Badgley Mischka

American Liberty Gown

$70 rental
$615 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look and feel like a million dollars wearing this Badgley Mischka sequin sensation gown to the gala. A showstopping style! Shown here with the Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet and Ciner's Sapphire Diana Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy sequins (100% Nylon). One shoulder with single flutter sleeve. Cowl neckline. Straight skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (100% polyester). Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

121 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 108
Large 2
Photos 93
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Gorgeous gown

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this gown and another one as back up to attend my husband's Marine Corps Ball. I ended up wearing the other dress, but this one was beautiful. The 8L wasn't available, so I got the 6L and 10L. The 6L fit, but was pretty snug... and the piece of fabric on the right shoulder was not the same as in the picture. This dress had the same straps on both shoulders. The 10L fit much better, but was very fitted on my butt. The dress is heavy because of all of the sequins.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

This dress was beautiful, with sequences covering the entire dress.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. I needed a "Bump Friendly" dress as I was 8 weeks pregnant with my second child and had a small bump. The dress fits tight but because of all the sequences you could not notice any belly. I ordered the long which works well with heels but if you plan to wear flats do not order the long as you will be stepping on it all night. The blue color is beautiful and you cannot get the true depth of the royal blue through the picture shown.
Ruth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

The color was stunning and feel was fabulous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it ran a little small compared to other things I have rented. It was very comfortable, elegant yet festive.
Ashlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 5, 2013

This was a back up dress. I did try it on, but didn't actually wear it.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit true to size. It is very huggy around your curves so if you are curvy and want to show that off, this is the dress for you. I can also see this dress looking great on someone who may not be as curvy but has a large bust where some formal dresses are not forgiving, this one would be great!
sheila123
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Very comfortable.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'9" and was worried about the length because I didn't want to wear 4 in heels. Perfect length with 2" heels. Didn't have to wear a strapless bra!!!! So in a nutshell, Awesome dress!!!!
T
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2013

Gown was comfortable, truly elegant, perfect amount of glitz w/o being too flashy, admired by many.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was perfect, usually wear 2 or 4 depending on brand.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

I didn't wear the dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress. I didn't end up wearing it because the other dress looked better. The fabric has quite a lot of give, and so it fit well, but this dress had so much sparkle/wow factor that I would have worn it if it were a size 12. At a size 10 the draping was a little short because of my bust, and I would have preferred more draping so it looked more like the picture.
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

My first rtr experience

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I tried this dress on in the showroom and after so many misses this was the only dress that made sense. I loved how I felt in it... I felt fancy... But after a while that cowl on the shoulder started to irritate me as the night progressively got more dancey drunky sweatyness. But in the beginning I definitely adored it. Flattering. Stretchy. Clings just the right way.
Jeanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Felt great in the dress. It has a lot of bling to it!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits great size 8R and I am typically an 8 or smaller - I am only 5' tall but it was ideal length. The fabric has some stretch in it so it was comfortable ...everyone loved it!
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Couldn't figure out how to get this dress on properly. Too bad, since it looks beautiful in photos.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore my back-up gown which fortunately worked perfectly!
sdmom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 23, 2013

I WOULD RENT THIS DRESS AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress. Fit like a glove. Received so many compliments. Covers the "mummy tummy" with style. The 4L was the perfect length with 4 in heels. Navy color was rich and beautiful...very slimming too.
Caffeine Jolt
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 1, 2013

Too over the top for Seattle

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had to try it out, but ended up wearing the other dress style i picked out. It was nice, fit well, would hide any unseemly areas well but was just too over the top for me... maybe another time.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

Perfection!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect, very flattering in all the right places. I am short and I didn't have to wear 4" heels to make it work. It hid a bit of a tummy and was a little lighter in color than it looks in the picture. Someone even came up to me and told me I had the best dress in the room. I got compliments on it all night.
Hope
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Looked great

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
10R was a touch loose but still looked great
kerri
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

Loved this dress..all sparkly and FLATTERING

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved loved loved this dress. I ended up not wearing it (who knew I'd choose two spectacular dresses in one order?) but was sad that I didn't get a chance to. It's form fitting but completely flattering. I tend to have a straight figure and still haven't lost all the baby weight so form fitting looks blah on me. But not this one, the cut or the material is perfect. My husband loved it too. It was also long enough for me to wear 3 inch heels with it (I'm 5'9" so this is truly out of the ordinary). In the end, I didn't wear it simply because the other dress was great AND I was a bit concerned the sequins would chaffe my arms a bit. Not sure that's actually true, but I had to make a decision somehow!
sonja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Great formal dress

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress, as it was my back up. The color is great and the fit is great too. It was a drop tight around the middle but spanx can fix that lol. Works well if you have a large chest! I would definitely consider this dress again
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

I felt fabulous in this dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so flattering! It is classy and flashy at the same time.I am very skinny and straight but this dress made me look shapely. I wore it to a formal dinner at the Wynn in Las Vegas and it was perfect for that, even in a sea of high end formal wear. It is comfortable too; I was able to wear a regular bra and the armholes are cut just right so the sequins don't irritate...I was able to dance, no problem. I am a little over 5'4" and the length just brushed the floor (about 1/2") in 3" heels. I can't wait to have occasion to wear this one again.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 2, 2013

The dress was very comfortable and forgiving.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit. Ran long but I wore high heels and that made it not a big deal.
Cresta
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Back up dress.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This was my back up dress, and I had ordered it in 4L. While it looked fine on, it was extremely snug through the bust and on the short side. A 6 XL would have been a better fit had I opted to wear this dress. It doesn't show much in the photo, but there is shirring on the left hip which does create a nice curvy illusion for my rather straight waist and hip area. Definitely spans the age spectrum…I could see my mother in this dress, and possibly my daughter.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was a little too short for me with my 2 inch heels. Also, had a nice stretch making it easy to enjoy sitting, dancing, and eating (without feeling restricted)!!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

sparkly and get-me noticed

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think the dress fits true to size. Due to a snafu that was not the fault of RTR, I only received the size 14L and not the size 12L that I ordered as "my" size. I wore the size 14 with ease, because the fabric is so stretchy, but I would not have been surprised if the size 12 also fit. I wore a spanx slip underneath that did its job and a regular bra. The dress was just barely long enough, I work 1.5 inch heels and the dress cleared the floor by about 1/2 inch. One thing I wish I would have known, though it would not have made me not pick this dress, is about what is going on with the drapey bit at the neck of the dress. There is a panel on both the front and back that starts at the right strap (the non-sleeve side) and then drapes around, like a flap over your left breast and across your shoulder to create the sleeve. This is all the same sequin material as the rest of the dress. It does make the dress look a bit 'older' and I felt like it made me look more mature and less cute (I'm mid-40's so not ready to look too 'matronly' yet!). Overall, I liked the dress and received a ton of compliments and told everyone my RTR secret! I probably won't order it again, though.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

This dress was very flattering and had just enough sparkle!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was incredibly flattering. The length was perfect. It was my 'B' dress but I had to wear it because it just fit so nicely and hugged my curves (in a good way)!
Lee
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Gorgeous gown, form-fitting, surprisingly comfortable!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful, glamorous but understated. It was tight under my arms, but the draping made it unecessary for me to zip it all the way up (the zip is in the middle of the back), so it was no problem and the next size up would probably have been too loose elsewhere (didn't have time to try it on). Others have complained the gown is too long but it was fine with 2.5-inch heels -- maybe a tad long in the back but I held it up a little during dancing and it was fine.
Edes
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2014

Very flattering dress, but runs a bit short.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great! I normally wear a 10 or 12, depending on the dress. I ordered a 12L and a 14L, as it was a form fitting dress and I wanted to play it on the safe side. When the dress arrived I tried on the 12L and found it to fit perfectly everywhere , except for the length. It was too short to wear any sort of heels, and was even border line too short for flats (I am just under 5'9" so I'm on the tall side). Luckily I had the 14L back-up size. It was a bit loose around the middle, but still fit well since the fabric is one that looks small on the hanger, then stretches to fit. The length was still a bit too short to wear for my 3inch heels, but it pooled perfectly when I work flats. I would recommend this dress, just be prepared to wear flats if you're tall. It's classy and elegant.
Megs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Glitter & Glitz

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect. Not too tight, but definitely not slouchy either....it had a slimming effect to as a result of the oblique cut and fabric. LOVE LOVE LOVED it and danced the night away. This was my first RTR experience and I've already rented 4 more times since then (4mos ago) and continue to have great success!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I put the dress on and was instantly smitten. Very easy to wear. There was enough front padding/coverage that I went without a bra and was fine. The drapping is fantastic.
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
May 7, 2014

Friends

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is GORGEOUS and so flattering. I absolutely loved wearing it. It was my backup and I almost didn't try it on because I liked my first choice. I'm so glad I put it on. A former governor told me how much he liked it, and a gay man told me I looked beautiful -- is there a bigger compliment a girl can get?
Mrspriss
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
May 10, 2014

Easy to wear

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit really well. I didn't have to worry about it moving around or my bra strap showing. It was a little short on the length but other than that I got a lot of compliments and was pleased with the dress
dcmama
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Stunning dress turned this mommy into a classy lady

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was actually my back-up dress but once I tried it on I knew it was perfect. This dress is so forgiving. The fabric is stretchy, which usually means the dress looks too tight on me but there were no spots where this dress looked too tight. The ruching helped to hide my tummy, the draping was very flattering. I wore with 3 inch heels and it was the prefect length. I probably could have been comfortable in a 10 (but the 10 I ordered was in another style).
Hilary
Age: 24
Jul 8, 2014

Shimmer

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Incredible color and flattering fit! A bit worn upon close inspection, as expected. The price is right for a great statement at any formal!
katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 14, 2014

Wore it while 7 months pregnant and it looked amazing!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Had great stretch and flexibility which was needed because I was 7 months pregnant
Erica
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

It was a really nice, black tie wedding, so the dress was perfect.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was a very comfy fit, almost like a knit dress and the sequins did not catch or itch. I am 4 months with my second baby, but it fit the belly perfectly and still showed off what little waist I had. The off the shoulder sweep was nice, and made me feel a bit more comfortable about showing off my "mom arms". My only complaint was it did get a little toasty, due to the sewing in slip, but it was a great tradeoff for non-scratchy-fully-sequined gown.
DEBN
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Beautiful, classy, perfect dress for a formal event

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits like a glove. It felt beautiful on and people complimented me all night long. The fit was perfect and for the most part, it felt great all night. The one con would be that it was a little tight under the right arm and I chafed a little bit. Other than that, it was perfect and I felt amazing in it!
valgal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Fabulous fit and comfort.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Danced all night in it on cruise ship. Great color and love Badgley Mischka sizing.
SHW
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

I would never buy a sparkly dress, so renting was great!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got the 4R and 2L -- these were basically the same length. 2L fit, but was a little tight under the armpit and harder to zip up. 4R looked a bit looser but there's gathering at the waist so it worked out well. Drapes well, looked amazing, especially from the back.
Sheri
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Military ball

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Did not wear this one but it was nice.
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

beautiful and received lots of compliments. arm holes were a bit tight

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Size ran a little small, mainly in the arm area. overall very elegant. Stretchy fabric and great lines.
Colleen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Amazing dress. SO flattering. I got a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was almost perfect. I was a little surprised at how not long the size long ended up being. I felt a little weird with my feet half exposed. I'm 5'8" and had 3.5" patent wedges on, and wasn't planning on my shoes showing as much as they did. The color was gorgeous, and while there were a couple sequins falling off, it was impossible to tell because the whole thing was so sparkly. I would rent the same dress again just because of how flattering the cut and color were. I got so many compliments from strangers.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Fabulous alternate choice- will rent this again!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgeous, comfortable and flattering. If the first choice dress wasn't so perfect I would have been delighted to wear this gown. I am busty and found this dress to minimize the appearance as well as the waist whittling ruching gave emphasis to my shape. I was concerned about a full length sequin dress being heavy, uncomfortable or unflattering-Wrong! Absolutely stunning! Even my husband couldn't decide! You can wear your own regular bra and no more than a 3"heel for me with the 10R.
CC
Usually wears: 14
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

A great dress that solicited many compliments

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was exactly as described, A lovely silhouette and a great color for our black tie New Years Eve wedding event. The fit was truly perfect with the exception of the fact that it was long for a less than 5' lady. The armholes are cut well so there were no issues with undergarments showing. The neck and back are very complimentary and flattering. To top it off, it was very comfortable and held up well to a night of dancing. The dark blue color and sequins are helpful in disguising what Spankx did not. Would certainly suggest this dress to others! Works for a younger as well as a middle aged lady.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×