ZAC Zac Posen

Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Regal Affair Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

88 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 69
Large 13
Photos 44
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 23, 2013

Gorgeous dress, plus pockets!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress, especially the quality of the fabric; and the pockets were a huge bonus! Like other people have said the straps were a bit long, especially when I tried on the 2, however the straps on the 0 were fine so I didn't even need to pin them! In general the length was prefect, not being too short or too long, and the skirt was nice and full. Wonderful overall!
leigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Great dress with beautiful fabric

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress but ended up wearing a different one. I love how thick the fabric is - didn't even need Spanx! I thought the fabric looked a little bit like drapes and so went for a more plain dress.
Joanna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Jan 20, 2014

The perfect dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my high school homecoming and couldn't have picked a better dress! the fit was perfect, although the straps were too long so I just pinned them up. Just the fabric itself was quality and felt very durable. The event was 50's themed and the dress held up brilliantly through all the swing dancing. I was also pleasantly surprised by the pockets!! (perfect for a phone, camera, or if you don't know what to do with your hands...) Overall a really wonderful dress, almost didn't want to give it back!
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

This dress feels a little more formal with its fabric, but is still young and flirty.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is pretty and appropriate for a holiday party, upscale date, and more. The fabric is a little heavier than most fuller skirts would be, but otherwise I definitely loved how small it made my waist look.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

I got a ton of compliments on this dress. My favorite was "You look like Marilyn Monroe!"

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits pretty true to size. However, the straps were really long. Also, the zipper is a little tricky. My roommates and I had to work on it together. But I loved wearing it.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 21, 2014

Very cute and flattering.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Straps are too long and constantly slip off shoulders. Also a few snags in the material from wear.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Such an amazing dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the same dress in a different color once before and loved it so much that I wore this one to another event. The fit was fantastic, the material was luxurious and beautiful. I was getting compliments ALL night about how I looked. (Which was nice because it was my birthday.)
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Comfortable + Classy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress... so much so that I had a difficult time returning it! It was the perfect dress for a Friday night wedding. The color and pattern are unique, yet present a very sophisticated vibe. I'm not naturally a flashy dresser but I like being in something subtly "different." The make and quality of this dress fit that bill. My only issue, which others have mentioned, was the straps. They were definitely too long, and I needed to have them temporarily adjusted with a few pieces of thread. Rent the Runway actually handled this PERFECTLY by accommodating me in their New York showroom, which is a few blocks from my apartment. Their in-house seamstress (who was onsite to do hemming) was excellent. And very kind. Thanks to all at Rent the Runway for the awesome treatment and customer service. This experience was so positive for me I have already rented a second dress.
sarah
Age: 17
Mar 29, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, however It was much too large, so I didn't end up wearing it. Very dissapointed.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Age: 52
Apr 9, 2014

Didn't like this dress on at all didn't end up wearing it

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was not made for me
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

This dress was beautiful, but it was huge!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The straps were way too long and the size was so off that I felt like I was swimming in the dress. Too bad. It was a really pretty dress!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 3, 2014

Did not work out

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Both sizes were too small - straps too long - just didn't work out
ac
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 5, 2014

lovely. fabric is very rich.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits well. No complaints.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
May 6, 2014

Nice, but understated, dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Pros: It fits true to size Comfortable, and not too short If you don't want to stand out too much, it's good for that FAR better than any $35 you would have spent elsewhere Cons: Not as bold/exciting of a pattern as anticipated Straps are a little too long (even for my very long torso/upper body) Overall, the dress is pretty nice. Compared to spending $35 on a dress at a random store (who knows what you'd even get for that) it is a great rental. It's comfortable and has pockets, but don't expect it to be the stand out dress of the evening. I wore it with a simple gold necklace and it was a cute look. Maybe a different color would be more of the stand-out look.
Akshita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 12, 2014

Flirty, fun, forgiving dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The straps are definitely too long but it's an adorable dress
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2014

Great fit, color and detail are richer in person

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, the dress is extremely flattering, especially if you're hour glass or pear shaped, since the bottom half is full and offers coverage. The straps are a little long, which shouldn't be an issue unless you are very petite.
Devon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 26, 2014

Cute flirty dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits great and is tight in all the right places. The fuller skirt makes it very flirty.
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

At first I didn't like it. Then I tried it on and loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was awesome. At first, I hated it though! It doesn't look that great on the hanger and the length seemed a little too long for my height. The straps were also waaaaay too long. Once I tried it on with my heels, though, the length was perfect. I also had to safety pin the straps. I am normally a size 6, but I ordered a size 4 and it fit me as well. I wanted to be more comfortable though so I wore the 6. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress (if you don't mind fixing the straps). It made me look amazing, photographed well and I was getting compliments all night.
Jesse
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

cute dress, strange fit

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
the straps were too long, and the waist was too tight. A strange fit but beautiful fabric.
aviva
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really pretty. The only issue was that the straps were extremely long, but it was an easy fix. Also the top was pretty tight to the point where I didn't have to wear a bra and it looked fine.
mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

My birthday party!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was such a beautiful dress with really great fabric! It fit snugly but wasn't uncomfortable. It was cute and flirty and very flattering. Wish I owned it!
Jordan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Had to return without wearing; weird bunching at waist

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was so excited to rent this dress for my engagement photos. Unfortunately, I was incredibly disappointed and ended up putting the dress right back into a UPS drop box mere hours after receiving it. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2-4 in dresses, erring on the smaller size for dresses that are fitted at the waist like this. In the photo of the model, as well as in most user review photos, the dress appears to come in and go right back out in a sharp, smooth, defined way at the waist. On me, the fabric bunched a lot at the waist and refused to lie smooth. Instead of defining my waist, this dress made it look about an inch wider on each side. This was the case no matter how I adjusted where the dress sat on me (as other reviewers have mentioned, the straps are way to long, so I was able to play around with how high the dress sat on my body), and it was even worse with the size 4. Tl;dr: if you are hourglass-shaped, do not buy this dress (or if you do, maybe order a size down, though be warned that there isn't much stretch). It will not define your waist.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Wore this dress to a night wedding. Beautiful dress and I received many compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size but the straps were very long. The material is very thick and definitely more of a winter dress.
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 29, 2014

I was complimented on my dress by people I didn't know!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very flattering and fit wonderfully on my body. The color and pattern were beautiful, it looked very elegant. My only beef with this dress was that the straps were way too large. They kept falling down my shoulders. It looked a bit like I was drunk, even though I was perfectly sober.
Tory
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Jun 30, 2014

Beautiful material, great fit with the exception of strap length

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly, with the caveat that the straps were too long, as many other reviews have mentioned. This was not really an issue for me because the bodice was snug enough that there was no danger of the dress falling down, and if I maintained good posture the straps stayed in place. I would recommend getting some fashion tape just in case. Otherwise, the dress was gorgeous and very flattering. I am petite and often find that many dresses are too long for me, but this was the perfect length with heels. The pattern was very beautiful, and the overall look was unique compared to other dresses I was shopping around for. I would definitely recommend renting this dress, particularly if you are petite and are looking for a dress that isn't too big for your body type.
Steph
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

didn't end up wearing it but beautiful dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The straps were too big and it was a little small on the boobs (34DD) and too big on the waist
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I didn't want to take this dress off. I loved everything about it- the color, fabric, style, and fit. I wore it to my college graduation :)
Cathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Not my favorite

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress, and I am very glad the other dress worked out. I am rather flat chested, and didn't really fill out the best area of this dress. I also felt like the straps were too long and I felt. Rey bare up top. Otherwise, the fabric was pretty and detailed.
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

Beautiful, classicly cut dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So, the dress I tried on in store was much looser in the bust than the dress I received. Overall, the fit was true to size, but I ended up having to remove my bra because it was just so tight in the bust. Additionally, the straps were too long, and I had to pin them. Someone at RTR said they would make a note and have them fixed for me, but that was not the case. In the end, the dress was beautiful, but just okay because of a few factors.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 4, 2014

Returned without wearing :(

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really wanted this dress to work but the straps were ridiculously long on my 5'5" frame. Didn't want to be bothered trying to make it fit so both sizes had to be returned.
Regina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

Nice dress but not all I'd hoped

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented sizes 0 and 2. I didn't feel like there was a huge difference between the sizes - I went with the 0 because it was slightly shorter and hit my legs at a bit more flattering point and the straps were also shorter so I didn't have to pin them. The 0 did have a bit of wear on one of the side seams - threads were sticking out but it wasn't too noticeable - meanwhile, the 2 looked brand new. On both sizes, there was a kind of weird seam where the skirt starts flaring out (I think it was due to the pockets) which caused the dress to not be quite as flattering as I had hoped - it added some bulk at the waistline-high hip area. The material was beautiful though - could easily be worn with navy or black heels.
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Perfect for a crisp fall outdoor wedding!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Its super comfortable and has a fun skirt that twirls beautifully when you dance! The fabric is thick but wasn't too heavy for me to wear at a mostly outdoor wedding in September. Its blue and black pattern is subtle but also gives the dress some more elegance and the neckline is just incredibly flattering. As others have said, I also had to pin back the straps because they were too long, but it was a quick fix. Got compliments all night, and my date couldn't tell me enough how much he loved me in this dress. Its a winner! HIGHLY recommend.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 27, 2014

Customer service was amazing.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fabric- it was heavy. Pretty brocade. The shoulder straps are super long.. This was small around my rib cage... It was a back up to s backup. Pretty dress... Very basic.
Abby
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Great fabric, great cut - loved the dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Thought the size 4 would fit but wore the size 2.
Virginia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Oct 18, 2014

Fine, not amazing

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There was a problem with my original backup dress, so RTR sent this (very similar) one in its place. Love RTR customer service! This dress fit and was cute, and as many others have said, the straps are ridiculously long. The fabric is heavy brocade, which I think feels expensive. But I just wasn't that excited about it. I didn't feel like it really did much for my figure. Would probably not rent again.
Stéphanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

Did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The straps were way too long and not adjustable which was a real bummer because the dress itself was beautiful and very flattering.
viv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Get safety pins for straps!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for my 15-year-old daughter ( 5"3/ 105 pounds). Perfect dress but, as stated in most reviews, you will probably need safety pins for these straps. We were prepared :)
Sophia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

the uniqueness of the dress was great! No other girl had it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only complaints that I have about this dress is that even though I ordered a 0 is was still a little large on my small flat shape. It still however was a joy to wear throughout the evening! Also the straps were very long so I did a removable stitch on them to hold through the night.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Love it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress!! The fabric is very thick and beautiful, and the pockets are a plus! However the straps are a tad bit long, but it's not something a few safety pins can't fix. I will definitely rent this again!
Mere
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 18, 2014

Loved the dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As others have said the straps are long but its easily fixed with safety pins. The material was heavy and great for a cold weather affair. I did not have to wear a bra with it, the top is form fitting.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×