ZAC Zac Posen

Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
171 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(112)
Small
(17)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 1, 2015
Straps were super long. Otherwise adoreeeee
Great !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2015
Comfy, cute dress...
I wore this dress after my original ordered dress did not fit. Overall the dress was well made and very comfortable. The embroidery detail makes the dress a little more interesting although not sure you can see it far away. The pockets were definitely a nice touch. It was a last minute order that ended up working fine but don't think I would rent again. And like other reviewers had noted the straps are extremely long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 4, 2015
Nice dress. Nothing special. Straps were way too long.
This dress was just okay. The straps were way too long and wouldn't stay on my shoulders.. had to use a small scarf to tie the straps together in the back to make it a halter. If you have narrow shoulders, this dress is not for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 13, 2015
Classic dress with pockets!
This dress was sent to me as a backup and it was a pleasant surprise. I love the classic cut, sweetheart neckline, and POCKETS. I wore it for a daytime catholic ceremony with a nighttime reception and it transitioned, I think, perfectly. Like others have said, the straps are a little long, but I think it made the neckline more flattering. If you have a shorter torso, that might be a problem. I was very comfortable all night; never felt self-conscious or felt like I needed to adjust anything.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32D
September 27, 2015
Beautiful dress! tons of compliments!
It was a really pretty dress especially in person, fit really well and was comfortable, also has pockets which I loved!! Only thing I wasn't happy with was as a lot of other reviews said the straps were extremely long and I had to safety pin them, but other then that I loved it! I wore it to my homecoming and got tons of compliments on it! Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 12, 2015
Flatters the figure in all the right places!
This dress is gorgeous. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the straps. I can't imagine these straps would stay up for anybody! They are so ridiculously long. I tried to safety pin the straps (about 2 inches too long) but the material is thick so the pins kept busting. The best solution to fix this is to tie the straps together in the back. I did this and slid the elastic up so my hair covered it. This gave the straps a tent shape which was fine with me and it created the perfect fit. I normally am a size 8 but I ordered up a size because I am a busty 36D and the 8, although it fit perfectly elsewhere, was too snug in the chest. I suggest sizing up if you're a D cup. I wore a strapless bra. This dress is great quality, brighter blue than pictured. First RTR experience was a success, I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2015
It worked well for a mad men themed party
I rented it for a mad men themed party. The fabric of the dress even matched the background of the photo booth! I wore it with a tulle petticoat underneath for extra poof, and a pair of long white gloves. There are a couple of little issues with the dress: 1) the straps are too long so I had to safety pin them -- for reference, I am 5'5" with an average length torso; 2) the dress runs large. I wore the 6 (backup was a 8), but would be better off in a 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 20, 2015
Pockets Rock It!
It has pockets on the side seams! So awesome! Okay, it is also gorgeous. Nice heavy brocade fabric. Looks like RTR had tried to take up the shoulder straps but still needed to pin them up another 3/4 of an inch. Lots of compliments. :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 7, 2015
Beautiful color and super fun dress to wear.
Straps may have been the tiniest bit long but they managed to stay on my shoulders. Pockets were awesome for my phone and the dress was so comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2015
Cute and classy dress!
I wore this one a while back for a friend's wedding. The straps were a little big, but other than that the dress fit nicely and was true to size. The fabric is beautiful and is much prettier in person!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2016
2nd time was better!
I rented this dress in the solid navy color about a year ago which ran much smaller and had no stretch. This one was stretchier and the straps were too long. I had to tuck them in and safety pin them to the inside of the dress. Was a last minute rental, so I did what I could with it. Didn't hate it, did not love it.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 17
January 17, 2016
The straps were too long, the fabric & hem are weird, but the boddess was nicely fitted
Did not end up wearing
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
June 3, 2016
Fit perfectly and the embroidery was unexpectedly detailed and beautiful. Great cocktail dress!
Perfect fit, the sides seemed to ride up a bit but otherwise snug feel
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress. Classy and fun.
I loved wearing this dress and it lots of compliments. It's hard to see from the pics but there are two different patterns and they are both beautiful. It felt perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
June 13, 2016
Perfect
It fit like a glove, i loved that it has pockets!!! The only bad part is, the straps are long so you have to pin them. Other than that i was very pleased!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2016
The perfect dress for a short girl
This dress was so flattering and the color and detail was just beautiful. I've never felt so classy! The best dress to wear for a classy San Francisco wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2016
We rented this dress for our daughter who was a guest at a Bat Mitzvah party. Looked stunning!
My daughter is just 13, but I can imagine this dress would work for a range of ages. She is a competitive swimmer (5'-10" tall with broad shoulders and rib cage on an otherwise small frame). The 8 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Fabric
Absolutely adored this dress. Incredibly comfortable, didn't even have to wear a bra! Biggest flaw: straps way too long as other reviewers noted. I had to use a bracelet to tie it together at the top under my hair. Fabric is high quality and beautiful in person. Wish I owned this dress and had the straps altered :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 24, 2016
Perfect homecoming dress for my freshman daughter.
The picture doesn't do the fabric or color of the dress justice. It is a beautiful blue and black contrasting pattern and is gorgeous. The straps were definitely too long, but otherwise the fit was perfect. We had to pin about 4" of each strap, but in my opinion it was worth it for a well-priced rental, and definitely not noticeable at all. My daughter loved the pockets so she didn't need to carry a purse. She was very comfortable all night. Lastly, she didn't wear a bra, but she put some padding and then used tattoo tape (our best friend for any formal occasion) to have the dress fall nicely against her chest. I have personally rented dresses several times for myself, but this was a first for my daughter. She is a ballerina with long legs and a thin profile. After having read other reviews I decided to take the chance and I am so glad that I did!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 27, 2016
Great dress!
Loves the dress. Straps were loose. Loved the pockets
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2016
Nice dress not too fancy... AND IT HAS POCKETS!! :)
This dress was comfortable, true to size, and it had POCKETS! Lol which was awesome not having to go into my purse constantly. It does have a nice pattern which is hard to see in the picture, and I did have to pin the straps as they were a little long (that's the only reason I'm not giving it the 5th star).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Straps too long and annoying
This dress was okay, the straps were very long and I had to keep adjusting them, besides that the dress was very comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
January 5, 2017
Dress is very flattering and the material is gorgeous!
Flattering fit but definitely runs small, especially if you're busty! Overall it was the perfect dress for my friend's wedding and I had lots of fun dancing the night away in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
May 17, 2017
amazing dress and customer service
I first ordered this dress in a 6 and 8, however the top was too tight. Rent the Runway was really helpful in sending a size bigger by the next day and my new dress arrived very quickly. They had amazing and really helpful customer service. The dress itself is gorgeous. The fabric is really thick and beautiful. The straps are a little too long, but I pinned them with safety pins and then it was no problem. Length is perfect and it has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 29, 2017
Cute
Cute & fun. I'm giving 4 stars because the straps were so long. They fell down all night. I still had so many compliments and felt cute all night. If you are large up top you will need a strapless bra as the top panel is quite low. On the best side POCKETS!!! Loved them.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2017
Love the dress and fit!! Super comfy!
I absolutely fell in love with this dress! I am pretty petite with a bigger bust and it's hard to find dresses that fit well. The only downfall was the straps, as they are weirdly long. I had to make them shorter by pinning them down in the back. The pockets were great for holding my chapstick! Best part is no bra is needed for this dress. Very supportive and forgiving dress! Wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 29, 2017
Flattering fit, long straps, heavy material
It has pockets! Who doesn't love that! Worn by my teen daughter for a school dance. Fits slightly on the small side. Thick fitted material did not require a bra. Straps are very long and had to be pinned to be wearable. Mix of front and back side of fabric for different parts of the dress was an interesting subtle detail
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2013
Cute, fun, sophisticated party dress
Like others have mentioned, the straps were entirely too long and needed to be pinned. Other than that, the dress was great. I loved the thick material (which sort of reminded me of curtains, but I liked it), swingy skirt, overall shape, and especially the pockets. I said it runs large because it is loose around the hips (my biggest area), so I could wear a smaller size. In fact, the 2 was a little large in the waist/ribcage area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress, plus pockets!
I absolutely loved this dress, especially the quality of the fabric; and the pockets were a huge bonus! Like other people have said the straps were a bit long, especially when I tried on the 2, however the straps on the 0 were fine so I didn't even need to pin them! In general the length was prefect, not being too short or too long, and the skirt was nice and full. Wonderful overall!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
March 29, 2014
Beautiful dress
I loved this dress, however It was much too large, so I didn't end up wearing it. Very dissapointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 14, 2014
This dress was beautiful, but it was huge!
The straps were way too long and the size was so off that I felt like I was swimming in the dress. Too bad. It was a really pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2014
Perfect length for a wedding
This dress was enough for church, yet short enough to not get stepped on at the dance floor. I ordered a back-up size 8 and ended up wearing the 6 (I'm the one on the left, my sister is modeling the 8). Straps are long, so I had to temporarily shorten them with a quick stitch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2014
cute dress, strange fit
the straps were too long, and the waist was too tight. A strange fit but beautiful fabric.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
June 24, 2014
Had to return without wearing; weird bunching at waist
I was so excited to rent this dress for my engagement photos. Unfortunately, I was incredibly disappointed and ended up putting the dress right back into a UPS drop box mere hours after receiving it. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2-4 in dresses, erring on the smaller size for dresses that are fitted at the waist like this. In the photo of the model, as well as in most user review photos, the dress appears to come in and go right back out in a sharp, smooth, defined way at the waist. On me, the fabric bunched a lot at the waist and refused to lie smooth. Instead of defining my waist, this dress made it look about an inch wider on each side. This was the case no matter how I adjusted where the dress sat on me (as other reviewers have mentioned, the straps are way to long, so I was able to play around with how high the dress sat on my body), and it was even worse with the size 4. Tl;dr: if you are hourglass-shaped, do not buy this dress (or if you do, maybe order a size down, though be warned that there isn't much stretch). It will not define your waist.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 15, 2014
didn't end up wearing it but beautiful dress
The straps were too big and it was a little small on the boobs (34DD) and too big on the waist
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2014
Great fabric, great cut - loved the dress
Thought the size 4 would fit but wore the size 2.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 30, 2014
the uniqueness of the dress was great! No other girl had it!
The only complaints that I have about this dress is that even though I ordered a 0 is was still a little large on my small flat shape. It still however was a joy to wear throughout the evening! Also the straps were very long so I did a removable stitch on them to hold through the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Sexy twist on an LBD
I wanted a midnight blue dress that matched my date's tux for a cocktail wedding. I loved the color and the length of this dress (I have a long torso and it wasn't too short) and I received a lot of compliments. But there was one strange problem: the straps were way too long. I noticed that comment in other reviews but ignored it because I thought it was an anomaly. It's not, it's a problem. They kept slipping all night. The quality fabric is nice and structured so it looks really great for a black tie or cocktail event. The blue is more vibrant than it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 112lbs
April 27, 2016
Great party dress, long straps!
Gorgeous fabric on this dress! It's hard to see in photos, but visible in person. It's a black and very dark blue. I love dresses with thick fabric. I'm 5'7, about 115 and I'm fairly certain I ended up wearing the size 0. The straps were definitely long. I pinned them before leaving the house, but I couldn't get it to stay pinned when sitting down and getting pulled, so they just ended up being droopy. The dress still stayed up due to a tighter fit in the torso. You can see the straps that are loose in my car photo. Overall, pretty party dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
Flirty, fun, forgiving dress
The straps are definitely too long but it's an adorable dress
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×