You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Cowl Neck Sleeved Dress
Rental $30 Retail $350
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This sexy stunner from Alice by Temperley in a simple and sultry style that’s a perfect party piece.
Chat with a Stylist
Black matte jersey. Cowl neckline. 3/4 sleeves. Ruched body. Hidden side zip. About 37" from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is very fitted throughout - fabric slightly cinches in abdomen and ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow - size up in backup size for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos17

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Nov 7, 2012
Really flattering fit. Really hides any flaws that someone might have.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 12 because the 10 was unavailable. It was big on me, but I am sure if someone was really a 12 then it would be true to size. It's a great little black dress that you could wear for any occasion depending on how you accessorize. I recommend to all.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Oct 27, 2012
Great fashionable party dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
THis black dress was very flattering. The ruching accentuated my already defined hourglass shape. However, it is very fitted through the hips. Do not hesitate to order one size up!
Jayci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3442
Oct 18, 2012
Simple LBD, but still managed to stick out in a crowd!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Everything I was looking for! I was a little nervous it would be too short, but the length was great. The material is slightly forgiving, but kept a great shape all night. My only problem was that the sleeves were a little snug/short in the underarm area.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Oct 15, 2012
Sexy and so flattering
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
What a great dress!!! Covers up all the problem spots and gives you a sexy silhouette. Renting this dress again for next week's wedding!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7624
Oct 1, 2012
Really perfect!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
So in size 12 I am pushing the limits of the size range RTR offers, but in this dress I'm not sorry about that at all! What an incredibly flattering and elegant dress! (Sorry no pictures!!) It has become a cliche but this dress really does flatter curves. I would worry about it being good for those at the smaller end of the spectrum. The ruching was just perfect, the décolletage and back cowl were dramatic. Can't recommend enough for those in the 10 - 12 range.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Sep 12, 2012
Extremely flattering dress
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is perfect for curvy girls- it shows off your waist, but the ruching/folds in the dress cover up any other body conscious areas. I did feel like it ran small and there was a small rip at the top of the zipper under my arm. It was completely wearable though and I got several compliments throughout the night! It was a bit shorter on me than on the model pictured.
Sylvia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7634
Aug 18, 2012
Simple but elegant
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a very comfortable dress to wear. The material is on the thicker side its not thin. This dress can be worn to dinner or a formal affair.
SP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Aug 15, 2012
Perfect dress for a night out!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a backup for New Year's Eve. I didn't wear it that night (not enough bling) but I did wear it out the next night. It's very flattering, particularly in the stomach area and very comfortable to wear. I would rent it again!
EK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Aug 13, 2012
Sexy but still tasteful!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my bachelorette party last summer because we did a LBD theme. It was super comfy and looked great! I ended up wearing the smaller size and it hugged my curves in all the right places!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Aug 9, 2012
Perfect for Date Night
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Love love loved this dress! I wore it on Valentine's Day with 5" black pumps. The snug fit is sexy, and the longer sleeves and conservative neckline make it sexy but not obnoxious. I'm 5'7" and the dress was shorter than in the picture by a few inches - if you have any butt this will be short!
Giselle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
May 7, 2012
Renting this one again!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm usually in between sizes (8-10) I ordered up because of the previous reviews I read.. Thank god I did. Seems that there was a big jump of size between the 10 and 12. The size 10 fit like an 8 and the 12 fit like a 12. I was able to squeeze into the size 10, because the 12 was just too big. Besides that this dress looked awesome! Gave me curves that i don't even have because of the ruching all along the sides. Definetly renting this one again.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Apr 30, 2012
Super Flattering!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was so pretty. Sexy, but subtle. The ruching throughout was flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone
Rachael
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6444
Mar 7, 2012
Flattering no matter what size
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
No matter what size someone is this dress will flatter your best assets and hide the flaws. This dress looks amazing on don't be discouraged when you see it on the hanger. I promise you will love it!
Gwendolyn
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8524
Jan 5, 2012
New Years Eve
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I have to admit, when I took the dress out of the box I was afraid I had received the wrong dress, however I was pleased once I put it on. I think my man liked the neckline best, alluring but not to flashy. I was surprised by how high up on my thigh the dress ended, especially since I'm only 5'3", but I think my hips were the reason for the rising hemline. And while I wasn't so keen on the dress clinging to my hips, the dress also accentuated my waistline so I think it all worked out. Also, I don't think this is a dancing dress, more of a stand around conversating sort of dress. Overall, the dress served me well this New Years, a fun time was had by all.
cjr
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 3, 2012
Amazing Dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Based on the other reviews I ordered a size up-- DEFINITELY the right call. I am 5'2'' 34DD (usually a 4) and the 6 fit like a glove. Dress looked amazing but I wouldn't recommend it for taller girls; I imagine it would be veryy short on someone taller than 5'5'' Overall, it's a really flattering LBD that I would absolutely rent again.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Dec 21, 2011
Fits like a glove
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This felt like a nice winter alternative LBD. It wasn't particularly special, but I'll bet it could be "grown up" with good jewelry. I ended up not wearing it to my corporate black tie event since it was a bit too plain/young feeling, but I think it would be great for a date!
virginia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3622
Dec 17, 2011
Ruching is perfect!!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress overall the other that I rented but it was too tight at the waist and could not zip it, but otherwise I would have wore this one as it hides all the imperfections with the ruching, I was amazed at how well it really helps!! There was only the XS available on the date needed but if I would have had a small this is the dress I would have wore!! Cleavage is not too low at all it is perfect, lenght was perfect, but my body type is small but straight leaving me with a very large waist to really no waist at all!! Other than that I could have worn it and been very pleased on how i looked, Highly recommend this little black dress as well as any other than has the ruching, it really forgives all the imperfections that we all have!!!!
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6544
Dec 14, 2011
great dress, a little small
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
this is a great dress, for day or night. i am usually a true size 8, but i have boobs, and the size 8 was just too small; luckily i got a backup size 10, which fit perfectly. the dress hit mid thigh, closer to the knee, so it was an appropriate length for a work party. i would definitely recommend!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Nov 20, 2011
Great dress to hide flaws!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a great dress, very tasteful and elegant. It was really comfortable and all the pleats made it super flattering. My only complaint is it ran a bit big. Even on the loose side, It still looked good.
cynthia9
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 1631
Nov 6, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful fit, gave me an hour glass figure. Conservative enough and sexy enough at the same time. Comfortable.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Oct 29, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really easy to wear - quite comfortable and very flattering. I wore it on New Year's Eve with embellished heels. The silhouette is simple, but the ruching amps up the design a bit. I loved the longer sleeves - no shivering in a drafty ballroom! I'm 5 ft. 2 and oscillate between 105 and 110 pounds. I tried both the size 2 and 4. The 2 was wearable for an evening, but a little loose.
C
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Sep 28, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
True to size/runs a tiny bit small. I usually fit into a 2 or 4, but there was no way this dress was getting past my breast in a 2. It's very comfortable and form fitting and is shorter than appears on the model. There's also a thick lining. My only issue was that I'm busty and even in the 4, my breasts were flattened and pushed up in this dress. Yet, all in all, I was very happy with this rental. It's sexier and sleeker in reality than in the picture. Wore with emerald pear shaped droopy earrings, was beautiful.
theverge
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Sep 26, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is crazy sexxay! The fit is tight-size up made no difference. if you have hips (like me) resign yourself to babysteppingstanding still all night> Unfortunately, I needed a normal stride and could not wear dress.
Bre
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Sep 5, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
This was very cute but it runs short. I returned it because the length was not right for the eventiwas going to. The sleeves were slightly tight also.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2332
Jul 26, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I honestly think this dress fits about right, but that wasn't a choice! the only place I felt it was a little small was at the arms. It didn't feel super tight, but it took a little wiggling to adjust them properly. This dress is absolutely gorgeous in person. Much cuter in person and extremely flattering. it's also easy to dress up or down, depending on your accessories. I wore it two days in a row to completely different events and it worked at both!
Sam
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1421
Mar 21, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress. So glad that I got two sizes though. My normal size, 4, was so small I needed my boyfriend to help me out of it. The 6 fit great. Will definitely be renting my next dress from Rent the Runway!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 1631
Feb 22, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Loved the dress. Very comfortable,sexy and easy to dress up with accessories and shoes. True to size. Would recommend!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8434
Feb 14, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
Perfect dress for my cocktail party! Sexy but not too revealing, I wore it with fishnets and boots. I danced all night and the dress was very comfortable. I got the size I thought I'd be and the size up and the smaller of the two fit like a glove.
Erika
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 1541
Feb 1, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is A LOT shorter than the picture but a cute dress.
Great for Curvy Girls
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1531
Jan 30, 2011
Overall fit: Small
This dress is gorgeous and hugs all your curves. It does tend to run small – particularly on the skirt – and that’s why I rated it three stars. I am in between a 10-12 right now (but closer to 10). The size 10 dress was too tight on the bottom half, so I ended up wearing the 12. The top of the 12 was big on me – it ended up hanging off me by the end of the evening. I'm an hourglass, and my top and bottom is proportional. I would have expected it to fit just a little better. If you have a bigger bust and narrow hips, this might fit you much better than me. That being said, the dress still looked great and was comfortable.
coco
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 1441
Jan 3, 2011
Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress! It is perfectly sophisticated & sexy at the same time! Great fabric-- the rouching hides any flaws :) I paired with the Kenneth Jay Lane Jet Drop Earrings for a sophisticated NYE look!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Dec 30, 2010
Overall fit: Small
This dress seemed very promising, and I was excited by the reviews I read. However, the zipper is very flimsy and the fabric does not lend itself to easily being zipped, also the dress hugged to tight in the chest (I wear a 34C) and felt it was to revealing for work. I did not end up getting to wear the dress.
SS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 22, 2010
Overall fit: Small
I wore this to a holiday party with a chunky necklace and bangles and it was stunning! The fit was great and sexy, but not over the top. Do order up a size. Pictures do not do the dress justice.
LEWK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8523
Nov 27, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Much cuter in person! Hides flaws and gives a sexy silhouette.
chsdawg
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 1641
Nov 8, 2010
Overall fit: Small
I simply loved this dress. Much prettier and sexier in person. A beautiful find. I normally wear a 4 but needed the 6.
Nee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8544
Oct 22, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Im a curvaceous and tall woman(5'8). This dress is very flattering. The ruching hides all of your flaws. However, I was unimpressed with this dress. It was just ok. I really didnt care for the fabric. After dressing it up with great accesories, it turned out nice. But, I wouldnt rent it again
Nikki
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 1631
Oct 9, 2010
Overall fit: Small
I loved this dress!! I am straight and narrow and this made me look like I had curves! The picture really does it no justice, it's much nicer than it looks. Super sexy on! I ususally wear a 6, but got an 8 due to availability, and glad I did. I think it runs small.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 5544
Sep 7, 2010
Overall fit: True to Size
Much prettier and sexier than it looks on the website. A super easy fit - ruching disguises all flaws. Wore with a flashy necklace.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress