ZAC Zac Posen

Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(105)
Small
(16)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
September 11, 2014
Fun night, friends, great music, and DESSERT!
Loved this dress! I was so happy with it! As others mentioned, the 4 was a little big and the straps were definitely long but the 2 fit perfectly and I didn't even have to wear a bra with it. Very comfortable for dancing AND it had pockets! Kept my phone in one and lipstick in another and you couldn't even tell. Would definitely rent from them again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
September 14, 2014
Beautiful fabric - photos don't do it justice!
Overall this is a lovely dress; very comfortable and the fabric is high quality and more iridescent than the photos show with a really lovely dark blue sheen. The dress hit just above my knees (I'm 5'4") and someone had taken in the straps already so that wasn't an issue. I do wish the bodice had a bit more structure as it felt droopy at the waist sometimes, though I would have been interested to try it on in a smaller size. I wanted to be wow'd by the dress and, while it was lovely and my boyfriend really liked it, I don't think i'd rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 23, 2014
Perfect for a crisp fall outdoor wedding!
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Its super comfortable and has a fun skirt that twirls beautifully when you dance! The fabric is thick but wasn't too heavy for me to wear at a mostly outdoor wedding in September. Its blue and black pattern is subtle but also gives the dress some more elegance and the neckline is just incredibly flattering. As others have said, I also had to pin back the straps because they were too long, but it was a quick fix. Got compliments all night, and my date couldn't tell me enough how much he loved me in this dress. Its a winner! HIGHLY recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 26, 2014
New Years Eve!
This dress was amazing! I tried it on in one of RTR's stores in NYC first. Since I'm pretty short, the dress went to right above my knees, which was perfect for me! Just know that it will push your chest up and out, so if you're top heavy, this mighhhttt border on the inappropriate depending on the event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
November 20, 2013
Perfect for Homecoming!
My daughter wore this dress to Homecoming. She's 5'1" - 115lbs - D+ cup. This dress is so beautiful and was comfortable enough that she easily wore it all night without any issues. The straps were too long, but that was a quick fix by simple folding them in at the back and tacking them to the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2013
Goregeous dress
This dress is beautiful. The pattern in person is so much better than it looks online. Even the bride told me I looked hot. It fit well everywhere except the straps were unnecessarily long. I'm glad I read other reviews that said the same thing because I brought safety pins to pin the straps. It would have gotten 5 stars if the straps fit better. Otherwise an awesome dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2014
Customer service was amazing.
Loved the fabric- it was heavy. Pretty brocade. The shoulder straps are super long.. This was small around my rib cage... It was a back up to s backup. Pretty dress... Very basic.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 29, 2014
First homecoming
Overall fit was great, only downfall were that the straps were a little loose, we had to tack them down to make them stay, but overall happy with the fit and style. This dress was for my 14 year old daughter's high school homecoming dance, not me. She is 5'8" 150 lbs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2014
Great fabric, great cut - loved the dress
Thought the size 4 would fit but wore the size 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
October 18, 2014
Fine, not amazing
There was a problem with my original backup dress, so RTR sent this (very similar) one in its place. Love RTR customer service! This dress fit and was cute, and as many others have said, the straps are ridiculously long. The fabric is heavy brocade, which I think feels expensive. But I just wasn't that excited about it. I didn't feel like it really did much for my figure. Would probably not rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2014
Did not end up wearing it.
The straps were way too long and not adjustable which was a real bummer because the dress itself was beautiful and very flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
October 27, 2014
My daughter loved the dress! And it had pockets for cellphone!
I had ordered another dress for my other daughter so for some reason did not get two sizes of this dress. My daughter usually wears a six and I think this dress was true to size but she could have worn the four so it may run a little bigger or do to all the sports she has trimmed down some.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Get safety pins for straps!
Rented this dress for my 15-year-old daughter ( 5"3/ 105 pounds). Perfect dress but, as stated in most reviews, you will probably need safety pins for these straps. We were prepared :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2014
Very pretty, straps SO annoying
This was a beautiful dress--nothing very intricate about it but very nice. You've probably gotten the memo by now that the straps are too long but OH MY GOSH they were hard to safety pin. I had to buy enormous safety pins and used FOUR on each strap because using less than that they would come undone and then stick in my back. The material is very thick so I have no idea how people were able to use fashion tape to make it work. I spent a large chunk of the night fixing pins that had come undone. That being said, the dress was really pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 30, 2014
the uniqueness of the dress was great! No other girl had it!
The only complaints that I have about this dress is that even though I ordered a 0 is was still a little large on my small flat shape. It still however was a joy to wear throughout the evening! Also the straps were very long so I did a removable stitch on them to hold through the night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
November 11, 2014
Pretty dress, loved the fabric
The fabric of the dress was so pretty! I felt very comfortable in the dress all night. Had to tack the straps in the back with pins bc they were too long which was a little annoying. But I would wear it again. Didn't realize it had pockets from other photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2014
Love it!
I absolutely loved this dress!! The fabric is very thick and beautiful, and the pockets are a plus! However the straps are a tad bit long, but it's not something a few safety pins can't fix. I will definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2013
This dress fit amazing, it was so well made
the straps are very long, so it was very low cut and would have been hard to wear a bra, but wasn't necessary. It was a great length, and I got compliments all night
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 18, 2014
Loved the dress.
As others have said the straps are long but its easily fixed with safety pins. The material was heavy and great for a cold weather affair. I did not have to wear a bra with it, the top is form fitting.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2014
Wore this for my graduation and after party and I got so many compliments!
The dress fit in all the right places and I loved how it flared out from the hip area and the color of the dress really brought out the intricate details. The straps were a bit long but I just pinned them back. The fit around the bust was just right and it had a corset type feel which I liked a lot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
December 2, 2014
Great LBD alternative
Exactly what I was looking for. The weight of the material was perfect for keeping me warm at a fall outdoor wedding in the south while still allowing me to show some skin. I'd been warned about the long straps from other comments, and they were VERY long, but it was nothing a few heavy duty safety pins couldn't handle. Size-wise, the 8 fit so well that I didn't even try the 6 before the event. After the wedding, I tried the 6 just to see what it looked like, and that actually fit perfectly and looked even better (next time I will definitely try both sizes BEFORE the event). The color was perfect - I wanted to avoid the stereotypical "little black dress" without sticking out too much, and the shade of blue was perfect. Overall, this was a great dress and I'd even consider renting it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 14, 2014
Dress was amazing. So much better than my normal LBD!
I wore it while hosting a Bridal shower, and the pockets were the best part. The top fit perfectly--I never had to adjust the straps. The fit and flare had the perfect proportions, it made my waist look tiny, and had enough coverage even for my (usually problematic 36DD) chest. The color was lighter/bolder than the navy in the picture, and the pattern makes for really interesting pictures. It looked like someone had made a temporary-stitch adjustment to the straps (taken in almost 2 inches each!) that didn't get removed prior to my receiving the dress. I was so thankful they did that, because it fit even better for me! I'd highly recommend this dress. I was so sad to have to turn it back in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 1, 2015
Straps were super long. Otherwise adoreeeee
Great !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Sexy twist on an LBD
I wanted a midnight blue dress that matched my date's tux for a cocktail wedding. I loved the color and the length of this dress (I have a long torso and it wasn't too short) and I received a lot of compliments. But there was one strange problem: the straps were way too long. I noticed that comment in other reviews but ignored it because I thought it was an anomaly. It's not, it's a problem. They kept slipping all night. The quality fabric is nice and structured so it looks really great for a black tie or cocktail event. The blue is more vibrant than it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2015
I had a really great time with some good friends of mine at my school's Winter Ball
I loved the pockets and it was super nice not to bring a huge bag with me. The dress showed up really well in photographs with light and I loved the detailing on it. For a high school formal dance, it was a little long, but it was still very cute and I was super comfortable dancing. I actually didn't have any trouble with the sleeves, but I could understand how people could, and I was actually able to wear a bra with straps so that was great.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 8, 2015
The fabric was incredibly unique and in different lighting, the blue was different shades.
The straps were long so I did have to fold and sew. The bust area was tighter than would have preferred, but I knew that purchasing this. With this already in mind, it made for amazing dress that people found unique and constantly complemented! I would recommend for those that want something understated but equally memorable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 11, 2015
Comfy, cute dress...
I wore this dress after my original ordered dress did not fit. Overall the dress was well made and very comfortable. The embroidery detail makes the dress a little more interesting although not sure you can see it far away. The pockets were definitely a nice touch. It was a last minute order that ended up working fine but don't think I would rent again. And like other reviewers had noted the straps are extremely long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 21, 2014
Very cute and flattering.
Straps are too long and constantly slip off shoulders. Also a few snags in the material from wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 24, 2014
Such an amazing dress!
I wore the same dress in a different color once before and loved it so much that I wore this one to another event. The fit was fantastic, the material was luxurious and beautiful. I was getting compliments ALL night about how I looked. (Which was nice because it was my birthday.)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 26, 2015
This was a formal optional wedding and this dress was perfect! I received a TON of compliments!
I had to use the larger size due to my bust size. I agree with others that the straps are a little long but in my case not long enough to pin. Love the quality and weight of the dress. Length was perfect. Pockets are awesome! Loved that this dress was unique, elegant, and different than the basic LBD.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 174lbs
April 27, 2015
Loved the dress! I definitely did not want to return it.
I'm usually between a 8 and 10 (depending on brand), but I decided to try on the 10 first and it fit perfectly. Cons: There was trouble getting the zipper up at times because the fabric is so thick. I needed help zipping it up. Like many of the other reviews said, the straps were WAY TOO LONG. I ended up having my friend help me safety pin them by a little over an inch. It was surprising because straps usually dig into my shoulders. Pros: Pockets! They were big enough to fit my Note 3, which is not exactly a small phone. The detailing and color was very beautiful but subtle and classy. The fabric was thick and hardly blew up! There was even a tornado warning and the wind barely had any effect on the dress. The dress fit my chest nicely without being too loose anywhere else. The neckline was low enough to show a little bit of skin (if you have boobs), but high enough to be appropriate for a banquet.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 28, 2015
Flirty and flattering dress!
I loved this dress, it was super tight and fitted (in mostly a good way) I wore it without a bra because it was so fitted, but it acted like a bra and I am a D cup. The top of the dress dug into my armpit area a little, making it not quite as flattering as the rest of the dress, but I just wore my hair down and it was fine. It looks great on and no spanx needed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 4, 2015
Nice dress. Nothing special. Straps were way too long.
This dress was just okay. The straps were way too long and wouldn't stay on my shoulders.. had to use a small scarf to tie the straps together in the back to make it a halter. If you have narrow shoulders, this dress is not for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2015
Size up if you're large-chested!
I liked the look of this dress but didn't wear it because it wasn't a good fit on me. My normal size (8) zipped up but it was so tight in the chest/ribcage area that I was uncomfortable and was spilling out the top. I'm a 34D and there wasn't enough room in the chest. Also since the straps are way too long, the top wasn't tight in a supportive or flattering way (it didn't create cleavage), it just smashed me down. I think if I had ordered a 10 , it might have worked. It's a very pretty dress, I loved the fabric and the pattern.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 17, 2015
Great dress for an outdoors party!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It was perfect for my event, a cruise around Boston Harbor. It was a good length for someone tall too! The only thing that's difficult about this dress are the straps, they are long and tend to fall off the shoulders, so I would try pinning them! Overall great dress, would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
May 18, 2015
I didn't want to give it back
I love this dress so much. It fit like a glove. It's beautiful and flattering. Only bad thing is you can see that it's been worn a lot because the fabric and color fade over time due to being worn and dry cleaned consistently. I still adored it the second I put it on. I'm 5'3 with a short torso and it went a little above my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2015
Rehearsal dinner dress - pretty!
A little small in the boobs (but could also be that the dress was a little small on me). Very comfy otherwise and pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
June 11, 2015
Awesome pattern - long straps
First off- the pattern on this dress was amazing, there were pockets (!), and the material was great. However, as a curvy petite, I had a lot of issues with this dress. The bust was pretty stretched out so I needed to wear a push-up to avoid gaps (I would have preferred no bra with the material). The straps were also very long - I had to do some emergency work to shorten them - otherwise they would have been falling down all night. I also found that this dress ran very small. I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 was tight on my ribs with this dress. I did get a lot of compliments and the mix and match navy patterns looked awesome. RTR team was also really helpful getting me the size 10 same day as I was leaving for the wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 16, 2015
The dress!
The dress was perfect for a June wedding. It looks dark in photos, but the blue really pops up close and in person. Great for twirling and dancing! The straps were a bit long so i had to temporarily sew them. The pockets are just awesome on this dress. Easy zipper and great fit overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 22, 2015
Beautiful fun dress for a summer wedding!
This was the perfect dress for my friend's wedding! The style is very flattering and fun to dance in. The pockets are really convenient and make the dress more casual and fun. The straps did fall down a bit, but could easily be remedied with some double stick tape.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×