Navy Flirt and Flare Dress

$35 rental
$350 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get this perfectly designed Z Spoke Zac Posen fit and flare dress. Easy fit and great for any occasion. Pair with a statement bib necklace like the Ciner's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace.

Also available in white, and teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up one size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - fabric is thick and has some stretch to cinch in midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flare skirt gives comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; no built-in structure at bust however fabric is very structured so dress could be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up one size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice - fabric is thick and has some stretch to cinch in midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flare skirt gives comfortable room in hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; no built-in structure at bust however fabric is very structured so dress could be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy stretch polyester(94% Polyester, 6% Polyurethane). Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt with pleating. Seaming details at bust and bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size264
Small77
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
April 3, 2013
Runs Small
I loved the style and navy color, however the bodice of the dress is very snug. I have a small waist and the larger size I ordered (4) still felt way too tight. Anyone with a large chest or larger waist should not order this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 20, 2013
cute dress for a family affair.
perfect for smaller busted ladies. The fit and flare shape is ultra flattering. I wore it belted to add detail.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 18, 2013
Underwhelmed
The dress was nice, but nothing special. If I found it in a store for the price I rented it I probably wouldn't have purchased it. I typically wear a 4, but because reviews said it ran small I got a back up of a 6, and I'm happy I did. I guess I have broad ribs, because I couldn't zip up the 4 all the way. The 6 however, was fairly loose at the top. I definitely needed to wear a bra because I had very little support, despite typically filling out tops because I'm a C/D cup. I didn't have a bad experience, but I don't know if I will use Rent the Runway again, and certainly not this designer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress-- it fits like a glove, and the A-line style is classic yet flirty.
I found the area around the rib cage to be a little tight-fitting (although I have a ribcage that tends to poke out a bit). I wore the dress without a bra and found that it still gave plenty of lift and support. It definitely is a snug fit in the bodice, so go a size up if in doubt! The fabric is stunning and heavy-- I had to travel with it rolled up in a suitcase and it still looked great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 11, 2013
stunning.
this dress is the perfect combination of playful and sexy. the structured bodice, cinched waist, and cute pockets are a killer combo. i felt gorgeous all night, hated to send it back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2013
I felt comfortable, cute, and curvaceous
gives the illusion of a tiny waist and a larger chest than usual- perfect! We went from a bachelorette dinner to dancing, and it was perfect for both!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
Such an amazing dress!
Amazing all around- true to size, fit like a glove and PERFECT for a petite girl like myself! Definitely would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 27, 2013
Fun + Flirty!
I wore this dress for my husband's law school formal. The dress was super fun and flirty. I wore the 10, which is my normal size, but the straps were a little too long, so a had to safety pin them to keep from falling down all night. Highly recommended for pear/hourglass shapes! ;)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2013
The way the dress flowed on the dance floor.
It was sexy but modest, which was perfect for a wedding. It hit above the knee for me, and the neckline wasn't too scandalous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
February 14, 2013
Adorable dress
I actually didn't end up wearing this dress. It fit perfect and looked great but just wasn't right for the occasion I think. The little black "back up" dress I brought worked better for the Grammys. The fit was good but I felt it made my hips look even wider. I know it's the cut of the dress but I just felt it wasn't right for my body type. Maybe better for a petite body or shorter frame.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 13, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this dress and my boyfriend loved it!
This dress fit true to size. It was VERY flattering. Loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Perfect dress for a perfect night!
I loved everything about this dress. For someone with a pear shape, it does a great job of accentuating the small waist and then covering up any flaws below that with a cute A-line. It also made my (very modestly sized) boobs look great! The only thing that was less than perfect were the straps. They were kind of long and awkward, so I used a couple safety pins to shorten them.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 5, 2013
Cute and Comfy!
I wore this dress to a rehersal dinner. It's super cute and I love the pockets. I got compliments on the dress all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 5, 2013
I got so many complements on the dress.
Fits great, hits a great spot on the leg, very flirty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 29, 2013
This dress made me feel flirty and sexy, just like I wanted!
I rented this dress for my one year anniversary, and my boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off me! This dress fit like a glove, and complimented my curves in all the right ways. The seaming on the bust is really unique and I loved that it was a true navy blue. I can not recommend this dress enough!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2013
Fits-Like a glove Comfort-amazing Color-True Navy-a nice departure from simple black
Oh mylanta this dress was great! I got a ton of compliments. Its very ladylike and sexy at the same time. Its important to get the neclace to go with it to complete the pin up look. PS-the pockets are super comfy and great for hiding your cell :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
January 17, 2013
Feminine and perfect!
Fit true to size and date loved my outfit. Material is a little different, but very flattering
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I loved the sweetheart neckline, and how the dress flairs out at the bottom. It was very fun! The fabric is very thick and doesn't' have as much stretch as I needed at the bust. I had to wear it without a bra, but it is lined very well and worked out just fine.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2013
it was a little snug, but the overall fit was great. Made my chest look great!
Got the 8 and the 10 and wore the 10.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
An oddly sized dress.
I was very excited to wear this dress to a friend's winter wedding. The material was thick enough, but the sizing was very strange. The 4 was far too small in the bust, but fit nicely everywhere else. I tried on the 6, which was enormous in the chest and the straps were very long. RTR did not include fashion tape with this rental, so I made do on by own, but it was a very disappointing rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 2, 2013
Danced all night, felt great doing it, and it has pockets!!
I wore this to a wedding just before Christmas. Had to add a pashmina to cover up in the church, but the dress was great for the reception, dancing, and going out after! They didn't have a back up size available for me, but the 10 fit great! I have a large bust (34 DD) and the dress was a little lower cut than I would have wished, but it still looked great. I liked pairing it with a larger necklace (this was from a vintage consignment shop), and would recommend planning to do so (because it is low cut). Best part, the dress has pockets too! It's a deep navy, but I paired it with black tights anyway. The pictures make it look lighter than it does in person (and this flash is obviously a little over-enthusiastic washing out skin as well) due to the sheen-ness of the material. The dress is well structured, and the flaring has such good structure at the hem that it will keep it's shape all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful color and fabric
This dress looked really lovely but did not feel so great on. The fabric is thick and silky and the color is a navy blue. It fit me very well length-wise but the bust was incredibly tight. I didn't realize how tight it was until after I took the dress off and noticed the deep scratches all around my chest from the dress cutting into me all night. Yikes. Not pleasant. I do not recommend this dress just because I have rented from RTR multiple times and have found other dresses to be a better fit and more beautiful. As always, exceptional customer service prior to rental so that always keeps me coming back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Perfect for a night out!
I wore this dress to my best friend's bachelorette party. It's very sexy without being uncomfortable or difficult to wear (not too short or tight, etc). I got lots of compliments. Also, the pockets came in handy! I wish RTR specified whether or not dresses have pockets, bc it's a detail I love.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 1, 2013
Perfectly tailored!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and it was perfect! It's a very dark blue (almost black) heavy material that's perfect for winter. Pockets are a huge bonus. I wore it with red pumps to a 'Mad Men' party and it was a hit! I did end up wearing a strapless bra but could have gone without thanks of the structure and the fact that it's meant to fit tighter through the top. The straps are a tiny bit long, but that's a common problem for me and I didn't need to pin them or anything. Probably a little too much cleavage for a conservative or super-formal event, but a perfect fun party dress. I was comfortable and confident: SO sad to have to send it back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 28, 2012
great customer service!
Flared out more than I had anticipated. Ended up not wearing it, but cute for something else, I'm sure.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
Awkward material.
This dress is very cute and really made my body look good, but the material is very heavy and stiff. If you can afford to remain somewhat stationary for your event, this dress is definitely a good choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2012
Flattering and comfortable.
Stretchy, comfy, fun, and so flattering. Great dress for dancing. It is a definite navy blue, not black. I received compliments all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Lovely and fun
This dress is true to size. Only downer is the straps were a little too long. The fabric of the dress is very structured but the cut made it very fun and flattering. I received a lot of compliments throughout the night. The pockets were a nice bonus. This was a great dress overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2012
Gives you a great curvy figure!
I wore this dress for a wedding and it was so perfect! It fit like a glove and although I thought the neckline was a bit low, i think it might have been because of the lift the dress was giving me. The overall structural fit and waistline detail were great and help to add to your figure. The fabric had a nice cool touch, perfect for the Texas wedding I went to. I absolutely loved this dress and wish I could own it for my own!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
December 25, 2012
Perfect dress for a girl's night out
I wore this dress out for a fun night out with my friends. I absolutely loved it. It is definitely very fitted in the chest, but in a perfect way. I am a 36D cup, and was actually able to wear this without a bra. I never wear anything without a bra, but it was as if this had one built in. It was perfect, and I felt confident all night.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2012
I felt beautiful, classy, and comfortable all night long.
The fabric of the dress is thick and very supportive from the waist up. I was happy with the length, which hits mid-thigh and the color is a very dark navy even though it looks black. This neckline is extremely flattering, even for smaller busted ladies like myself! My favorite part of this dress is the small pleating on the waist, which creates lovely waves in the skirt below.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 176lbs
December 17, 2012
Beautiful Dress! Love RTR!
I ordered this dress thinking the flare would camouflage some of my pear shape curves and therefore make me look skinner but it didn't quite work out that way. The pleats just landed on the wrong spot and drew too much attention to the widest part of my body. I did however like how small my waist looked. I LOVED the material and agree with all the other reviews, in that it's actually more navy but photographs as black. overall, beautiful dress but didn't work for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was a hit! It was perfect for the winter wedding I attended!
I wish I could have kept it! I am normally a size 6 and it fit like a glove, I didn't even bother trying on the 4. The material is thick enough that I was able to get away without wearing a bra and no one even knew. I felt so chic and my fiance loved it! The dress is simple yet classy and can be paired with shiny, bright accessories!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
I felt like the center of attention in a room of attention-lovers.
This dress was very flattering. It has the corset feel; it makes you stand up a little straighter, without the discomfort of an actual corset. The tailoring through the midsection is what hides flaws. At 5'7" the length was perfect, flirty without being tarty. With the straps places where they are on the bust I didn't experience that armpit fat phenomenon. The material of the dress also had a nice weight to it. It was a bit hot in an old church, but I didn't feel like it would blow up when at a waterfront reception. Overall, great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Loved this dress!
Fit like a glove, only call-out is that if you're busty, it makes you very busty. I was in the mood for a little help and love how it looked, but if you're hiding the clevage, this dress isn't for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2012
Perfectly Flirty
Adorable and flirty, it was supportive enough to wear without a bra as well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2012
Gorgeous, expensive-looking dress! Grateful for the second size!
I wore this for a welcome happy hour event the night before a November wedding in Florida. I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. Usually I wear a size 4 because my hips and derriere are larger compared to my bust and waist, but because this dress is fitted on top, the size 2 fit perfectly! I got so many compliments, and it was very comfortable. The fabric is more expensive-looking and richer than pictured. I definitely recommend this dress! If you are smaller on top, I would also recommend a smaller second size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2012
such a pretty dress!
I got tons of compliments on this dress. My only hesitation was that it was cut very low in the front, and my bra kept peeping out... but nothing that a sticky bra or double sided tape couldn't handle (I didn't have any!) But if you have a larger chest and don't want it out, you may want to consider another style! But overall very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
November 21, 2012
Super-classy, comfortable, and it fit perfectly!
Usually when I rent from this site, even the 0 is too big on top, but this dress actually fit me really well (so if you have a larger bust, I recommend going a size up). It was very well-constructed and the fit was flattering. It's slightly shorter than it looks in the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 18, 2012
very comfortable, wayy flattering bust area
I am usually an 8, sometimes a 10 in designer dresses. I ended up wearing the 8, but probably could have gone 6 in this (even with a small C cup)... that may just be because where it is tight is my smaller part, whereas it flared out at the hips/butt area, but definitely don't size up if you are between sizes. At first I thought the dress was a little boring when I pulled it out the box, but with my hair done and great earrings, I was happy with how I looked. The straps are a little long, but I sorta pinned them in the back and it was fine. I am 5'9" and it hit me right where it hits the model. As usual, amazing customer service RTR!
See more reviews:
5 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×