten flipped around when it was shipped and I COULD NOT figure out how to wear it for, I kid you not, 25 minutes. I finally figured it out after staring at the picture on RTR! Once I got it figured out, I was very happy with the dress. I was not irritated by the sequins and I was complimented on all night in the days to follow when pictures popped up on Facebook. I wore this to my husband's Marine Corps Ball and found it to be very tasteful, elegant and fun - very appropriate for the Ball!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
July 22, 2015
very nice style
I like this dress but it was shinier than expected. It was also VERY stretchy. It felt large on but looked quite nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2012
Gorgeous gown
I rented this gown and another one as back up to attend my husband's Marine Corps Ball. I ended up wearing the other dress, but this one was beautiful. The 8L wasn't available, so I got the 6L and 10L. The 6L fit, but was pretty snug... and the piece of fabric on the right shoulder was not the same as in the picture. This dress had the same straps on both shoulders. The 10L fit much better, but was very fitted on my butt. The dress is heavy because of all of the sequins.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Avoided the hassle of in-store shopping and investing in a one-time wear.
Pros: - Ability to try the dress on prior to the event - Ease of delivery and return - Received many compliments on the dress Con: - Dress was only in one length, had to use hem tape Fit: - Ran small, normally a 6, wore an 8
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
January 28, 2013
The color was stunning and feel was fabulous!
I thought it ran a little small compared to other things I have rented. It was very comfortable, elegant yet festive.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 64
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2013
Couldn't figure out how to get this dress on properly. Too bad, since it looks beautiful in photos.
Wore my back-up gown which fortunately worked perfectly!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 30DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 1, 2014
beautiful and received lots of compliments. arm holes were a bit tight
Size ran a little small, mainly in the arm area. overall very elegant. Stretchy fabric and great lines.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
February 22, 2015
Black Tie in Sequins
Overall the rent the runway experience was great as usual. The dress arrived on time but my building doesn't have a doorman so getting the actual dress from UPS was a bit of a hassle but all in all it worked out and it's UPS's fault not RTR. I ordered sizes 0R and 2R, because I typically wear size 0 however with 3 inch heels that don't have a platform the most appropriate length was the 2R. Also I felt the 0R was a little bit too form fitting for my taste and a bit short with the heels. I was also worried about the sequins being itchy but they weren't at all, just be careful because they snatch on to anything and walking around my apartment before I left I picked up some dust/hair balls so check the back/bottom before you get to your event. Very pretty dress and great experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 23, 2015
Comfortable and glamorous!
I wore this dress to a night wedding in Boston and loved it. I received so many compliments and the dress was not only comfortable but stylish. I usually wear a size 6 but felt that the 8 was better. The only issue was the 8 was a little too long so make sure you wear a higher heel with this dress. Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2015
I ordered this dress to wear to a black tie event.
I was so excited when the dress arrived but that excitement quickly turned to disappointment when I realized I'd have to scrap the plans of wearing it. Based on the reviews that the fabric was stretchy I (mistakenly) thought this would be a great option for my hourglass shape. Normally a size 8, I ordered both a 10 and a 12 since I'm an hourglass shape and was worried about fit over my bust. Both dresses were a good fit through my hips and waist but wouldn't zip fully to the top because it wasn't roomy enough in the bust. I was unable to use the dress and had to run out last minute to purchase a dress at full cost. It's a gorgeous dress but unfortunately runs small if you have a larger than average chest.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 52
January 5, 2017
I normally wouldn't wear something this sparkly, but the invite said for the ladies to sparkle!
Fit was one size up from my regular 12. Ther cape on one shoulder wasn't there, which was odd, but the dress looked smashing anyway! 14R had a perfect length with 3 inch heel. I'm 5'6, 170lb.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112lbs
November 20, 2012
wore this for my sisters wedding, it turned out wonderful and looked great on!
pros- definitely stands out, easy to put on, can wear any bra you want cons- was scared to snag it, and it was long on me even with heals and Im 5'2 (still danced though)
RTR CustomerDecember 5, 2012
did you wear heels- did the dress cover your shoes?
RanyahDecember 12, 2012
i did wear really high heals and it still completely covered my shoes but for the most part i didn't have any trouble walking or moving in the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 26, 2012
Wonderful and forgiving dress!!
First, Rent the Runway has amazing customer service and organization. I chose the next day arrival option and received it by the next afternoon. As for the dress, it was beyond my expectations. It had stretch, but ran true to size. The color was a grayish blue - exactly as pictured. Also, this dress hides a multitude of sins, so if you're self-conscious about your size (as I am) this dress will make you feel beautiful. It managed to be sexy without being loud, and elegant without being conservative. I highly recommend this dress, but more than anything I am sold on Rent the Runway. I will continue to rent here exclusively for formal events.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 0
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2012
Gorgeous. Glam. Sexy.
Absolutely loved this dress – wore it to an opening night and received tons of compliments on it. Incredibly flattering and just so pretty. Wore the 2 Long and it was perfect; I’m 5’7” and my heels were 3.5-4” (I don’t know exactly – but I could have gone a little higher with the heels and still been ok.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was beautiful, with sequences covering the entire dress.
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I needed a "Bump Friendly" dress as I was 8 weeks pregnant with my second child and had a small bump. The dress fits tight but because of all the sequences you could not notice any belly. I ordered the long which works well with heels but if you plan to wear flats do not order the long as you will be stepping on it all night. The blue color is beautiful and you cannot get the true depth of the royal blue through the picture shown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
December 24, 2012
I received non-stop compliments all night long. This gown is completely stunning.
The dress did seem a bit snug around the mid-section/hips, which made it ride up a little bit. I did need to use the fashion tape so that my bra back wouldn't hang out from the upper back of the dress. I also needed to use the fashion tape to secure the hem so that the underlining didn't stick out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
The ease of receiving and returning the dress, the quality of the item for the price!
I rented this dress for a formal NY Eve dinner/dance at a private club. I received alot of compliments on it and when I told my girlfriends about the site, they are all ready to sign up! The reviews of the clothes are a HUGE help. I decided on this one over a silver strapless sequin based on the reviews. One in particular where the person described herself as 5'5, 150 pounds that took a 10R helped me to decide on trying the 8R and 10R as I'm 5'4, 145 pounds. I tried the 10R first and it fit like a glove! I didn't even try on the 8R. I LOVE that RTR will send you 2 sizes at no additional cost. It was a tad long but with 5 inch heels I had no problem. This will be my go to site and not just for formal - I saw some great dresses I would love to wear for other fun occasions but not fork out the big designer bucks! LOVE THIS SITE! We only had our phones to take photos with, so the full length shot is not real clear. The dress is flattering especially if you are heavy in the middle, which is where I carry my weight! It feels/looks very Jean Harlow, Greta Garbo, "old Hollywood Glamour-esqe"
KristyJanuary 25, 2013
Appreciated detailed feedback (e.g. "heavy in the middle") What I can tell you look stunning.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
Loved this dress, it was just a little bit too short. The size 6 didn't fit as well in the body but was longer.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×