You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Tiered Tulip Dress
Rental $60 Retail $394
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This picture-perfect Alice by Temperley dress can be worn for all kinds of occasions. The tulip skirt and sweetheart neckline have a fun and flirty vibe. Shown here with Cara Accessories' Pearly Girl Bangle Set.
Chat with a Stylist
Red faille. Sweetheart neckline. Ruffle detail at waist. Tulip skirt with pleating. Boning at bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 28'' from bodice to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cup or bigger - especially if sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very narrow at hips; curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos16

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Emma
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3233
Feb 18, 2014
Great comments from everyone!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color of this dress was beautiful and was the perfect length, not too short. It was a little loose in the top but otherwise it fit very well on my hips and waist.
kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3541
Mar 28, 2011
Awesome!! But runs small - be warned!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress. Rented it for my bachelorette party trip to Vegas, and it was perfect for the occasion! It runs small, though! I ordered a 2 as my "normal" size and a size 4 as my "extra dress" size. I honestly have never worn a 4 in my life. I am a 0 or a 2 in everything, but I had to wear the 4, and it fit like a glove. VERY cute, I wish I owned it!
Juliet
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Mar 27, 2013
Wore this for the Virginia Young Democrats Banquet
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran pretty small, almost had a freak out.
Bblove
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Nov 30, 2010
Having two sizes saved me, phew!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs small, so I'd suggest ordering your size and one up from there. The skirt portion doesn't have any give and was tight across my hips. Once I got used to barely being able to sit down, the dress looked pretty and I got lots of compliments from the guests at the wedding I wore it to. The grosgrain-type material is fun and a bit unexpected. Great for a holiday party or wedding in cooler weather. Overall, a success.
Dr.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Jun 12, 2012
Classy and Sexy!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Out of 3 dresses on the site, he liked the picture of this one best, so I got it. We loved how it looked on (although it became slightly tighter after dinner: pict 3) it still looked great! The fabric color was not a rich as I expected, and since we had to travel to the event it did become slightly wrinkled (nothing a cool iron couldn't fix). Overall it was a great dress for the occasion! It does FIT SMALL! I wore a XXS jacket from BCBG with the size 4 (to give an idea).
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7434
May 3, 2012
I received complements all night. I felt like the bell of the ball because of this dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can’t say enough about this dress. I received complements all night. The material was thicker than I expected and it does run small. But it was perfect for my hourglass figure and fit like a glove. I loved it so much I ended up buying it online.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Mar 28, 2012
My husband LOVED the way I looked!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore this lovely dress for Valentines Day! I never wear red because I do not think it looks good on me, but had read that this particular red would be a great red on anyone, and they were correct! My husband loved it! It does run very small and I ordered 2 sizes up, thanks to reading the previous reviews. It was pretty short, but just short enough without having to worry about my back end showing. Perfect dress! LOVED IT! Also RTR Staff rocks!
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Feb 7, 2012
This red dress was perfect for my birthday!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented the size 2 and I had to have some help zipping it up and it was tight in the bust, but once it was on it fit like a glove. Because of all the ruffles, they puff up a bit and make you look wider than you really are. The red is so vibrant, really grabs the attention of a room. I wore it for my birthday party, and paired it with gold glitter heels..maybe a bit over the top but it was a fun outfit!
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5233
Feb 5, 2012
Loved it
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I ordered this dress I originally ordered a 8 and a 10 because the reviews said it ran small. I usually wear a 6 so I was hesitant to size up. They didn't have the 8 available when I needed it so I got to choose any other dress in that size which was very nice. It was a little big especially in the bust area which I expected because the size wasn't right but it still fit pretty well and I got lots of compliments
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Dec 29, 2011
great dress:)
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as my backup for a Christmas party and I ended up wearing it. It looked great and I got a lot of compliments on it. It was very hard to breathe in, so eating anything was pretty much out of the question. I would size up at least one size and then have the backup be 2 sizes bigger than you normally wear.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 6434
Nov 30, 2011
Red is just an unforgettable color.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my sorority's winter semi-formal and LOVED IT!! It fit perfectly and everything loved the bright color and fun style. Absolutely recommend this.
ece
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Sep 21, 2013
It was the perfect dress for the occasion
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the color and the style!
Sara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3342
Mar 11, 2013
Love that this rental site exists!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress to my event because of the sizing being WAY too small based on traditional measurements. I'm normally a Misses size 2 so I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. I couldn't even get into the size 2 and the 4 was too tight and felt uncomfortable after wearing it for 10 minutes. Had to jump through some hoops for a back up dress. Now I always call to speak to an associate about my measurements before ordering/renting!
Caroline
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3343
Mar 7, 2013
I love this dress! So cute!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was unfortunately too small for me to wear :(
Diana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Dec 27, 2012
I did not get to wear this dress to my event.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress runs incredibly small. I am usually a 0 and had to be squeezed into/could barely breathe in the size 4, which was my back up size. I returned the dress to RTR immediately and had to run out to buy something else at the last minute for my event.
ostrvl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5634
Dec 3, 2012
Cute
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was very pretty but it looked like it had been worn a lot! I guess I expect when I am renting the dress should look as though it just came off the rack. My vision my be unrealistic for a company that rents 1000 of dresses.
Lauren
Age: 27
Canonical User Type: 1411
Nov 20, 2012
Loved the shape and color!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a night out in New York City and loved it. Many of the reviews said that it runs small - so I rented a size up - however the dress was a bit big on me. If you are going to rent this dress, my recommendation is to rent your normal size!
Ashly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 13, 2012
SO PRETTY!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Sad that I didn't get to wear this, I overestimated on my size and both were too big, especially in the chest. It was ADORABLE though and I want to try again.
Kim
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Aug 29, 2012
Runs Very Small
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was an extremely tight material with NO give in the bust area. Runs very small. I would definitely suggest ordering one or even two sizes up. I am usually a size 2 and even the 4 was too tight. Unfortunately, it had to be returned and I couldn't wear it. Customer service was great though, and I did receive a merchandise credit.
LL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 3533
Aug 14, 2012
Runs small
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is really cute, but it does run small. The inner lining makes the dress fit super tightly and there is no give. I would recommend going a size up.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Aug 9, 2012
Love
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress. Received so many compliments. Dress definitely runs small...I wore the 6 and it was a little snug. Wish I owned this dress!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jul 18, 2012
Couldn't get it on!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is beautiful. Cute and fun. However, I wear anywhere between a 2-4 given the brand and when the 4 was unavailable I thought I'd take my chances on a 2. I'm not even sure if it would've fit because I couldn't even get it over my head! ZERO stretch in the fabric. I'm curvy for my size and I don't think the dress would accommodate for that. Like I said - adorable dress but the reviews are NOT kidding when they say it runs small.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3234
Apr 11, 2012
for prom
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The pleats on the dress were wrinkled when it came, and the dress sat weird on my butt and back
Ryan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2422
Mar 26, 2012
Runs VERY small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely adorable, and the fabric is great.. however I didn't get to wear it because neither size fit. I should have ordered a size 6, I ordered a size 2 and a 4, and neither could zip. I am normally a 0 or a 2. I didn't take the other reviews as seriously so I will be very specific -- I am 5'2", weigh 113 lbs, and have a very petite frame. But, the people at RenttheRunway were very nice an accommodating, and luckily I was able to find a dress at the last minute at a department store!
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4243
Mar 4, 2012
Runs WAY small
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a 0 or 2 and after reading reviews I ordered a 4 and a 6. The four was impossible to get on. I tried the six and it fit everywhere except the part over the hips that is under the "tulip". I also ordered another dress which had a fuller skirt that I ended up wearing because I was more comfortable dancing (and sitting) in that one. I will say that dress does look great though and I would highly suggest renting it, but do order up in size.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6421
Jan 26, 2012
Great Dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I think I should have only sized up one size rather than two though because I had to belt it or it would slide down. Really nice, heavier material and the "tuliping" is beautiful as well as the paper bag waist.
28 wedding
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3421
Jan 8, 2012
Adorable but runs small
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 2 and based on other's reviews, ordered a 4 (the 6 wasnt available). Dress runs very small - order two sizes up if you cant
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Dec 8, 2011
Awesome dress, but tiny!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I always wear a zero. In fact, I typically alter all of my clothes. I'm about 5'3 and 102 lbs. This dress is absolutely tiny. As others have said, the 2 barely fit me. While it was a great fit and looked amazing, the dress was showing several signs of wear and arrived pretty wrinkled. The zipper is painted red, to match the dress, but most of the paint had been worn off, so it had a lot of the silver showing through. It didn't look good. However, the RTR team couldn't have responded better - they immediately issued me a refund and I was extremely satisfied with the resolution. I look forward to renting this dress in the future, provided it has been fixed up to look new again!
Julia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3342
Dec 5, 2011
cute dress...
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
...its really too bad it didn't fit! The size and fit suggestions say it is good for straight and narrow body types but unfortunately this wasn't true for me :( I usually wear a 0 or 2 dress size, but ordered a 4 and a 6 after reading reviews that it ran small. The 4 was much too small and the 6 was big in the bust. This was so unfortunate because its such a cute dress! I envy those of you who can wear it!
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Oct 24, 2011
adorable, but runs very small!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely adorable! However, it runs extremely small. I normally wear a 0 or 2, but because of the reviews I wanted to order a 2 and 4. Only the 2 was available, so I went ahead and crossed my fingers and ordered it. I got it the night before we were supposed to go out of town for the wedding I wanted to wear it to, unfortunately it was too tight! I never have worn a 4 in my life, so take our word for it and order a bigger size. I had to run to the mall and rush to find something for the wedding! I was very disappointed I didn't get to wear this dress!! However, I was extremely happy with RTR cutomer service in issuing me a credit for the dress! Will def be trying them out for a holiday party or new years eve dress! :)
Jenny
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1531
Oct 19, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I loved this dress. It was a really nice fit but I typically am a 4 and had worn the 6. The color is very nice and was still slimming.
jellybean
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 2422
Sep 27, 2011
Overall fit: Small
LOVED this dress! It is perfect if you are very petite as it runs small. Most dresses I receive from RTR are too large and this one was perfect! I wore it to a wedding and got a million compliments!
Cait
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Sep 9, 2011
Overall fit: Small
The dress is beautiful. A really pretty red. Though as others have stated before me it runs very small. I am 5ft 3 and around 105 lbs. When I rented the dress only the 2 was available but I thought it would be fine. Even though I'm petite I still have a butt and the 2 was very tight around my thighs and rear area. Though it was beautiful and once I squeezed into it looked great on, I opted for another dress since it didn't allow for much movement.
Margie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Sep 7, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress runs SMALL!! I am 5' 5" and 128lbs, I usually wear a 2 or 4 size dress in department stores. I ordered the 4 and 6 to be on the safe side per previous reviews and even the 6 was SUPER tight on the bottom. If I order this dress again, I will be ordering the 8.
Laura
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 1421
Aug 18, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Would not recommend renting this dress. I ordered it for a wedding, and the size larger than I usually order was so small that there was no way for me to zip it up. I had to return it and find a new dress, pay the fee, and it was really stressful considering I was trying to leave town.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Jul 31, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I don't have any idea what or who the designer had in mind when they created this beautiful, but completely ILL FITTING dress. I am 5'3", 104 lbs, and almost always am a size 0, unless the designer runs extremely small; I couldn't even get into the 2. It has this strange skirt underneath the tier that a small child couldn't even squeeze into without the help of some Crisco; funny thing is is that this part of the dress isn't even seen when worn which is why it baffles me so. I would recommend you either order 2 sizes up (with your back-up being 3 sizes up) or don't order at all. It's unfortunate too because the dress is beautiful.
Kate
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1331
Jul 23, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is absolutely gorgeous, and I loved the look of it as laid spread out on my bed. Unfortunately, when I went to put it on it was definitely too small. I'm typically a size 0-2 in dresses, so I got a 2. I read the reviews and thought if it ran small, then the 2 should be fine. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get the 4 too (even though you get the second size free) because it was already being rented by someone else. This size 2 was VERY tight. I was able to zip it up and everything, but it gave me back fat that I didn't even know existed and made my shape look terrible. I think a 4 would've fit, but even a 6 would've been the perfect fit. I know the reviews say that the dress runs small, but wow did I underestimate their reviews. GET A SIZE LARGER THAN NORMAL! and maybe even the size larger than that. This is such an adorable dress, I just wish it ran true to size.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jul 15, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress was absolutely amazing and ran almost completely true to size, but as the other reviews mentioned the slip underneath is a little tight. All the same, it's adorable and fit well.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4323
Jun 28, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Great dress, but so glad I ordered a size up and 2 sizes up as my backup! The bottom is tiny, and is fitted throughout the waist. Very feminine style!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jun 24, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Great dress! Wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments. Not recommended for those with larger busts--I'm only a B and it was a bit tight. But the tulip skirt was great at hiding any tummy.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress