Mod Victoria Dress

$30 rental
$490 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with Victorian flare. This ultra flattering style by ZAC Zac Posen is cocktail party perfection! Simply pair with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy jacquard (61% polyester, 37% rayon, 2% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large13
True to Size90
Small13
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2015
Beautiful Dress!
The dress was great! It's simple but beautiful. I rented it for a winter semi-formal event. The fabric is heavy, but it was perfect for the cold weather. I ended up wearing my backup size of 6 rather than my typical 8. Overall, the 6 fit better, and the straps also weren't too long once I sized down, as well--didn't even have to worry about pinning them! If you're worried about that and typically fit pretty comfortably into your normal size, I would suggest sizing down for your backup.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2015
I had a really great time with some good friends of mine at my school's Winter Ball
I loved the pockets and it was super nice not to bring a huge bag with me. The dress showed up really well in photographs with light and I loved the detailing on it. For a high school formal dance, it was a little long, but it was still very cute and I was super comfortable dancing. I actually didn't have any trouble with the sleeves, but I could understand how people could, and I was actually able to wear a bra with straps so that was great.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 12, 2015
Sexy twist on an LBD
I wanted a midnight blue dress that matched my date's tux for a cocktail wedding. I loved the color and the length of this dress (I have a long torso and it wasn't too short) and I received a lot of compliments. But there was one strange problem: the straps were way too long. I noticed that comment in other reviews but ignored it because I thought it was an anomaly. It's not, it's a problem. They kept slipping all night. The quality fabric is nice and structured so it looks really great for a black tie or cocktail event. The blue is more vibrant than it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 1, 2015
Straps were super long. Otherwise adoreeeee
Great !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2014
Fun and pretty, but the straps kept fallng
I wore this dress to a Sweet 16 and it fit very well. Although the straps kept falling and it chaffed my upper arms a bit, I thought it was a very nice dress and I got a lot of compliments on it. Note: This is my mom's account. my measurements are: Height: 5'3" Weight: 110 Usual dress size: 0 or 2 Body type: Petite Bust Size: 34A
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 14, 2014
Dress was amazing. So much better than my normal LBD!
I wore it while hosting a Bridal shower, and the pockets were the best part. The top fit perfectly--I never had to adjust the straps. The fit and flare had the perfect proportions, it made my waist look tiny, and had enough coverage even for my (usually problematic 36DD) chest. The color was lighter/bolder than the navy in the picture, and the pattern makes for really interesting pictures. It looked like someone had made a temporary-stitch adjustment to the straps (taken in almost 2 inches each!) that didn't get removed prior to my receiving the dress. I was so thankful they did that, because it fit even better for me! I'd highly recommend this dress. I was so sad to have to turn it back in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2014
Great LBD alternative
Exactly what I was looking for. The weight of the material was perfect for keeping me warm at a fall outdoor wedding in the south while still allowing me to show some skin. I'd been warned about the long straps from other comments, and they were VERY long, but it was nothing a few heavy duty safety pins couldn't handle. Size-wise, the 8 fit so well that I didn't even try the 6 before the event. After the wedding, I tried the 6 just to see what it looked like, and that actually fit perfectly and looked even better (next time I will definitely try both sizes BEFORE the event). The color was perfect - I wanted to avoid the stereotypical "little black dress" without sticking out too much, and the shade of blue was perfect. Overall, this was a great dress and I'd even consider renting it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 18, 2014
Loved the dress.
As others have said the straps are long but its easily fixed with safety pins. The material was heavy and great for a cold weather affair. I did not have to wear a bra with it, the top is form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2014
Love it!
I absolutely loved this dress!! The fabric is very thick and beautiful, and the pockets are a plus! However the straps are a tad bit long, but it's not something a few safety pins can't fix. I will definitely rent this again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
November 11, 2014
Pretty dress, loved the fabric
The fabric of the dress was so pretty! I felt very comfortable in the dress all night. Had to tack the straps in the back with pins bc they were too long which was a little annoying. But I would wear it again. Didn't realize it had pockets from other photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 1, 2014
My daughter wore this to homecoming and she loved it!
My daughter wore this to her Homecoming. She wore the size 4, had the size 6 as a back up just incase. The 4 fit perfectly and the straps had already been adjusted by a previous wearer, so we did not have to do any adjustments. She loved the pockets, felt comfortable all night and received many compliments. She will definitely rent again for her next event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
October 30, 2014
the uniqueness of the dress was great! No other girl had it!
The only complaints that I have about this dress is that even though I ordered a 0 is was still a little large on my small flat shape. It still however was a joy to wear throughout the evening! Also the straps were very long so I did a removable stitch on them to hold through the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 30, 2014
Very pretty, straps SO annoying
This was a beautiful dress--nothing very intricate about it but very nice. You've probably gotten the memo by now that the straps are too long but OH MY GOSH they were hard to safety pin. I had to buy enormous safety pins and used FOUR on each strap because using less than that they would come undone and then stick in my back. The material is very thick so I have no idea how people were able to use fashion tape to make it work. I spent a large chunk of the night fixing pins that had come undone. That being said, the dress was really pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
October 27, 2014
Get safety pins for straps!
Rented this dress for my 15-year-old daughter ( 5"3/ 105 pounds). Perfect dress but, as stated in most reviews, you will probably need safety pins for these straps. We were prepared :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
October 27, 2014
My daughter loved the dress! And it had pockets for cellphone!
I had ordered another dress for my other daughter so for some reason did not get two sizes of this dress. My daughter usually wears a six and I think this dress was true to size but she could have worn the four so it may run a little bigger or do to all the sports she has trimmed down some.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2014
Did not end up wearing it.
The straps were way too long and not adjustable which was a real bummer because the dress itself was beautiful and very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
October 18, 2014
Fine, not amazing
There was a problem with my original backup dress, so RTR sent this (very similar) one in its place. Love RTR customer service! This dress fit and was cute, and as many others have said, the straps are ridiculously long. The fabric is heavy brocade, which I think feels expensive. But I just wasn't that excited about it. I didn't feel like it really did much for my figure. Would probably not rent again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2014
Great fabric, great cut - loved the dress
Thought the size 4 would fit but wore the size 2.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 29, 2014
First homecoming
Overall fit was great, only downfall were that the straps were a little loose, we had to tack them down to make them stay, but overall happy with the fit and style. This dress was for my 14 year old daughter's high school homecoming dance, not me. She is 5'8" 150 lbs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 27, 2014
Customer service was amazing.
Loved the fabric- it was heavy. Pretty brocade. The shoulder straps are super long.. This was small around my rib cage... It was a back up to s backup. Pretty dress... Very basic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 23, 2014
Perfect for a crisp fall outdoor wedding!
I LOVE LOVE LOVED this dress! Its super comfortable and has a fun skirt that twirls beautifully when you dance! The fabric is thick but wasn't too heavy for me to wear at a mostly outdoor wedding in September. Its blue and black pattern is subtle but also gives the dress some more elegance and the neckline is just incredibly flattering. As others have said, I also had to pin back the straps because they were too long, but it was a quick fix. Got compliments all night, and my date couldn't tell me enough how much he loved me in this dress. Its a winner! HIGHLY recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2014
Great dress for a wedding. Stylist helped me pick out mint necklace that brightened it up.
Fit great! Would rent again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2014
Beautiful fabric - photos don't do it justice!
Overall this is a lovely dress; very comfortable and the fabric is high quality and more iridescent than the photos show with a really lovely dark blue sheen. The dress hit just above my knees (I'm 5'4") and someone had taken in the straps already so that wasn't an issue. I do wish the bodice had a bit more structure as it felt droopy at the waist sometimes, though I would have been interested to try it on in a smaller size. I wanted to be wow'd by the dress and, while it was lovely and my boyfriend really liked it, I don't think i'd rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2014
Nice dress but not all I'd hoped
I rented sizes 0 and 2. I didn't feel like there was a huge difference between the sizes - I went with the 0 because it was slightly shorter and hit my legs at a bit more flattering point and the straps were also shorter so I didn't have to pin them. The 0 did have a bit of wear on one of the side seams - threads were sticking out but it wasn't too noticeable - meanwhile, the 2 looked brand new. On both sizes, there was a kind of weird seam where the skirt starts flaring out (I think it was due to the pockets) which caused the dress to not be quite as flattering as I had hoped - it added some bulk at the waistline-high hip area. The material was beautiful though - could easily be worn with navy or black heels.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
September 11, 2014
Fun night, friends, great music, and DESSERT!
Loved this dress! I was so happy with it! As others mentioned, the 4 was a little big and the straps were definitely long but the 2 fit perfectly and I didn't even have to wear a bra with it. Very comfortable for dancing AND it had pockets! Kept my phone in one and lipstick in another and you couldn't even tell. Would definitely rent from them again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
September 4, 2014
Returned without wearing :(
Really wanted this dress to work but the straps were ridiculously long on my 5'5" frame. Didn't want to be bothered trying to make it fit so both sizes had to be returned.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2014
Beautiful, classicly cut dress.
So, the dress I tried on in store was much looser in the bust than the dress I received. Overall, the fit was true to size, but I ended up having to remove my bra because it was just so tight in the bust. Additionally, the straps were too long, and I had to pin them. Someone at RTR said they would make a note and have them fixed for me, but that was not the case. In the end, the dress was beautiful, but just okay because of a few factors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 18, 2014
Not my favorite
This was my back up dress, and I am very glad the other dress worked out. I am rather flat chested, and didn't really fill out the best area of this dress. I also felt like the straps were too long and I felt. Rey bare up top. Otherwise, the fabric was pretty and detailed.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2014
Wore this for my graduation and after party and I got so many compliments!
The dress fit in all the right places and I loved how it flared out from the hip area and the color of the dress really brought out the intricate details. The straps were a bit long but I just pinned them back. The fit around the bust was just right and it had a corset type feel which I liked a lot!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 5, 2014
So many compliments !!!
Material was thick and beautiful. Perfect for the classic pear shape. I am 34-27-38 with a long torso and this for great. Did have to pin the straps though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 3, 2014
This was a very fun wedding and there was no stress about a wardrobe malfunction.
It fit true to size. The only flaw was that the straps were too long, but I was prepared for that since I had read previous reviews. I simply took some clothespins and pinned them. The dress was very comfortable, the pockets were great, and it was a wonderful dress to wear while I had fun at the wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
July 19, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I didn't want to take this dress off. I loved everything about it- the color, fabric, style, and fit. I wore it to my college graduation :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 15, 2014
didn't end up wearing it but beautiful dress
The straps were too big and it was a little small on the boobs (34DD) and too big on the waist
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
June 30, 2014
Beautiful material, great fit with the exception of strap length
This dress fit perfectly, with the caveat that the straps were too long, as many other reviews have mentioned. This was not really an issue for me because the bodice was snug enough that there was no danger of the dress falling down, and if I maintained good posture the straps stayed in place. I would recommend getting some fashion tape just in case. Otherwise, the dress was gorgeous and very flattering. I am petite and often find that many dresses are too long for me, but this was the perfect length with heels. The pattern was very beautiful, and the overall look was unique compared to other dresses I was shopping around for. I would definitely recommend renting this dress, particularly if you are petite and are looking for a dress that isn't too big for your body type.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
I was complimented on my dress by people I didn't know!
This dress was very flattering and fit wonderfully on my body. The color and pattern were beautiful, it looked very elegant. My only beef with this dress was that the straps were way too large. They kept falling down my shoulders. It looked a bit like I was drunk, even though I was perfectly sober.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2014
Wore this dress to a night wedding. Beautiful dress and I received many compliments.
Fit was true to size but the straps were very long. The material is very thick and definitely more of a winter dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
June 24, 2014
Had to return without wearing; weird bunching at waist
I was so excited to rent this dress for my engagement photos. Unfortunately, I was incredibly disappointed and ended up putting the dress right back into a UPS drop box mere hours after receiving it. I ordered sizes 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2-4 in dresses, erring on the smaller size for dresses that are fitted at the waist like this. In the photo of the model, as well as in most user review photos, the dress appears to come in and go right back out in a sharp, smooth, defined way at the waist. On me, the fabric bunched a lot at the waist and refused to lie smooth. Instead of defining my waist, this dress made it look about an inch wider on each side. This was the case no matter how I adjusted where the dress sat on me (as other reviewers have mentioned, the straps are way to long, so I was able to play around with how high the dress sat on my body), and it was even worse with the size 4. Tl;dr: if you are hourglass-shaped, do not buy this dress (or if you do, maybe order a size down, though be warned that there isn't much stretch). It will not define your waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2014
My birthday party!
This was such a beautiful dress with really great fabric! It fit snugly but wasn't uncomfortable. It was cute and flirty and very flattering. Wish I owned it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress was really pretty. The only issue was that the straps were extremely long, but it was an easy fix. Also the top was pretty tight to the point where I didn't have to wear a bra and it looked fine.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2014
cute dress, strange fit
the straps were too long, and the waist was too tight. A strange fit but beautiful fabric.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×