Rent the Runway

Badgley Mischka

American Beauty Gown

$95 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk gracefully into the gala wearing this stunning Badgley Mischka navy ruched gown. A simple yet elegant choice for a night of bliss. Go with accessories like the Dannijo's Marguerite Necklace, Kenneth Jay Lane's Sculpted Branch Cuff, and Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Also available in black and black sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - ruching detail conceals abdomen and can be very forgiving
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear with SPANX for additional cinch around waist and hips; dress has built-in boning and structure.
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 55
Large 28
Photos 41
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 187 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Gorgeous

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my back-up dress for an Army Ball. I didn't end up wearing it, since my first choice ended up being just perfect. This dress had boning in the bust for someone with a much larger endowment than mine, so that didn't work too well. Also, my shoulders are far too broad to look good in this cut. On a woman whose shoulders are narrower than her hips, this gown would be a stunner. The fabric is rich and heavy, and the cut is very forgiving of tummy rolls.
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 9, 2012

Back up dress

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this one, but loved it. The fit was gorgeous and forgiving. However, I am 5'9" and with heels it was still too long. It is also a very dark, almost black, navy and not at all as blue as the image shows.
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Apr 19, 2012

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I cannot count the number of times I was stopped and complimented on this gown (even by the bride!) - it fit so perfect and was very comfortable! Totally recommend!!!
Emmy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Apr 22, 2012

Definitely a Winner!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a charity event honoring my boss and had to find something that was elegant, classy and chic. This dress was it! I felt stunning. Very comfortable - the only observation, the material was thick (form fits you very comfortably), however since it was just a slight bit long I had to keep lifting it. Wasn't ideal for dancing but I give it a 10 for any formal evening gown affair.
Suzie
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
May 21, 2012

Fantastic

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party as I knew all my friends always dress nice. When I got there all eyes were on me I felt on top of the world, My husband kept complementing me saying I was the best dressed there . I love this dress and you will too. Shipping was fast and on time and return was effortless.I will definitely order again for my next event.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
May 29, 2012

Pretty good.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I chose the 'get a second gown for $25' option and ended up wearing that gown (Night in Barcelona) for my primary event in a two-event weekend. I saved this one for the Sunday night event because there was much less activity (no dancing, for example). It was really large-I ordered an 8 and a 10 and the 8 was a little too big-I could have done with a 6. It was definitely quite long and even with ridiculously high platforms (borrowed from my older teenager) I had to kick the hem out a bit when I walked. The boning in the bodice is, as reviewed by others, awkward. The color is gorgeous and the slight train in the back very glamorous. I did get some compliments but overall, was much more pleased with my 'backup' choice.
Kim
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 23, 2012

Flattering Dress!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my nephews wedding. I got so many compliments. I had shopped for a dress for months and did not find anything that fit me or looked the way I wanted it to. So last minute I rented this dress. This dress looked great and hid all the flaws. I read all the reviews and they were very helpful.
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Loved this dress

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was an incredible choice and I keep looking for an opportunity to rent it in another color! Gorgeous dress! I shared a picture of a sweet moment with my darling granddaughter...
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Pretty dress

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really liked this dress, but it ended up being too long. I ended up returning it and had excellent customer service.
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very simple, elegant and unique. Loved how it showed some neck and shoulder while hiding arm flab! Also the ruching at the waist is very flattering. Wished I had gone down from a 4 to a 2 though because the back of the dress stuck out a bit where the zipper was. I just used fashion tape though and you couldn't tell.
eve
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

The dress was perfect. It was very slimming and looked amazing on.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received so many compliments all night on this dress. The dress complimented my body.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Very nice dress... with some modifications

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress overall. It fit well and I loved the classic style. The color is very dark... pretty much black. I was hoping it would more blue. Also, this dress was VERY long. I had to pin up the sides of the dress even in very high heels.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

So classy!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on this dress at our annual holiday party.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Pretty dress but did not get to wear...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in a size 0L and 2L as a back-up. Unfortunately the zipper on the 0 would not budge so I could not really even try it on and the 2 had an odd lump in the back where the ruching hit the zipper. The dress is very pretty though and would have been perfect for my black-tie event.
Cate
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Dress came on time, fit amazingly

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I WISH I HAD FOUND THIS SITE SOONER!! I rented this dress last minute after purchasing 2 other dresses for a friends wedding. Both dresses that I bought were pretty, but didn't fit in one way or another. This dress arrived on time, fit BEAUTIFULLY, and was super comfortable! I was complemented all night long, and felt like a movie star! I recommend this site to everyone and will rent from it again soon!
Belle1115
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Being able to walk into the room and feel incredibly beautiful

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my second choice, and although I was skeptical at first, it completely won me over. The dress hugs your curves but in all the right ways. I'm an hourglass shape, so I tend to be wary of dresses that accentuate that, but this dress is a classic beauty. The quality of the material is well-made and the dress was in impeccable shape. I wore it all night, and although it was a bit too long for me, it was never a burden. It is truly a beautiful, classic dress.
paula
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 70
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

I only rented it to "try it" for a wedding down the road. It is VERY long... might order the 6R.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The 4L turned out to be a little short if I wanted to wear heels. But small in the bust. The 6L fit OK but the arms are a little awkward.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Oct 9, 2012

GREAT BEAUTIFUL CLASSY DRESS

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally rented this as a back-up but didn't wear it. At that time I had an 8L but it gathered a bit in the back. I later rented/wore it as a 6L and loved it. It is beautiful. The only negative could be the sleeves (you can't really raise your arms to high)...but realistically who does that too much at a black tie event! This dress comes in other colors - which I am sure are beautiful...but the navy blue great! I got so many compliments. It's fit makes it sexy - but the design keeps it conservative so perfect for my white tie event.
CECE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Perfect Fall wedding dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a Fall wedding and it was perfect. I am 5'5 and 150 lbs and usually am a size 8. This dress runs big due to the stretchy material so I was able to wear the backup size 6R. The length was long even with 4 inch platform heels on. The boning under the chest cups is a little uncomfortable, but not too bad for such a pretty dress! The color is a really dark blue, almost black. I wore it with the Gold Tetra Chain Earrings and Gold Heels. I highly recommend this dress, its sexy without being to revealing and is very flattering.
Mishka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

This wasn't the perfect dress for me, but it was definitely rocking glamorous movie-star style!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
First off, the dress was too long. I'm 5'9" and had on 3.5" heels and it dragged on the floor. It wasn't tripping-long, so I was still able to wear it, but it was noticeable. Second issue was that although the dress fit fine overall, there were serious issues with the zipper bunching in the middle part of the back. This might be because it is a rental and the zipper is weakening, but it bunched up repeatedly throughout the night and looked like i had a big lump of who-knows-what shoved in my dress. The bridal party ended up helping me belt it in the bathroom with a shawl. That said, i did get a bunch of compliments throughout the night. So, I'd say the dress was not a total "win," but definitely not a "lose" either.
Jane
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 16, 2013

Wow factor!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was incredibly comfortable, but still drop dead gorgeous - I got a ton of compliments. I think the bareness on top is a definite wow factor. The dress ran a little large - I ordered the 10, with the 12 as my backup (as most designer dresses don't follow the Banana Republic "make you feel better sizing" (I'm pretty sure I'm not a size 6 in other worlds) but could easily have worn an 8 in this size. Note for those of who are a little busty on top: if you lean forward, the dress does tend to gap a bit and show some generous cleavage that isn't apparent from the picture or when you're just looking into a mirror. I discovered that when I went to the bathroom and leaned forward to put on lipstick. Also, I'm 5'5", but got the long size as I wore five inch heels with the dress. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Yael
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 21, 2013

beautiful dress

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
beautiful dress
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

I really enjoyed the rent the runway experience. the process is very seamless. will rent again!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the dress is really nice, its a heavy material which is great! not flimsy or thin. my only complaint is that the dress is NOT as blue in person as it is in the picture. it is a VERY dark navy blue, not the royal blue like the picture. still a nice dress and it was easy to move in. my arms were a little restricted, but not so much that i couldnt dance.
Rose
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 29, 2013

Beautiful dress, but show signs of wear.

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My only discomfort was the dress insert was fitted for a bigger brested women.
Jen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Love it..very flattering!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
great fit
Tarah
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220 lbs
Feb 9, 2013

Elegant, comfortable dress.

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely love the fabric and ruching on this dress! It is very comfortable and forgiving on the waistline. I was initially concerned about the fit being too tight, however it ran a bit large. Unfortunately I did not rent two sizes, and the 16R fit perfectly except it was WAY too big in the bust ( and I am a 36 C). I wore it anyways, but it was not very flattering in that area.
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Feb 21, 2013

Super

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit pretty in the body but I didn't care for the top
Amanda
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 231 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

It was an amazing dress that I felt amazing in. Very flattering on a curvy body.

Size worn: 16R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The material is very stretchy and forgiving. I usually wear a size 16W and I wish that I had been able to order the 14 as my back up but it wasn't available. I am a 36DD bust and the bodice was about 2 inches to large, but the arms were tight. The sleeves are attached in a way that allows for a great amount of movement. I am 5'8" and though RTR recommended the Tall, I ordered the regular and I was glad I did, even with my 3" heels I had to hold the dress up to walk in it. The stays in the bodice however were coming though on my dress and it made of a very painful night if I had to sit for any period of time. The plastic stays dug into my skin on both sides all night :( I hope that they inspect the dresses when they come back for minor repairs such as this but overall it was worth it for all the compliments I received on the dress, even from the bride :)
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2013

Dress was absolutely stunning. Many compliments.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
You will need a higher heel than usual. A tad biy long , but lovely .
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 5, 2013

Dramatic and elegant

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
WHen I first took this dress out of the box I wasn't sure what to think -- as other reviewers have said, it is a VERY dark blue, plus I wasn't sure about the boning in the bust line. However, it turned out to be a terrific dress on. It was comfortable; the fit was sleek and yet forgiving; and I got compliments on the dress all night. As a G-cup, I especially appreciated being able to wear a strapless/off the shoulder dress without worrying about undue cleavage exposure; the support built into the bust might have looked odd from above, but from every other angle it looked fine, and it made sure I didn't have to do the endless strapless bra re-adjusting that is usually the case! The only caveats: As others have said, this dress runs VERY long. I got the regular, and even though I am 5'8" and wore 3-inch heels, I still felt like the dress trailed the floor a bit more than I would have desired. Also, it crumpled more in transit than I would have anticipated given the material. The crumples came out fine with a steamer, but anyone hoping to wear it on very short notice or take it with them on a trip should be aware. At any rate, the dress was absolutely fantastic and I'd highly recommend it.
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
May 19, 2013

Disappointed about the issues described below and in other reviews, b/c it was perfect otherwise.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful fit but couldn't wear it because it was about 9 inches too long even with 4 inch heels. Also, as others have commented, there is a funky Quasimodo "bubble" that occurs in middle of back and it's very unattractive. Pulling dress down from bottom or any other adjustment would not make it go away. My husband thought it odd, too, so it just didn't make the cut
Martha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Many compliments

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Extremely flattering, great for busty women. Hides all flaws along the tummy area.
KatieKates
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 19, 2013

I felt like a star without overshadowing the bride!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt so good in this dress because the fit was really awesome. I am pretty self conscious and i felt like the gathering was very flattering. the sleeves were really cool and kept me warm in the ultra AC but cool enough when dancing. Throughout the night it did start bunching up a bit, but i was dancing so much i hardly noticed!
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 25, 2013

Great looking dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress but it wasn't a perfect fit, the bodice was too long and kept riding up and even a regular length was very long. I still got lots of compliments on it.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

I LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very flatering. Very classy.Only Issue was that it is heavy and streched in length during the night, so I had to watch that I didn't step on it.
Tiana
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Great dress, great fit! Unfortunately, it was too long.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit great. There was just one thing - it was WAY too long. I tried "rigging" it by using the style snaps to try and hold it up, but the fabric was so heavy that it pulled them all down. I couldn't walk or dance without holding up the end. Very distracting and disappointing.
W
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 3, 2013

Great dress. Lots of compliments

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit just right
Chef Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

I felt like royalty!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a stunner. It was very long, not just with a train and heels either. The dress I received had some wear & tear, but because of the rusching it was not noticeable. Gorgeous and very comfy. Danced the night through.
Bling gal
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Feb 13, 2014

Did not end up wearing this one - wore the smaller size one. Beautiful dress though

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Too long - not good for someone my height.
***
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Elegant, Classic and Comfortable.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Needed a dress for a formal work function that was more conservative than what I had in my closet. This fit the bill perfectly. Dresses are a little worn, the zipper was a little pokey, but no biggie. I wore 5.5" heels so I went with the OL. Fabric didn't look overly high-end but ruching allowed me to eat seconds and not blink an eye!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×