Tiered Tulip Dress

$60 rental
$394 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This picture-perfect Alice by Temperley dress can be worn for all kinds of occasions. The tulip skirt and sweetheart neckline have a fun and flirty vibe. Shown here with Cara Accessories' Pearly Girl Bangle Set.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cup or bigger - especially if sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very narrow at hips; curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for C cup or bigger - especially if sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very narrow at hips; curvy women should size up one or two sizes
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red faille. Sweetheart neckline. Ruffle detail at waist. Tulip skirt with pleating. Boning at bust. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 28'' from bodice to hem.

Share
57 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size5
Small50
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 30, 2011
Awesome dress - wore it to an evening wedding and received tons of compliments! I am typically a size 0 and the size 2 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 16, 2011
This dress is gorgeous, but it was so small that I had to send it back. If it had fit, I probably would have given it five stars. I ordered a 2, and am usually a 0 or 2, but in this dress I should have tried the four or the six. The fabric does not give at all and the dress is cut really tiny in the hip and seat. I say, order one or two sizes up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
April 25, 2011
I wore this dress to a family wedding and got so many compliments! It was a little shorter than I expected, but longer in the back so it was easy to dance and sit it. It does run very small. I am normally a 4 and ordered a 6/8 and ended up wearing the 8. It was a little big, especially up top, but it worked out fine. Definitely recommend for a special event!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
April 10, 2011
The color of this dress is so much richer than in the picture, and the fabric is beautiful. I LOVED IT and got so many compliments. The tulip skirt is vey flattering and the length is absolutely perfect. I want to buy this dress! Only complaints: the way the dress is made makes the zipper stick. I got a 4 and a 6 and both had zipper problems. Other than that it's fantastic! I usually wear a size 2 but I got a 4 and a 6 to be safe after reading the reviews, and the 4 fit best. One size up from your reguar is a good call.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 28, 2011
Awesome!! But runs small - be warned!
I LOVED this dress. Rented it for my bachelorette party trip to Vegas, and it was perfect for the occasion! It runs small, though! I ordered a 2 as my "normal" size and a size 4 as my "extra dress" size. I honestly have never worn a 4 in my life. I am a 0 or a 2 in everything, but I had to wear the 4, and it fit like a glove. VERY cute, I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2011
This dress is very pretty; however, please believe the reviews when they say it runs VERY SMALL. I rented this as a backup for a sorority formal and even the size up did not fit. In fact, my roommate who is normally a 0 to a 2 could barely fit in the size 4. I would definitely recommend going 2 sizes up to start! Again, it is so pretty but it runs VERY small.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2011
I was so excited to wear this beautiful dress valentines weekend. Unfortunately neither of the sizes I rented fit me appropriately. I order a size up plus another size up because I have a rather large bottom. The smaller of the sizes fit was extremely tight through the thighs and I feared I would not be able to sit in it. The next size up was so large in the chest!If you are a thin narrow girl I would recommend this dress otherwise be careful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2011
Beautiful dress!! Runs very small, though. I am usually between a 2 and 4 but ordered a 4 and 6 after reading the reviews. I ended up wearing the 6 because the bottom is VERY tiny! Definitely get your normal size and a size up. I was very impressed with RTR - ordered my dress the Wednesday night before NYE and got it that Friday afternoon. I will definitely rent again.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
January 3, 2011
Thanks to the other reviews, I went ahead and rented one size up in additional to my normal size. The next size up fit a bit better all around. It's a beautiful dress and I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
November 30, 2010
Having two sizes saved me, phew!
This dress runs small, so I'd suggest ordering your size and one up from there. The skirt portion doesn't have any give and was tight across my hips. Once I got used to barely being able to sit down, the dress looked pretty and I got lots of compliments from the guests at the wedding I wore it to. The grosgrain-type material is fun and a bit unexpected. Great for a holiday party or wedding in cooler weather. Overall, a success.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2010
First of all, this dress is SUPER CUTE! I loved it. I usually wear a size 0 in clothes, so I thought I'd be safe by ordering a size 2 and 4. When I received the package, I immediately went to the 2. I couldn't even get one leg into the dress! I went to the 4, and I BARELY got it over my hips. It is EXTREMELY tight around the ribcage, and I'm really not that big. I am 5'4", 115 lbs. If you are my size, I would strongly encourage you to order a size 6. I contacted customer help through the useful chat tool and they told me the size 6 dress was being used and they offered me a refund, but I desperately needed a dress for this event. I had to ask my boyfriend to help zip me up and the zipper kept getting stuck in the back where all the fabric is gathered. After 3 days of trying (and a nifty trick I found online --put liquid sop on a qtip and rub it on the zipper where it's getting stuck) I FINALLY GOT THE DRESS ON! IT was beautiful, but I was uncomfortable the entire night. If you get this dress, order 2 sizes up! I should have ordered a 4 and a 6 insted of the 2 and 4.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2010
This dress is tiny and also cut very narrowly. I ordered a size 6 and could not fit it over my hips. I got really upset that I had gained weight but none of my roommates could get it on either except for one who is usually a size 2. On the bright side, the women at rent the runway were AMAZING! I called them about 2 hours before my event and they sent a new dress over with time to spare. I looked fabulous thanks to the above and beyond customer service (even after normal business hours).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
October 26, 2010
Cute dress but runs extremely small.. size up, maybe even two sizes. The skirt is very tight.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2010
This is a beautiful dress. However, THIS DRESS RUNS EXTREMELY SMALL. When I say extremely small, I mean that most of my dresses are a size 2. I would have ordered a 4 but waited too long and it wasn't available anymore. It doesn't really matter because I'm pretty sure the 4 wouldn't have fit me either. I could barely zip the 2 halfway up my back and the bottom is very very tight if you have any hips at all. I would order this dress up 2 sizes from your normal size for it to have any chance of fitting. It's a shame, too because the dress is adorable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2010
Runs small, so I should have gone with the 4. The material also wrinkles easily so have a steamer handy. Otherwise the dress was great, the waist is nice and tight so the top doesn't move - never had the feeling like the top was slipping down. Great color and cut.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
September 27, 2010
The first thing I have to say is that the color of this dress is absolutely gorgeous. The material is very much like a stiff ribbon and wrinkles easily so I had to get my dress steamed before I wore it due to the shipping. The dress does run small so I was glad to have ordered a size up. I have a small chest but larger hips. Because of this the dress was loose in the top but with a strapless I made it work. Even with all this I still loved wearing this dress and was very happy.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 24, 2010
This dress is incredibly cute, however, it runs really small. Based on the size/fit chart, I ordered a 2 (measurements are 33.5/25/35.5). Unfortnately, the 4 wasn't available to order as my second size, but I thought that I would be fine since I was safely within the size range. When the dress came it looked very large on top and very narrow on the bottom...which it is. The under layer of the skirt was REALLY tight across my hips and the top just sort of flattened my chest out but was wasn't so large that I could wear a pushup strapless underneath. I would absolutely recommend ordering a size larger than you normally do. Also, I went to the Alice by Temperley website and it appears that the sizing chart that they have there doesn't correspond with the one here. One thing also to note is that the dress appears to have a bit of a sheen up close and has the feel and look of a grosgrain ribbon (think old school j.crew ribbon belts). Overall, the dress would have been really cute to wear to the wedding I ordered it for this weekend and is a good mix of sexy and stylish. Sadly, I will not be wearing it as I want to be able to eat, dance, and sit while at said wedding. Good luck and check out the sizing chart on the designer's website!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×