ZAC Zac Posen

Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2013
Pretty dress, just didn't fit me right
The material on this dress is BEAUTIFUL, a great subtle pattern, and the material is thick enough that the top is a bit like a corset, so really sucks you in, which can feel great. My issue was that I was between sizes...the 6 was way too loose on me, and the 4 barely zipped up, it was so tight I was popping out of it a bit and didn't feel comfortable. Was really bummed, but then I called RTR and they sent me new options the next morning, and a different dress fit me perfectly...AMAZING customer service. Would definitely rent again after this experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 16, 2013
simple, flattering dress in a unique fabric
This dress was really comfortable and flattering. Perfect length and right amount of flare to the skirt. I am generally a 6, but the fabric has a bit of stretch, so could have probably gone a size smaller. If you are shorter, the straps may be a bit long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful dress but wasn't for me
This dress was beautiful. The fabric was very rich and a pleasant surprise. However, you are very exposed on your chest and legs, which I wasn't comfortable letting both out. This ended up being ALOT shorter than I thought it was going to be. However, the fit is great if you want to be a little more daring for the night!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2013
LOVED IT! Got Compliments all night
This dress was so flattering and perfect for the wedding I was attending. I seriously got compliments all night long. The other reviews are definitely correct, yes, the straps are a bit long, however all I needed to do was put a safety pin on each side and I was all set for the night. Aside from that, the dress fit true to size and was comfortable. The fabric was thick and the structure of the dress was sturdy enough that I didn't have wear a strapless bra with it and was comfortable and felt covered all night. Would recommend this dress to anyone!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
October 8, 2013
This was an absolutely stunning ensemble!
From the moment the dress arrived, I was quite impressed with the overall beauty of it. I adored the color and the fit. The straps were a tad bit too large, so I simply pinned them. I received many compliments about the dress. The only flaw is that I couldn't keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 11, 2013
This dress was SUPER comfortable and perfect for a black tie wedding. Absolutely loved it!
Only problem were the strap were too long/stretched. I am small chested and the straps were way too loose, so I had to pin them in the back of the dress. But once they were pinned the night was fantastic. Highly recommend for a formal affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2013
Cute, fun, sophisticated party dress
Like others have mentioned, the straps were entirely too long and needed to be pinned. Other than that, the dress was great. I loved the thick material (which sort of reminded me of curtains, but I liked it), swingy skirt, overall shape, and especially the pockets. I said it runs large because it is loose around the hips (my biggest area), so I could wear a smaller size. In fact, the 2 was a little large in the waist/ribcage area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2013
Gorgeous dress, plus pockets!
I absolutely loved this dress, especially the quality of the fabric; and the pockets were a huge bonus! Like other people have said the straps were a bit long, especially when I tried on the 2, however the straps on the 0 were fine so I didn't even need to pin them! In general the length was prefect, not being too short or too long, and the skirt was nice and full. Wonderful overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2013
Great dress with beautiful fabric
I loved this dress but ended up wearing a different one. I love how thick the fabric is - didn't even need Spanx! I thought the fabric looked a little bit like drapes and so went for a more plain dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 54
April 9, 2014
Didn't like this dress on at all didn't end up wearing it
This dress was not made for me
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
January 20, 2014
The perfect dress!!
I wore this for my high school homecoming and couldn't have picked a better dress! the fit was perfect, although the straps were too long so I just pinned them up. Just the fabric itself was quality and felt very durable. The event was 50's themed and the dress held up brilliantly through all the swing dancing. I was also pleasantly surprised by the pockets!! (perfect for a phone, camera, or if you don't know what to do with your hands...) Overall a really wonderful dress, almost didn't want to give it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2014
This dress feels a little more formal with its fabric, but is still young and flirty.
This dress is pretty and appropriate for a holiday party, upscale date, and more. The fabric is a little heavier than most fuller skirts would be, but otherwise I definitely loved how small it made my waist look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 10, 2014
I got a ton of compliments on this dress. My favorite was "You look like Marilyn Monroe!"
The dress fits pretty true to size. However, the straps were really long. Also, the zipper is a little tricky. My roommates and I had to work on it together. But I loved wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2014
Comfortable + Classy
I loved this dress... so much so that I had a difficult time returning it! It was the perfect dress for a Friday night wedding. The color and pattern are unique, yet present a very sophisticated vibe. I'm not naturally a flashy dresser but I like being in something subtly "different." The make and quality of this dress fit that bill. My only issue, which others have mentioned, was the straps. They were definitely too long, and I needed to have them temporarily adjusted with a few pieces of thread. Rent the Runway actually handled this PERFECTLY by accommodating me in their New York showroom, which is a few blocks from my apartment. Their in-house seamstress (who was onsite to do hemming) was excellent. And very kind. Thanks to all at Rent the Runway for the awesome treatment and customer service. This experience was so positive for me I have already rented a second dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 27, 2014
The perfect dress for prom!
The straps were definitely too long, but with those fixed, the dress was perfect and beautiful! I got compliments the whole night and the print is even better in person. I would also recommend if you have a bigger bust to definitely size up.
ToriApril 6, 2014
how did you fix the straps?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
March 29, 2014
Beautiful dress
I loved this dress, however It was much too large, so I didn't end up wearing it. Very dissapointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 14, 2014
This dress was beautiful, but it was huge!
The straps were way too long and the size was so off that I felt like I was swimming in the dress. Too bad. It was a really pretty dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2014
I wore this dress to a formal for my sorority, and it was a hit.
the dress fit great, the bodice especially, and the skirt has a nice flare to it. It also has pockets! which add a nice cozy aspect to the dress. The fabric itself is great, because it is a nice thick material, but still has a pretty texture and design.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
I really liked this dress for a wedding.
The dress fit true to size, i would order one size larger as the backup. it was a little tight in the bust but not to the point that i couldnt breathe nor did it look funny. I am a D cup so to be expected :|. Like other reviewers said the straps were too long, but on me there were only a little too long and not long enough to pin. The brocade design is unique and the cut is very flattering as it cinches the waist and then flares out. The dress was not near as short on me as it is on the model. I would say it was perfectly modest for a wedding or other classy affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 3, 2014
Did not work out
Both sizes were too small - straps too long - just didn't work out
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
Nice, but understated, dress
Pros: It fits true to size Comfortable, and not too short If you don't want to stand out too much, it's good for that FAR better than any $35 you would have spent elsewhere Cons: Not as bold/exciting of a pattern as anticipated Straps are a little too long (even for my very long torso/upper body) Overall, the dress is pretty nice. Compared to spending $35 on a dress at a random store (who knows what you'd even get for that) it is a great rental. It's comfortable and has pockets, but don't expect it to be the stand out dress of the evening. I wore it with a simple gold necklace and it was a cute look. Maybe a different color would be more of the stand-out look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2014
Perfect dress for my bridal shower
This dress fit well and is a very flattering cut. I really liked the texture of the fabric and the pockets too! I wore this for my 60's "mad men" themed bridal shower and I was very happy with it. I paired it with the Kate Spade piano keys necklace which I also rented from RTR. I would definitely rent this dress again. I got the 4 and the 6 but ended up wearing the 4 because the 6 was a little loose in the waist and the straps were a little long too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
May 14, 2014
This arrived just in time for my event. I loved this dress!
Love love loved this dress. I wore it for a gala, and it was the perfect dress. The material is a little heavier, and the detail is beautiful. The straps are a little long, but that wasn't too much of a problem for me. The structure of the dress is very flattering, and the 12 was a perfect length. I wish I didn't have to give this dress back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2014
Great fit, color and detail are richer in person
Overall, the dress is extremely flattering, especially if you're hour glass or pear shaped, since the bottom half is full and offers coverage. The straps are a little long, which shouldn't be an issue unless you are very petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
May 26, 2014
Perfect length for a wedding
This dress was enough for church, yet short enough to not get stepped on at the dance floor. I ordered a back-up size 8 and ended up wearing the 6 (I'm the one on the left, my sister is modeling the 8). Straps are long, so I had to temporarily shorten them with a quick stitch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2014
At first I didn't like it. Then I tried it on and loved it!
This dress was awesome. At first, I hated it though! It doesn't look that great on the hanger and the length seemed a little too long for my height. The straps were also waaaaay too long. Once I tried it on with my heels, though, the length was perfect. I also had to safety pin the straps. I am normally a size 6, but I ordered a size 4 and it fit me as well. I wanted to be more comfortable though so I wore the 6. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress (if you don't mind fixing the straps). It made me look amazing, photographed well and I was getting compliments all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2014
cute dress, strange fit
the straps were too long, and the waist was too tight. A strange fit but beautiful fabric.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress was really pretty. The only issue was that the straps were extremely long, but it was an easy fix. Also the top was pretty tight to the point where I didn't have to wear a bra and it looked fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2014
My birthday party!
This was such a beautiful dress with really great fabric! It fit snugly but wasn't uncomfortable. It was cute and flirty and very flattering. Wish I owned it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
June 24, 2014
Had to return without wearing; weird bunching at waist
I was so excited to rent this dress for my engagement photos. Unfortunately, I was incredibly disappointed and ended up putting the dress right back into a UPS drop box mere hours after receiving it. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2-4 in dresses, erring on the smaller size for dresses that are fitted at the waist like this. In the photo of the model, as well as in most user review photos, the dress appears to come in and go right back out in a sharp, smooth, defined way at the waist. On me, the fabric bunched a lot at the waist and refused to lie smooth. Instead of defining my waist, this dress made it look about an inch wider on each side. This was the case no matter how I adjusted where the dress sat on me (as other reviewers have mentioned, the straps are way to long, so I was able to play around with how high the dress sat on my body), and it was even worse with the size 4. Tl;dr: if you are hourglass-shaped, do not buy this dress (or if you do, maybe order a size down, though be warned that there isn't much stretch). It will not define your waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2014
Wore this dress to a night wedding. Beautiful dress and I received many compliments.
Fit was true to size but the straps were very long. The material is very thick and definitely more of a winter dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
I was complimented on my dress by people I didn't know!
This dress was very flattering and fit wonderfully on my body. The color and pattern were beautiful, it looked very elegant. My only beef with this dress was that the straps were way too large. They kept falling down my shoulders. It looked a bit like I was drunk, even though I was perfectly sober.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
June 30, 2014
Beautiful material, great fit with the exception of strap length
This dress fit perfectly, with the caveat that the straps were too long, as many other reviews have mentioned. This was not really an issue for me because the bodice was snug enough that there was no danger of the dress falling down, and if I maintained good posture the straps stayed in place. I would recommend getting some fashion tape just in case. Otherwise, the dress was gorgeous and very flattering. I am petite and often find that many dresses are too long for me, but this was the perfect length with heels. The pattern was very beautiful, and the overall look was unique compared to other dresses I was shopping around for. I would definitely recommend renting this dress, particularly if you are petite and are looking for a dress that isn't too big for your body type.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 15, 2014
didn't end up wearing it but beautiful dress
The straps were too big and it was a little small on the boobs (34DD) and too big on the waist
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I didn't want to take this dress off. I loved everything about it- the color, fabric, style, and fit. I wore it to my college graduation :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
May 5, 2014
lovely. fabric is very rich.
Fits well. No complaints.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2014
So many compliments !!!
Material was thick and beautiful. Perfect for the classic pear shape. I am 34-27-38 with a long torso and this for great. Did have to pin the straps though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2014
Not my favorite
This was my back up dress, and I am very glad the other dress worked out. I am rather flat chested, and didn't really fill out the best area of this dress. I also felt like the straps were too long and I felt. Rey bare up top. Otherwise, the fabric was pretty and detailed.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2014
Beautiful, classicly cut dress.
So, the dress I tried on in store was much looser in the bust than the dress I received. Overall, the fit was true to size, but I ended up having to remove my bra because it was just so tight in the bust. Additionally, the straps were too long, and I had to pin them. Someone at RTR said they would make a note and have them fixed for me, but that was not the case. In the end, the dress was beautiful, but just okay because of a few factors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 4, 2014
Returned without wearing :(
Really wanted this dress to work but the straps were ridiculously long on my 5'5" frame. Didn't want to be bothered trying to make it fit so both sizes had to be returned.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×