Badgley Mischka

Alluring Aqua Gown

$110 rental
$725 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Make an beautiful black tie entrance in this alluring aqua gown from Badgley Mischka. Shown here with Dannijo's Anya Cuff

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout - fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted through thighs but slightly flares below knees
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3.5” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Aqua matte jersey. Asymmetric neckline with beading detail at shoulder. Ruched bodice with draping detail on back. Hidden side zip. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
149 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(122)
Small
(19)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2012
Amazing dress, perfect for formal occasions!
I wore this for my brother's wedding and I got lots of compliments. It fit perfectly and I felt very comfortable in it. I'm 5'2" and I wore 4 inch heels and the length was just right. The dress is a little heavy but it wasn't too much of a hassle. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
This dress is beautiful, I received so many compliments!
I love this dress, but it is VERY fitted. I had to go out and buy very high waisted Spanx to make sure I was all sucked in because the fabric isn't very forgiving. The material is thick and high quality but the shape of the dress leaves no room for flaws! I am 5'2" and with 3" heels the regular length was perfect so taller girls definitely should rent the longer length. The top was a little roomy but I have a small bust. I would have preferred to wear the size 4 for a little extra room, instead of the 2 that I wound up wearing, but the top portion was way too big so I had to wear the smaller size.
NancyApril 28, 2013
The dress looks very fitted on you. i was wondering if you recommend spanx.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 27, 2012
I felt very elegant in this dress!
At the time that I wore this dress, I was heavier than I am now. I wore it for a gala event back in March of 2012. I had ordered the 8L and the 10L to see which one fit best. I didn't even have to try on the 10L, because the 8L was a perfect fit to my figure at the time. I loved the way the dress just dropped on my body and being stretchy wasn't necessary on the fabric. The length was perfect for me, since I tend to wear 4 to 5 inch heels, being 5'6. The dress really was a beautiful dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2012
Great First Experience w/RTR!
This was the first dress I rented through RTR in 2010. I immediately fell in this with the color and the beading on the shoulder. This review would have garnered 5/5 stars except for the fact that RTR combined my billing and shipping address for my shipping address. I was supposed to receive the dress the day before my 7 hour drive to my event and UPS was not able to deliver because of this error. I ended up having to leave at 6 in the morning and drive out of the way to the UPS hub to pick it up and drove w/o ever trying it on. I'm usually a 2L but for this the 0L fit better. The dress fit fantastic against me and it felt amazing in it. My only advice though for smaller chested girls would be to wear some padding because it flattens you out a bit. Otherwise it was a great choice and minus a minor snafu a great first experience! I paired this dress with silver drop earrings, a over-sized silver cocktail ring, silver clutch and heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect Mardi Gras ball dress!!
Ordered a 0 and 2...should have ordered 2 and 4. The 2 fit, but it was snug and the fabric is clingy - may have been more comfortable in a 4 since there was dinner:) I received so many comments - loved the entire outfit! Perfect Mardi Gras Ball dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 1, 2012
I got SO many compliments wearing this dress!
I normally wear a 2 so the dress size was perfect. Some things you should know is that fit is more of a mermaid fit. I wasn't aware of that. From the picture it seemed looser from the hips down, but for me it fit a little tighter from the hips to the knees. Also, just as an FYI, the bottom of the dress is shorter in the front than back. These were some things that caught me off guard only because I wasn't expecting it, but the dress still worked out great for the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 2, 2012
Compliments all evening long.
This dress is long! The "crease" in the picture where my finger tips reach is a result of me constantly pulling the dress up so I could walk. I am short and even with 4 inch heels, this dress was very long. Still, it was quite beautiful. The Spanx and strapless bra were essential. Sometimes I can get away without the Spanx but this dress showed the bumps and lumps. Though I think the general style is age approriate (I am 40), I don't think I would do the material again. Sequins and folds and rauching seem to be more forgiving. Still, I loved the dress and felt beautiful all night long in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 3, 2012
I was called the Michelle Obama of the evening!!
It fits like a glove! I'm 5'4 and wore 3inch heels the slight train just brushed the floor (careful climbing and descending stairs) the gown was also easy to dance in. I also carried the Whiting Davis Gold Mesh Clutch which complimented my sparkling gold shoes, bracelets and earrings. Thanks enhancing my beauty and for making the evening so memorable I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 17, 2012
THIS gown carred me through an emotional speech with grace, dignity, and class!
I was asked to give an address about Violence Against Women - a topic deeply important to me - at a DC area "Inspiring Women" benefit, and this dress was the perfect choice. Not only did I speak with confidence in front of hundreds of prominent Washingtonians, the fundraiser was a huge success, raising over $318,000 to help women, men, and families in need in the DC area gain access to mental health counseling. While the topic wasn't easy to address, I felt confident, secure, and strong, partly due to the fact that I was wearing something beautiful and memorable. Thanks RTR - I learned that looking good = feeling good, and hopefully helped some deserving people along the way!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 22, 2012
Dress made me feel and look elegant like Audrey Hepburn in My Fair Lady.
This dress is true to size and fits like a glove. There's a little give in the fabric but not too much. The color is a beautiful teal. The dress is floor length and manageable with 3" heels. Paired this with bold earrings and bracelet cuff.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
January 1, 2013
Beautiful dress with beading detail. Very romantic.
The dress was quite fitted which made it difficult to wear any sort of shapewear underneath because all the seams would show through. It was a cold, windy evening , so I wanted to have an extra layer for warmth. I ended up wearing professional-grade footless dance tights underneath. The waistband of which could be slightly seen under my bust but not enough for anyone to notice (I hope). I am 5'4" and I wore 5" heels (including platform) and it was just enough to not let the dress drag on the floor. Still I had to be careful when walking and dancing because the dress would sometimes get caught in the heel and trip me up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 3, 2013
I got so many compliments! Everyone loved the unique color, I definitely stood out!
Fits true to size, not recommended for bigger busted girls, even the Regular can run a little long for us shorter girls (im 5'2") so def wear 4 in heels or higher, I wore 3 in ones and I had to lift the dress at times. Very flattering, smoothing effect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
great dress
beautiful detail. would have gone a size smaller had i known the fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2013
This was my first rent the runway experience and it was great
I was very nervous about the length because I'm very short and petite, but it was a great fit! It hugged every curve perfectly, yet I could still move around. With about a 3" heel, the length of the 2S was great, with just a little puddle as seen in the picture. Not a fabric expert, but the fabric was surprisingly more like a mesh/jersey material than I was expecting, but it ended up being great as it definitely allowed for some flexibility
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2013
Beautiful shape / bead work, very fitted, but the regular length was too short.
I rented 6 dresses total to choose from for a big formal event. This would have been my top pick had it not been for the regular size running too short. I am 5'1'', but this was too short with 3 inch heels, plus it was on the tight side (all other size 0 normally fit perfectly on me). If it was longer, I would have chosen this. Having said that, the shape, bead work was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2013
Never received it!
Due to Hurricane Sandy, I never received the dress :(
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 24, 2013
I got so many compliments on this STUNNING dress!
I am on the shorter size (5'3") and the 0R was a bit too short for me to wear with any of the heels I had. I would have gotten the OL, but it was not available. Because it was just a tad too short, I found myself tugging on it to make it longer. The rest of the dress was perfect though! I loved it and so did my boyfriend!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
pretty dress
This is a gorgeous dress but very snug. I wish I would have had the size 4. I am normally a 0-2 in dresses but this one ran pretty tight. I could have worn the size 2 but would have been a bit self conscience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2013
Great dress! Beautiful, rich color
The fit of the dress is snug. It hugs in all the right places, but you might want to go a size up if you don't want it to fit too tight. I ordered the 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 2. I wished I had the 4 to see what it had fit like. I thought the color was prettier in person than on the website. It is a rich aqua, that is a beautiful. The length was perfect with heels, and had a short train that was gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2013
Didn't get to wear it :(
I love this dress, but because of hurricane Sandy, it did not come in time for my event
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
The back of this dress is beautiful
It just hugs your curves
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 12, 2013
This was a great dress for a wedding!
The best part about this dress was that it came in a long size. It's so hard to find long floor length dresses when you're tall so I was really happy with this one. The color was beautiful and it was long enough for me to wear heels. I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I was glad I got the 10L. I am 5'8" it was just barely long enough with 2" heels. I usually wear 3-4" heels so I was surprised when most of the comments said it ran long. The top was a little too big and I am a C cup. The tape they provided was very helpful along with a strapless bra and spanx for the under garments. Excellent dress for the hourglass figure! Highly recommend it!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress is so spectacular and I was the only one at the prom that was wearing it.
The fit was perfect and I got the long. It is snug and body fitting so I bought a Spanx tummy control just for extra support.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2013
Very "va va va voom"! It hugs every curve and can really show off your assets!
I didn't wear this dress, it was my backup. The color is a little more green than blue, which is still lovely. It's very comfortable. Even though its super snug, you can move freely - the fabric is very "luxe". The dress is going to be unforgiving, even with spanx. You can smooth out the rolls/kinks, but you can't hide them in this dress. It's very chic and lovey.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 19, 2013
A dress that makes you feel regal.
The dress fit true to size and the color is so beautiful! It is a mermaid fit, so you move slow in the dress, but it gives people more time to notice it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2013
Last minute rental for black tie event
I found out that I was to attend a black tie event 4 days before the actual event, so naturally I turned to RTR. This dress was affordable to rent but looked very high end. I ordered the 2 regular and the 4 long (the only sizes close to mine available) and after reading the reviews, I'm glad I ordered the long, even though it was a size larger than I normally wear. The 2 regular was way too short, even in 1 1/2 in. heels and I'm not even tall! My only complaint about the dress is that it was a little hard to walk in because the fabric didn't give much, but I got by. I got a ton of compliments on the dress. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 17, 2013
I wore this for my daughter'wedding ...I received so many compliment ...
The fit was true to size ...color was amazing..will do again fore any other occasion !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2013
i look like a goddess in this dress unbelievable.
please wear a shaper this dress does not forgive true to size but totally worth it. i wish i could have kept this gown. look at how happy i am and confident and excuse the booty picture but the dress also has a vintage style cape its amazing you feel so glam and yeah rent it asap!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
It was so flattering. I received tons of compliments.
I usually wear a 6, but at the time I rented it there were no 6's available. So I ordered the 4 and the 8. The 4 fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2013
Glamorous gown for a black tie wedding
Beautiful dress in a gorgeous color. Really enjoyed wearing it and it fit well. The regular was a little on the short side so I had to wear low heels. Looked fine as well with a strapless bra.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress!!!! Felt like a princess
I ordered both, the 10L and 8L and I ended up wearing the 8L. I did wear spanx under the dress along with your basic strapless bra. When in shape, I have more of an athletic build, but this dress and spanx definitely flattered my figure. If you have a belly, highly recommend he spanx!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2013
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I wore this for a black tie wedding and it was great. This dress was my first time renting with RTR and I had a fantastic experience. The dress is quite heavy, though, so be aware if you are toting the bag to the airport, etc. A beautiful and comfortable dress, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 15, 2013
Amazing!
Fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2012
Felt like a princess!
I wore this to a military ball and received a ton of compliments all evening! The only (slightly) negative thing I had to say about this dress was that the Long size wasn't available and you could see my toes (just a little bit though)...
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2012
I was happily stunned by the constant stream of complements I received all night, including that I looked like a Grecian goddess & like 8 million bucks.
Pros: This dress was amazing--wore it for a black tie NYE event & received complements all night. Felt very glam. Very form-fitting dress from bust through knees, so I'm glad I was in shape & luckily didn't need to don spanx nor control-top hose. Read other reviews about it being large in the bust, but it was fine for me with a padded strapless bra (also since I'm a 38B so a relatively big rib cage, which probably helped). Also, matched it with 3.5" heels, which relates to the only con I experienced of the dress. Con: Interesting to notice that over the course of my 7.5 hour event, the dress went from being ~1" above the floor to elongating until it was on the floor & the top of the dress began to droop too on the non-strapped shoulder. Not sure what was happening. But that was towards the end & it was still totally worth it. Also a con that it showed up with a 1" hole in the side seam, but RTR Customer Service was amazing & helped remedy the situation with only minor headache.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
The color really stood out amongst a sea of black dresses.
This dress was uber elegant! I'm straight and narrow but this dress made me look like a actually had curves! :) I got compliments all night! This dress ran a little small and I did feel like I had to hold my stomach in. The fabric is thick and the color is gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2012
I had so much fun at the wedding. The dress looked beautiful and felt great. Everybody said I looked amazing and very expensive... LOL ;)
The dress fit very well in the 2R. It is a little darker than in the picture. I got a lot of compliments on it and it is very comfortable to wear for hours.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 26, 2012
I received so many compliments when I wore this dress, it is truly beautiful.
I loved that it works well for a large bust size. Wearing the right undergarments is key. It is a little darker than the picture shows. I rented this in 09/12 when I was a size 12.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
November 16, 2012
LOVE this dress!
I rented the same dress in black last winter for a black tie wedding. It is definitely a flattering fit... very elegant and lady-like. I have to admit that I liked the black version a little better - it was a bit more stunning, though the teal color of this one was perfect for a black tie event in South Florida!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×