American Beauty Gown

$76 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk gracefully into the gala wearing this stunning Badgley Mischka navy ruched gown. A simple yet elegant choice for a night of bliss. Go with accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large28
True to Size56
Small0
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2015
Easy prays!
Dress fit perfect. Loved the color loved the necklace and bag as well. The compliments just kept coming.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 14, 2015
New Year's Eve.
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I wore my backup dress, which is the identical dress, only in black (Belle of the Ball Gown). This is a gorgeous dress, and it fit perfectly except it bagged around the waist at the zipper in the back. Enough to make it appear as If I had a tennis ball stuck inside the dress. There really was no way to correct it without altering, and so I went with the black backup which was perfect, albeit in a size 4r, and which fit exactly as the 2R in the blue. Perhaps it's simply the dress has been stretched out of shape with a lot of use? Dunno. But a really beautiful gown.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2015
I received a lot of compliments on this dress: it was truly simple elegance.
Definitely a deep deep navy as other reviewers noted. The regular size was slightly too short for me (I'm 5'5" and wore 3 1/2" heels)- I thought given the other reviews it would be too long, but that was not the case. The size 6 would have fit better, but because I could only order the petite, it was way too short so I had to wear the back-up, 8R. The style allows for you to wear a slightly larger or smaller fit though: it's definitely figure flattering.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
A great dress for the Military Ball!
I wore this dress to my husband's Saint Barbara's Military Ball and I could not have been happier with my choice! The dress is simple and elegant. I paired it with the Kenneth Jay Lane Bursting Baubles necklace. It is very comfortable to wear too. I ended up in the 6R, which is my normal size, and it fit perfectly. There is a nice stretch to the material so that it hugs your curves, yet the ruching is very forgiving for any lumps and bumps you might want to hide. After reading several reviews I went with the regular length (I am 5'8" and wore 4" heels) and it was perfect - the dress skimmed the top of my toes. My only caution would be that if you are between sizes to size down. My backup size was a 4R, however it was a looser fit than the 6R. My guess is that the smaller size had been worn more and was stretched out a bit, especially in the sleeves and shoulder area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2014
Beautiful and very comfortable.
I received many compliments and felt beautiful wearing the dress. It just hit the floor with 3 1/2" heels (perfect). I am 5'6' and weigh about 130 pounds with 32A chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2014
Gorgeous -- but too big/long!
First of all, if you're 5'2" or under, this dress probably won't work for you. I'm 5'2", and even in my tallest heels, this would have dragged. I thought I'd fit comfortably into a 4R, but it ended up being a little baggy -- I felt like if I wore it, it'd fall off all night! About 2 inches shorter and one size smaller and I would have adored it/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 15, 2014
I absolutely loved this gown! It felt incredible and was really comfortable!!
If I could have changed anything, I would have went with a size smaller. The top of the back part of the dress puckered a bit, I believe because it was a bit too big. It definitely runs larger than my normal size. Other than that, I have ZERO complaints!! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 2, 2014
Heavy fabric, runs large, but love the neck line!
Wore this for a black tie wedding. Unfortunately the next size down wasn't available. I'd lost a little weight recently, but not a whole dress size. The fabric is heavy, which unfortunately caused the dress to hang baggy and sack-like instead of hugging my waist like it might have in a size smaller. I was pulling it up a bit all night. The neck line, however, is to die for - very dramatic and works well with those big pieces of costume jewelry you never get to wear otherwise.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 23, 2014
This dress was amazing ! I received do many compliments.
The fit is snug, but not so snug that it can't hide flaws.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
I wore this dress to a formal charity event in the winter and loved it!
This dress runs true to size and the regular was a good length for 3" heels. the navy color is great for a winter event and the sleeves add a interesting touch to an otherwise simple dress. Would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 25, 2014
black tie Awards dinner
very dark blue color is nice. can't tell on website, but the entire body is layered with ruching, flattering. great fabric. the top runs very large and sit a little low on the chest so not a good dress for the small breasted (or size way down). the sleeves sit very low on the arm as well. mixed bag
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
July 16, 2014
Beautiful dress but heavy fabric stretches as it warms, my waist was lost in hanging sides.
I was at the Emmy Awards in LA and it was VERY hot. This heavy drapey fabric seemed to expand and stretch in the heat. I was swimming in the dress after a few hours, the sides stopped hugging my waist and just went straight up and down, if I pulled the fabric from the back, it looked like a great fitting gown on a good waist... but sadly I looked like a tube since I didn't go around all night with a giant claw hair-clip at the back of my dress to make it fitted at the waist (just kidding but this is a stylists' trick in photo shoots when you can't see the back). Go down a size and it is then probably perfect. I would wear this again, in a 12 short to an event in the fall or just not LA summer and it would be perfect. The dress is awesome, just get two sizes shipped for the extra few bucks. Being heavy right now I erred on the side of bigger sizing which was a mistake on my part. The dress is gorgeous though, I would wear it again in a smaller size for an equally formal event.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 26, 2014
Not for me
I rented this dress along with another because I couldn't decide. I didn't end up choosing to wear this one. The fabric was really heavy but not form fitting at all. I felt like the fabric looked and felt cheap. I was definitely happy that I had another dress to choose from for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
June 9, 2014
runs big. strange boning
will try again with a smaller size one day
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2014
Made my body look amazing!
I rented this dress as my backup, and although I didn't end up wearing it, it was stunning. I'm smaller in the chest area, so that part was a little baggy, but otherwise it fit perfectly. I almost always have to rent a long, but after reading the reviews for this dress I rented a regular. A long would have been way too long even in 5 inch heels. I will definitely rent this dress for my next black tie affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 28, 2014
The dress was beautiful for my prom! but was too big on top (I should have used fashion tape).
The dress looked great and I felt great in it. Only problem was it was too big on top and I should have used fashion tape to keep my cleavage from falling out. Also I needed someone to zip it up for me. But it really was beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2014
awesome dress! not as "hiding" as you think it would be, but great in pictures
would definitely recommend this to anyone
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
March 22, 2014
Elegant, Classic and Comfortable.
Needed a dress for a formal work function that was more conservative than what I had in my closet. This fit the bill perfectly. Dresses are a little worn, the zipper was a little pokey, but no biggie. I wore 5.5" heels so I went with the OL. Fabric didn't look overly high-end but ruching allowed me to eat seconds and not blink an eye!
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 24, 2014
My dress was delayed by UPS and the girls at RTR made sure I was taken care of ASAP! Love them!
The fit is true to size and it hugs and hides all of those places you don't want noticed. I enjoyed my dress, and I will definitely be using RTR again! #legacyball #bestcustomerserviceever
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
February 13, 2014
Did not end up wearing this one - wore the smaller size one. Beautiful dress though
Too long - not good for someone my height.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 29, 2014
I looked and felt beautiful!!!
I love my breast but I'm self conscious about my "pear figure". But this dress complemented everything!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2014
Highlights the good places and hides the rest
The dress fit beautifully. The roushing in the mid section hid what I wanted to hide. The dress accentuates the shoulders and bust line. The fabric stretches and is very comfortable. I got tons of complements and the dress was very easy to wear. The long worked well with 3 inch heels. There were no cons to the dress. Would definitely wear again.
JessicaJanuary 28, 2014
Go Pam!!! Beautiful!
AnneApril 29, 2014
Stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2013
After receiving the dress in the mail, I couldn't wait to wear it at the wedding. I felt beautiful!
The fit was flattering and comfortable. The navy is a deep blue almost black. I wore black leather heels (3 inches). I considered navy shoes, but because the blue was so deep, the black shoes were perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
I felt like royalty!
This dress was a stunner. It was very long, not just with a train and heels either. The dress I received had some wear & tear, but because of the rusching it was not noticeable. Gorgeous and very comfy. Danced the night through.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 59
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2013
Great dress. Lots of compliments
fit just right
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 2, 2013
Great dress, great fit! Unfortunately, it was too long.
It fit great. There was just one thing - it was WAY too long. I tried "rigging" it by using the style snaps to try and hold it up, but the fabric was so heavy that it pulled them all down. I couldn't walk or dance without holding up the end. Very distracting and disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 22, 2013
I LOVED THIS DRESS!
Very flatering. Very classy.Only Issue was that it is heavy and streched in length during the night, so I had to watch that I didn't step on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 6, 2013
"OMG YOU LOOK GORGEOUS!!!!" - I kept hearing all night
I rented the dark blue one for a wedding. The color of the actual dress was darker than in the picture. It was closer to black, but it's still a gorgeous dress. Fits well, flows nicely. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. It's very elegant and sophisticated. Highly recommend it. I had ladies ask me where I got it- so I referred them right to RTR!
RTR CustomerNovember 2, 2014
beautiful!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
October 25, 2013
Great looking dress
Loved the dress but it wasn't a perfect fit, the bodice was too long and kept riding up and even a regular length was very long. I still got lots of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 13, 2013
The dress fit well, but very long even with 4.5 inch platform heels
The dress has boning wires and when I received it they were bent in the wrong direction and the arms were a bit stretched out, but I was able to bend the wires and make it work. I received tons of compliments. My sister wore the purple Nicole Miller dress in 0R and I have worn it also and it fits even better! The length in Nicole miller 0R is more true to size, I'd say overall that badgley mischka just runs a touch larger and longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
I felt like a star without overshadowing the bride!
I felt so good in this dress because the fit was really awesome. I am pretty self conscious and i felt like the gathering was very flattering. the sleeves were really cool and kept me warm in the ultra AC but cool enough when dancing. Throughout the night it did start bunching up a bit, but i was dancing so much i hardly noticed!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2013
Many compliments
Extremely flattering, great for busty women. Hides all flaws along the tummy area.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2013
Disappointed about the issues described below and in other reviews, b/c it was perfect otherwise.
Beautiful fit but couldn't wear it because it was about 9 inches too long even with 4 inch heels. Also, as others have commented, there is a funky Quasimodo "bubble" that occurs in middle of back and it's very unattractive. Pulling dress down from bottom or any other adjustment would not make it go away. My husband thought it odd, too, so it just didn't make the cut
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 5, 2013
Dramatic and elegant
WHen I first took this dress out of the box I wasn't sure what to think -- as other reviewers have said, it is a VERY dark blue, plus I wasn't sure about the boning in the bust line. However, it turned out to be a terrific dress on. It was comfortable; the fit was sleek and yet forgiving; and I got compliments on the dress all night. As a G-cup, I especially appreciated being able to wear a strapless/off the shoulder dress without worrying about undue cleavage exposure; the support built into the bust might have looked odd from above, but from every other angle it looked fine, and it made sure I didn't have to do the endless strapless bra re-adjusting that is usually the case! The only caveats: As others have said, this dress runs VERY long. I got the regular, and even though I am 5'8" and wore 3-inch heels, I still felt like the dress trailed the floor a bit more than I would have desired. Also, it crumpled more in transit than I would have anticipated given the material. The crumples came out fine with a steamer, but anyone hoping to wear it on very short notice or take it with them on a trip should be aware. At any rate, the dress was absolutely fantastic and I'd highly recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2013
Dress was absolutely stunning. Many compliments.
You will need a higher heel than usual. A tad biy long , but lovely .
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 21, 2013
Absolutley amazing dress!
I wore this dress for my prom (surprise surprise) and everything about this dress was stunning; the color, the fit, and the style. I've never felt so confidant in any dress before, it's easliy the most flattering dress I've ever worn. The compliment i got the most was, "You look like a princess!". I would definitely reccomend this for an hourglass shape; the roucheing (probably not spelled right) and the fit were perfect for bringing out the best parts of my body.
Silly SwimmerSeptember 19, 2014
I'm shopping for my prom. What jewelry did you wear?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 1, 2013
Fit like a glove
This dress is very flattering. The side ruching gave it a close fit which accentuated my shape. The length allowed my toes to peep out in the front, and is a bit longer in back. I did have someone step in it once. A very dark blue. The strapless neckline held up perfectly and without the benefit of tape! Love love love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 231lbs
March 31, 2013
It was an amazing dress that I felt amazing in. Very flattering on a curvy body.
The material is very stretchy and forgiving. I usually wear a size 16W and I wish that I had been able to order the 14 as my back up but it wasn't available. I am a 36DD bust and the bodice was about 2 inches to large, but the arms were tight. The sleeves are attached in a way that allows for a great amount of movement. I am 5'8" and though RTR recommended the Tall, I ordered the regular and I was glad I did, even with my 3" heels I had to hold the dress up to walk in it. The stays in the bodice however were coming though on my dress and it made of a very painful night if I had to sit for any period of time. The plastic stays dug into my skin on both sides all night :( I hope that they inspect the dresses when they come back for minor repairs such as this but overall it was worth it for all the compliments I received on the dress, even from the bride :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 21, 2013
Super
Fit pretty in the body but I didn't care for the top
Size worn:
16R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
February 9, 2013
Elegant, comfortable dress.
I absolutely love the fabric and ruching on this dress! It is very comfortable and forgiving on the waistline. I was initially concerned about the fit being too tight, however it ran a bit large. Unfortunately I did not rent two sizes, and the 16R fit perfectly except it was WAY too big in the bust ( and I am a 36 C). I wore it anyways, but it was not very flattering in that area.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×