Masquerade Sequin Gown

$117 to buy
$790 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel sultry and chic in this stunning gown from Z Spoke by Zac Posen. You'll be the star of the show in this glamorous number! Add a lady like clutch like this Whiting and Davis Silver Mesh Glam Clutch to complete your black tie look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips; curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black sequins(100% polyester; lining: 100% polyester). V neckline. Scoop back. Raw silk trim Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
58 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size40
Small15
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 5, 2012
What a great way to wear a dress for a formal occasion - VERY happy I didn't have to buy one!
I ordered 2 sizes - 10L and 12L. I was a bit nervous about the length as I'm 5'11", but it was the perfect length, and could have been a bit shorter! Phew! I highly recommend everyone do this and I'm so happy RTR offers it. Beautiful dress, came when promised, and so, so easy to return. I can't say enough good things about RTR. Thank you for your service.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 5, 2012
More beautiful dress in person
It fit perfectly. I ordered the 10R and 8L and the 8 fit perfectly. There was some stretch to the material, but not excessive or cheap feeling. I needed the long as the regular was too short. The detailling on the dress is hard to see online, but it is a beautiful gown. I wouldn't mind wearing this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
I never got to wear this dress
I ordered this dress for a formal wedding and it was not delivered in time. When I did open the packe it look gorgeous, maybe next time!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 13, 2012
Great dress. Got lots of compliments!
I wore this to a Marine Corps Ball and it was perfect.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2012
True to size and since I ordered the Long... the length was perfect with my 4 inch heels
I go to a lot of different events and cannot keep up with buying new dresses for everything.... Thank you RTR for givig me options. Love it.
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
This dress was amazing!!! So happy I used rent the runway!
I absolutely loved this dress. I have never felt so fabulous! A lot of the reviews said the dress looks gunmetal, but i felt it was a true matte black. There is not a lot of give in the dress, and it is very form fitting, so i would recommend some spanx. I was able to wear a strapless bra as well, so that was a plus. I received endless compliments all night and I can't wait to order from rent the runway again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
September 21, 2012
It was so easy hassle-free and convenient to wear such an elegant dress.
Pros-true fit!!, gorgeous dress!! got so many compliments!! cons- nervous about how it would fit but with the option of sizes, no need to stress. I would absolutely rent another dress, maybe even this one again!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
August 19, 2012
numerous compliments throughout the evening, being able to wear a beautiful affordable dress
I'm 5'3" and normally wear a 6 or an 8 so after reading reviews that the dress is form fitting and may run small I decided to order the 8R and the 10R. If you don't have a pretty flat stomach then the dress will be tight. The 8 fit me but I chose to go with the 10 just so I could have some extra breathing room. The hips were more of a relaxed fit so no problems there. The length on me was exactly the same as the model in the photo in that the bottom of the dress just brushed the floor. The straps were too big on me but I secured them down with some fashion tape. Overall I loved the dress and received numerous compliments throughout the evening. I wore this to a formal black tie boxing event and the dress fit with the evening perfectly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 154lbs
August 19, 2012
Never received dress... But had amazing service in helping find another dress! :D
I never received this dress because it was unable to be delivered in time but I am still righting a entry to talk about how truly supporting and helpful the people of rtr are. They not only called and emailed me right away but allowed me to pick out another dress regardless of price. They ever gave me possible suggestions to substitute the dress and the new dres I received was still brought on time. I hope this is helpful information for you in your future purchase. Instead of true to size, I wish I could submit true to support you to make sure you receive the best customer service possible.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2012
Beautiful, but didn't flatter
I ordered my size and a size up, but the midsection was just too clingy on me after having two babies. The dress is beautiful. Sequins are a matte finish instead of super shiny. It was also not quite long enough for me, even though I ordered the long and a size up. I would have had to wear shorter heels with it. I ended up wearing my second choice dress.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 23, 2012
A Tennessee Waltz
This dress is gorgeous. The sequin detailing is exquisit and it really serves as a statement gown. However, my waist is 25" and my hips are 38.5" and the gown was simply too loose under the bust line. The gown fit on my hips well but here was extra fabric when zipped correctly. I am curious if I could have fit into the 0L. Like a previous reviewer, I also fashion taped the dress into an open back in order to cinch in the dress. I don't consider my bust line small, but I did not fill the dress out the way that I wanted to, even after the cinching. I did get compliments on the dress but next time I think I will go for something with an empire waist or more tailored to a hourglass figure. On a side note, my order was incorrect from RTR (they sent the wrong dress in the size I requested) but this did not compromise me having a gown to wear to the event. Returning them was a breeze and I will use RTR for my next formal event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
April 22, 2012
Elegant and sexy
I wore this to a gala/ date. Would recommend it highly. It feels like you are wearing a piece of art. I felt even better two weeks later when I saw it in the window of Zac Posen :)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
March 5, 2012
This was my first experience with RTR. Imagine my delight when the dress arrived and still had the tags on it. I was the first person to wear this beautiful designer gown! I will definitely rent from RTR again.
This dress is even more beautiful in person. The sequins are actually a mix of matte black and gunmetal gray, which creates a subtle pattern on the dress. The result is an elegant gown that shimmers with every movement. The straps are edged in a raw silk and the fringy effect is so modern and chic. The back of the dress is slightly longer than the front which creates a slight train when you walk--so fun! The dress fit perfectly in the hips and waist, but the top was too tight, even for my moderate bustline. I was SO disappointed, and I really wanted to wear the dress, so I got creative! If you look closely you can see that the dress has an inset waist, so I decided to zip the back of the dress just up to the inset waist. I tucked the unzipped part of the top under and secured it with a bit of fashion tape. So, instead of a higher scoop neck back, I created a plunging bare back dress. SO sexy--I actually liked it much better than the scoop back and it fit my bustline perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
February 14, 2012
Beautiful dress
This was a beautiful dress in person and pretty true to fit. My issue was that I just had a baby 5 months ago and have a squishy mid section still so it was a little tight. A great dress for the straight and narrow type I would say. I'm 6 ft and the length was just long enough. I would have had to wear flats. I ended up ordering another dress but loved this one. Thanks to RTR for helping with my order. I will definitely order from you again. You guys are great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 8, 2012
PERFECTION
I wore this dress to a formal black tie affair, and this dress was a knockout! I got compliments from every person at the party and even some random passers-by and staff members. This dress was absolutely stunning, and I would definitely wear this again. The only tricky thing with this dress for me dealt with the shoulder straps. I have very petite shoulders, and the straps were a little long. Thankfully, Rent the Runway gives you the dress tape to help hold those strappy or loose ends in place to give you the perfect look.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 67
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2012
sadly it did not fit well
Beautiful dress, but just did not fit my body type.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 8, 2012
Wore this to a masquerade ball
I can usually wear size 10 or 12, the 12 fit perfectly, especially in hips & bust. I got a lot of compliments!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 7, 2011
Felt like the belle of the ball
True size 8 fit. I typically wear size 8 in any dress. I wear 8-10 in jeans and Medium top. I picked 8L so I could wear tall heels and it was perfect. I'm not sure if the 8R would have been much shorter but it worked great for me. I wear Regular-Long in my jeans as well (Old Navy Jeans = Long, Joe's or citizens = regular length). Flat footed I'm 5'8" I'm not busty by an means but I'm not flat either. This dress worked perfectly! My hips are what I consider the biggest part of my body. This dress hid that well. I felt comfortable in it all night and got lots of compliments. I could wear a regular bra and undergarments which was nice. Overall I was well pleased with my RTR choice
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×