ZAC Zac Posen

Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
162 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(16)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
August 10, 2017
I wore this dress to Junior Prom and I LOVED IT!!
Okay, so all the reviews that say the shoulder straps are too long are totally accurate. They are a solid inch or two too big. But my mom pinned them for me (because I would have bled out if I'd tried to do it myself, let's be honest) and it worked totally fine! It's comfortable but still nice, high quality fabric but not too heavy and hot... I loved this dress. It was amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 29, 2017
Cute
Cute & fun. I'm giving 4 stars because the straps were so long. They fell down all night. I still had so many compliments and felt cute all night. If you are large up top you will need a strapless bra as the top panel is quite low. On the best side POCKETS!!! Loved them.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2017
Love it!
This dress is made from a satiny navy blue fabric with back velvet detailing, it looks and feels so luxurious. I felt like a princess and received many compliments on the dress. It is very fitted at through the bust, ribs, and waist and then widens out (perfect for small-waisted gals with regular/wide hips).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2017
Really pretty and fun dress.
Fit great, and was true to size. Beautiful detail but doesn't show up in photos very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 21, 2017
The dress was beautiful! Received a lot of compliments on the dress throughout the wedding.
Great color, true to size, and very comfortable.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
May 17, 2017
amazing dress and customer service
I first ordered this dress in a 6 and 8, however the top was too tight. Rent the Runway was really helpful in sending a size bigger by the next day and my new dress arrived very quickly. They had amazing and really helpful customer service. The dress itself is gorgeous. The fabric is really thick and beautiful. The straps are a little too long, but I pinned them with safety pins and then it was no problem. Length is perfect and it has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2017
Very cute for a younger woman - long straps
I rented this for my 12-year old daughter for NYE. We rented both the 6 and the 8, and the 8 was a much better fit; however, we had to pin the straps in place. They were so long! They were at least 2" too long. Once pinned in place, the dress was very cute on her.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
January 5, 2017
Dress is very flattering and the material is gorgeous!
Flattering fit but definitely runs small, especially if you're busty! Overall it was the perfect dress for my friend's wedding and I had lots of fun dancing the night away in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2016
Cute backup dress but I didn't wear it
I got this as a backup dress when I discovered that my first pick was no longer available in the second size. I wanted to love this but it really didn't work for me. The waist goes down on both sides of the hips, which wasn't very flattering on my hourglass figure and made my hips look large. The straps were also way too long. Other than that I liked the fabric and the color of the dress, my friend ended up wearing it for the wedding instead and she looked great, she has much narrower hips so it gave her the illusion of hips instead of flaring out too much like it did on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Straps too long and annoying
This dress was okay, the straps were very long and I had to keep adjusting them, besides that the dress was very comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2016
Nice dress not too fancy... AND IT HAS POCKETS!! :)
This dress was comfortable, true to size, and it had POCKETS! Lol which was awesome not having to go into my purse constantly. It does have a nice pattern which is hard to see in the picture, and I did have to pin the straps as they were a little long (that's the only reason I'm not giving it the 5th star).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 27, 2016
Pretty and easy to dance in!
I rented this for my 15 year old daughter's homecoming and it worked perfectly. Reading the reviews, I expected the straps to be too long and they are, but with careful and thorough pinning, the dress fit beautifully. She received tons of compliments and found it very easy to dance in. The pockets were super helpful to keep her phone. She looked gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 3, 2016
Looked great and was clearly high quality!
I always have a problem with the top part being a little too big while the waist is perfect. I ended up pinning the straps just because my shoulders are more slender. Super flattering.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
September 27, 2016
Great dress!
Loves the dress. Straps were loose. Loved the pockets
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
September 24, 2016
Perfect homecoming dress for my freshman daughter.
The picture doesn't do the fabric or color of the dress justice. It is a beautiful blue and black contrasting pattern and is gorgeous. The straps were definitely too long, but otherwise the fit was perfect. We had to pin about 4" of each strap, but in my opinion it was worth it for a well-priced rental, and definitely not noticeable at all. My daughter loved the pockets so she didn't need to carry a purse. She was very comfortable all night. Lastly, she didn't wear a bra, but she put some padding and then used tattoo tape (our best friend for any formal occasion) to have the dress fall nicely against her chest. I have personally rented dresses several times for myself, but this was a first for my daughter. She is a ballerina with long legs and a thin profile. After having read other reviews I decided to take the chance and I am so glad that I did!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 11, 2016
Beautiful Fabric
Absolutely adored this dress. Incredibly comfortable, didn't even have to wear a bra! Biggest flaw: straps way too long as other reviewers noted. I had to use a bracelet to tie it together at the top under my hair. Fabric is high quality and beautiful in person. Wish I owned this dress and had the straps altered :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
September 6, 2016
Beautiful Dress, A Little Tight On Top
This dress is gorgeous, no way around it. I typically order an 8 and get a 10 for backup, and I'm so glad I do because for this one I definitely needed the 10. Even so, it was a little tight on top, especially around the under arms area.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 14
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2016
We rented this dress for our daughter who was a guest at a Bat Mitzvah party. Looked stunning!
My daughter is just 13, but I can imagine this dress would work for a range of ages. She is a competitive swimmer (5'-10" tall with broad shoulders and rib cage on an otherwise small frame). The 8 fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
August 19, 2016
This dress.
This dress was absolutely gorgeous!! My daughter wore it to a school dance and got so many compliments!! It runs true to size around the hips and stomach, but you're bust size holds up the dress because the dress straps are long. She has a small bust size which made the dress somewhat uncomfortable because it kept falling while she moved/danced. Overall it was a wonderful dress, but I don't recommend it for people with a small bust size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
August 14, 2016
Perfect dress to dance in!
Awesome dress, would have loved to keep it if I could. It is kind of a heavy material, but soooo well made!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2016
Love the Fabric, Long Straps.
This was a very comfortable dress and the fabric was beautiful. I loved the pattern and it moved just enough with dancing. I couldn't wear heels due to an injury, so I wanted a shorter dress as I am only 5'1" and didn't want to feel "frumpy." This was perfect, it hit right above my knee. Like others said, the only con was that the straps are a little bit long. I didn't have time to pin them, but it could probably be done. They slid off of my shoulders a few times, but I felt so good in the rest of the dress that I didn't even care.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2016
The perfect dress for a short girl
This dress was so flattering and the color and detail was just beautiful. I've never felt so classy! The best dress to wear for a classy San Francisco wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
June 13, 2016
Perfect
It fit like a glove, i loved that it has pockets!!! The only bad part is, the straps are long so you have to pin them. Other than that i was very pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 13, 2016
Great dress - Great quality, but the straps were too long!
I rented this dress for a concert, but unfortunately the straps were too short. I'm 5'1, so I think it would be better for girls that are a little taller.
JessikaAugust 15, 2016
Hi there! Did this dress need ironing prior to wear? I am hopping on a plane to Vegas with this dress and wondering if I'll need to iron it when I get there. Thanks in advance for any insight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2016
Beautiful dress. Classy and fun.
I loved wearing this dress and it lots of compliments. It's hard to see from the pics but there are two different patterns and they are both beautiful. It felt perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
June 3, 2016
Fit perfectly and the embroidery was unexpectedly detailed and beautiful. Great cocktail dress!
Perfect fit, the sides seemed to ride up a bit but otherwise snug feel
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
May 20, 2016
Cute and comfy dress for a wedding.
I wore this dress for a wedding and loved it! Pockets in a dress are my absolute favorite. THe straps are my only complaint on this. Way too big... Otherwise, it was great!
JessikaAugust 15, 2016
Hi there! Did this dress need ironing prior to wear? I am hopping on a plane to Vegas with this dress and wondering if I'll need to iron it when I get there. Thanks in advance for any insight!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 8, 2016
Fun print, great length & pockets!
Overall fit true to size but as everyone else stated, the straps are so long, I had to pin them about 3-4 inches to make it work! The dress was a great length for a formal wedding and I loved the pattern. Would rent this dress again.
JessikaAugust 15, 2016
Hi there! Did this dress need ironing prior to wear? I am hopping on a plane to Vegas with this dress and wondering if I'll need to iron it when I get there. Thanks in advance for any insight!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
May 7, 2016
It fit great, and I loved the pockets!
The picture doesn't really show the details of the dress, but it's a great baroque pattern that goes well for a night out at a party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 114lbs
April 27, 2016
Great party dress, long straps!
Gorgeous fabric on this dress! It's hard to see in photos, but visible in person. It's a black and very dark blue. I love dresses with thick fabric. I'm 5'7, about 115 and I'm fairly certain I ended up wearing the size 0. The straps were definitely long. I pinned them before leaving the house, but I couldn't get it to stay pinned when sitting down and getting pulled, so they just ended up being droopy. The dress still stayed up due to a tighter fit in the torso. You can see the straps that are loose in my car photo. Overall, pretty party dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 12, 2016
Wore it for a prom that wasn't mine, so I wanted a more understated look. This dress was perfect!
Absolutely wonderful dress! I really enjoyed wearing it and felt great in it! There was a mixup with my planned dress (didn't ship on time) so this was really an emergency fix, but I can't imagine a better dress for the event! Fit perfectly!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 26, 2016
I loved this dress, it had a beautiful pattern that went well with black and blue.
I wore this dress for my schools winter gala, and it was amazing! Like others said, the straps were long.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
February 23, 2016
Cute dress
fits very well, straps a little long, great thick fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2016
Beautiful fabric and pockets made this a stand-out dress!
The fit was great for my hourglass shape - small in the waist with plenty of room in the hips. I ordered a size up from my usual size to make sure it was comfortable. I'd say the fit is somewhere between small and true-to-size. The straps - as many have mentioned - were really long, but a couple of safety pins on each side kept them where they belong. I had to use big safety pins due to how thick the material is, but was able to pin them inside the dress so they weren't visible. The material is very thick but does have a little bit of give so it fits and flatters really well. The pockets were a great added bonus! I rented this for my company holiday party, where all the employees get to perform at a music venue. I spent the evening running on and off stage, playing instruments, etc, and the dress was so comfortable I didn't have to spend any time adjusting it. I was able to keep the set list in the pocket so I had a copy all night. This was my backup dress, but the fit and fabric were so great, I'm glad I got it and chose to wear this one instead!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 6, 2016
formal but comfortable and flattering shape!
easy fit! The details on the dress are pretty but don't show up as well in photos. It does kind of look like a blue jean fabric, but it looks nice and dressy with
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Age: 16
January 17, 2016
The straps were too long, the fabric & hem are weird, but the boddess was nicely fitted
Did not end up wearing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 8, 2016
2nd time was better!
I rented this dress in the solid navy color about a year ago which ran much smaller and had no stretch. This one was stretchier and the straps were too long. I had to tuck them in and safety pin them to the inside of the dress. Was a last minute rental, so I did what I could with it. Didn't hate it, did not love it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2016
Lots of dancing and good pictures!
This was my first RTR dress and the reason I use this site so often! Overall flattering fit, perfect length, and photographs well. The material has a cool pattern and very rich color that I was complimented on all night. I wore this to a friend's Sweet 16, so I danced all night. This dress was easy to move in and wasn't restricting at all (didn't ride up/down, squeeze, or cinch weird). The one problem I had was that the straps were too long (probably because I have a small chest)- but it was an easy fix with a couple of safety pins. Would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2015
It worked well for a mad men themed party
I rented it for a mad men themed party. The fabric of the dress even matched the background of the photo booth! I wore it with a tulle petticoat underneath for extra poof, and a pair of long white gloves. There are a couple of little issues with the dress: 1) the straps are too long so I had to safety pin them -- for reference, I am 5'5" with an average length torso; 2) the dress runs large. I wore the 6 (backup was a 8), but would be better off in a 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 7, 2015
Beautiful color and super fun dress to wear.
Straps may have been the tiniest bit long but they managed to stay on my shoulders. Pockets were awesome for my phone and the dress was so comfortable.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×