You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
American Liberty Gown
Rental $70 Retail $615
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Look and feel like a million dollars wearing this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation gown to the gala. A showstopping style! Shown here with the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Ciner's Sapphire Diana Drop Earrings.
Chat with a Stylist
Navy sequins (100% Nylon). One shoulder with single flutter sleeve. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos57

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Madison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6244
Apr 16, 2014
Amazing!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was remarkable, comfortable and modest. I loved that I was able to dance in it all night and still feel put together. The sequins sparkled in the sun perfectly. Only con: the top sequin drape in front would get caught on the sequins underneath, and sometimes I didn't realize it unless someone pointed it out. Overall: I wanted to rent it again. Easy process and loved the ease of delivery and return. I wore flats, regular bra, and loved the earrings that I also rented from here!
Amy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8523
Apr 12, 2014
Love love love this dress!!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was amazing but the length was a little shorter than I thought. I wore stilettos and I could have gone with a smaller heel and it would have been fine. I got so many compliments on the dress women would stop and tell me that they loved the dress. I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again!! My son told me I looked like a princess
Lyndsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Apr 7, 2014
I got this dress for a formal event in my hometown. I felt so glamorous!!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was so comfortable!! I was able to wear a normal bra with it. It wasn't as long as I was hoping, but I got short heels and it worked out okay. I only had two issues with the dress. The draped fabric/cape thing was annoying. It wouldn't stay without a safety pin. The dress would have been just fine without it. I didn't think it was very flattering on me. The other thing was that my dress kept shifting all night. The side hems would be straight and then 30 minutes later it would start twisting to the left. I kept having to pull and adjust it. I may have just gotten a bad egg on the hem thing. Other than that, I felt gorgeous! Really, very classy but also very glamorous.
Michele
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Apr 5, 2014
Felt beautiful!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress. It hugged my curves and was very flattering. It is not very accentuating in the bust region, but is in the waist and hips. I received many compliments at my event. It was mostly comfortable- I could wear normal underthings, but a bit itchy in the underarm area. I'm about 5'6" and ordered the regular length and my toes stuck out underneath, I thought it worked out well though because I don't like wearing heels.
tarcy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8634
Apr 3, 2014
This dress was awesome for my first formal affair at my new job - loved wearing it!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was most nervous because my "usual" size was not available but I took a chance and ordered down a size, hoping that the fact that I've slimmed down a bit over the last couple months would work out. This was just the boost I needed - the fit was great, and I loved the color, the sparkle, even the length worked for me (another concern because I'm short-ish). I described this to someone as glamorous (and elegant and sexy and classy) but comfy enough that I didn't feel overly formal - it's gorgeous but I didn't feel self-conscious about it because I felt great.
Katey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4433
Mar 31, 2014
Great choice for the evening! Very comfortable and easy to move around and dance in.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5' 5" and wore a a 3 1/4" heel and the regular was just right. If I wanted to wear any higher of a heel I would have had to go with the longer length. The dress was very comfortable and is very figure flattering. It does have bit of a train, which I didn't realize when I ordered it but was fine. I just had to pull it up when walking up/down stairs. Great first experience with RTR!
DeeDee
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7623
Mar 18, 2014
The compliments I received all night made me feel like a million bucks!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
When I received the dresses, I was neverous. The other dress I choose was beautiful. I tried it on 1st it was too big. I almost started to cry but I tried on this one. It fit perfectly accept the length, I'm only 5' and it was long and I was going to wear 3 1/2" heels. I thought what am I going to do now, I couldn't get an overnight dress it was to late. I was so disappointed but then I remembered reading what someone else did, they used double sided sticky tape. So I went to the fabric store got some tape and I was back in business. This dress is amazing and I danced a lot & ate. I didn't feel like a stuffed sausage afterwards. Everyone was asking me where did I get the dress. I think I was explaining the concept most of the night. ( in between dancing)
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Feb 27, 2014
Very, comfortable, Easy to dance in.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got the 8 and the 10, both fit, but the 8 was a little too snug in the hip area so I wore the 10. It was super comfortable and easy to move in. It was an Indian wedding so I wanted something that was reminiscent of a sari, and this fit the bill with the sleeve. I wore short, 2" heels and the dress was perfect. They were able to ship the dress to the hotel, which only hit a snag because of the hotel, not RTR and when the mail-room closed. Fantastic experience!
Linda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7643
Feb 15, 2014
I wore this dress to awards night at our Mary Kay Emerald Seminar in Dallas, Texas.
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress made me feel like a million bucks! The fit was superb....like it was made for me! There was spandex in the liner so it hugged my body and smoothed the curves. No tummy bulge here!! The compliments were constant and the dress looked fantastic sparkling under the onstage lights! I will definitely order this dress again. And I am a big fan now of Rent the Runway. I will be back for all my special occasions.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 4, 2014
I received SO many compliments all night long. I felt beautiful!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was sparkly and super comfortable! Very stretchy and hides many flaws. The train is adorable and doesn't getting the way at all. My only regret is since I was "working" I had lots of running around to do and I kept picking up the dress and the sequins cut into my skin under my fingernails, OUCH!
Tara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6524
Dec 27, 2013
The dress fit perfectly and was comfortable. I got lots of compliments on this dress.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was amazing, it was just the right length.
Carmen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Dec 7, 2013
Great for my baby bump
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black-tie holiday party. I'm almost 5 months pregnant and needed something that would work with my bump. I had rented a Badgley Mischka before and new the sequin dresses have quite a bit of give and this one was no exception. I usually wear a size 6 and rented a size 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 8 but both would have worked well. In fact, it was hard to tell I'm even pregnant: the bit of ruching on the side and the "flap" over the shoulder camouflaged my belly nicely. I would definitely rent this dress once I've had the baby- it's super flattering and makes you look thin and curvy in all the right spots. Got lots of compliments!
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4531
Nov 24, 2013
I wore this gown at 23 weeks pregnant and it fit like a glove.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a true 4; but because I am pregnant I went up to a 6 and ordered a long. I'm glad I did! The dress in the L wasn't very long at all. The color is more of a royal blue than the pictured navy. My picture post is pretty accurate color wise. There is also some stretch to it which makes it comfortable to move around in.
Mel
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Nov 13, 2013
Perfect for a military ball.
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super comfortable. I wore it all night and loved it.
Monica
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 9524
Sep 10, 2013
this dress was such a pretty color (lighter blue than in picutre), and it was comfortable!
Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great-it did fit snug but it did have some stretch and was comfortable to wear for 6 plus hours. I am very large busted (38G) , and it covered me great. Other renters mentioned it was long (even the "regular" length), but I think my curves helped it keep it off the ground, and i was able to wear 3 inch heels without it dragging on the floor. I had also rented the Badgly-Mischka pinkish- gold sleeveless dress (the one that has like 500 reivews) to try in both a 14 and 16, and neither of those looked as good as this one did in the 14R.
Kalmoes
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 8, 2013
Tons of compliments
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a Gatsby themed charity gala. It was stunning. It was a bit thrown by the very small train so I tried to watch the back as much as possible. Overall I am very pleased with this dress.
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Jul 29, 2013
Perfect for Emceeing!!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved everything about this dress! Not too flashy, but still a head turner! Got so many compliments. Fit perfect and was VERY comfortable!!! I would recommend this dress to ANYONE!!!
Ashley
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8434
Jul 4, 2013
Lovely, classy dress. Very comfortable and got loads of compliments!
Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried the dress would be heavy because of all the sequins, but it was very comfortable and light. Made me feel classy and glamorous the whole night. I usually wear between a 12 and 14, and the 14 in this dress fit me perfectly in the bust so I wore it instead of the 12, which fit better in the waist. So if you are between sizes but have a small bust the 12 will probably work. My only complaint is that the long length version of my size wasn't available, and the regular one was way too short. For reference, I'm 5'7" and wore 2" heels and the dress barely came to my ankles if I stood up straight. I felt like I needed to tug it down or bend my knees the whole night. So definitely go by the size chart!
Mollie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3232
May 25, 2013
Perfect for Prom!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was the best choice for dancing all night. It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it. The length of the 2R was perfect for me with flats, and the 2L was perfect with heels. I would highly recommend this dress if you're going to be moving around a lot. I never had to worry about anything like I would with a strapless dress. I loved this dress!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 21, 2013
I felt amazing ALL NIGHT long.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the perfect dress to wear to a military ball, accompanying my boyfriend. The dress is beautiful enough without the need for many accessories, if any, at all. I chose to rent a pair of earrings and wore one bracelet of my own. I chose the 4R and the 4L, tried on the 4L first and did not even try on the 4R. I paired the gown with 4in heels and I wanted the dress to sweep the floor JUST enough and it did :-). Pros: If you want to sparkle and shine then this is the dress for you. After the ball, we decided to go back into the city and spent the rest of the evening at a rooftop event. People literally yelled out of cabs to tell me how beautiful my dress was. The fit is perfect for women with curves. It stretched enough that I felt a size smaller would have been perfect for a woman without curves. I didn't wear anything under the dress aside from my regular undergarments (no spanx, etc.). This was perfectly fine and I felt comfortable. The sleeves of the dress stayed in place all night, which I loved. I have very bony shoulders and sleeveless dresses tend to slip off of me, but I had no problem in this dress. Cons: Ummmm this will be pretty minor, but my hair got caught in the sequins, just a bit. I expected it anyways, and I'm sure this would have happened in any sequined dress. I would recommend a classic updo if this bothers you. It really didn't bother me at all.
Jeanna
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2223
May 19, 2013
This dress was SO unique! Not a single person had anything like it!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, it fit very well for my body type. For that many sequins, it was actually very comfortable! The clasp above the zipper in the back was very difficult to hook, even with assistance. However it was easily remedied with a small piece of fashion tape. Loved the dress and received hundreds of complements all night!
Dawn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
May 19, 2013
I felt super glamorous.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit beautifully the length was perfect.
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 10, 2013
Amazing first experience! Loved this dress!!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a military ball. The dress was certainly one of a kind, and I received many compliments!! The fit was definitely slim against the body, so I made sure to wear spanx with it, and I felt amazing! I loved the earrings they suggested to wear with it as well. Thank you RTR!! I'll be back!
Polly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4322
Apr 17, 2013
Going to the monuments after the Inaugural Ball to take pictures even in the freezing cold.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything fit great! I am 5 ft 2 inches and the regular was a perfect with my heels (prob 2 inches) so I would assume if someone were taller this may be an issues but beyond that it fit perfectly and gave me a figure which is hard for me because I'm so petite. I have never felt sexy before, but I certainly did in this dress. It was also very easy to dance in!
Leslie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7633
Mar 3, 2013
The dress got so much attention that I felt like a celebrity. I definitely will rent RTR again!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looks like it's worth millions thanks to all the sparkle. The fabric (covered in dark blue shimmery sequins) is stretchy so it can accommodate many body flaws and easy to sit down in. I have a wide rib cage and could have fit in the 8L zipped up half way (there's a fabric panel like the front that covers the back and would cover the up zipped zipper) but choose to wear the 10L fully zipped for comfort. The length on the 8L was perfect, the 10L about 1" too long with my 2-1/2" heels (light blue satin slingbacks) but instead of using the provided Hollywood tape, I pulled the dress up a bit in the waist and it fell like a natural rouching (there was some there already). The only issue was that a couple people were stepping on the back of my dress so I had to be careful to pick up the dress as I walked. I received so many complements about the fit being so good (lots of spanx and a strapless bra) and I only had to wear a couple of large drop earrings (costume jewelry) since the dress was such a statement. After the event many of my girlfriends were trying to get me to buy the dress as they thought it was a keeper! I got one other dress (black one shoulder, long) to choose as I never had used RTR before but there was no question once I got the dresses that this was the one I would wear. The packaging was excellent (felt luxurious in a garment bag with a little packet of per-event Hollywood tape and shaving cream) and the mailer to send back was just the right size if you fold the gown in thirds. (RTR sent me 2 mailers, 1 for the 2 sizes and 1 for the other kind of dress). Overall the whole experience was FANTASTIC.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Feb 18, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Easy to wear, true to size, and comfortable!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR and I was very pleased. This dress was not my first choice, but had I known how beautiful it was on, I would have made it my first choice. It runs true to size and I had zero fit issues. The sequins caused a tiny bit of discomfort under the arms, but nothing terrible. I got many compliments throughout the night and would wear this dress again!
Bonnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Feb 13, 2013
Awesome dress! Lots of compliments from co-workers and people I've never met!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
THis dress is very comfrotable. I was worried about it being too long, but it was perfect with a moderate (3") heel. beacuse of the way it gathers, even if it was a little too long, you'd be able to adjust the way it falls around the hips and have no problem. I wore it to a very formal Hollywood party and got lots of compliments. (I am wearing an RTR bracelet as well) The color is defeinitely blue (in the official picture I wasn't sure if it was blue-black or not); I wore dark silver/pewter shoes.
Meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Feb 4, 2013
GORGEOUS dress for my husband's military ball!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my husband's military ball and it was beautiful! I loved how unique it was. I received compliments all evening. I felt like a movie star :) The only negative would be that it was a little long, since I only wore a 2 inch heel, but otherwise it was perfect! Looking forward to the next rental experience! Thanks RTR!! :)
Maya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Jan 28, 2013
Delivery was on time. The team was very helpful.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits well and makes a great statement. The lining has enough stretch to fit snugly without feeling stiff. Spanx definitely help accentuate the waist and make the ruching look better
Alicia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Jan 23, 2013
I wore this to an inaugural ball and got so many compliments!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. It made me look so tiny and it was really flattering. The only issue I had was that it was just barely long enough with 2.5 inch heels, and I usually wear higher heels than that. So, if you are taller than me or want to wear higher heels, you may need the long.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 21, 2013
I cannot wait to rent from RTR again!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a dream and I received compliments all night long! I ordered the 4L and the 6L, both were shorter than I had anticipated. I liked the fit of the 4L but needed extra length so, I ended up wearing the 6L. I wasn't able to wear heels, because I wanted the dress to hit the floor; instead I wore simple black patten leather ballet flats. If you are over 5'7 I highly recommend going with the XL.
Teryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Jan 14, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, it was just a little bit too short. The size 6 didn't fit as well in the body but was longer.
T
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Jan 2, 2013
The ease of receiving and returning the dress, the quality of the item for the price!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a formal NY Eve dinner/dance at a private club. I received alot of compliments on it and when I told my girlfriends about the site, they are all ready to sign up! The reviews of the clothes are a HUGE help. I decided on this one over a silver strapless sequin based on the reviews. One in particular where the person described herself as 5'5, 150 pounds that took a 10R helped me to decide on trying the 8R and 10R as I'm 5'4, 145 pounds. I tried the 10R first and it fit like a glove! I didn't even try on the 8R. I LOVE that RTR will send you 2 sizes at no additional cost. It was a tad long but with 5 inch heels I had no problem. This will be my go to site and not just for formal - I saw some great dresses I would love to wear for other fun occasions but not fork out the big designer bucks! LOVE THIS SITE! We only had our phones to take photos with, so the full length shot is not real clear. The dress is flattering especially if you are heavy in the middle, which is where I carry my weight! It feels/looks very Jean Harlow, Greta Garbo, "old Hollywood Glamour-esqe"
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 206 lbs
Canonical User Type: 9424
Dec 24, 2012
I received non-stop compliments all night long. This gown is completely stunning.
Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress did seem a bit snug around the mid-section/hips, which made it ride up a little bit. I did need to use the fashion tape so that my bra back wouldn't hang out from the upper back of the dress. I also needed to use the fashion tape to secure the hem so that the underlining didn't stick out.
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5442
Dec 19, 2012
The dress hugged in all the right places and covers elegantly. The sparkle is great!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got a 6 and 4R ordered. A day before my dress was to ship, RTR called to tell me they only had one dress they could send me. I was unsure of the sizing, so I selected another dress, a gold sparkly Badgley Mischka. The dresses arrived the next day as planned, but RTR was cool enough to send me both sparkly gold dresses and this sparkly blue in the one size they did have. Surprisingly to me, the blue fit - I was sure it would be too tight or not long enough. Both were just fine. I typically wear a 6 and I'm almost 5'9" so wearing a 4R was kind of awesome :) I will say though, the dress draping must have gotten flipped around when it was shipped and I COULD NOT figure out how to wear it for, I kid you not, 25 minutes. I finally figured it out after staring at the picture on RTR! Once I got it figured out, I was very happy with the dress. I was not irritated by the sequins and I was complimented on all night in the days to follow when pictures popped up on Facebook. I wore this to my husband's Marine Corps Ball and found it to be very tasteful, elegant and fun - very appropriate for the Ball!
Lori
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6643
Dec 17, 2012
The reactions I got from the other guests at the wedding!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There is a bit of stretch, so it's so comfortable!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 10, 2012
Gorgeous. Glam. Sexy.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely loved this dress – wore it to an opening night and received tons of compliments on it. Incredibly flattering and just so pretty. Wore the 2 Long and it was perfect; I’m 5’7” and my heels were 3.5-4” (I don’t know exactly – but I could have gone a little higher with the heels and still been ok.)
Dawn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6634
Nov 26, 2012
Wonderful and forgiving dress!!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First, Rent the Runway has amazing customer service and organization. I chose the next day arrival option and received it by the next afternoon. As for the dress, it was beyond my expectations. It had stretch, but ran true to size. The color was a grayish blue - exactly as pictured. Also, this dress hides a multitude of sins, so if you're self-conscious about your size (as I am) this dress will make you feel beautiful. It managed to be sexy without being loud, and elegant without being conservative. I highly recommend this dress, but more than anything I am sold on Rent the Runway. I will continue to rent here exclusively for formal events.
Ruth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Nov 24, 2012
Avoided the hassle of in-store shopping and investing in a one-time wear.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: - Ability to try the dress on prior to the event - Ease of delivery and return - Received many compliments on the dress Con: - Dress was only in one length, had to use hem tape Fit: - Ran small, normally a 6, wore an 8
Ranyah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Nov 20, 2012
wore this for my sisters wedding, it turned out wonderful and looked great on!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
pros- definitely stands out, easy to put on, can wear any bra you want cons- was scared to snag it, and it was long on me even with heals and Im 5'2 (still danced though)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress