Badgley Mischka

Alluring Aqua Gown

$110 rental
$725 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Make an beautiful black tie entrance in this alluring aqua gown from Badgley Mischka. Shown here with Dannijo's Anya Cuff

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted through thighs but slightly flares below knees
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3.5” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Aqua matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
149 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(19)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 7, 2014
Form-fitting!
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. The color was beautiful! Very form fitting around the hip area!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 31, 2014
I wore this dress to my husband's Christmas party and felt so elegant in this dress!
Some of the paint from the beadint was scratched off, but it was barely noticeable. I received so many compliments on my dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
August 26, 2014
I felt like a grecian goddess!
I had a 'black tie optional' wedding to go to. My SO was in the wedding, so I wanted a longer dress to go with him being in a tux. Fit was wonderful. Hugged my curves in all the right places. I got compliments all night for it. I'm petite and wore not very high heels with it, and it skimmed the floor, but as the night went on (with dancing), I felt like I had to pick up the dress more.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2014
Felt like a Princess in this dress and got compliments all night!
True to size, form fitting in the hip area, so if you are on the hippy side it may not look as sleek as you would like. Beautiful, vibrant color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
October 6, 2010
This dress was incredible. It was very light and airy, perfect for a Southern California wedding. Best piece of advice is to have your measurements and go by that, not dress size. I'm normally a 10, but that would have been too tight. I'm very glad I ended up with the 12.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Body type: Pear
October 31, 2010
This was my backup dress, but I thought the color and style were very pretty. I wouldn't consider it a stunner, but it's a solid, appropriate formal gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 3, 2010
Stunning, but smalll
Thank god for the back-up size! I'm usually a 0, but wore the 2. I could have gone up to a 4. Definitely European sizes. Otherwise, I loved the dress. It photographs beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
November 3, 2010
One of the best dresses I have ever worn
An absolutely gorgeous dress that hugs your body like a second skin in a flattering and smooth fit. I received nothing but compliments and felt entirely overdressed on the subway, but nothing but appropriate at a very fancy black-tie dinner. The only mild drawback was the ample length (trip hazard), likely as I had selected the "L" size - try the regular next time ? I love Badgley Mischka anyway, but this is one of their best pieces and a dress I would definitely like to own.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 15, 2010
I searched high and low for a great dress for a black tie event and none compared to this one! It is so elegant and breath taking. It is light weight and moves perfectly. I would rent this dress again in a heart beat!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2010
This dress was outstanding. It fit like a glove and looked amazing. I weighed 117 the day I wore the dress and the zero was perfect. I wore a 3 1/4 quarter heel which worked very well for the length of the dress. The material is strong but forgiving enough to dance with ease. I would strongly recommend this gown.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 22, 2010
I rented this dress for a scholarship & awards gala at The Plaza hotel in October 2010. I received compliments all night! The size 8 fit perfectly, the color is super flattering, and b/c of the material, the dress is beyond comfortable. I wholeheartedly loved this dress. (And, it doesn't hurt that I saw a well-respected, film actress in the same dress a few weeks later for a film premiere. ; )) Thx RTR!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
December 18, 2010
This dress was beautiful and I received many compliments at the black tie event I attended. I thought it ran a little small. The dress is VERY fitted, but flattering. I normally wear a 2 or 4 and those were the sizes I ordered. Should have ordered a 4 and 6 as the size 4 was still a little snug. But still a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2011
It was a great dress to look different than everyone else but not stand out too much with something
Wore this dress to a black tie event and received many compliments. I normally wear a size 10 and was a little scared that it would be small, but it fit perfect and I actually had a little room around the chest. Wore it with simple earrings, and a cuff from here which worked out great.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 25, 2011
I wore this dress dress to a plush affair and recieved so many compliments. The sizing is very accurate. The color was more teal in person but photographed aqua. The dress was so comfortable as well. I was extremely pleased with my rental!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
February 4, 2011
This dress is stunning! I wore it to a black tie function and received so many compliments. I stood out in a room full of black dresses. Length was perfect in front with a 3-4 inch heel. I ended up wearing the size 0 because I wanted it to be more snug--but the size 2 would have worked as well. Very comfortable material.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
February 9, 2011
This was going to be my primary dress but the weather prohibited the size I needed from getting in on time. Customer service quickly called and informed me of the problem and helped me pick another dress just in case. This dress did come in with my (just in case dress) however it was a little too loose up top. I needed the 2R and I recieved the 4R which was the back up size. I tried the 4R on and it was very beautiful and flattering. I would suggest not wearing earrings that are too gaudy because the beaded side is almost jewelry by itself. I would like to wear this dress again (but in the right size and maybe outside of my apartment). But overall the renting experience was fantastic!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 14, 2011
All I can say is FAB-U-LOUS!! I wore this gown to a formal ball. The color of this gown is stunning. Definitely a peacock teal. This gown said BOR-ING to the sea of black dresses at my event! Thanks RTR?? BTW This was my first time renting and I am suucch the perfectionist. Two days before my event I was really second guessing my decision to literally get a gown the day before my event – not having tried it on a dozen times to make sure everyting was perfect…Best decision ever?! If something did happen the staff at RTR – consummate professionals. You cannot go wrong?!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
March 20, 2011
I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras ball and it was absolutely fabulous. I received many compliments. The color of the gown on the website does not give it justice. THe color is much deeper. Very nice! I ordered an 8 regular and a 6 long. The 6 long was perfect! The regular length did not even hit my ankles. I also ordered the braclet shown on the model in the picture. Again, fabulous!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2011
Loved this dress! I normally wear a 2 but RTR only had a 4 available, and it fit well. The 4R was a bit too short for my preferences, so I wore the 4L I ordered as a backup. This dress is incredibly flattering, accentuating the hourglass figure. I loved this dress, and so did everyone else I spoke to at the event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2011
I loved this dress! It was so flattering and comfortable. It was a perfect choice for a no fuss, beautiful dress to wear to a black tie event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2011
Glamariffic!
I loved this dress and felt very glamorous wearing it. I ended up wearing a size larger than I normally wear because my normal dress size was a bit tight for my liking. The dress itself is not very forgiving - thank goodness for spanks! Also, I ordered the dress in long and it definitely dragged on the floor a bit ... even in 4 inch heels. I received tons of compliments and I'm glad I opted for a vibrant color versus the normal black dress.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
April 10, 2011
Omg 3/9/11 was my prom day! and the dress was a hit! The love the color and the draping! A+++
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Body type: Pear
April 12, 2011
Elegant evening out auction... Glad I ordered long with 4in heels. Loved it, received numerous complimentary reactions.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2011
I loved this dress soo much. I wore it for prom recently, and everyone ADORED it. I was worried about getting the 12L because since I'm short, it would be really long. But when I tried it on, it was perfect! Perhaps it were my curvy hips I'm not sure. But overall I loved the fit, the colour everything! I'm definately using this website again! :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
This dress was gorgeous!! I wore it to a formal Army dinner and it was perfect. I got the 4L and it fit perfect except for it being a little long...even with 3 inch heels. It is also very comfortable which was nice!! It is such an elegant dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 20, 2011
ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS DRESS!!!! soooo sexy! i fyou want to pull it off however, make sure you dont have a belly, because it is tight! great for skinny girls, really shows off you bottom and just makes you sexy all around! lol also, it is so sophisticated looking, incredible!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
May 23, 2011
Rented this dress as my primary dress for a prom and ended up not being able to wear it. It just didn't fit my body right and the zipper looked odd. It wouldn't lay down right. Also some of the beads were missing from the shoulder.
AshbyOctober 20, 2015
You are wonderful! Thank you!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011
This dress was perfect! It hugged in all the right places (with the help of a shaper). In my opinion this dress would compliment every body type.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 28, 2011
WOW! this dress is sure to be a hit at any formal affair. The material skims the body perfectly, and paired with some chandelier earrings and a simple cuff, you are gonna make all the other ladies in black jealous! I would rent this again in a heartbeat if there weren't so many others to choose from. Perfect fit and ran true to size
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
June 22, 2011
I LOVED this dress. I wore it for the Carpet of a Movie I worked production on. I turned a lot of heads, got a lot of compliments and a role in that production companies next movie. I got the extra length and wore 5 inch heels and it was a wee bit too long, but manageable. The Fabric is so lux, it clings but still manages to hide the lumps and bumps that need hiding. Simply gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
June 27, 2011
This dress was so beautiful and elegant. I wore this to a black tie affair and received so many compliments. I wore this dress with 4" heels and it was still long enough to "puddle" at the floor - looked like the dress was made just for me. In a sea of black dresses, you will definitely get some attention! You will not go wrong with this one.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Full Bust
July 13, 2011
Another statement dress...my fiance said when I turned the corner he was speechless and WOW my fiance looks beautiful!!!! Unforgettable dress at an unforgettable wedding. Very fitted dress to let you flaunt your curves! I normally wear a 4 but for comfort I wore the 6. Wear some Spanx so you don't show any panty lines. All the ladies were impressed how seamless the dress looked! So excited that this rental worked out once again another wonderful rental.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 15, 2011
I'm between a 0 and a 2 depending on the brand, and ended up wearing the 0. It's a flattering fabric. Lots of compliments on the dress and I actually felt like I belonged on the red carpet.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
July 20, 2011
I got this dress for a wedding and felt like a million bucks. I received compliments from everyone, including the bride. Because of the beading detail you don't need many accessories- I wore a cuff bracelet (like in the picture) and basic studs. The dress fit perfectly however I must note: I thought the "top" portion was big for me and was showing the side of my bra. After making sure that the shoulder strap was pulled more toward the shoulder and away from the neck it solved that problem. I wish I could own this!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 21, 2011
Loved this dress! Received sooo many compliments the entire evening. My measurements are 34-25-37 and I rented the 2 long. Only place the dress was a tad big was the waist, and, shows every curve....so beware if you are not wanting a super clingy dress. All other areas it fit perfectly-and with a 4.5 inch heel the length was great! By the end of the night it seemed to stretch a tiny bit, but, that's due to the jersey material. If you want to be noticed while maintaining glamour yet comfort this is YOUR dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
August 1, 2011
It was so easy!!!!! This was my first rental and I've rented 3 more dresses since.
I loved this dress!!! I originally picked a size 4L and it was short and baggy, the size 2L fit like a glove!!! I wore it to a black tie christmas gala and received so many compliments. I felt like a movie star, people I didn't know were telling me I looked incredible and asking me about my dress. Very comfortable to wear as well.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
August 31, 2011
This dress is amazing! I wore it to a black tie wedding, and it was perfect. I am usually an 8, and I rented an 8 Long and it fit perfectly with 4'' heels - it just about covered my shoes but not too much and did not drag on the floor. The fit is amazing and I received compliments all night. The color stands out in a sea of black dresses - looooved it! Would highly recommend this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2011
I LOVED this dress and So did everyone else!! I ordered an 8R and the length was perfect.. If you want your feet covered, order a size L but the dress might drag from the back...Also, the top was a little big so a nice Push-up bra will solve the problem.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
October 19, 2011
Not having many chances to get all dolled up, I jumped at the chance to FINALLY rent a dress and I couldn't have made a better choice for my first rental. The dress was extremely flattering and if your bootie is larger than most, this is the dress for you! The fit was so flattering although the top was the tinest bit loose. The beading was beautiful on the shoulder and the dress just skimmed the floor in the size 8R. The 6R was a little bit tighter, better fitting on the top but too short with heels. I got comments all night on what a beautiful dress it was and how I looked like I belonged at the Oscar's! I event got referred to as looking like a queen! Would definitely choose this in other colors for upcoming events!!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2011
Beautiful dress! Runs true to size but do note that it does run short. I planned on wearing short heels so I ordered the 4R. I am 5' 4 1/2" and it was too short in bare feet. Thankfully I ordered a backup.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×